Your Child Is Sick: Welcome To Barbados Queen Elizabeth Hospital

“I don’t know how much the government spent on Cricket World Cup, but every time I go past that big white elephant Kensington Oval I think of my son and all the tears and fear over that filthy, falling down slum we call our hospital.

BFP, please print the photos of the QEH toilet next to the hundred million dollar Kensington Oval, and let people decide if our government made the correct choice on how to spend that hundred million dollars…”

qeh-barbados-hospital-3.jpg

Dear Friends At Barbados Free Press,

My son almost died at QEH this year. I won’t give you the details because I don’t want any reprisals for writing you with the story of his “medical treatment” at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. Please edit my letter and change the words so no one knows it is me that wrote to you. (editor’s note: done)

Every day I or one of the family stayed with my son and kept him clean and brought him food. This was necessary because of the lack of food, bad food when it came IF it came and the lack of trained nurses and supplies. Especially supplies.

None of the ward toilets where my son was had paper, none had soap or paper towels for drying. Everyone must bring their own.

I had to buy “Intrasite gel” for my son’s wounds because the hospital had none that they could give me after 3 days. This was $20 a bottle and it only lasted a few days because I and my friends ended up changing the dressings ourselves when we found they were not being changed enough. I had to buy a box of sterile gloves to change his dressings. I bought a small package at first but the nurses kept “borrowing” the gloves because they were short of gloves so I bought a box.

Doctor? We never saw a doctor but once. We didn’t want to leave my son alone for one minute, but then they force you out and you worry for the whole time knowing what is what in that place.

I took photos but I was caught one day and forced to erase them by a nurse. From then on I took the photos secretly. I have many more than I am sending to you but with those they would be able to identify me or my son.

The first series of photos is taken in one of the washrooms and it is typical. It is not the worse washroom I saw but it is not in my son’s area and it was one where I had my camera.

Look at the first photo. (Editor’s note – above at top)

THIS IS A WASHROOM FOR PATIENTS AT OUR HOSPITAL!

Look at it!

Filthy. This is years or dozens of years filth. (Editor’s Note: Now inserting 3 more photos from same washroom)

qeh-barbados-hospital-1.jpg_

qeh-barbados-hospital-2a-copy.jpg_qeh-barbados-hospital-4.jpg

What Excuse Could There Be For This Filth In Our Hospital?

For ten days I walked down the corridor and saw the same piece of garbage on the floor. Here is a picture of it (ed: circled by BFP). Look at the missing floor tiles with the floor tile glue exposed probably for years. Sticky to catch any filth and germs. Impossible to clean. The same with the wall board trim missing with the sticky glue there to breed germs. (ed: red arrows by BFP)

Here is the photo of the TEN DAY GARBAGE ON THE FLOOR…

qeh-barbados-hospital-7.jpg

The “old” elevators are boarded up with old sheets of wood. Birds and insects flying everywhere. No screens. They never heard of modern inventions like screens I guess. Put your ear to the “old” elevator shaft and it sound like a jungle of birds. What filth that must be behind those sheets of wood. No worries by management about Bird flu, flies crawling on the sick or washrooms that aren’t fit for a dog’s use let alone MY CHILD.

qeh-barbados-hospital-5.jpg

The “new” elevators were barred with disused gurneys and a dirty old shipping platform. How filthy the gurneys were! I could not get a close photo without getting caught (that was one that was erased by the nurse.) It looked like blood to me and who knows what else.

qeh-barbados-hospital-6.jpg

After several incidents in the elevator I used the stairs like most of the staff who know what is what. The stair wells are filthy more so than the corridors. Here is a photo of looking out at what is nothing less than a pit of garbage tossed by people on the stairs. How many years since it was cleaned up? Five? Ten? Your guess is as good as mine.

qeh-barbados-hospital-8a.jpg

What Medical Professional Would Choose To Work At QEH If They Had Another Choice?

What person would take their child to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital if they had another choice? Certainly not Gline Clarke who was recently in the hospital in the United States. Why didn’t big Government Minister Gline Clarke attend at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital like the rest of us?

Where has all the money gone? Where are the hospital management and Board of Directors?

I don’t know how much the government spent on Cricket World Cup, but every time I go past that big white elephant Kensington Oval I think of my son and all the tears and fear over that filthy, falling down slum we call our hospital.

The Government big-ups has lots of money to spend, and spend they do. But they don’t spend money on the important things for the small person. I don’t want a BMW but no bus. I don’t want highways going everywhere, but no sewer service and bad water. I would have given my home everything and anything I had to make my son well and not take him to that filthy place we call our hospital.

