Nigerian Ambassador: Barbados Foreign Minister refuses to see me!

Ambassador John Musa tells Nigerian press of “discord”, “deteriorating situation” with Barbados

Barbados Minister of Foreign Affairs, Senator Maxine McClean, refuses to receive the Nigerian Ambassador. According to Ambassador Musa (also called Musa John Jen), this is because the image of Nigeria has “sunk to the gutters” in the Caribbean.

How right the Ambassador is! Can anyone in Barbados recount even one successful joint venture between Bajan business and Nigerians? The last business announcement we remember was that disastrous venture to offer Bajan solar water heating technology in Nigeria. Wuhloss! Better count your fingers after shaking hands on a Nigerian business deal!

While it is good to see the Nigerian Ambassador concerned over the negative reputation of his country, that doesn’t make good on the damage suffered by honest and well-meaning Bajan and Caribbean business people who were plucked like chickens over the years by Nigerian crooks in and out of their government.

Hey… like we said. Can any Bajan name ONE successful Bajan business venture with Nigerians?

As well, Ambassador Musa seems to think that the Nigerian reputation is generally undeserved and the result of a “few misguided” Nigerians.

To the Ambassador, it’s all an image problem…

Vanguard News: “Sir, how is Nigeria and the Nigerian seen by the average Caribbean? Why is the Nigerian treated with so much humiliation and bitterness and what are you going to do to erase this negative image that has stood against any meaningful restoration of friendly relations?

Ambassador Musa: “As the Ambassador of a great country, I’m dismayed that the history and the reality of Nigeria as the foremost Black nation in Africa has been distorted by the unfortunate activities of a very few of our misguided citizens. But we cannot be guided by that distortion.

To present Nigeria through the prism of these few undesirables is detestable. Other countries have more criminals than us. It is my persuasion as long as I’m here to embark on a massive image reconstruction for the real Nigeria in the Caribbeans. That is why we have invited you and the Vanguard to come to our aid.”

Read the entire story at Vanguard Nigeria: Ambassador John Musa, Nigerian relations with the Caribbeans

26 Comments

Filed under Africa, Barbados, Business & Banking, Nigeria

26 responses to “Nigerian Ambassador: Barbados Foreign Minister refuses to see me!

1. Baje

Maybe she would love to meet with him, but the question is how is she even sure that “he” his even whom he says he is. In the world right now the Nigerians are some of the biggest scam artiste, if they want to have that image changed then they have to enact the laws and enforce them.

2. ‘Once bitten, twice shy’ Ambassador Musa (if you’re really an ambassador)

3. oh come on

i was just coming to say the same thing,
    nigeria is the haven for scam artists, if they want to be taken seriously and trusted again they gotta crack down on all that illegal activity related to violating ppl’s trust.

4. jdid

why doesnt he just send her an email:

Dear Ms Mcclean

I am John Musa, Ambassador from Nigeria and son of the late industrialist Musa Musa who left me 5 Million pounds after being poisoned by my evil step uncle Lefty Musa who was trying to steal his wealth. I need your help in getting the money out of the country as my life is currently in danger ………

I mean i wud write um fa he if needs be but I cann duplicate dem Nigerian spelling errors bosie.

5. BFP

jdid,

Cliverton and I laughed so hard the tears were coming!

Thanks for the smile so early in the day. 🙂

Robert

6. Masta Rasta

A condition precendent to meetig him could be a good faith gesture to Barbados, somethi9ng along the lines of say US$5 M donation to Education in Barbados. That would get complicated becoase Nigeria will want us to agree a donation of US$10 M, five forr us and five for them. Best left alone

7. Jdid,

I am still laughing … (great nigerian imitation)

8. Goodluck Jonny

Masta Rasta , they will send you all de money, not half n half. All you have to do is give your full name, date of birth , bank name, bank acc. no. , mother’s maiden name , pin no. just to be sure,etc and it will be sent by wire transfer. You have to hurry though. As this donation might go to somebody else.
    When you get the money don’t forget all of we bout here.

9. Cynthia

Its only a greedy thief that gets duped,Bajans have the guts to act like this now.Its never their damn fault,those tiny carribean nations whose economy depend on tourist.Rubbish

10. averageman

Did she realy refuse to see him or did he come at a bad time? Did he notify her of his intention visit her? Is he realy who he says he is?……………….

11. de hood

I would have expected that a bono fide ambassador would have had no problem getting an audience with a minister of government as he would have presented his credentials to the relevant authorities upon being posted here by his/her country. Am I right or not?

12. question of degree

very very funny

Unfortunately, Nigeria is not the only target for scam artists.

The taxpayers and individual citizens of Barbados have been incredibly ripped off by those who have been elected to protect their hard earned monies.

These untendered investments ( ie scams ) are in the hundreds of millions of dollars.

Lets put our own house in order lest we become too smug.

13. Mathilde

and we should care why? Africa is a big place with many more reliable countries to do business with…

14. John

@question of degree. I agree – CLICO & BNOC “losing” $65million etc etc. Nigerian ambassador should count his fingers if he shakes hands with Barbados government

15. Mr.Mega

WOW..I wonder if he is the same ambassador who email me about my relative who is a king, and had died, but left me his fortune…..and to get my fortune all i had to do his email him my bank account credentials so he can transfer me the money!!

