Welcome To The Barbados Boys’ Club

barbados-boys-club.jpg

This very well done photo layout at the CBC website brought home to us something that we already knew, but didn’t realise the full impact of until we saw it visually. There’s only one girl in government.

It is one thing to say it, but quite another to face it visually for the next however many years.

Whether it was bad planning or just the way things turned out, it is too bad that more women were not nominated and elected into the DLP government. The DLP only ran four female candidates – but the BLP shouldn’t feel smug because they only ran four, too.

Last time I looked about half the population were women, so what’s going on here? We thought that things were changing for the better and that we would see increased representation of women in the Barbados government as time marched on.

With a little luck, the DLP government could have had a few more women MPs – but that’s saying “woulda, shoulda, coulda” with the benefit of hindsight into the election results.

Nonetheless, it is true that the DLP government could have had two or three more women elected. A very capable Irene Sandiford-Garner lost by a lousy 56 votes or so to George Payne. Undene Whittaker came within less than two hundred votes of beating Hamilton Lashley. Patricia Inniss was admittedly put into a “no-win” situation against Mia Mottley who is a powerhouse in St. Michael North East. That’s a shame because she probably could have been elected in another area. Perhaps the DLP should have run Inniss against a less-formidable opponent. Mia has a huge support group within the party and her parish and that’s a fact.

Esther Byer-Suckoo did a smashing job in beating Ian Gill by around a thousand votes but she is now arguably the sole representative in government for half the population – and it just shouldn’t be that way anymore.

The David Thompson government is going to have to work very hard in the coming years to make sure they retain the support of women voters. Yes, the government can appoint some women as senators and give them a role in Cabinet as was done by the previous administration, but appointees lack the natural credibility that comes with being elected.

Whatever the government decides, the BOYS had better listen closely when Esther Byer-Suckoo speaks – because if they don’t they will be missing the feminine perspective and if they do it consistently they will alienate women, who happen to be 50% of voters. You can bet that the BLP will be focusing on women’s concerns and perspectives as a strategy for winning next time around.

Ignore Esther at your peril, BOYS.

Article by Shona with Cliverton

89 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Political Corruption, Politics, Politics & Corruption

89 responses to “Welcome To The Barbados Boys’ Club

1. Adrian Loveridge

Boys and GIRL at BFP…

The PM has a massive 12 seats to play with at the Senate and hopefully he will use them wisely.

The Leader of the Opposition has just 2, but as Senator Linton has thrown the towel in publicly, it should not be too difficult, and it will be interesting to see who gets the positions.

The choice of the 7 independent Senators is also going to be very tantalising!

Whats that expression, New broom sweeps clean?

2. John

…. I remember reading a book called ‘The Boys in the Band” once.

3. Tony Hall

BFP have no fear. Women will definitely be utilized in the Cabinet. David Thompson is a very caring individual and he his going to take all these things into consideration. Certain pro-BLP elements throughout the years have triedto portray him (with the help of the media) as an uncaring power hungry person. Barbadians will see as time goes on that he is far from..

4. Pat

You forgot Undine Whittaker in St Michael South East. There were 4 women for the DLP

5. BFP

changed it. sorry Oops!

shona

6. Makaveli

Both parties ran 4 but at least the Dems have this in their manifesto….

“Working towards having 50% of the DLP
    slate female by 2016.”

Make sure you keep reminding them!

Hammie La and George Payne barely made it, Dems nearly had Undine Whittaker and Irene Sandiford-Garner.

7. Bimbro

I, too, noticed the presence of only one woman in the montage on their website, however, I did n’t apportion the sexist implications to it, which you do. Of course it would be nice to have more ladies involved in politics but do we want them, just because they’re women or for their talent? We will expect the DLP to make it possible for talented ladies to come through the system, but not just because they’re women! Men or women, politicians have an obligation to represent the needs of ALL Barbadians, of whichever gender!

Nice to see Byer-Suckoo there, and what a looker she is, too! However, don’t think she’d like to be called ‘a girl’!!!!

8. Druze Militia

We have a NEW OPPOSITION LEADER!!!!

Hooray for the NEXT prime minister of Barbados…. MIA AMOR MOTTLEY!!!!

9. Pingback: Global Voices Online » Barbados: Boys’ Club?

10. Hants

Elective Politics is a tough business and women are less inclined to get involved in such a hostile environment.
    Political campaigns can be nasty.

However there is an opportunity to utilise women in the Administration of Government. The Govenor of the Central Bank is 1 example.

