UPDATED: Barbados Election Call – January 15th Is The Date

UPDATED: Barbados will go to the polls on January 15, 2008

Original story…

So Much For A Peaceful Christmas

DLP insider and regular reader Wishing In Vain commenting a few minutes ago on Barbados Free Press…

Wishing in Vain

BREAKING NEWS

WRITS BEING PREPARED AS WE SPEAK.
ELECTIONS WILL BE ON JAN 17 th.
ANNOUNCEMENT DUE TODAY OR TOMORROW.
THANK GOD FINALLY WE GET TO VOTE TO REMOVE THIS PLAGUE FROM AROUND US!!!!!!

Dec 20, 2:17 PM (GMT)

The outgoing PM will be addressing the nation at 1.00 pm today to anounce the 17 th as the date.

OK, Wishing In Vain. We don’t have this date from any other of our sources, but at least one other source says the announcement is coming today.

Now… where are the details of the promised integrity legislation from the DLP?

Thompson isn’t going to bother with that now, is he?

… because he and DLP don’t really want effective integrity legislation.

A damned shame that they didn’t show any leadership in this area. More on this later, but Thompson’s failure to establish leadership in this area will probably cost him the election.

137 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Political Corruption, Politics, Politics & Corruption

137 responses to “UPDATED: Barbados Election Call – January 15th Is The Date

1. Wishing in Vain

BFP do not get ahead of yourself on this issue Mr Thompson is on public record as stating that before the elections each candidate will sign on let us give it a break we have 4 weeks to an election date and I have every confidence that it will be done.
    Meanwhile let us address the madness and the most unchristian aspect of setting the people up for an election campaign in the midst of the most cherished event of the year that is the Christmas Holiday Period, in my view it appears to be a sick event to remove people’s thoughts from the real issues of the election campaign and to be in a party mode (this is a known ploy by this blp) and not to focus on the number of issues affecting this nation, but I can tell you that it will not work this time the citizens have seen too much wastage of our monies, too much corruption and dishonesty of public figures in office.

2. Jerome Hinds

Now… where are the details of the promised integrity legislation from the DLP?

Thompson isn’t going to bother with that now, is he?

A damned shame that they didn’t show any leadership in this area. More on this later, but Thompson’s failure to establish leadership in this area will probably cost him the election.

BFP,

At least kept his word and initiative the process 1

Since 13th March 2007…….BFP promised and yet to produced the much promised Money Laundering story…..!

But such shows the INTEGRITY of the BFP personnel !

3. Anonymous

God bless Bim!!!
    We will finally get a chance tosay goodbye to the BLP and skulduggery!!!
    I pray that people will send a strong message to those arrogant devils, that we are their masters and not the other way around. I want Owen to lose his seat…I believe he and a lot more will pay the price for treating us as pawns.
    The DLP must NOT become like the BLP has, or we will treat them likewise!!!

BFP COMMENTS

And so the cycle of corruption will continue because it is evident that another reader doesn’t understand the game.

Without rules and standards, the DLP WILL become like the BLP. They will steal and abuse, then you will kick them out and put in a new “clean” bunch from the BLP!

Stupes!

The only way this will stop is when a leader comes forward to implement effective integrity legislation.

We have been told for the past 18 months by Wishing in Vain and other DLP insiders “Just wait for the election call. Thompson doesn’t want to give the details now and have the BLP steal his ideas”.

We declared that excuse to be pathetic BS, but ok…

Now that the election is being called we have DLP supporters saying “Thompson has another 4 weeks” to deliver the details.

Pure hogwash.

Here come de new boss. Same as de old boss. Doan get fooled again!

4. Negrocrat

Why are you so anxoius about the promised integrity legislation promised by the DLP?
    I can assure that it is coming as soon as the DLP gets the reins of Government. Don’t worry.
    But I’m glad that at last we the people will have an opportunity to deal with those scamps in the BLP. We are now on an equal footing. As a matter of fact ‘they’ need ‘us’ more than we need them.
    They will come with all sorts of promises but chase them away from your doors.
    We have had enough of them.

BFP Comments

Yes, we have had enough of promises. That is why we demanded for the past two years that the DLP declare itself on board for integrity legislation.

Nada.

Thompson has been successful in declaring nothing concrete, yet having all his party supporters believe that he has.

No one can here and now provide the details of the DLP’s supposed “integrity” legislation and we’ve heard that what is written is milquetoast.

Nope… you can choose to believe that the DLP and Thompson have actually come forward with something concrete, but it ain’t so.

5. Anonymous

1pm. – CBC-TV. who says it’s about elections?

have u even considered it could be devaluation of the barbados dollar??

all ears and eyes on cbctv at 1

BFP Comments,

Hey, we just reported the talk so who knows? But I seriusly doubt that Arthur will devalue the dollar at this point with an election imminent.

6. D.Val

Deval may not be of O$A’s choosing!

Someone waay up high may be pulling his strings(yanking his chain?) hard!
    You never know!

7. Anonymous X

It is difinitely 17th Jan 2008.

8. Negrocrat

What is your problem bfp?
    You have seen that as soon as the DLP announces an initiative the BLP took it on.
    Why should the DLP announce the details of its integrity legislation before it gets into Govt? For the BLP to adopt it? No way! We have learnt the hard way by these people who do not have anything more to offer and are just waiting to eat off the plate of a vibrant, intelligent, creative and honest DLP.
    So you’ll just have to wait,please.

BFP Comments…

See what we mean… It is all an election strategy, not a foundational change in the party.

Pure BS. As IF the BLP would “steal” the concept of integrity legislation and then implement it! Could have done so every year for the past 14 years.

You are blinded by DLP hope. Good luck, because you will be sorely disappointed if you really want integrity legislation.

9. Jerome Hinds

BFP,

Your belly – aching has become all too boring !

Grow up !

The DLP is a responsible party of over 50 years……!

For those of us who like a little JOLLIFICATION around this time of the year…….could the announcement at 1:00 pm be……Owen Arthur the PRESIDENT – FOR – LIFE in Barbados from 1st JANUARY 2008 !

BFP Comments…

Jerome, you and the other DLP supporters assured us that as soon as the election was declared we would see the details of the DLP integrity legislation.

Backing down? Not the truth?

10. Wishing in Vain

IT IS NOW OFFICIAL 15 th JAN

11. Anonymous

Major MAJOR kudos to CBC-TV
    for an EXCELLENT job doing the outside broadcast
    of the PM’s announcement.
    I still haven’t a clue what he said!

Some ppl can’t organise a pixxup in a brewery
    and our CBC-TV is surely one of those!
    Way to GO, CBC.

Everyone is fired!

12. Jerome Hinds

January 15th Martin Luther King’s Day !

” I have DREAM……to see a BETTER BARBADOS ”

January 15th ELECTION DAY in BARBADOS !

The DAY to vote against TYRANNY !

The DAY to vote against VINDICTIVENESS !

The DAY to vote against BROKEN PROMISES !

The DAY to vote against COST OVERRUNS !

The DAY to vote against ARROGANCE !

HO…HO…HO….Barbados our TIME is at hand 1

A TIME…..for CHANGE !

13. frankology

The game is on, the victor will be announce Jan 16. Let us show the world that our elections are the cleanest. God bless our politicians and may the best man win.

WIV, your timing was bang on.

14. Wishing in Vain

I would like to take this opportunity to wish every candidate of the DLP success and the very best of luck in the upcoming Election.

It is with some sadness that I listened to the former PM opt to use this festive period to announce an election that is a most unreligious.