BFP, please print the photos of the QEH toilet next to the hundred million dollar Kensington Oval, and let people decide if our government made the correct choice on how to spend that hundred million dollars.

Thankyou,

(name withheld by BFP)

Kensington Oval & My Son’s Toilet At The Queen Elizabeth Hospital

kensington-oval-barbados-corruption.jpg_qeh-barbados-hospital-1s.jpg

86 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Cricket, Health, Political Corruption, Politics, Politics & Corruption

86 responses to “Your Child Is Sick: Welcome To Barbados Queen Elizabeth Hospital

1. Jerome Hinds

Well our Dame Billie Miller….said just a few months ago….that our QEH is so clean that you can eat off the floor !

Judging from the photos above it is quite obvious that Dame Billie’s comments does not take this aspect of the QEH into consideration !

But then again Dame Billie may have been referring to the QEH hospital overseas !

Since her Government now makes a $$$ quote…only to come back and say it was US $$$ that are being referred to !

Can anyone confirm if this is the same QEH that Glyne Clarke was treated in ?????

2. rumboy

Sad, but obviously very true, pictures don’t lie. It would be interesting to find out how old is the child and how long was he in there for.

3. interested observer

Are these really photos of the QEH?

How can we verify them?

On the few occasions I have had to visit I must admit the place looked old and rundown but the facilities didn’t look that bad. Is it a specific ward?

Who is responsible for maintenance and if the photos are in fact the QEH why does he/she still have a job…… ?

but, maybe its a case of pilfering that everyone wanted to crucify George Griffith for saying…

or contract cleaners/plumbers getting paid for work and not getting the job done…..

4. Africa!

Zimbabwe!
    Yessss!

5. Inquizitive

It is true the more you watch the less you see but tell me has anyone ever taken a closer look to see if the supplies, etc are taken from the QEH and used at other private medical facilities (clinics) that are being run by doctors of the QEH

Food for thought – dig deep

6. Nurse

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you,thank you, thank you.

Thank you, Barbados Free Press and the writer.

7. theNickster

Interesting seeing the ants crawling around the windows and respirator equipment in a sectioned part of the children’s ward. Termite tables hidden around with the old unchanged books falling apart on them. Sparrows may be cute but their excrement isn’t, that whole screen thing would be useful. It breaks my heart to go there and see the state that place is in, but hey it was good enough for Tony Blair so it must be more than adequate for the rest of us right?

8. Cynty

Congratulations for printing these photo’s. My husband cut his finger very badly last year, needed stitching and refused point blank to go to the QEH, he said he was born there and that was enough!
    I recently had a conversation with two overseas nurses from Europe who had been working here, when I commented that the QEH must be very different to what they were used to, I was met with rolling eyes and shaking heads, lack of cleanliness was the first comment mentioned. They said it was nothing like they had been led to believe, badly funded and lack of proper training for staff. One of them said she’d seen bedlinens being reused. They also said so many of the staff were very dedicated, overworked and in despair of lack of equipment and broken equipment.
    When our neighbour was there her daughter took her own sheets in and food every day……..its very sad that so called ‘first class’ country has a hospital like this.
    Owen Arthur, you and your government should be ashamed of yourselves.

9. If these pictures were taken at QEH….why would a nurse want any pictures erased.
    A nurse would be happy to see these pictures shown to the public……these are the condition in which nurses have to work.
    Thank you for persisting and bringing the condition to light.

10. akabozik

Waiting for Doctor Walcott to reply.

Paging Doctor Walcott! Doctor Walcott, please call the switchboard! Paging Doctor Walcott!

11. akabozik

WARNING: Government spin-doctor present!

Interested Observer said, “Are these really photos of the QEH? How can we verify them?”

You can verify them by recognising the inside of the hospital like any Bajan! Wait a minute… you aren’t “any Bajan” are you?

Are you Minister of Public Works Gline Clarke in a USA hospital? No wonder you don’t recognise the inside of QEH!

12. MarsRover

It looks like they ‘cleaned’ the place since I was last in their toilet. I immediately left the room, no longer with any urge to go, but with the urge to throw up.

I was wondering how long it would be before any mention of it was made.

The worst toilets I have seen anywhere in Barbados.

13. ??

akabozik

The question asked is valid. Have the photos been verified?. Don’t tell me you know they are real, just because you want to discredit BLP or the Hospital administration show me how they are valid.

Admittedly neglect has been going on at the Hospital for years….In fairness one of the better Ministers of Health was Branford Taitt, who was in the QEH almost every day while he was Minister.