Women in Barbados are among the Brightest and the Best so expect to see more added to Irene and Undine in the Senate and on Boards.

11. Sundowner

If Mia has become leader of the opposition its out of the frying pan and into the fire………

12. Can anyone tell me why our politicians in the region have to have a church service for everything?

13. JR

Look at this comment …

“A very capable Irene Sandiford-Garner lost by a lousy 56 votes or so to George Payne.”

You can win or lose by one vote – that’s how democracy works or are you unfamiliar with this concept?

BFP says,

You can also come so close that you know a little luck one way or another and things would be different. That is a difficult ending to any race.

And yes, we know a whole lot more about democracy than the bunch of losers who formed the Owen Arthur cartel.

14. Anonymous

Rick,
    Don’t you think that God should be placed first in everything?

15. reality check

Druze Militia

16. reality check

Druze militia

do you think Mia could comment on whether she has a condo or two at the Rendezvous roundabout and what she paid for them, under what name and under what circumstances? Just asking. Thought she might want to quell the rumors with her new chance at becoming leader of the DLP and her new drive for transparency?

17. reality check

make that leader of the BLP

somehow I don’t think she would be welcome in the DLP.

18. frankology

Reality Check. Please check on the point you are trying to make. By the way, we have many Barbadians who own Apartment blocks, hire vehicles, ZR’s and endless wealth and still be employed with a Three thousand dollar salary.

The Mottleys are one of the elite family with wealth, Mia has been in the political fray for years and she is a trained Attorney. So what is the problem for someone with born wealth owning a condo – if that is true.

The word immediately was used as an election promise for all candidates to declare assets, but alas!….We see nor hear of any figures.

19. Druze Militia

reality check,

Mia Mottley (like every other BLACK Barbadian) has the right to own property in Barbados.

Just like Adrian Loveridge has the right to own a hotel.

Or, in keeping with the THEME of this post, do you think that Bajan WOMEN have no business owning property?

20. Anonymous

Frankology, frankology,frankology.

21. Anonymous

reality check,

What sort of foolishness is that? There is nothing special about owning apartments in Barbados. I know several Bajans who do. There is a non-black non-national on BFP who owns a hotel. I’ve never heard you question how he got his money. I am also sure that many members of the DLP also own apartments and have businesses which is the right of every Bajan to do.

Or is it because she is a woman?

22. Dear Anonymous:
    No I don’t ‘think God should be placed first in everything’, but frankly I think we invoke the name of God into everything because we think our bad habits will be excused.
    Nothing wrong with living by the principles espoused in the Bible of course, but I think it cheapens the value of religion when the church allows itself to be ‘used’ in this way by the politico’s in the region.
    I’m told politicians are a reflection of our societies, and it’s not looking too God like to me.
    What do you think Anonymous?

23. reality check

depends what she paid for it and under what circumstances—otherwise I agree with you about the right to ownership for everyone

24. Anonymous

Rick while you could be right, you are also taking away the right of the politician who is first a human being, to put God first in his or her life.
    God is never mocked unless its really not God. But then again there is a school of thought which says that man created God. Who knows?

25. Straight talk

“But then again there is a school of thought which says that man created God. Who knows?”

God knows.

But there again I once knew a man who said he knew, but unfortunately he was committed to the Mental before he let on the secret.

I say, whatever makes you feel good must be right….for you.

26. Donald Duck, Esq

Just heard the cabinet. Kelly get leff out. Will he be speaker. Thommy demoted estwick and put him in health. God help us

27. Donald Duck, Esq

One of the distinctive features of our type of democracy – constitutional monarchy – is that our Head of State is non-partisan.

Barbados has chosen to keep the role of Head of State separate from the “business” of government. The Governor-General is regarded as a symbol of national unity and leadership.

He should therefore not be asked to attend a thanksgiving service for the dlp.

28. Wishing in Vain

Donald Duck, Esq
    I think if you were honest with your comments you would certainly agree that the MInistry of Health is the most vital Ministry to get back on track and working properly and if this job has been handed to Mr Estwick and he has accepted it then we can honestly say he has taken on the most challenging ministry around and I have every confidence that he will turn it around, as for Mr Kellman as we all know he runs a self centered operation in the north of the island and for him to accept a Ministry will suggest neglect of his business, my understanding of this is that he was offered the Ministry of Labour but refused it for reasons better known to himself, my opinion on this is that to have accepted a Ministry would have created a burden of his operation and this he was not prepared to do, after all his business once taken good care off will be around much longer than elective politics will be.