15. Adrian Hinds

I am packing my bags,……..I had decided since last year the CWC 2007 wasn’t going to be the greatest show in Barbados that the election was going to be, and i will not miss it for anything. 😀

16. Rumplestilskin

I wish to take this opportunity to thank Barbados Free Press for allowing us average citizens to ‘voice’ our opinions in a public forum.

Well done lads and lasses.

To adapt a quote ‘all that is needed for wrongness to perpetuate and triumph is for good men to do nothing’.

Certainly, BFP has stood up to be counted amongst the ‘good men and women’ who wish for goodness to triumph and in doing so has succeeded admirably in its quest thus far.

Now the rest is up to the people of this nation to vote with good conscience and for the representatives coming into Parliament on the morning of January 16, 2008 to do so not as lords but as representatives of the people, by the people and for the people.

Hope springs eternal and may our hope be justified and vindicated by the next group of representatives who are entrusted with the baton of governance.

The next few weeks will see mud-slinging and partisanship. I ask that all citizens take what is said with a grain of salt and vote with their own knowledge, with their hearts.

It is now opportune to advise the leader of the Opposition to hold his head high, fight the high ground and not be drawn into the gutter.

God Bless You All, God Bless Barbados.

Peace, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

17. De Orginal

LOl at Adrian………….. I know the people of Barbados will punish Owen Arthur and his no accountability,no transparency and totally devoid of integrity gang of hoodlums for their mismanagement and robbery of the country.

18. Wishing in Vain

We are on the road to recover, a new beginning is only days away the 16th of Jan will be the liberating date.

19. John

I wonder why Owen didn’t choose Errol Barrow Day, 21st January for the election day this time instead of 15th January.

20. Wishing in Vain

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL OF THE FAMILY OF BFP EVEN TO YOU TO MR frankology no just kidding there my friend.

I feel wonderful a new dawn is around the corner please campaign safely.

21. Barbados PR Pro

And it is now official. The Hon. Owen S. Arthur has announced TUESDAY, JANUARY 15 as the day when Bajans will head to the polls to select the next government. May God be with us all!!!

22. Barbados PR Pro

By the way, I second the earlier post and extend heartiest kudos to CBC T V for their outstanding coverage of the event.

Fortunately, I had a radio at hand so that I could HEAR the announcement as well as practice my lip reading skills via the audio-less televised version on the “CNN of the Caribbean.”

23. John

On May 10, 1940, Winston Churchill became Prime Minister. When he met his Cabinet on May 13 he told them that “I have nothing to offer but blood, toil, tears and sweat.” He repeated that phrase later in the day when he asked the House of Commons for a vote of confidence in his new all-party government. The response of Labour was heart-warming; the Conservative reaction was luke-warm. They still really wanted Neville Chamberlain. For the first time, the people had hope but Churchill commented to General Ismay: “Poor people, poor people. They trust me, and I can give them nothing but disaster for quite a long time.”

24. John

Barbados PR Pro
    December 20, 2007 at 5:44 pm
    And it is now official. The Hon. Owen S. Arthur has announced TUESDAY, JANUARY 15 as the day when Bajans will head to the polls to select the next government. May God be with us all!!!
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

… yes Barbados PR Pro, you are right, may God be with us all.

25. Adrian Hinds

John
    December 20, 2007 at 5:35 pm
    I wonder why Owen didn’t choose Errol Barrow Day, 21st January for the election day this time instead of 15th January.
    ===================================

You obviously haven’t listen to Owen Arthur’s newly edited nomination speech. On two occasions he use Errol Barrow’s name to demonstrate the length of time that the DLP has done things to disadvantage residents of St.Peter, at Small Hope, and at Sixmens.

……When I heard him I laughed, because I have come to realize that this shallow Napoleon of a man will cloak himself in the image of anyone he can benefit from and discard them when he no longer has need for them. So the image of Errol Barrow that he basked in for so long he has pull down and off and I believe he has his eyes set on assuming the image of Martin Luther King to kick start his so called new beginning. If the natural features and habit of Chameleon immediately comes to mind, it is not without merit.
    ….The true character of a real man is not applicable to Owen Arthur, that’s why he try’s to assume that of others.

Well Owen Arthur, as a student of the teachings and writings of Martin Luther King, YOU ARE NO MARTIN LUTHER KING.

26. Yardbroom

The bell has been rung.

There is a battle to be fought, and stout hearts will be needed, but let us remember at this hour, that we are citizens of Barbados.

Regardless of colour or creed, regardless of position in society, let us be men and women of dignity, and fight a good fight, because we are Barbadians.

Let us also remember, the efforts of BFP and we should not forget Adrian Loveridge and his family, who have suffered the most vindictive of personal and vile attacks.

We must speak out when an injustice has been done, regardless of if the victim is black or white.

May God bless Barbados:let freedom ring, the Democratic Labour Party, lead by David Thompson deserves an opportunity to lead us.

27. centipede

In the USA (as an example) there are two main political parties – the Republicans and the Democrats – each of the parties has a distinctively different philosophy.

Here in BDS we have two main political parties the B’s and ther D.s. Both of these have the SAME philosophy.

So what’s the difference between voting one or the other ‘party’ into governance?

As I see it… vote in the D’s this time so we can spread the teefin’ wealth among a wider group.

28. Wishing in Vain

Or vote D to put a halt to the wild and wicked stealing as is presently the case, with $ 750 million in cost overruns with the proceeds being distributed to he and his inner circle of friends.

TIME FOR A CHANGE A NEW DIRECTION

29. Adrian Hinds

centipede
    December 20, 2007 at 6:08 pm
    In the USA (as an example) there are two main political parties – the Republicans and the Democrats – each of the parties has a distinctively different philosophy.

Here in BDS we have two main political parties the B’s and ther D.s. Both of these have the SAME philosophy.

So what’s the difference between voting one or the other ‘party’ into governance?

As I see it… vote in the D’s this time so we can spread the teefin’ wealth among a wider group.
    ==================================

This is not quite true. If you understand the relationships that existed pre 1937, and fully understands the struggle that made Grantley Adams famous within Barbados, then this cannot be the case. What has happened to the remnants of the Planter class and the political party they formed? What has happened to the Barbados Electors Association, who where it’s famous members?, and where can these famous names be now found? I have statements that Owen Arthur made in 1999 where he declares that the DLP as the party of the working class in Barbados is now a thing of the past as the BLP shakes off the character of old and assumes it new role in the interest of the common man. Clearly those within the BLP knew that there was a difference and that they had to evolve in other to become consistently relevant to the voting masses. Even Trevor “My mouth is always full” Precod, talked about the BLP of the past, the BLP of now, and the BLP of the future. You may continue to look at the official view of the parties, but i will look to their history, their activities, and to their membership for truth and guidance as to where their philosophical hearts lie.

30. centipede

TX Adrian H. Please give us a short list – 5 instances will do – where the philosophy of the two parties differ. This will help us all have a clearer perception.

31. young one

you know i’m not a party person but i have to ask this question? where is all the proof of the stealing you ppl talk about? i’m no lawyer so i’m not defening no one but god lord, we have been hearing and reading all this stealing and no smoking guns? well these ppl would have to be the best theifs in the world. all alot of you ppl do it go of feels but feeling make a man shit his self. like centipede say left is right and right is left. a pollin station can’t see me for life. and Wishing in Vain if owen win ppl like you goin to kill yourselfs? and don’t tell me no crap about he can’t win because they have a 50% chance same way you have one… so study that.

32. reality check

God helps them who helps themselves!

Hoping and praying aren’t going to win this election.

BFP Lets start with a list of the candidates in each riding with a small description of who they are and what record of service or disservice they have left on the Barbadian landscape.

Next, everyone needs to involve 10 of their neighbors to get out and vote.