George Griffith was open about the issues at the QEH and was hauled over the coals by his chairman for his statements, but we all have to face facts – there appears to be wholesale stealing at the QEH. Stealing of equipment, toiletries ,if photos are correct toilets and most importantly stealing of pride, The QEH was a shining light -no more- because of bad hospital management not necessarily political management . Millions are spent at the QEH, it is the Hospital Management that needs to improve. Mr Collymore came into the QEH with grand plans but why have we not seen improvement is it the “footsoldiers” his middle management? who is to blame. He sure had issues in Accounts with former staff members paid well after leaving the employ of the hospital – was someone repremanded for that or was that another case of bad management of staff.

Changing the Minister or even the government is unlikely to have any effect unless we get to the core of the issue. QEH management is bankrupt of ideas, the board as it currently stands is a failure.

I have had very personal issues with QEH which lead to a death in my family. The reason poor management of health care…. an indictment on the Minister, perhaps, as a Doctor many of us expected more. But conditions such as those shown I did not see, I am not saying they dont exist but I too would like them to be verified.

14. Nurse

What spin! The photos are real and anyone who work there knows. Walk into the hospital yourself ??

There is no security. Anyone can walk anywhere.

Spin spin spin bullsh**t!

15. Anonymous

The photos are not real they are from Africa, Congo or Uganda.

They couldn’t possibly be from Barbados. We are a FIRST WORLD NATION.

Owen $ Arthur said so.

16. yatinkinkiteasy

Family member spent 4 days in the OEH after having a seizure…Nurses were fantastic, public ward, but they kept sending her soup for lunch AND dinner, even though the doctor`s orders were :”normal meals”How those brave nurses can put up with conditions there is really a testament to their dedication. When a patient is in recovery mode, dont those idiots in charge realize that healthy, nutritious food is as good or bettter than medication provided.
    Saw a cockaroach in the corner of the room for a few days ..guess the mop didnt get it….we need a private hospital to deliver excellent health care in a sterile environment…even if we have to pay for it…COW Williams, Bussy, this is as good an investment as APES Hill or a desalination plant!..Maybe CLICO can deliver!..or Macal, or some other Trini Investor.
    Government will never deliver!

17. Red Lake Lassie

I would expect that within 24 hours the QEH board would issue a press announcement that the photos are fakes.

Except they are not fakes, so no such press announcement will be issued.

HELLO DR. WALCOTT!

Go ahead, say the photos are fakes. You don’t know what other photos are about with people in them so you won’t say they are fakes.

Stupid spin doctors.

18. Anonymous

I am not surprised by the photos and only wonder why it took so long for photos to be published somewhere.

BFP, you must include this as an article in your next printed newspaper.

When will you be putting out another print edition?

Thankyou

19. Jason

?Why didn’t Minister Gline Clarke go to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital like the rest of us?”

Good question!

20. Hants

The QEH needs an ONGOING maintenance program.

I also observed that there are no Garbage recepticles in strategic locations so people drop garbage on the floor.

A lot of the building needs paint inside and out.

Its not a pleasant environment to work in. The staff are working under difficult conditions.

The QEH needs “friends”. A lot of Hospitals in Canada get millions in donations from Charities.

21. Anonymous

The barbados advocate and the nation newspaper would never publish such photos, they would try with all their might to keep such hidden.

22. Gene

Those photos are real. My twins were in the QEH for 2 months a few years ago. The pictures and the conditions they depict would have been real then and they are real now. Disgraceful does not begin to describe the state into which some of the areas of the hospital have been allowed to fall.

Luckily, we were in a fairly new area and conditions there were a lot better. I maintain contact with the institution and there is still much to be desired as far as the condition of the physical plant is concerned. It is also true that basic supplies are sometimes very scarce. However, I must commend the nurses and doctors who dealt with us. Their dedication and expertise were unparalleled. They showed not only a high degree of professionalism but lots of compassion as well and they literally worked miracles with the little that they had at their disposal. I know that my experience is not that of others who must have suffered terribly in that place and at the hands of the FEW criminals who may be masquerading as doctors and nurses, (and, as it is in most institutions, the bad ones are indeed in the minority), but in the interest of balance and the revelation of truth I had to put in my two cents’ worth. We may have a third world hospital facility, but my experience there revealed a medical staff with a first world attitude! Thanks!

23. FamilyB

Well, for those who may have still been wondering; now we understand why the press were forcefully removed from the QEH.

24. Rumplestilskin

Unfortunately in Barbados today priorities seem all askew.

Why would anyone in their right mind use Government funds to build flyovers here, when our Health Services, particularly infrastructure, are in a mess; when the housing for poor is unavailable; when shcools are falling apart?

The reality is that we have lost our grip on reality, of what is important.

