“These fields and hills, what left of them…”

Some New Tongue-in-Cheek Words For Our National Anthem

Congratulations to Prime Minister and his DLP Team. We went out and voted. Many good things have been promised – the eyes of the nation are on you! Today I felt free again as a Bajan, and I could sing my national anthem all day. I even took some liberty changing the words. Hope your readers enjoy. God bless our nation!

In plenty and in time of greed
When some Bees not so young
Ripped off our great forefathers’ seed
And decimate de Crown
With pride dem wantons get and boast
“It never was so good”
They sell we out from coast to coast
And grind we nationhood

We loyal sons and daughters all
Do hereby make it known
This kind of thievery got to done
Thompson better come good
We write DEMs name pon history’s page
We expectations great
Better safeguard we heritage
Or suffer de same fate

The Lord has been the people’s guide
He never lets us down
With Him still on the people’s side
This nation will move on
Uprwards and onwards we shall go
Inspired, exalted, free
We pray that our nation will grow
In strength and unity

We loyal sons and daughters all
Do hereby make it known
These fields and hills, what left of them
Should stay our very own
Bajans, look back on de Bees reign
And what was done to we
Morals and values always count
Also integrity

58 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Political Corruption, Politics, Politics & Corruption

58 responses to ““These fields and hills, what left of them…”

1. Rumboy

Lets put an end to these planned golf courses and which are never really utilized anyway, take some of that land and offer it at an honest in uninflated price to us Bajans. We have lost the coast, let us at least keep the countryside.

2. Hants

Rumboy Golf courses can be returned to Agricultural use.

That is why Castro allowed Golf courses in Cuba.

One of his Government officials came up with that idea.

Therefore we can conclude that if food security becomes an issue in the future, you can turn the Golf courses into farms.

3. permres

I enjoyed these lyrics.

In response to Rumboy, and the suggestion that “We have lost the coast”, I am going to repost here my letter to the Nation newspaper. I first posted it in the blogg “Would the DLP have won without their integrity legislation promise?”. It may have been misplaced there, anyway I am posting my letter in as many places as will accept it!

I hope not to bore anyone here, but The Nation has not yet published. I think this is an eco-tourism issue.

4th January, 2008.

Dear Nation Editor,

There must be many others, far more professional than myself here in Barbados, who have proposed the establishment of a coastal footpath for Barbados. However, I present now my two-cents worth. I came to Barbados as a permanent resident in 1996, and was immediately struck by the often unspoiled beauty of much of its coastline for such a densely populated island. In the UK I was a regular walker (but not a member of the influential Footpath Association), often taking along a cutlass with me to keep clear neglected footpaths. Here in Barbados I needed a stout stick to ward off stray dogs, and a blind eye to the garbage.

I no longer walk (arthritis has set in), but I have learnt of the many controversies concerning access to our public beaches. It may be a far-fetched dream to think that Barbados could establish an approximately 60 mile long route, but legislation could be put in place to support its eventual realization, which would also address the beach access problems. Recently it has also been suggested to me that the footpath could draw alongside itself a cycle track, which occasionally would have to resort to the public roads to circumvent the already developed stretches. Concerning the footpath, these developed stretches would have to consider providing a route through them or around them, on the sea side of course!
    Such an amenity in Barbados would be a considerable asset to the tourist industry as well as a recreational outlet for residents. I believe the two tracks, walking and cycling, would attract international events alongside surfing and motor sports, for instance. With adequate legislation in place, the physical infrastructure for the tracks could be implemented in sections, quite easily in some places, I think. It may take many years before the final complete circuit connections are made, but what an event that would be! I doubt I would be around for the opening ceremony.
    To further emphasize two aspects of this idea at a more general level, I suggest that we have to diversify our tourism product substantially. There are movements already in this direction, I know, as we open up our gullies, and we are considering the establishment of national parks at Graeme Hall and elsewhere, for instance. The idea of a coastal footpath and cycle track is well in line with the developing interests of worldwide tourism for environmentally friendly and sustainable projects. The second aspect would be the further realization amongst the local population, as well as the tourists, that walking and cycling are becoming more and more popular, and supported by governments and local authorities throughout the developed world. Cycle tracks are now well-established even in densely populated urban areas, as people turn towards a healthier lifestyle, and government and local authorities encourage this. There is also the growing awareness of the seriousness of global warming, and a movement away from the use of fossil fuels for mobility, at least over short distances.