29. Donald Duck, Esq

WIV

the new minister of health has been described as “bull dog” due to the way he speaks in parliament. If that is the way he presents himself to those he has to work with then he is unlikely to last more than 1 year at the most

30. Donald Duck, Esq

WIV

some of your other cabinet colleagues already have businesses that they would have to give up in order to be a minister. Why was Estwick not given the ministry he was shaowing for so many years. Is this because he is a loose cannon!!!

31. Wishing in Vain

Donald Duck, Esq
    January 20, 2008 at 1:05 am
    WIV

the new minister of health has been described as “bull dog” due to the way he speaks in parliament. If that is the way he presents himself to those he has to work with then he is unlikely to last more than 1 year at the most

THat comment seems disturbed coming from a blp supporter such as you are, trust me if the Hospital survived the assault on it by Jerome Walcott, then Mr Estwick can only heal it and make it better.
    What you seem not to be able to grasp is that you and your party had 15 years to correct these ills that we are confronting now, instead you took the money and ran off to find a offshore bank to deposit your ill gotten gains into, instead of helping those that helped get you elected.

32. frankology

We have Estwick as Minister of Health, he is an action man (mouth only). His only problems are: – we can stand from our homes and hear his board room discussions in Martindales Road. Remember the hospital is a “Silent Zone” and you must refraim from shouting. Nurses are extremely delicate and you must not jump them whilst holding an injection needle with your loud speaking.

I better shut my mouth, cause I still have to use the hospital if I become sick and he might remember my blogging.

33. Undene Whittaker

How come David Tompsun look so RED among all o dem black people?

He face stand out more dan de Guyanese woman one.

Wuh kin o name is “S u c k o o” anyway?

She like she is piece o “c u r r y girl”!!!!

HAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!

🙂

K I S S

Y U H

R A S S H O L E !!!!

b f p e

34. Donald Duck, Esq

XXXX

The Governor General has never attended a thanksgiving service hosted by the blp

35. frankology

I cannot remember who will be controlling Energy, but I have a question. Will Barbados link with the Petro Caribe deal or will we get our fuel from Trinidad and Tobago?

For the minister responsible for the Environment. Will the Greenland Landfill be opened as per the last Government?

Will the Southern Farmers concerns be looked into by the Agriculture and Environment ministries?

Will the plantations owned by Clico remain as agricultural Land, Mr. Minister of Agriculture?

36. Donald Duck, Esq

Frankology

energey will be with the PM. He forgot about the environment.

check out which lands are approved for change of use in the first 100 days of parliament since after that period

the dlp plan to Introduce the Agriculture Protection Act that will require a 2/3 majority of both houses of parliament for a change of use of land from agriculture.

37. girl-in-de-pack

We the people of st lucy are extremeley disappointed with this new cabinet and declare this a total disgrace to the only girl in de pack.

Seems we still in Opposition and that is bad for the only girl who can win her seat ON HER JOLLY OWN..

Esther girl, ya better watch ya back..dat is how de only gilr-in-de-pack does get treat…

38. Donald Duck, Esq

girl in de pack

De got esther and maxine. what more u want

39. Donald Duck, Esq

girl-in-de-pack

Doan tell ma u want undeen too

40. UDINE WHITTAKER

To the person who made the remarks about Ms. Whittaker, I think you are undkind and cruel. You also seem to have a serious inferiority complex.
    I don’t know the lady, and I must confess that the “free style hair do ” she wears in no way compliments her. However, it is not charitble, right or civil to plaster her with your comments. By the way – haven’t you heard that “beauty is in the eye of the beholder?”

FEMALE POLITICIANS
    ——————————-
    Many will not agree with me (Females mainly)
    The captioned article seeks to highlight the proportional absence of ladies in the house. Well hear this: I believe that ladies shoud be look moreso to strengthening their families.
    I find that qualified women are mainly concerned with rising up the corporate ladder – And for what? To let the doctors reilieve them of their money from stress related illnesses.
    Generations past, money was scace, families were bigger and socially stronger. Now that the women have been “educationally liberated”, and money flows in rivers of abundance – Our familes are weaker. Mothers no longer have time for their children (if they care to have any) or their husbands.
    It is a pity that all we can talk about is “female advancement” and fail to see how our families are disintegrating. Then, why care? We can always jump from one marriage to another – No problem!

