We Know What Jesus Didn’t Look Like… Don’t We?

(This article pinned to top for Easter. Scroll down for newer items.)

jesus-white-barbados.jpeg

I Grew Up Thinking Jesus Was A Handsome White Guy With Blondish Hair

That’s the Jesus of my youth that you’re looking at. Remember that picture? It was everywhere – even secretly in some homes where images of Jesus and the cross were forbidden (“Too Catholic” said a certain lady relative, but she had a secret one, doan ya know!) Maybe it was tucked away in a bedroom cabinet, or behind a door but at one time that picture was as common in Barbados as flying fish and cou-cou.

Handsome white guy, blondish hair flowing over the shoulders, chiseled features and that oh-so-thin Hollywood nose. At 6 years old that picture almost made me ashamed that I didn’t look like HIM.

Especially with my too wide, too dark, too damned big nose… not to mention my hair.

My Jewish Jesus Stage

A few years later at maybe 8 or 9 years old, I started to have doubts about the picture. My white Jesus didn’t look like any Jew I’d ever seen. Not that I’d seen many real live Jews on BIM, but we had some National Geographics floating around and my white Jesus didn’t look like any Jew anywhere. So I started thinking of Jesus as a New York City Jewish man with olive skin and a big nose. He didn’t say “Oy vey!” or wear a black hat, but he had the orthodox curls down the side of his face. You get the picture.

Short Haired Ugly Jesus

Then I read in the Bible (written by Paul) “If a man has long hair, it is a disgrace to him”. Would Paul have written this if Jesus had long hair? Later I heard a sermon about references in a Bible verse that the Messiah was “not comely”, meaning he was not good to look at. Maybe even an ugly guy.

My childhood mental image of white handsome Jesus was by this time long gone.

African Jewish Jesus

I heard about black Jews and for many years Jesus became not just black, but African. He stood teaching on the mount – black skin proudly shining in the sun. He had my nose, my hair. He still spoke Bajan, but there are limits on the imagination when a 12 year old is dealing with the unknown.

The Sermon On The Mount Crowd Gave Me Some Trouble – Why Weren’t They African Like My Jesus?

In my mind, I saw my African Jesus teaching, but the crowd at the sermon on the mount always looked Middle Eastern. Something was wrong – either with my vision of Jesus or my vision of the crowd. Doubts began to form.

Slowly, the vision of Jesus in my mind faded as I put God aside for a time as young men sometimes do, but I was never again able to know what Jesus looked like.

Invisible Jesus

When I came back to Jesus and I found that I had no picture in my mind of what he looked like, it occurred to me that perhaps that is just the way that Jesus wants it. The world has no contemporary drawings of Jesus, if they ever existed at all. All those pictures and icons we see are from artists’ imaginations hundreds or even two thousand years after his crucifixion.

It seems to me that if Jesus wanted drawings of him to survive from his life on earth that he could have made that happen.

This is not to say that I am taking a theological position that images of Jesus are bad, good or otherwise. I’m just saying that if Jesus wanted everyone to know what his face and body looked like he could have made that happen.

If I want to know what Jesus looked like, I’ll have to wait.

Jesus Around The World

No matter how hard we try, we each impose our own view of people and culture on everything we experience, and Jesus is no exception.

Around the world, we have pictures of Chinese Jesus…

chinese-jesus-barbados.jpg

White As Snow Jesus…

snow-white-jesus-barbados.jpeg

Japanese Jesus…

japanese_mary_and_jesus.jpg

Black Jesus…

black_jesus_barbados.gif

Russian Jesus…

russian-jesus-barbados.jpg

Jewish Jesus At The Wailing Wall In Jerusalem…

jewish-jesus-wailing-wall.jpg

And even a “Forensic Facial Reconstruction” Jesus…

jesus-of-barbados.jpg

Interesting Links For Good Friday

Popular Mechanics: The Real Face Of Jesus

Movie Trailer: Color Of The Cross

89 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Religion

89 responses to “We Know What Jesus Didn’t Look Like… Don’t We?

1. God.

I prefer the last one, the “Forensic Facial Reconstruction” Jesus…
    but eeuuuuwwhat a disappointment for the girls!

Goes to show,though…your religions are about My human messengers, not about my message

2. Straight talk

I’m oh so glad that you have come to the realisation that Jesus didn’t come from Europe, and from your post I can percieve your own sense of satisfaction that he may even look a little like you instead, according to these artistic impressions.
    When your faith is stronger you will realise that the power of his message holds true in spite of anyone’s depiction of his face..and moreover he transcends all racism and is all things to all men,
    and yes that includes the Islamic tradition BFP.

3. BFP- I find it a very fitting message for Easter to remind folks that Jesus was a Jew, probably looking more like today’s Palestinian terrorist than a matinee idol.

It is his teachings and the example of his life and death which are important to us, not his appearance. Those glorified pictures we grew up with have caused a lot of confused thinking, much of it subconscious.

4. liz

BFP
    Thank you
    At last some sense – why not send this comment to the newspapers – it might help some others who have not worked it out yet.

Comment by BFP George

Any newspaper or anyone in the world is allowed to reprint anything from this website PROVIDED Barbados Free Press is clearly credited, and if online, a proper link is included in the story.

george

5. What?!

My ancestor hero was not a white man?
    he was a brownskin? What fresh hell is this?

6. jinx

Thank you BFP,

This is very refreshing discussion for such a “religious little island”, Jesus was a jew (amongst other things it would seem) and it is slowly coming to light that Christianity is not all it has been made out to be……..
    Has anyone read the book “The Jesus Papers” by Michael Baigent?

7. Patrick Porter

Jinx

There will be who will use my name for their benefit. I don’t care what Jesus looks like, he was a Jew, he could have been white or Arabic or black for that matter. It is his message is important not his looks. Christianity was written by man, the source of those inspirations came from God. Mankind writes what he/she wants but the basic message of Peace and Love is one that will go throughout the ages. I have read and seen teh Da Vinci cods and a load of bigger hogwash I have never read, just like the new documentray”The Tomb”

8. Abbadon

Does no one care what I look like? (sob)

“Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.”

9. Leonardo daVinci

I find it real hard to believe that Jesus had no kids.
    He had no secks drive? Was he gaaay?
    A man with THAT kinda charm and charisma that has now lasted over 2K yrs.
    woulda bin an absolute Babe Magnet!!
    He couldn’t keep the girls off him!

Jesus had kids.. a perfectly normal human function -to reproduce.Nothing wrong with that. Until the English Puritans decided to re-write the bible, leaving out This, including That…a process called selective editing, just ask The Nation newspaper.

Give Jesus a BREAK,fer cryin out loud!
    Allow the man some mortal fun in his life,nuh?
    Yes we like to see him like Murrell from St.Matthias, but even he has a lil fun in his life.
    We are humans, and humans do stuff: big secksy deal!

Believe it or not, Jesus even ‘answered back’ to his Mummy! – how could he do THAT? I thought he was ever so holy, meek and pious!
    Jesus was mortal,despite being the son of God,just like me and you and Murrell….all sons of God.

