Barbados prisoner Raúl García vows hunger strike until death

Completed 20 year sentence in Barbados prison – held illegally for 2 years since then!

August 19, 2012: Day 186 since Prime Minister Stuart ‘promised’ to transfer Raul Garcia out of a punishment facility. Garcia still illegally imprisoned at Dodds.

Hey… if you can’t rely upon the word of the Prime Minister, who can you trust?

painting by Raul Garcia

Update: March 9, 2009 – Nation says that Prime Minister Stuart visited Garcia at Dodds Prison last Tuesday and “assured him that Government was working on his case.”

February 25, 2012: Garcia’s lawyer says move delayed by Royal visit.

Cuban Raul Garcia could be out of prison by next week.

Attorney-at-law David Comissiong told the SATURDAY SUN that arrangements for Garcia’s transfer to a non-punitive facility controlled by the Barbados Defence Force (BDF) had been delayed as a result of security preparations for the visit of the Earl and Countess of Wessex.

More in The Nation

February 15, 2012: Day 31 – Newspaper says Raul Garcia ended hunger strike and is eating without being transferred from prison or freed

Raul Garcia ended his strike without achieving his goal to any extent. The Nation indicates “Mr Garcia is eating porridge and is now on a liquid diet,” the source said yesterday. “He has indicated his actions are intended to give Government time to pursue certain options regarding his status.”

Barbados Today has a more complete story, saying: Prisoner shift – Cuban-American Raul Garcia has ended his hunger strike at Dodds Prison following assurances yesterday that efforts are underway to have him relocated from that location.

Garcia, who has been on hunger strike since mid-January, was alerted yesterday by attorney-at-law David Comissiong that discussions with Prime Minister and Minister of Immigration, Freudel Stuart, had gone well.

In a statement today, Comissiong revealed: “I was able to convey good news to Mr. Garcia. Having had several discussions with Prime Minister Stuart …, I was able to inform Mr. Garcia that concrete steps were underway to have him removed from Dodds Prison, and transferred to a non-punitive facility.

“I explained to Mr Garcia that although he would not be a ‘free man’, he would be relieved of the indignity of still being confined in a prison after having served his time and paid his dues to society. He would also be relieved of a number of restrictions and privations that are an intrinsic part of the Dodds’ prison culture,” said the attorney.

BFP’s Comment:

After two years of holding the prisoner illegally and 31 days into Mr. Garcia’s hunger strike why would the government need more time? Mr. Garcia will still be held illegally at whatever new facility he is transferred to, according to the court decision we referenced on February 13th.

February 13, 2012: Day 29 – Barbados court decision indicates Raul Garcia held illegally

Barbados Government should obey previous Supreme Court judgment and free Raul Garcia

February 12, 2012: Day 28 – US Government says Raul Garcia not a citizen

Raul Garcia moved to the USA with his parents when he was 4 years old. Despite living most of his life in the USA (until his arrest in Barbados) he was not a US citizen. Perhaps he couldn’t have gained citizenship if his family were illegals – I don’t know the story.

But that is how he now finds himself without citizenship for any country. Should he be kept in jail until he dies of old age? That is the current policy of your Barbados government.

The Nation: Not in US!

February 10, 2012: Day 26 – Barbados Government sends feelers to Raul Garcia

Word from The Nation newspaper is that attorney-at-law David Comissiong visited Mr. Garcia yesterday, and that if government transfers Raul Garcia to a “non-punitive” facility, he will stop his hunger strike. Remind me: how long did Bobby Sands last?

February 8, 2012: Day 24 of hunger strike

Attorney General challenges David Comissiong: You don’t really care about Raul Garcia

February 7, 2012: Day 23 of hunger strike

The UN High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR) has started discussions with a non-governmental organization (NGO) here in Barbados and also plans to engage Government on Garcia’s status as an imprisoned person under duress. (Nation: U.N. on the case)

February 2, 2012: Day 17 of hunger strike

Garcia’s sister tells The Nation that he is prepared to die if not released.

January 31, 2012: Day 15 of hunger strike.

CNN iReport: Raul Garcia placed in solitary confinement as he won’t stop hunger strike

CNN iReport says that Raul Garcia has lost 27 pounds. The CNN post here states he is on day 20 of the hunger strike. A letter from Raul states the 17th was the start day which would make today Day #15 by our count.

Would the family please provide an update even if to say you have no other information.

January 28, 2012: Day 12 of hunger strike.

The Nation finally picks up this story: Jailed Cuban wants out

Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite confirmed he had received correspondence yesterday indicating Garcia had stopped eating. “It’s not a simple case of just deporting him or releasing him,” Brathwaite said.

What is the prisoner’s condition?

Son Frank Garcia reported on January 26th that his father had lost 16 pounds and continues his hunger strike. Raul Garcia is also known to have a heart condition and high blood pressure but has been unable to obtain medical treatment while in prison.

Dear readers of Barbados Free Press

It is with the greatest of respect that I address myself to the entities of the Barbados Government which are currently responsible for my present incarceration at Her Majesty’s Prisons Dodds, St. Philip. The entities are namely:

•    The Attorney General’s Office

•    The Immigration Department

•    The Barbados Prison Service

I would also like to include in this Communique the Government of the Republic of Cuba, or any government, body entity or person that may sympathize, empathize, or in any other way take an interest in bringing this matter to a successful and satisfactory conclusion.

On the 11th. Day of March 2010, I Raúl García of Cuban Nationality completed a twenty (20) year sentence of imprisonment at Her Majesty’s Prisons. Upon my release, I was placed in the custody of the Immigration Department for deportation. However, because of the form of past laws in the Cuban Government, they denied my repatriation, such that, I ended up being held at the Grantley Adams International Airport as a detainee for nine (9) months.

After this prolonged period, I was returned to Her Majesty’s Prisons Dodds, St. Philip without being charged or sentenced, far less, by any order of the Courts of Barbados. To date, I have spent a total of twenty-two (22) months imprisoned after I should have been a free man.

It must be stated that while I was held as a detainee by the Immigration Department (and this is not to be desired), the treatment meted out to me differed vastly from that to which I am now being subjected.

Her Majesty’s Prisons Dodds is a maximum security facility, and as such, there is no differentiation or consideration for persons being kept there. In essence, I am treated the same as any other prisoner who has been sentenced by the Courts of Barbados for an offence, or as prisoners on remand pending court matters.

I wish to further add that my case is not a unique or unprecedented one. They were two instances which closely parallel my situation. These are Sotero vs the Queen and a group of Africans vs the Queen which resulted in these persons being released into the society until their matters could be decided.

It might also be noted that while those persons were unknown quantities, a report has been submitted by Her majesty’s Prisons in respect of me, outlining my conduct while in prison and any rehabilitation programme that I would have attended.

This report has clearly shown that I have never contravened or engaged myself in any conduct contrary to the good governance of Her Majesty’s Prisons, Barbados in the fifteen that I served. Also, through my work programme, I was able to become an artist of note, to the extent that I have won Gold Medals in the Island’s Premier (showcasing of talent) NIFCA (annual) competition.

During this time I was also allowed, due to my classification from Her Majesty’s Prisons, to show, explain and sell art of this event and of any others that would have arisen (Holetown Festival, Barbados Labour Party Annual Conference etc.).

Now, as a result of my being under the total rigors of a maximum security prison with the said consideration and treatments; placed under the same conditions as any other prisoner who has been sentenced to a term of imprisonment including life or Queen’s Pleasure; unrecognized as an Immigration Detainee; unable to even receive proper medical attention for my heart condition; imprisoned indefinitely, which is to be decided by the Government of Barbados and not the Law Courts; and because there is no humane consideration towards reunion with my children, very old parents that have been waiting for seventeen (17) years for my release, and the rest of my family; and because the opportunity for me to be free again and continue my roles as father, son and husband has been denied:

Today the 17th. of January in the year 2012, I Raúl García declare myself in Hunger Strike!

This state of affairs will continue until a solution is found for my plight, or my death occurs… My objective is to gain my freedom, but the discrimination, lack of consideration and indolence that has been demonstrated by the Government in every respect of this matter have carved in my heart an end to my hope, faith and beliefs that this situation is being dealt with genuineness.

I have come to the conclusion that this matter has become a personal vendetta against me for the illegal act that occurred seventeen (17) years ago, which I fully paid for with seventeen (17) years of imprisonment, making it now two (2) years over what the Courts of Barbados had stipulated that I should serve.

At this juncture I would have it noted that under no conditions do I intend to resort to any rebellious behavior with the use of violence or resentment, much less disobedience of any kind to the authorities of Her Majesty’s Prisons Dodds. Also, that I will under no circumstances opt  in any way to terminate my life by suicide. My determination in this instance is to stop ingesting anything of food, drink or anything of a nourishing nature until and not before my problem is resolved, or, my death ensues.

If any member of the relevant ministries feels that my death is preferable, then that shall be my fate. It will be the decision of the government to cause my death and not me myself, for at the end and everything is taken into account, I am subjected to conditions  that leave me alive but yet dead. However, I appeal to the relevant Ministries and Departments of the Barbados and Cuban Government and any other Government, Body Entity or Person to render me any and all assistance they can, because I have pursued all avenues that were open to me in this final effort to have my plight recognized and resolved.

I thank you in advance for any assistance rendered.

Sincerely yours,

Raúl García

Raul Garcia is a redeemed man! He deserves to be free!

Here is a link to his bio and his artwork as well as his mission statement.

http://coronellart.blogspot.com/p/bio.html

http://coronellart.blogspot.com/

368 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Crime & Law, Human Rights

368 responses to “Barbados prisoner Raúl García vows hunger strike until death

1. BFP

Dear Prime Minister Stuart,

Mr. Garcia paid his debt to society and more. This is a terrible injustice that you could change with one phone call.

Please, Sir.

Yours truly,
    Marcus, Shona, Cliverton, George, Robert, Nevermind Kurt, Auntie Moses

2. cq9

Why hasn’t this been on the CBC and in the Bajan papers? He must have sent his letter to everywhere. Is BFP the only place with the integrity to report this story????????

3. Red Lake Lassie

The government let the stranded Ghana / Nigeria passengers wander about the island when the court said they couldn’t be confined. Raul Garcia is different, he is a proven criminal but we can’t keep him locked up forever with no charges. He sounds like a changed man though.

Give him a chance. His art is beautiful he could sell it on the beach and support hiself that way until his situation is straightened out. After 20 years in prison it is a wonder he is still sane and peaceable. He must be a changed man. Give him a chance.

4. Red Lake Lassie

What is his medical condition BFP? Can you find out?

5. FearPlay

Compare/contrast him with some homegrown Barbadians who filter into and out of prison constantly for heinous crime and apparently with no intention of curbing their behavior.

David C., Mr P. where are you and what are you doing? Surely as civilized people we must be able to influence the Cuban government to act in a responsible way. Go David, go Pillie.

6. Fed up Bajan

Do unto others, as you would want others to do unto you. Surely at this stage of our development we can do better than this.
    Let the MAN go, he has served his time, he should be set free as we deal with his legal right to return to the land of his birth

7. MAX

His family has been making efforts to get some country to accept him.

His family resides in Miami FL USA.

8. Anonymous

I never met Mr. Garcia, but I do believe that having served his time that he deserves to be a free man. Hope something can happen to afford him a chance to rebuild his life.
    H Mahy-Batson

9. MAX

@ Red Lake Lassie I totally agree with your statement

10. Limbo Land

I believe Sixty Minutes did a story sometime ago about the thousands of persons sitting in US detainment centers with no place to go, as their birthplace, or country of origin does not want them and will not accept them.

I would love to know what is happening to all these persons?

Is the UN finding a solution?

It appears as if this man has paid his price and s being incarcerated illegally.

Does the UN even care?

11. Pingback: Cuba, Barbados: Power of the Hunger Strike · Global Voices

12. Okeba

Try not to go on a hunger strike, Mr. Garcia. That will negatively impact not only your body, but your mind. Focus instead on thoughts of your instant release by visualization and positive images throught meditation, daily, twice a day, three times a day even. Remember Nelson Mandela, and know that you can overcome anything with the mind of attracting good things into your life. Humans are powerful beyond their own comprehension,

13. The strange question is – why is this man still being held??? He’s done with his just dues, a la the prison sentence so the holding at the immigration in B’dos, humm the only thing I can think is that Cuba does not want him back as they have a funny policy on the people that defected to the U.S. and the family did leave to Spain and then the U.S. Also maybe since he fled the US and went to S.A. then he also has to answer charges there too. My guess is he doesn’t want to go back to the US which would equal more jail time and Cuba simply does not want him and now he is in effect just a grifter if he stays in Barbados, and the island simply does not know what the hell to do. This is a real weird deal this man got himself into indeed!

14. paid his debt plus moore

he has paid for his crime and so should not be in prison, however he cant be released into society as he is an ilegal alien and must be deported. his country of citizen or origin should accept him and diplomatic ppressure should be placed on them top do so aand not further expense the Barbados ( food, clothes, shelter, medical and burrial).cuba wants closer links to caricom but this does not appear to be friendly behavior.

to release him in barbados may be a problem as we have enough home grown former criminals to contend with further to importing moore. however if no solution can be found in deporting the gentleman then it may be better to release him with a work permit to ensure he no longer is a financial burden to our tax payers.

15. paid his debt but still undesireable

A drug smuggler is not someone we may wish wandering around our island. if all else fails cant we smuggle him back into cuba, i know people are smuggled out.

16. Different story but: Held for 2 years, No judge, no charge

Man Held in Solitary Confinement 2 Years After DWI Gets $22M
    No trial, no doctor, no judge

A man who spent two years in solitary confinement after getting arrested for DWI was awarded $22 million for suffering inhumane treatment in New Mexico’s Dona Ana County Jail.

Stephen Slevin was arrested in August of 2005 for driving while intoxicated, according to NBC station KOB.com. He said he never got a trial and spent the entire time languishing in solitary, even pulling his own tooth when he was denied dental care.

“‘[Prison officials were] walking by me every day, watching me deteriorate,” he said. “Day after day after day, they did nothing, nothing at all, to get me any help.”

Slevin said he made countless requests to see a doctor to get medication for his depression, but wasn’t allowed to see one until only a few weeks before his release. He also never got to see a judge.

The $22 million settlement, awarded by a federal jury on Tuesday, is one of the largest prisoner civil rights settlements in U.S. history, according to KOB.com.

http://www.nbcdfw.com/news/weird/Man-Held-in-Solitary-Confinement-2-Years-After-DWI-Gets-22M-138053288.html

17. Anonymous

Raul is my father.

I’ll start off by thanking the viewers who has expressed support for my father’s situation.

Second, He is no drug smuggler. He is an artist as well as a good man.
    He has won numerous awards for his work and is very well capable of surviving off of his talents.

I have created a website to promote and sell his work.

He has a big family back in the United States that loves him very much.

Here are links to his websites
    http://coronellart.blogspot.com/p/mission.html
    http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/frank-garcia.html

18. Anonymous

How inhumane! This man deserves the honor that the justice system claims to uphold!

19. frank Garcia

Hello, I am Raul’s son,
    First, I would like to say thank you for those who expressed sympathy and support for my dad.

Second, He is no longer a drug smuggler. That life is way behind him.

When released he is very well capable of sustaining himself financial through his talents. Also, while in prison he was part of program that helped other inmates cope with their time and find rehabilitation through art.
    Here’s more information
    http://coronellart.blogspot.com/p/letters-of-recomndation.html

In the meantime I have created a website to promote as well as sell his art..http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/frank-garcia.html

20. yatinkiteasy

Where are our religious leaders in this case? Or are they only interested in the collection plate?

21. what will they think of next

He is a Cuban citizen why wont Cuba take him back?
    He cant be allowed to roam Barbados at will.
    I agree to lock him up until the matter is resolved.

22. frank Garcia

This is from the rehabilitation officer,

“To Whom it may concern:”

“This is to state that I have known Raul Coronell Garcia for over ten years. He was an inmate in the Art and Craft Rehabilitation Program that I conducted as a rehabilitation officer.”

“During that time I had several one to one counseling sessions with him. He accepted his punishment for his antccedents and responded positively to many of the correctional programs put into place.”

“He is an accomplished artist and has won many awards at NIFCA and other Art and Craft Exhibitions. He was among the reliable inmates in the rehabilitation group Mission Rehabilitation that I conducted and managed. The members went through a series of sessions and then then committed themselves to helping and influencing other inmates to opt for a positive approach to life. Raul was outstanding in the project.”

“Of equal importance, he was entrusted to assist and represent the institution at prestigious functions such as Holetown Festival, Bridgetown Market, and the Art Exhibitions of Political Conference . In 2008, having won the NIFCA Gold award, he achieved the privilege of selected invitee to the Prime Minister’s Award Ceremony. Raul Coronell was also among those inmates whose art was sent on display in New York in 2006.”

23. eternal@eternal.com

@CQ9 he wud gotta got 5 pickneys and want an nhc unit for it to mek de news.

24. mr. jack

This man deserves to free. Cuba would not take him back, but we are going to send the country a message. We will take him, he has been reformed, he has skills that we can use. Not drug trafficking,but to stay away form crime. This man from all reports that have is an ideal gentleman, well respected by Officers and inmates alike.. He mannerly,quite knowledgable in many way, but he is really frustrated. He deserves better than the treatment he is offered at the prison..

25. Duppy Lizard

It seems quite simple…The USA deports quantities of non immigrant individuals back to their homeland after their incacaration has been completed…..We here in Barbados read about it all the time….Soooo whats the difference here…send the poor man back to Cuba..Amen.

26. frank Garcia

Raul Garcia was born in Santiago de Cuba on the 9th of April, 1954. Due to the political situation in Cuba, he along with his father and mother emigrated to Spain in April 1964 and then onto the U.S.A. Once in the United States, he unfortunately got involved in the drug trade and subsequently was arrested. In an effort to evade prosecution he fled the country. Raul then moved to Columbia in June of 1988, where he assumed a new identity. Essentially, Raul Garcia had vanished from the face of the earth; his new name was Edilberto Coronell Munoz.