Next the parties need many observers on the ground on election day watching every step of the process starting with empty boxes, counting the number of ballots given out, taking names and numbers at the exit polls etc. Make sure you bring your DVD recorders to get evidence and upload it to the OECD.

Whining and wailing are long over as options.

Be part of the democratic process or take the consequences.

33. Able-2-b-Able

Well following the so called ‘walkout’ ,the Dems said in the person of Thompson, ” As far as I am concerned the Parliament has been desolved by The Democratic Labour Party….Owen Arthur..Call the electio ad get this over with !”

They seem to have indeed desolved!

34. Able-2-b-Able

sorry…it ( the parliament)

35. Wishing in Vain

It is with much amusement that I heard Owing announce the election date today, some of those would go as far as to suggest the decision to call the election was dictated to Owing by the Leader of The Opposition, when he walked out of the house and declared that as far as he was concerned the house was now prorogued and that he was not returning until after the elections when the DLP form the new Gov’t of this island, and that is exactly what has taken place.

Even in his short address today Owing sounds disinterested and tired with politics but he is holding out to halt mottley’s progress, well done Owing well done, keep socking it to her each time she tries to raise her head you just keep knocking her out well done to you.

36. Always BLP

My best wishes to the BLP. I am sure that on Jan 15th you will be returned to govern this country. I will be there to rejoice with you.

There will be much weeping from the DLP as the Hon. Owen S. Arthur is return as PM.

God bless the BLP and their members seeking elections

37. Littleboy

Why would the PM call an election in the midst of preparations for one of the most celebrated Christian festivals,Xmas???
    He is losing his nut!!!
    The DLP has scheduled a concert at Heroes Square for Friday, so I guess he wanted to upstage them.
    It will be interesting to see the type of crowd that turns up.
    I have been told that several of the candidates will be performing as well.
    I will be there!!!

38. Wishing in Vain

Nothing and not one single action coming from Owing in the past couple years has been one that is creative or exciting he has been made to look like an idiot on so many recent encounters with Mr Thompson none more so than the encounter with Mr Thompson and the cheque that Owing deposited to his account.

He has been on the back foot every step of the way, Mr Thompson has his game read and is making an idiot of the PM right down to the date for the election.

39. Jerome Hinds

Always BLP…..I admire your STUPIDITY !

For a PM to declare:

** No election until my ROADS are finished !

** No election until IMPORTANT BILLS are debated in Parliament !

** No election until FOOD PRICES come down !

** No election until the $ 34 million ROADS in St. Philip are fixed !

How come these things are not in ORDER but OWEN ring the BELL ??????

The ANSWER :

** Clyde Asscoll stated in PARLIAMENT that the PEOPLE of BARBADOS should forget about the HARDWOOD $ 2 MILLION…..

Go and INVESTIGATE the TIEFFING on the ABC HIGHWAY…..?

I never heard OWEN…..POOPED so hard in Parliament…..until ASSCOLL uttered those…..WORDS…..!

There was no doubt……ELECTIONS was the only immediate ALTERNATIVE….!

David Thompson was right…….” the House of ASSEMBLY ” was effectively dissolved…..at that MOMENT !

40. Hants

This a brilliant political move by Owen Arthur.

Buying people presents and sharing out nuff “Christmas spirit” is legal. Great way to invest.

Having nomination day on “old years day” and then fete all night is a great opportunity to give out new years gifts.Great way to invest prior to an election.

I hope that people will vote with their heads and not their bellies.

Game on.

41. Every election in the past 10 or so years I hear that the Dems have a chance and then due to some screw up like the crime & violence campaign they completely crash and burn.

Will this time really be any different? Are the winds of change that strong that Owen will be defeated? Is the man on the street really ready to vote against the BLP? Will Commalong and his third party tief votes from the Dems?

42. Time is short now..

..but there is still time enough
    for one last PRINT EDITION of the Barbados Free Press
    to be distributed nation-wide
    in ZR vans particularly!

This next and very pertinent SWING-THE-PUBLIC print edition
    must be timed to hit the printers,then the streets
    two days before Election Day,
    so the public has the time to distribute,receive and digest its contents
    and act accordingly when the bell tolls!

so the BFP got their task set out for them
    over this holidays. Start compiling, men!
    Gentlemen..START YOUR ENGINES!

There are too many out there still of the lazy opinion disliking change,
    and saying that The Devil we know is better than the new boys:
    those are the sort of people who get the Government they deserve!

And they are the sort of people who must be persuaded to vote for change,
    and to get dey axx out dey and vote
    and doan stand-home en play de fool..!

This is serious bidness dis time around.
    Doan play de ass!

Talk to yuh friends and working colleagues!
    Anybody who say dem en voting are being downright un-patriotic

(although many White Bajans aren’t voting, but that’s okay…we’ll allow them to be un-patriotic..we understand why dem en voting..is okay!)

43. Wishing in Vain

Is this man loosing his marbles or what?
    He makes a speech on SUNDAY and says that he does not want ever to see the return to office of the DLP and two days later he is telling people he never said that.

Where is his brain is it work, does he not remember that the press were present and he had his TV cameras there and they had it live on the web but now he denies he made the comment, this man is over the top in his willingness to lie.

44. Anonymous X

Owen sounded very unenthusiastic when he made the announcement today. He sounded like a tired old man! We can’t wait to get rid of him and all the other jokers in the BLP Gov’t. We want a fresh new beginning. We too are tired like Owen is tired!

This is a strategic time of the year. People making themselves merry and not too interested in financial challenges; the absence of call -in programmes; nuff drunk people ( including Owen with his unbreakables); no need to finish the hardwood debate in the House etc.

45. Hants

The people of Barbados should see that calling an election so close to the Christmas and New Years holidays is the height of arrogance and political expediency.

If the DLP had not started campaigning in public, the people would have had very little time to listen to Candidates.

This time though, I believe the Barbadian voters have had enough and will change the Government and keep Democracy alive in Barbados.

May the people get the Government they vote for and deserve and may BFP get their Integrity Legislation.

46. Wishing in Vain

Is this man loosing his marbles or what?
    He makes a speech on SUNDAY and says that he does not want ever to see the return to office of the DLP and two days later he is telling people he never said that.

Where is his brain is it work, does he not remember that the press were present and he had his TV cameras there and they had it live on the web but now he denies he made the comment, this man is over the top in his willingness to lie.,

47. Leroy & David

Dearest Leroy,
    Write the cheque. The thing start.
    Love,
    David

48. Hants

Ok I read this in the Nation,

“motivated in a SPECIAL way by the determination NEVER to see the DLP hold the reins of office in this country.”

Yuh mean de Nation Newspaper lie pun Owing?

49. Adrian Hinds

centipede
    December 20, 2007 at 6:44 pm
    TX Adrian H. Please give us a short list – 5 instances will do – where the philosophy of the two parties differ. This will help us all have a clearer perception.
    ===================================

….I cannot because i do not know what is being suggested as the single philosophy that unites ,them. All i can at this point give you are the statements of individuals that speaks of a difference. I will find my list of speeches made in 1999 and present you with what Owen Arthur said, and that i believe demostrates a difference in practice. Then there is Mascoll as the DLP LOTO, statement of reminder to all members of Parliament “That we are all socialist democrats” where he went on to state that the BLP members were not holding thru to the tenets of a Social Democrat, then there is the statement of Mascoll this time as a Junior minister of the BLP stating ” I don’t believe in socialism, i believe in pragmatism. And finally there is Trevor Prescod who said that there is a BLP of the past, a BLP of now and a BLP of the future. There are differences as they must be, but if i must partially agree with you the similarity occurs while in office, because they both govern under a system that makes it difficult not to be corrupt. Under our system if you do not engage in corrupting practices and or dictorial practices you can end up lame like Bernard St.John, booted like Sandiford, or cornered like Owen. There is no innate respect amongst parliamentarians for the person holding first position, a position that any number of them may have grand aspirations of attaining.