We should be glad that some of His seed still walks the Earth,today, but NO…Victorian ‘secks-is-bad’ constraints dictate that we see Jesus as some weird a-secksual Goody Two Shoes dweeb.
    I don’t subscribe to your entirely-unrealistic notion of what Da Man was like.
    Jesus was a cool dude, and probably went surfing,too.

There, that’ll give you something to think about over the Easter weekend, when YOU go surfing.
    As you take off, just think.. Did Jesus ever hang ten? – or was he into short boards,back then?

10. jinx

Hi Patrick,
    I have not based my personal beliefs on just books (and that includes the bible) I have rather opted to believe in myself , to have faith that the universe, this force which brought us here, supports me constantly . I think it is good and healthy to “ask questions” .My parents generation went to church followed the status quo as most do but never wanted to entertain any other ideas except what they were “taught” or “told”. Yes! Jesus was no doubt a brilliant thinker, a person that i would loved to have met but i´d rather be “dammed to hell” by the religious and live my life with the freedom to choose ……..

I have a question for you under the MH story…
    thanks.

11. Max Ehrmann.

Desiderata.

Go placidly amid the noise and haste,
    and remember what peace there may be in silence.
    As far as possible without surrender
    be on good terms with all persons.
    Speak your truth quietly and clearly;
    and listen to others,
    even the dull and the ignorant;
    they too have their story!

Avoid loud and aggressive persons,
    they are vexations to the spirit.
    If you compare yourself with others,
    you may become vain and bitter;
    for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.
    Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.

Keep interested in your own career, however humble;
    it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.
    Exercise caution in your business affairs;
    for the world is full of trickery.
    But let this not blind you to what virtue there is;
    many persons strive for high ideals;
    and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Be yourself.
    Especially, do not feign affection.
    Neither be cynical about love;
    for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment
    it is as perennial as the grass.

Take kindly the counsel of the years,
    gracefully surrendering the things of youth.
    Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune.
    But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings.
    Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.
    Beyond a wholesome discipline,
    be gentle with yourself.

You are a child of the universe,
    no less than the trees and the stars;
    you have a right to be here.
    And whether or not it is clear to you,
    no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

Therefore be at peace with God,
    whatever you conceive Him to be,
    and whatever your labors and aspirations,
    in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul.

With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams,
    it is still a beautiful world.
    Be cheerful.
    Strive to be happy.

12. Patrick Porter

jinx

Can’t find your question

13. jinx

To Max,

THANK YOU ………

14. Coffee & Creme

Max, beautiful post !
    Thank you and enjoy the holidays.

15. Patrick Porter

God is who you make him, he is with us always and if we all live by his dictates we will be a lot better off,religion is a man made thing, not a divine one. Max that is a wonderful piece, saw it I think in a church in Baltimore, but stand to be corrected

16. Citizen First

Max Erhmann, 1872 – 1945, was the author of Desiderata. He was an attorney from Indiana, USA.

This poem is one of my favorite works of literature.

17. Straight talk

Calming thoughts.
    BTW Max was the copyright owner the poem is over 300 years old.

18. Citizen First

Actually the poem is about 80 years old. Max Erhmann recieved the copyright in 1927.

It is an urban legend that the poem was found in St. Paul’s Church in Baltimore dated 1692.

There is another poem called Desiderata II. Does anyone know who is the author of this poem?

19. John

I was thinking about what happened to the image of Jesus given the Indians of Cuzco by Charles V of Spain centuries ago, their “new king and lord” giving to his subjects an image to promote his religion over theirs.

If I understand what I am reading so far on the Internet, the image of Jesus turned “black” over time. The smoke from the burning of candles and incense, standard practice in the religion being imposed on the Indians, appears to have caused the change.

When I first came across this particular image of Jesus years ago, I was amazed that the Church had done such a radical thing as to promote a black Jesus. I could not explain it.

I posted the links to share this amazement and in so doing, realised that something strange may have gone on here over the centuries, and maybe there is a lesson in it.

Looks like the more I find out the less I know. Maybe I’ll find I am mistaken as more facts come to light.

Has anybody come across this “black” Jesus?

Few if any descendants of slaves brought from Africa live in Cuzco, until 1533 the capital of the empire of the Inca.

20. Max Ehrmann.

Google my name, and DESIDERATA,
    and find out lots more about who wrote it and when.

21. Patrick Porter

John

That is correct, they had it cleaned many years ago and then out it back, it is now black again. Maybe someone is trying to tell us that Jesus is neither white, black or any colour. But only the colour of your heart for other people, the love that we should all have for one another, that is my feeling about Jesus. “So as I have loved you then you should love one another”. Wish that were true in todays world of hatred and war

22. Citizen First

To all BFP readers, to those who labour for a better world, I offer this gem also written by Max Erhmann

Happiness

To be without desire is to
    be content. But contentment is not
    happiness. And in contentment
    there is no progress. Happiness is
    to desire something, to work
    for it, and to obtain at least a part
    of it. In the pursuit of
    beloved labour the busy days pass
    cheerfully employed, and
    the still nights in peaceful sleep.
    For labour born of desire is
    not drudgery, but manly play.
    Success brings hope, hope
    inspires fresh desire, and desire
    gives zest to life and joy
    to labour. This is true whether your
    days be spent in palaces
    of the powerful or in some little
    green by-way of the world.
    Therefore, while yet you have
    the strength, cherish a desire to do
    some useful work in your
    little corner of the world, and
    have the steadfastness to labour.
    For this is the way to the
    happy life; with health and
    endearing ties, it is the way to the glorious life.

by Max Ehrmann

23. justice

That story about the statue turning black from pollution is NONSENSE! Have any of you seen the features? And if his colour does not matter, Mr Porter, why did the Europeans have him depicted as being of the colour he was most likely not?

24. John

justice

I think you are missing the point.

As a mundane example of what colour and features mean to some, we have in Barbados a blond haired, blue eyed, fair skinned man, with chiselled Aryan features who if I understand his words properly, claims to be a black Rastafarian.

People at times argue about the veracity of his claims to the point where he was thrown out of the Pan African conference at Sherbourne based on his appearance/colour. Noone in there could believe him.

I think he is a black Rastafarian. That is what he believes.

What say you.

25. John

…. and justice,

Take care what you are calling pollution.

Candles and incense are standard with most religions.

26. Judas Priest

That, Justice, is simple. If you were proselytising to white Europeans about a prophet, the savior, salvation, God incarnate etc, etc., would the message not be much easier to sell if he looked like the audience? I don’t think there was some ominous plot to de-Afrikianise or de-Arabise the man – just a practical way to make his teachings easier for the masses of Europeans to accept. By making him look like them. The point you ALL are missing is that Jesus’ message has been hijacked by the very ‘priests’ he spent his life denouncing, and Christianity has been wielded like a blunt weapon to beat populations into a unthinking, superstitious and compliant mass. So you can go pray to a dead rebel on a stick, and I will marvel at the wonders of the universe through my telescope and microscope. God should forgive my distraction, if he sits in judgement, as he is in all that I gaze upon.

