Trinidad: Six Masked Men Desecrate Hindu Temple

trinidad-hindu-temple-attack.jpg

Religious tolerance is one of the major factors that differentiates civilized people from the barbaric.

Witness accounts indicate that a group of masked men were responsible for the desecration of the Hindu Temple at Waterloo, Central Trinidad. Masks would indicate a planned event as opposed to a bunch of drunken teenagers who chose a target at random.

We will be following this story, and would appreciate hearing about any developments from our Trinidad & Tobago readers.

Trinidad & Tobago Express: Sacrilege

20 Comments

Filed under Crime & Law, Religion

20 responses to “Trinidad: Six Masked Men Desecrate Hindu Temple

1. Thistle

Remember what the Taliban did to the Budhas carved into a hillside in Afghanistan when they regained power after the Russians left? And take note that Islam extremists are targetting Hindus in the U.K. and even threatening Hindu school children that if they don’t convert to Islam they will be killed. Trinidad had better watch out.

2. Anonymous

Just so you know,hindu men entered a small village church in central trinidad (couva) last year and destroyed the pulpit and the church and beat up the pastor and a member because they said the church was keeping too much noise.

Nevermind the muslims had loud speakers belting out their call to prayer in the same area.

Of course the hindus didnot condemn that man’s action and there was no outrage from them then.

(Remember the austrialian missionary and his 2 sons who were burnt to deat about 3 years ago in India while they were in their car – no outrage by the hindus then).

Be careful where you going with this because there is no evidence that this is the work of christians or any anti-hindu groups.

Hindus in trinidad have been subtletly trying to erase the christian influence in trinidad and seek to become a dominant force.

They have complained about the highest award – the Trinity Cross and the government removed it,they have complained because some hindu children during the xmas season were asked to sing a xmas carol along with other schools across the nation,they built the tallest stautue – a hindu – hanoman (monkey god) statue which could be seen far and wide at certain parts of trinidad.
    According to one christian man the statue is in close proximity to his house,but they didnot care.
    They also complained about the number of christian holidays the country celebrate,and on and on.

Christians have never interfered with hindus and their practices,although the hindus have been very provocative in their actions by for e.g. having their ceremony on the public beaches and planting their flags and other paraphenalia on the beaches where persons of christian and persons of other religions frequent.

Despite protest they continue.

3. Rumplestilskin

The Hindu religion is by nature one of peace and as witnessed by world events, along with Buddhism is the least violent religion and the one which seeks least to encroach on others rights.

4. Rumplestilskin

Oh, CSME here we come!

5. Pingback: Global Voices Online » Barbados, Trinidad & Tobago: Hindu Temple Desecrated

6. BFP

Good Morning folks,

We are well aware of the Hindu targeting of Christians and Muslims in India. We did not know about the incident in Trinidad as related by the commenter where Hindus attacked a Christian church.

While we must be tolerant of all religions, we must not be tolerant of intolerance.

We have no answers, but we will continue to follow incidents of religious violence or intolerance as we believe that this focus will help to keep the peace between the different religions on our island.

7. Citizen First

With reference to the incident in Trinidad when an individual attacked a church over the noise coming from the church, it should be noted that the motivation was to stop the loud noise of the church band. I am NOT approving of the method but I understand the frustration which arises in dealing with such religious people (and to be clear this is not an indictment of ALL religious persons).

Barbadians should remember that here the Supreme Court has had to make a ruling on the use of loud speakers, etc by a church led by Jippy Doyle. A friend of mind has been driven from his home each night over a two week period because of the noise coming a church crusade. The pastor of this church happens to be an attorney who I am told when politely requested to lower the volume of the sound system responded that he was doing the lord’s work. The volume was not reduced. The police also did not respond.

The best protection of any religious organisation is provided in a secular society where the rule of law is applied given that those laws are in accordance with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

8. Ugly Future

Religions generally are becoming quite problematic, aren’t they?
    My religion versus your religion.
    This could become real serious ‘fun’ in a few years time.
    We need to re-thing our priorites when it comes to religions and other misc. mindgames people like to play, to while away their lives.
    It’s getting dangerous.

Religious wars get us nowhere.
    This is Crusades 2- the Sequel, isn’t it!?

9. More Ugly Future

“Doing The Lord’s work” ??
    When will pixxy Biblical excuses like this CEASE?

We are no longer in the nineteenth century, my friends!
    We can no longer inconvenience others in society because the idiot bible says we should “make a joyful noise unto the Lord”
    – whoever this mysterious Lord-dude is!