50. Wishing in Vain

The man says he never said it, what you really think?

51. Adrian Hinds

Hants
    December 20, 2007 at 8:22 pm
    Ok I read this in the Nation,

“motivated in a SPECIAL way by the determination NEVER to see the DLP hold the reins of office in this country.”

Yuh mean de Nation Newspaper lie pun Owing?
    ================================
    It would appear so, cause yuh aint gine hear um in the video online….but they have not denied it, called for a retraction, or issued a libel threat, so um is either true or don’t care, wuh people think.

52. Adrian Hinds

Hants
    December 20, 2007 at 7:49 pm
    This a brilliant political move by Owen Arthur.

Buying people presents and sharing out nuff “Christmas spirit” is legal. Great way to invest.

Having nomination day on “old years day” and then fete all night is a great opportunity to give out new years gifts.Great way to invest prior to an election.

I hope that people will vote with their heads and not their bellies.

Game on.

=================================

There might be some merit to your opinion. At the end of parliament, at the end of the calling programmes for 2007 and at the end of the DLP series of meetings. so come nomination day both parties will began anew on the election campaign trail.

53. rsc

I AM SO HAPPY THAT ELECTIONS HAS BEEN CALL ;ASSCOOL

54. 1PartyState!

“Is this man loosing his marbles or what?
    He makes a speech on SUNDAY and says that he does not want ever to see the return to office of the DLP

You realize such a statement would therefore be calling-for/wishing-for a one party state..!

Big Chief for Life.
    Chavez-esque.
    near-Megalomania!
    Cute!

A MOST un-democratic utterance! if it is true
    (and this ain’t the first time I’ve heard allegations of such 1partyState utterances)

Any politician who fancies himself a statesman
    would WELCOME a healthy Opposition
    in a healthy democracy.
    Do you see what we have here?

Dis be African tribal Politrix,now!

55. Anonymous

Mascoll gone! That seat is a DLP seat.

Billie gone from the City – and P.Todd tek over now.

56. Jerome Hinds

BFP,

I really have to take you up on your words above…..!

Really…..Owen Arthur for 14 years says he is NOT interested in Integrity Legislation !

He even demonstrated his repugnance for this important issue by dissolving Parliament on 20th December 2007…..without A word about Integrity Legislation….!

Yet……BFP would want us to forget that David Thompson in December 2007 tabled a MOTION in the House of Assembly on Integrity Legislation !

Yet……BFP now tell us on 20th December 2007
    ( the VERY day Owen dissolves Parliament )……that David Thompson’s tabling of his Integrity Legislation……..will probably cost him the election……..!

Well…..well….well…..if EVERY voter in Barbados were to adopt……the BFP’s…..JACKASS thinking…..then the results of 15th January 2008 are WELL known….!

Ah got to hand it to you……..BFP !

BFP Comments

So many DLP supporters during the last two years said we would see the details on the mythical DLP integrity legislation when the election was called.

It has been called.

Well….?

57. Littleboy

Kerry Symmonds gone too…Rawle Eastmond & Liz Thompson will join them too…
    Prepare Barbados for a new set of faces..people with a will to work!!!

58. John

I think that he had no choice but to call elections.

As a forum where the people’s business is conducted, Parliament had become a joke.

The cost over runs and fraudsters that keep cropping up have not been explained.

Worse, there has been no attempt whatsoever so we are left with GEMS unexplained and with no audited finacials since way back when and many other apparent infilicities.

Once the opposition walked out and signalled they would no longer be accomplices in the charade, he was left to play with himself in the sand box, … and the sandbox is not meant to be used that way.

Suspect he realized his number was up and would have to call elections.

Good for him!!

He did not have to.

At least he will measure up to Sandi when finally weighed in the balance. I think part of Sandi’s greatness comes in his willingness to let go.

I think too it is interesting he did not use Erroll Barrow Day, the 21st, as the day of the elections as he did back in 1998.

I understand Adrian’s logic but I think he just did not want to tempt fate twice. The outcome of these elections cannot be clear to him so why go thumbing his nose at the Dees and get catspraddle on Erroll Barrow Day.

He would never live that down!!

Hopefully there will be a change in Government.

If there isn’t, hopefully the shaking the Bees received will wake them up and get them on track.

We need to keep shaking, even after the victor is announced, ….. particularly if the Bees get back in.

59. John

Littleboy and Anonymous

…… “never count your chickens before they hatch”!

Watch and wait. What is to happen will happen.

I don’t think the outcome of these elections is any foregone conclusion.

As much as I think the Bees deserve to get the boot, politics is a funny thing.

60. Makaveli

Don’t tell anybody who to vote for…

Just ask fellow Barbadians to think about their situation…is Barbados getting better or worse?
    If you think better then go and VOTE!
    If you think worse then go and VOTE!
    If you think neither and it is stagnant still go and VOTE!

Go and VOTE, Go and VOTE, GO AND VOTE!!!

61. Observing

It is time everyone, prepare for the mother of all elections. Lies, money, propaganda, mud slinging will be a feature of the BLP’s campaign.

Go figure, they haven’t addressed Hardwood, God knows how many financial reports haven’t been laid, they play around with prices, cost of living, public servants and housing (Farley’s promised 1000) all within 6 weeks of calling an election. Not to mention they haven’t followed through on what they said they would BEFORE calling elections. Clearly a sign of desperation.

They should be ousted for the arrogance in thinking that the electorate is so stupid, naive and fickle to fall for all of the charades and pitiful attempts at showing how much they suddenly care about us in the past 1-2 months, after so many years of hardly doing anything, or, doing the wrong things. I pray to God that people see with their eyes and vote with their heads.

John, if the BLP wins the only shaking up will be them shaking up to see how much more they can rape and pillage our finances. This country cannot take 5 more years of this government with the same people.

WIV, did Owen really deny this statement? I noticed the video has “disappeared” from the BLP site.

62. Lady Anon

————–

Not this time…January 21 is a Sunday. I actually expected it the Friday before, though.

63. Starrr

Twas the week before Xmas
    And all through The Lower House
    The BLP was steamin’
    Like Puddin’ and Souse
    Thompey pushed Arthur for a date
    Owen tried to ignore him
    But this week before Xmas
    He had to give in
    And so the clock struck one
    And Arthur adressed
    That January 15th would be
    The date of the ultimate test
    So the ppl o Bimshire
    In the midst of their Xmas prep
    Realised that the PM
    Had some pep in his step
    So they all got together
    And planned for a way
    To remove the BLP government
    Via their ‘X’ that January Day
    So come that Night
    All Barbados Will See
    That it is time for a Change
    Starting by voting in the D’s
    Oh thank you Mr. Arthur
    For seeing it fit
    To call an election
    The Best Xmas gift
    And so all the people
    In Barbados slept tight
    As David was made the PM

and said Lets Go Forward BARBADOS..THIS IS THE NIGHT…

TIME FOR A CHANGE

COPYRIGHTSTARRRPRODUCTIONS 2007

64. breath-er-liz-her

anybody for a drink?????? Gulp! Gulp!
    D party’s over……Gulp! Gulp!
    Hey, Mustle Mary! U got d keys to d concorde? Lets get outa here Gulp! Gulp!

65. Henderson Gay Bovell

I smell a rat; time for me to jump ship again.
    Hey you guys, I’m back…….ya got a job for me?