27. John

JP

If I were a Cuscan watching as the priests used Jesus’ message as a blunt weapon to beat me into an unthinking, superstitious and compliant mass and I watched as their image change from what was presented to me initially into something else, I think I would realise that either a trick was being played on me, or that the message was somehow greater than the priests who brought it.

Give the Cuscans some credit. They were part of a New World civilisation that gave the Old World both the potato and maize. …. ok so they also had a hand in coca.

28. Judas Priest

Well John, candle smut and resin? Black by design? Or the hand of the Divine Being? If these folks believe that this Black Jesus is also their Taitacha Temblores, the Lord of the Earthquakes, who am I to tell them they are wrong. I have great respect for indigenous American people and their culture and I also respect what others choose to believe. It seems like the Cuzcans are folding Christianity and Christ into their own pantheon, thus fulfilling the primal urge to recognise a Superior Power. I recognise the Universe as that power, and there are plenty of miracles to witness in Her vastness. The miracles of Jesus as described in The Bible are cheap parlor tricks in comparison to the wonders that surround us.

29. Straight talk

Judas Priest, I’ve been a fan since the early 70s, and still am amazed at the power of your message!
    The awesomeness of space stretches all of our comprehension and even imagination, so don’t be too hard on people who prefer a simple rationalisation of things not fully understood and call it religion.
    I tend towards infinite parallel universes and are surprised at your own limitation to the one you can observe whether macro or microscopically, but as i said everyone can choose their own boundaries.
    All the very same best wishes in your own voyage of enlightenment as I hope you wish all free people in their own personal quests.

30. Judas Priest

Thanks and same to you.

Peace to all.

31. observer

Now here is a radical thought. Maybe Jesus looked like………….nothing!

The Origins of Christianity and
    the Quest for the Historical Jesus Christ
    by Acharya S

Around the world over the centuries, much has been written about religion, its meaning, its relevance and contribution to humanity. In the West particularly, sizable tomes have been composed speculating upon the nature and historical background of the main character of Western religions, Jesus Christ. Many have tried to dig into the precious few clues as to Jesus’s identity and come up with a biographical sketch that either bolsters faith or reveals a more human side of this godman to which we can all relate. Obviously, considering the time and energy spent on them, the subjects of Christianity and its legendary founder are very important to the Western mind and culture.

Despite all of this literature continuously being cranked out and the significance of the issue, in the public at large there is a serious lack of formal and broad education regarding religion and mythology, and most individuals are highly uninformed in this area. Concerning the issue of Christianity, for example, the majority of people are taught in most schools and churches that Jesus Christ was an actual historical figure and that the only controversy regarding him is that some people accept him as the Son of God and the Messiah, while others do not. However, whereas this is the raging debate most evident in this field today, it is not the most important. Shocking as it may seem to the general populace, the most enduring and profound controversy in this subject is whether or not a person named Jesus Christ ever really existed.

Although this debate may not be evident from publications readily found in popular bookstores1, when one examines this issue closely, one will find a tremendous volume of literature that demonstrates, logically and intelligently, time and again that Jesus Christ is a mythological character along the same lines as the Greek, Roman, Egyptian, Sumerian, Phoenician, Indian or other godmen, who are all presently accepted as myths rather than historical figures2. Delving deeply into this large body of work, one uncovers evidence that the Jesus character is based upon much older myths and heroes from around the globe. One discovers that this story is not, therefore, a historical representation of a Jewish rebel carpenter who had physical incarnation in the Levant 2,000 years ago. In other words, it has been demonstrated continually for centuries that this character, Jesus Christ, was invented and did not depict a real person who was either the “son of God” or was “evemeristically” made into a superhuman by enthusiastic followers.

Continued at:
    http://www.truthbeknown.com/origins.htm

32. Citizen First

To Observer:

What does the word “evemeristically” mean? I have checked two dictionaries and the on-line reference i.e Dictionary.com without success.

33. Patrick Porter

observer

Check in the Roman history which is available on line and there is a reference to Jesus of Nazarath, also in the Dead Sea scrolls there is also a reference to Jesus. So there is plenty of historical evidence that He existed

34. observer

To Observer:
    What does the word “evemeristically” mean? I have checked two dictionaries and the on-line reference i.e Dictionary.com without success.

Hi CF, I believe that the word comes from the name “Evemerus”, an author from the time of Alexander the Great who traveled around the Mediterranean and wrote books and treatises putting forward the belief that the miraculous stories and legends about the ancient Greek gods’ existence were true and supported by evidence he found in temples and documents etc. which he came across in his travels.

See here for more info on Evemerus:

http://www.ancientlibrary.com/smith-bio/1191.html

PP, I respectfully have to disagree. From my perspective the evidence in the secular historical record supporting the existence of Jesus is lacking especially in light of his alleged prodigious accomplishments.

Quote:
    Basically, there are no non-biblical references to a historical Jesus by any known historian of the time during and after Jesus’s purported advent. Walker says, “No literate person of his own time mentioned him in any known writing.” Eminent Hellenistic Jewish historian and philosopher Philo (20 B.C.E.-50 C.E.), alive at the purported time of Jesus, makes no mention of him. Nor do any of the some 40 other historians who wrote during the first one to two centuries of the Common Era. “Enough of the writings of [these] authors…remain to form a library. Yet in this mass of Jewish and Pagan literature, aside from two forged passages in the works of a Jewish author, and two disputed passages in the works of Roman writers, there is to be found no mention of Jesus Christ.”28 Their silence is deafening testimony against the historicizers.

http://www.truthbeknown.com/origins2.htm

I believe that your mention of Jesus in the Dead Sea Scrolls is a reference to someone called in the scrolls the “Teacher of Righteousness”, and although there has been much debate as to who exactly this person was or if it was a reference to an office rather than a single individual the consensus seems to be that it wasn’t Jesus.

Quote:
    …….He also analyzes in detail the Testament of Levi, and claims it’s the first document to specifically proclaim the Teacher of Righteousness as the Messiah.71 Yet interestingly enough, he shows the many differences between the Teacher of Righteousness and Jesus. The two were not the same, though many parallels and similarities caused J.L. Teicher to claim they were one and the same.72 Dupont-Sommer disagreed.

* The Teacher of Righteousness was a priest, a son of Levi; Jesus was not a priest, but “son of David”.

* The Teacher of Righteousness was described as “Messiah of Aaron and Israel”.; Jesus was called only “the Messiah”.

* The Teacher of Righteousness probably lived generally in Judaea.; Jesus was a Galilean and his preaching took place principally on the shores of the Lake of Tiberius.

* The Teacher of Righteousness was a learned master, venerated to the point his followers would not pronounce his name; Jesus was a familiar teacher, whom his disciples and multitudes approached with complete freedom, whose name was neither secret nor mysterious.

* The Teacher of Righteousness was an author; Jesus wrote nothing, but only spoke his sermons.

