Would The DLP Have Won Without Their Integrity Legislation Promise?

Re-visiting the DLP Victory – January 2008

Friends, let’s take another look at the article we published on January 16, 2008 and your comments at the time. By request we are going to leave this article at the top for a few days.

Remember the pride we felt that Barbados would now have the integrity legislation, freedom of information access and conflicts of interest rules so citizens could hold our elected and appointed officials accountable?

Remember the joy?

Here’s what one DLP supporter had to say at the time…

Yardbroom
January 16, 2008 at 9:36 am
This election was won because the people of Barbados had an opportunity, – denied in the recent past – to really see what goes on in Barbadian politics.

The Blogs played a decisive part, and you BFP was as the vanguard, no praise is too high. What BFP did was expose the underbelly of Barbadian politics. There was then a reason, for Integrity Legislation and your “constant position” on the subject meant it had to be addressed. The DLP responded to the wishes of the people, as they had to, and as a result we awake this morning, 16th January 2008 to the change we had all hoped for – at least on this blog.

Sadly, “Yardbroom” and most of the DLP diehards haven’t been seen too much around Barbados Free Press since a few months after the election when they realized that Bajans had been fooled again. Too bad the DLP supporters’ fervor for Integrity Legislation and Accountability disappeared with the DLP’s election victory.

Have a read of what BFP and you the readers had to say back in January 2008. Remember the joy?

Original article as published January 16, 2008…

dlp-victory.jpg

Would The DLP Have Promised Integrity Legislation Without Pressure From The Blogs?

Tomorrow, January 17, 2008, is the second anniversary of Barbados Free Press. For two long years this blog has called for Integrity Legislation, Conflict of Interest rules and Freedom of Information laws to combat the corruption that seems endemic to our political system.

In April of 2007, our friends at Barbados Underground came online and joined BFP in the call to end corruption and to demand accountability from those elected and appointed government officials who spend our tax dollars.

The DLP Resisted Integrity Legislation Until The Very Last Moment

In mid-2006 when the BLP government under Owen Arthur refused our calls to implement integrity legislation – with King Arthur himself declaring that he didn’t think it was needed in Barbados because we are all so honest on this small island – BFP stepped up our efforts to have the Opposition Democratic Labour Party embrace integrity legislation and all that goes with it.

The response from the DLP was as cold as ice. Integrity Legislation was simply not on the agenda for the DLP throughout 2006 and 2007.

denis-lowe-barbados.jpg

Dr. Denis Lowe

We weren’t the first to try and convince the DLP of the need for integrity legislation. Back in 2004, Dr. Denis Lowe, a well-spoken man of good character and far-reaching vision, tried to push his party to adopt what he called a “Charter for Change”. Integrity legislation was but one part of Dr. Lowe’s vision, but the DLP responded to his call with stony silence. (See BFP’s article DLP Candidate Called For Integrity Legislation In 2004 – Charter For Change)

There are stories (not from Dr. Lowe) that a few senior DLP members told him to “shut up” about integrity legislation. It is said that these same people within the DLP later pressured Opposition Leader David Thompson to ignore the issue throughout 2006 and 2007.

In September of 2006, DLP leader David Thompson stated publicly on Brass Tacks radio that he favoured Integrity Legislation for elected officials – although his comments seemed to limit this to a disclosure of assets.

That was the only time in two years that the DLP spoke about integrity legislation – until January 3, 2008 when, in the middle of the election campaign, David Thompson revealed his integrity initiative at a press conference.

Barbados Free Press called it “A good start – but too little, too late” and stated our doubts about the DLP’s sincerity when we discovered that some of the DLP’s documents had been cut & pasted from the internet only two weeks before the press conference. (See BFP’s January 4, 2008 article David Thompson Reveals DLP’s Integrity and Freedom Of Information Plans – Much Cut and Pasted From The Internet Only A Few Days Ago)

big-promise-dlp.jpg

Public Response To DLP’s Embracing Integrity Issues

Within a few days of the January 3rd press conference though, BFP sensed a change in the public mood. Although the DLP had been hammering away at the Hardwood Housing scandal since September of 2007, the public had been viewing it as just one more political dogfight between two equally guilty political parties. If it was Hardwood with the BLP this time, it would be something else with the DLP next time.

With nothing to differentiate the DLP from the BLP in terms of anti-corruption policies, the Hardwood Housing scandal was perceived as merely another name-calling contest.

That public apathy and cynicism all changed on January 3rd when David Thompson announced that the DLP would introduce Integrity Legislation and Freedom of Information laws within 100 days of forming a new government.

We felt something new on the street – a shift from “they are all the same” to a willingness to give Thompson and the DLP the benefit of the doubt. After we heard Thompson speak at a mass meeting on the weekend, all six of us at Barbados Free Press came out with an election endorsement of David Thompson and the DLP.

In the mere eleven days between the Integrity Legislation press conference and the vote, there was a massive swing to the DLP – we believe in good part because by declaring a commitment to Integrity Legislation, David Thompson captured many voters who may not have given the DLP a chance.

So We Ask A Few Questions Of Barbados Voters…

– How much did the DLP’s promise of Integrity Legislation impact the election?

– Would the DLP have declared a commitment to Integrity Legislation without the pressure from Barbados blogs?

– In the two years prior to this election, how much impact did Bajan blogs have upon making voters conscious of corruption by the BLP government and the need for Integrity Legislation, Freedom of Information etc.?

– How much overall impact do you perceive the blogs had upon the election process and the outcome?

120 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Blogging, Crime & Law, Political Corruption, Politics, Politics & Corruption

120 responses to “Would The DLP Have Won Without Their Integrity Legislation Promise?

1. Yardbroom

This election was won because the people of Barbados had an opportunity, – denied in the recent past – to really see what goes on in Barbadian politics.

The Blogs played a decisive part, and you BFP was as the vanguard, no praise is too high. What BFP did was expose the underbelly of Barbadian politics. There was then a reason, for Integrity Legislation and your “constant position” on the subject meant it had to be addressed. The DLP responded to the wishes of the people, as they had to, and as a result we awake this morning, 16th January 2008 to the change we had all hoped for – at least on this blog.

2. passin thru

Did BFP “win” the election for the Dems?

I wouldn’t argue against that position.

3. I hardly think my 6-part series on the relocation of Emmerton residents to Strathclyde played a part with Reverend Joe’s downfall…

4. passin thru

Ian, if the truth played a part in Joe’s demise, and you were part of telling that truth, then your stories were part of Goodbye Joe. 😉

5. Jason

Prime Minister Thompson should offer Dr. Lowe a Ministry for his vision. What is he a doctor of? Medical or some other?

6. Anonymous

Thompson is quoted in the news this morning as saying that the “young people” came out for the Dems. More “young people” are on the internet than any other group of voters so the blogs might have played a far larger role than anyone realizes right now.

7. West Side Davie

There is no way the dlp would have declared for integrity laws without BFPs pushing all the time. It was a last minute thing by Thompson but it worked

8. Marsha Hinds-Layne

Let me first say that a confidence is now restored for me in my island. This is because i see now that my people have the strength to do the right regardless of or bribes and threats and that the electoral legacy which we have fostered has been preserved through the demise of many other things in Barbados.

I am one of those Barbadians who realizes that it cannot be more of the same from our politicians in Barbados. to this end, let me express to Barbados Free Press that your role in this society is noted and important. I can assure you that you will never face the foul and nasty onslaught on your blog as you did under the BLP. You are a part of the landscape of Barbados now and you are playing an invaluable job to keep democracy alive.

i have no reason to believe that my Prime Minister will not do that which is right and necessary for Barbados. I can also give you the assurance that there is a group of young people in the Democratic Labour Party who were inspired by the love of our country and we do not intend to just lie down and accept more of the same. Along with you, Barbados Free Press we stand ready to move Barbados forward.

All i ask is that you be watchful in the first 100 days. Give the DLP an opportunity to deliver. Barbados must go forward…nobody knows that better than myself or my party…
    forever Pepperfly…

BFP Comments

We will hold the DLP Government’s feet to the fire…

… but we will do so gently for the first 100 days. There will be no “honeymoon” – it is not necessary because we believe Prime Minister Thompson (oh that sounds so damn good, doesn’t it?) will do as he said he would.

9. Sung to the Campaign Jingle of the BLP “ We Moving wid Owen”

Removing Owen
    We Moving Owen
    He going, he going, he going, he going
    We got to get rid of he
    We moving he and he party

Removing Owen
    We moving Owen
    He gone, he gone, he gone, he gone
    We had to get rid of he
    We move out , he and he party!

10. Today is the first day, the dawn of a new and young Government in the land. With all that went before them and with all the trying time up ahead, their job is not going to be easy. But Bajans are already crying out for change and they need to see it happening fast so unfortunately there is no honeymooning. It is down to business right away. The DLP needs to hit the ground running. I have confidence in this team and hope that Bajans get to experience what they have so long needed and had be blind to see.