66. Sister Baby

Did the Guyanese Obeah Lady tell His Excellecy de Hon. PM to call for elections on January 15th?

67. Sargeant

I checked the BLP website and cant find the PM’s speech at his nomination. I can find two by Richard Arthur, one by Clyde Mascoll of “poor black man” fame and one by Mia Mottley (the best deputy PM in the world) but none by Arthur. I guess that Arthur was in his cups when he made that speech (the one about seeing that the DLP will never hold the reins of office) and forgot the script. Owen you can’t let the people know about your plans for the “One Party state”, wait until after the election, the BLP brain trust must be in a frenzy, now they have removed it from the site trying to manipulate the the voters and the media.

You can fool some of the people some of the time, but not all the people all the time.

68. just a thought

but 750 mil in over runs and a 750 000 dolla cheque. Dat means he got 1000 dollas for every million dollars stolen.

69. Bajanboy

At least in Barbados we have a democracy that works. Whatever the outcome next month, the people of Barbados will have to live with the decision. Personally, I have had enough with the BLP and think it is time for change. But a voice inside of me thinks that it may not make a difference who runs this country, for without integrity and accountability legislation, politicians are free to do as they choose.

70. Stahr

Why would Owen Arthur pull sucha facist act. Such actions demonstrates the lack of respect Owen Arthur have for the masses. Its time to send you back to Ben Hill to salivate.

71. Bussa Goddard

Hate to be trivial, but I am blaming WIV and other “Jan 17” blabbermouths for causing Owen to change his original date Jan 17 date to the 15th, denying me my expected extended bank holiday weekend, 18th – 21st. You know that Owen hates his plans being predicted by others. He could not delay elections any longer, so all he had to play with was a couple days here or there.

72. goldenbead

Here in Thailand we are having a general election on Sunday December 23rd. I am hopeful that this country will have a truly democratically elected government to replace the current military junta. Politics are a dirty business over here with open vote buying, brewing violence and bans on the sale of alcohol for two weekends leading up to the election.

How does this concern Barbados? I would like to think that in my home country, elections will be free and fair and in particular, non-violent. I hope for a good and peaceful turnout whatever the result. May the best man/woman/party win.

73. Wishing in Vain

Observing
    If you doubt me ask one of the top moderators at VOB and hear what he has to say on the matter.
    I am speaking the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

74. Wishing in Vain

OWEN MASHES UP BAJANS CHRISTMAS CELEBRATIONS.
    Jump to Comments
    Arthur has called elections in the midst of the holiday season. One must ask the question why. Would have been too late to call elections in early january to be contested on the last day of January or early september. No, not if you are owen arthur. You will call it now to frustrate the people of Barbados. You will do your dammest to spoil their celebrations. This is Own Arthur’s way. We will do anything to strangle the people of Barbados. One can only hope that they will look from behind the smoke and make a better way for Barbadians at home and aboard. OWEN ARTHUR AND HIS MERRY BAND MUST GO. ONLY THE PEOPLE CAN MAKE HIM GO.

75. Hants

WIV…..”You will do your dammest to spoil their celebrations. This is Own Arthur’s way. ”

It is a small price to pay for the opportunity to change this Government.

76. djohnny

does anyone know clyde assole’s email address?????????

77. Gabby

I found out who killed pele fellows;
    i coming back over wid d information

78. Leroy & David

Sweet David,
    If I pay for you to win, what I goan get?
    Love,
    Leroy

79. John

Lady Anon
    December 20, 2007 at 11:48 pm
    ————–

Not this time…January 21 is a Sunday. I actually expected it the Friday before, though.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++

No it’s not, its a Monday. Change the year in your calendar to 2008.

I am not sure he can be blamed for spoiling Christmas. Can anyone remember when he announced Elections in 1997/98?

If it was before Christmas, then he would have had to spoil it then too, and I don’t recollect any spoilt Christmases.

Christmas will be Christmas, life will go on. Some will be sad, some happy but Christmas will be Christmas.

80. Jerome Hinds

Arthur has called elections in the midst of the holiday season.

Wishing In Vain…..do not let the DRUNKARD Owen Arthur detract us from what we have to do.

Hants is right……it is an opportunity to CHANGE this DESPOTIC bunch !

All the DRUNKARD did was try a Patrick Manning move !

Manning called the last T & T election period during the DIWALI festival……and won !

The DRUNKARD Owen Arthur announce our election period during the CHRISTMAS festival…!

Manning won because he was up against a CORRUPT opposition leader !

David Thompson is up against a CORRUPT political leader !

That ……$ 750,000.00 CHEQUE when displayed for the public benefit…..gine mek the DRUNKARD……get SOBER !

81. first Timer

This is my first time at the polls and I will be voting DLP.
    I have had enough of this high cost of living. I cant buy anything.
    time for a change for me

82. Wishing in Vain

It is not my firtst time at the polls but never before in my voting life have I felt so compelled and so in need of voting to change a disgusting , dishonest Gov’t as I am feeling this time around.

This time is a vote for our Democratic rights never before has a PM threatened this freedom as Owing has done , it certainly appears he would like a DICTATORSHIP STATE presided over by he and Julie.

83. fed up sylvan

I was in a rumshop in christ church last night. A well-known Bee said if Owen brings cat shit and asks Bajans to vote for it, they would do so because Bajans are stupid. Can you believe that? This is an upper class bee and he had in a few drinks so he was speaking his mind. is he saying the candidates of the BLP are cat shit? it seems that way because some behave so. Bajans must no to cat shit and vote out the BLP.

84. galaxy

Gabby,
    When did you find out? Seems you a very late on this? Did you speak to Ms.Goring? While you are at it give us the names of the BLP Politicians who were involved in the cover up!

85. Wishing in Vain

Why you want to arrest BRYTE ST.JOHN and Delise Bradshaw after all of these years?

Let us make every effort to arrest some of this present crop of blp politicians for corruption, and stealing that would be a step in the right direction.

86. Wishing in Vain

Amazingly the blp seem to want to hide and have this election nowhere on their site do they mention the date or the calling of the election.

What does that tell you about this fraud Owing and his gang????

87. galaxy

Henderson Gay Bovell,
    I gwine ask Almond Beach Hotel for a job as a waiter once again. With the tips you are likely to get if you smile pretty enough with our guests plus your NIS contributions over the last ten years you may not have a bad retirement. But I must say that you are one of the biggest opportunist I have ever known….you are a traitor and cannot be trusted!

88. Wishing in Vain

Just another fraud as so many from that party of bastards.

89. Starrr

This is my 1st time at the polls too ..and I feel obligated to my country to vote DLP all the way…It is time for a change

90. John

Once the opposition walked out and signalled they would no longer be accomplices in the charade, he was left to play with himself in the sand box, … and the sandbox is not meant to be used that way.

Suspect he realized his number was up and would have to call elections.

Good for him!!

He did not have to.

At least he will measure up to Sandi when finally weighed in the balance. I think part of Sandi’s greatness comes in his willingness to let go.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++

I am rethinking my position here. Overall, his calling of elections allows him to go down in history as at least being equal with Sandi on this point.

However, rumour had it that he was to have called them at his constituency branch on Sunday but he held off till Thursday, with one day of Parliament in between.

I would hate to think he held off for those few days just to rush the Physical Development Plan through and legalise all those illegal developments since 1991.

Will keep an eye on the Official Gazette to see what he actually did last Tuesday and what he was doing in the sandbox on Tuesday gone when the opposition was absent.

91. it was about time , glad to hear owen’s farewell announcemnet.will be licks like peas on the bees.