* The most serious difference is they were separated by a century. The Teacher of Righteousness died in 65-63 B.C. under the Jewish Priest-King Aristobulus II; Jesus died 30 A.D. under the Roman procurator Pontius Pilate.73

http://www2.ida.net/graphics/shirtail/deadsea.htm

35. Citizen First

To Observer

Thanks for your response which has led me to the “correct” word (i.e as listed in reference works) which is euhemerisitically. This is from the noun euhermerism i.e. the system which explains mythology as growing out of real history, its deities as merely magnified men.

36. FerReal?

>>IN CHEMISTRY, HE TURNED WATER TO WINE.
    >>
    >>IN BIOLOGY, HE WAS BORN WITHOUT THE NORMAL CONCEPTION.
    >>
    >>IN PHYSICS, HE DISPROVED THE LAW OF GRAVITY WHEN HE ASCENDED INTO HEAVEN.
    >>
    >>IN ECONOMICS, HE DISPROVED THE LAW OF DIMINISHING RETURN BY FEEDING 5,000
    >>MEN WITH TWO FISHES & 5 LOAVES OF BREAD.
    >>
    >>IN MEDICINE, HE CURED THE SICK AND THE BLIND, WITHOUT ADMINISTERING A
    >>SINGLE DOSE OF DRUGS.
    >>
    >>IN HISTORY, HE IS THE BEGINNING AND THE END.
    >>
    >>IN GOVERNMENT, HE SAID THAT HE SHALL BE CALLED WONDERFUL, COUNSELOR,
    >>PRINCE OF PEACE.
    >>
    >>IN RELIGION, HE SAID NO ONE COMES TO THE FATHER EXCEPT THROUGH HIM.
    >>
    >>JESUS HAD NO SERVANTS, YET THEY CALLED HIM MASTER; HAD NO DEGREE, YET THEY
    >>CALLED HIM TEACHER; HAD NO MEDICINES, YET THEY CALLED HIM HEALER.
    >>
    >>HE HAD NO ARMIES, YET RULERS FEARED HIM.
    >>
    >>HE WON NO MILITARY BATTLES, YET HE CONQUERED THE WORLD.
    >>
    >>HE COMMITTED NO CRIME, YET THEY CRUCIFIED HIM.
    >>
    >>HE WAS BURIED IN A TOMB, YET HE LIVES TODAY.
    >>
    >>I FEEL HONORED TO SERVE SUCH A LEADER WHO LOVES US!
    >>JOIN US AND LET’S CELEBRATE HIM; HE IS WORTHY.
    >>THE EYES BEHOLDING THIS MESSAGE SHALL NOT BEHOLD EVIL.

——————
    -and you are not worthy? – Mea Culpa.

the things people believe!

37. Wikkid

Jesus is a myth based on over 34 older godmen myths from around the globe, with Krishna, Buddha, Horus, Prometheus, and Mithra being the major players. Most of these were also born to virgin mothers on Dec 25th, were called Sons of God, they walked on water, had 12 disciples, were crucified and resurrected and had many other things in common that early Christians stole to make the biggest fraud of religion ever told.

The Bible and Jesus are based on Egyptian, Sumerian Babylonian, Greek and many other myths and legends that existed long before the the myth of Jesus.

Christianity teaches fear, guilt, shame, delusions of grandeur, self-rejection, judgment, intolerance, delusions of worthlessness and represses people emotionally, spiritually and sexually. It abuses humanity with prophecies of war and eternal torture.

The OT has, on many occasions, the Hebrew God who has unconditional love and ultimate compassion ordering the murder of men, women and children; the raping of women and the annihilation of entire cities. The NT god is even worse by condemning most of humanity to eternal torture for not accepting such contradicting stories.

Genesis Chapter 1 tells us that the heaves and earth were created BEFORE there was water, vegetation and animals. Human were created AFTER these events.

Genesis Chapter 2 tells us that Adam appears “in the day the heavens and earth were made” BEFORE there was water, vegetation and animals. Eve appears AFTER these events. Adam and Eve were NOT human and were NOT the first parents. They were the gods of heaven and earth and their story is based on the Egyptian gods, Geb and Nut who has 3 sons. One of which killed the other in jealousy and the 3rd finding the bloodline to Egypt.

38. Wikkid

The Dead Sea Scrolls do not mention Jesus or Mary Magdalene. Their origin came from the Gnostics and Gnostic Gospels which spoke of them as mystic characters. Jesus and Mary Magdalene were characters depicted from the Pagan god and goddess and Christmas was a Pagan holiday.

Jesus and the many other godmen, like Buddha, Horus, Krishna, Mithra and over 30 others that were called the “Son of God” are actually the “Sun of God”. The reason their narratives are so similiar with them being crucified and resurrected, and who performed miracles and had 12 disciples is that their stories are based on the movements of the sun through the heavens, an astrotheological development that can be found throughout the planet because the sun and the 12 zodiac signs can be observed around the globe. In other words, Jesus Christ and all the others upon whom this character is predicated are personifications of the sun, and the Gospel fable is merely a rehash of a mythological formula (the “Mythos) revolving around the movements of the sun through the heavens.

For instance, many of the world’s crucified godmen – Jesus, Horus, Mithra, to name a few- have their traditional birthday on December 25th (“Christmas”69). This is because the ancients recognized that (from an earthcentric perspective) the sun makes an annual descent southward until December 21st or 22nd, the winter solstice, when it stops moving southerly for three days and then starts to move northward again.

During this time, the ancients declared that “God’s sun” had “died” for three days and was “born again” on December 25th. The ancients realized quite abundantly that they needed the sun to return every day and that they would be in big trouble if the sun continued to move southward and did not stop and reverse its direction.

Thus, these many different cultures celebrated the “sun of God’s” birthday on December 25th.70 The following are the characteristics of the “sun of God”:

The sun “dies” for three days on December 22nd, the winter solstice, when it stops in its movement south, to be born again or resurrected on December 25th, when it resumes its movement north.

In some areas, the calendar originaly began in the constelation of Virgo, and the sun would therefore be “born of a Virgin.”

The sun is the “Light of the World.”

The sun “cometh on clouds, and every eye shall see him.”

The sun rising in the morning is the “Savior of mankind.”

The sun wears a corona, “crown of thorns” or halo.

The sun “walks on water.”

The sun’s “folowers,” “helpers” or “disciples” are the 12 months and the 12 signs of the zodiac or
    constellations, through which the sun must pass.

The sun at 12 noon is in the house or temple of the
    “Most High”; thus, “he” begins “his Father’s work” at “age” 12.

The sun enters into each sign of the zodiac at 30°; hence, the “Sun of God” begins his ministry at “age” 30.

The sun is hung on a cross or “crucified,” which represents its passing through the equinoxes, the vernal equinox being Easter, at which time it is then resurrected.

Contrary to popular belief, the ancients were not an ignorant and superstitious lot who actualy believed their deities to be literal characters. Indeed, this slanderous propaganda has been part of the conspiracy to make the ancients appear as if they were truly the dark and dumb rabble that was in need of the “light of Jesus.”

