Shane Brathwaite – World Champion Gold Medal Winner

shane-brathwaite-barbados.jpg

Brathwaite is Barbados’ First World Champion

When 17-year-old Shane Brathwaite completed the Boys Octathlon here in Ostrava with a new personal best record of 6261 points he became not only Barbados’ first World Youth champion but his country’s first ever athletics gold medal winner in a global competition at any level. (continue reading this article at the IAAF World Youth Championships website link here)

Fabulous Shane, just fabulous! All Barbados is proud of your achievement and we are looking forward to seeing you at the Olympics. (We will see you there, won’t we?)

Have A Look At The Photo Above

And then have a look at these two closeups. They tell you everything you need to know about why Shane Brathwaite won…

shane-brathwaite-face-barbados.jpg

shane-brathwaite-feet-barbados.jpg

26 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Celebrities

26 responses to “Shane Brathwaite – World Champion Gold Medal Winner

1. Rumplestilskin

This is truly something to acclaim and follows well on Oba’s Olympic Bronze and Rihanna’s worldwide music acclaim.

Youngsters paving the way.

Well done!!!

2. MaMa

He is a babe…it’s gettin’ hot in here!

3. Lady Anon

Congrats, Shane. You have done Barbados proud. Keep it up.

4. Bajan Youth

Well done, you have made us all proud

5. bajejun

Well done on a truly outstanding and world class achievement.

6. photo-op

number one in the world from a small island state
    is exceptional and something to be very proud of both personally and as a Nation.

I can smell a photo-op with Barney very shortly. Hopefully Shane has very strong disinfectant soap.

7. Anonymous

What a POSER! Did you see the fancy gold chain around his neck, humbugging him every step he took, as it flapped up against the underside of his neck distracting him as it simply HAS TO?
    What a POSER! A real Caribbean ‘Star’. .
    Did you see any others with fancy gold chains around their necks.

8. crossroads

Congrats to Shane, job well done.

Now,
    Not sure I’m seeing what you want me to see BFP is it
    1) All the bling bling around neck and in ears.
    2) The look of total determination on his face.
    3) The brand name gear.
    or
    4) that he is being chased by a white man

Could you clarify what you have seen as his reasons for winning?

9. BlingBoy

Bling costs an athlete WEIGHT.
    That weight requires additional effort.
    The more successful he is, the more bling he’ll wear
    -after all, he’s a Star,now.

Soon the weight will show up on the time clock and on the score card. Don’t say nuthin.

10. Hoh-hoy!

Indeed he’s being “chased by a white man”!!

Was the picture taken as he hastily exited Highgate Gardens??

11. Caribbean Comment

It’s also a good opportunity to celebrate the wider Caribbean successes, including noting Kirani James of Grenada who came in second in 46.96 and set a WORLD RECORD for a 14-year old (not bad as the winner was a British boy of 17, who won with 46.70). Jamaican athletes are also doing well. The Bajan press coverage has again shown that local journalists here are not really there probing the key points of local interests in developments outside our shores.

12. LocalMedia?

They’re not really probing the key points of local interests in developments within our shores,either!

13. Carib media

Bajan press covers more Caribbean happenings than Caribbean press covers Bajan happenings. Oh yes Caribbean Comment.

14. crossroads

Still waiting for response.

15. BFP

Some foolishness is not worth a response Crossroads.

16. crossroads

Then clearly your comments about close up pictures are pointless. My point exactly.

17. Wishing in Vain

Congrats to him lets hope he can move to the next level if does this he will make us all very proud.

18. Najo

Well done, you make us all very proud.

19. Pingback: Global Voices Online » Barbados: World Youth Athletics Champ

20. AmonRa

Congratulations to Shane, at the right age too, just keep it up and keep training hard. By age 20 he will be killing the competition!
    The bling is like a training weight… his next chain will be twice the size this is to (a) enhance his training (b) intimidate his opponents, I mean damn if he is beating you with “weights” around his neck, how are you ever going to beat him when he decides to take them off!!?? (c) He might be paying respect to past sporting greats of Barbados, Joel Garner, Malcom Marshall, who were runners “of sorts” sporting nuff “weights” (d) Best yet …suppose the young man just likes to wear a nice chain LEFF HE NUH??? DE BOY DOING DE ISLAND PROUD AND PEOPLE TALKING BOUT BLING…FUH SHAME PUN WUNNA!!! BIG UP SHANE AND KEEP ALL DE COMPETITION SNIFFING THE DUST YOU KICK UP!

21. Shennel

CONGRATS SHANE, YOU HAVE DONE A REMARKABLE FEAT AND YOUR NAME WILL FOREVER BE REMEMBERED. TO ALL THOSE NEGATIVE COMMENTS ABOUT HIS CHAIN, THAT IS THE REASON SO MANY OF OUR YOUNG MEN ARE TURNING TO CRIME. HIGHLIGHT, PRAISE AND COMMEND THE POSITIVES, LEAVE THE NEGATIVES BEHIND CLOSED DOORS.
    SHANE IS A WONDERFUL YOUNG MAN WHO IS PAVING THE WAY FOR OTHERS TO FOLLOW WITH HIS DETERMINATION. HE IS THE REASON I AM PROUD TO BE A BAJAN AND WE ALL SHOULD BE PROUD OF HIM.

CONGRATS AGAIN SHANE, ST. JAMES SECONDARY SALUTES YOU AND WE ARE PROUD.

22. sabrina

shane has made top charts around the world and should be even greater in the up coming future. Brave and bold hearted, such a talent as it was giving should be futhered to complete success.Continue to make your island proud as you have made me proud.(if it is as stated that the nagativity be constantly repeated by the negative and uncouth onlookers have a positive mind set and keep on keeping on

23. chriscia

i lovin it boy u go boy

24. JOHN JONES

SFE I WILL TRY THIS YEAR TO DO THE SAME KEEPING THE GOLD UP

25. V.L

Nice job Shane keep it up.You know you are a star and no one is gonna change that.Congrax

26. 22k gold

This is so inspiring.