41. girl-in-de-pack

Donald Duck, Esq
    Obviously you have not understood ….St Lucy IS de only girl in the pack..and her son has been slapped…how u expect she to feel tonite..comfortable??

Come again..hands up …all who feel dat the people of st lucy should be jumping up and shouting alleluia..after all..we like we is the dumbos in de pack fuh tru..

42. Undene Whittaker
    You are being very uncharatable and unkind. You must be joking. I fine Ms.Whittaker to be quite attractive and sexy! She is caring and has her heart in the right place.

43. girl-in-de-pack

Agree…de commens re undene are unkind.

But Barbados spent a lot of time and money educating their women as well as men to rise up socially and developmentally.

If the BLP had not bring in all then foreigners stopping de Bajan men from getting proper work, then the women would be able to raise bigger and better families on the salaries. An educated woman raises a better family, duhhhh…you think that the bible wrong when it say that the virtuous woman of proverbs 31 is supposed to manage her man’s wealth and make it increase….duhhhhhhhh…including the children’s sucesses….duhhhhhhhh

44. welcome

Kellman omission from the cabinet is a good move. Everyone knows kellman is a loose cannon, the original “I” man. Thompson should start grooming a bright new candidate for St. Lucy. I doubt Kellman will take this lying down. He has embarassed and undermined the DLP and especially Thompson for so long I expect his nasty self centered disruptive ways to continue.
    Its a pity Owen didnt poach Kellman in his politics of inclusion. The BLP would have imploded long before the arrival of that champion of disunity Clyde Shoplifter Co-leader Mascoll.

45. welcome

should read- the BLP would have imploded long before the arrival of that other champion of disunity Clyde S
    hoplifter Co-leader Mascoll.

46. girl-in-de-pack

Dis is not a religious blog…but hey what wrong with proving my point about the strength of a well-educated woman and a man who respects the strengths???

Check it out..

Epilogue: The Wife of Noble Character
    10 A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies.
    11 Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value.
    12 She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.
    13 She selects wool and flax and works with eager hands.
    14 She is like the merchant ships, bringing her food from afar.
    15 She gets up while it is still dark; she provides food for her family
    and portions for her servant girls.
    16 She considers a field and buys it; out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
    17 She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.
    18 She sees that her trading is profitable, and her lamp does not go out at night.
    19 In her hand she holds the distaff and grasps the spindle with her fingers.
    20 She opens her arms to the poor and extends her hands to the needy.
    21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household; for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
    22 She makes coverings for her bed; she is clothed in fine linen and purple.
    23 Her husband is respected at the city gate, where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.
    24 She makes linen garments and sells them, and supplies the merchants with sashes.
    25 She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.
    26 She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
    27 She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.
    28 Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her:
    29 “Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.”
    30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.
    31 Give her the reward she has earned, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

47. Educated women

To: Girl in the Pack
    I don’t know if you are talking “tongue in cheek”, when you mention an educated women makes a better family. I believe this should be the case, but it not borne out by cold statistics.
    Don’t get me wrong. Our women folk should be educated to the max… However, I think priority should be paid to rearing strong families.
    Perhaps the muslims have something on us that we can learn.

48. girl-in-de-pack

bright new candidate for st lucy??
    just in case u forget, st lucy was not handed to denis as a safe seat like st john. remember dat rogue lost to RB and den sell out Sandy. They will have to work hard for it.

49. girl-in-de-pack

and i bet de same rogue will be expecting a pat on the back with some political reward even tho he didnt manage to bring in the st andrew woman

50. biteticklish scantlebury

ya’ll ppl need to know why this man, the new PM, has created such a STRANGE cabinet. He has really opened his party to scrutiny from the opposing party. Has he not learned ANYTHING!!! When you have in-fighting inside you do not say or show when you have problems with each other. By not including Mr Kellman has shown he still does not at all like or TRUST him. It is a darn shame and for right now I am calling him a big
    S-H-A-M!!!!

51. girl-in-de-pack

educated women…

notice i say de women manage dey man’s wealth, increase it and dont lack….how de women going do that if they have to chase down de men in court for money…den they end up raising bigger families but not better…thats what your stats should show

52. girl-in-de-pack

druze militia..

well David get there before Mia, but heaven help buhbayduss if the dems lose the next election and we get we first “female” PM

53. cherry2enpowered

Rick
    Because C’bbean leaders still acknowledge a sovereign God.