Edilberto Coronell Munoz was arrested in Barbados on the 28th of September 1994 on drug charges; he was eventually sentenced to life in prison, along with a $1,000,000.00 fine. After a successful appeal, five years later, the sentence was reduced to 20 years; because it was determined the crown did not provide the proper evidence to substantiate its case for trafficking. It was the charge of trafficking which carried a life sentence. Unable to pay such a large fine, Mr. Monoz was forced to serve out his sentence. This sentenced expired on the 11th of March 2010; having ‘paid his debt to society’ one would expect Mr. Raul Garcia/Edilberto Coronell Munoz to be a free man today, but this is where this twisted and inhumane true life story begins anew.

In 2001, Raul was confronted with some devastating news. His eldest son had died of an overdose of heroin. For him this was a time of great emotional pain and also a time for him to start clearing way the wreckage of the past. He decided to reveal the truth about his past to the authorities in Barbados. He disclosed his true identity and his entire background, so that he could face any charges in America once his sentence had expired. Having fled prosecution in the U.S.A. also meant that he may have faced extradition; fortunately that proved not to be of consequence as the federal government chose not to pursue the case any further. It was also understood he would instantly be arrested should he set foot on American soil ever again. Living in America was no longer an option for him.

After he was released from prison in Barbados and passed over to the custody of immigration, he once again revealed his true identity because immigration was not made aware of his past by either the police or the prison. In spite of this, immigration insisted Raul travel back to Colombia on a false passport; he refused to commit this illegal act, because essentially he was now a changed man. For the fallowing nine months he was detained at the airport while they (immigration) confirmed his true identity through Interpol and the Cuban Government.

Due to the political stance of the Cuban Government, Mr Garcia has been denied his human right of repatriation to his country of birth. His situation is further compounded by the unfortunate choices and consequences he faced as a result of those choices. Despite the fact he legally emigrated to the USA, was painfully aware that he could not return there. Returning to Colombia having serving 16 years in prison because of his involvement in the drug trade has also been ruled out.

Today Raul Garcia is a totally changed man. The type of life he used to live is no longer of interest to him and the heavy influence the narcotics trade has on every day life in Colombia has forced him to rule out that country as an option for resettlement. Essentially this leaves Mr. Raul Garcia as a man with no country to call home. The Immigration Department here in Barbados, not knowing what to do with him housed him temporarily at the Grantley Adams International Airport for about 9 months in their detention area. MORE THAN 17 MONTHS SINCE HIS RELEASE FROM PRISON, RAUL GARCIA IS STILL BEING HELD IN PRISON.

While incarceration at the various HMP facilities in Barbados Garcia spent about 17 total years. Of that 7 and a half years were spent in maximum security lock down; this is a 24 hour solitary lock up. Never once during his entire prison stay has he been involved in a situation which required disciplinary action. His behavior has been impeccable. He has learned to paint and is now considered one of the best artists in the prison. In addition he has read extensively and is now well versed in subjects such as: Psychology, Biology, History and Medicine. He is without a doubt, a rehabilitated man. Raul has spent many years counseling and advising his fellow inmates about the negative consequences of using and trading drugs. He has given freely of his time and self to help stem the flow of people returning to prison again because they are trapped by the lure of “easy money” in the drug trade; as well as those who continually run afoul of the law because they are trapped by the vice of addiction. The prison administration has recognized his commitment and this clearly outlined this in recommendation letter written by the prison to the courts in the USA.

To further compound his situation, Raul Garcia has been experiencing worsening medical conditions for the past few years. While at the airport, under the care of immigration he sought medical attention which required tremendous personal out-of pocket expense for the services of a cardiologist. Having paid over $3000.00 to a specialist he was unable to get the required treatment because immigration snatched him out of the doctor’s care and returned him to prison. He was never able to recoup any of his money. He is diagnosed as having Angina Pectoris and this has created yet another handicap for him. Now that he is housed at HMP Dodds once again, Further medical issues have arisen, which include high blood pressure and continued digestion issues. On his latest visit to the doctor, it was recommended he try his best to get out of prison as soon as possible, by finding a country that will accept him. That is totally out of his hands.

Being housed at HMP Dodds, Mr Garcia is treated exactly as any other convicted prisoner. No special concessions are given despite the fact he is not serving a custodial sentence. No work assignment, no school opportunities, limited recreation and only 15 minute phone call per week. There is no television, no radio, no magazines, no news papers and no contact with the outside world. He is locked in a cell from 6.00pm each and every day.

This situation, which has no clear end in sight, is creating a tremendous amount of stress on his family. His parents have supported him throughout his incarceration and are lost as to what they could do to spend the last few years of their life with their third born son. Their last wish would be to see Raul a free man. The government of Barbados must take a humanitarian stance concerning this.

27. robert ross

With one exception we seem to be united on this. On Friday I will deliver a letter about him to the Nation newspaper subject to there not having been anything already. I also propose that every one of us telephones the office of the Att.-Gen making a complaint AND the PM’s office AND the office of our local MP’s – in short as many of the ‘big boys’ as we can. In the interests of natural justice we do need to hear what the other side have to say and somehow have to force a response – so as to be sure of our ground. I would be happy to try to secure signatures to a petition in the streets. There is one good thing that has come from the Alexandra School debacle – the willingness of people (in this case the union and the teachers) to DO something not just skin their teeth about it – a favourite occupation, skinning, in a one-eyed country. So: what I am saying is WE do something and not just talk about it rather like the proposal for a third candidate at General Election time…….Yes?

28. Corey

Hello, I am the part time counsellor that is mentioned in his blog spot. All that have been stated thus far is true. Action is required now so Robert Ross is on the ball, I am ready. To say roam Barbados at will is silly – he is not a criminal nor drug smuggler, his WAS – like how we were bed wetters but are not anymore. So many tourist and others roam here daily that we know nothing about so if we want he could report to a police station x time, house arrest or given conditions of bail, but anything not max. prison for a free man.

29. yatinkiteasy

Why cant he be given residence status in Barbados? He does not have to be given a Barbados passport….yet. He can be told to report every week to a police station, and The status can always be revoked if he goes out of line..which seems improbable given his reform.If Barbados is indeed a Christian Country, then for Gods sake, give this man a chance to live a Free life. He has paid for his crime and is now being UNJUSTLY held in prison by Barbados authorities. The same authorities that have not paid Mr Barrack, even though the High Court ruled in his favour.

30. what will they think of next

Mr. Jack we have enough home grown criminals here in Barbados, he is a Cuban pack his backside back to Cuba, if they dont want him let him remain in Jail until they take him back. I dont want him out on our streets. He is a danger to my family.

31. Lady Anon

I think the main gist of the story here is that Mr. Garcia is to be repatriated to Cuba – he is a Cuban national. That is the law of this land. Once a non-national convicted of a crime has done the requisite time, he is to be deported to his homeland. However, Cuba has refused to accept him. Our laws have made no provision for this. He cannot be allowed on the streets of Barbados as it would be against our laws. There therefore needs to be negotiation between the Ministry of Home Affairs in Barbados and the relevant authorities in Cuba in order to get him back to his homeland.

32. Lady Anon

@c9q…this story was reported before when it originally surfaced. However, like most things, news entities just moved on to other news and did not follow up.

33. robert ross

@ Yatinkiteasy

Exactly…..IF we are a Christian country. I will call the Bishop of Barbados’ office today. But won’t hold my breath. The man never answers letters and, well, there’s much more. But I will try. What will the rest of you do?

34. robert ross

Sorry: the reference is Luke 4:18 quoting Isaiah 61:1….”to preach deliverance to the captives”. Not to be taken literally of course BUT in this case???? And what of Mr Garcia’s constitutional protection? If he is covered, then surely he would have a right to be legally aided? Those who know him pass that one on if you can or tell me to raise it with our attorney brethren.

35. 239

I am Raul Garcia’s niece. His family has been living in the United States for since 1964. We are good hard working people. Despite, his past we love Raul very much. For years, through out Raul’s incarceration, we have visited Barbados and loved the island and its people as well.

Raul is a wonderful man who is very remorseful about his past life. He not only paints but also helps younger men who enter into the prison for drug related charges. If released, he actually wants to be a counselor for a nonprofit organization who helps the youth. He believes that his story would serve to help young men who find themselves involved in a life of crime, early on.

Upon his sentence expiring, Raul was released to the airport. He was told to get on a plane. He did not have any legal form of documentation and could not travel legally. Not knowing what to do with him, He was then kept at a cell in the airport for almost a year. There, he became ill. It was discovered that he had a heart condition. In a hush-hush manner, Immediately thereafter, he was taken back to the prison without any explanation to his family or himself. We called for days yet no one said anything. Now we have been told that he will be there for life! We need your help. Call your officials please!! We have published the story here in the Radio, and FB and Twitter and We are calling the local newspapers.

This is a Human cause, not politics, or laws.

36. MAX

Why do we have relation with CUba if they cant amend a Law to accommodate one of their own?

However in the meantime he could be release with conditions:
    That he has accommodations
    That he reports to the Authorities ever week or 2
    That he finds employment within a month of his release or become self employed.
    That his relatives set up a bank account here for his to have access to finds so he wont be a burden of the state.

Come On My Intelligent Educated Bajans who have the power to effect change.

37. 125

SEND BACK TO CUBA….He came to Barbados to sell illegal drugs, got caught, did his time, (not to mention, was fed on OUR tax dollars for 20 years…)…SEND HIM BACK TO HIS COUNTRY….Let them deal with him now…and feed him with THEIR tax dollars…!!!!!!!

38. 106

Raul Garcia is my uncle. I thank all of the people that have posted comments of support for his release. I live in Miami Florida US and I can tell you that we have tried everything. Some comments above have pose dthe questions as to why won’t they just let him go back to Cuba. There is no simple reply other than Cuba will not take him. He has served his time and paid a very high price for his mistakes. When his son died in 2001 of a drug overdose, our entire family was devasted. I for one at first blamed my uncle for our loss. As the years went by, I saw my uncle change in a manner that I had never experienced before. His paintings are beautiful. I have one of them in my home. I am asking that if there is anyone that can help us with the release of my uncle to please step forward. My e-mail address is mercedespinto@ymail.com. Any assistance will be very much welcome. We have already lost his son, please help us so that we don’t have to go through another death in our family.

39. anon

if you leave cuba for a certain time they denouce your citizenship….so he is a citizen of nowhere…he needs to be released he served his time…its so inhumane.

40. MAX

The ones who are advocating for a release and offer no plan of how the man will be taken care of etc… ARE any on you Going to ADOPT him?

41. MAX

This is all a matter for the Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

All we as the public can do is push both ministries to come up with a solution. If Barbados is to accommodate him his family should be paying money into out Treasury for such.

42. Corey

He has ppl who are willing to take care of him

43. yatinkiteasy

Our jokers in Government have not been able to come to an agreement with our good friends in Trinidad for more than 15 years, about Fishing in their waters…these bumbles will not solve this problem…they are a totally incapable bunch of idiots!

44. frank Garcia

He has people on the island that will take him in. Also the family will supposrt him..Like I mentioned earlier in this thread he also has his art.
    I am starting a fund raiser for him. In the meantime if you want to support financially just make a purchase (if you like the work of course) of one of his pieces..It doesnt have to be the bigger more expensive ones. You could get a postcard. That’ll help..All proceeds will go to him upon his release.

To those who oppose his release on the island,,what are you afraid of? Even when he was in the trade he was not a violent man. He’s not a murder, rapist, or thief! He didnt hurt people. He was a business man who got into the wrong trade. He’s transformed now and ready to take on a new career.

He’s an intelligent man with lots to offer the world. Raul has the heart of a lion! He has alot to offer your community.

My father/Raul likes to help people..He brought most of my family from Cuba to the US. Him and my grandpa housed them fed them took care of them until they got on their feet and were able to provide for themselves. I’m not just talking about 1 or 2 family members. We’re Cuban we have a huge family.

My point is even when he was in the wrong he was trying to do right..Now, this doesnt justify his breaking the law but its an example of his character. I would think after serving 17 -18 years in a prison that you would learn your lesson and not make the same mistake..The new Raul is not a threat. On the contrary. He could be of value to the community. Whether it be in Barbados or any other country that takes him.

45. Lady Anon

I have been trying to find the original story on this and so far have been unsuccessful. This link is the only one I have found so far – another blog not sure how credible.

http://blog.moontownbarbados.com/2010/04/23/the-prisoner-with-no-name/

46. frank Garcia

@ Lady Anan, you will find more about this over the next several days. From different sources.

I spoke to Raul this morning. He has lost 16 pounds and is on his 10th day with no food. He vows that his next meal will be as a free man. If not he will waited out til his death.
    I am concerned for his life. I would like the chance to hang out with him. Work on a painting and talk about our lives, catch up on the last 23 years we’ve been apart.

I grew up without a dad. Always missed him and wondered what it would feel like to have him around. I will be crushed if he died in jail.

47. MAX

Well If another country is willing to take him and I am sure the family is exploring those options the Authorities will release him to that Country…. but untl then the situation is what it is.

This is not an everyday event and lessons will be learnt so its hard to point fingers here.

could only pray that the Authorities do they best to help Mr. Garcia in his quest for freedom.

One of the things I am not sure of is that if his Cuba Status was know prior to his release else arrangements could have been made then,

So lets all use common sense here and get behind the people that matters in this situation and dont point blame. This is our country Barbados and every matter should not be taken lightly and if all the facts are clear or known.

48. Walk in My Shoes

Barbados has had thousands of illegals living in the island for years who came here without proper papers, most of whom, have made good citizens and are not a problem.

In the last US amnesty, millions of latin americans were give the right to stay in the US after having contributed to their adopted country and having never been a problem.

This shouldn’t be all that tough a decision for Barbados and its so called leadership.

Let his family and friends commit to back him up financially and release him
    on semi-annual reviews for 2 years and let him free.

What are you waiting for?

ps Throw WWTTON into jail for two years for no reason and see how he likes it!

49. Lady Anon

What seems to be coming out is not that he is being detained “illegally” it is just that where else is he to go? To get him back to the US will require a Visa, which he cannot get – bearing in mind the question arises whether he was a US citizen or an illegal immigrant. Truth is, this is a perfect storm of circumstances which I am sure no one envisaged.

50. 211

send him on a plane without notifying the cuban authorities. when he lands. let him deal with it from there.

51. frank Garcia

@ Anonymous Last post..That would be illegal wouldn’t it?

The family is working on finding a country..Its been 2 years since we’ve been working on it.. What if the Barbados government helped out the process? Maybe they can reach out other to countries and assist?

maybe they can give a letter of recommendation? If they’re that opposed to letting him go free on Barbados soil. Doesnt it cost them more to have him locked up?

We are trying our best.

52. Lady Anon

@Frank Garcia – letter of recommendation? are you serious? To say what, that he was a model prisoner and an excellent artist? Or that he is a convicted drug dealer?

53. frank Garcia

@ Lady Anon, YES IM SERIOUS! Dont yoiu want him out of the country? Isnt it costing tax payers money to keep him in your prisons?

So why not make an effort on their part to find him a home. Whats wrong with that? Working with the family as a team. collaborating. Its not like they have to lie in the letter either. He is a decent man. He’s not a criminal anymore. He’s proven that.

Its easy to piont the finger when yoiu’re not in his shoes..Imaging you were in his situation or in ours.

54. Lady Anon

Found another interesting document. Apparently, under the name of Edilberto Munoz, Mr. Garcia filed for human rights violations claiming to be Columbian and on investigation the Columbian officials indicated that he seems to be Cuban.

And the saga began…

http://www.cidh.oas.org/annualrep/2010eng/BAAR444-99EN.doc

55. frank Garcia

@ Lady Anon,,It is out in the open that he went under a Colombian alias at his arrival in Barbados. Its says it in the letter above.

So what so what are you trying to prove?

Who are you by the way?

Why are you trying to discredit my father?

i spoke to my father earlier today, and I mentioned the free press in our conversation. I wouldn’t doubt if our conversation was monitored.

All of sudden we got Lady Anon trying to discredit my dad..

hmmm..I smell a fish

56. Sunshine Sunny Shine

I wonderf if he try to sue the government for inhumane treatment if he would win the case. And a big if should he win the case and gets a fairly large settelment it would be better for him not to win the case. Because in Barbados, my beautiful island where the people ain’t all that nice as as some would have us believe, do not honour court settlements. If ya doubt me ask Boarrack ya hear.

57. Winston Grecia

Frank

I am a Barbadian who does not have any feelings in regards to if your Father is freed or not.

If you continue to attack Lady Anon or or anyone else who may have a negative view of releasing him into the Barbadian society then it is my view you will lose support with the masses.

Please try to get your father to stop the suicide mission that he is on and let the slow wheels of the Government takes its course.

You and your family may not like the time it takes but you will eventually be reunited with a living father and not be visiting a grave stone.

58. frank Garcia

Ok Winston,

I hear you. I apologize to Lady Anon.

@ yatinkiteasy

“Why cant he be given residence status in Barbados? He does not have to be given a Barbados passport….yet. He can be told to report every week to a police station, and The status can always be revoked if he goes out of line..which seems improbable given his reform.”
    This makes sense to me.

Maybe some type of house arrest. There’s a gentlemen who will claim responsibility for him. He could live there while we find him a home elsewhere.

And at least if they’re going to keep him locked maybe not in the criminal facilities.

59. anthony toussaint

Unfair unjust and inhumane by the barbados authority,his constitutionally rights is being violated

60. yatinkiteasy

Frank, please provide your e mail , I wish to help if I can.

61. *second chances*

Sometimes in life people go through certain circumstances for certain reasons. These can sometimes make a person better or worst. In this case, it seems to have made Mr. Garcia a better person! Just because a person has been fortunate enough not to have experienced some kind of trying circumstance in their life or with a family member, it does not make anyone better than anyone else.

Barbados is supose to be a Christian Country, with Christian people. Where is the Christianity now? One should never be so quick to judge because one never knows what tomorrow may bring. (This I say from my own experience, in my kindest of voices, not offend)

This man is not a murderer, rapist, child molestor, theif or terrorists. He simply got caught up trying to make money in the wrong way. I guess my point is, have a heart! Recognize that everyone is NOT perfect.