It is time to get real,
    and religions are making it bad FOR THEMSELVES,
    and as a professional lawyer, he should be ashamed of himself.
    Frankly, I’d report this most unprofessional behavioural matter to the Bar Association!
    -despite the fact he was not functioning as a lawyer, at the time!

What? he’s not making enough money AS A LAWYER?? is he serious?
    He has to go swindling religious suckers, too?

Where does the greed STOP?? (For Christ’s sake!?)

10. Rumplestilskin

”This is Crusades 2- the Sequel, isn’t it!?”

Ugly Future, I agree with your assessment of the ‘serious fun’.

I expect that things are going to be ‘ding-dong’ in the Middle East in a few years and the whole world ‘indirectly’ drawn in re supplies, oil, ‘terrorist’ acts blah, blah.

One might say we are already there, but I do not think things have really warmed up yet.

Dear, oh dear.

11. Ugly Future

Rumpy, boy…
    At least you can see the light I bin trying to shine.

Tings getting tight, globally, and lil foolish Barbados, without much hydrocarbons,
    getting drawn into it, completely beyond our control.

WAIT til crude hit USD100/bbl.
    Then yuh gyne hear ppl bawling.

get out de ole donkey cart, yuh heer?

12. Rumplestilskin

Donkey cart….you know! World fact, supported by scientific research is that the global supply of oil is going down. Yes, over some time maybe, but nevertheless going down.

Hence, firstly prices will be going up and supply to necessary production factors becoming more critical. Prioritization will become key.

BUT, we here are building flyovers for MORE cars and four lane highways for the SUV’s (unless two lanes are for donkey carts and we do not yet know), instead of creating cheaper and internally sustainable means of transport (like those two and four seat bicycle rickshaws in the Far East).

Might sound alarmist to some, but the ‘tidal wave’ of global problems is fast approaching.

This is another reason I am concerned as to land use policy and agriculture. In times of trouble we need that land, even if at the moment it seems far away.

A prudent person plans far ahead and keeps aces up one’s sleeve, but we are throwing our aces onto the pile early and up front. Absolute lunacy.

I reiterate, ‘the inmates are running the asylum’.

13. I agree with BFP that this sort of provocation against religious artefacts is barbaric.

I am intrigued to hear more about his incident of aparent aggression by a Hindu in Trinidad, can CF or another add more please ?

Further to Rumplestilskin’s post, can you now see one of the principal reasons I bang on about environmental humanism? Whilst it is only an opinion that environmental disaster lies ahead, if it does happen, we want rational people to be making the decisions; – in the governments, bureaucracies, miltaries, community centres and onwards.

14. Straight talk

Hate to say this, but the short termism of condos might be the best policy for Barbados at this time.

As oil prices go stratospheric following peak oil, one of the first casualties will be mass tourism.
    One estimate is that only the richest half of one percent will be able to afford air travel.

Good news for low income Bajans is that the property market will crash as foreigners pull out, and house prices will plummet.

Bad news is that unless we prepare and shape our economy now, that will also crash and so will the wages needed to buy property.

Oil shortage will affect Barbados far more than global warming, and needs to be addressed in our plans now.

15. Wingsfree

I just have to respond to Thistle.
    As a Trini, I just don’t think it’s fair to compare concrete murtis to stone budhas that could have been one of the seven wonders of the world.

And let me say, as a Trini, I am ashamed and angry.
    And all the politicians are mooks.

They need to stay out of this.

Because the only people who can redeem Trinis are ourselves.

We, ordinary citizens need to organise, fundraise and restore our own dignity. As a CIVIL society.

16. J. Payne

Hang them four men. All it takes is a few fools to fan racial tensions in a country for a short period of time before chaos breaks out and both majority races will seek to destroy the country completely.

17. Trini

A whole year after the fact…and not one Hindu reprisal.
    Amazingly, a few months later, the same thing happened again…this time by some Islamic fundamentalists.
    Again, no reprisals.
    It just goes to show that Hindus, and Trinidadians in general, are in face very civilized people and have come a very long way from the days when Hindu marriages were never recognized, conversion to Christianity was a prerequisite for getting a teaching job, and the highest award of the land was the Trinity Cross!

18. Mohabir

All i can say, I was just there and the people (trini) are the best in the world.

Peace Not Hate.

God Bless all

19. 23

Hinduism is a religion of violence. The hindus attack Christians and minorities in India and slyly pretend to be peaceful in the West.

Don’t take my word for it. Google is your friend. Their aim is the destruction of Christianity and all Western institutions.