Congratulations Team DLP

Christmas was disrupted, people placed on edge
    Owen needed to be dislodged, he was like and impaling wedge
    Now thanks to God we can sleep peacefully
    God has delivered us from his political tyranny
    Right thinking Bajans started a new mandate
    And voted to elect their DLP candidate
    They demonstrated that with the 21 to 9 win
    Usefulness had expired, the shelf life was gone for Owen
    Laughter now adorns this Nation’s face
    A fresh air envelops the entire place
    The excellent campaigning by the DLP team
    Ignited new hopes and happiness, we can now dream
    Of a community with more love and caring
    Negativity surpassed with positive thinking
    Simple charity between neighbors and together we
    Take on progress and a true democracy
    Exercising the strengths of each individual voice
    Assured that individual’s have their own choice
    May God Bless your persistence and bring more success
    Draw a clear map along the Pathways to Progress
    Lots of hard work is ahead but you’ll emerge supreme
    Praise God for this Government of a DLP Team

11. Nice Cartoon At The Top!

That’s it BFP. Remind them that after tomorrow they have 99 days!

“They betta” is right.

12. BajanGirl

As a 3-time voter for the BLP and a 1-time (this time) voter for the DLP, I firmly believe that no-one should have undying loyalty to any one party. At each election we must each do careful analysis of the parties and candidates and vote according to what we consider to the best interest of Barbados.

I am also not a die-hard fan of BFP as I have often found the blog to be heavily biased against the BLP and given to exaggerations and fear-mongering. That said, I have come to appreciate that I have been too naive about government and politics and have overlooked much of the mismanagement and corruption therein.

Much of this corruption has been brought to light by BFP and credit must be given.

I look forward to the integrity legislation being brought to fruition in a timely fashion by the DLP and to BFP continuing to keep a close eye on the Government. I hope that when the DLP slips up (as it inevitably will from time to time) BFP does not suddenly develop larangitis! I hope I am not being naive about that as well!

Congrats to David Thompson and his team, sorry Owen but not even you could save the BLP this time!

BFP Replies (sleepy…)

Hi BajanGirl,

We’re happy that you’re an independent sort, much like us.

We’ll give the DLP their 100 days, and even after that we will try to differentiate what is a DLP issue and what is left over from the mess they inherited.

But they betta come through with their promises because we are in no mood for BS, and the country will not tolerate more of the same-same type of government as the last one.

13. Lady Anon

Nice Cartoon…the count is not 100 days from winning the election, it is 100 days from naming the Cabinet. They have not yet met as a party to assign portfolios etc, so we may be just a wee bit premature.

100 days from naming the cabinet. Hold them to it.

BFP replies…

Ok… a day or two for naming the Cabinet is ok. Here’s what the official story is…

“The Ministerial Code takes effect immediately after a DLP government is elected. The Freedom of Information Act and Integrity legislation will be dealt with in the first 100 days in office.

Any questions, give me a call. If you were part of the traditional media, you would have been invited to the news conference where you could have asked whatever you wanted.

Best regards
    Reudon Eversley
    Communications Director
    DLP General Election Campaign 2008”

14. Anonymous

My barber’s words continue to ring in my ears!

He commented that Bajans don’t vote you IN
    – but dey would vote you OUT
    and that’s exactly what happened!

At this point(7:35 a.m.) I’m still trying to get a handle on the extent of the DLP win.

Nation website en’ saying much,
    but somewhere in here(lower down?) it says 20 to 10

Is that about right?
    Can anyone substantiate this?
    Or correct it?

Anyone?

15. BFP

Go down one more article and you’ll find the numbers that Clive put together at about 2am. They are about right, more or less. One recount still to come at 10am.

16. Anonymous

This is crap. blogs had nothing to do with the DLP winning.

17. Nice Cartoon At The Top!

Nobody mentioned Integrity Legislation except BFP. BFP forced the two parties kicking and screaming to declare for Integrity legislation. without BFP you never would have heard the term and I votted DLP because of it.

18. Thinking about our future years

Not a word is being said about corruption (or governmental abuse of our monies) being an issue in the election- it is now a ‘desire for 4th term change’. It’s already a cover-up.

Fake pollsters and BLP observers were dumfounded on CBC last night. VOB with David Ellis and Peter Wickham made better listening. However, Vic Fernandes and his call for a TV licence betrayed to us immediately how easily Starcom and the Nation suppressed, and helped to manipulate, the election coverage at the papers and radio.

We have serious concerns about our media to address in Barbados. We have serious concerns about the highway, about capital works like the prison, and about the Town Planning Department.

And so with integrity legislation a focus by BFP we today must think about, talk about and reflect on the many, many corrupt areas we want to have our new leaders fix for us. We all need to tell Prime Minister-elect Thompson where the problems lie and hope for deliverance as promised.

BFP, why not make a post where people can list their concerns?

19. james

Can anyone comment on the rumour making the rounds that Mottley (practically the only BLP heavy hitter still with a seat) deliberately ran a half-rate campaign in order to pave the way for a leadership bid ? Owen finished. Mascoll finished (forever hopefully). Mottley cruised through. Even if it ain’t true, I like the idea.

20. Anon

Does the change in govt affect the chief justice?

21. Anonymous

Anonymous
    January 16, 2008 at 11:49 am
    said…
    …………………………………….

You must be joking, dude!

I’m not saying it had any huge effect,
    but as someone pointed out, De Yutes and Dem spend a lotta time on de internet,
    and I think that BFP had at least some impact.

I’m nearing 60 and it had significant impact on me,
    and how I spoke persuasively to other people, particularly de yutes at my workplace,
    so there yuh go, dread!

22. BajanGirl

Hi james,

I don’t know about a ‘half-rate campaign’ by Mia but actually the result is in her best interest politically.

If she is indeed next in line in the BLP, a 4th term for Owen would have certainly meant a win for DLP next time around (no 5-term Govts here!) and Mia in opposition for at least 10 years i.e. 15 years before she had a chance at PM.

Interesting to see if she is Leader of the Opposition (I expect so)… if so its more fireworks between her and Thompson except now he has the upper hand!!

23. Anonymous

“No 5-term Gov’ts.” mentioned Bajan Girl??

Lookah,
    we don’t want even-4-term Gov’ts. here, hear?

Barbados has twice now learned the lesson that ANY Gov’t. after 3 years becomes absolutely bloody unbearable,
    and that the Bajans will vote you OUT. after that!

Any ideas on the quantum of the alleged GUYANESE Vote
    and how it may have factored into this election??
    Anyone?

24. DAC

I for one would not have been abled to make such an informed decision with my vote if it were not for BFP. After reading numerous articles over the past year on BFP I was able to do more research into the likes of VECO and 3s etc…

BFP has opened up my eyes to the world we live in and as a result I was able to share my experience on BFP with others in and outside of my age group.
    No sweeping under the carpet, no hiding up, talk ya talk, spill ya beans, das wa i talking bout. This is what BFP is about. Browsing BFP has become a ritual.
    I have all Faith in the Honourable David Thompson,lets get this party started and show the Old folk of barbados that a DLP government does not mean 8% civic servant cuts and no Gran, David will not take back the additional $8 in pension that owen recently put on:)

25. Lanesse

This was my first time voting. I was a bit surprised to see you only vote for your constituency and not for who you want as Prime Minister. For me the two didn’t go together. I personally knew both polititians from my constituency and my preference was with the BLP candidate although overall I guess I lean towards the D’s, but mostly because of the things I have heard here.
    My husband reads BFP all the time and I am constantly horrified by the stories of corruption. Greenland is my pet peeve as I am very eco-minded.
    I hope the DLP will look into setting up recycling of some sort in this island, we are too small for enormous dumps. I think they have their work cut-out for them on every front. The fact that BFP believes in them gives me some comfort. So yes, if it hadn’t been for the rather limited voting system here, I would have voted for the DLP overall thanks to the BFP.

26. Thinking about our future years

Lanesse
    If you are eco-minded and are thinking about Greenland, read this:

COWilliams has built a new garbage dump at Vaucluse, while simultaneously taking a GOB contract to refurbish Greenland for millions upon millions.

I told you that we have a corruption issue. Go down to Central cricket pitch beside Mangrove Pond and see if what I say isn’t true. They already have garbage falling down into the new cell he built, and a road from the dump into there.

I tell you, we are not finished with the core issues, weare at the beginning. PM Thompson, please help the people of Barbados with good in heart. Please. And please rid our country of corruption such as this.

27. Adrian

Hey Clyde!! D Red man win!!!
    Walaw walaw
    CUPID!! D Doctor win!!!!
    Walaw walaw
    the DLP got alot people eating crow today.
    Aaaa ha ha ha

28. Toni ~ Salaam

Anon
    January 16, 2008 at 12:01 pm
    Does the change in govt affect the chief justice?
    ————————————————————
    My choice for Chief Justice would be Mr. ‘Jimmy’ Serrao.

29. Lix in WUNNUH RH,den!

Where is our boy, now?
    de one who nused to write to say…

four

love

in

wunnuh

rambam!