54. girl-in-de-pack

oooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhh…we are touchy druze…

But you will have to wait for your time of change…trust me…you wont get it as easily this time around…1994 has past and gone…

55. Radiance

Educated Woman, Udine Whittaker (or whoever you are), I just saw what you said about women’s priorities and raising a strong family etc. How this topic got on a blog about the number of women elected, I will never know.

Anyway, you are both off the mark, in my opinion. It takes mothers and fathers together to prioritize raising a strong family. We call them both parents, don’t we? We don’t have parents and assistant parents, even though some people behave that way.

Women in Barbados have always earned, and many of them worked away from home to do so. They might not have been climbing the corporate ladder, so to speak, but they have always been engaged in honest, honourable, hard work. Perhaps they were teaching you. Or hawking. Or planting ground provisions on someone’s plantation. They might have been cutting sugar cane, boning fish, making clothes, sweeping someone’s else’ floor, and washing someone else’s clothes. Whatever they did, they were raising families while working their fingers to the bone. Interestingly enough, some of the occupations I mentioned are the same categories of work that men have done.

Over time educational opportunities were opened up for both men and women, the economy changed, and work opportunities for both men and women changed to suit. As in the past, men and women in Barbados have similar employment opportunities and they are both taking advantage of that. So, why all the fuss? The pattern is the same.

If both mothers and fathers prioritize raising strong families they will find a way to do it, regardless of the stresses of climbing the corporate ladder.

BFP Comments

What you say is 100% true, Radiance. And it is another example of something that we did properly in the past that was foundational to the strength and character of our society. When you have weak families, either because they lack parenting skills or because it now takes two full-time adult incomes to barely maintain the home that used to be supported by one income, the broader results are seen throughout our island.

We have the same challenge in our family and so far we have managed because Shona is able to take the little ones to the shop when Auntie Moses can’t help or when I’m unavailable. I usually work nights so I am able to look after the children in the day.

It is a hard life though and last year the rising price of food and other basics took everything we were able to make.

THAT is undermining families as much as any other factor.

56. Radiance

Re. the topic of women in government, we do have a massive imbalance there, given the proportion of women in the population. Maybe women have somehow gotten the impression that they should stay away from elective politics. But, apart from the issue of Barbados’ demographics, what do you think would be some benefits of having more women in government?

BFP Comments,

Hi Radiance,

Marcus here.

I do think that there are huge benefits in having more women in the decision-making process because, frankly, despite all this talk of men and women being “equal”, they are not “the same” —- they are different. Women innately think differently than men. They process information differently. They see things that men ignore.

I am convinced that more women in positions of planning and authority in government would change our government and ultimately our island for the better.

57. Rumplestilskin

Reality is that Irene Sandiford-Garmer, much to the regret of many, including myself, missed being elected.

So, the electorate chose, what can we say.

What we can say is that our women are valuable and while only a few are in Parliament, others will have their husband’s and boyfriend’s ears where sway will tell.

Our women are beautiful, as in any country we must hold them in esteem and respect their contribution.

Except of course where they do not offer such, same rule as applies to men.

Peace.

58. Donald Duck, Esq

Members of the dlp elected team don’t forget your leader wants to have 50% of you to be women by 2016. The dlp will not be in government in 2016!!!

59. Donald Duck, Esq

For the dlp to have 50% of its mps as women by 2016 then the majority of the current members would have to be booted out in the next election to allow themselves to be replaced by women.

Is this another foo-foo promise!!!!

60. Yardbroom

Rumplestilskin
    I very much agree with you, my only regret of this election is that Irene Sandiford-Garner was not able to take St.Andrew, but a talented young lady such as she is, will surely come again.

As I waited for the results, my wife said to me, I bet you are delighted, they have won, have they not? to which my response was, there is yet one result to come, alast it was not as I hoped.

There are young women/men of talent and courage in Barbados, and I am always delighted when they are given an opportunity, to improve our beloved country. This goes beyond party loyalty.

61. Rumplestilskin

Yardbroom:

Yes, I too believe that she will come again, successfully and contribute otherwise in the meantime.

I too focus on what is for Barbados, not each party.

If it so happens that one party is currently better for the nation than another, then that is where the cards hopefully fall.

Maybe I am overly optimistic, but I think that this election indicates that the average man is now going to demand transparency, accountability and responsibility from representatives and woe betide any representative that ignores this demand.

Peace.

62. Sister Baby

I can’t beleive ONLY ONE WOMAN in that cabinet, and there in the picture she is placed at the end of the picture. She should have been in the middle next to The Hon. PM.