The reality is that the ancients were no less advanced in their morals and spiritual practices, and in many cases were far more advanced, than the Christians in their own supposed morality and ideology, which, in its very attempt at historicity, is in actuality a degradation of the ancient Mythos. Indeed, unlike the superior” Christians, the true intelligence amongst the ancients were well aware that their gods were astronomical and atmospheric in nature.

39. Sundowner

Wikkid
    Thanks that was very interesting

40. Victor Callender

Have you ever heard the argument made by most Europeans, what difference does it make what Jesus look’s like? Nonsense! You see as a Black man with some intelligence I want to venture far out on this common sense limb to say that if I drew a picture mentally or via canvas of what I thought Jesus looked like; You could bet your last dollar that Jesus would look like me. That is Jesus would have nappy hair, broad nose and be a black man. This European foolishness that perpetuated racial inferiority , began at the “Council of Nicaea” in 325 AD. Europeans do not believe they are “Superior” to us, no not at all. What they do believe is that blacks of the world are “Inferior” to them. The fact that for over two thousand years black people have placed a blond haired, blued eyed man in pictures in their living rooms, dining rooms and bed rooms, lends credence to the fulfilment of the Europeans “Psychopathic Racial Personality.” It was easy to physically emancipate a group of people, if you could still enslave those people’s minds. One may remove a person from physical bondage, but can you remove the mental shackles that occupy that person’s mind? The reason why Europeans make the ludicrous argument that Jesus a man born in a region of the world where people were predominantly darker in complexion resembles a white blond haired man; Is the same reasonthat we teach our children the idiocy “That a cow jumps over the moon, and a dish ran away with the spoon.” We as black people have become the most comfortable slaves on the planet. We can’t do without the white man’s self enriching ideology. It sickens me to the stomach to hear those Europeans refer to Barbados as “Little England.” Why don’t they refer to themselves as “Big Barbados.” Just because a white man writes something in a book that does not make it right or even moral. Thomas Jefferson a founding father of the United States, was a prolific writer relative to humanity, yet he owned slaves and inpregnated his slave Sally Hemings. My point is most Europeans don’t give a damn who we as blacks stand for, as long as we stand for Europeans. Every where you travel on this planet you find “Whites on top,” “Blacks on the bottom.” Blackness has come to symbolize in the white mans world all that is evil and wrong with the world. So the next time you visit a white person’s home why don’t you look for that portrait of a black Jesus.

41. Mar Smith

I really like your blog entry and I’m going to quote from it while teaching a class at Codrington on Saturday. Great!

42. Here’s another view. I think he looks Jewish here.

43. Anonymous

There are many black persons who cannot accept Jesus as being anything but white. Talk to many Christians who went to England, Canada and the USA in the 50’s and 60’s and have come back with some money. They are convinced that their success had to do with their faith in the white Jesus.

Do not ever try to tell them about an olive skin Jesus

44. CUP CAKE

What’s the problem? Nobody knows what Jesus, the Virgin Mary, the Apostles or any of the early church “saints’ look like.

You can draw a picture and that can be your ‘Jesus’ or whatever.

Can’t you understand the psychology behind the whole thing?

By the way – the Jesus of history is NOT the Jesus of religion… the latter is an invented personality…

45. GG

Peoples…you need to stop looking and start experiencing Jesus.
    The point is, we as descends of humans, kill the creator of the heaven and the earth. Before his death on the cross he forgave us for killing him.
    But the real point is what he said to 1 of the 2 men being crucified with him.
    If I fly to Barbados but never get off the plane can I truly experience Barbados?

46. CUP CAKE

We all believed the earth was flat until we found out…

We all believe the fairy tale until we find out.

“Problem is” everybody loves the fable and very few want to KNOW.

47. ''''''FIRE''''''

Part of the brain washing by the Europeans who imposed their cultural ideas on religion and worship on colonized people.

Emancipate your self from mental slavery people.
    But you need help in doing so.

…And the government and the intelligentsia have not addressed the situation……….

48. Nonsense

I think today we would call he a wayward boy because they couldnt control he. Imagine before stone age,before the age we knew nothing about writing I find it hard how they have a picture of him,I am very sorry,I think he look like me.

49. Pingback: Che Guevara as the Easter Messiah: His opinion of lowly Negros and Mexicans « Barbados Free Press

50. charl740

the problem with some of u is that u went school to much.In the holy book that most of u keep in ur homes john the apostle saw christ and he went on to tell us what he looked like in revelation ch 1 vs14 and 15; his hair was like wool and his feet like brass that were burned in a fire so if ya got lil brass in ya place burn it and see wha colour ya get plus when mary and joseph fled from herod they went south and hid in Africa for 14 yrs not further north south so study it

51. Annomynous

Is It possible to hide a white man in a black race?

52. vancet

So , why is it that White Jesus (Michael Angelo’s cousin or a self portrait )get all the Blame the hostility and anger!
    If they got Black/Chinese/Japanese/Arab etc. depictions of Jesus .
    Scripture says that he was nothing of great beauty to look upon. He was definitely a JEW! NOT a SON OF Ham but of Seth I believe, therefore NOT Negro/Black OR European/White .(Although Jews are mostly Caucasian IE the 10 tribes are scattered and some believe are the British /German and American types and many others probably as they were 10 tribes..The living church of GOD .Check http://www.Tomorrow‘sworld.com)
    NOT hat he was Ugly or anything else . No man can look upon him NOW though cause he shines Brighter than THE SUN !!!
    U need eyes of faith to see him .
    (he was a carpenter and a strong guy )
    But really does it really matter !? Like one commenter says : It is the messenger that gets attacked and the message is lost ! Like in Rome where the bearer of bad news was usually killed ! For the Un-godly worship creation and Not the Creator!

53. Wait 'n' see

When are those who keep trying to ‘create’ their own black Jesus, or white Jesus or the in between mix , understand that most importantly of all, Jesus did NOT have an earthly father, that looked like any of us. NO ONE knows what GOD looks like, and so that is the unknown half of the equation, one which we will never be able to answer until us believers go to heaven.

No one knows either, what Mary his mother looked like either. That they were Jewish is the only given.

We in the modern world are so taken up with images , foolish pride, and other self promoting , worldly worthlessness, that we missed the whole meaning of what Jesus is all about .

We will one day see for sure who he is when he returns in all his glory.

54. Green Monkey

Easter, Christian or Pagan?

55. 161

@Annomynous

The more fundamental question is whether there is a black race or for that matter white race, yellow race…..

56. J. Payne

I donno too many “black” Jews. There are some but I don’t see all that many. Besides say Sammy Davis Junior.

57. Politically Tired

Max
    Thank you for posting ‘go placidly’ I used to have poster of that on my bedroom wall, so many years ago!

58. keep it

wunna can keep wunna white jesus and wunna christianity. the same christianity that the white man used to enslave wunna forefathers and use to keep wunna down wunna is de strongest adherents and proponents of. what a bunch of brainwashed idiots wunna is. and that includes the fools at bfp.