His son/family is on here trying to the right thing, the right way! No one would take well to someone trying to discredit their father, no matter who he might be or what he may have done…it’s still ‘Dad’!

I see a lot of people supporting the freedom of Mr. Garcia, whether it be in Barbados or elsewhere! Some who are frowning upon his release within Barbados. In all reality, he should be considered a citizen or resident of Barbados since he has been there for so long! Either way you look at it, he is a human being, just like you and I, who has served his time/dues for his mistakes! No one that has commented on this page would like to be in any kind of similar situation and not have some kind of support!

To Frank Garcia: My heart and prayers are with you, your father and your family!

62. BFP

Hi Lady Anon,

That report (copied below) indicates that Mr. Garcia “might be” a Cuban who received his Columbian papers by bribery. The original human rights complaint was lodged in 1998 by six people and not followed up on until 2010. Have the other five convicts been released from prison?

In any event it doesn’t have much to do with the current situation IMHO. Garcia is being held contrary to the law that was used to free the African ‘tourists’. Either we have a law or we don’t. We can’t just arbitrarily choose to follow it one day and not another day.

FREE HIM

63. Duppy Lizard

Isnt there an iternational legal system that can determine this mans outcome…………..why not go to CNN,,,BBC,,,FOX,,,whoever and put this plight for the world to see!!!!!!!!

64. Duppy Lizard

Plus Plus …………Times Magazine,,,,,Newsweek,,,,,Etc..Etc….

65. frank Garcia

@ yatinkiteasy,

Thank you for your support and interest in this matter?
    Where should I send you my email so we can talk?

66. frank Garcia

@*second chances*
    WOW! I cant thank you enough for those words. My family and I appreciate your compassion and understanding over our situation.
    We will push on.

Many blessings.

67. Duppy Lizard

Hell this whole scenario could well become a movie …..In the right hands it could even be up there on that list of Academy awards etc…………….

68. frank Garcia

@ Duppy Lizard,

Indeed:)

69. Duppy Lizard

This back and forth on Mr.Garcia lacks one thing……..He was sentenced and fined…He served his sentence and was freed……….HE IS NOW A PERSON LIKE YOU OR ME…FREE….BUT THEN NOT FREE……
    Imagine a ZR driver being fined for two years for driving a van overloaded and having an accident because of the overloading which caused the deaths of eight school children and after serving his sentence had to remain in prison because of pending circumstances………The call in programs would be hot…..Everyone would be blistering the legal system and Barbados would be shut down…the unions would be demanding…….his immediate release etc…and on and on..

70. Rick G.

I once made a mistake and was judged by many and I too lost my family for a while. But I proved to them that I could be who I am today with a family of my own and and gained respect that many thought I would never have. People could change! I paid my DUES and so has he. Now he deserves to be free and reunite with the one he loves and the ones who love him. Let him continue his journey and teach others who have chosen the wrong path. Let him continue to help them understand where they need to head so they do not end up in the same situation. He can’t do it from the inside and he can’t do it if he dies during his hunger strike. Some say he should stay in prison or wait til he could be sent elsewhere, But he has also changed the lives of your fellow citizens in Barbados. He has been a mentor to many although he made mistakes in his life. I don’t write these words to make him seem like a hero or because he is my uncle…..Read it for you self! I pray that all he has done dose not go in vain…

71. what will they think of next

BFP you are missing the point. The African tourists only problem was safe passage back home.
    Once that was satisfied home they went!!!!!!
    Here we have a man who no one knows if he is fish or fowl.
    One moment he is “Columbian”, the next moment he is “Cuban”, and neither Columbia nor Cuba wants him but you are suggesting that as a reward for his drug dealing in Barbados, let him loose on Barbadian streets!!!!!

72. what will they think of next

BFP dont you think that we have enough home grown miscrents to deal with already?

73. Lady Anon

I think you are all missing the original sentence. He was to serve his time AND THEN BE DEPORTED (caps for emphasis – not shouting). Not to serve his time and then be released into a country where he is in fact an illegal immigrant. He is not a Barbadian citizen nor a legal resident. He came to Barbados with false papers on, if anything, a tourist visa.

How then can we release an illegal immigrant to live legally in Barbados because he has served 15 years in prison?

74. yatinkiteasy

@wwwton..so you are quite comfortable with a man who has paid for his crime, who was set free after 16 years, being imprisoned again for no crime?You have a warped sense of justice and Christian thought.

75. yatinkiteasy

same comment for Lady Anon.

76. Pingback: Special Post : Man With No Country :: CityGreenLife.com

77. Lady Anon

My question is – we allow Mr. Garcia to remain here – what is to stop any non-national incarcerated at Dodds on completing their sentence to say that they are not going back, but will remain in Barbados like how Mr. Garcia did. Will we tell them no you can’t do that. That was only a special arrangement for Mr. Garcia?

I am going to leave this one alone as there are some people in Barbados (and elsewhere) who feel it is perfectly ok for Barbados to ignore its own laws and allow an illegal immigrant who is also a convicted criminal to remain here when Barbados has always deported those non-nationals who have served their time.

78. Britty Brat

@ Lady Anon
    “what is to stop any non-national incarcerated at Dodds on completing their sentence to say that they are not going back, but will remain in Barbados like how Mr. Garcia did?”

Surely it would not be setting a president. What is to stop all women who have no house to live from breaking into NHC units in order to get a ligitimate on? This is Bim, people forget easily.

79. Lady Anon

It will be setting a precedent. And I agree with you on the 2nd paragraph – but that has been going on forever – remember squatters? In the Belle and in Rock Hall St Philip?

Unfortunately, we do forget too easily and that is why we find ourselves dealing with these things over and over gain.

80. *second chances*

Have any of you never made mistakes in your lifetime? Maybe you lied on a legal document to get more money, maybe you “took” something that wasn’t yours (it could be as simple as tasting a grape in the grocery store) and thought it wasn’t a big deal, maybe at some point in your youth you tried some kind of drug, or maybe not. It doesn’t make anyone any different from anyone else other than the fact that certain people slide through the cracks of the justice system and never get caught!
    This “convicted criminal” as you refer to Mr. Garcia, has completed his sentence and should be freed from this prison which is holding him unjustly at this point. If Colombia or Cuba would take him back, don’t you think he would already be gone? Who would choose prison and/or a hunger strike over freedom?? In the end we are all immigrants to our lands in some kind of way! If you were born in your country, then maybe your parents or grandparents weren’t, hence “immigrants”. It doesn’t matter what country we are in, at some point in time that country had immigrants who came to stay! Please, don’t be ignorant towards your society and reality! If every person in each country had that mentality, then no one would live anywhere.
    Instead of being against one another, work together! Help one another in times of need! Isn’t it exhausting to argue/bicker against each other or the rights of some person! If Mr. Garcia is already in Barbados, no one has to ALLOW him to stay, he’s already there! He does NOT have any other country to go to at this time. What is being requested makes perfect sense, put him on some kind of surveillance/monitoring system. He doesn’t have to be 100% FREE, he just needs to be out of the prison in which he has satisfactorily completed his sentence.

To Lady Anon; what will they think of next; & all others who are against Mr. Garcia’s freedom:
    I can’t help but wonder if any of you are parents/grandparents. No one knows what the future holds and I pray none of you find yourselves in any kind of situation with a family member or loved one. Just imagine that burden, only for one small second.

81. poor people governor

lawyer

82. frank Garcia

@ Lady Anon
    “My question is – we allow Mr. Garcia to remain here – what is to stop any non-national incarcerated at Dodds on completing their sentence to say that they are not going back, but will remain in Barbados like how Mr. Garcia did. Will we tell them no you can’t do that. That was only a special arrangement for Mr. Garcia?”

Atleast put him in a different facility not the criminal prison. Like I mentioned earlier on this thread work with the family to find him a home abroad. There’s nothing obsurd or wrong with that. He was an outstanding person in the last 18 years. You are judging him for something he did almost 2 decades ago. He helps others. That is of VALUE to Barbados not a nuisance.

ANOTHER IDEA your government can put him on some sort of work release..Where he can do some community hours . Maybe work at rehabs for young men or children teaching them art. He would be a great councilor and mentor to these misguided individuals.. Or just do some sort of rebuilding project..Lets think outside the box here.

There are all types of humane progressive solutions that will benefit all of us. Barbados as well Raul and his family.

83. properfoul

I have confidence in the authorities in my country so I don’t think I have to wonder what is there position in this matter.They will certainly not circumvent the law to satisfy the cries of a few persons who understand nothing about security issues. No responsible authority will ever put there constituents at risk. Some persons are much too gullible in this place. This is no bread and butter issue. This is a serious matter which people are making light of.

84. iWatchya

Mr. Garcia has already shown that he has two talents: Working with prisoners as a counselor or mentor and as an artist.

Give him a job at the prison in the re-integration program and allow him to have a work permit. This way he can contribute to society instead of being on a “free meal ticket” while this mess gets sorted out.

I would like to think that we, as Bajans, are friendly and humane people and that this sub-culture of harshness and malice to foreigners is just a small group of myopic malcontents.

This would not be setting a precedent, as I am sure that NO-ONE would want to be incarcerated for 17 years before getting to live here.

85. iWatchya

@properfoul

Forgive my “troll” behavior – but you sound like a yard foul that does not live here.

I know of many cases where known violent criminals get extremely light sentences and are put back into society well before they have served penance for their crime and are no where near rehabilitated.

86. properfoul

iWatchya
    I am not getting into any personal non-sensical behaviour with you. I have absolutely no interest in personal vendetta. You are free to have your opinion; i do not agree with your thinking. Clearly your interests and mine have clashed. My comments were not to you, but to a wider and more serious audience who understand or are willing to understand issues of security.
    Thanks

87. discredited

I guess this is what Jesus, the embodiment of love and forgiveness, would have wanted. After all Barbados is a Christian country and the Moslems here are a huge threat according to BFP. Christian Barbados with its Christian morals and values has an innocent man who has served his time incarcerated. And all those people commenting here who are against his release, where is the Christian love and forgiveness?

88. Tareddy

They cud always put some trumped up charges on him & keep him here for another 20yrs or so

89. 170

Let him stay right there in jail where he belongs, if Cuba dont want him back why should he be free here ,he is a convicted drug trafficker

90. Close to case

People usually ramble on these issues due to lack of facts. In these cases there are usually hidden facts. He should not be in prison, you have to have a blue warrant to be in prison. He is a detainee who is being kept in prison. He should be at the detainee centre at the airport. The matter was taking too long so The Chief Immigration Officer sent him back to (to drain the prison’s budget instead of her’s) That is where the mistake came. Haiti and Santo Domingo is willing to take him but Antigua and Puerto Rico are giving trouble for him to pass through. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs should use their Diplomat Office to settle that and send someone to accompany him to his destination. Why haven’t they done that? There is a staff member that got close to him while in prison and believe it or not the former AG now PM who know that staff member and would like to know her ‘better’ is not happy with that relationship…….and…….. Does that answer this saga to you.

Legal assistant who knows the ins and outs of the case.

91. the simple truth of the matter that mr garcia is a cuban citizen and should not be denied entry to the land of his birth by some antiquated system put in place by a group of elite persons to restrict fredom of movement to the majority. Rather than bearing the brunt of unnecessary criticism perhaps which they view and shrug off as a passing cloud, they should politelyforward a diplomatic note to the cuban embassy condemning in the strongest possible terms the action of the cuban government in refusing a bred and born cuban the inalienable right to return to the land of his birth.Where are the anti- american bashers who sing the praises of the cuban regime?will the commissongs, dennys, bobby clarkes all remain strangely silent in the face of this blatant human rights abuse of a human being because of the privileged treatment and largesse in the form of scholarshps they receive from the oppressive regime.

92. i ommitted that the govt of barbados should forward a diplomatic note—

93. Pingback: Crime and Punishment: Drug smuggler LIAT pilot gets only a fine for 65 pounds of weed | Barbados Free Press

94. rastaman

@close to case.: You seem to know a lot . What I would like to know is if Barbados cannot refuse to take all the criminals who are being deported back here from the USA to continue their life of crime . What is good for the goose is good for the gander.

95. Close to case

@ not seem i do, i have the file right in front of me. and no! no country in its right mind will refuse USA, on Cuba…I thought u would know that.

96. robert ross

I keep reading that we are “a Christian country”. In fact, where are the religious leaders in all this? The human rights activists? In earlier posts I made various suggestions. Did anyone follow them up? It would be nice to know. Somehow I doubt it – but do prove me wrong. As for my own input. I rang the Nation and was told there was a feature yesterday. Great. I have read it and see that Mr Garcia has a lawyer. Is she pursuing a legal aid application – the Director of Comunity Legal Services has a discretion in this kind of case and a constitutional motion is clearly in order under Ch 3 of the Constitution because of the unwarrantable delay in his removal. I got a priest friend to call the Bishop of Barbados. The response was roughly…’Oh yes, I remember something about this. I will look up my file and get back to you early next week. Meanwhile you call the Office of the Attorney General.” Yeah right. Well, as I said in an earlier post – I won’t hold my breath. “Christian country” indeed. We are very good when it comes to congratulating ourselves when we do some charitable work which makes the press. But we shy away from actually getting our finger nails dirty. Oh yes, and we do a lot of talking. But we remain one-eyed and morally bankrupt save where we can posture about it – as so many do on BFP and the other place. BUT someone made a truly excellent suggestion above about the value which Mr Garcia might offer if we had the nonce to gainfully employ him while our political masters get their act together.

97. robert ross

iWatchya…yes, it was you. Thankyou very much for that. BFP says that so many read here. Well I just hope that one of the big boys with a sliver of imagination does and reads you. It is surely an honourable way out for everyone.

98. yatinkiteasy

@Close to case…If it is a fact that the Government of Dominican Republic will accept him, transport there can be arranged by a private jet.Family and supporters can surely pay for this.Or, perhaps some rich Christian like Sir Kyffin Simpson or Eugene Melenick could offer the use of their private jet for this noble cause.It is obvious that a creative way of solving this case has to be found, as The Authorities here do not appear to be willing to let Raul live here (as a free man) under any circumstance or arrangement.Does Raul`s Lawyer have the offer to accept him in SantoDomingo in writing? If so, this is great news. Even if he were to go back to Cuba, they would throw him in jail and the conditions would be worse than at Dodds.
    Let us develop this idea of a private Jet transport . Ill start the collection offer with US$100. Serious.

99. robert ross

Yatinkiteasy……..If it’s a runner…I’m with you.

100. what will they think of next

To the family of this guy, when he was engaging in drug dealing were you benefiting from the proceeds, did you ever try to dissuade him from his devilish activities?

101. yatinkiteasy

@wwtton…get a life…whose fault it is that he got into the drug trade, and who did or did not try to stop him is not the issue here.What does it take for you to understand that he has paid dearly for his “devilish activities”..that he lost a son at an early age to a drug overdose,that he did his time in harsh jail conditions at Glendairy, and then Dodds,…that he is a changed man, and a talented artist, who has a future as an artist.
    Let us be a little more positive, and Christian.

102. frank Garcia

For those of you that support this cause and like his art:
    Here is a link to his works online. You can purchase a canvas print or just a postcard for $7 US Dollars. All the proceeds will go to Raul upon his release. This will be money to keep him afloat and in business as well as cover any expenses.

Raul embraced Barbadian culture and loved to paint historical sceneries and landmarks of the island.
    Both of the paintings on this site are of Barbados. One is of a late 19th century Swan Street scene and the other is the Lady in Blue which is also Barbados in the old days.

Bless you all.
    And thank you for your support

http://fineartamerica.com/featured/swan-street-raul-coronell-garcia.html

103. frank Garcia

@ Robert Ross,

“BUT someone made a truly excellent suggestion above about the value which Mr Garcia might offer if we had the nonce to gainfully employ him while our political masters get their act together.”

This was my suggestion earlier:
    “He helps others. That is of VALUE to Barbados not a nuisance.

ANOTHER IDEA your government can put him on some sort of work release..Where he can do some community hours . Maybe work at rehabs for young men or children teaching them art. He would be a great councilor and mentor to these misguided individuals.. Or just do some sort of rebuilding project..Lets think outside the box here.

There are all types of humane progressive solutions that will benefit all of us. Barbados as well Raul and his family.”

104. Peter Quintyne

This will have a disastrous effect on our tourist industry. This is a human rights disaster.

105. discredited

Jesus, Jesus. Barbados the Christian country based on Christian morals and principles. The same very morals and principles that BFP says are threatened by the 2000 Moslems here. Jesus would have surely supported this man’s incarceration and the comments above calling for him to be treated in all manner of disgusting ways.

106. Rick G.

I have read many bashes about Raul Garcia on this blog. But lets not turn the blind eye either.

Last time I was in Barbados, My guide and the bus driver kept telling me to keep my arms and hands inside the bus because the delinquents on the streets would cut you as the bus drove by! AWESOME for tourism! I was also told how gangs and drugs were out on the street.

I’m not picking on Barbados, It’s just that I myself have been all over the Caribbean and know how it is away from the tourist points. He could make a difference and will be a good mentor until he is accepted somewhere else if need be. Not once while Raul Garcia was serving his sentence was he ever in trouble. To the contrary, read his letters of recommendations. Although he committed a crime, he has a good heart. He will go out of his way to help anybody and even give them the shirt off of his back. Sit down and have some tea with him and you will forever be his brother!!!!!! He’s just a man that got caught up in a way to make easy money without thinking of the consequences. What better lesson could be taught to him than his son dieing from his own poison.
    What a better teacher than someone who has been there before.

Please don’t judge him. He was already judged and served his time.

“But Jesus stooped down, and with His finger wrote on the ground, as though He heard them not. So when they continued asking Him, He lifted up Himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her. And again He stooped down, and wrote on the ground.”
    John 8:7

107. robert ross

@ Mr Garcia…yes Mr Garcia, you did make the suggestion and it was very welcome.
    iWatchya followed up which was good – for obvious reasons – and so it was to him that I addressed my remarks……..in the hope that SOMEONE will LISTEN.