30. Toni ~ Salaam

Anonymous
    ————————————————————–
    Anonymous you do not know of what you speak. . .Hell yes, the blogs were a great influence. My teenagers were constantly on line reading BFP, the blogs and sharing info with their friends. Thanks to BFP and the other election websites, our teenagers attended several meetings and held hot debates with their peers both at school and in the chat rooms. BFP, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND THE PRESSURE.

31. Good Morning to all my friends and others on BFP, I would like to thank each and every one of you for going out to vote for the removal of this corrupt blp admistration.

Let us now move forward to a new beginning and a new style of leadership.

THANK YOU ALL.

32. TWWIFOS

Congrats BFP. You had EVERYTHING to do with it. Thanks for taking such enormous risks to help make this a better place for all who live here.

I’m sure you realize that talk is cheap and now the voters want to see some action which will help them in their everyday lives.

The part of Thompson’s speech which caught my ear the other day was the part where he said something like “if there was not so much money being spent on all these projects, then there would be no need for the 15% VAT on all food items”. That’s the kind of stuff which would really make a difference. Remove the VAT on food Mr Thompson. That would be a good start.

33. peltdownman

The thing , “Wishing in Vain”, is that you weren’t!

34. One only needed to be present in the FARM HOUSING AREA yesterday afternoon to see how our former leader Owing and ASSCOLL set about to corrupt the political system by the buying of votes, they carried a black carry on bag filled with cash to the people of the FARM thankfully these same voters in many cases took the money and then voted for the DLP.

Thank you for not allowing the corruption thatwas owing to distort your vision for a new beginning.

35. permres

I hope not to bore anyone here, but The Nation has not yet published. I think this is an eco-tourism issue.

4th January, 2008.

Dear Nation Editor,

There must be many others, far more professional than myself here in Barbados, who have proposed the establishment of a coastal footpath for Barbados. However, I present now my two-cents worth. I came to Barbados as a permanent resident in 1996, and was immediately struck by the often unspoiled beauty of much of its coastline for such a densely populated island. In the UK I was a regular walker (but not a member of the influential Footpath Association), often taking along a cutlass with me to keep clear neglected footpaths. Here in Barbados I needed a stout stick to ward off stray dogs, and a blind eye to the garbage.

I no longer walk (arthritis has set in), but I have learnt of the many controversies concerning access to our public beaches. It may be a far-fetched dream to think that Barbados could establish an approximately 60 mile long route, but legislation could be put in place to support its eventual realization, which would also address the beach access problems. Recently it has also been suggested to me that the footpath could draw alongside itself a cycle track, which occasionally would have to resort to the public roads to circumvent the already developed stretches. Concerning the footpath, these developed stretches would have to consider providing a route through them or around them, on the sea side of course!
    Such an amenity in Barbados would be a considerable asset to the tourist industry as well as a recreational outlet for residents. I believe the two tracks, walking and cycling, would attract international events alongside surfing and motor sports, for instance. With adequate legislation in place, the physical infrastructure for the tracks could be implemented in sections, quite easily in some places, I think. It may take many years before the final complete circuit connections are made, but what an event that would be! I doubt I would be around for the opening ceremony.
    To further emphasize two aspects of this idea at a more general level, I suggest that we have to diversify our tourism product substantially. There are movements already in this direction, I know, as we open up our gullies, and we are considering the establishment of national parks at Graeme Hall and elsewhere, for instance. The idea of a coastal footpath and cycle track is well in line with the developing interests of worldwide tourism for environmentally friendly and sustainable projects. The second aspect would be the further realization amongst the local population, as well as the tourists, that walking and cycling are becoming more and more popular, and supported by governments and local authorities throughout the developed world. Cycle tracks are now well-established even in densely populated urban areas, as people turn towards a healthier lifestyle, and government and local authorities encourage this. There is also the growing awareness of the seriousness of global warming, and a movement away from the use of fossil fuels for mobility, at least over short distances.

Yours faithfully,

(name supplied to Nation)

36. Hi BFP:

Integrity and the typical Anti-corruption legislation are generally ineffective without the critical facilitating Disclosure Protection (Whistleblower) legislation.

In a small country like Barbados, we do not have the luxury of the significant resources required to investigate international accounts. That is why Whistleblower legislation, with the following suggested minimums, is critical. Otherwise we will simply have one more ineffective piece of legislation on the books.

1. A reward of 10% of any bribery money confiscated as a result of reporting a claim of corruption.

2. A penalty equivalent to the amount of the expected reward for any fraudulent report.

3. A compensation of 10 years salary to be paid by the employer for unfair dismissal resulting from reporting a legitimate claim.

Regards,
    Researching

37. CAD

First thing thompson should do is tell 3s Bye bye…and let the persons who are now actually doing the work on the highway to submit plans,cost etc…for the completion of the project. That should free up MILLIONS

38. Good Riddance!

One only needed to be present in the FARM HOUSING AREA yesterday afternoon
    to see how our former leader Owing and ASSCOLL set about to corrupt the political system
    by the buying of votes!
    They carried a black carry on bag filled with cash
    to the people of the FARM

Well, isn’t that just the nicest thing I’ve read, today!

39. What is integrity if we have to constantly lay claims to it. I don’t think that anyone need say they have integrity, it should be blatantly obvious.

Integrity Out

If Mascoll had more integrity
    Now he would be sitting as Thompson’s deputy
    Taking on the challenges of good governance
    Economical challenges and fiscal tolerance
    Got a bombshell during elections last night
    Returning officer announced the end of his fight
    It’s obvious to most that he is out
    Totally dismantled from his conceited clout
    Yesterday he was a leader and today what is he
    Only a man claiming to have integrity
    Unfortunately his actions don’t speak the same
    Though he wouldn’t, there’s much to make him run in shame

40. Anonymous

Such interesting social commentary today, on BFP!

Thanks for the outlet, both now
    and during the run-up to Elections and Removal.

I feel strangely happy today
    – like some huge onerous weight has been removed..
    both from me personally
    and from the society I live in.

The sky seems brighter.
    All is well.

We voters still have our heads on –
    and NO the sky hasn’t fallen, Dear Chickens!

41. Tony Hall

Every Government regardless of party has done good for Barbados at some stage but this BLP government was actually becoming arrogant to the extent that it was trying to insult the intelligence of Barbadians, and this result was bound to happen. Remember in the earlier polls from Peter Wickham which indicated that 46% of respondents ” wont say” or “don’t know”. Those are the ones who had their minds made up already. I am glad that Peter Wickham was vindicated, and shame to those BLP hacks who were trying to discredit his work.

42. Hants

BFP I think DLP would have won without the “Integrity” promise.

However, I think you made a huge contribution to Barbados by focusing on the corruption while the mainstream media were silent.

That is where you may have had the greatest impact on this Election.

This blog has become an important part of Bajan politics.

43. Kenyan

Yes, we do need the integrity legislation. For too long the politicians of this country have been skimming off the fat of our labour. We need a independent body to oversee and assess the truth of the information submitted. I wholeheartedly recommend the team at freepress for this job.
    More importantly, we need constitutional amendments which fix the date of elections, so that the electorate and the opposition are not manipulated by the calling of Elections during Christmas. A more savvy piece of attempted puppeteering could not be found; sorry Mr. Ex-Prime Minister it nah wuk.
    Total reliance on the First Past the Post (FTP) system is outdated. Watch this space for updates on proposed alternatives.
    Congratulations Barbados. DLP, we aint tekkin’ nuh shhhhhhhhhhhaving cream, you have been warned.

44. Green Monkey

Lanesse wrote:

January 16, 2008 at 12:43 pm

(snip)

My husband reads BFP all the time and I am constantly horrified by the stories of corruption. Greenland is my pet peeve as I am very eco-minded.
    I hope the DLP will look into setting up recycling of some sort in this island, we are too small for enormous dumps.

I agree. For God’s sake, Thompy, put and end to to the madness of the Greenland dump.

Having said that, garbage disposal is becoming a political hot potato all over the world. I know in Toronto a few years ago there was much controversy as to how the city was going to dispose of its daily mountain of garbage. After the closure of a nearby landfill, the choices being discussed were whether to send it by semi trailers down the highway and pay to dispose of it it at a commercial dump site in Michigan (but Michigan residents were starting to make a fuss as to why should they take Toronto’s garbage as they had enough of a problem disposing of their own wastes) or to send it by rail cars to an abandoned mine in Northern Ontario at Kirkland lake. Neither option was attractive from an expense and energy conservation point of view and there was concern expressed by some scientists and environmentalists that garbage dumped down the mine would inevitably lead to chemicals polluting pristine underground aquifers (similar to the concerns expressed about Greenland).

I believe the problems we are now seeing with garbage disposal is a symptom of the problem of dealing with exponential growth. Retired University of Colorado Physics Professor Albert Bartlett says, “The greatest shortcoming of the human race is our inability to understand the exponential function”.