59. Mr Coco

I think we can all agree Santa is black…right???

60. BFP

Mr. Coco…

Absolutely!!!

Cliverton

61. The man wiv no name!!

Can you imagine a Jesus who was black?!!!! Most people couldn’t – and whose fault is that!

62. The man wiv no name!!

What a fool ‘Keep It’ is! so her believes the Asians, Chinese, Muslims and everybody else haven’t, and wouldn’t also enslave us, given half a chance?!! idiot!!

63. LIONKING

Jesus never existed, he is a fictional character invented by europeans to brainwash and enslave the minds of non-white people.
    Europeans have corrupted and falsified history on a massive scale in order to hide their true origin.
    Scientific research in the field of genetics and anthropology show that the first humans were black people who originated in the continent of Africa approximately 200,000 yr ago.
    The oldest skeletal remains of modern human were found in Ethiopia ,radiocarbon dating estimated these bones to be approximately 100,000yr old.
    Genetic studies show that all modern humans today came from a small group of African who migrated out of Africa to populate the globe approximately 50,000 yr ago.
    Originally there were no white people on the planet. Caucasians first appear after the ice age in Europe 6000-10,000 yr ago.
    White skin is cuased by mutations that disrupt melanin synthesis in the skin. Similarly, blue eyes is caused by mutations that disrupt melanin synthesis in the iris. Researchers estimate that the mutaions for white skin and blue eyes first appeared around 6000-10000 yr ago.

According to the bible ,jesus lived in Israel, most of Israel is hot dessert. Israel has the second highest rate of skin cancer in the world, only Australia has a higher rate. Both countries have large European /white populations that migrated from their original homelands in EUROPE.

64. LIONKING

Most of the Jews in Israel are caucasians who migrated from eastern Europe.The very high rate of skin cancer among these people clearly shows that they are not indigenous to Israel, most of Israel is semi-arid /dessert. White Australians have the highest rate of skin cancer in the world. White Australians are descendents of Europeans who migrated to Australia many years ago. The indigenous people of Australia are very black/heavily melanated people who trace their origins to Africa,the rate of skin cancer among them is very low.

65. Dessalines

Interesting post. I also am convinced that Jesus never existed. (Neither did Nazareth btw). As black people we were given a book as children (the holy bible) and ‘told’ it was the true word of God and we were never to question Gods will. So we chalked up the ‘bread falling from the sky’ and talking snake and Noah’s ark to God making all things possible.
    What is striking to me though is that the so called ‘Jews’ who wrote the Old Testament which is the precursor to the New Testament do not believe in Jesus either. So who are we to?
    @ Patrick Porter There is no mention of Jesus in Roman history. No records of his birth or execution. All the multitudes that claim to have saw him or the scribes who interacted with him never wrote a word referencing him. Matter of fact all the gospels were written some 70 years after Jesus was supposed to have died. Matthew Mark Luke and John names were all ascribed to these gospel texts by the early Catholic church fathers. The original manuscripts discovered had no authors.
    In fact neither the old or new testament of the bible can be called the truth or word of God. Truth is held to a high standard and can always be proven or disproven which is why we call christianity a faith based philosophy. That’s what it is. Faith.

66. Wait 'n' see

LionKing now we know finally why we all have different pigmentation and how our early ancestors were transformed and scattered all across the planet. Brilliant . But who are you to proclaim categorically that there was no Jesus, is it that you are also guilty of trying to corrupt the facts, or are you in serious denial, which usually is brought on when individuals have an agenda, hidden or not, or are unable to face the consequences of their denial being eliminated and being slapped with a hard dose of reality.

People who live in deep denial are ususally untouchable or unreachable through reality or rational argument. No amount of fact, information, logic, reason, proof, evidence , will change your world view .
    Even though some of the information you present is correct, a lot of it is your own interpretation, already hardwired into your brain , that fits into your belief system.

Where do you source your accurate , and untainted historical facts? How do you determine whether they are the valid, unblemished truth? You cannot discard objectivity, common sense, logic, or actual historical fact, because it shatters your world view.

No amount of rhetorical ploys or logical fallacies can keep the truth at bay.The truth needs no rehearsal. Distortion is quite easily exposed.
    But , yes I agree with you that some historians have tended to portray their own countrymen and race as something more than Godlike , and I speak of all historians.

‘Can ‘t we all get just along together’.

67. LIONKING

” ‘Jesus worship’ is equivalent to ‘white male worship,’ and it is detrimental to the mental and emotional health of black people and emasculating and devaluing to black manhood,” argues Dr. Christopher C. Bell Jr. in his book, The BlackClergy’s Misguided Worship Leadership.

Here are some points discussed in the book:

The “Jesus Christ” worshipped by black people today is the ancient, Roman-made, white male, idol god created by Roman Emperor Constantine and church bishops of the Roman Church at the Nicene Council (CE 325) and made compulsory for all Roman citizens, and that centuries later white European slave masters for over 300 years imposed this same white male idol god on their black African slaves; resulting in the white male image of the idol “Jesus Christ” being deeply ingrained in the psyche of black people as well as white people.

The Jesus worshipping (white male worshipping) customs of the black community are led by the black clergy and these customs reinforce the racist notion of white male superiority in the same ways as white racial discrimination
    and other American cultural symbols and representations of white supremacy;

The Jesus worshipping (white male worshipping) culture of the black community in conjunction with other American cultural symbols and representations of white supremacy subliminally afflicts many black people with a deleterious white superiority syndrome (WSS) that leads to emotional and
    spiritual depression resulting in self-limiting beliefs and aberrant behavior
    such as; low academic achievement motivation among black adolescents, mutual
    alienation between black men and women, increased feelings of hate toward whites
    and other blacks, and increased stress and other health related problems in
    black males;

The white male worshipping (Jesus worshipping) folkways of the black community are mentally oppressive and emotional emasculating to many young black men who after years of embedment in such folkways feel alienated, demeaned, devalued, and angry, and react in ways that lead to high rates of recalcitrance, self abuse, crime, violence, and incarceration;

The Jesus worship (white male worship) tradition within the black community is a black clergy-lead exercise that is a carryover from black peoples’ past experiences as chattel slaves, and this tradition ensures that black people continue to learn and believe, as their slave masters would have insisted, that “whiteness and the white male Christian power structure are anointed and approved by God”; a result that promotes behavior and sentiments in many black people that are reflective of a “slave mentality” or a “low caste group” self-image;

The white male worshipping (Jesus worshipping) culture within black communities unavoidably buttresses, elevates, and glorifies white manhood, while inescapably and inevitably devaluing and emasculating black manhood; a result that stokes a latent anger, a temperament of violence or of self-injurious behavior in many young black men while promoting a sense of racial superiority in many young white men.

68. LIONKING

PARIS, June 21 (AFP) – A French magazine said on Tuesday it had carried out experiments that proved the Shroud of Turin, believed by some Christians to be their religion’s holiest relic, was a fake.
    “A mediaeval technique helped us to make a Shroud,” Science & Vie (Science and Life) said in its July issue.
    The Shroud is claimed by its defenders to be the cloth in which the body of Jesus Christ was wrapped after his crucifixion.