108. Pingback: Cuba, Barbados: Power of the Hunger Strike | My Blog

109. frank Garcia

Just uploaded 2 more of his paintings
    ‘Rum Shop at Bathsheba’ Oil on Canvas
    ‘Old Chattle’

http://coronellart.blogspot.com/2012/01/rum-shop-at-bathsheba-oil-on-canvas-old.html

110. Responder

Serves his ass right. These are the consequences of committing crime. I don,t feel for your sorry ass. Send him to Venezuela instead.

111. yatinkiteasy

@Responder..What are “the consequences of committing crime”?…to be kept in jail indefinitely…AFTER you have already served your time ?
    This makes you sound like a very hateful and ignorant person, and certainly not a Christian.I feel sorry for your sorry ass.

112. Responder

Have you ever been a victim of crime? Robbery, Rape, Assault?. I presumed that you the bleeding heart christian, yatinkiteasy,and would be sooooo forgiving if crime touches you. There are always consequences to everything we do, my friend. Even in forgiveness, you still got to deal with your lot. Read your Bible. What you reap, you sow.

113. C Dan

hey there positive ppl, pls dont respond to overly negative comments that are staved of thought or analysis. dont you think they know that it will incense you? dont you think they expect you to respond alike?….pls dont give them what they want, ignore them and let them type to themselves

114. Anonymous

My name is Elena Trillas and I am Raul Garcia’s sister. As of today, January 30, 2012 my brother has lost 22 pounds. He is beginning to sound weak and hopeless. To make matters worse the jail as decided to send him to solitary has punishment for his hunger strike. I will no longer be able to speak to him. WHY THE HATRED TOWARDS MY BROTHER??? He paid his debt to society. He is no longer a criminal but an immigration detainee. Why throw him in a maximum prison and punish him because he is fighting for the freedom that he earned. People of Barbados, does it not scare you that the application of laws depend on the individual? I know that my brother is not from Barbados. But despite being in jail for all these years he has done nothing but shed positive light on this country through his art. He has represented the island with an art display in New York. He’s won awards…and all with paintings of BARBADOS. Of your beautiful landscapes and your beautiful people!!! He believed in the system. He believed in Barbados. No one is asking for anything other than what he has earned. WE NEED SOMEONE TO LISTEN!! WE NEED SOMEONE TO HELP US OR HE WILL DIE…

115. Elena Trillas

My name is Elena Trillas and I am Raul Garcia’s sister. As of today, January 30, 2012 my brother has lost 22 pounds. He is beginning to sound weak and hopeless. To make matters worse the jail as decided to send him to solitary has punishment for his hunger strike. I will no longer be able to speak to him. WHY THE HATRED TOWARDS MY BROTHER??? He paid his debt to society. He is no longer a criminal but an immigration detainee. Why throw him in a maximum prison and punish him because he is fighting for the freedom that he earned. People of Barbados, does it not scare you that the application of laws depend on the individual? I know that my brother is not from Barbados. But despite being in jail for all these years he has done nothing but shed positive light on this country through his art. He has represented the island with an art display in New York. He’s won awards…and all with paintings of BARBADOS. Of your beautiful landscapes and your beautiful people!!! He believed in the system. He believed in Barbados. No one is asking for anything other than what he has earned. WE NEED SOMEONE TO LISTEN!! WE NEED SOMEONE TO HELP US OR HE WILL DIE…

116. christian

elena, this is what christian barbados is all about.

117. what will they think of next

“Pinned to top until Raul Garcia dies or is freed.” BFP, i think you better get out your black suit!! You are soon going to need it.

118. frank Garcia

@ what will they think of next

You’re a cold heartless idiot!! You make Barbados look bad..

119. frank Garcia

Sorry for that response to @what will they think of next but his comment is hurtful and unnecessary. He is my dad..Please have some decency.

120. frank Garcia

I meant to say:

Sorry for that response to @what will they think of next but his comment is hurtful and unnecessary. RAUL is my dad..Please have some decency.

121. I CARE

I have been reading this blog for a few days now, and I am disgusted by the comment of my fellow country men. Mr. Garcia has served his time and deserves his freedom whether it is here or somewhere else. But none the less, he nor anybody else should go through this torture. I will stand by those who do care about our human brothers despite where they are from!
    Why keep treating him as if he committed this crime just yesterday or as if he has no remorse for what he did. If he has something to offer our offenders to help them clean up their wrong doings or so they do not do it any longer, so be it. He could still be closely monitored until he is deported to another country if Cuba will not accept him. I for one will pray for him, his family and that no one else will have to go through this as well. I will also pray that the correct decisions will be made what ever it might be.

122. What else would you expect from Barbados, for a country of such beautiful outstanding intellectual and better deserving citizens…Barbados is bent on eld law and ethics. Although the majority are blacks are in the country the whites or lighter staff, still treat the darker skinned people like second class citizens (2011), tourist notice; especially check in at the airport you ever noticed, and this is why most of my guest hardly returned, or never because if you would do this to your own citizens, how do you expect the world to see you as. It used to be better when service and tourism as a child I remember my parents taking us there 2x a year, now the stuck up lighter skinned staff acts like their shit don’t stink and as though I have no right to be there and they and that I may be priviledged to be getting any kind of service from them…wow Barbados never agian, we are trying to sell our cottage there. Beautiful people but messed up government and its probably the wht fu#^%#& sitting on it

123. what will they think of next

“I care” who is going to monitor him, you?
    People dont have any time for monitoring him, they have better things to do with their time, thank you very much!

124. Let the damn guy go, he served his debt to society and he should be freed end of story. If he has to be freed on the streets of Barbados then wtfn??? You chose to prosecute him, find him guilty, incarcerate him there for 20yrs, and rehabilitated him… (PAT ON THE BACK BARBADOS…DUH)then you should be the ones to keep him. As he is probably saying “IDIOTOS” ! On another note, don’t you get automatic residency after a certain amount of time spent in a country??? I mean your justice “outdated” institution chose to keep this man so you deserve all the issues and the backlash from some seemingly intelligent people on this forum. Fair is fair however, and you should let him go. His family’s temper tantrums are warranted, I’d be pissed if some ahole wanted my dad dead after he owe’s no one and not only paid his debt, but was a class prisoner and learned from mistakes and he is giving back to society now, so Barbados you have a saying”YOU MAADE THIS BED< NOW YOU SHOULD HAVE TO LIE IN IT)! The fact that bajan born foreign bred problems are being depported back to your doors in no time after sentencing is why you should have sent him back to the port he came from no questions asked, and maybe you should have smoked some of the drugs he was carrying because you may have come to a better decision

125. C Dan

@ Frank and all, I beg you all before, pls pls pls pls dont answer overly harsh comments pls pls pls, you make them keep coming, pls pls pls they would use you like a sound board…..If you cant listen then take what you get. Could you inbox me at ya.bdos@gmail.com – I just got off the phone with a minister.

126. Mackeson

@ Alison, your comment is biased, you blaming BB justice system for prosecuting and locking up he ass. In Barbados we have not much crime because we keep out criminals like Garcia and he family and maybe you too cause it seems like you are on his side like most of the ones you claim are seeming inteligent people. They dont know what it is like to deal with the problem of squatters and guyanese illegal stuff that making bajans look bad. Barbados is a proud place and we do things to keep it from going downhill with drugs and diseases and bad criminals. So be careful what you say cause you dont know nothing.

127. yatinkiteasy

@Close to case…If it is a fact that the Government of Dominican Republic will accept him, transport there can be arranged by a private jet.Family and supporters can surely pay for this.Or, perhaps some rich Christian like Sir Kyffin Simpson or Eugene Melenick could offer the use of their private jet for this noble cause.It is obvious that a creative way of solving this case has to be found, as The Authorities here do not appear to be willing to let Raul live here (as a free man) under any circumstance or arrangement.Does Raul`s Lawyer have the offer to accept him in SantoDomingo in writing? If so, this is great news. Even if he were to go back to Cuba, they would throw him in jail and the conditions would be worse than at Dodds.
    Let us develop this idea of a private Jet transport . Ill start the collection offer with US$100. Serious.

Hi “Close to Case”…anymore information on Santo Domingo(The Dominican Republic) accepting Mr Garcia, if transport can be arranged., even by Air Ambulance, will they take him in?

128. Donnelley

So true why didn’t Barbados deport him back to where he came from 20 yrs ago, right after they sentenced him? He didn’t rape or kill it was just drugs. Is Barbados a Third world country? Do they have a real government? I think any democracy in this day would get rid of the offender and send them back to their land of origin, not feed them for 20yrs, then give them a perfect premise for a massive law suit. I want to contact international human rights and this man although he did do criminal activity to create this storm a brewing, where are the drugs and who or where were the drugs going to? I saw some idiot say the country doesn’t have criminals. who do you think the drugs were going to the Red Cross to dole out as they see fit, get a clue there are criminals everywhere and unless you can take it when it happens to you you should not dish out half of the crap you guys are putting here. I just looked up Barbados and yes it is an affluent, democratic country with lots of social issues, but this one should be the most embarrasing of all. A movie deal seems like its in the works! I’d want to hold onto him if I were you Barbarians. You earned him.
    Donnelley

129. Dawn Hensley

Barbados is worried about a rehabitated prisoner when the crime there with the Toll Gangs will cripple the countries already falling tourism rate and will eventually bankrupt the country, not to mention the crime will get more aggressive and may take tourists’ and the locals’ lives. Get your priorities straight and arrest the groups of ill-minded men that are threatening your tourism thriving economy and give it a rest, Barbados should be embarrassed at a snafu of this sort. After you arrest your home bred criminals then you won’t need to be importing drugs and criminals from anywhere…how much drugs did he have to get a fine and sentence so large, the whole of Cuba? Just send him back to Cuba, or the USA where he will have to answer to his bulll shit there? But take care of your problems that will threaten your economy, so your people won’t be found locked up in a Cuban or Columbian jail…..the shoe won’t fit the same way when on the other foot!

130. Reality bites!

WOW! I didn’t realize that Barbados is this great heavenly Utopia where there no crime or criminals! I guess they’ve cleaned it up in the last 14 months because when I was last there, Oct 2010, there was plenty of crime. Two different visitors from our group ran into problems, one got mugged and the orther beaten.
    Also, bajans, let’s not forget the carribbean’s colorful pirate past. Yes, Barbados too, was a pirate haven. You don’t see them advertising this to the tourists, do you? What about the slavery years? When Barbados businessmen brought slaves in by boat loads to farm the sugar cane crops, tend to their homes, watch their children, and probably pleasure their wives whilst they were away tending to business(Hahaha!)
    In short, I don’t care to bash Barbados or their people, I’m just stating facts. Let’s be honest there is crime everywhere. You citizens claiming that in doesn’t exist in your country must live some pretty sheltered lives over there. If there were no criminals over there, then there would be no need for prisons in Barbados. It’s easy to sit behind your commputer screen in the comfort of your own home and pass judgement on someone you’ve never seen nor met. I live in a tough part of my city and have had crime touch me and my loved ones. Not to mention I witness it in the sretts quite often. I have zero tolerance for criminals and believe the should be punished! But I also am a devout believer in forgiveness and second chances! Help this reformed man move on with his new life and stop bashing!!!

~Reality

131. Guiness

Mackeson clearly had one too many! Either that or de idiot living in de clouds. Proud Barbados with no crime. Big long stupz. I dare you to walk around certain areas in Barbados after dark and then come back here talking bout no crime. So typical of bigots to blame outsiders for problems. All of them people in de court pages on a daily basis is foreigners?

132. freemason

name 1 part of barbados that u cant walk after dark.

133. robert ross

@YATINKITEASY…I see you have made your offer of $100.00 upfront for the private jet again. When you first made it I said I would join you. I do so again. But perhaps this time you will also link with me and acknowledge what I have said. Then we might just begin something…….IF you are “serious” as you say.

134. 9volt

OK, so i see at least one human out there forgetting the facts.
    bottom line….
    crime done, conviction, sentencing read, time served….and now what should be a free man, held for two extra years.
    could you imagine, resolving self to serve your time, 18 years, hoping, doing great (read the history) and getting to the day and then, back you go. i mean seriously….
    lets stick to the facts. human rights are human rights. I urge any and all to focus on this and help to save a life. This is the way of the future, we all must help in any way possible (to those in need, (relative or stranger.)

135. yatinkiteasy

@robert ross..Robert, I reposted because “close to case” said Raul would be accepted by Haiti or Santo Domingo. Until there is such an offer in writing,actually collecting for his transport is premature. I stand by my offer, and thank you for joining . I am sure that many others will also contribute if this becomes a real possibility.

136. yatinkiteasy

@robert ross…you did say “if it`s a runner I`m with you”
    Believe me, I am serious about my offer, and will actively campaign for funds, once he is cleared to go and to be accepted by another more forgiving Country.

137. robert ross

@ yatinkiteasy…great…..and I will join whatever you suggest.

138. North star

Solution – simply wait until October when the Cubans come here to visit the monument in Paynes Bay, St. James and make sure they all receive copies of Mr. Garcia’s story.

139. M Fenty

Dawn you have made a great point with respect to Barbados cleaning up its act as far the crimes is concern, I can’t agree with you more on that point. But I disagree with you when you stated that Barbados should takecare of its criminal elements so that tourists can come.

Bullshit my friend, Barbados should take care of its criminal elements so that the people of Barbados can live in peace, and tranquility, and not because of the tourist dollar.

140. robert ross

Mr Garcia’s case was mentioned by a priest at 9.0pm this evening (Tuesday) on Faith FM. They said the programme would be repeated at 5.0pm on Thursday.

141. Rick G.

@Robert Ross
    Thank you for the good news! It’s good to hear that he is being prayed for in Barbados. We all pray that he can go free so he join his kids and rest of the family.

142. robert ross

@ Rick G
    Thankyou very much. BUT my priest friend has still not heard back from the Bishop of Barbados – see an earlier post of mine. He contacted him last Thursday and the Anglican spiritual leader of the West Indies told him he would get back to him either that day or ‘early next week’ when he’d checked his file. As I said then “I won’t hold my breath”. So, sad to say, it’s a case of ‘Oh brave new world that has such people….Ah, ’tis new to thee.’ The programme I referred to on Faith was actually about disenchantment with the church and, indeed, other faiths and was a call for us to go beyond them in the name of ‘religiousness’ – the love affair we all have with the divine – rather than ‘religion’ as traditionally understood.

143. de hood

@ BFP
    So, don’t you all realise the great machiavellian plan here by our so “caring and considerate” government? The whole idea is why should our officials bother about this man Garcia? He has handed them a solution to the problem on a platter. And, that is, the quicker he starves himself to death the quicker they can forget about it! Usual 9-day wonder as far as Barbados is concerned!

144. yatinkiteasy

The article that appeared in the Nation last week made no mention whatsoever that Raul is on a hunger strike and may die in Prison.

145. frank Garcia

@ yatinkiteasy:

They were pretty vague on my dad’s situation.
    Also I tried to join the Nation but never received my registration activation through email. No one that wasnt from Barbados did. My family and supporters. Whats up with that?
    We were not able to read the full article nor leave a comment.

146. Willing to take Raoul in if he is freed, just contact me here

Yes he did his time, but when he is free, who is going to support him he is a sick man and cannot work, someone need to do something about the Cuban laws,

147. what will they think of next

Here is the solution to the problem; dress him real nice, clean pair of shoes and all and take him to the Cuban embassy, force open the door and push him inside. Let the Cuban Ambassador deal him with. He is a Cuban, or so he says, not a Bajan. He is their problem.

148. robert ross

The article was in the Weekend Nation. I have just checked the abstract which does mention that Mr Garcia was on hunger strike. There is a very good post (of the very few there) by J Payne who makes the point that Raul has been rendered stateless – and I suspect that he is right. The report makes it clear that the Attorney General is aware of the hunger strike. I could not find the full article – the Nation’s search engine is lousy or I’m totally incompetent. I wanted to check the name of the lawyer acting for Raul…a lady (and Jamaican?) and wondered why she has made no comment. Can anyone enlighten us?

149. love one another

Love one another as we like to be loved. Why keep this man in a pisons ? 24-7,refuse to give him a simple bit of ice, no proper medical attention and a …he non- sense that they are doing with this man. Saddens to think that we says the we all about reforming inmates. So sad, the Prison does not realise that they are spitting up in the air and it is landing in their faces. Thank God, that I no longer work there. I saw the light and shown it. But thanks,we all have to answer to our maker.They are many persons out there in the society who have commited serious crime, done the time, had someplace to call home and there were retuuned.

150. bimshire

You all, have no clue as to what kind of man he is, trust me he is not fit for our streets.

151. C Dan

wdb bimshire, tell us, and tell us how you know cause i worked with him for the past 5 years

152. bimshire

reliable source, all I can say is he is a security risk, yes he has done his time ,but the goverment is not prepered to let an organised criminal mingal with the network of criminals on our island.

153. C Dan

i am a reliable source ”too”. and I say not! how is he a organised criminal, wasnt it stated hat he was reformed, if not why do we send ppl to prison so long, we could as well kill them. If i didnt know this man i would say this is wrong, but I know this man so SHOUT this is very wrong.
    bumshire – u admit the man do he time, so he cant be a prisoner – he is a detainee – well dont send him to ‘mingal’ send him to the detainee centre at the Airport NOT Prison!!!

154. Poor Water

Perhaps the goodly long suffering residents of 7th Avenue, Harts Gap Christ Church will need to go on hunger strikes to get relief from the untenable situation which have existed there for years. Indeed it might have been a blessing in disguise, had yesterday’s fire destroyed Cherry Tree Cottage and the Town Planning Department in the Historic Garrison area.Maybe then the authorities would have seen the need to put an end to this unreasonable situation. What justification could there be that would allow the continuous degradation of a once peaceful and tranquil environment in to a rat heaven and persistent eyesore which residents are forced to wakeup to daily.

It would not take long for anyone to discover that there is little sympathy to be found among residents in all of Harts Gap and the surrounding areas as a result of yesterdays, fire. After all, they have endured the persistent and blatant infringement of their property for years.