Yours faithfully,

(name supplied to Nation)

4. Anon

I tried to carry my son to a couple of beaches one on the North, and one on the East coast that I used to dive from as a young man. Locals advised me that I could no longer go there. I was shocked!

Trying another beach in the NE we were beset by large aggressive dogs.

Beach access should be preserved for the general public. These areas are established public right of ways.

5. Anonymous

Is it true that they are now building on the sea side of the East Coast road.

Looka if we din get rid of arthur this election we wud have been suckin’ salt.

Anyway I believe that the DLP needs to put a halt to all BLP projects until they scrutinise them carefully.

Also stop any more construction on the East coast and the other coast lines.

6. Hants

Time for BFP to post a list of what bloggers want the DLP to do during this term.

For a start I suggest.

1 BFP’s own Integrity Legislation in 100 days.

2. Reduce food prices.

9. Create and publicise all Beach access locations in Barbados.

7. frankology

The companies submitting tenders for the Highway and individual costings.

The Environmental and Impact studies for the flyovers

Your position regarding another TV station.

8. JR

Anon: “Trying another beach in the NE we were beset by large aggressive dogs.”

If I can guess this area in the NE correctly, I would ask DEM about it.

9. Green Monkey

Hants wrote:

Time for BFP to post a list of what bloggers want the DLP to do during this term.

For a start I suggest.

1 BFP’s own Integrity Legislation in 100 days.

2. Reduce food prices.

9. Create and publicise all Beach access locations in Barbados.

Wait, wuh happen to 3 – 8? For number 3, I would say put an end to building a garbage dump in land slip prone St. Andrew.

10. Donald Duck, Esq

SUMMMARY OF ITEMS SLATED FOR IMMEDIATE ACTION IN THE DLP MANIFESTO with reference of relevant pages from the manifesto

Labour rights legislation ( page 36)

A new DLP government proposes move to immediately enact a comprehensive national Labour Rights legislative compendium which will include the following:

 A Full Employment Rights Act
     An Alternative Disputes Settlement and Arbitration Committee
     A Sexual Harassment in the Workplace Act
     National minimum wages legislation
     Legislation fully recognizing Trade Unions.

Approval of capital account transactions (page 25)

A DlP government proposes to Immediately review the current Central Bank procedures for approving capital account transactions with a view to simplifying and speeding up the approval (or denial) process for restricted transactions.

Port charges (page 33)

The DLP pledges to immediately re-examine the Port charges with a view to significantly reducing these to manufacturers as they consider them to be a burdensome cost. They say that tonnage dues are charged twice; – on raw materials when imported and again on finished products when being exported.

Integrity legislation (page 48)

The DLP proposes to immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring

 a declaration of assets by public officials,
     a Code of Conduct for Ministers,
     a new Freedom of Information law,
     amendments to the Defamation laws and
     new constitutional provisions to rationalize the powers of the Prime Minister.

Health issues (page 11)

A new DLP Government proposes to immediately embark on a health promotion campaign to sensitize the public to the dangers of unhealthy lifestyles

11. JR

One way to help reduce the cost of living is to remove the ‘Import’ Duties, everyone seems to have forgotten that these exist and only scream about VAT.