63. Sister Baby

I read what (the fake poster using Udine Whittaker’s name) said about Dr. Suckoo how she is the Guyanese one and that she look like a half curry person. Terrible. I am shocked at you people. And then you all tell me that I don’t know any thing about topics and just come here to write and get attention. Well, what do I know about China and its people. You should keep the things here to the Caribbean. It is like Britianey, who cares abotu her and her family. Now the royal family of England is a whole different story. We love them because theya re former rulers and family. However, I will tell you this I own my house in Guyana and I go to many countries to catch my hand, and I would give my property to Mr. Adrain Loveridge to develop as a hotel, because many white people have made it possible for me in this life.

64. Sister Baby

I am surprised that you let someone refer to Dr. Esther Byer Suckoo as a piece of curry girl and let it go through. That is teribble, because that poster is judging Dr. Suckoo from her looks and not her character. Really terrible.

BFP Comments,

We’ll take another look at it, but we originally left it up to show the quality of the BLP operatives who are engaged in an organised campaign against the blogs.

65. Jinx

How fitting that she’s all the way to the bottom right-maybe they were trying to cut her out altogether? Who is Dr Esther anyway? Disappointing really but Barbados is a male-dominated society. Would have voted BLP if Mia had been leader (sorry!) And am really disappointed that the St. Andrew candidate, Irene Sandiford, missed by 40-something votes

66. Sister Baby

Hi Jinx, I too am a big Mia fan! Dr. Esther Byer Suckoo is new Minister of Sport and Social Services.

67. Bimbro

Sister Baby
    January 21, 2008 at 2:19 pm
    Hi Jinx, I too am a big Mia fan!

Sister Baby, u can’t be a bigger fan of Mia, than Mia, herself! She must weigh at least 14 stone! Get it?! Big fan!!!! 14 stone!!!! Joke!!!! Laaad!! 🙂

I’m on form, today!!!! 🙂

68. CoolMan

Either that is not Bimbro or he’s hitting that ‘northern brew’ again.

Stay away from the ‘bitter’ lad.

69. Woman

I think we get sidetracked with the issue of women in Parliament. My concern is what type of woman should be representing us as women in government.

Mia is an extremely poor example of what I consider ‘woman’, Liz and her cantankerous behaviour does not uphold my idea of ‘woman’.

Do we want women in government for having them sake. Not me! I want women who represents the true characteristics of ‘a woman’.

The women who ran on the DLP side are good representation of what I consider women to be.

Come on girls, lets stop harping on just having women in government and look carefully at the type of woman representation we need!

70. frankology

The women who ran on the DLP side are good representation of what I consider women to be
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    What are you trying to portray, are you dealing with politics and representation or are you dealing with the YMCA or a Woman’s forum.

71. DE BUMBLE BEE

Sister Baby
    January 21, 2008 at 11:12 am
    I can’t beleive ONLY ONE WOMAN in that cabinet, and there in the picture she is placed at the end of the picture. She should have been in the middle next to The Hon. PM.

Is it really Sister Baby…….or cry – cry BABY ?

The picture above is not a representation of the CABINET of Barbados for 2008 – 2013 !

The picture above is a representation of the successful 20 DLP candidates at the polls on 15th January, 2008 !

Stephen Lashley , Michael Carrington , James Paul , Kenny Best , Denis Kellman& Adriel Bratwaite…..are not in the CABINET for the period under review….!

Esther Byer – Suckoo is NOT the only female CABINET Minister…….there is Maxine McClean !

Sister Baby…….get you facts straight…..before crying……WOLF !

72. Bimbro

Let this be perfectly, clear! No member of any particular family has got a RIGHT to rule Barbados, and that includes Mia Motley and anybody else, unless given so in a free, democratic general election!!!!

73. Anonymous

De Bumble Bee

Perhaps you are not aware but sister baby is a guyanese living in new york,no sorry washington,oops I think it is Guyana – pardon me but I am not sure since she has given different stories over at Barbados Underground.

Any way she injects herself in the discussion with rambling non related to the topic statements,while at the same time,from time to time bashing barbados and bajans.

It started with her comments about bajans and rhianna and rhianna’s guyanese connection.

I would have really enjoyed the discussion if she could actually contribute with something that adds to the debate.

That remark about BFP allowing a remark about someone calling esther suckoo ‘curry girl’ is a case in point.

Nowhere did I see anyone making that statement on the site yet she comes on and makes it twice.

Ah well.

BFP says,

The BLP harassment team that runs some of the other blogs called her “curry girl” and we deleted the racial comments. The BLP harassment team constantly make comments that only one race should be allowed in parliament.