Anyone visiting the area yesterday afternoon would quickly realized that a fire was not enough to bring an end to the situation. The stated resolve to rebuild on the same spot, as quoted in today press, flies in the face of natural justice. A place may be found in Barbados for every to do their stuff. We just do not think that their stuff has to be in other peoples front yards!!

155. MFenty

If Raul has already paid his debt the Barbadian society, why hold him in custody if it is claimed that he has been reformed? It seems to me that there are diplomatic issues which need to be addressed between the Barbados and the Cuban government. Furthermore, the laws in Barbados need to change in an effort to address future problems of this nature.

156. Dumpy Lizard.
    You have the best plan yet. Get it on the BBC, Fox and CNN. This man’s plight is one hell of a story, and I’m amazed nobody locally has not taken it up and spread it across the whole world, where it rightly belongs. It is an amazing story of a Man’s resilience, his regret at his past, his long years in jail, his constant attempt to help his fellow goal mates discover art. Everything about his life needs blasting out there. What a book, a biography, it would make. Some one needs to get of their ass, and get him free. He could become a huge tourist attraction with a book and his art.

157. Mac

The Nation finally get there with the story today, a week after you guys put it up!!

158. MALT - More Action Less Talk

ACTION TIME – Everyone, get your directory, call your MP and leave a message with Raul Garcia in it…… Parliamentary group meeting soon

159. I CARE

Has any body seen this? And some Barbadians have just ranted about how we don’t have crime! This is a multi crime! From our law men who let this criminal go to the law men who are making a criminal of some one served his time. God help us. Lets not be blinded. Lets concentrate on keeping those who are really tarnishing our home. Where is the justice and our morals!

Crime and Punishment: Drug smuggler LIAT pilot gets only a fine for 65 pounds of weed

Now there are no excuses!!!!

160. Jesus

Jesus Jesus. Christian Barbados with its Christian morals and principles. This is what is done in Christian Barbados where the less than 1% of Muslims are such a threat to Christian Barbados’ way of life. Jesus Jesus.

161. CC

I’m so disappointed how the government is running this country seems like its all about money for some politicians. The man spend his time and I have meet this man raul and he is no danger to the country if his country isn’t taking him back free the man and give him a chance until some other country takes him. Only GOD can judge us why are these ppl being so unfair to a good man who have learn if u play with fire u will get burn. Do u really think after nearly 20 yrs he will be the same? Stupse barbados government NEED a change

162. The story on the treatment locally, of Carlos Garcia, is of human tragedy, human and religious failure, lack of guts from those who are supposed to propose, shepherd, harbor, administer, how this island should behave and operative under such a circumstances. God forbid we are ever hit by a hurricane, or the sordid depths of a deep recession, when we find it impossible to decided in what way we could transpose this ridiculous situation, and give this man freedom, our help, and our empathy.

163. Sorry. The above was for Raul Garcia.

164. frank Garcia

Art Against Drugs (AAD)

AAD was founded by Raul ‘Coronell’ Garcia in 2010 after his release from a 20 year sentence for Drug Importation, Trafficking and Possession. May 7th 2001, brought a major change in Coronell’s life – the death of his eldest son by way of methadone (meth) and cocaine overdose. For More Info on Coronell Story click Coronell Profile and be sure to look out for his upcoming book; “The Sunset”.

After his experience in the drug world and several sentences and prisons later, Coronell at 56 years old is committed to sending a very serious message to people, especially young people about the destruction of the drug world. Also, a message to those involved in Drug Trade and Trafficking about the serious consequences for the seller and the buyers. His pain includes the lost of a son, the lost of his most productive years and his freedom. This project AAD will provide funds and guidance to prevent persons from entering into the Drug Trade and help those already in it to get out.

Two years ago, in 2008, while attending a Rehabilitation Programme Coronell met a Part Time Counselor, Corey Lane, Founder of Nature Fun Ranch. Coronell sensed the genuine intention of the group and has therefore decided to commit to assisting this group which will work with hundreds of young persons to empower them to stay away from drugs and other social ills using an everyday way of life program. From prison, Coronell has acted as an advisor to the project in Mentorship and Resource Mobilization and here starts a further partnership of assistance.

Project AAD will be a joint project between Coronell’s Art and Nature Fun Ranch (Registered Charity 779). Coronell’s Art will be selling Coronell’s Paintings and Prints via its website HYPERLINK “http://www.cornellart.com” http://www.Coronellart.com and 10% of all sales will go to NFR to assist in their prevention programmes against drugs and also to link with groups doing similar things around the world. Art Against Drug, Get Involved!!!!

165. frank Garcia

Thats the website..The AAD is a foundation my dad wanted to launch when he thought he was being released back in 2010. He wants to help people not corrupt societies. Please give him a chance.

166. REALIST

I do sympathize with Raul Garcia having to serve additional time to his sentence however I disagree with blaming the Barbados government. They made every effort to send him back to his country…But it was the Cuban government who refused to claim their own. Cuba is standing firm by their ridiculous law yet we are we so willing to undermine/bend ours laws to suit? We should target our efforts with negotiating a result with his home country to accept his return. He is a prodigal citizen of Cuba who belongs in Cuba period. Whenever you start to bend the rules and make exceptions you are going to run into problems of creating a negative trend of becoming a haven for released criminals now what if the next similar case is a serial rapist or killer incarcerated here then what?

167. Dear Frank Garcia, Can you email me the name of your father’s lawyer? You can send it to annaleedavis@gmail.com In the meantime, maybe we can start a fb petition to spread more awareness quickly as time is of the essence. Has his lawyer thought of applying for refugee status…it might be useful to know what is happening formally on his behalf and to be sure we don’t all do separate actions but try to have a centrally organised way of supporting your father’s release and build the support collectively. The press needs to take this issue on and have it on the cover of the weekend papers and pressure the government to do the right thing. My thoughts are with you, your family and your father at what must be a truly agonizing time.

168. MALT - More Action Less Talk

Annalee Davis I salute you, you are truly a Realest!

169. It seems as though one of the issues is in finding someone to take responsibility for him until he can be sustainable. If Barbados were even to decide to offer him immigrant status, what about the practicalities of where he would live, work, survive? I believe his son mentioned in an earlier post that there is someone identified to take care of him…I wonder who that is. Now is the time.

170. fentyml@hotmail.com

I’m speaking here with an independent tongue, because I believe that the government of Barbados has a moral responsibility to offer Raul Garcia a place of residency, given the reality of the existing laws in Cuba regarding repatriation. It appears however, that at this point the government of Barbados is stuck between a rock and a hard- place, given the unprecedented circumstance regarding this issue.
    Moreover, the government position seems quite rational when taken at face-value. Why offer a man the privilege of residency that has violated the sound laws of a sovereign state, even if he has been rehabilitated. But on the other hand, one must ask the question is morally right for the government of Barbados to hold Raul Garcia in detention unremittingly, just because rational minds have reached a cognitive threshold with respect to this issue?
    Nevertheless, It have been well established that Cuba is one of those countries which operates outside the prescribed mandates of the international community. So therefore it doesn’t take a brain- surgeon to understand that the avenue of diplomacy is going to lead right into a brick-wall so to speak. But in the final analysis the government of Barbados is going to have to search deep within its conscience, to see whether the treatment of Raul Garcia is morally justified. Each and every Barbadian who is concern with this case must also, examine his or her individual conscience, in an effort to determine its morality.

171. fentyml@hotmail.com

The Raul Garcia case is unique in the sense that has some of the same similarities of the immigration debate which is raging in the United States of America, between the Republicans and those Democrats. The Republican argument goes something like this:
    Do we reward law- breakers with a path to citizenship because they have been productive individuals; who have respect and obey the laws of the United States, even though they are living in America illegally?
    This issue in my estimation seems to be a moral one, so therefore I believe that we have to search our moral conscience in an effort to arrive at some kind of resolution. Maybe the public can vote by referendum as one of the options to resolve this issue.

172. I agree with the last statement by fentyml. Although the Cuban government could be pressured for denying Mr. Garcia his nationality, the Bajan government might also be pressured for returning him to prison. This is a human rights issue and a complex one. Might one of the rehab centres be able to work with Mr. Garcia as a counsellor speaking from his experience to assist others in rehab…it seems as though he has made some attempts to think about doing something like this on his release. I know that states do not generally accept criminals from other countries and offer them immigrant status as a rule. But this situation seems unusual given Cuba’s legal framework. He has served the time for the crime. Do we not have space for such a person in our society? How do we determine for ourselves, outside of the framework of the nation’s position on such issues, what we think to be the right and decent thing to do at such a time?

173. frank Garcia

Here’s a link to my animated portfolio.

174. frank Garcia

My aunt spoke to my father (Raul) today. He told her he’ll start eating when freed or moved out of the criminal facility. He does not want to be treated as if he is still serving a sentence. At this point he just wants to be out of jail. Maybe a halfway house while he awaits a country to accept him.
    Somewhere where he has more freedoms and privileges.

He said the Guards are treating him well. The prison staff is not the problem. He needs the government to hear his voice.

He’s still in segregation.

She also said “He is weak but still determined. He does no plans on giving up “

175. Rick G.

First I will thank everyone for the positive remarks and all the good support. Folks, we can not compare the U.S. to Barbados. There is much more pressure on the U.S. than Barbados. Prisoners in the U.S. are moved to different types of facilities as they serve time. And immigrants are not treated like convicts if they cannot be deported. If they are treated any different the Human Rights will be all over it. I’m not trying to put down Barbados, it’s just not the same. I pray that this does not happen to any of your family or friends, but if it does you will remember Raul Coronell Garcia.

176. Newbie

F- Fooled around with crime and served his time,
    R- Raul regretted the strife he brought into his life,
    E- Earned respect from others trying to make amends
    E- Everyone one of us needs to see a fair and just END.

R- Raul deserves to be a free man today
    A- A decade? no two, he was made to pay.
    U- Unless you have no heart, I should hear you wail.
    L- Let RAUL GARCIA come out of jail.

G- Governors of Barbados I would like to know why.
    A- A man of his present stature should be allowed to DIE.
    R- RAUL deserves a second chance to live happy and FREE.
    C- Can’t imagine how i would feel if this happen to me
    I – I live in a place supposedly CHRISTIAN with a passion.
    A- A RIGHT thing to do, MAKE RAUL’S FREEDOM A MISSION.

FREE RAUL GARCIA ON STRICTLY HUMANITARIAN GROUNDS!!!!!!!

177. MALT - More Action Less Talk

Excellent Newbie

178. 65

Letters, e-mails, calls, etc should also be sent to the embassy, after all they are the ones that have to answer to Mr. Garcia no Barbados, pressure has to be put on Cuba. It will be very sad if something happens to Mr. Garcia but I feel that he and his family are not being fair to Barbados by portraying the island as an inhumane country. he already fled USA to Colombia. Let him out and who knows? he may do it again. Barbados is only getting the bad reputation.

Embassy of Cuba in Barbados
    Palm View, Erdiston Drive
    St. Michael.
    Phone: (246) 435-2769
    (246) 435-27
    Fax: (246) 435-2534
    Email: embajadadecuba@sunbeach.net
    embacubaclg@sunbeach.net

Mrs Lissette Bárbara Pérez Pérez, Ambassador.

“El que se busca el mal por si solo, se va al infierno a quejar”

179. Posh

We need electronic monitoring. Release him and monitor him. The man is a great artists, he can support himself through his painting sales. He’s sold many already and has thousands of dollars from the sales. Imagine how much he could do by selling more. Is this not what we wanted prison for? To rehab people? now they are rehabed we keep them? We let go a trusted pilot who flew in drugs with only a fine because he is father is a minister in st vincent.

Yet we keep poor rauol for 15+years.

People break into housing units. I am sure we got space for poor raoul who would contribute more to this society than some scally wags out there.

180. Posh

We fucking released two murderers from prison recently. Raoul has served more than half of the time the murderers were in prison.

181. Mark Fenty

Many if not most would agree that the Raul Garcia situation have placed in the hands of Barbadian government a ticking time-bomb waiting to explore. But of course, it is quite possible I hope that this case is going to prick the collective conscience of the Barbadian masses, and in the process prompt them to demand a permanent resolution.

Now given the recalcitrant stance that the government of Cuban has taken thus far, it only seems quite logical that the government of Barbados must unilaterally; draw on all of its juristic resources in an effort to dispense some form of justice for Mr. Garcia.

But, let’s us say for all intents and purposes, that the Cuban government remains inflexible in its decision to allow Mr. Garcia to repatriate to the land of his birth. And the government of Barbados remain paralyzed in a common state of ignorance, by adhering to the shortsighted immigration laws which constraint Mr. Garcia ability to move on with his life. Can we then honestly argue that the actions of the Barbadian government are justified?

Some have argued that the government shouldn’t be blamed for the unforeseeable circumstances, which has arisen for this case. But, I’m afraid to say I can’t follow this line of reasoning, because I believe that ball is in the court of the Barbadian government, and the choice the government ought to make is quite clear in my estimation. Either keep Mr. Garcia in custody indefinitely or offer him residency immediately.

Finally, I’ve argued that the decision to keep Mr. Garcia in custody, or grant him residency is one of a moral nature. I know that in this era of modern moral enlightenment, it seems quite alienate for a sovereign government to reward an individual, who has contravened the sound laws of the states. But correct if I’m wrong, but I don’t think that I am, haven’t it been shown through empirical evidence that Mr. Garcia has been rehabilitated? Nevertheless, it remains true to say that this case reaches across the prescribed mandate of the Barbados Jurisprudence.

182. Enough

All of this nonsense about Cuba being to blame and the constant speculation about what he may or may not do on his release is very overbearing. We must realise that only he who wears the shoe truly feels the squeeze and trust me as one who would have worn shoes that have squeezed in the past it is very painful..

Judgmental attitudes will do nothing to free this man from his plight. Raul Garcia served 17 years for a crime and is yet to be released. Though 17 years ago his mind was clearly in the wrong place nobody knows what kind of man he is now, people change. While it is accepted that he may not have changed we don’t know that for sure and as such we cannot punish him based on speculation. We all know what hey say about ass/umptions.

Mr Garcia has a fundamental right to freedom as is enshrined in the Constitution of Barbados. And as far as I know that is the supreme law of the land and as such any other law which may come up against it shall not be successful. This fundamental right is one that is inalienable. It cannot be taken away no matter what the circumstances are. SO even though he is not a barbadian and though he was convicted of a serious crime he still has a right to FREEDOM. I am not asking any questions rather I am saying that I know that something can be done to help this man but enough is not being done. To many he is just another criminal and it is sad . It is a very very sad day when a man is denied freedom.

The lengths to which this man has gone should strike a nerve but it seems that it has not. I truly feel for Mr Garcia and his family and implore the Barbadian Government to get up off of their behind, come down off of their high horses and look at the situation from a logical standpoint and stop allowing the law to cloud their practicality and common sense. It doesn’ttake a rocket science to know that this is wrong. It is unjust and ” injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere” MLKJ. It has gone on for long enough! Free the man!

183. Enough

Mr. Garcia*. I apologise for the use of Castro. I do not know why I keep referring to him as such. Please forgive me.

184. Mark Fenty

Enough, is it because you are insensitive, and lack the proper understanding of the severity of this issue? My friend, it’s only when one standing in the consciousness of Mr. Garcia, and look out through his eye, to see the meaning of life from his perspective, then one would probably empathize with his reality.

185. frank Garcia

@65
    I feel that Barbados government is not being fair to my father. He should not be in prison PERIOD!!! He served his time.!! Please give him a break!
    He left Cuba when he was 10 years old. He’s been in Barbados almos twice that amount of time.
    I have an interview today with a national news network in the US. I do not plan on bashing Barbados government but I do plan on letting the world know whats going on. That he is being held in a PRISON CRIMINAL FACILITY 17 months after completing his sentence while he waits a country to accept him.. Thats the point here! THATS UNJUST!! And the world will know. Specially if my dad dies under your watch.

186. Mark Fenty

Just a word of encouragement, Frank if you want to seriously find any justice for your father, you have to take the initiative to start a grass-root moment, which would mobilize the masses with a conscience in Barbados, to act on your father’s behalf.

187. Mark Fenty

Remember the words of the late president John F. Kennedy, “One man’s courage makes the majority.”

188. Mark Fenty

The great South African freedom fighter Nelson Mandela said that, “When a man’s conscience is aroused he can do the impossible.”

189. frank Garcia

@Mark Fenty, I am working on it. If you have any ideas that you would like to share as to how to launch that sort of project feel free to share.
    In the meantime I have to spread the awareness. A petition is in the works. We’ve been reaching out to everyone. People are listening.

@65 hopefully Cuba responds, maybe Dominica, Maybe Spain,..We dont know if and when they will but in the meantime he is in Barbados. So lets give him the opportunity to be free. He cant get his life together while in prison. Please let him free..

190. Enough

Mark Fenty, if you would read my comment peoperly you would realise that I am in fact going against all of the negativity that surrounds this issue, which is why I spoke to the shoe being on one’s foot. Only Mr Garcia knows how it feels to be in this position and as such the naysayers should take a ste back and try to put themselves in his shoes, and actually advocating for Mr. Garcia’s right to freedom. I am not as you would have suggested being insensitive to the severity of the issue. Hence my last statement of ” Free the man”. ALl that I would have said before especially in the early parts of my comment was in response to the negative comments I see posted here and the negative dialogue being had on the streets about the issue So, If it is that I was misunderstood, let me reiterate my position that I beleive that Mr. Garcia is man renewed , a man who is being held in contravention of his right to freedom and this is something which I think is sad and unacceptable. He should be set free.

191. Cry of Freedom

Congratulations Barbados!

If this man dies because of your inaction and government inertia and lack of leadership, we will all be known as a disgusting people without conscience.

Full stop

If this happens, I hope the international press spotlights Barbados for a month or more

192. I have forwarded Barbados Free press report on Raul Garcia, and the blogs, to Amnesty International, today. I will go back at them Monday morning, again. This travesty of justice here in Barbados, has to be stopped , It is for our own good that this is done. It must be stopped. Should Raul die in hunger strike for his cause, pobrecito Barbados, la consequencias.