12. Donald Duck, Esq

JR

Where will the government the get its revenue from. don’t forget the backbone of the dlp economic policies are

 Fiscal prudence in the allocation of expenditure and the absorption of revenues;
     Protection of the fixed exchange rate regime through careful management of the fiscal and external current account deficits;
     A tightly managed debt accumulation strategy targeted at the reduction in both domestic and foreign components of the national debt;

13. frankology

Where will the government the get its revenue from. don’t forget the backbone of the dlp economic policies are
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    We must also be concern about the statement made by Chris Sinckler regarding the giving of NHC blocks to the occupants FREE OF COST. This was stated during the brass Tacks segment with Sinckler and Mascoll prior to the elections. He said that would eliminate unnecessary costs to Government.

14. JR

We should also be looking at what the consumers in other Caribbean Islands are paying for the same product(s), and I am referring mainly to the smaller islands which have lower populations and therefore, by extension less volume demand, yet seem to be paying a lot less than what we pay here in Barbados – this is what I hear.

But like most of the rhetoric I guess not much can be done about it, just like the QEH, etc. No matter which party is in power.

15. JR

I know the Government has to earn money – I was referring to the so-called ‘basket of goods’ and the like – reduce or remove the Import Duty on them. Stop hitting at the VAT all the time, its just a political football.

Personally, I’m in favour of eliminating Personal Income Tax and increasing the VAT, that way EVERYONE will end up paying taxes, and I can then decide what I want to buy with MY hard earned money, and still know that I’m a Tax Payer.

16. Bush tea

Why should we be concerned about Mr. Sinckler’s proposal? Let us do the maths….

Cost of maintenance and upkeep of a NHC home=$NUFF
    Income from NHC Home = $chicken feed

Answer = Give them away and smile all the way to the treasury.

These units are not real assets anyway, since they are never placed for sale by Government at market prices. This seems to be a true win-win proposal.

17. Anonymous

JR a friend in Nassau keeps asking me what is income tax. LOL.

18. frankology

So if Government give them away, what will become with the real-poor who are looking for subsidised housing. Remember, we have the high end rentals like London Bourne Towers and Church Village, St. Philip. The other houses which are the old terraced houses can be termed “low-end”.

19. liz

Am I the only one who heard that both political parties were buying votes?
    Am I the only person who thinks that far too much money was spent by both political parties on the election?
    Am I the only one who thinks that such huge sums of money could have been put to better use?
    How many millions were spent this time?
    How many more in 2013?

Maybe millions do not count. . .
    When is payback time?

20. Donald Duck, Esq

JR

There is something called the common external tariff (“CET”) that we need to rexamine. What this means is that Grenada and say Barbados will charge the same import duties when a similar item is imported in both countries

21. Makaveli

Units being given away to the occupants or their subletting lords…just a thought.

22. JR

CET/GAAT/WTO … all are pointing towards the same thing basically, some may disagree, but the general trend is the same with regard to reducing the trade barriers, viz-a-viz, reduction of Import Duties, etc.

But I get your point about CET which ay explain why we pay more for the same item here then a Grendadian does.

Although that said, I recall several years ago C&W selling ADSL modems (the first expensive models they peddled) for twice as much here in Barbados than they were in the other islands and they enjoyed duty free status on such equipment. So CET cannot solve everything.

This made them so much money that they could start to give away cheap ones when liberlization came around.

So what do you think of “eliminating Personal Income Tax and increasing the VAT, that way EVERYONE will end up paying taxes, and I can then decide what I want to buy with MY hard earned money, and still know that I’m a Tax Payer.”
    To quote myself.

23. JR

liz,

Where do you think the money went? It all burnt up and blew away, no, most of it (hopefully all of it) went into Barbados’ economy.

If money doesn’t circulate then the economy becomes stagnent/stale. I agree some of it could be better spent but that it what drives the economy and the country/world for that matter.

24. Has Owen gone gone gone?

rumour has it that after big physical dust up with Mia and Owen and threats to reveal all about amounts of money lifted from Barbadians, that Mia is the new leader of the opposition?

Can anyone clarify if this is true?

25. JR

You guys must be sleeping … that was announced (Mia being the new leader of the BLP/Opposition) in the midday news!