74. Educated women

To: Women
    I agree with you to the hilt. It seems that some folks are supporting women in Parliament just for the sake of it. This leads to gender-clashing.
    A person should NOT be including in the House based on gender.
    I still believe this mad rush by women to control Corporate Towers promotes role reversal.
    The stats show that most career women are found wanting when it comes to their personal married lives. I wonder why? “He (she) saved others, but himself (herself) he could not save”
    Ladies, pay more emphasis to your family. In the end, that is what counts.

75. BFP I would suggest that the attacks will continue for some while until they adjust to the idea that they and their clan of corrupt clowns are no longer in a position to manipulate the treasury and the purse strings of this island.

Until such time you should expect the vile , nasty comments as we have been seeing recently.

76. Sister Baby

Annoymous, I have never and would never bash Barbados, or Bajans, which leads me to believe that you did not read any of my posts. I said, that in the 50’s my cousin who was studying at the time at Howard University in Washington left the Howard campus and went to a church in the Washington area that she did not know was only for white people and they told her that her church was a few blcoks away. Adrian said, that Guyana was a failed state and this was evident from the way the Guyanese behave in New York City. I said, Guyanese can make a cold New York day into a hot Guyana day or something like that with their behaviour. I have never seen New York City, muchless live there. Rihanna is half Guyanese and therefore, I must speak for her. The only thing you have gotten right is that I am Guyanese. They did call Dr. Esther curry girl, and that is terrible. I would never say bad things about Barbados. I said I liked Owen Arthur and Mia.

77. Woman

Thanks Educated Women

I am a modern woman. I am a businesswoman who faces the hassel of what every ‘corporate-type’ woman face in society today. I pride myself as being ‘strong’, without having to be labeled as overly aggressive. I believe modern women have disgraced themselves by thinking it is now ‘hit’ to behave aggressive or cantankerous to be noticed. That is why I am sorry that Irene Sandiford Garner was not elected. I have seen her in the role of wife during this political campaign, and noted the full support and respect given to her by her husband.

I re-iterate again Mia does not inspire my confidence as a woman as a leader for the future.

78. Jinx

I like curry 🙂
    and I like Mia as well, so Sister Baby I agree completely! She is an example for me personally. While I don’t believe in equality ‘for it’s own sake’ i.e. let’s have 1/2 parliament be women who don’t know what they’re doing, you have to realize that 1/2 of the parliament when it’s mostly male doesn’t know what they’re doing anyway, so….do the math. It’s a struggle to balance family, etc. and speaking purely from personal experience, some of the most successful women I know either don’t have children or aren’t married

BFP shona say

It depend on your definition of “successful”.

79. Planter

I don’t think Mia would ever rule Barbados because Bajans are too afraid of the doomsday prophets. Given Mia’s wicking lifestyle, trust me; hell would freeze over first before those sometime-ish Christians in Barbados vote overwhelmingly for a BLP government that has Mia at its helm.

80. Educated women

Thank you woman.
    You have echoed my thoughts and I am glad that you have expressed yourself as a woman.
    A woman can be a corporate climber, businesswoman, career woman etc – BUT SHE SHOULD FIRST BE A WOMAN. IF SHE HAS A FAMILY, THE FAMILY SHOULD COME FIRST.
    Every person has to decide for his or her own life, but personally, I find it hard to laud a woman who forgoes children and family for a career. To me, that woman far from representing success, models failure.
    At the end of the career, then what? A rocking chair to reflect on memories gone by?
    I commend you “woman” for having your heart where it should be.

81. eureka

The comments on this site about the lifestyles of our elite folk and politicians are very intriguing to say the least; but if you could pry into the lives of every single living individual on planet earth, you will find some dirty linen there. How much will depend on the degree of goodness or badness of the individual in question.

I think more than ever we need to curb or natural tendencies towards envy and jealousy and give each individual a chance to be human. I personally would not like to see a homosexual/lesbian elected to high office; however, we have to face up to reality; there are many of these people who are in the closet and on the surface appear to be very decent and respectable persons.

How can we be sure that the so-called decent politician is not a closeted homosexual? We simply can’t. I think we need to focus more on their public performances and less on their private affairs. We need to appeal to their better sides; we need to encourage or promote the positive in others bearing in mind that each one of us have our own share of good and bad habits.

He without sin can cast as many stones at me for the above comments.