92. Observing

A desire never to see the DLP in power again, a refusal to address allegations of corruption, a refusal to hold ministers accountable for their failures or possible indiscretions, a huge void in the area of transparency, overruns on every major project, sudden “fake” interest in the issues that affect the average person 1 month before elections, inefficient use of public funds, preference to only address “safe” issues in the public domain, an abuse of Parliament over and over again.

I hope Barbadians are past the corn beef and biscuits (now light bill subsidies and paved roads) politics of decades ago. If we’re not we’re in a sad state.

by the way, when are temporary public servants supposed to be made permanent? before or after elections?

93. Rumplestilskin

I will say a piece and then wait for ‘my licks’.

We must all use our conscience and act accordingly, if not, we would be ignoring the ‘warning’ that we had a few weeks back.

The world is bigger than us and if that event taught nothing, then I am surprised.

Live well with a conscience, love and seek peace.

That is all.

94. Rumplestilskin

Okay, open the gates now for the ”idiot, that was just science, nothing to do with us” proponents.

Here they come……

95. Makaveli

“A desire never to see the DLP in power again”

I think you made a typo 🙂

96. Makaveli

Unless you mean Owen’s desire 😀

97. frankology

With eminent win by the DLP in this upcoming election. We should now focus on the selection and compilation of the proposed cabinet. This have nothing to do with partisan politics, but a measuring cup based on previous performance and experience by potential winners.

David Thompson – PM and Finance
    Michael Lashley – Minister of Housing
    Undine Whittaker – Minister of Social Transformation
    Richard Sealy – Minister of Energy & Environment
    Freundel Stuart – Attorney General
    Ronald Jones – Minister of Sports
    David Estwick – Minister of Health
    Denis Kellman – Minister of Consumer Affairs
    James Paul – Minister of Agriculture

Let’s hear about your selection.

98. John

… don’t count your chickens before they hatch!!

99. John

… a doctor as a minister of health ….. hmmm!!

100. Adrian Loveridge

Frankology…..

What about Tourism?

Will Noel Lynch cross the floor and keep his job?

101. Anonymous

Frankology…..

What about Tourism?

Good one there……AL !

I nominate Adrian Loveridge as Minister Of Tourism given his spot – on pronouncements on this industry !

Any calls from Big Davey as yet Adrian Loveridge…..?

Do not let Owen get hold of your MASTER Plan!!!!

102. Yardbroom

I think it would be prudent to win the election “first”, there is a lot of work to be done.

103. frankology

Frankology…..

What about Tourism?

……………………………………………………………………………..
    To be honest, I had you for a senator and to be Minister of Tourism.

Why would you entertain such a notion of Noel Lynch crossing the floor although he have been receiving constant bashing. Another thing, your language suggest that he will be retaining his seat. Thus the reason of crossing the floor.

104. reality check

haven’t we seen enough abuse with the PM also holding The Ministry of Finance portfolio?

Have any of these supposed candidates ever run a successful business or balanced their bank accounts at the end of the year without “tiefing”?

105. frankology

haven’t we seen enough abuse with the PM also holding The Ministry of Finance portfolio?
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    Just check back and you will see the Barbados’ political landscape with all Prime Ministers dealing with the Finance ministry with the Errol Barrow Government using David Thompson prior to the death of Errol Barrow. The only other time, but not with the DLP in Government, was the famous back-raised budget speech by Richie Haynes.

106. reality check

it may be custom to be both PM and Minister of Finance in Barbados but after we have witnessesd years of no financial statements and no transparency in government corporations, do Barbadians really want to hand this power to a single authority?

Even of more importance, is the ability of the PM to override decisions by Town and Country with respect of rezoning and approvals. Surely this single abuse of power will not be allowed to continue by the DLP if they have a chance of getting elected?

107. John

Why not cut the ministries to a maximum of say seven, advertise the job of minister locally and internationally to get the best candidate for the job and let the 30 MP’s do their job, Minding de Peoples’ business.

Bajans are good at this and do it daily and never spend a cent. They do not need a budget.

None of the MP’s ever have any experience and by now we should be able to see what that leads to.

They are incapable of being ministers.

I am sure if we stress a qualification for honesty in the job description of a minister we would be able to convince the Chief Immigration Officer to allow the jobs to be held by foreign applicants and issue the necessary work permits.

There have to be some honest people somewhere in the world.

There is no rule written in stone that a minister has to be an MP …… or is there?

108. Rumplestilskin

John ” I am sure if we stress a qualification for honesty in the job description of a minister we would be able to convince the Chief Immigration Officer to allow the jobs to be held by foreign applicants and issue the necessary work permits.”

You MUST be kidding. You surely do not know some of the people who run foreign corporations nor foreign ‘Government’ organisations e.g. WHO etc.

You think them easy?

How about that fellow in USA who get fired with all of those mortgage credit losses and got paid so much to walk away?

No way Jose!

109. reality check

John

There are few professionals in Barbados in the private sector with integrity and not part of the political pork barrell process—not many but a few.

I don’t think you need to go out of country but is any party prepared to hire competent people and give them some rope without a lot of strings that will inevitably prevent them from doing their job?

110. John

There have to some honest people in the world somewhere!!

111. Andrew

Just returned from Dems meeting in Heroes Square – It was a meeting with a difference, with more emphasis on the spiritual and the meaning of the season.
    The highlights??

1) The playing of the VIDEO which confirms what Arthur said at Alexandra School…”I’m motivated in a SPECIAL way by the determination NEVER to see the DLP hold the reins of office in this country.”

(Proved him a bla***d liar)

2) David Thompson’s speech.

3) The singing Dems showed that they have more worthy talents than the ‘biting’ and the ‘hardwood-at-the-backdoor’ which the other party is famous for.

4) Kimberly Inniss, Smokey Burke and a host of other local talent.

5) The incomparable Carlene Davis, her band and back-up singers.

It was a lovely evening out for the thousands who took time off their shopping to be there.

Thank you DLP

112. Adrian Loveridge

Anonymous…

No telephone calls as yet.

Frankology…

Just tongue in cheek.
    Its up to the good people of St. Michael South to judge if Mr Lynch should be re-elected.

If I was the DLP candidate for that constituency, I would simply bus the people up to Gregg Farm and ask the same question as David Ellis did on Down to Brass Tacks programme 25th March 2007.
    My second question would be, which charity did Mr. Lynch donate the $60,000 to?

From a tourism perspective, you only have to judge his performance or lack of it.

27 hotels closed.
    2,000 tourism jobs lost between 2002 and 2004.
    over 65,000 airline seats alone lost in the first nine months of this year.
    Hotels and Resorts Ltd, an unmitigated disaster, both in terms of economic and service delivery performance and still NO audited accounts for the last SIX years.
    Where have the proceeds gone from the sale of Eastry House and Silver Rock?

Look also at the LIAT situation and then dramatic decline in Intra Caribbean Travel, just at a time when we need it, the summer months.

SO MANY UNANSWERED QUESTIONS!

Sadly, as Pat Hoyos, recently pointed out, we seem to reward people for failure.

Until that changes………….

113. Adrian Loveridge

Ezra Alleyne, in his column, Issues and Ideas, 21st December 2007, tried as hard as he could to spin out of the verbatim quotation made by the Prime Minister recently.

‘I’m motivated in a special way by the determination never to see the DLP hold the reins of office in this country’.

Ricky Jordan is a very experienced journalist and I am sure he would be the first one to ensure that ANY misquote would be corrected in print in the quickest possible time.

Especially, as it was such an extremely evocative statement, made by our Prime Minister and carrying all the possible implications with it.

One, is left then, with the conclusion that Ezra Alleyne is trying to mask the damage caused in the minds of independent thinkers and even rational BLP supporters.

Either that, or Mr Alleyne is simply being economical with the truth and we should all treat future writings in that vain.