26. Anonymous

Has Owen gone gone gone? … so now you have King David! Different name, same power!

27. Anonymous

BFP & Bloggers

I want you to pay careful attention to a very sinister development.I am of the certain view that the blp has decided to take a strategy of using these blogs and the call in programmes to try to destabilise the DLP before they even get off the ground.

Do you remember BFP last year when the same person would post to himself or herself using a different name so as to make it seem that there were multiple persons favourable to the then BLP government’s policies?

Well those BFPE characters along with that BLP operative Frankology has been sent on this site and BU to raise all sort of so call ‘concerns’ about this new government.

All sort of red herrings popping up,not only here but at Barbados Underground too.

Watch the call in programmes for the strife they will be stirring up about whether or not Dennis Kellman gets a position.

Note not one word will be expressed as to the callous way owen arthur has been dumped and the in fighting going on in that party.

I am just alerting you bloggers so thaat you don’t get carried away thinking they are genuine and answering them.

Different names – male and female will be used appearing to support each others contentions – the end result – to cast doubt about the DLP.

Same on the call in programmes.

28. Anonymous

BFP

I just sent you a post but in it I made refernce to BFP – Please see if spam took it.

29. Wishing in Vain

Anonymous, I heard today that Kellman was offered a Ministry which he did not accept and he was not offered again.

He does have a viable business that he is the sole operator of and I could see a Ministry being a difficult one to accept.

He may find it better to be getting more things done now that his party is in place as a backbencher and still be able to manage his private affairs .

30. Brenda Foster

COMMENT DELETED BY BFP EDITOR

This commenter is appearing under multiple names in an attempt to support whatever position they hold.

Not allowed.

31. Donald Duck, Esq

It has just been announced on the CNBC TV news that Mia is the new leader of the opposition and Dale Maeshall will be her deputy

Congratulations to her and Dale

32. Brenda Foster

This commenter is appearing under multiple names in an attempt to support whatever position they hold.

Not allowed.

33. Donald Duck, Esq

I should have said CBC and not CNBC

34. Brenda Foster

Not allowed.

35. Rumboy

It will be very interesting to see what the true figures are regarding tourist arrivals over the last two years. Looking forward to them.

36. Rumboy

Brenda Foster – why insecure, that’s just decent manners and good sportmanship, something we have not seen in quite awhile.

37. reality check

“You guys must be sleeping … that was announced (Mia being the new leader of the BLP/Opposition) in the midday news!”

quick grab all their passports until the forensic audits are completed

BFP comments,

Hung over maybe, sleeping? never!

See our latest cartoon about to be posted!

38. Chase

I am still waiting for any government to introduce minimum wage.
    All election I was straining my ears to hear of this issue ..but alas I didnt.
    This is one of the most important issues in this country for poor people right now and the silence is deafening.
    I personally think this can solve the exploitation of Guyanese and other regional workers,not to mention give Bajans a better chance….all in one fel swoop.

39. JR

reality check: “quick grab all their passports until the forensic audits are completed”

Now that’s really lovely, you don’t sound any different the normal neighbourhood despot/dictator.

Is this what we are to expect from the new Government ???

But oh yes, now that I think of it, but I do recall hearing that The Rt. Hon. Errol Walton Barrow had his own wife’s passport seized when he was PM. Hmmm.

Worrying talk, this is !!!

40. frankology

I am of the certain view that the blp has decided to take a strategy of using these blogs and the call in programmes to try to destabilise the DLP before they even get off the ground.
    ………………………………………………………………………………
    Anonymous, you seems or should I say, you are simply insane parading on the outside instead of your real place of abode – you know where. When I was criticising the previous government about the highway, did you labeled me? NO. But now you gain the government and the same pressure you applied to the Arthur Government is now in your face, you now trying to create alarm of destabilisation. Once you are the Government, you will be under the microscope, so deal with the new found fame. Please give thanks, my friend.