BFP says,

Hello eureka,

I (Marcus) agree with most of what you have said. Auntie Moses will not. Clive could probably be convinced, but Robert less so.

The sexual innuendo and allegations that have been part of Bajan politics is difficult to stop but we have tried to exclude it on this blog. Whether such allegations are true or not I find they pale beside the corrupt behaviours that we have focused upon.

I will even go one step further than you…

You say “there are many of these people who are in the closet and on the surface appear to be very decent and respectable persons.”

I would say “there are many of these people who are in the closet and ARE very decent and respectable persons.

But as I say, Auntie will give me a blast for saying that in public.

82. Sister Baby

Hi Jinx,

I also love curry, in fact here is a little story, several years ago a Barbados delegation of government officials were at a conference at the Le Meridien Guyana Pegasus Hotel, well the Guyana newspaper asked the Barbadians what they liked about Guyana and the reply was they enjoyed the fantastic smell of the delicious curry that was cooking in the kitchen for their lunch.
    I admire Mia too, but I feel some of the menfolk are threatened by this strong and highly intelligent woman. I have always read wonderful thing about Mia, so this is a great surprise to me. I just read a letter to editor of the Stabroek News in Guyana and the writer was giving high praise to the Owen Arthur Government, but then he continued to say that Barbadians did not fell right about giving Owen Arthur a fourth term because 14 years are enough for one man. I agree with you on the successful woman thing not married and no children.

83. Sister Baby

Eureka, There are married men that operate sexually with other men, and these are some of the same men that would rebuke an open man that operates sexually with other men. I agree with you that we should focus on the good of people and refrain from highlighting the negatives. I don’t want to wash my mouth on anyone because as you say we can’t help who we are. I say let us be compassionate toward each other.

84. frankology

I made in an earlier submission that people keep focusing on homosexuality and lesbianism in the BLP, but I find it interesting that we have an irie silence with the other camp. As Eureka states, we should be focusing on the good of the individual. Remember if you do good 99 times and make ONE mistake, the public forget the good and concentrate on that ONE mistake. These partisan writers need to deal with issues instead of personal attributes. SUCCESS is based on Performance and not on one’s sexual preferences.

BFP says

I notice that Barbados Underground is, if you will excuse the expression, going hot and heavy on this subject in a couple of articles. I don’t know what the answers are in our society for those who prefer non-traditional relationships (hows that for politically correct?) but I know that if a politician was honest and hardworking I could care less who they sleep with.

But, as I say, Auntie Moses would see things quite differently.

85. Jinx

BTW who is Marcus? and Moses?

Sister Baby it’s a shame that in such a small country ppl could divide themselves about things like-a politician who’s possibly got indian heritage, likes the company of other women/men, and the rest of it. Barbados is sooo intolerant I can no longer be suprised. As 2nd in the Caribbean only to Jamaica in terms of intolerance of homosexuality, we also have quite a lot people shouting down gay men and women and secretly practising in private. True! The hypocrisy is a lot worse b/c there are married men getting it on the side, not using protection and carrying on as normal. At least if there was some sort of public acknowledgement, we could have a proper discussion about safe sex, etc. As a young person I find it embarrassing as we’re supposedly so ‘developed’ and forward-thinking.

BFP says,

Marcus is one of the writers at this blog. Auntie Moses is someone who often provides the writers with advice, encouragement or admonishment. She is a big Sinatra and Bubbles fan! 😉

86. Jinx007

Jinx
    I see you continue to use my pen name…….

ok from Jinx007
    formerly Jinx

87. frankology

but I know that if a politician was honest and hardworking I could care less who they sleep with.
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    I agree with you 100%. I don’t see why people have to harp on who is or who isn’t a homo or lesbian.

What we should be looking at his representation and performance.

88. Jerome Hinds

BFP,

Your 97 Day count down is way too…premature !

The new parliament has not been re – convened as yet…..therefore effective implementation of those ” 100 policy ” proposals by the DLP will not be considered / or implemented until such time !

Parliament ( the HIGHEST court in the land ) must be RE – CONVENED first !

BFP says,

Really? Why, the headlines on Tuesday were “back to work” etc etc etc. The 100 days is not about Parliament… it is about writing the legislation and presenting it.

Nope… countdown starts now…. according to the DLP Campaign Spokesperson who wrote us. Some of it was to be implemented “immediately” not 100 days.

89. Hants

Jerome Hinds…. you have to chill.

The countdown is fine because The Dems will keep that promise way ahead of the deadline.

The Dems will perform beyond peoples expectations.