How To Stop The Barbados Government From Reading Your Emails

The Government of Barbados recently invoked a secret law to allow government agents and police to read the emails of Barbados citizens without the necessity of a search warrant signed by a judge.

Do You Mind If The Government Reads YOUR Email?

As first revealed in our article Secret Order In Council Cancels Privacy Rights – Invokes Executive Powers – Barbados Government Takes The First Step Towards The Abyss, Prime Minister Owen Arthur is corruptly using government executive powers and the police for the purpose of identifying and countering his political opposition.

Part of the plan involves the forced co-operation of Barbados internet suppliers to identify readers of Barbados Free Press and Barbados Underground. Once readers of these “subversive” (read “pro-democracy and accountability”) blogs are identified, the government regularly scans their emails for evidence or information that could be used against political opposition or citizens who call for accountability.

As well, our sources indicate that the private communications of high-profile members of the Democratic Labour Party are also being monitored through these new and secret laws.

For any Bajan citizens who have doubts about the government’s willingness to engage in such unethical and anti-democratic behaviour, we urge you to read our original article (link here). We also urge all Barbadians who value democracy and their own privacy to take some simple steps that will make it very difficult for government agents to read their emails. This is the first of a series of articles that will look at widely available tools and technologies that will empower Bajans and all our readers to maintain their privacy and freedom to communicate without fear of government reprisals.

Your “Private” Emails Are Not Private

When you log into Cable & Wireless, Sunbeach or any internet supplier (ISP), and then send an email to a friend, lover or business acquaintance, your message is sent “in the clear” as it is transfered from your computer to your ISP and then over the internet to its final destination. Copies of your email are to be found in several locations along the way even after the email is received or deleted by you or the recipient.

The Barbados government is able to look at those emails and it is doing so. How to stop them from reading your emails? Easy…

Encrypt Those Emails – It’s Easy!

When you use one of the widely available free email encryption programmes or web-based email services, no one except your intended recipient is able read your email.

Under normal circumstances, a government agent working with your internet supplier might see this email in transit…

“From: bobtheorganiser@sunbeach.net

To: davidleader77@sunbeach.net

Hello David,

I have attached the timetable for our candidate’s walk through Grape Hall next Wednesday afternoon. We’ve invited some of our well known members to accompany the candidate, and we’ve arranged for everyone to have some lunch at the home of Auntie Moses – one of the respected ladies from the local church. Be in Grape Hall at 10am sharp.

Robert”

When you use one of the encrypted email services, the government chap who is reading your emails sees something like this…

—–BEGIN PGP MESSAGE—–
Version: 7.1

xHzudLHwn4xI287VR4fhEgc5SwIAN2fcJOLdIkdh/6GS4Cy7h
qn8QDE/TrN2KQeh84QHpRxRBQb5Fb758eQ/sPS6QF4awsCE
oiO9oRcJjJ07WJbCTsi2xKyTp9T4JkmNSmXc6V85V9QOwQ
xnSMrkZYCu3OxP3F4bJloyupwzRLhkmWOGYT5hNOCiqy2K
3vzt7fczzFddQ/7rCdK6o8JYTaL8mmU4f9QGZ6QdkzoA0URE

—–END PGP MESSAGE—–

Big Difference!

The simplest way to implement encrypted email is to go to a free service like HushMail.com. Once you create an account, you can compose your emails at the HushMail website without the government being able to read your message – either while you are typing it or when it is in transit. Because of the secure connection between your PC and Hushmail, your message will remain private until it is viewed by the intended recipient.

HushMail has several other features – one of which is to let you send out an unencrypted email from the HusMail server. In that way, the government will not see the email going out from your computer. Yes, the government might know that you are visiting HushMail, but they won’t know what you are writing or to whom. The same goes with receiving mail.

If you use HushMail as your email address, folks will send emails to HushMail, and then you can log on securely and read them without the government being able to read them.

There are other encrypted email solutions, but for ease of use and zero cost (free is good!) HushMail is a good choice. If we all use HushMail or other encrypted email on a regular basis, it will drive the government thugs nuts!

Next article we will talk about a programme called PGP – Pretty Good Privacy – and all the things it can do to keep your computer data private.

23 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Freedom Of The Press, Political Corruption, Politics, Politics & Corruption

23 responses to “How To Stop The Barbados Government From Reading Your Emails

1. Roger Rabbitt

Now we know how to beat the rats at their game. Thanks.

2. Tito - Alternative Method

If you have GMail, Everyones favorite email, you can install firefox (if you don’t have it installed already I wonder why). Then install the FireGPG extension for firefox. This puts encryption buttons directly into the GMail interface.

You will need one other bit of software, gnupg, located at http://gpg4win.org/. This beast is what does all the work. The good thing is once you install this and you can re-use it for outlook/thunderbird/outlook express, as this has plugins that for those too to do encryption directly in those applications. Sweet nuh? So you will be covered both webmail and email clientwise.

Infact why do you send business email unencrypted anyhow. Answer me that!