If the amount of garbage produced in Barbados was increasing at, say, 3% per year (not a seemingly large number and just pulling that figure out of the air as a wild guess, for use as an example), then the amount of garbage produced in Barbados would double every 23 years (to find the doubling time divide the number 70 by the annual percentage growth). The further astonishing property (to the uninitiated) of exponential growth is that in that single 23 year doubling time we will have produced more garbage than we ever produced before in history up to the start of the 23 year period we are measuring. And if growth continued at 3% for another 23 years, doubling once again, in that one new 23 year period we would once again have produced (and have to dispose of) more garbage than we had ever produced in history up to the start of that new 23 year period.

There is a video presentation by Professor Bartlett, geared to the layman (no heavy maths involved), of a lecture he gave on exponential growth and its consequences looking at it mainly from the point of view of implications for future energy consumption/availability, however the principles he discusses in the video apply to many other important areas such as town planning, traffic management, garbage disposal etc. Bartlett’s presentation can be viewed in Real Player format here: http://globalpublicmedia.com/dr_albert_bartlett_arithmetic_population_and_energy

The above link also contains links to audio MP3s and a written transcript of Bartlett’s lecture.

Maybe Mr. Bourne could supply us the real figures for the percentage increase in Barbadian garbage production over the years so we could get an idea as to just how quickly our garbage pile is growing and is likely to continue to grow.

Here is an interesting article from a Canadian web site suggesting that it would not be entirely impossible to live in a garbage free world.

Trash is a choice. Time for ‘Cradle to Cradle’ design.

By Ruben Anderson
    Published: November 28, 2007

TheTyee.ca

A month after Vancouver finally settled its garbage strike, people are breathing easier as their cans once again fill and miraculously empty every week.

Which means we’ve missed a huge opportunity here. We should still be asking the true question raised by all that smelly inconvenience:

Why do we have garbage in the first place?

In fact, there is no reason we have garbage — that is, no good reason. In fact, a world without garbage may be as easy as the red-faced emperor pulling on pants and a t-shirt.

It turns out that garbage is a choice — and not just in the “do you recycle” kind of way. Garbage is the product of how we have decided to produce things and run our society.

Robert Ayres, who studies Industrial Metabolism, has calculated that 94 per cent of the inputs, the raw materials and energy that go into a product, never make it into the output, the finished item. In other words, we make way more garbage than we make stuff; it’s just “easier” that way. And of course, most of the stuff we make is garbage.

(snip)

Architect William McDonough points out the problem of throwing garbage away. There is no away, it all goes somewhere. He likes to think about our current method of production as if it were a retroactive design assignment for his students, in which he asks them to create a system of production that:

* puts billions of pounds of toxic material into the air, water, and soil every year
    * measures prosperity by activity, not legacy
    * requires thousands of complex regulations to keep people and natural systems from being poisoned too quickly
    * produces materials so dangerous that they will require constant vigilance from future generations
    * results in gigantic amounts of waste
    * puts valuable materials in holes all over the planet, where they can never be retrieved
    * erodes the diversity of biological species and cultural practices

Our trash piles earn us top grades in McDonough’s Bad Design class. But the newly-popular eco-efficiency cult that tells us to drive a hybrid, weatherstrip our windows, recycle, and install compact fluorescent light bulbs is only marginally better. We are slowing the ship down, but still headed in the wrong direction.

http://thetyee.ca/Views/2007/11/28/GarbageFree/

45. Justice

Now that DLP have taken the reins from the BLP corrupt government. All of us who read BFP should forward the necessary supporting evidence onto his offices. Starting with the Ronja Juman matter this is right up his proposed integrity legistlature. Leacock and Dottin should be held accountable as the first batch along with Harwood’s flunkies asap. For those who support this you may forward your urgings for justice to Mr. Thompson at thompy@caribsurf.com
    Come on people lets get justice for Ronja Juman and make these corrupt people of our former government accountable NOW!!!!

46. Kenyan

William Shakespeare “MacBeth”
    (a little out of context, but you get the idea)

MALCOLM
    “We shall not spend a large expense of time
    Before we reckon with your several loves,
    And make us even with you. My thanes and kinsmen,
    Henceforth be earls, the first that ever Scotland
    In such an honour named. What’s more to do,
    Which would be planted newly with the time,
    As calling home our exiled friends abroad
    That fled the snares of watchful tyranny;
    Producing forth the cruel ministers
    Of this dead butcher and his fiend-like queen,
    Who, as ’tis thought, by self and violent hands
    Took off her life; this, and what needful else
    That calls upon us, by the grace of Grace,
    We will perform in measure, time and place:
    So, thanks to all at once and to each one,
    Whom we invite to see us crown’d at Scone.”

47. Anonymous

If heads roll..
    it would be a first!

48. Anonymous

Permres, I like tha idea since I enjoy hiking sometimes as well. Well we may only hope and sigh! Who knows if someone may take up the idea and run with it.

49. Adrian Hinds

Tony Hall
    January 16, 2008 at 2:26 pm
    Every Government regardless of party has done good for Barbados at some stage but this BLP government was actually becoming arrogant to the extent that it was trying to insult the intelligence of Barbadians, and this result was bound to happen. Remember in the earlier polls from Peter Wickham which indicated that 46% of respondents ” wont say” or “don’t know”. Those are the ones who had their minds made up already. I am glad that Peter Wickham was vindicated, and shame to those BLP hacks who were trying to discredit his work.
    ================================
    Tony there were only two people. Owen Arthur who put Peter in Court, and Mia who platform comments are well documented.

50. Winnie

The BLP had appointed as Queen Counsel and judges many of their followers before they left office. The Chief Justice was a BLP man. I think he uses to run in St. Thomas. I sorry that we can’t vote for judges because that system is so slow and you get decisions years after. Plus the politicians should never be appointing judges or the queen counsel because there should be separation of powers. This should be so to keep the judiciary independant. Anyway GOD has spoken. Whatever party we support the DLP is now our government and we need to pray them through. The world economy is stress out right now and there will be recession. Oil prices are up so high we have to be there for each other no matter what since things will be dread. The world economy affects us. David Thompson and his crew have a rough time ahead..he needs to know what he has inherited locally (we ain’t too sure) and the world economy will really help play its part.

51. Linchh

BFP:

There is no denying that you were strident and persistent in your call for integrity legislation. David Thompson has said that he has a draft bill, and you may wish to look at my comments on this matter again.

I feel that the process for implementing this legislation is going to be very important. If you read sections 5 and 6 of the “principles” document you will understand what I mean. What would you suggest, in that regard?

If you would like to engage me in a detailed discussion with me, why not contact me by e-mail?

52. Kenyan

You speak a true word Winnie. We shall surely see the mettle of the DLP as they negotiate trying times ahead.
    Independence of the judiciary is important, an ideal in fact, but difficult to realise when they are still after all women/men. What is needed is for the system or body that recommends their appointments to be seen as impartial and fair.

53. GIA

Hi BFP

I have to give it to you guys. You stuck with the program.

I am not a Bajan but I once lived in your beautiful country and have always followed your politics. I watched you silently while you carried the fight to the Bees. Frankly, I didn’t believe that the Dees were capable of unseating Owen. Last night, I was in for a shocker. I felt that they would have lost a few seats, but never in my wildest dreams did I think Owen would packing up to move out of Illaro Court this week.

Yesterday morning a friend of mine told me he would be happy if “Malik wid teet” get lick up along with he Bees and I told him that was asking a bit much. By last night, he was adding Owen to his wish list. Unfortunately, Owen prevailed but he must be feeling very hollow this morning. I hope he fired a couple good shots of white rum to ease the headache.

Jolly Good Show BFP! Take a bow. I know you had something to do with this victory. We need more fora like yours to hold these politicians’ feet to the fire and keep them honest. By all means give David Thompson a honeymoon but don’t fail to rein him in when you find him wanting.

Guyanese in Antigua

54. You know what

Congratulations to David Thompson and the DLP team. I fully agree with BFP’s call for integrity legislation. The new government must introduce and enact integrity legislation and freedom of information laws that will form the FRAMEWORK of its new adminstration and modus operandum. If they fail to do so and in a reasonable timeframe (i.e, within 6 months) we may start to question how serious they are on this issue. I look forward to good governance.

55. John

Correct me if I am wrong but apart from Hammie-La, each of the participants in the Politics of Inclusion got their marching orders.

Trevor Prescod
    Kerrie Simmonds
    Rudy Grant
    Clyde Masscoll

Hammie – La I think loves and is loved by his constituemts and I suspect if he ran as an independent he would still get in.

I think Dennis Kellman in St. Lucy is another one in this boat. He can lambast his own party with impunity when he feels he needs to and get away with it because of the relationship between himself and his constituents.

David Thompson seems also to have that relationship with his constituents. I hesitate to say also Cynthia Forde in St. Thomas because Haldene Dottin made some serious inroads for the Dems.

There are lessons to be learnt from these results.

Night runs till day catches it and when you put your name up to serve your constituents, that is what you better do, and do so unreservedly.

It is also better if you stick by your word if you want to stay in Parliament.