It bears the faint image of a blood-covered man with holes in his hand and wounds in his body and head, the apparent result of being crucified, stabbed by a Roman spear and forced to wear a crown of thorns.

In 1988, scientists carried out carbon-14 dating of the delicate linen cloth and concluded that the material was made some time between 1260 and 1390. Their study prompted the then archbishop of Turin, where the Shroud is stored, to admit that the garment was a hoax.

An Italian scientist says he has reproduced the Shroud of Turin, a feat that he says proves definitively that the linen some Christians revere as Jesus Christ’s burial cloth is a medieval fake.

The shroud, measuring 4.4 by 1.2 metres bears the image, eerily reversed like a photographic negative, of a crucified man some believers say is Christ.

“We have shown that is possible to reproduce something which has the same characteristics as the Shroud,” Luigi Garlaschelli, who is due to illustrate the results at a conference on the para-normal this weekend in northern Italy, said on Monday (Tuesday NZ time).

A professor of organic chemistry at the University of Pavia, Garlaschelli made available to Reuters the paper he will deliver and the accompanying comparative photographs.

The Shroud of Turin shows the back and front of a bearded man with long hair, his arms crossed on his chest, while the entire cloth is marked by what appears to be rivulets of blood from wounds in the wrists, feet and side.

Carbon dating tests by laboratories in Oxford, Zurich and Tucson, Arizona in 1988 caused a sensation by dating it from between 1260 and 1390. Sceptics said it was a hoax, possibly made to attract the profitable medieval pilgrimage business – from Science, 6/10/2009.

Scientists reproduce ‘fake’ Shroud of Turin to prove cloth is man-made

The Shroud of Turin – revered as the cloth that covered Jesus in the tomb – is a man-made relic, according to scientists who reproduced a copy of the famous fabric.
    Italian chemist Luigi Garlaschelli said his experiment proves that earlier carbon dating of the shroud to the 14th century was correct.
    He used materials and techniques that were available in the Middle Ages – from Mail Online 6/10/2009.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-121845.

69. What a Shame

This is how some people view the Prince of Peace: http://www.salem-news.com/articles/april232011/jesus-israel-tk.php

What a disgrace.

BFP, will you do a feature article on this outrage?

70. LIONKING

The name of Jesus is a 400 year old name approximately, because the English language never had the letter “J” till then.
    In 1630 AD , the Europeans took the letter “i” and created a new letter for the English alphabet ,it was the letter ”j”.
    The word “JESUS ” is derived from the Greek word ” IESUS / IESOUS “.
    JESUS = IESUS.
    In fact the Original King James Bible had the name Iesus inside. This is also a historical record of the fact the name Jesus is a very modern name in terms of history.

In Greek IESUS means HAIL ZEUS.
    JESUS = HAIL ZEUS.
    IE in Greek means HAIL.
    SOUS /SUS in Greek means ZEUS.
    In the Graeco-Roman World, Zeus was worshipped as the supreme deity.
    Zeus was a man -made pagan God of the Graeco- Roman World.

71. Wait 'n' see

“Everyone is in denial about something; just try denying it and watch friends make a list. For Freud, denial was a defense against external realities that threaten the ego, and many psychologists today would argue that it can be a protective defense in the face of unbearable news, like a cancer diagnosis.

In the modern vernacular, to say someone is “in denial” is to deliver a savage combination punch: one shot to the belly for the cheating or drinking or bad behavior, and another slap to the head for the cowardly self-deception of pretending it’s not a problem.

Yet recent studies from fields as diverse as psychology and anthropology suggest that the ability to look the other way, while potentially destructive, is also critically important to forming and nourishing close relationships. The psychological tricks that people use to ignore a festering problem in their own households are the same ones that they need to live with everyday human dishonesty and betrayal, their own and others’. And it is these highly evolved abilities, research suggests, that provide the foundation for that most disarming of all human invitations, forgiveness.

In this emerging view, social scientists see denial on a broader spectrum — from benign inattention to passive acknowledgment to full-blown, willful blindness — on the part of couples, social groups and organizations, as well as individuals. Seeing denial in this way, some scientists argue, helps clarify when it is wise to manage a difficult person or personal situation, and when it threatens to become a kind of infectious silent trance that can make hypocrites of otherwise forthright people.

“The closer you look, the more clearly you see that denial is part of the uneasy bargain we strike to be social creatures,” said Michael McCullough, a psychologist at the University of Miami and the author of the coming book “Beyond Revenge: The Evolution of the Forgiveness Instinct.” “We really do want to be moral people, but the fact is that we cut corners to get individual advantage, and we rely on the room that denial gives us to get by, to wiggle out of speeding tickets, and to forgive others for doing the same.”

The capacity for denial appears to have evolved in part to offset early humans’ hypersensitivity to violations of trust. In small kin groups, identifying liars and two-faced cheats was a matter of survival. A few bad rumors could mean a loss of status or even expulsion from the group, a death sentence.’ New York Times.2007.

We are all free moral agents , we believe what we want to, and promote those beliefs with all the ‘sincerity’?? we can muster. When we speak from a narrow , uninformed perspective, the topic loses its appeal when its authors repeat the same drivel, which often times is pure hate driven crap. But it sure drives the frenzied masses. Intelligent , informed folk can easily cut pass the misinformation.

Fact is no more genuine, or authentic because it comes from a brother. We can all hand pick our mentors and our heroes , because they give us that sense of worth , but also because they seem to enhance our arguments and defend our positions in ways that we might not be able to articulate ourselves.

We would all do well to follow the example of Nelson Mandela, the greatest , most well respected statesman on the planet today. He walked the walk. Forgiveness make us better human beings.

It is time we moved our minds and focus into the 21st century, because guess what , we are the ones still suffering the most from this . Continuing the blame game 200 +years after, shows that we are frozen in history. The Jews are another good example, they have lifted themselves up, whilst still not forgetting their immediate past. We have’nt forgotten our distant past, but where are we in real terms, in a macro sense.

Move on.

72. There is a false version of my name going around and I want them permanently removed -“Beaverhausen, Golden Girls, Redjet Robbie and now my own name” I am so angry you have no idea!

73. LIONKING

There was no letter ‘J’ in any language prior to the 14th century in England. The letter did not become widely used until the 17th century.
    Note in the original 1611 version of the King James Version of the Bible there was no “J” letter in this Bible for because it did not exist. James was spelled Iames. Jesus was spelled Iesous.
    In the Hebrew alphabet there is no J letter or sound.

The words Jesus ,Jews ,James, John,Jehovah,Judas ,Joseph ,Jordan,Jerusalem are commonly found in the bible. ( THE LETTER “J” DIDN’T EXIST IN ANCIENT TIMES ).