193. Mark Fenty

I happen to believe that the treatment of Raul Garcia demonstrates quite clearly, the kind of bigotry that is still deeply rooted within tapestry of Barbadian society. Clearly, this kind of behavour shall invoke the moral outrage of Barbadians with some kind of a conscience. Nonetheless, when one take a penetrate view deep within the ethos of the Barbadian society. One discovers the kind of nationalism that is impregnated with bigotry, and intolerance, for those people who aren’t party to the cultural and social matrix which reflects our national identity.

But of course, some would argue, or dismiss my opinion as mere speculation predicted upon hypothetical possibilities. But, I would argue fact that I’m more certain of this reality than my two feet, given the fact that I speak the language, and understand the traditions, and psychology of Barbadian people.

Finally, it undermines the moral integrity of the state, when an individual who has been founded guilty by court of law, served his time and is still held in custody because of circumstance beyond his control. This kind of treatment is an affront to the rule of law, and the principle of common human dignity. It is therefore logical to conclude that unless and until the Barbadian government aim to do the right thing by Raul Garcia; it is going to be forever viewed as a nation grounded in bigotry, and partiality in my opinion.

194. Mark Fenty

Frank, I’ve tried to sign the petition, but I am not certain if my information went through, Keep the fight going my friend.

195. ac

Mark i know that you might be at your wits end and frustrated at the justice system. but pleas don’t use a broad brush to paint all barbadians as bigotedfor that is not true .I believe that most Barbadians are sensitive to the plight of Raul However most of them are aware of the lackadaisical attitude within the justice system and might have decided that their is little personally they can do. This fight is not with the people but with the laws.

196. frank Garcia

My father loves Barbados and loves the people of Barbados. He has no ill feelings towards anyone in particular. The law that is holding him in a criminal prison long after serving his sentence is the problem.

197. frank Garcia

My father has art @ The Gallery of Caribbean ART IN Speightstown. He has sold work. Already his work is sought out and valued by people. Imagine when he is free.

198. What laws?

This fight is not with the people but with the laws”

Everyday in Barbados laws are broken or unenforced through political expediency.or monetary gain.

“The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars,
    But in ourselves, that we are underlings.”

Stop the legal excuses and let him go!

Have you no shame?

199. frank Garcia

…Raul is no ordinary ex convict..He is an accomplished artist and has won many awards at NIFCA and other Art and Craft Exhibitions.
    He was entrusted to assist and represent the institution at prestigious functions such as Holetown Festival, Bridgetown Market, and the Art Exhibitions of Political Conference
    In 2008, having won the NIFCA Gold award, he achieved the privilege of selected invitee to the Prime Minister’s Award Ceremony. Raul Coronell was also among those inmates whose art was sent on display in New York in 2006.”
    He was among the reliable inmates in the rehabilitation group Mission Rehabilitation.

He should not be in a Criminal facility 17 months after he completed his sentence.

He, at this time has no country, this is the problem! The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) is aware of Raul’s case. They have visited him and are working on finding him a country but this could take up to three years. Why cant he be offered a temporary immigration status. If this is impossible at the moment, at least have him transferred to a halfway house or a detention area/center with some privileges?

Is that unreasonable to ask?

200. C Dan

Nope its very reasonable – all the ppl that have said no cant give a good reason – but it was reported here that CNN is running the story, that Human rights have it and also the president of the Bar Association and Clement Payne Movement – an update is given in every news item – it has caught momentum – I just pray we are not too late

201. TheKnowledge

Some people say hes been here 15 + years so let him stay but that’s not it works. As per Barbados’ immigration act :

In computing the period of residence required for the
    acquisition of the status of permanent resident, no period may be
    counted during which .a person
    (a) is confined to a prison or is an inmate of a hospital for
    treatment of leprosy or mental disorder;
    (b) remains in Barbados after
    (i) a deportation order,

Its a non starter.They should instead get a temporary arrangement to house him somewhere other than the prison because I do emphasize with him, but not because of any of the bleeding heart testimonies about him being reformed (rare is the man hat remains set in his ways after 15 years of incarceration) but because he has served his time and thus is being held unlawfully in our prison.That doesn’t mean he shouldn’t be held in a softer detention facility but we don’t have one apart from at the airport, so there is the road block.Perhaps the compromise should be to let him live with the people who they say are willing to take him in (providing they pass a fit and proper test) and let him report to the court/immigration weekly till they find a way to get him a country to accept him.

202. Anonymous

Salient points made here at the Nation on line by David Commisiong about the shared responsibility of the USA for Mr. Garcia who grew up in the USA and where his family lives.
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/comissiongmove-garcia-from-prison/

203. 234

Frank, If the most pressing thing to do is to get this man off hunger strike, can your father’s lawyer not apply to the court for an emergency judicial review and ask the judge to give the authority to remove him from prison? The Barbadian government can determine the conditions under which he can be maintained…access to family members, reading material, the outdoors and regularly present himself to immigration etc. The thing is to stop the hunger strike and prevent long term damage to his vital organs and determine the space where he will temporarily reside while the UNHCR reps locate a nation to keep him…Cuba or somewhere else….

204. allrightyden

He is on food strike, but drinking plenty water, he will eat when he gets hungrey enough,

205. yatinkiteasy

@234 Cuba is not an option…do you know that there are hundreds, if not thousands of prisoners in Cuban jails that have done nothing more than declare their wish to be free of the Dictator and murderer Castro? Garcia needs to go to a Free country. Cuba is not free, and probably will never be free, the Cuban Mafia in the US have too much power over the US Government,Thus the continued stupid embargo that is a human rights violation.

206. yatinkiteasy

People who give up hope have starved themselves to death in prison.
    It is not as hard(to do) as you think.

207. Mark Fenty

Ac, I’m not trying to painting with a broad brush the collective Barbadian community as bigots, but what I do know is this, there has been a culture of bigotry level at foreign nationals in Barbados.

208. Mark Fenty

It has been said that, “When the notion of right of duty, and justice are ignored, the moral law makes it self heard.” I’ve argued from my initial encounter with this case; that it calls for those with some kind of a conscience to exercise their moral imperative.

Clearly, this case imprints my conscience, the feeling that our individual liberty is in jeopardy, when the power at be, lack the suitable solutions to address the unprecedented legal happenstances.

Moreover, the lackadaisical approach by the Barbados government with respect to resolving Mr. Garcia case could in essence; result in deplorable consequences for the island of Barbados, If Mr. Garcia dies on its watch.

Worse, yet, this case also convey an important message, which some individuals of good moral conscience can’t afford to ignore any longer; it heightens our awareness and borrowing understanding to the moral directionality of those forces which possess the enabling means to bring an instantaneous resolution to this crisis, but has failed to do so thus far.

Nonetheless, I absolutely understand the government unwillingness reinstating the residency of someone who has contravened the sound laws of a sovereign state. This practice is quite common in the United States of America for example; those who commit felonies loose the privilege to exercise their right to vote.

But, perhaps the single most important question which looms largely in my mind is this, does the government position holds any legitimacy when human life hang in the balance? I’ve always believed that when human life is at stake, that the government has a moral responsibility to act in the interest of preserve human life, rather creating an atmosphere which encourages the contrary.

All in all, the restoration of Mr. Garcia’s personal autonomy I believe is the right direction the Barbados government must take, if it wants to maintain its credibility in the international community. If justice for my the Garcia does come through the appropriate channels of government, then perhaps in the court of public opinion, and the collective conscience of the masses he will be vindicated.

209. Mark Fenty

It has been said that, “When the notion of right of duty, and justice are ignored, the moral law makes it self heard.” I’ve argued from my initial encounter with this case; that it calls for those with some kind of a conscience to exercise their moral imperative.

Clearly, this case imprints my conscience, the feeling that our individual liberty is in jeopardy, when the power at be, lack the suitable solutions to address the unprecedented legal happenstances.

Moreover, the lackadaisical approach by the Barbados government with respect to resolving Mr. Garcia case could in essence; result in deplorable consequences for the island of Barbados, If Mr. Garcia dies on its watch.

Worse, yet, this case also convey an important message, which some individuals of good moral conscience can’t afford to ignore any longer; it heightens our awareness and broaden understanding to the moral directionality of those forces which possess the enabling means to bring an instantaneous resolution to this crisis, but has failed to do so thus far.

Nonetheless, I absolutely understand the government unwillingness reinstating the residency of someone who has contravened the sound laws of a sovereign state. This practice is quite common in the United States of America for example; those who commit felonies loose the privilege to exercise their right to vote.

But, perhaps the single most important question which looms largely in my mind is this, does the government position holds any legitimacy when human life hang in the balance? I’ve always believed that when human life is at stake, that the government has a moral responsibility to act in the interest of preserve human life, rather creating an atmosphere which encourages the contrary.

All in all, the restoration of Mr. Garcia’s personal autonomy I believe is the right direction the Barbados government must take, if it wants to maintain its credibility in the international community. If justice for my the Garcia does come through the appropriate channels of government, then perhaps in the court of public opinion, and the collective conscience of the masses he will be vindicated.

210. chris mchale

I SINCERELY HOPE AND TRUST THAT THE PRESENT ADMINISTRATION WILL ACT EVENTUALLY AND IMMEDIATELY , BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE, TO SAVE THE REPUTATION OF BARBADOS.
    PUT THE MAN ON A PLANE TO FLORIDA; AND PUT THE ONUS ON THE USA…….THEY PAY LIP SERVICE TO HUMAN RIGHTS?

HOPEFULLY THEIR ADMINISTRATION DOES NOT SUFFER FROM INERTIA.

211. chris mchale

SEE ABOVE…I SENT YOU AT 12.45…..NOT AT 4.44 P.M. ??!!!

212. justice denied

A right delayed, is a right denied!

213. Random Thoughts

The simplest solution is for Raul Garcia to start eating again.

But Raul Garcia is from a sugar rich Cuban plantation family who has long been accustomed to having his own way. In that regard he is not much different from Fidel and Rual who are from the same social class in Cuba. They too (the Castros) have been having their own way for 50+ years.

Another solution is for the Barbados government to put him on a medical ward and to force feed him. If he has no compunction in forcing the Barbados government to do his will then the Barbados government should have no compunction in forcing him to do their will.

Another simple solution is to let Rual Garcia die.

We Barbadians have not refused to feed him. We have not denied him food or shelter, or clothing, or medicine or education, or religious expression. In fact we have provideded excellently for him for the past 15 years.

If he dies that it is his will.

We all have the right to life.

We also all have the right to refuse to live.

If other people can play hard ball we can play hard ball too.

If he dies give his body to his family if they want it, if they don’t there is plenty of space in Barbados’ public cemeteries.

There will be no blood on our hands.

214. Random Thoughts

Quoting the person who wrote “Raul is my father…He is no drug smuggler.

But a jury in Barbados did find him guilty of smuggling cocaine into Barbados.

So you are accusing the Barbados jury of being liars? And yet yu are coming to us for help, after calling us liars?

Or are you the liar?

And if you are lying about this only God knows what else you and your father are lying about.

215. M.A.L.T

the case is keeping momentum, UN is in, CNN is in. The government only has to do, do anything except keep a man prisoner without a blue warrant. On CNN I read of ppl across the West planning to boycott our tourism product – I don’t respect that thinking at all! but my Government needs to ACT NOW! A call to the Chief Immigration Officer from a Minister or PS and issue solved.

216. what will they think of next

All that is needed is to strap him to a bed and force feed him just as the Americans do with prisioners who go on hunger strike at Guantanamo bay in CUBA.

217. what will they think of next

All of this for a DRUG DEALER. Only God knows how many lives he destroyed with his illegal drugs. Who cares about them?

218. frank Garcia

@ all the Raul haters..
    1. Correction..Raul is not from a sugar rich Cuban plantation. He comes from a hard working family. My grandfather was a peasant in his early days in Cuba..He worked 15 to 16 hours a day to earn a living. Eventually his hard work paid off. He was able to save money, won my grand mother’s heart and bought a house. Also, They were able to invest in a restaurant business. Then the Castro regime took power and they were forced into exile. My grandparents lost everything they had worked for..Eventually They migrated to the USA.
    In the US they were poor and had to start from scratch. My father was a young boy at the time 1964. His parents went straight to work in this new land. Even though they didnt know the language yet they found ways of making money through HARD WORK. My father worked alongside my grandpa serving food from a lunch truck. this is how they put food on the table and were able to sustain a roof over their heads.

2. I am not calling anyone a liar. He is no longer a drug dealer..That was almost 2 decades ago. He’s a reformed man and has proven that. I didnt say he was not a “convicted ” drug dealer. I said he’s no longer a drug dealer,,He hasnt sold a single molecule of drugs in over 17 years.

He’s still in prison and thats wrong.if you dont feel comfortable releasing him into your society. just move him to different facility with a bit more privileges

Ps..If I thought my father was a malicious heartless individual or a threat to others I would not back him in to this degree..I would probably still love him because he is my family my blood, but I would not fight for his cause..

219. what will they think of next

Amnesty International today told Israel to release or try Khader Adnan, the gravely ill Palestinian prisoner who has been on hunger strike for 51 continuous days

How come no one putting pressure on Israel to realease this man?

220. M.A.L.T

Frank Frank Frank, boyyyy Frank, I guess you are dont what comes natural and that is to defend your blood, but only if you could ignore. Sadly, this country has some bitter ppl, who call the call in programs and just make comments like above all year long there are like 2 out of 260,000. Do you feel they are blameless – let he without sin cast the first stone.If only you could ignore but I know you cant – so just thank them and say something nice to them to help them heal

221. Pingback: Attorney General challenges David Comissiong: You don’t really care about Raul Garcia | Barbados Free Press

222. I Care

@what will they think of next. Maybe you should be the first!!! I feel for those that call themselves Barbadians and have these negative thoughts about a fellow brother! But all of us that wish for a better humanity make up for it. Continue to fight for your father and ignore the bashing. This blog is to help FREE an innocent man. Or maybe these are not even Barbadians and are just trying to stir trouble. Either way just worry about the cause at hand.

223. Random Thoughts

So now Frank Garcia is an innocent man, and I a 10th (or more) generation Barbadian is foreign a trouble maker. I who has never ever, not even once smoked a spliff, and has never ever posessed even a milligram of cocaine.

What an upside down world we live in.

I have lived and visited in other people’s countries and it has never occured to me to smoke even a spliff in anyone else’s country. And I would have thought a million, million, million times before I brought cocaine into my country or anybody else’s.

This is the standard to which we must hold ourselves. This is the standard to which we must hold Frank Garcia.

Frank Garcia is a free man, free to immediately give up his hunger strike.

224. Random Thoughts

The Barbados Government should not blink.

Let Frank Garcia give up his hunger strike.

He is free to do so now.

225. frank Garcia

@ random Thoughts, I am an innocent man and I am free,,i think you meant Raul Garcia..

226. Ivan Taylor

Since When Barbados is interested in Human Rights – This has been seen to be so evident in other respects, why change what they are good at not caring – sweeping everything under the carpet and hopefully it will all go away

227. Random Thoughts

Sorry Frank. Indeed I meant Rual.
    Your father is not a political prisoner and Barbados is not authoritarian Cuba.
    You need a different strategy.
    Denigrating Barbados will not work (as Barbados has done your father no wrong) Denigrating Barbados will only harden Barbadian’s attitutes towards your father (and you).

228. Carson C. Cadogan

“Cuba rejects international criticism of dissident’s death ”

(HAVANA) – Cuba rejected international criticism of the death of an imprisoned dissident after a hunger strike, saying its critics in Spain, the European Union and the United States did not have “the least authority to judge Cuba.”

Wilmar Villar, 31, died on Thursday in Santiago, Cuba after a 50-day hunger strike to protest his imprisonment. He was the second dissident to die in Cuba after going on a hunger strike in less than two years

http://www.eubusiness.com/news-eu/cuba-politics.eok

229. Mark Fenty

Ac, in the theater of life we all see the truth from different angles of vision, and that is why we cannot afford to view with a literal strictness any giving situation. I’ve read what you have said thus far, and quite frankly, I categorically disagree with your misrepresentation of my comment. However, even though I disagree with your position, I nonetheless respect your right express it even if it is unfounded.

Now, first and foremost, in view of what you have said regarding my comment on bigotry so far. I think that it is fundamentally unintelligible; for anyone in their rational mind to assume that there aren’t exceptions to the general rule.In spite of that, one does not have to look hard to discover that the time honored tradition of bigotry, was shaped by the forces within Barbadian culture. And whether we accept it or not, we all are unconsciously influenced by the social dynamic of modern culture.
    Furthermore, my intentions here weren’t to color with a broad brush the collective Barbadian populace with an attitude of bigotry. I was merely expressing a personal opinion, predicted upon my individual experience.
    Also, I don’t know how to express this in a stronger manner, but would you agree with me when I say, that we as a people still entertain feels of intolerance for our Caribbean neighbors to some extent?

For example, if we examine meticulously, the number of foreign nationals in positions influence in Barbados. I’m quite certain that we would be able to count on one hand, the number of these people. Furthermore, I bear witness to the fact that as a young man growing between two major institutions, the District A Police Station, and the prison
    I have never seen nor heard in all my years of associating with individuals from both institutions, foreign nationals employed in either institution. They may have served time there, but never had they work in either institution as far as I know. Nevertheless, one also must take into account the fact that a large population of foreign nationals living in close proximity to both institutions.

.For anyone to say to me that this doesn’t exist at all in our culture is like telling me that a cow is horse without horns. I’m well aware of the fact that xenophobia exits in practically every human culture on the face of this earth, and the island of Barbados is no exception. Finally it is interesting to note that when I lived Caribbean nationals, many of them express their dislike for the way there were being treated by some Barbadians.

230. Pingback: Freedom is a right, not a privilege « Karen R’s Blog

231. ac

Frank in reference to your above comments let me caution you that there is a time and a place for everything and the time is not now.;

232. frank Garcia

Update on Raul,

Day 28 of hungers strike..He’s sounding weaker. he’s lost 30 pounds.
    But still hanging in there..He wants the Bajan people/supporters to know that he loves you. He thanks you for your support.