People are not blind, and do not, contrary to what is said, have short memories.

The one thing I realise which shines forth is that you do not have to run as an independent to be independent.

All you have to do properly is your job as a representative of your constituents.

It is they who support an MP’s independent stance and it is they who terrify a party.

Hopefully this new lot will bear these observations in mind when temptation comes a calling on the long road ahead.

56. DE-LIGHTED

We’ve got the Votory Halleluja

Silent Night….All is lost…

Tek dat………the higher the monky climb…DE more he show he tail

Mouts enough pinned down this morning..

Wunna aint tired seeing red welcome to the light….

Lawd but we in so much debt now though….anyway when God bring you to it …he bring you through it…….

DEMOLISHED, DIMINISHED, DIVIDED, DELINQUENTS, DEAD.DUN LOSS

Have a blessed and wonderful day ya hear

57. Bimbro

Researching
    January 16, 2008 at 2:05 pm
    Hi BFP:

Integrity and the typical Anti-corruption legislation are generally ineffective without the critical facilitating Disclosure Protection (Whistleblower) legislation.

In a small country like Barbados, we do not have the luxury of the significant resources required to investigate international accounts. That is why Whistleblower legislation, with the following suggested minimums, is critical. Otherwise we will simply have one more ineffective piece of legislation on the books.

1. A reward of 10% of any bribery money confiscated as a result of reporting a claim of corruption.

2. A penalty equivalent to the amount of the expected reward for any fraudulent report.

3. A compensation of 10 years salary to be paid by the employer for unfair dismissal resulting from reporting a legitimate claim.

Regards,
    Researching

This sounds like eminent, wisdom to me, so let’s hope it will be adopted!!!! The DLP and all your MPs, I DIRECT YOUR ATTENTION TO THIS!!!!

58. anon

Anonymous
    said…
    —————————————————

I dont agree with this statement. I believe that the DLP won for a number of reasons. One of the main reasons they won is that the people’s trust in the government wavered (and here is where BFP played its part). The Dems put together an excellent campaign and Blp’s campaign was lackluster at best.

I for one am not a big BFP Fan, I believe that alot of the time the website come to their conclusions based on faulty reasoning and misconceptions about the law (I am always attacked by BFP when I try to clarify these misconceptions). But the fact is the website did play a big part in the outcome of this election by making young barbadians take an interest in what their leaders are doing in office. I don’t like their methodology but the increased political awareness in young people is one good thing that has resulted.

59. Roy Boy

PM Thompson said last night that he will follow through with the forensic audit on Hardwood as well as other BLP projects for which there has been no accountability. This news is most welcome since we know what happens with Commissions of Inquiry, and it would be nice if these audits also got underway within the next 100 days.
    I expect that the findings of the audit will be brought to the “peoples court” and legal action taken, as appropriate, including any reparations.
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    “Winnie
    January 16, 2008 at 3:02 pm
    The BLP had appointed as Queen Counsel and judges many of their followers before they left office. The Chief Justice was a BLP man.”….

It is true that a number of QCs and Judges have been appointed under the BLP admin but I am confident that these persons will protect their careers when weighed against favours that may be due. To do other wise will be professional suicide if any verdicts have to be appealed.
    I am also confident that this new DLP government will ensure that all legal or other actions that may arise from the audits will be pursued to proper conclusion without fear of future reprisals from a future BLP government. In my view there can be no future reprisals since I believe that PM Thompson will ensure that there are no skeletons during his term in office.
    I heard Mr. Arthur state last night that when he assumed office in 1994 there was no hand-over from Mr. Sandiford and that any PM should step into the vacated shoes and get on with the job. I interpreted this to mean that there would be no discussions for purposes of continuity etc. Further, I assume that there would be no discussions on AMNESTY and that the PM accepts responsibility for actions in office.

60. anon

Winnie said:

“I sorry that we can’t vote for judges because that system is so slow and you get decisions years after. Plus the politicians should never be appointing judges or the queen counsel because there should be separation of powers.”
    ——————————————————–
    I will tell you the irony of the situation. at one point there was a judicial committee that appointed judges. However this was changed in the early 1990’s. Now the Governor general chooses the judges on recommendation from the prime minister. The irony is that the DLP was in power when this amendment was made to the constitution (I believe it was in 1992,but i am subject to corretion….i will check it before the day is out).
    the choosing of queen’s counsel doesnt really have an effect on the independence of the judiciary because queen’s counsels arent part of the judiciary ( but i know what you mean though).

61. permres

My apologies to readers if my earlier post seemed off-topic, I am new to this site. Thank you for your support, Anonymous.
    I appreciate the DLP need to be busy with their integrity legislation, but another poster here mentioned eco-tourism so I slotted mine in!
    In any event, when we know who is going to be the new Minister of Tourism (is Noel Lynch going to run with his ill-gotten gains?) I can submit this idea to the new government.

62. reality check

the choosing of judges by the Governor General through the recommendation of the PM is just one more example of the creeping dictatorship and usurping of the normal checks and balances of a democracy that Barbados saw under the BLP and Owen.

undoubtedly the judges in a small close knit society like Barbados should be chosen firstly for their independence and then for their competence and integrity.

This would leave most of lawyers in Barbados out of the nominating selection committee because they have largely proven themselves to be guided by self interest and not concepts of equity, fairness and the interests of the little guy. Many of the existing judges should be submitting their resignations to The present government as a sign of good faith and to allow them the flexibilty to help clean house.

Maybe some independent lawyers from Canada or US familiar with conflict law and ethics could help oversee this process assuming the PM and his members seriously want the people to see real, effective and positive change?

63. Hants

Why I support and appreciate this BFP blog.

I just read the Editorial in the Advocate today and am truly disgusted by the hypocracy.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/IndexNewEditorialleft.cfm?Type=ED

BFP we need you now more than ever.

64. Yardbroom

The Advocate’s article, failed to mention, that the BLP had thirteen years of governance, and if they had performed satisfactorily, they could have fought the election, on their record of governance.

That they were unable to do so, signified failure.

They – the BLP – were reduced to fighting a campaign in a matter of weeks, in lieu of thirteen years of governance.

The DLP, expertly led by David Thompson, caught the mood of the electorate, and was able not only to plan, but execute with devastating effect.

It was strategic thinking, based on timing the push when the electorate, was in a receptive mood to listen, and ultimately act on what he said, game ,set and match to the DLP.

65. reality check

Hants

from the advocate

“as we commend outgoing Prime Minister Owen Arthur for upholding those democratic principles in the Westminster system of government that did nothing in violation of the Constitution that could have denied the DLP a chance to contest the polls.”

I guess running around with a bag of money to buy votes the week before an election constitutes upholding democratic principles?

I guess buying government spin and lies for the past 10 years with taxpayers money all the wjile peoples rights are being diminished constitutes upholding democratic principles?

I almost threw up

What a rag!!!

66. Get in the Action

Hants

I agree. When I read it I thought what shameless hypocracy.

“It should also be noted that the DLP used this newspaper to get its message across to potential voters to a degree that differed from what occurred in 2003 when it virtually boycotted this journal.”

I think the DLP could have saved some of their media money rather than throw it away in this rot. I’ll bet you they hound the business community to run a congratulations feature for the new government. They are shameless and should be held accountable for their cover-ups and complicity.

Today’s Brass Tacks David Ellis finally hinted about the fear and oppression among journalists during this regime. Pity he has only now found his voice.

67. Jerome Hinds

My heartfelt congratulations to the magnificent DLP team under the astute leadership of David John Howard Thompson !

Brandford Taitt…..you really managed the troups well !

Jennifer Lazlo…..your input was Brilliant !

Hartley Henry……your strategic focus were always going to be a WINNER !

Neville Rowe…..you ensured that we were in WINNER’S…….Row !

And we DEMS……did it without money or any assistance from TAIWAN or else where !

Onward…..EVER…..Backward…..NEVER !

FRANKOLOGY……is beaming with pride from St. Michael North – West !

68. Clyde Mascoll

I am using this medium to discuss this matter with PM David Thompson .

Dear PM Thompson,

Will you kindly take me back into the DLP fold to share your fatted calf ?

I put my economic training at you disposal.

With the experience I have gained over the past 2 years I will make a good Junior Minister of Finance in your Cabinet.

Your friend,
    Clyde Mascoll

69. frankology

FRANKOLOGY……is beaming with pride from St. Michael North – West !
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Jerome, I did vote and I place my vote for a change which was always on the card. I said upfront that I believe in a “Two-term Government”. This system will curtail any massive shifting or wastage of our tax dollars. and allowing the public to deal with inefficiencies sooner rather than later. Remember, complacencies do not prevail in the first five years, but during the second term where the country ignores real economic warning signs. Even the Opposition sometimes fail to detect these signs until a major scandal manifest itself. We must now as a Nation, remove ourself from the doubts of who we spend our time voting for January 15, 2008, from 6 in the morning to 6 in the evening, ensuring that this is the Government we want.

Let’s rally around our new Prime Minister and his team and push Barbados to greater heights. Democracy does prevail in our Island.