But, lets get back to the statement,

‘never to see the DLP hold the reigns of power in this country’.

So what is the Prime Minister proposing, a single party state. or dictatorship?

Does any right thinking person really want that?

When voting day comes, like all voters, I will have to balance off where and to whom my single vote goes to.

I have to think of the well being of my family, my business, our employees and their future.
    Exactly where, tourism,the industry I make my living from, is going and who best can help steer it in the right direction.
    I have seen ‘our’ elected MP about 5 times in the last five years. The opposition candidate, once at a fast food restaurant.
    Frankly, I like Mr Farley, but its what he is part of, and when I hear his leader make such controversial speeches, I worry.

114. Rumplestilskin

Adrian Loveridge :’I have seen ‘our’ elected MP about 5 times in the last five years. The opposition candidate, once at a fast food restaurant’

Was that on TV or the papers, because I have not seen my elected MP in the area in the past five years?

I expect that we will suddenly see him however, in which case I will tell him blatently, goodbye, enjoy retirement. No time for any other words.

The Opposition candidate I will give plenty advice to however, as I fully expect that person to be my nre representative.

115. Rumplestilskin

‘new rep’ that should be

116. Adrian Loveridge

Michael Smith a.k.a. The Squire of Gregg Farm…

Where is the constitution of Barbados does it say only black people can run for office?

Perhaps you do not remember the late Peter Morgan.

Good Governments help create the environment for their number one industry to thrive and prosper.
    They do NOT establish competitive groups
    ( GEMS), that practice predatory pricing and bring down the service reputation of the entire industry and destination (look at Trip Advisor).
    Plus not publish audited accounts for SIX years, leaving the taxpayer with massive debts estimated to be over $200 million.
    Just think each of the 27 closed hotels could have been given an over $7 million marketing and refurbishment grant.

Intra Caribbean travel is DOWN around 30% across the region THIS year. Look at the CTO statistics and read the comments of people like the PM of Grenada and tourism industry professionals.

Again, rather like GEMS, this Government has ploughed millions into LIAT and what are ‘we’ left with?

117. Roy Boy

Lynette Eastmond stated that she wanted 30 seats for the BLP. Arrogance, greed and DICTATORSHIP with Owen (like Chavez) President for life.

I wish for 27 DLP- 3 BLP. We once again see 3 blind mice on the opposition bench – Owen, Mia and Dugid.

Nuff said! Now get out and vote and make it happen peoples.

118. Rumplestilskin

Err, poor Lynette. Nice girl, one of the few politicians that are worth one’s time, BUT she cannot win even her seat let alone ask for everyone else’s too.

As for the three mice, leave out Duguid, his seat will go.

119. Jerome Hinds

Michael Smith
    December 22, 2007 at 11:11 am
    Roy Boy,

Lynette Eastmond was VERY RIGHT to state that she wanted 30 seats for the BLP. That’s what she’s there for.

You can also wish for whatever you want… but that doesn’t mean you will get it.

Michael Smith…..your argument is getting WEAKER……!

While your intake of the APPLETON……is getting STRONGER…..!

Fortunately….for good old BIM the electorate is not as DRUNK as you !

Cheers !

120. Adrian Loveridge

Michael Smith…

Well you certainly seem to have a low opinion of the voters of St. Michael South.

I am sure if they had the choice of a hard working white 20 year resident of Barbados and what they have now, I am sure they would make the right choice.

Peter Morgan was elected.

Just remind me how many votes Mr . Lynch won by in the last election.

What is it about your kind that continually puts colour before intelligence?

121. Roy Boy

MS; it appears that you cannot think for yourself.

No wonder this Country is sliding (fast) down a slippery slope of moral decay. Lead by the very persons you appear to support.

Speak to the Dictatorship unless, as I said, you cannot think for yourself!

122. frankology

As you know, I prefer to deal with issues as I see them. We might criticise, some might abuse, some might use endless innuendos, but in the final analysis it is the people who will decide politicians fate.

We might have a higher ratio of DLP writers within these blogs, but we can not give a true analysis if the viewers are Dees or Bees. We are just assuming that viewers will accede to our views.

May this election be fair and democratic. Do not allow our partisanship be used to destroy the image of this country, because whoever wins, that Government will have to undertake massive damage control. This goes out to Politicians, bloggers, commenters; and all the vile statements from the political divide lackies.

May the best man/woman win and may the better party win.

123. Negrocrat

“Barny’ Lynch is the biggest joker ever in politics ib Bdos. He thinks that he only has to speak and people will accept whatever he says.
    Barney, people are more discerning than you think.
    We have already work out that you are a liar and would do anything to manipulate the figures in Tourism – no pun intended.
    You will get the three G’s: Go, Goofey, GO.
    Your time has come to an end.
    Frundel will displace you.

124. Observing

Noel Lynch actually thinks that hurriedly fixing 6 roads that he promised to fix 8 years ago in St. Michael South (SMS) will redeem him. If there has ever been a neglected constituency, SMS is one of them. If I were the other BLP candidates I’d be planning what to do with my new found free time after January 15.

One quick thought, what do u guys think Arthur will do when he loses? Leader of the Opposition (I doubt it). Cede leadership to Mia or someone else? Leave Barbados for good to avoid the scandals that will get unearthed by a new government?

125. Emma

Why should people trust the Barbados Free Press if they don’t even know who the HELL is behind it? You want transparency and you’re operating under cloak and dagger? If your stories were true to begin with you would have no fear of being found out or held for libel. You slanderous fools.

126. Straight talk

EMMA:

Too late my girl, BFP has far more credibility than any one of Barbados’ mainstream media.

Your own party’s blog cannot display your leader’s sozzled ramblings.

The Nation has to rely on its former editor to retain perspective , after sticking up his finger and knowing that the wind is only blowing one way.

Albert “job for life” Brandford will be writing stories on the difficulties faced by Clyde, nailing hardwood panels when he should be PM.

Dream on, opportunist extraordinaire.

But at least he will be helping “poor black bajans” for a change.

Ezra ; what’s the future for you boy?

Screwed up another cushy number.

Might have to work for a living.

Don’t ask BFP for transparency EMMA, they are just concerned citizens,
    Demand transparency from this secretive administation, drag it out of them, inch by inch.
    They will not admit their maladministration easily but it will surface,
    and the people will feel justified in their decision, even though the path to economic security will be harder without recourse to borrowing more in a time of global recession.

127. Andrew

Poor Emma

Running hither thither and yon

one minute she at BFP, next she at BU and the next she at Patriots.

Still she can’t tell me, a voter, why I should TRUST Prime Minister Owen Arthur, after he made that comment at Alexandria School last Sunday. A comment that casts our minds back to the days of Forbes Burnham and Eric Gairy.

Why, Emma, should I trust him ?????

We as a people have to Vote against … Arrogance
    Vote against .. A One
    Party State
    Vote against a ‘Jill Pot’
    Dictatorship
    And most of all Vote against those who can’t keep
    their mouths shut when they have in a few see-throughs

128. st,peter pub

My fellow barbadians any time a pm could get Alexandria School on the night that he is given the go ahead to be +
    his party leader in the next general election it speaks volumes of his intensions are he thinks he owns barbados and he can do what ever he likes and no one can tell him he is wrong he is very arrogrant he think he owns the country like eric Gairy did in grenada and put any thing past him he will try to rig the next election like Forbes Sampson Burnham used to do in guyana check how both end up Gairy went blind burnham had diabetes very bad. now barbados has a dictator name owen and does not ever WANT to see a Dlp goverment ever again but he forgot it is the same DLP that help him to get an education , these are very serious words and can not be taken lightly it is said that we are very smart people so lets prove it in this election. also remember ( DAVIDSEALE the merchant is ANTHONY WOOD COUSIN)and is bank rolling the BLP POLITICAL MACHINE BUT HE FOR GOT Errol Barrow help him with his wine buisness when he was dong and out get your free xmas hampers take the free money given too you because it wil be your last chance if you dont vote right remember your chrildren and grand chrildren your are also voting for there future and remember, hard wood, gems and last the budget speach when david ask owen about the $ 750.000 that was put in his bank account. so all bajans should know how to vote

129. Roger Rabbitt

Ezra ; what’s the future for you boy?