74. LIONKING

Europeans have been using christianity to hide /mask their origin. However , the spell is broken and the truth is out.
    See below:
    1) “European Skin Turned Pale Only Recently, Gene Suggests
    At the American Association of Physical Anthropologists meeting, held here from 28 to 31 March, a new report on the evolution of a gene for skin color suggested that Europeans acquired pale skin quite recently, perhaps only 6000 to 12,000 years ago .” – Science 20 april 2007:
    vol 316 no. 5823 p. 364.

2) Scientists Find A DNA Change That Accounts For White Skin
    Scientists said yesterday that they have discovered a tiny genetic mutation that largely explains the first appearance of white skin in humans tens of thousands of years ago,….”
    “The work suggests that the skin-whitening mutation occurred by chance in a single individual after the first human exodus from Africa, when all people were brown-skinned.” -By Rick Weiss
    Washington Post Staff Writer
    Friday, December 16, 2005 .

3 ) ” MUTANT SLC24A5 GO FORTH AND MULTIPLY!
    There is a very high incidence of hereditary whiteness among those who received two mutated copies of gene SLC24A5, if recent research is correct. In fact, approximately ten percent of all humans on earth carry this mutation–the entire white race, to be exact.

No one knows exactly when the mutated gene entered the human population, but those with the gene interbred constantly so that it spread throughout whole families, then communities, then nations and then all of northern Europe. It then jumped to the North American continent with the Europeans who left Europe to settle here. ” – by M.Hillard 2007.

4) ” Why are Europeans White
    Do we know when Europeans became white? This change has been roughly dated at two gene loci. At SLC45A2 (AIM1), Soejima et al. (2005) have come up with a date of ~ 11,000 BP. At SLC24A5, Norton and Hammer (2007) suggest a date somewhere between 12,000 and 3,000 BP. These are rough estimates but it looks like Europeans did not turn white until long after their arrival in Europe. As a Science journalist commented: “the implication is that our European ancestors were brown-skinned for tens of thousands of years” (Gibbons, 2007). “- by Peter Frost, anthropoploogist.

“In 2005 a team of japanese researchers found that depigmentaion of European skin was due to a recent allele change (mutation) at the SLC45A2 gene (Soejima,et al).”

5) “Professor Jonathan Rees conducted a study of redheads at Edinburgh University.He identified the”gene for red hair” the melanocortin 1 receptor (MC1R), found on the 16th chromosome. He found that this single gene was responsible for red hair.
    Red hair is a genetic mutation.
    Red hair is seen on the heads of only four percent of people. Most of these exist in the U.K., the Republic of Ireland, and Australia…”
    ” Harvard Dermatologist Madhu Pathak calls redheads “three-time losers” because their red pigment is an inadequate filter of sunlight and their skin is more susceptible to sunburn, skin cancer and wrinkling with age. ” – by Elizabeth Johansen 2005.
    “New research from the Erasmus Medical Center in the Netherlands has delivered further bad news for individuals with red hair: they are at a higher risk of recurrent basal cell carcinoma (BCC) skin cancer.”- from Clinuvel Phamacology blog ,August 2010.

6) ” Blond / blonde or fair-hair is a hair color characterized by low levels of the dark pigment eumelanin.”
    ” In northern European populations, the occurrence of blond hair is very frequent. The hair color gene MC1R has at least seven variants in Europe giving the continent a wide range of hair and eye shades. Based on recent genetic information carried out at three Japanese universities, the date of the genetic mutation that resulted in blond hair in Europe has been isolated to about 11,000 years ago during the last ice age.”- from Wikipedia.

7)” A team of scientist have tracked down the a genetic mutation that leads to blue eyes. The mutation occurred 6,00-10,000 yr ago. Before then there were no blue eyes. “Originally we all had brown eyes” ,said Hans Eiberg from the Department of Cellular & Molecular Medecine at the University of Copenhagen.
    The mutation affected the so-called OCA2 gene, which is involved in the production of melanin, the pigment that gives color to our hair, eyes and skin. ” – by Jeanna Bryner ,Jan 2008.

75. vancet

nah man .. Adam and Eve were GREY and One Child was RED and another Brown and another darker and another lighter and another Chinese LOL
    God loves to send strong delusions on Men PUFFED UP IN THEIR FLESHY MINDS !!! So White people Turned white because the INBRED WOW ! so Black or browns or asians never had dem own sister or Mudda .. History says different ! So de hair change too and de size and shapes or body parts !!! YEH
    Back to the Drawing Boards Folks !

76. hal

as long as we remember that all pictures of Jesus are theological statements about how the author “sees” him, we can claim all pictures of Jesus as valid because Jesus represented the whole of humanity when on the cross – so a black Jesus or white Jesus or jewish Jesus. in fact, i would argue that it is exactly because Jesus represented all of humanity that it is valid to portray Jesus as female, because no picture of Jesus is historical rather all are theological, and theologically speaking “in Christ all are one”.

77. victor

As far as I am concerned, Jesus probably did have a beard and long hair and a middle eastern complexion in other words, looked like a typical person of those days in that region. There was blondness in the mix because of the conquest of the region by Alexander the Great, whose policy was to leave garrisons of Greek generals and soldiers in his wake, which explains why you get blue eyed peoples in remote parts of the Hindu Kush, Afghanistan etc. as well as Ancient Greek influence on architectural styles in India where Greek philosophy influenced Indian thinkers as well. Greeks of Alexander’s day had been frequently invaded by northern tribes in fact Alexander was a product of that. You find people with that colouring today from Morocco to modern Israel to Turkey. It’s not really the point, since we have no contemporary depictions of Jesus; more to the point is his thoughts and if someone wants to make him look like their own, why not?

78. Jesus

Thank you for your interest in what I looked like. The truth is, I look precisely like the way I do. Hope this clears the matter up. You may see other pics of myself @ http://www.heavenlygate.com

79. Well Well

Many thanks to Victor Callendar, Lion King, Keep It and Dessalines for trying to educate the deeply brainwashed worshippers of graven images and idolatry, I myself figured out it was all a well conceived scam from as young as 12 years old, some might call this reincarnated knowledge. This vicious act was perpetrated on groups of various peoples throughout the ages and still works well on billions today still using the bible, a history book that has been reedited so many times, to serve the purposes of control, greed, gaining wealth, enslave races and so many levels of evil, it is not unlike a comic book today. We know the white race is a mutated gene of the black race, whites know this, but trying to convince the majority of self delusional brainwashed and mindwashed blacks will last couple more centuries. The European descendants now stuck in Israel and Australia dying of skin cancer made their beds years ago when they displaced the true natives……………KARMA.

In truth, if you visit most churches in New York, their images of Jesus is brown or black, it makes more sense if you want to keep the fraud going indefinitely, it still serves it’s purpose. The wonderful thing about the last 2000 years of falsehood, is that there are just as many whites as blacks believing the lies and hypocrisy perpetrated for such an extraordinary length of time.

80. Old saying

God created man in his image, and man returned the compliment!

So wherever you are and whoever you are, God is your image!

Get it!

It’s about the universality of the message inside of each of us and not the image.