Also he says the guards are treating him well.

I want tto thank everyone on this blog even the naysayers who gave this matter attention and energy.

Lets pray for resolution soon.

Much love.

233. M.A.L.T

LAMT will cause bad MALT will be great.

234. Anonymous

I have never liked David Commisong, but I admire and encourage his brave public stand against this injustice. I now like you very much David.

235. me

lol i always liked him now I love him

236. roses

. what is unfair is the got nuff illegal immigrants bout hey and them cant get rid of them so them can release you too and if you sell drugs bout here lock u up again. my question is what you really want to be free in bim or free and not in bim . barbados better start getting rid of all them illegal immigrants up in the prison before them country do not take them back lol hahahah yes it funny.

237. Mark Fenty

“@Random Thoughts”
    In a world of connected brain-cells, tell me how it makes any good sense, to argue that the government of Barbados isn’t obligated to offer Raul residency, just because he isn’t a political prison?

Of course, working within the framework of a prescribed political label, I could see how it is possible that he isn’t defined as political prison. But who really cares about labels at this particular time, when a man life hangs in the balance. I would think that the government of Barbados would want to do the right thing, by acting in a manner which preserves human life.

You know sometimes it’s hard for a free fish, to understand what is happening to one that is on the hook. Nonetheless, it is insensitivity in my estimation, for anyone to assume that just because someone doesn’t fit a specific political criteria, that their fundamental human rights should be respected.

We already know the position Cuba holds in the international community. So therefore, if the government of Barbados claims to be a democracy, which defends the: civil liberties, civil rights, and human rights, then isn’t fair to say that the Barbados government has a morality responsibility to ensure that justice prevails in Raul case?

In summary, I don’t care how much seasoning you try to put on it, I can’t swallow the argument that the actions of the Barbados government, is morally correct, with respect to Mr. Garcia’s case, because he isn’t a political prison.

238. Mark Fenty

“@Random Thoughts”
    In a world of connected brain-cells, tell me how it makes any good sense, to argue that the government of Barbados isn’t obligated to offer Raul residency, just because he isn’t a political prisoner?

Of course, working within the framework of a prescribed political label, I could see how it is possible that he isn’t defined as political prison. But who really cares about labels at this particular time, when a man life hangs in the balance. I would think that the government of Barbados would want to do the right thing, by acting in a manner which preserves human life.

You know sometimes it’s hard for a free fish, to understand what is happening to one that is on the hook. Nonetheless, it is insensitivity in my estimation, for anyone to assume that just because someone doesn’t fit a specific political criteria, that their fundamental human rights should be respected.

We already know the position Cuba holds in the international community. So therefore, if the government of Barbados claims to be a democracy, which defends the: civil liberties, civil rights, and human rights, then isn’t fair to say that the Barbados government has a morality responsibility to ensure that justice prevails in Raul case?

In summary, I don’t care how much seasoning you try to put on it, I can’t swallow the argument that the actions of the Barbados government, is morally correct, with respect to Mr. Garcia’s case, because he isn’t a political prisoner.

239. Raul Garcia, it is not the first such instance !!!
    How many people remember the young soldier who ran from an aircarft landed here in Barbados, about 1982, on its way from Cuba taking the soldier and others, back from a Cuban- Russian training camp, returning them to Libya ?
    He had run from such a life, and the local immigration and police, caught him and shoved him back on the aircraft, to almost certain death, or for the least, life in jail for desertion when he arrived back in Libya.
    That is how we tend to tread the unfortunate here in Barbados. I’ll never forget that either.

240. Mark Fenty

“@Random Thought”
    I really think that you’re missing the main point my friend. What the government of Barbados should have done in my estimation, was to release Raul Garcia when it first learned of Cuba’s inflexible position regarding his reentry.

Now we have a man who has paid his debt to society, lay in a prison wasting his life away. Just because of the shortsightedness of men who I thought should have knows better.

Then again ,because a law has been written on the book that does not mean is it a sound law. When one examines the collective human society, one would realize that there were laws on the books, which marginalized people of ethnicity. These laws were written by individuals who were ignorant, not knowing better.

241. rastaman

As I have always maintained,why are drug mules imprisoned in Barbados at the expense of Bajan taxpayers when if they cannot pay the fine they should be sent back to where they came from.

242. Rick G.

@rastaman, He did pay, with time and worked in the prison and the prison also sold his paintings. As a matter of fact his paintings or still on display in a gallery on the island.
    BTW He will be paying for the rest of his life.

243. ac

Correction in an above comment on Feb 9/2012 @ 10.32p.m My comments should have been addresed to Mark Fenty.

244. theone

it is interesting how all you can defend mr garcia, who knew he was cuban from the time he arrived here. had he indicated this in the early stages of his imprisonment, maybe he would have been back in cuba by now instead he decided to deceive the authorities xo all that is is on him.

245. me

he revealed this to Mr. Nurse since 2001, so what to do have to say now “theone’

246. Pingback: Barbados Government should obey previous Supreme Court judgment and free Raul Garcia | Barbados Free Press

247. anonymous 83

how can we as barbadians allow a convicted drug runner who is not even a west indian to integrate into our society ,mr garcia should have thought about all the repercuusions before he committed this senseless act,

248. Junior

Solution:
    Take Mr.Garcia on a boat ride, deposit him and an inflated inner tube on the waters between Florida and Cuba. We all live happily ever after, save the bleeding hearts that will find another criminal to cry over.

249. Lucifer

Hi there Anonymous and Junior, from reading your post it seems you are blameless in your lives and I think that is great. I would like to get to know you, hahahahahaahaha I will!!! Can’t wait for you to join me in my haven……

250. Junior

Lucifer,

Here is my list of convictions :

I suppose all those alleging how reformed he is habitually associate with convicts. They hire them and work along side them daily. They invite them into their homes and break bread with them. Yes, I am sure they walk the walk that they talk of here. A man went to Barbados to help feed the drug trade and he should now be welcomed with open arms and treated like a decent human being when all he intended was harm. I dont care what he painted, drew, carved or cultivated in prison. If he learnt the crafts in prison, then he should thank the Barbados government. If he had those skills all along, he should have applied them to earn a living, rather than breaking the law. Now he seeks to blackmail the government into releasing him with his antics, again showing disregard for the laws of the land, yes sir, he is reformed.

Differently save the fuel man, do not bother with the boat ride, let him stick to the hunger strike and he will fix the problem himself.

251. Lucifer

Hi JuJu,

See u baby!

252. Junior

Anonymous,
    “mr garcia should have thought about all the repercuusions before he committed this senseless act,”

You are asking for foresight, observation, analysis, knowledge, reasoning essentially for Garcia to apply a rational thought process.
    Such a thing is obsolete, a taboo in current society.

Live for the moment because you can die tomorrow and do everything now do not worry about what happens later.
    Check the pervert Lucifer, condemning not of the drug dealer, but the law abiding.
    I also am somewhat awestruck when people pitch their values against the law of the land.

253. me

” Now he seeks to blackmail the government into releasing him with his antics, again showing disregard for the laws of the land, yes sir, he is reformed.”
    what laws? the one that dont exisit for them to hold him IN PRISON 2 yrs after his date.

“Differently save the fuel man, do not bother with the boat ride, let him stick to the hunger strike and he will fix the problem himself.” – Over to you Lucifer!

254. Junior

If he would not be breaking any law by being released, then what of others referred to as illegal aliens ?
    Why would anyone ever get deported if just loosing him to run bout like a salmon tot retriever is lawful ?

You do not release a person from custody when they have no legal immigration status. Do you know of a place where this is done ?
    Isn’t it usual to house such persons in a facility where their freedom is limited and their movements are supervised and monitored ?
    A place for example like a prison ?

255. frank Garcia

@ Lucifer, me and Junior,,
    Remember, you are talking about someone’s father, son, uncle, and brother..

According to this

Barbados Government should obey previous Supreme Court judgment and free Raul Garcia

What he is requesting is not outside of Barbados law.
    Also, he served his sentence he should not be in a criminal prison.

They should allow Raul to speak publicly. Give him a chance to explain himself. To talk to the people and the world..You’ll have a better sense of who he is…They wont allow that. I wonder why?? A news reporter was trying to arrange to meet with him. It was made impossible. I think they didnt answer his call.

He is reformed, he’s proven that.
    There are drugs, violence, rape, and criminal activity within prison. Raul was not involved in any of that. He did the opposite and use his time to learn educate and help others.

256. By the way

hey Frank, Lucifer only told Junior and the other Joker that he was waiting for them to come to hell with him.

257. Insider

I getting so tired of this, Frank do you know why they don’t release your dad? Do you know the real reason. I work at Immigration and what is the sense of having a sire callled Barbados FREE Press and I cant speak HONESTLY and FREELY – if I tell you the real reason all the nay sayer would be sooo shame and I feel they would shut down this site!!! Is the site Adminstration following this? if so, Can I Tell the world or Bdos the REAL Reason – I was following this for 2010 and I my heart pains me now!

258. Junior

Remember, you are talking about someone’s father, son, uncle, and brother..
    I do not appreciate the relevance here.

What he is requesting is not outside of Barbados law.

Why bother swaying public opinion via a bleeding heart story ?
    If the legal case has merit, then address it in court.

Also, he served his sentence he should not be in a criminal prison.
    Again, having no legal resident status, he is being housed in the available, suitable accommodation. In Bim it is Dodds, not the Hilton. That is simply one of the consequences of Raul’s actions. If he is reformed, then he would appreciate that HIS actions lead him to this situation. Talk to a convict, the consequences do not end when the sentence is served. They show up whenever a background check is requested for employment, admission to some universities etc.

Perhaps the target of these efforts should be the country where he grew up, lived most of his life and learnt to be a criminal.

259. The Devil

I am loving you more Junior, tell them more, you nasty boy, you are disgusting, heartless, evil, hey – do you want to be my head angel?

260. de hood

From my understanding of the situation the courts in Barbados (Justice Crane) has ruled that Mr. Garcia should NOT be still in prison by virtue of him being declared a “stateless” person. This precedent was set when she ruled in a similar case before her. So it seems to me that (once again) the Barbados government is ignoring a lawful declaration by the law courts in Barbados (remember the Al Barrack case?) Up to now although the courts ruled (by judgement) that Mr.Barrack was to be paid the man is yet to see any payment! So do we have laws in Barbados that the government is unilaterally breaking?

261. de hood

Correction. . . . . .I should have written, “Madame Justice Crane-Scott.”

262. me

dem want sueing

263. Rick G.

dem want freedom

264. Mark Fenty Sr

I’ve had written quite extensively I believe on the topic regarding Mr. Raul Garcia confinement. And I’ve done so because I believe this case transcends the jurisprudence, with governs human society, and penetrates profoundly within our human conscience.

Many if not most have argued the pros, and cons of this very unusual case. And sadly enough some have used Mr. Garcia’s shortcomings as a convenient punching bag, to marginalize the effort made by others to win personal autonomy.

But, whether rightfully interpreted, or wrongfully conceived by some. What is important in this case, I believe is the fact that a human life hangs in the balance. Now, don’t misinterpret my intentions, because I don’t profess to be an authority on what government should or should not do. But I’m merely voicing my unqualified opinion, because the inner voice of my conscience tells me that there is something seriously wrong, with the way in which Mr. Garcia has been treated so far.

From an outside observer’s perspective, it seems to me like the actions of the Barbados government seem rather precipitous. I could understand if Mr. Garcia was given a second opportunity to redeem himself, and he had made a similar mistake. Then the actions of the Barbados government in my opinion would have warranted such response.
    But we are dealing here with a man who has served his time, and just because the land country of his birth refused to accept him back. Somehow the government of Barbados thinks that it has the moral authority, to confine Mr. Garcia definitely, that’s just not right.

Listen! The choice the Barbados government ought to make seem quite clear to me, give the Raul Garcia back his individual autonomy, and allow him to resume his life as a productive member of the human family.

265. C Dan

Good News – Raul hunger strike is over as the PM has decided he will be moved soon.

266. allrightyden

sweet!! send the man a barrel of chicken, 4 bags of salt bread and some corn bisquits.

267. C Dan

on it now – and a drink

268. we seem to be missing the point. this is not about raul garcia alone but an assault on the rights of the 11million people of cuba except those with ties to the governing elite. the international community should use the raul garcia situation to denounce this iniquitous law which denies cuban born citizens to return to the land of their birth. why are we so afraid to offend the cuban regime which denies their citizens basic human rights? would we like that such despicable assaults on our rights and freedoms were imposed upon us under the guise of some law? it is time for the international community to bring pressure to bear on cuba.

269. me

@balance – I see your point, I understand that the law is geared to avoid anti-Cuba Cubans from going out a long time, being re-socialized, and/or trained and then returning to Cuba and either influence the society with western isms or acting in a way to assist with the overthrow or both – I see there point (whether you are I agree) there is a point…….

270. M.A.L.T

We don’t want promises of transfer, we want action – Transfer, release or deport

271. allrightyden

has the man started eating yet?

272. me

Yup, he ate this morning and this evening – one cup of porridge, water then some soup this evening

273. Rick G.

We would like thank everybody, those in support and even those who were not. I have learned a great deal from all those who have commented. I know that there are many who are just stirring up the crap to make it stink. But I also understand those who truly oppose from the heart and I respect that. It is you right to do so. We will keep fighting to find a place where he could be free and see his family. In the mean time, We thank all those who made this small step happen. We know there are many other small steps ahead for him but we will take them as they come. God bless you all!

274. me

Well said Rick!!!!

275. john

I HAVE TO SAY THAT THERE IS NO BIG SIN OR SMALL W E ALL HAVE SIN PLEAS FREE HIM HE IS A GOOD MAN REST IN THE LORD HE WILL DELIVER YOU MY DOORS IS ALWAYS OPEN TO YOU HAVE FAITH I WILL ALWAYS PRAYER FOR YOU MAY GOD BLESS YOU

276. allrightyden

John you are full of shit! no big sin or small? your god must be on crack! if one of your children was hooked on drugs, I think you would view people like Garcia differentley. The man has no right to be set free in our society. Untill we preasure Cuba to take him back let him stay in Dods.

277. Satan

allrightythen, I agree with you, you tell him my child. Keep up you ‘good’ work and when you are finish there you can join me in my nice warm and toasty home. Can’t wait…..

278. I Care

One of mine was!!! But it was my neglect. It was then that I had to learn to be a parent. Who is to blame? Awareness is the true cure to the problem. Talk to your children, be a parent first and then a friend. Be their best friend so they don’t turn to others for bad guidance! Talk to them about everything or someone else will. I used to think they would learn in time but I then learned that I was the one who had to teach. Teach them to stay away from the life of crime and the life of drugs. Take them and show them the consequences… You don’t have to go far. Don’t blind them from the truths of life but be their true mentor. Our churches and schools can’t teach them, it has to be you.

279. Corey

I care I would love to salute you, I work with youth and I would love to meet you, maybe you cant teach other parents. TEN HUP!! General SALUTE!!!!!!!!

280. what will they think of next

BFP, a Black Bajan is missing, he left Barbados for St, Vincent and he can not be found. His family has made an appeal for anyone who can help, to help find him so also has the Royal Barbados Police force. But I guess I wont see any story about him pinned to the top of Barbados Free Press. After all who the hell cares anything about him, he is not a DRUG DEALER

281. BFP

Hello what will they think of next:

Aside from yur snarky remarks, we saw that story but didn’t cover it. I guess we can only cover so much and there will always be stories that some of our readers want us to carry but we just don’t get ’round to it.

I notice that none of the other blogs have covered that story either.

How about this… would you write up a short piece about it and send that to us or post it as a comment along with the newspaper story web address please? If it’s important to you we’d certainly post a story on the missing man if you’ll write it up.

Thanks!

Robert

282. M.A.L.T

Brilliant Reply Robert! What will he think of next. His last comment takes us to where he was coming from in the beginning. He sees the 1980s drug dealer as a DRUG DEALER. Poor guy. Now there movement there, his argument subsides and he gets snarky.

283. Mark Fenty

My friend forced feeding was done during the Bush administration, when the so call Constitution was elbow aside all in the name of National Security.

284. Mark Fenty

So to forced feed Mr. Garcia is a violation of his human rights in my opinion. Conversely, in the United States of America, a hunger strike is met with immediate solutions if the demands are within reason.

285. Mark Fenty

The bottom line is this; we all share a common colonial past within the region. So given this reality, one would think this issue would have been resolved in a timely manner.

286. Mark Fenty

Anonymous, I know I speak for many out there, when I say that one doesn’t have know Mr. Garcia on a personal level; to realize that there has been serious injustice committed by the government of Barbados against Mr. Garcia.

287. allrightyden

this is old news now, the man is eating so please put up a more important topic, like all the theft being comitted on our island

288. BFP

Hello allrightyden

Today the man is imprisoned illegally. That’s news and it’s morally wrong as well as illegal.

We’ll keep it at the top until the Prime Minister fulfills his promise.

289. M.A.L.T

allrightden just bitter and sry that he didnt get his wish of a human perishing, so sad. Thank you BFP

290. frank Garcia

Hello BFP..Heard from my dad/Raul yesterday. He says he’s doing better.. He has gained several pounds and has been under the care of a doctor.
    They are treating him well he says.
    Now its all about patience and the wait. He hasn’t been told a date yet.

Thanks again everybody.

291. whataloadarubish

That’s all Folks!

Lets move along now there is plenty of new news going around, our ex prime minister / Clico, Crime…….. etc BFP seems to be stuck on saving a DRUG DEALER who is being unfared by our government,

Poor Raul will have to recover and starve himself again next month, only thing is he won’t be taken serious this time, actually how serious was he taken the first time?

292. M.A.L.T

lol lol not a DRUG DEALER an EX drug dealer….but lol lol u sporty, I CANT even tek U SERIOUS myself…..lol

293. Lucky Bird

@ Chris McHale

In your earlier blog you wrote, and I quote ” Tropic Ice is still in business at Salters;………..”