Frankology – still will be neutral and fearless.

And Jerome for the last time, I am not Mascoll. Maybe you will be amazed of my close association with Hartley, Reudon and Neville. Oh what a surprise that will be.

70. Listen the blogs are like the talk show radio host programmes of the 80’s. We got our house burned down, possibly we believe, for my mother using them, in the aftermath of the Grenada Invasion, to bring certain facts to the attention of the nation – mainly that Barbados had being supplying arms to South African and the mercenary forces of Jonas Savimbi in Angola – in what would be one of the most prolonged and bloody civil wars in the 20th century. Not in any earth shattering way to bring down the government because it had been arranged by the Americans, but to see how barbados was nothing but a pawn. But because the Americans had the police force in their back pocket, and politicians are generally scared of these CIA involvements – they fear they could be assisinated – and after all my mother included a few of their officers, and deep cover agents as her friends, it was all a messy business. Read our book, especially my mother’s 500 pg autobiography In The Spirit of Diana.

I mean you talk about corruption as it was born with Owen Arthur’s BLP, and you are wrong. There has to be serious cases brought to book – Michael Agard’s prison murder and a re-endictment of those prison guards with no legal force but to compel those prison guards to give witness at a truth and reconciliation committee, as done in South Africa after apartied.

No more no less.

There is Grantley Farmer another case to be brought to the book. Bowen and his method of operation should be taught as an example of how you don’t police. No convictions at these hearings, no criminalisations, just come out and talk at prepared hearing, and we listen, and we cover as journalists, bloggers, writers, and we discover ourselves as a nation, with our readers.

This integrity legislation won’t affect the Ryan Jordan affair, the Bajan Helecopter shooting down, the Pele case, Mark Stokes, the Drug War, Police Brutality, Judicial Corruption etc. (Even if it were to pass parliment, its got to be tested in law, and that is years you are talking about, and if you think David is going to rush through legislation to lock up people, he’s not going to do that, he’s not like that.

Lets start a simple process case by case, lets start with the lowly people wrongly aggrieved for all these years, before Owen came along, it wont cost a lot, people will come out and give evidence you can count on that. It will just be a hearing of a panel of doctors, lawyers, journalist, writers, and judges, they share the load with 50 choosen people, for their integrity, and they deal with the first set of cathartic purges, and even if David does just one, its a beggining, like in South africa (they took 7 years).

A Truth and Reconciliation Committee is what we need today not IMF laws tommorrow, you bloggers are young, its good to be entusiastic, but i’m an old hand at this, and it pays to be wise and heed their wisdom.

BFP says

Hello Gary.

Interesting that you bring up the Truth and Reconciliation committee as we were talking about it a few days ago. I am sure you will be pleased with our article tomorrow.

All the best,

Robert

Oh… some of us are young, and at least one is damned cantankerous and old. If we can ever go public, some folks would say “I knew so and so was with BFP” but with some of the others mouths would drop. I wonder if the tale will ever be told?

Not for a few years though because we have some work to do!

71. Hants

Get in the Action…The DLP had to use the Advocate because with only 2 Mainstream Newspapers in the Island they had to reach every potential voter.

The DLP were very thorough in this campaign and were able to get their message to the voters.

Today is a beautiful day.Most Bajans are happy.

With regards to the Mascoll “comedy” above…..there will be no politics of inclusion.
    Floor crossing should no longer be tolerated.

Let Mascoll use this opportunity to help rebuild the BLP into a viable opposition.He might even rise up to be the leader of that party.

72. Anonymous

wunnah barely foolin wunnahself
    this internet addicted generation is a bunch of imbeciles who believe crap that they see on these pages and just because it looks good they believe it is true. That is why blogs could have had something to do with the result. People who were between 1 and 10 years old between 1991 and 1994 have no appreciation of what the DLP did to Barbados during that time. I never expected to see the DLP in power UNDER 30 years after they were responsible for the darkest period in the recent history of my beautiful island.

With this DLP win in 2008 I fear that we will be taken back down that same road

Damian ‘junior gong marley’ says in the song “welcome to jamrock” that politicians trick us to win elections’——–it is true

along with the misinformation and speculation on these blogs,

the internet junkies who are addicted and log on for their daily diatribe,

the lies, innuendo, trickery, and gimmicks employed by the DLP and David Thompson
    —the young people, some of whom are the internet junkies mentioned earlier, of this country
    have been fooled.

In 1971 the DLP used the young people to win an election but by 1976 sensible people voted out the Dems -the same thing will happen again. This DLP government might not last 100 days because Thompson is afraid of KELLMAN and if they mess with Kelly they goin to see something.

In 1986, the DLP tricked the people with the so-called backraise budget by offering alternative proposals to a budget that was presented in an election year. The people were tricked into voting for them. By 1988 –just 2 years after, the ship started to sink —Richie Haynes called the budget of that year -‘a back street abortion’—the NDP was now the official opposition. Between 1991 and 1994 all hell brek loose—–one of the worse periods in Barbadian political history ——IMF-devaluation of the dollar, 8% salary cuts, layoffs , rampant unemployment and many other ills were occupying the minds of the people.

NOW
    David Thompson does not look like a prime minister. His first act as prime minister was to call a bank holiday on the wrong day and he had to wait on Hartley Henry to make a decision for him. If this is anything to go by I know that we are in for a rough ride. David will eventually make Sandiford–(Sir Lloyd) look like Sir Winston Churchill.

Thompson’s performance will be forever under scrutiny by me —

NOW I CHALLENGE WUNNAH TO POST THIS COMMENT

BFP Comments

Yadda yadda yadda. Yup, the DLP of old was corrupt.. and there might still be some of the old thoughts in the party that we will have to squeeze out.

But this argument that the DLP screwed up things almost two decades ago doesn’t hold much water.

We’re going to monitor them closely and kick their butts when necessary.

But NEVER NEVER could the current DLP come anywhere near the level of corruption that the past BLP government exhibited. It would take the DLP two terms of unmonitored activity (which will not happen as we are watching) to even approach the level of corruption of Owen Arthur’s bunch.

Sit back and enjoy the ride, anonymous… it is going to be exciting – especially for those crooks who thought they got away with it all these past years.

73. Anonymous

why are my comments not published

BFP says…

Because the spam checker got ya and we were out getting drunk in cellebratshun of last night.

So now they are published, ya wanker!

74. Fred

Tell us about the former minister of toursim Noeless Blarney Lynch when he recently received a bill for construction work done on his housefor the sum of $ 20,000.00 and how he called the contractor and told him that he Lynch was the owner of a million dollar home and why would he the contractor send he Lynch a bill for $ 20,000.00 and that he the contractor could take the bill and stuff it where the sun does not shine.

That was a ploy that may have worked prior to yesterday, my advice to you Mr Comtractor is to move to seek your payment right away failing this to seek legal action against this scamp and a crook via the Law Courts of Barbados.

Time is longer than Twine my friend Lynch.

75. reality check

“my advice to you Mr Contractor is to move to seek your payment right away failing this to seek legal action against this scamp and a crook via the Law Courts of Barbados”

Good luck!!!

That should take 10 years and $40,000 in fees

by that time Barney will have sold his home, hidden his money and then be asking for bankruptcy protection.

better still he should send it to the BTA for payment or one of their agency companies. Luck may have it that they haven’t frozen all the accounts.

76. Thinking about our future years
    January 16, 2008 at 12:00 pm
    Not a word is being said about corruption (or governmental abuse of our monies) being an issue in the election- it is now a ‘desire for 4th term change’. It’s already a cover-up.

Fake pollsters and BLP observers were dumfounded on CBC last night. VOB with David Ellis and Peter Wickham made better listening. However, Vic Fernandes and his call for a TV licence betrayed to us immediately how easily Starcom and the Nation suppressed, and helped to manipulate, the election coverage at the papers and radio.

I agree with you! I have no problem with Starcom but I have serious concerns about the role the Nation Newspaper played in supporting the BLP during the election campaign.

It seemed to me that the Board and Management of the Nation were determined to ensure that the DLP would once again defeated. They colluded with the BLP and this gave the DLP an unfair advantage.

We are all aware that the role of the Advocate Newspaper is all about Propaganda. I was therefore the most surprised person to read in today’s editorial to learn of their interest in fairness and democracy as well as their willingness to work with the DLP.

77. I predict that Mia will be the next leader of the Opposition BLP. I cannot see Owen being supported by George Payne, Hammie La or Ronald Toppin, who were all fired. Additionally he has never treated Rawle Eastman. His only support may come from, Dale Marshall, Cynthia Forde and wuk for wuk Clarke.
    I therefore also predict that Owen will put a spin on things and say that he is giving way to younger persons in the form of Mia. Rawle Eastman is not well. He really is not medically fit and I cannot see him continuing very much longer.

78. Max

…….Anonymous X

Clarke is not well nor Hammie….. Anyways politics will continue

79. reality check

okay back to business

here we are with major problems facing the nation and where we need leaders to come running out the gate with their shirts rolled up working 18 hours a day. Getting elected will be chicken feed compared to what is facing us.