16. Straight talk

Beat me to it , John.

We have home grown artists who could teach these amateur Nigerian upstarts how to scam properly with absolutely no consequence.

17. Bradley

The Nigerian Football team would like to apologise to its fans worldwide over their poor performance in the recent world cup, and is willing to reimburse them for any expenses occurred.
    Just send your name, address, telephone number and your bank account number and you will be taken care of.

18. The Watcher

How dare you Sen McClean? How dare you refuse to receive one of our most elevated African Brothers with your third-world nation lacking sorely in natural resources?
    I applaud you Sen McClean for being nothing short of genius on this decision. Let the Nigerians demonstrate value and credibility. I hope that Barbadians become aware that as unfortunate as it is, Nigerians are not the most revered people on the world stage. This is not to say that they are all practitioners of questionable crafts, but they have made quite a name for themselves over the years which they now need to rescind if they are to gain any respect internationally.
    Mr. Ambassador, I implore you to call together all your fellow government colleagues and formulate a plan which takes the luminous creativity which your country has channeled toward the activities that have led you to this point, and channel those same superior mental energies toward making Nigeria a shining beacon in the world.
    We’ll eagerly await your re-emergence.

19. yatinkiteasy

Barbadians need a Visa to visit Nigeria. They need no visa to visit Barbados.
    Perhaps His Excellency should Google “419 scam”, and see why people want nothing to do with them. The Nigerian Government and their own Central Bank have been involved for years in the numerous scams that their citizens have conducted for many years.
    Also interesting reading is in the US State department`s website on Nigeria, and their Travel Warning for US Citizens.

20. Received email from Ambassador Musa

I received the following email that I presume is from the Ambassador:

“My name is MISS AGNES SANGO, the daughter of SANGO KABAN Of blessed memory from Zimbabwe, During the current crises against the farmers in Zimbabwe from the supports of President Robert Mugabe to claim all the white-owned farms to his party members and his followers, he ordered all white farmers to  surrender all farms to his party members and his followers.My father is One of the most successful multy farmers in our country and because he did not support Mugabe`s ideas, Mugabes supporters invaded his farm and burnt everything in the farm, killing him and made away with a lot of items in my fathers farm.

Before his death, my father had deposited with FINANCE HOUSE the sum of (USD $6.5 MILLION).Six Million Five hundred thousand Dollars.”

I better reply to this as soon as possible so I don’t miss the opportunity! 🙂

21. Bunch of ignorants. Nigeria couldn’t care less about Barbados. The ambassador’s just saying what he needs to say to keep his job. Don’t get all hyped up. If Nigeria loses a business deal the size of the entire Barbadian annual output, it’ll still remain a drop in the ocean. literally.

22. Elvis W Smyth

yuh kno sumtn?..wen yuh kno yah hurt smaddy wah yuh need fi do is apologise,di ppl of nigeria wi all one ppl,why cheatin pan wi?di inection of both country a mash up,all cuz of greed.nigerian next time do di right cuz it is right..one luv.

23. Elvis W Smyth

yuh kno sumtn?..wen yuh kno yah hurt smaddy wah yuh need fi do is apologise,di ppl of nigeria wi all one ppl,mi expect nigerian govt to apologise to all di caribbean countries for misconduct.

24. It great to see what everyone have to say before I move on to say anything, all of you who have made this entire issue into scam or whatever your problem may be I do nt blame u bcus if the dog is nt given a reason to bark he/she won’t. A small info Nigeria has a population of over 150 million plp n ur putting a bad label on her for the action of thousands of plp who careless abt anything, you all with ur bad to say abt Nigeria as a nation shuld deep ur face in shame. If u see me now hate me bcus I’m from Nigeria imagine I was a dr. That saves ur life ur indirectly telling me I shuld have allowed u die bcus am Nigeria knwoning u hate me for nt my fault but your shallow understanding. Be a wise man and watch what u say bcus u culd be saying wrong against sum1 who did u great….I’m Nigeria not proud to be for all good reasons and wish all day wrong some of us do will end for plp like u to. Close there dirty washy mouth.

25. Chukwudi

I AM PROUD OF MY COUNTRY NIGERIA ……A COUNTRY WITH HUMAN RESOURCES AND NATURAL RESOURCES….EVEN THE PEOPLE THAT SHOULD BE PROUD THAT THEY HAVE A BLACK NATION WITH A POPULATION OF ABOUT 165,000,000 MILLION THEY CRITICIZE THE ONLY AFRICA NATION THAT STOOD FOR THEM IN TIMES OF INTERNATIONAL MATTERS…… EVERY TIME THEY SAID NIGERIA ARE BAD PEOPLE BUT WHEN THE TROUBLE COME THEY START LOOKING FOR THE BAD PEOPLE TO SPEAK FOR THEM, TO STAND FOR THEM AND TO FIGHT AND WASTE INNOCENT BLOOD OF NIGERIAN SOLDIERS…ITS A PITY THAT WE CRITICIZE WHAT WE KNOW WE CANNOT HAVE WHEN WE SEE IT WITH OTHER PEOPLE… YOU MAY NOT VALUE NIGERIA TODAY BUT YOU WILL APOLOGIES TO NIGERIA TOMORROW.