41. frankology

I am still waiting for any government to introduce minimum wage.
    All election I was straining my ears to hear of this issue ..but alas I didnt.
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    Goodnight buddy. Chase, during the Brass Tack programme on VOB with Mascoll and Sinckler prior to the elections. Mr Mascoll did say he is against “a minimum wage in Barbados, since he prefer wages based on productivity. Mr. Sinckler said that his party WILL HAVE A MINIMUM WAGE when the DLP wins the Government. A cannot remember seeing any talk about minimum wages in the Election Manifesto.

You might have to see what Senator Arni Walters have to say about it.

42. Donald Duck, Esq

Kelly did not get a position in the cabinet. I hear he been offered the position of speaker. That should keep him quiet for a while

43. JR

Pity, I would have prefered him as Deputy P.M., just to keep the balance.

44. Donald Duck, Esq

Frankology

It looks as though you have your wishes on minimum wage legislation. The following is the relevant extract from the dlp manifesto. Please take note of the word “immediately”

“Conversely, a new DLP government will move to immediately enact a comprehensive national Labour Rights legislative compendium which will include the following:

 Legislation fully recognizing Trade Unions.”

45. Donald Duck, Esq

Frankology

It looks as though youre wishes have been granted. The following is the relevant extract from the dlp manifesto on minimum wage legislation. Please take note of the word “immediately”

“Conversely, a new DLP government will move to immediately enact a comprehensive national Labour Rights legislative compendium which will include the following:

 Legislation fully recognizing Trade Unions.”

46. Anonymous

Seems that my post about mischief afoot by the BLP operatives( Frankology included) is being proven true.

I wonder if he is frank gill.

Have you noticed the sudden increase of these people,sooner or later this will come to a head.

47. Minimum has worked to some extent in the UK. It has not produced the negative effects predicted by the private sector.

48. frankology

Anonymous, I am a truth operative. Truth in highlighting the innuendos and vile comments by “Any-party” operatives. So beware, I have sharpened by microscopic skills to read between the lines.

49. peltdownman

Any government has to be very careful with both minimum wage and reductions in tariffs. Manufacturing and agriculture rest on a knife-edge in this country, and they both rely on protective tariffs to survive, to a certain extent. This is not unique to Barbados, and is a practice widely used in many countries. The WTO is a tool of the major multi-national companies, who want to buy cheapest and sell highest, whilst keeping their profits in tax havens to avoid tax. Anybody who doubts me should read accounts of what happens at the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland later this month. As for minimum wage, you will not be surprised, I’m sure, to find out that many small business could not exist with a high minimum wage. So, while it might be desirable, the level of the minimum wage should be very carefully considered.

50. permres

peltdownman, if some small businesses could not exist with a high minimum wage, then “Good Bye” to those small (?) businesses. I would have thought that a minimum wage would be set by the Government, with their knowledge of the social and economic priorities of our nation. In that respect, any business which thinks it is too high, well, goodbye!

Personally, in our capitalist society, I cannot tolerate the exploitation of honest, ordinary workers by corrupt employers, only interested in money, rather than the well-being of their employees. A fair and equitable pay for an honest day’s work, that is all I ask and expect, and only government and the Rule of Law can acomplish this, in this day and age. God bless.

51. Hants

When people earn in a day what I spend to eat for a day there is a problem.

Cereal,fruit,coffee and bread $10
    Cheffete lunch with drink $15
    Dinner approximately $15

No wonder people working in shops don’t smile.

52. Anonymous

You need a wife or at the very least a cook Hants! The rate you are going at you will soon get food poisoning. How you could eat all over the place like that?

53. Hants

Sorry anonymous, for clarification I visit Barbados 3 or 4 times a year and 1 or 2 weeks at a time.

I was just making the point that every effort must be made to increase the wages of shop clerks.

All citizens deserve a living wage and Government may have to introduce minimum wage legislation.

Business owners will have to become more efficient. Trade down the BMW or Lexus for a Camry.