We are all prepared to help and take the medicine and help get the house in order

What does our new government do?

They declare a national day of celebration IN ADDITION to a bank holiday.

This is not productive nor is it leadership!

80. Warrior

Where in heaven’s name are the paparazzi, all like now I should see ” This day in pictures”.

I want to see Noel’s face – he said how the only place on Bay Street he would visit Mr. Thompson would be at Bay View. We might have to visit down Black Rock.

I want to Bille (now Dame) face,

I want to see, Mr. Rascal’s face once you get past the egg.

I want to see Joseph Atherley’s expression.

I want to see Liz Thompson’s expression, I never see anyone age and get so dark in the space of a day.

I want to see Kerrie’s face don’t mind his head a little big and we would have problems getting all in the pic.

I wanted to see Mr. Payne with his smelling salts and towel

By now paparazzi should have those pics plastered on the net or BFP or BU or somewhere, these are priceless pics and could be entered into some award for the end of the year. I want to see their faces man

*last thirteen years – torture

*January 15, 2008 – Thousands of votes for the DLP

D Day in pictures – priceless

81. Lady Anon

Reality check…get a grip. If the BLP had won, there would have been a public holiday either today or Friday. You know that too.

So much so that people were caught off-guard today ’cause they thought the holiday would be today.

Years ago, we had another holiday in October and the work still used to be done.

Stop griping.

82. reality check

lady anon

never mind what the past incompetents would have done. If we set our sites low enough we can have a ten to one devaluation of our currency.

5 years will have gone before you can turn around

keep the pressure on

the price of freedom is eternal vigilance

but I get the message

the grinch

83. Bajan Observer

Well I’ll be watching you BFP and see what will happen after the famous “100 days”.

The new PM has declared, again, the priority is to ease the cost of living…I am very curious to see how he will do……?

84. Congratulations for taking the reins.
    But watch your new driver like a hawk.

85. Trinidad Express article of interest!

Found this juicy gossip at T’dad Express webpage at URL
    http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161264539
    look way down…last 3 paragraphs

=============

“In one dramatic incident yesterday, Prime Minister Arthur had to beat a hasty retreat from a neighbourhood known as The Farm,
    where some 1,000 votes stood up for grabs
    in the crucial constituency of St Michael Northwest.”

“This is the constituency held by former Opposition Leader Clyde Mascoll,
    who crossed the floor midway in the last term.
    The area is characterised by two low-income government housing developments
    where residents are widely known to demand money in exchange for their votes.
    Both sides needed badly to win there,
    as an indication of how the final result could be tilted.”

“Prime Minister Owen was being close marked for most of the day by opposition representatives
    and up to when the polls closed yesterday,
    scores of would-be voters were milling about on the streets of the community,
    not yet having gone to cast their ballots.”

…………………………………

Close word has it that a Dem team was following ’bout O$A and Asscoll like badgers,
    preventing them from doling out de ca$h..
    thus foiling their plan to buy votes!

God only knows how much BLP vote money
    went straight to local ganja dealers, to buy herb!!
    Dontcha love it?

86. Jerome Hinds

And Jerome for the last time, I am not Mascoll.

Where did I say that you are Clyde Mascoll ?

You…..GUILTY ?????

87. what happened with the st andrew recount?

88. frankology

“In one dramatic incident yesterday, Prime Minister Arthur had to beat a hasty retreat from a neighbourhood known as The Farm,
    where some 1,000 votes stood up for grabs
    in the crucial constituency of St Michael Northwest.”
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    How come no one in Barbados knew about these lies concoct from Trinidad. I will not allow such damaging statements to go unanswered. How come the leader of the opposition and his candidate was in the area and nothing negative was mentioned. I hope these planned propaganda behaviour stop. The BLP forfeit the Government already and these vicious unnecessary innuendos must stop and let the new Government concentrate on Governing and the Opposition concentrate on pointing out faults in Governance.

89. Testing like R A S S H O L E

K I S S

W U N N A

R A S S H O L E

! ! ! !

B F P E

90. B F P E

Ah, so de moderation OFF.

Dis blog gine be we playgrung tuhnite!

K I S S

Y U H

R A S S H O L E ! ! ! !

…..

We drunk like s h i t e yuh R A S S H O L E ! ! ! !

Firs job o de new govvamunt. . . . DEPORT LOVERIDGE STINKING R A S S H O L E!!!!

B F P E

91. Butchers @ B F P E

Anybody want pork?

We got a nice w h i t e pig fatten up good.

We ready tuh K I L L e like R A S S H O L E ! ! ! !

PORK! PORK! PORK! …. WHO WANT FRESH PORK LIKE R A S S H O L E!!!!

Butchers @ B F P E

92. Paradox

BFP + Other blogs:
    Have played a significant part in this election. Bajans and many more people in countries other than Barbados have also benefited from your postings .

You were an alternative to the Barbados media, which failed the people in a very big way.
    If the ‘intelligent’ men who managed the print/news media had GUTS, the above blogs could not have gained popularity in the way they have.
    Please keep up the good work .

BFP: You appeared a little provocative in your reporting at times but I perceived you did it for a reason.
    Owen Arthur stumbled and fell flat on his face. Many of those who fell were complicit and must take the consequence for their action/inaction.
    All, except those around him could see he had lost his way.
    He had forgotten the ordinary man.
    He had become the “I, ME MAN”.

Prime Minister Thompson must show leadership. He must act as a role model to our boys and girls— RESPECT.

RESPECT is earned.

When he has long gone, the writers must add, ‘Prime Minister Thompson was a gentleman, honest, decent husband to his wife, a lovely dad’.
    If the above can be written, he would have made his mark in HISTORY.

93. Anon

BFPE, what is troubling your soul?

94. reality check

I guess it was somewhat naive to think the BFPE would just wither up and die like the wicked witch of the west?

Toto ” I have a feeling we are not in Kansas anymore”

Beware the flying monkeys!

95. BFP

Note to Adrian Loveridge

The comments from BFPE come from …

B F P E | IP: 69.73.210.154

at the follow Greenwich Time…

Jan 17, 3:45 AM

96. Bimbro

Hi BPF,
    We all join in the celebrations. However, I suspect the saboteurs may have been at work, again!!!!

I doubt, very much that this is post from above, is by the real, Clyde Mascoll!

Clyde Mascoll
    January 16, 2008 at 8:36 pm
    I am using this medium to discuss this matter with PM David Thompson .

Dear PM Thompson,

Will you kindly take me back into the DLP fold to share your fatted calf ?

I put my economic training at you disposal.

With the experience I have gained over the past 2 years I will make a good Junior Minister of Finance in your Cabinet.

Your friend,
    Clyde Mascoll

Many of us will have strong, feelings about Mascoll’s actions over recent years but, I’m sure that u should n’t wish to misrepresent, him, here and will soon delete the post, assuming it really, is n’t him!!!!

Resume the party!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

97. Baps

Hi all, this is my first time writing in and I think I now feel I can do so properly without fear of being targeted or victimised. Under the previous administration one felt that due care had to be taken about voicing your opinion. I just wanted to put in my two cents pertaining to the need for proper journalism and the need for things to come to the fore in this country. I find that Bajans have a tendency to keep things hidden only a few seem to know about a lot of things and the rest of the population has no clue. There are many people out there who don’t have access to the blogs and are at a disadvantage as they are not informed or knowledgeable about occurences. THIS NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED, and this can only be done by all with the information including the blogs and concerned citizens stepping up their work and getting this critical information out there to the masses.
    I for one will be doing my part from now on to educate those around me as best as I can.

Baps

98. DAC

What is the big thing about the holiday on Friday?Steupse, bajans so trivial. Your going to base Mr Thompson’s leadership on when he called a holiday? Get real :s

Decision made…who dont like it…could go eat some CHEESE. (estwick is the MAN!!)

p.s when will 3s be told to pack their bags? we got millions to save.

99. DAC

Oh My, did you smell that? PM Thompson Farted…how dare he…he never said that in the manifesto…Public Crime :s

Steupse stop picking at crap ppl.

100. robin hood

I really don’t expect you will post this, will you?
    I hope when the salary cuts start (8%, 10%, 12% who knows?); when the properties are foreclosed on, when The VAT starts to climb higher and higher, I hope the same ones who were seen on tv etc hugging and embracing the “successful” DLP candidates will continue to hug and embrace their “gods”!!!!!
    regards,
    r. hood.

101. Jerome Hinds

FRANKOLOGY,

You always demonstrate your tenacity for defending your St. Michael North West !

Re – read your last posting above !

You are ALWAYS aware of all the ” IN – TRICK – ACIES ” of that constituency !

A pity it was lost to the…..DLP !

That’s a wondeful display of your
    ” NEUTRALITY “…………..!