Racing that new BMW on a superfast highway (even if it actually does work, which I very much doubt), is considered more important than a clean, state-of-the-art hospital and first quality medical care; is more important than another one hundred families having a decent small house to call home; is more important than quality schools and schooling (emphasis on teacher training etc).

One should never lose sight of life basics, it is those that bring a Nation through in hard times.

25. Pogo

Hey don’t only pick on Jerome. His cohorts help spend or take the money that should go to the hospital.

And where is David Thompson and DLP on this? They should be screaming foul as loud as they can. They might even get some seats next election if they would step up to this issue.

26. chelsea

One thing is verifiable for sure i.e Kensington Oval is a $150 million white elephant. I cant believe that nothing takes place there. When I drive by it looks ghostly day and night.

27. Wishing in Vain

This is but only one of a long list of crimes commited against the Barbadian taxpayers the list is a long one indeed.

My suggestion is as follows -:

Fire the Minister of Health right away.

Ask Owing to stand up and be a man for once and repay part of his illegally gotten wealth back to the treasury.

Launch an inquiry into the operation of the entire health care outfit with their recommendations for correcting the ills within the health care services sector.
    Start work towards the erection of a brand new hospital and phase out this monster.

More importantly had these vagabonds not stolen as they have done with the building of the OVAL, the OIL STORAGE FACILITY, THE PRISON, THE ROAD WORKS PROJECT if you were to extract a $ 100 Million from each of these projects that they have stolen and sent to their personal bank accounts yes I can assure you that there is this much excees in each project that this gang of crooks has undertaken.

We would have saved enought to build a brand spanking new hospital ( providing they did not put the steal in this project to) to service the needs of every Barbadian but they need to halt the mega stealing that is so rampant in the island.

28. J. Payne

WOW. It sure looked better from the outside…

I’d believe the QEH looked like that….. One can simply look at the state of the old Ch-Ch. municipal “hospital” building at Oistins?

29. reality check

Where indeed is the opposition?

Time to start a new party or take memberships out and replace the drones.

These people we elect are all ineffective, incompetent, neutralised or bought off.

30. Pingback: CARICOM Leaders Making Sport At The Health Of Our People~Chronic Non-communicable Diseases On The Rise In The Caribbean « Barbados Underground

31. WhiteBoy

Beginning to look like African conditions.
    – tropical grime, some of it just stain,of course
    but also much of it just plain doan-carishness.

The basics are no longer there.
    It’s getting to be just like the Georgetown Hospital.

No, Mr.Government Minister, NOT Georgetown in Washington DC, I’m talking about Georgetown in backward Guyana Banana Republic.

20-30 yrs. ago, we used to hear the stories about Guyana folks having to carry in their own medications, bed linens, food, etc.
    NEVER thought that would happen here, in fact
    IT CAN’T HAPPEN HERE – This is BARBADOS, fer cryin out loud!

heh-hey! Look whuh gone en happen doah!
    Guyana hospital conditions right here in Barbados!
    Remember to take your own medications, your own bed linens, your own food.
    But I repeat myself..
    as does history, albeit in different places!

. . . .

I stayed 13 days in Orthpaedics Ward B4 in mid 1982

and again a 48hr. stint in 2001,
    in Eye Ward C5.

Conditions worse(but not badly so) in 2001, than they were back in 1982.
    diet was poor and crappy in ’01,noticeably so.
    Almost prison food. Bulk.
    wishy washy Ovaltine.

It’s been common knowledge(how true?)
    that the kitchen staff get most of the good stuff that comes in.
    and therefore quality for QEH inmates suffers,
    via watered-down this and that to make up for the shortfall.
    . . . .

Africa. Guyana!
    How could it be anything else?

Now you know what theme your next hard-hitting Print Edition is all about!
    CONDITIONS AT QEH – nothing will hit harder, at the common man in the ZR.Nothing!

32. Tony Blair.

Tony Blair may have been admitted to QEH,
    but you can rest assured he saw only those parts that were better
    (A wards up on the top floor)
    and other areas that were RAPIDLY pre-cleaned for his arrival.

Must have been a panic down there – STAT!

33. Maintenance?? - Hello?

“The QEH needs an ONGOING maintenance program.” someone said.

I’ll have you know that brown,post-Colonial Governments simply aren’t very good with the M-word,dear!
    Procedure is..to wait for complete dissolution
    and then replace entirely.

remember our National Motto,
    cast in concrete
    in the Independence Arch, over the bridge
    MASH UP EN BUY-BACK!