For novices you can read here, http://gpg4win.org/handbuecher/novices.html to get the lowdown on what gpg4win is.

PS (response to the RR fakers claim): Be assured, if you are using a proxy the correct way these thugs can’t tell you apart from joe public on where you go or what you do. You have no excuse for not knowing how to use a proxy the correct way. Yes folks they are incorrect ways of using proxies.

And remember ALWAYS make sure you connect to your webmail with https. If your webmail does now support that why are you using it? Try and go and get some GMail https loving.

*phew* an exhaustive article needs to be written on this.

3. Roger Rabbitt

BFP
    The first post was from me, the original Roger Rabbitt. Don’t know where these original rats came from. Just waiting to pounce on anyone. Must be the blp lackeys fuh trute.

4. liz

A really really stupid question – If you have nothing to hide, then why are you trying to hide and from whom?

5. Anonymous

Do people actually believe this nonsense that BFP writes? Stuuupse.

6. Crusty

Liz asks:

A really really stupid question – If you have nothing to hide, then why are you trying to hide and from whom?

———-

This is a common argument used by law enforcement authorities world-wide to justify their use of surveillance cameras, wiretaps, blank signed search warrants, even subverting your neighbours and your children to spy on you (as was done in Eastern Germany).

A better question to ask is: If I have nothing to hide, why do you want to know it?

Personal privacy is more important to the fabric of society than is commonly appreciated. It is the essence of a trusting society. Most people are honest, should they be required to prove their honesty at every turn, just to catch the dishonest ones? To give up privacy “willingly” is most unwise.

——–

Having said that, I also encourage readers to never trust that your communication over the internet is in any way private. There are just too many copies made and stored on all the intermediate computers in the network.

And both the sender and recipient identification must remain in the clear even with an encrypted message, so traffic analysis, as used in the intelligence community, will reveal useful information despite the encryption.

7. Pogo

Liz, our friend who wuk for the government. Since there is nothing to hide we have a few suggestions about what we would like you to show us.

How about the 3s flyover contract for a start?

We are standing by waiting for you to post it.

8. sensible man

lol hahah i dont care who reads my emails

9. Jason

Sensible man must be one of those government guys. I care very much who reads my emails. So does everyone else.

10. Pingback: Global Voices Online » Barbados: Email snooping?

11. Anonymous

it’ll get to the stage where even just visiting this site will be checked upon. no need 4u to contribute anything, just visit. take internet security seriously, even if you are an innocent

12. phiL

instead of trying to secure your mail.. what you folks should focus on is securing your machines.. how good is encryption when someone can read your mail as you type it?

just sayin..

13. Jerome Hinds

Well BFP,

I always knew you had them squeeezed by the NINNIES !

Where is my further proof ?

Answer : Weekend Nation of 5 th October 2007 !

The BLP column now proclaims that the Barbados Free Press ( BFP ) & Barbados Underground ( BU ) have done untold damage to Barbados !

If that is their view so be it…….the best part of their DIATRIBE is that they have given BFP & BU well earned PUBLICITY !

Thousands more Barbadians are now aware of these BLOG sites !

And we shall use it to the HILT !

But let’s REASON :

* Did BFP & BU create the MESS at UDC ?

* DID BFP & BU create the MESS at GEMS ?

* DID BFP & BU create the MESS with the new
    PRISON ?

* DID BFP & BU create the MESS with the T & T
    fishing AGREEMENT ?

* DID BFP & BU create the MESS with the ABC
    ROAD WORKS ?

* Did BFP & BU create the MESS at
    GREENLAND ?

So millions of taxpayers $$$$$$$ squandered by this BLP administration and they do not want to be ACCOUNTABLE or TRANSPARENT !

Richard Hoad’s ” Lowdown ” column in the Weekend Nation of 5 th October 2007……..is a must READ .

14. John

Lowdown is top notch and expresses the Bajan appreciation of the past 15-20 years beautifully.

Lowdown is about the only reason I read the Nation. The message is always clear, consistent and …. well sometimes wutless!!

I did not even read the BLP or DLP or PEP column. If BFP is being mentioned by name all I can say is WOW!!

I’ll have a read when I get home.

15. Wishing in Vain

People are starting to awake from their slumber and finally speak out.

16. Anonymous

“The BLP column now proclaims that the Barbados Free Press ( BFP ) & Barbados Underground ( BU ) have done untold damage to Barbados !

Correction: the damge has been done to the blp CHICANERY,
    and their blp false-image to the outside world !
    That’s where the damage has been done.

BFP has tarnished the carefully managed veneer that hides the rot beneath! Big problem!(for the blpGoB)

17. liz

Pogo
    I do not work for the government. I am a simple working grandmother who just does not understand the fear and paranoia that is obvious in some of the readers. I do understand that privacy is important but I doubt if anyone would want to spy on my emails or tap my phones. I have nothing to hide.