102. Bimbro

I’d been pondering the 6p.m. time of closing of the polling-stations when I read the article above by ‘Trinidad Express article of interest!’ which stated that a number of people were still milling-around, not having yet cast their vote, when the polls closed. Is n’t this too, early for polling-stations to close? What time do people finish work in Bim and can they all rush to the polling-station by 6pm????

In the UK, I think the time is 9 p.m.!

A point, perhaps, for the new govt. to consider!!!!

103. Donald Duck, Esq

The dlp manifesto was full of a lot of waffle. It lacked vision. Many of the issues require clarity. Will the dlp make the manifesto a document of the house and confirm that it is a contract with the people who they represent.

Thorugh this medium I would like to highlight a number of issues which reqire clarification. They sates that they will

 Implement taxation policies that reduce fiscal drag on the economy. We shall avoid taxation policies that act as disincentives to investment and productivity;

What does this mean???? Does it mean that we will never see a reduction in taxes under a dlp administration

BFP Comments,

Yes, DDE, we also await the fleshing out of much of the manifesto – especially the integrity legislation and related items.

But perhaps the Barbados media will now have a chance to actually ask our Prime Minister some questions! We understand that unlike his predecessor, Prime Minister Thompson will actually be attending Parliament and press conferences where folks will ask him actual questions and will probably receive actual answers.

104. Brutus

Donald Duck,

How can you expect the manifesto of the opposition party to be as detailed and specific as that of the government? The government would have benefited from access to detailed information and studies, far superior to what the opposition would have had available to them. The government’s information would also have been accumulated at the taxpayer’s expense, and we know how uncooperative the BLP administration was in sharing reports and other detailed information with the public.

I would even venture to say that you, Donald Duck, appeared throughout the campaign to have very detailed information some of which the DLP did not seem to have. Your approach seemed to have been to wait for them to make statements or promises which you could challenge on the basis of your superior information.

Finally, how many people that voted for the DLP do you think read the DLP manifesto in any detail?

105. Donald Duck, Esq

Brutus

BFP never carried any of my comments during the campaign. How then did you know what I said.

In formulating my opinion on the manifestos I only had access to information that was available to the general public. It may be that my analytical talents are above those that contribute to BFP or those who can access BFP.

It was obvious that the blp manifesto was far more comprehensive than that of the dlp. In fact the dlp manifesto lacked vision. I will say that the dlp gave the public false impressions about the release of theirs when they failed to make copies available on the night it was to be released. I suppose the delivery of false impressions is what the dlp is good at. A good example of this was the accusation levied by its leader at oistins that the blp had sent people to cut the wires of the dlp when in truth in fact the police reported that no such event took place

BFP Comments

NEWSFLASH!!!!

Election Over!

The people have not only spoken… they shouted!

106. Donald Duck, Esq

I forgot to remind bloggers of the proposal of the dlp to introduce the Agriculture Protection Act that will require a 2/3 majority of both houses of parliament for a change of use of land from agriculture.

They propose to introduce the act within their first 100 days. I wonder how many approvals will be granted before the implementation date of this piece of legislation

BFP Says,

Good point, Donald Duck!

Would you kindly write up a paragraph or two on your fears and we will post it as an article.

Thanks,

Marcus

107. Brutus

Donald Duck said “BFP never carried any of my comments during the campaign. How then did you know what I said.”

During the campaign I read several of your comments on both manifestos, and on other matters, and I in fact responded to a few. Perhaps there is more than one Donald Duck writing on the local blogs.

108. Rumplestilskin

As for integrity:

Government Land and Change of Use:

Dear PM Thompson,

May we the public of Barbados, please have from the records of Government, a published list of the following (even if we have to go to GIS to view it and copy if we need to):

– a list of all Government owned land
    – a list of any Government land that has been acquired or sold in the past five years
    – a list of Government land, including that sold, for which a change of use has been granted.
    – a list of major land ownerships, public or private, for which change of use has been granted in the last five years.

As these is information that belongs to the people of Barbados, I see no reason not to supply and look forward to this information being published by one of your Ministers or PS’s at the earliest convenience.

Thank You.

109. Anonymous

Anonymous
    January 16, 2008 at 9:44 pm
    wunnah barely foolin wunnahself
    this internet addicted generation is a bunch of imbeciles who believe crap that they see on these pages and just because it looks good they believe it is true. That is why blogs could have had something to do with the result. People who were between 1 and 10 years old between 1991 and 1994 have no appreciation of what the DLP did to Barbados during that time. I never expected to see the DLP in power UNDER 30 years after they were responsible for the darkest period in the recent history of my beautiful island.

With this DLP win in 2008 I fear that we will be taken back down that same road

My anonymous friend, I was alive and working in the public sector at that time. I got my salary cut by 8 %. I did not die. I made adjustments. I have never heard of anybody who died because of that time period. You sound as if every one had the same experience, and that is impossible. I know someone who said they had to count pennies to buy gas at that time (not me, I can barely remember it, too long ago). B’dos is still here today and stronger because what does not kill strengthens.
    I would have thought that a country which went through that experience would never find itself burdened by the amount of debt it now has.
    Take responsibility for yourself and stop looking to others. B’dos is living above its means. Work it out.

110. Rumplestilskin

Anon above ”I would have thought that a country which went through that experience would never find itself burdened by the amount of debt it now has.
    Take responsibility for yourself and stop looking to others. B’dos is living above its means. Work it out”

THAT is just the issue, stated very simply.

Why are we now in such debt? Yet the old nonsense on the ‘dark days of the DLP’ still surface.

As I have said before, EVERYTHING is in context. The conext in early 90’s was that the world was in severe economic distress.

Yet, in a time of worldwide economic boom over the past ten years, Barbados debt levels are inexcusable bearing in mind that much of the spending has been on over-runs, particularly on non-essential projects.

Yet, the previous administration also told the nation that to survive we have to sell our real estate? Remember, this in a time of worldwide economic boom AND rising debt levels, we have to sell our family silver too?

Huh? If people cannot see how ludicrous and short0sighted the recent economic policy has been, then I am sorry, it cannot be more simply put than that.

I would take my chances with Sandi again any day, rather than charlatan policy.

Having said that, Sandi’s gone, Owen’S gone, now its the Thompson administration.

Let us hope this administration has the fortitude to tighten the belts and raise the bridge when necessary.

A little pain today, for a lot of gain tomorrow.

Peace.

111. 100

Why did you do this to us?

112. yatinkiteasy

They are beginning to construct a house on the cliff on Enterprise Coast Rd (up from Miami Beach)…RIGHT ON THE CLIFF…where others have been refused permission to build on that same stretch of beautiful coastal views..”30 ft from the centre of the road and 80 feet from the undercut of the cliff ” is the LAW…yet The Palasides is builing concrete structures right on the Cliff…WHY? WHO gave Permission? How much was paid, and to WHOM? I believe it was approved in BLP days, so the Dees should be jumping all over this… Mr Boyce lives in Atlantic Shores and passes this construction site every day..Has he no eyes?…Maybe it was DLP approved….who knows….who cares…no one it seems..laws are made for some…for others, its a matter of bribes and corruption.

113. WHAT

DLP won because people wanted a change. Blogs played no part-dont fool wunnah selves !-dont take wunnah-selves suh serious !

Bajans can be very funny, . You would hear some saying ” I tired of seeing she”; “I tired seeing he pon TV” and they just get up so and vote against whoever in power. Bajans voted against the great Errol Walton Barrow , who gave Barbados so much
    Add to it the lies and innuendos of the DLP and the support of certain businesses who believe the building of a fly-over near their business place would have dampened their business even though they conspired to destroy certain other small businesses

The people of Barbados made a mistake this time around by making an unnecessary change from BLP to DLP but who I am to say that.

It is my opinion and you can take it however you want.

Change to WHAT and for WHAT

114. Love

WHAT,

Your were able to summon the words for your last posting…only because of the crookery of the BLP.

Barbadians were forced to change from the BLP ROT…so that the DEMS could put food in their POT.

115. 700

3 x $60 million dollar buildings by the NIS (half our cash reserves) in conjunction with the Government of Barbados. There are no laws that inform us.

We enter 2010, there is continued recession and stock market trouble.

1/2 NIS money = 0

And

Structural adjustment + lack of transparency and regulatory laws = deeper trouble.

We will not love that.

B + D = Bds

116. WHAT

WHAT BLP ROT ?
    Unemployment down and foreign reserves up ?
    WHAT ROT

Food in whose POT ?
    the DLP POT which holds the fatted calf syndrome ?

117. Donald Duck, Esq

BFP

you should cover the comment by david estwick today that he will be recommending to the minister of finance that the government put in place a wage freeze. If the dems would have their way they would do another 8% cut!!!!

look out for the taxation in the upcoming budget

118. Hants

Wanna still tink Barbados is Utopia?

No bohzee, wanna is part uh de wirl and until we stop getting licks in North America wann gine be gettin some too.

Save yuh pennies fuf a rainy day cause it now startin to come down.

119. dismanhey

i wonder if David Estwick would consider giving up the new Benz that he is driving as a show of moral support

120. hello that is a greate topic thanks