Doan worry,
    we gyne soon get a whole new hospital.
    Yuh gyne hear dat QEH too far gone now
    to bodder wid fixin it.
    BRAND NEW HOSPITAL gyne come along,
    out pun de BayLand pasture. You wait!

Except fuh two tings:
    1. We en’t got nuh money fuh dah..
    2. We en’t got nuh SPACE fuh dah!

So all how, when de gully wash-out, dum gyne got-to fix QEH.

OHdear!

34. Wishing in Vain

How dear Owing be such a fraud to attend a summit on health care when he attaches no importance to the health care of the island?
    This is somewhere that he can speak for and do something for but instead, lets look at the pictures on BFP and read the stories and listen to people decribe their encounters on a daily basis.
    Still Owing finds himself in Trinidad doing the photo opportunity and talking a load of crap meanwhile back at home the basis of the health care system is in a shambles overseen by the most useless person Jerome Walcott and Owing they both should be fired for fraud against the nation.

35. John

A near relative received life saving care in the QEH in 2000.

She is alive and well today.

I know QEH gives good service.

I saw it in action.

But I also saw the toilets and I also know that as basic a thing as toilet paper had to be supplied by each patient.

The pictures do not lie.

What they do is open up the care givers at this institution to censure.

Incidentally, Jerome Walcott was the surgeon who saved my relative’s life.

I have great respect for him as a doctor and care giver.

36. Heaven

I had a baby earlier this year at QEH.I was in the private ward at $300.00 dollars a day and I have photos of the room on my cell phone .They weren’t as bad as these photos but showed years of neglect.The nurses were wonderful and hardworking with what little supplies were there.The food was awful and I had my family bring in food for me.
    I have said many times that Owen Arthur and his cohorts in government need to be publicly flogged, (in Independence quare) for what they did to QEH while spending over $200,000,000.00 to build a house on someone else’s land.

37. Wishing in Vain

John I am ineed happy that you had a good result at the QEH you are the exeception rather than the rule some of us have loss heavily with care at the QEH.
    There can be little doubt that it is in dire need of TLC and attention, thisd I fail to see happening under this admistration for in 15 years they have not done a single thing to improve the conditions at the QEH or to improve the health care system in general.
    Why is this the case?
    Is it that they cannot steal in this setup as they can with the prison, the flyovers, or oil storage facility,the baths, the oval or does it not give them enough positive publicity and time on the TV such as a project like the money waasting Oval did for them, just think if we did not rebuild the oval (who does it really belong to anyway) we could have taken that money and built a nice new hospital !!!
    Not to mention the fraud involved in the Prison, flyovers, the oil storage facility, the changing rooms, the coast guard station who built this and at what cost I will put it in with the disputed ones because of the nature of the BOLT contract it seems to me that VECO had an exclusive on these BOLT contracts and we know that this company is notr opposed to paying bribes to politicians as is been seen in the fraud and bribery case taking place in Alaska as we speak.

38. De Orginal

It seems as though the government has misguided priorities. It is up to us the citizens to guide them back on track. We should not allow this situation to continue we need to stand up and have our elected representatives, particulary those who are cabinet ministers be more accountable for the way in which public funds are allocated and spent. This situation at the hospital needs urgent attention. As always there is a lack of accountability,integrity and transparency in the dealings of this current government. The time for change has come, they have failed to statisfy the mandate given by the people of Barbados. If there was integrity and accountability the daily newspapers would be publishing the resignation of the ministers of finance and health. Closely followed by that of the CEO and board of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

39. Cha-bingi

Makes you wonder where the millions assigned to the QEH actually go…

…not in a lick of paint (unless its that special quick-peel variety)
    …not in Disiclin (the toilets are begging)
    …not in food fit for human consumption (cream of last Tuesday)
    …not in sheets for beds (bring your own peoples!)
    …not in dressings for patients (bring those too)
    …not in surgical gloves (them too)
    …not in medical supplies in general (tief, tief, tief)
    …not in doctors on duty (got better tings to do)
    …not in hospital management skills (busy gettin paid on public budget)
    …not in health care at all!

…someone is getting paid….and its not the deserving Barbadian public….why do we accept mediocrity in seemingly everything??

….a least the wood doves getting something out of it….no one else does

40. Anonymous

My dad died in the hospital in June 2007. An autopsy was done and to this day we have not received the results inspite of calls to the institution. His death certifacte has not been issued as yet. Therefore we can not claim death benefits from the NIS. His old age pension checks are still arriving at home as usual we are cashing them. Officially no death certificate means that he still alive.