18. Rumplestilskin

“The BLP column now proclaims that the Barbados Free Press ( BFP ) & Barbados Underground ( BU ) have done untold damage to Barbados !“

If that is indeed what was stated then it goes to the usual spin-doctor verbiage.

In challenging the status quo of Barbados media, BFP has contributed to valid questioning of the resource utilisation and socio-economic structuring of current Barbados.

Surely this is not only acceptable but actually encouraged in a ‘democratic’ scoiety?

Indeed, it is now accepted that blogs, including ‘news and commentary’ blogs are contributing worldwide in assessing situations, including in those ‘first-world’ nations that we aspire to mirror.

CNN now has a peoples’ reporting section, that you or I may utilise and report to.

Maybe censored, I do not know. But it IS there!

So, maybe if the Government are so anti-BFP, we should be sending our stories to CNN instead, to their blog?

Or would that then catalyse the Government just shutting internet down here in Barbados?

BFP stands for freedom of speech. Bear in mind we all also have a responsibility to be balanced.

Peace.

19. Rumplestilskin

The main problem for the Government is that BFP is not owned and managed by pro-Government persons as the Nation group, as the Advocate.

Thus, it is impossible for the Government to censor stories to their ‘will’.

The Government had better learn to live with blogs, it is life now in this electronic age. Anyone who thinks otherwise is deluding themselves.

However, it does become a problem for those who want to control free speech.

Why would anyone supposedly want (in their minds) ‘first-world’ in everything else EXCEPT electronic media?

It is clear.

20. Rumplestilskin

May I suggest to the PM-In-Waiting Thompson that he immediately institute a programme on CBC-TV ‘Question Time’ every weekend, such that both via TV and electronic media callers and e-mailers can question and see immediately answered pertinent questions?

The format could be with a moderator and follow-up on the Wednesday paper or Government wed-page with answers that needed to be researched.

This hour or hour and a half could also have a three panel of journalists putting their own questions. In addition, either have a regular Minister in charge of this or a different Minister each week.

I would also suggest the PM-In -Waiting gaving a ‘State of the Nation’, every six months to address National issues.

It is called ‘responsibility’.

21. Jerome Hinds

Rumplestilskin
    October 6th, 2007 at 11:37 am
    May I suggest to the PM-In-Waiting Thompson that he immediately institute a programme on CBC-TV ‘Question Time’ every weekend, such that both via TV and electronic media callers and e-mailers can question and see immediately answered pertinent questions?

The format could be with a moderator and follow-up on the Wednesday paper or Government wed-page with answers that needed to be researched.

This hour or hour and a half could also have a three panel of journalists putting their own questions. In addition, either have a regular Minister in charge of this or a different Minister each week.

I would also suggest the PM-In -Waiting gaving a ‘State of the Nation’, every six months to address National issues.

It is called ‘responsibility’.

Additionally………issue more TV licenses to get away from the sterile nature of CBC programming .

22. liz

Rumplestilskin
    “institute a programme on CBC-TV ‘Question Time’ every weekend, such that both via TV and electronic media callers and e-mailers can question and see immediately answered pertinent questions? etc etc
    Excellent idea.

23. Yardbroom

I have alluded in the past, to the Government’s dilemma in that the tide has turned against them, consequently they are unwilling to call a general election. The problem they have is that the passing months have allowed the DLP opposition to build up “hard support,” this support is different to soft support, which can easily change in an election campaign.

Even at this stage, I am inclined to support the strategy adopted by David Thompson and his advisors, as it seems cool heads are in control.

There has been a clamour in recent days, for the opposition to attack the Government on the allegations of Telecommunications interception – this is a very serious allegation, and it is right that it has been brought to public attention.

I do not think the DLP leader should at “this juncture” attack the Government on this issue, it is therefore necessary for me to explain why. The function and responsibilities of the media are different to those of the opposition DLP. There is a sharp dichotomy between them, and that should not be forgotten, although their objectives can sometimes be the same.

The function of the media in “broad terms” is to inform, and that information can come through investigative journalism. The opposition should oppose, but when that opposition is in the country’s interest.

The company that is named in the allegations, is an international one, with no doubt a local office, how much autonomy the local office has I do not know, but the opposition now, will later be the Government, and will have to deal with both entities, local and international.

It is incumbent for the opposition to ensure that allegations made are backed up by proof. Proof which is beyond reasonable doubt, and with individuals who are prepared to say, I saw, I did, and the necessary evidence to back up what they have stated. The question is, is that evidence available? I fear it might not be, that is not to say, the allegations are not true.

There is a world of difference between something being true, and being able to prove that it is.

It is this difference of function and responsibility, between the leader of the opposition David Thompson, and the media that some supporters find difficult to get to grips with, both have a role and although they can often overlap, they are different.

Does this mean one of them has made or is making a mistake? no it does not. The questioning and agitation by one, and the measured reluctance by the other, are in essence due to the difference of their function and responsibility.

There are some who will strongly disagree with my opinion, and perhaps they are right, but I can only view the situation as I see it.