54. peltdownman

Permres
    You live in a fantasy world. One which ignores the existence of competition from cheap labour sources, one which believes that there is a long line of customers waiting to pay top price for goods and services just to be “fair” to wage-earners. The matter of minimum wage has to be thought-through very seriously. If it is set at the wrong level, then the fall-out from small business closures will result in a significant increase in unemployment. This is a fact, not a threat. Like you, I believe that a fair wage is essential, but it will take government, academics, and the employers to define exactly what is meant by a “fair” wage. I suggest that high prices are easier to address in the short term.

55. Rick

I think you should be ashamed as a Barbadian to be changing the anthem like that whether you are BLP or not

56. Planter

Rick I agree with you about the anthem. Poor old man Burgess would get agida if he hears that rendition.

57. liz

From caribbean 360.com

Development boom concerns OECS Director General

Opening Ceremony of the OECS 46th Meeting of the OECS Authority (Photo: OECS.org)
    ROSEAU, Dominica, January 23, 2008 – OECS Director General Dr. Len Ishmael is expressing concern over the potential long term negative effects of the current boom in development in some OECS member states.

Addressing the opening ceremony of the forty-sixth meeting of the OECS Authority in Roseau, Dominica, Dr. Ishmael pointed in particular to the booming resort developments; the growing tendency of the developers to restrict beach access to locals or to create gated inland communities, and how this is rapidly reducing the realistic chances of locals to enter the land owning class and to utilize their country’s assets.

“All of our beaches, including most remote ones are surrounded either by plans for a new resort or by resorts – some of which are installing their beach furniture right down to the waters edge as if in first line defense to deter a wandering local public; others are erecting fences and gates on the beach with security guards posted at the entrances,” Dr. Ishmael told the audience. “Hikes through the rain forests reveal mile after mile of newly surveyed acreages earmarked for eco resorts, villa development and the like; huge signs emblazoned with the London and USA addresses proclaim that the world’s foremost real estate entities are buying and selling our land to an international clientele. Seemingly overnight, one after another , they have set up expansive operations to oversee booming sales – one such entity boasting recently of US thirty million dollars in pre-construction sales in one day. Our islands are being bought and sold day and night”, Dr. Ishmael said.

Dr. Ishmael noted that while some of this money will trickle through the economies and some jobs will be created, several negative effects are fast emerging.

“The first is the fact that land prices have no realistic basis anymore, and the average OECS woman and man is finding it increasingly impossible to break into the class of land owners within their own countries making home ownership – an indisputable social objective for all Member States, increasingly out of their reach.”

Another effect comes from the sale of the lands on the foreign market. “When it leaves local ownership once, it is never traded on the local market again.” Additionally, “huge acreages of scenic landscape are being alienated from the quiet use and enjoyment by locals as increasingly large chunks of countryside are being developed, fenced and gated.”

“What are we doing in the name of development?” she asked the audience. “At what price is development? Is no price too high? Is alienation of the rights of islanders a realistic price for what we define as progress? After the land is gone, what’s left?”

Dr. Ishmael said she is not unmindful of the daunting task faced by OECS leaders of balancing the need for foreign exchange, employment creation and infrastructural development, with the need to advance and safeguard the heritage of the people. In that regard, she has put forward for discussion some possible new approaches drawn from small island governments in various parts of the world, including Anguilla and Tobago in the Caribbean. These include a moratorium on the construction of resorts directly on beaches; provision of development rights as opposed to free-hold tenure for certain types of investments; inclusion of conditions in the planning permission granting rights to develop which clearly articulate the rights of the local population and requirements for certain types of social investments. The suggestions also include delimitation of the physical areas within which certain types of development are to be encouraged and ensuring that certain types of tourism related investments are reserved for locals.

Dr. Ishmael said the “tiny specks in the Caribbean sea” are all we have and “we have an ethical and moral responsibility to ensure that the fruits of development which we see around redound to the benefit of every man, woman and child in the OECS first and foremost. (OAS)

58. Spike

Changing the Barbados National wasn’t nice at all