41. Wishing in Vain

Why is it that despite the continued levels of gross misuse of public funds in these various ministries not one of these ministers are taken before the press and grilled and interrogated as they ought to be, as to why they are performing as poorly as they are doing, if they have made enough money and are tired get a move on do not sit around and draw salaries and do nothing for them this is dishonest but then again show me an honest one in this cabinet and I will give you a hundred dollars.

42. Hittit!!

“My dad died in the hospital in June 2007.
    An autopsy was done and to this day we have not received the results in spite of calls to the institution.
    His death certifacte has not been issued as yet.
    – Therefore we can not claim death benefits from the NIS.
    His old age pension checks are still arriving at home as usual we are cashing them.
    Officially no death certificate means that he still alive.”

oh GOOD for YOU.
    HIT the bastards for every cent you can gain, via that technecality.
    Maybe when N.I.S. gets on the QEH’s case, tro stop the “bleeding”(of their payout Dollars!)
    maybe THEN you guys will get your Death Cert.
    But until the old man is officially dead and gone, you please continue to hit-up NIS for the money!
    Bravo BRAVO!! Well done,sir!

43. Anonymous

I am glad that someone has finally gotten the ‘testicular fortitutude’ to expose the ongoing disaster that we know as the QEH …. BFP. Stories like these need to be highlighted more …. as an insider, everything said is the GOSPEL TRUTH and belive me this is only the tip of the iceburg !!

44. smallfish

oops ….forgot i.d …..and ‘fortitude’.. thanks

45. Wishing in Vain

Breaking news from the QEH once again more turmoil and more confusion, the nurses have walked off the job at the QEH today.

And we never had it so good every single thing is breaking down in this island and not a single minister to ask a question of or to hear them speak on the issues of their various ministries, road works in a shambles, Chinese workers without work permits no word from them, a prison at 3 times the cost and not a word in anger, tourism seeing the bleakest times and nothing sensible (we should know better by now than to expect sense for this lying idiot) from Lynch.

The PM the DPM the AG are all numb and unable to say anything.

Meanwhile the PM is calling a prominent Indian in the island to try to get him to get the Guyanese and the Indian population to vote for him with the incentive of a big payday if he gets the job done.

46. Wishing in Vain

Breaking news from the QEH once again more turmoil and more confusion, the nurses have walked off the job at the QEH today.

And we never had it so good every single thing is breaking down in this island and not a single minister to ask a question of or to hear them speak on the issues of their various ministries, road works in a shambles, Chinese workers without work permits no word from them, a prison at 3 times the cost and not a word in anger, tourism seeing the bleakest times and nothing sensible (we should know better by now than to expect sense for this lying idiot) from Lynch.

The PM the DPM the AG are all numb and unable to say anything.

Meanwhile the PM is calling a prominent Indian in the island to try to get him to get the Guyanese and the Indian population to vote for him with the incentive of a big payday if he gets the job done

47. N.Korea? Izzat U?

Is it beginning to look a tiny bit like North Korea?
    Where the populace is told everything’s hunky dorey HERE,
    and it’s the outside world that’s the sham?

Which side of the looking glass
    is Alice really on??

. . . . . . . . .

as an insider, everything said is the GOSPEL TRUTH and belive me this is only the tip of the iceberg !!

Insider,
    thank you for your comment and your confirmation!
    It’s little snippets like these, from you and ‘Nurse’, that add to the info.

Feel free to add more, nuh.
    Just little one- and two-sentence posts.
    That’s all we ask.
    – seriously!

48. WuzHair

So many horror stories, so few being told.

49. Absolutely concern

Well, well. This is a disgusting and embarrassing element that we have here. For an island that pride is self in Pride and Industry. I see no pride and certainly no industry with regards to the story that the photos have told of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

What I see is a hospital in crisis and on a larger scale patients and the general public in risk. This is a situation that can create numerous health issues since it carries the potential for creating deadly germs and diseases.

Remember SARS? Unsanitary conditions are enough to create the likes of SARS. Can Barbados manage a SARS-like crisis? Base on the photos I would imagine not, since they seem quite incompetent in the upkeep of on of the most important public facilities in the nation. We can deal with problems with the Transport Board etc. but this situation is something that should be refuted without hesitation.

Who is responsible for day to day operations of housekeeping and maintenance at the QEH? We will start to point fingers, but fingers can only be pointed at mainly in two direction the General Management of QEH and the doctors that are employed by the QEH. Some may want to point at the government but that is secondary, since they have delegated a job on their behalf and on the behalf of the citizens of Barbados to a management and a team of doctors that should oversee the general status and conditions of the hospital.

This is element blatant negligence and disregard on the part of the General Management at the QEH and the doctors that work there. The responsible manager (s) should be immediately dismissed from their position as they obviously are not doing their job. The doctors knowing what they know about health care and disease should be ashamed of them self if the have that in kind of sensitivity in tact.