………………………………………………..
    Straight Talk, a friend told me that Ezra has a British passport, so my guess is that he will head off to the mother country. And I don’t mean Africa.

130. st,peter pub

the dye has been cast at a time when barbadians should only be thinking of the feastive season who should soon know how we feel when a dictator tries to control the hold country it wont be long before the spin doctor clyde griffith would be packing and running back to new york, this is the same man that said owen should not have a big funeral for his daughter this is the same man that used to say thatDavid Thompson is the best thing for barbados and at one stage was planning to joining the DLP but as we know OWEN is his cousin and he got some of the easy money to tell lies on the DLP leader and fool bajans but remember what ever a man sow he will have to reap also beaware of the the guyanese vote that are not citizens of barbados it had been done before dont put any thing pass owen

131. Anonymous

BLP supporter….. DE BUMBLE BEE…..has been calling her BLP party colleagues to ACCOUNT on the BLP BLOG !

Check it out !

DE BUMBLE BEE // December 26, 2007 at 5:22 pm

We BLP SUPPORTERS are something else !

We are touting Mia Mottley as a future PRIME MINISTER of Barbados !

But she ain’t got no ECONOMICS DEGREE !

So why we telling the DEMS that David Thompson ain’t got no ECOCOMICS DEGREE….so he cannot be a future PRIME MINISTER of Barbados !

We BLP supporters better REPENT !

Or else come the 15th of Jan 2008….bajans gine PUNISH we BLP party for……SUCH STUPID COMMENTS !

132. Anonymous

BFP ,

The caption of the picture at the top of this page !

Is it……….” My brother did what ”

OR

Should it be……” My BOSOM did what ”

lol

133. Wishing in Vain

HOUSING AMONG THE LIST OF DLP PRIORITIES
    A RESPONSIBLE GOVERNMENT would ensure that each low-income family can afford homes, says Democratic Labour Party (DLP) candidate for St James South, Donville Inniss as he canvassed the constituency.

“Haynesville is considered the epitome of low-income in St James South, which is comprised of housing stock of National Housing units,” he said yesterday.

“There is a need for assistance to those who want to purchase their own National Housing Corporation (NHC) units. The reality is that the income levels of individuals in those units do not generally allow for them to purchase these units,” he explained.

The people in Haynesville, he said, would not qualify for even what NHC calls “affordable housing” in its new residential developments, and so many would have to remain in the units they are living in.

“So as a responsible Government, we will have to put systems in place to ensure that each individual has established himself/herself in the community, and is in position to own the roof over their heads,” he said.

He also called for education and training programmes to be brought into the Haynesville community, noting that even though it was surrounded by Melbourne cricket field and the Holders Hill playing field, these were only sporting facilities without any organised activities.

“The physical club houses are not designed to provide training facilities for residents,” Inniss said

134. Jerome Hinds

If LEADERSHIP will indeed be one of the main planks in this election campaign…..then HONESTY & INTEGRITY must be exhibited by all who aspire to leadership positions.

Listening to OWEN Arthur in the extract below :

Follow the speech below :

http://blp.org.bb/blptv/speeches

The following points must HIGHLIGHTED :

** The 1990’s were characterised by a GLOBAL RECESSION !

** The IRAQ war was a contributing factor !

** Many countries around the world including the Caribbean were affected by this recession !

** In Trinidad & Tobago there were job cuts & the COLA allowance…….check out Black Stalin song !

** In Antigua there were job losses & salary cuts !

** In Dominica there were retrenchment of Civil Servants & salary cuts !

** In Britain & USA there were salary cuts & job losses !

This is the REAL point……..was ERSKINE SANDIFORD & the DLP responsible for what occured in all those COUNTRIES above ?

REGARDLESS…….of who was in office in Barbados during the EARLY 1990’s the results were going to be the same.

So why do we have Owen Arthur and the BLP making it sound that only Barbados was affected by this GLOBAL RECESSION ?

135. Wishing in Vain

How can we really suggest that leadership can be an issue in this election when we have tolerated the leadership of what will go down in history as the MOST CORRUPT PRIME MINISTER TO EVER HOLD THE OFFICE OF PRIME MINISTER and the most POWER HUNGRY PERSON ever to have had the honour of leading this country.
    When in his quest for a DICTATORSHIP HE CAN STATE THAT HE NEVER WANTS TO SEE THE DLP LEAD THIS COUNTRY EVER AGAIN it REEKS with ARROGANCE but I think I understand his NEED FOR POWER AND CONTROL he HAS TO AVOID THE RISK OF BEING CARRIED TO THE COURTS FOR BRIBERY, FRAUD AND CORRUPTION.
    Therein lies his real reason to maintain power it is not about the peoples cause, it is about his own needs to cover his tracks and to direct justice, we aleady know of his ability to affect justice with his lack of documentation with regard to his divorce from Beverley, he and DAVID SIMMONS are two peas in a pod, both crooked as ever.

If this is what we have for leadership, forget it, we could bring GEARBOX back from his grave and he would command more respect from the people than Arthur does and better yet GEARBOX would be seen as a poor honest man much to his credit, so unlike this one call OWING ARTHUR.

I am eternally grateful that we have a leader in waiting to bring some order to this Nation, come the evening of the 15th of JANUARY. THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH MR DAVID THOMPSON for being a loyal servant to the people of this island for nearly 30 years of your life that is a major sacrifice to have made for us the citizens.

136. Jerome Hinds

Jerome Hinds WRITES :

The BLP suppoter , De Bumble Bee….is not allowing her BLP colleagues to go the way of PAKISTAN.

She is asking some tough questions.

Check her comments below & on the BLP blog.

DE BUMBLE BEE // December 27, 2007 at 2:08 pm

q // December 27, 2007 at 8:17 am

As for the bumble bee I have been following your comments and whilst you may be a DIE HARD BEE as you say, you are certainly not a BLP supporter.

DE BUMBLE BEE WRITES :

That is it…..Q you believe that we BLP supporters should RASCALISE politics !

If our leader , OWEN said something wrong….let us get him to APOLOGISE !

And if you insist he ain’t say nothing WRONG…..then why the words NO LONGER appear in the speech on BLP TV ?

” No DLP gov’t ever again ” line ?

Follow the speech below :

http://blp.org.bb/blptv/speeches

I hope you following the EVENTS in PAKISTAN ?

The president SUSPENDED the CONSTITUTION recently !

Today supporters of the PRESIDENT assasinated Benazir Bhutto the OPPOSITION leader !

In Barbados we BLP party & party leader tried to SUSPEND the CONSTITUTION !

On the 16th DECEMBER 2007 our party LEADER , OWEN ARTHUR , told the country that he is DETERMINED & MOTIVATED ” to keep the DEMS out of office FOREVER ” !

If we BLP people do not REPENT !

Come the 15th of Jan 2008 Bajans gine mek we pay for……..SUCH STUPID COMMENTS !

137. Big Mouth

The election announcement did not even make me bat an eyelid. I find it rather amusing that so many of my friends and their friends and their friends etc. have no intention of voting.