The Minister of Health should be extremely embarrassed about this, especially after making comment of the current status. That current status apparently goes back probably 20 + years ago. The Minister of Health however, should be held responsible at a lesser degree since she should have been requesting reports from the general Manager and she should have been paying periodic visits to visually assess for herself the status of the hospital.

Queen Elizabeth would be horrified to see something carrying her name have such seriously pathetic issues. This is not said to undermine the significance our people, but a reference point to the idea that we should keep our national institutions in the best possible condition, especially health facilities.

This is an insult to tax payers’ dollars and a slap the face. We must demand that this situation be corrected and remedied without hesitation ASAP. It is the duty of those in the office of General Management to do their job. Anyone one who is unable to deliver what is written in their list of duties should not be in such positions.

We must remember those that work in the government sector are responsible to the citizens of Barbados and that their duty is to serve the citizens.

50. Pingback: Barbados » Blog Archives » Your Child Is Sick: Welcome To Barbados Queen Elizabeth Hospital

51. J. Alexander

Went to the hospital to make an appointment and got told 3 different opening times of the records area. 1 person told me 7.ooam, another 8:00am and yet a third 8:30 a.m.
    When I left at 9:00 a.m. only one person was working there and she started at 8:50 a.m.
    If I had the money I wouldn’t even dead in there.

52. Anonymous

Why didn’t big Government Minister Gline Clarke attend at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital like the rest of us?

BFP,

Get real, would any of you risk Jerome Walcott…….near your POSTERIOR ?

53. Wishing in Vain

A 1st world Hospital I ask???
    Surely it must be an Old World in Barbados in 2007.
    Why has Owing neglected the Hospital for so long and why has Walcott neglected his ministry as he has done?
    I bet you if they had a few million in there up for theft the would be all over the hospital by now.

54. Anonymous

Why didn’t big Government Minister Gline Clarke attend at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital like the rest of us?

BFP,

Get real , would any of you trust Jerome Walcott operating on / near your……….behind ?

Gline Clarke….does not bowl like that !

See you guys in a few weeks time !

55. Anonymous

Absolutely Concern:

The Minister of Health however, should be held responsible at a lesser degree since she should have been requesting reports from the general Manager and she should have been paying periodic visits to visually assess for herself the status of the hospital.
    ————————————————————————————————————————————————————
    Was the use of the word ‘she’ a typo?

56. Anonymous

Or herself…………….how about that word assess??
    Smartly done.

57. Wishing in Vain

Woa lord you all gine kill me yu hear!!!\
    That was smooth indeed.

58. Thistle

Wow! BFP, was that really YOU? How Auntie M let you get away with that??!

59. No Name

Readers should overlook typos, grammatical errors etc and pay attention to the substance of the comments. I don’t believe that contributors are writing to score Brownie points for grammar etc.

60. Pingback: Calcutta Slums? No… Bridgetown, Barbados « Barbados Free Press

61. Anonymous

I note with great concern the above… what concerns me is the lack of medical quality at the hospital.. 40% of the patients have leg ulcers and ailments and some stay months or longer often ending up with amputations that they dont need.. speaking to some doctors at the hospital reveals that consultants have been blocking ideas put previously to employ specialists who could do reconstructions and prevent these amputations.. the latest information shows that non EU doctors are no longer able to train in the UK and as there are no adequate local training programs there will be no trained doctors looking after the Barbadian population.. we were told that the decent young doctors (and even the senior doctors) are leaving because of the poor standard not only of patient care but the lack of any adequate radiology services and the poor outcomes obtained from untrained surgeons performing major surgery.. results from the hospital concerning cancer outcomes appear to be largely unavailable..

This situation appears to be worsening ..the country is academically and clinically isolated with no specific training with an unacceptable operative complication rate and a level of amputations which would in any civilized country have initiated a Royal Commission..

62. Pingback: Your Daily Dose Of Stories That Would Cause Heads To Roll In Most Other Countries… « Barbados Free Press

63. siobhan````````````

this hospital looks so d`uty me na come de

64. eo

Just leave Guyana out of it and try to rectify the deplorable conditions in that estabishment you call a QEH ….well, things are not perfect in paradise…are they?

USA

65. Pingback: Barbados Queen Elizabeth Hospital - Refurbish or Tear It Down? « Barbados Free Press

66. Pingback: The Legacy Of The BLP Shows Where Their Priorities Were « Barbados Free Press

67. Anonymous

it isnt this bad for a fact .Yes the service sucks but these are maybe rooms that are not used regulary bcuz the bathroom in my grandmom ward is the cleanest i’ve saw even in the maternity ward.

68. i just cannot believe that. for crying out loud that is
    a hospital is there no housekeeping workin there
    don’t there have a ceo for the hospital. and if i am a
    patient there why should i have to bring my own
    supplies that;s very ridicious the hospital needs an
    over-haul from the kitchen back down.although i do not live in barbados.but in the us some hospitals are dirty to bur not that bad.so i wish that
    the prime minister will get on the ball and go and see what he can do about the hospital

69. brittany

that will be a nasty place to go to a hospital….

70. Pingback: Barbados News Media Refuse To Cover NUPW Press Release About Queen Elizabeth Hospital Doctors « Barbados Free Press

71. Pingback: Why Is Costa Rica “The Happiest Place On Earth” ? How Happy are Barbadians? « Barbados Free Press

72. Pingback: Has it come to this in Barbados? Dialysis patients turned away due to shortage of needles, gloves, standard supplies « Barbados Free Press

73. Pingback: New Hospital the only proper decision for Barbados – but as a nation and as citizens, do we have what it takes to make it happen? « Barbados Free Press

74. Pingback: Freedom of Information Request #2009-2: To Barbados Department of Emergency Management « Barbados Free Press

75. What is written in this documentary of pain is true, I can add to it http://bajanreporter.com/?p=14223 Read ’em and weep, God knows I did…

76. nurse

Nothing has changed.

Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed. Nothing has changed.

77. Pingback: Typical toilet, Barbados Queen Elizabeth Hospital « Barbados Free Press

78. Maintenance seems like a foreign word next to productivity.

79. Pingback: Children, poor people to fill empty seats at Commonwealth Games « Barbados Free Press

80. Pam Miller

My brother in law stayed at your hospital while on a cruise in Jan 2011. I can tell you that by United States comparison that hospital is worse than any veterinarian hospital we have. The place was filthy, no food was provided and medical care was almost non-existant. It was shocking. The procedure performed was done so badly that he had to have it re-done once he got home to Iowa, USA. And, they charged $700 for three days. Do they know that birds carry disease? They were flying all over due to open windows and no screens. I feel so bad for your people. It is truly shameful if your government does not do better for you. My sister took pictures too and was forced to erase them. I think someone knows that this is supposed to be a dirty little secret. The more people that know the better, if you ask me.

81. Pingback: Barbados Queen Elizabeth Hospital cannot pay millions owed to suppliers | Barbados Free Press

82. Pingback: Heart attack in Barbados – tourist praises Pirate’s Inn staff, ambulance crew – slams Queen Elizabeth Hospital | Barbados Free Press

83. The best way to motivate Barbados is to pitch the story to a journalist at the BBC. The hospital carries the name of the Queen, She ought to have images of what’s associated with her name. Pitch the story to the BBC as a comparison piece on hospitals that carry the Queen’s name. You will get the results your citizens need. Wishing you the best.

84. BFP

Reblogged this on Barbados Free Press and commented:

We had an email from a wife last week, crazy that her husband was not getting even the minimum proper care after surgery at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

We’re not going to print her email because we don’t want to interfere with an ongoing situation. Instead, we bring you something we published back in 2007. From what we received last week, nothing has changed.

How disgusting it is that our elected and appointed representatives steal everything and leave family members to purchase medicine and dressings for their loved ones.

You would think that we were some African outpost. God DAMN the last 20 years of politicians who stole everything. When they get sick, they fly to Miami.

But we can’t…

85. de castro

SHAMEFUL DISGRACEFUL !
    Feel sorry for locals who do not have alternative choice.!
    Minister of health should be sacked immediately….protest protest protest
    until he/she is removed.
    Way forward.!!đŸ˜ˆ

86. the problem is that government workers are demanded big pay raises, if they dont get it, the entire country shuts down, take for example the recent protest and work stoppage, then the government dont have any money for repairs or replacements. I think the kensington oval was also funded by private donors, who think cricket will bring in tourists. Things are going in the direction to make the tourists happy and up to date on technology when they come to Barbados. The ordinary poor person if they take sick, and have to go at the hospital, good luck with that one. People need to stick it to the politicians when its voting time, get them out if they not performing to standard. I hate how they open all the schools and centers so people can get their ID cards, and you see the old, the lame, the blind, and the mentally ill voting, because they are forced to vote, but the day after its the same old non functioning of services. Those same people have to wait for hours at the local clinics for medication, like literally 6 hours to see a doctor, because the doctor comes in anytime he or she wants. Barbados got a long way to go, workers are there to serve the people, they must show up on time.