Reports reaching me indicate that Tropic Ice Unlimited Inc in Salters in St. George is currently NOT in operation on account of the Landlord having re-entered and take possession of the property with Court Order for a significant sum of unpaid rents. Is this true, as I have taken the liberty of going to see for my self and I noticed that a barricade has been erected around the entire leased property (former) and security guards have been posted to ensure that no one goes into that property or business, also someone has erected signs on the barricade saying “Private Property, No Tresspassing”

The staff are all outside not knowing what to do, were you too ashamed to show your face.
    HOW MUCH RENT DO YOU OWE THE LANDLORD THERE, OR ARE YOU SUING HIM TOO?

294. UPDATE NEEDED ON THIS MATTER…
    AMNESTY International and UN / Interpol need to know of this atrocity !

295. Unlawful Detainment

Does anyone have an update on this matter?

This is referring to his illegal incarceration, not just his health.

296. 78

Dealer or not, let the man go he has served his time,you should focus on Barbados, for the record you’re the worst pm that barbados has seen, you can not run a country you can not speak and you look like a clown in a suit…
    I wonder how these foreign leaders look at you, please let someone who knows how to be pm do this jo

297. can i have a feeling?

LOL i think that most of Bim agree with you, it is whether they will mind money of pr tricks when the day comes or if they do the right thing and get rid of this sorry bunch

298. North star

Heard Mr. Garcia is to be married. I wonder if it’s true

299. can i have a feeling?

Congrats to him

300. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 UP TODAY A ND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,

We Will take him in , I think we have a the deed to Dodds

It will be the AG and PM turn next, and they can not stay be Me
    Sir Richard L .Cheltenham Ph.D QC and C O Williams will be roommates
    Free the Man Now,,,,, iTS THE LAW ,,, YOU LAWLESS SO CALL LEADERS
    BAJAN FREE PARTY (BFP)

301. Pingback: Barbados Prime Minister admits Immigration detainee Raul Garcia is being punished | Barbados Free Press

302. frank Garcia

In the meantime he is still in prison in segregation and treated like hardened criminal. Like he’s being punnished. He suppose to be treated like a stateless person.
    Why cant he be moved out of segregation and have more privileges while he waits for his new facility?

303. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xsEjvsrmHc “At a Press Conference in Hastings, Christ Church, the former International Judge lamented also how Barbados is yet to file a Report on the Rights of the Child despite such a request made 12 years ago. When the floor was open for questions, Bajan Reporter was first out the gates asking what is the status concerning Raul Garcia and what is recommendation in her capacity as a global vanguard for Human Rights?”

304. Monica!!!

I will pray with all my heart for Raul Garcia to be FREE by Father’s Day and even better by Mother’s Day!!!

At this point of the game nobody cares what he did, when he did it or why he did it. That is no longer a valid argument!!

PEOPLE DO BAD THINGS, BUT THEY ARE NOT BAD PEOPLE!!!
    Find it in your heart on Good Friday to move on and give The Garcia family all your love and support!!!

One cross + two nails =Forgiveness

305. Anonymous

Monica, I bow to you, WELL SAID!!!

306. Sam I Am

Bye Raul! You came to Barbados and dealt in death now you will die by your own hand. Peace!

307. 72

Sam I am, is that a death threat? Your IP address is traceable..If something happens to Raul you’ll be a suspect. The whole world is watching! and listening. Keep it up.

308. BFP

BFP editor here.

Sam I am’s comment is not a death threat, but is an objectionable comment based upon Garcia’s statement to commit suicide if not released.

We find the comment objectionable, tasteless and low, but not a threat. With few exceptions, we at BFP believe in freedom of speech to the limits. If only ‘non-objectionable’ speech is allowed, that is the thin edge of the wedge.

309. 131

No longer “pinned to the top”, I see.

310. BFP

Hello 131

It certainly still is ‘pinned to the top’!

311. yatiniteasy

So, 75 days have gone sine the PM`s visit. Has the Froon Juice kicked in yet? Nothing has happened, is happening, or will happen.
    SAD and unbelievable!

312. Hal Austin

I am at a .lost as to the unnecessary concerns about Mr Garcia. He is a convicted drug dealer, entered the country apparently with a bogus passport, was born in another country but had legal right of residence in another country.
    Since serving his prisoner sentence he has not, to my knowledge, cooperated with the authorities about who his contacts in Barbados were (and are)? How many times has he made drug drops in the island? What is the total value of his drops? If allowed to stay in Barbados(which he should not) how does he plan to support himself?
    Apart from the misguided Mr Commissiong, who are the people making demands on the government that he should be allowed to stay?
    What is amazing about all this is the silence of the attorney general and the commissioner of police. This issue impacts on the very destructive issue of drug dealing and the boys oin the blocks.
    For any of us who has ever worked in the criminal justice system, it is clear in an island such as Barbados that the real drug dealing goes on on the West Coast, mainly by New Barbadians, who use bogus businesses to launder their ill-gotten gains.
    But, of course, it is the small guy on the black who the muscle-bound police terrorise.
    Kick Garcia out of the country and any New Barbadian, even if naturalised, found dealing in drugs seize all their property, on the grounds of proceeds of crime, withdraw their naturalisation and deport them to their countries of origin.
    The message must be that drug dealers are not tolerated in Barbados.

313. 8

I think the message of non tolerance towards drug dealers has been made clear. A 15 year sentence is no slap on the risk. neither is keeping him in prison an additional 2 years after paying his dues.
    In total its 17 years locked up, that is a huge chunk of time. Almost a quarter of your life. That alone is discouraging to an aspiring drug dealer Don’t you think?

I dont see how doing the right thing and moving him out of prison will send the wrong message to the drug lords. Do you really think leaving him locked up is going to reduce drug related crimes? No..Instead your demonstrating a rigid opposition to Human Rights. This is the wrong message.

314. Elizabeth Juanita Campbell

I WONDER WHAT WOULD BE THE POSITION, SHOULD MR. GARCIA MARRY ME. I AM A BARBADIAN AND I HAVE TAKN A DEEP INTEREST IN THIS HUMAN RIGHTS CASE, NOT TO MENTION AN INTERST AND AFFECTION (FROM AFAR OF MR. GARCIA WHOM I BELIEVE IS A CHANGED MAN AND IS DESERVING OF THE RETURN OF HIS HUMANITY)!
    PLEASE FORWARD MY REQUEST TO MR. GARCIA.
    Elizabeth Juanita Campbell
    No, I have not lost my mind! I believe we have a lot in common, (minus the drugs).

315. andyetbandit

Intéressant votre site 🙂

316. no longer a memeber

Has anyone gotten in touch with her majesty (while she was here) and at other times as to the continued human rights violations meeted out upon Garcia by Freundel Stuart?
    Idi Amin (Da-da)! I AM ASHAMED, APPALLED AND DISGUSTED BY THE JUNGLE-NATURE OF THIS DICTATOR.
    Certainly had princess Diana been alive, she would have commented.
    A SAVAGE IN PARADISE

317. Pingback: Conscience tells us that Raul Garcia should be freed | Barbados Free Press

318. 247

I have not read all the comments, so i don’t know if what i am suggesting has already been thought about; but rather than putting Mr. Garcia under house arrest, at the expense of tax payers like myself; give him the freedom he has earned. Let him find gainful employment and pay taxes. This is better than finding accommodation for him,feeding, clothing and looking after his medical expense. If this is done and he drops out and resort to his old life of drugs and trickery, then, by all means, give him accommodation, clothing, food and medical aid at Dodds Prison. But for now, FREE DE MAN AND LET HE FIND A SOME WUCK

319. soca seven

Let Raul Garcia go! He is being held illegally. Have we no shame?

320. PTgzip

Why should the PM obey the law about Garcia? He doesn’t obey the law on anything else!

321. G27

Where the h*** is the Barbados press on this? It is a tragedy for Mr. Garcia but for the rest of us it is an example that our government violates the law and human rights without remorse.

I’m tired of this being the lead story at BFP but I understand why they are doing it. The Bajan news media has forgotten about this unresolved story as they forget about so many stories. They let them fade but they are still current.

322. June boy

Barbados in my opinion has two choices
    1.) Take a gamble and release the man to reside in the country.
    2) there is a treaty between USA and Barbados to deport the citizens from either country. Therefore Barbados can make the man a Barbadian citizen, put him on an aircraft with his Barbados passport, and send him back to the USA.

323. Loretta Swift

I I do not like the cartoon figure with the man and the animal. There is something very effeminate and uncomfortable. I am an animal rights kinda person. Please return the cartoon pic with the lady, or I shall not return here!

324. BFP

Hello Loretta,

Well, if you’re an animal rights kind of person, then you’re at the right place. You should read some background on who that man is and what kind of activities that he has profited from. Try this link and you’ll understand that our sympathies are with the goat!

325. Justice for Raul Garcia

I , Thank God every day that I live in the United States of America, where do process is that …Due process. You pay your dues to society. Once you serve your time, you are out . NOT ONE MORE DAY…let alone 2 years.

I sit here and wonder what would happen if your sons, your brothers, husbands were in a an a American Prison and suddenly they were not released due to red tape?

The whole country of Barbedos would be in an uproar because of the unjustt American prison. They would claim racism, in human conditions, file a law suits agaist the US Government etc , etc, etc, but since this is a Cuban National it seems not to matter to anyone.

The less we hear about it , the better we all are.

What kind of peple preside in Barbados?

326. yatiniteasy

So BFP..it appears that you have given up on the idea of featuring the case of Raul Garcia on the top page until he is freed or dies. What`s the latest..is he destined to just rot in prison. illegally held? I think its time for another hunger strike!

327. Elizabeth Campbell

CLEARLY LITTLE ENGLAND IS A CESS-POOL INHABITANT (minus the great people here of-course)!
    THE CORRUPT BASTARDS ARE TRYING TO MIMIC AMERICA!
    I WILL NEVER GO BACK THERE! I WILL NEVER MENTIONED THAT I AM FROM THERE! I AM ASHAMED AND SICKENEND BY THE BRUTE AND VULGAR; THE CHEAP MEANING OF LIFE: THE JUNGLED AND INFERIOR BARBARISM DICTATES OF A SAVAGE “GOVERNMENT.”
    MAY GOD SEVERLY, SEVERLY PUNISH ALL GOVERNMENT PEOPLE PRESENTLY USHERING Garcia’s DEATH!
    MAY THE TOURISM INDUSTRY FAIL, AND MAY A GREAT HURRICANE LEFT THEM DESOLATE!
    Elizabeth Juanita Campbell

328. Pingback: Barbados continues to illegally imprison Raul Garcia | Barbados Free Press

329. Black & Fed Up

It is Cuba’s law not to take him back and everyone is ok with that! It is our law not to keep him and everybody got a problem with that!!! He was on the run for the same drugs that he got caught with here!! If he had any plans of stopping, he would have done that the first time he had a run in with the law. I am sorry, I cannot agree to let him stay here. It is people like him who has our children caught up in this drugs trade!!! He claims to be an artist. He should have focused on that instead of drugs!! This country needs to stop being the JACKASS of the caribbean!!!!

330. Blackman, T.

@Black & Fed Up

Your solution is to keep him in jail for the rest of his life? Should this be done with all stateless persons who arrive in Barbados, or only those convicted of a crime 20 years ago?

Better yet, should all illegal immigrants be housed at Dodds until they are deported or their immigration or refugee cases make it through the system?

Do you propose any standard of behaviour, law or rules for Barbados, or should we do different things to different people depending upon the direction of the wind and your mood?

331. wstraughn

@Elizabeth Campbell
    God bless you too.

This blog is quite informative… there are plenty of emotional arguments in favour of and against Garcia being set free to roam the island… I had a hardened view of him as a drug peddler from another blog, before I read all that was said in this one… it has cause me to soften my stance on the fellow, a little bit… Even if we do not have an expensive alternate facility for people in his unusual and unenviable position, perhaps we could put him under some sort of ‘probation’ to test him, to see if he is truly a changed man… besides, I’m a practical fellow… if he really can support himself and help pay some taxes, then Barbados can make the best of this bad situation…

I agree that he did some very wrong things in the past , but I always remember that Paul in the new testament bible was once called Saul and was definitely a bad apple, yet GOD came upon Saul and made him into a tool of good and changed him to Paul. Paul went on and did great good, far more that the evil he had previously done as Saul. Let’s have a little mercy…

@ Robert Ross
    I was originally planning to cuss you… but I guess I’ll have to thank you instead. thank you 🙂

332. 207

I hope others follow suit wstraughn

333. Pingback: Dithering Prime Minister Stuart admits he can’t make up his mind about Raul Garcia: DLP Leadership defined! | Barbados Free Press

334. .......

If he was a murderer I am sure none of you would be for his release! He is illegal! If we give him citizenship then we should be able to give all the other illegal people here citizenship! What about those bajan parents whose children were born outside of Barbados and can’t get citizenship for them?! It is easy to say release him, but that WILL have some very serious ramifications!!

335. ME

If he was a murder, he would have done less time!

336. ME

There are men in BIM who rape and molest chidren and merely get a slap on the wrist!

337. Pingback: Judge orders illegal prisoner Raul Garcia to be brought before Barbados court | Barbados Free Press

338. 234

keep him locked up

339. gee

This man has served his sentence and that was his punishment.
    Why should he have to sign on at a police station each week.
    If cuba wont allow him entry or the usa it is not his fault. Give him his freedom as his human rights are being abused and allow him to try and make a life for himself in barbados.
    Someone asked how many days did bobby sands endure on his hunger strike. It was 66. Please note Bobby sands gave his life for the freedom of his country from british rule.

340. rastaman

My question again would be “Why was he jailed in Barbados at the taxpayers expense in the first place and not sent back from where he came”. If this had been done we would not be in this predicament now.

341. Pingback: Abused Barbados prisoner Raul Garcia denied proper medical treatment: Suspected cancer | Barbados Free Press

342. Rastaman

Has Mr Garcia left the island or died? Do not hear anything more about him.

343. what will they think of next

AS BFP AND OTHERS TRY THEIR BEST TO VILIFY BARBADOS,

think about this:_

This happen in the GREAT USA

Inmate ordered retried in ’80 ‘waiting ever since’

Jerry Hartfield was still a young man when an uncle visited him in prison to tell him that his murder conviction had been overturned and he would get a new trial.

Not long afterward, he was moved off of death row.

“A sergeant told me to pack my stuff and I wouldn’t return. I’ve been waiting ever since for that new trial,” Hartfield, now 56, said during a recent interview at the prison near Gatesville where he’s serving life for the 1976 robbery and killing of a Bay City bus station worker. He says he’s innocent.

The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals overturned Hartfield’s murder conviction in 1980 because it found a potential juror improperly was dismissed for expressing reservations about the death penalty. The state tried twice but failed to get the court to re-examine that ruling, and on March 15, 1983 — 11 days after the court’s second rejection — then-Gov. Mark White commuted Hartfield’s sentence to life in prison.

At that point, with Hartfield off death row and back in the general prison population, the case became dormant.

“Nothing got filed. They had me thinking my case was on appeal for 27 years,” said Hartfield, who is described in court

http://news.yahoo.com/inmate-ordered-retried-80-waiting-ever-since-192257674.html

Of course BFP will not pick up this case.

Anyone wants to guess why?

344. Sandbox

This is ENDLESS.
    All this talk is just about a man,an ordinary man.No different to you or me.
    Have you always been so PERFECT.
    He has gifts of Art and Communication. What are your gifts.
    We All have some Gifts. Garcia is a normal HUMAN BEING.
    Garcia is NO LONGER a Criminal. Maybe you like him or hate him.
    But he has ,SAME AS YOU rights under the LAW
    The problem in Barbados is that there IS NO LAW.
    DONT SHUT YOUR EARS and YOUR EYES.BARBADOS has NO LAW
    We have state organised Pantomimes,namely the COURTS,that Prance and Parade and PERVERT what should be JUSTICE.
    What Garcia is Suffering YOU ALL are suffering ,EXCEPT as yet you DO NOT know it.
    YOUR INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS have been removed BUT UNTIL you TRY to EXERCISE them YOU never UNDERSTAND they are GONE.
    Lets just make a purile really dumb example,lets just say :
    YOU have a legal problem with Fruendel Stuart Prime Minister,DO YOU ever believe that FIRST you would EVER get a hearing ,it would get to Court,,if by some miracle it did,would you EVER expect a FAIR TRIAL.
    BY now you laughing and stupsin me outa the place,”what I some Kinda Idjit”
    BUT FOR YOU AND ME it is REALLY NO laughing matter.
    This Garcia thing is REALLY about YOU AND ME.
    You MUST take it PERSONALLY.
    Why you feel that NO LAW FOR HIM
    makes there STILL ANY LAW for YOU.
    This GARCIA matter is NOT about GARCIA it is about our RIGHTS to live as FREE men on the little ROCK called Barbados.
    This matter should fill you with FEAR,you are ALL Equally vulnerable to the Totally misuse of LAW by FRuendel Stuart, DPP Charles Leacock, The Judges,and all those who support this TOTALLY CORRUPT SYSTEM.
    Maybe our ancestors wore SHACKLES so long that it has some way it got into our Genes,we dont feel good unless we under domination from SOMEBODY. You LIKE TO BE WITHOUT RIGHTS??
    GARCIA IS YOU just in a DIFFERENT SKIN,his suffering is YOUR suffering ,NO RIGHTS for HIM , means NO RIGHTS for you.
    Pick up the PHONE iTS FREE.Call and ask The NATION the ADVOCATE,why they MOUTHS SHUT .Make noise, get out there shouting.IT AINT about GARCIA its ABOUT YOUR FREEDOM!!!

The Biggest Oppressor of Freedom in Barbados at this moment is DPP CHARLES LEACOCK, Liar, Perverter of law, Supressor of Human rights.
    He should go as a start,he aint nothing but a paid Guyanese Yardfowl.BUT haveing the POWER of LIFE and DEATH over BAJUNS.
    Garcia is the TIPPING POINT,he is THE POINT where we say .NO MORE .ENOUGH is ENOUGH we GONE past the POINT where we take this S**T any longer.

345. 130

He served his time so let him be freed and if they have a problem with him throw him in a boat and send him back to Cuba

346. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

We will still take him , We went to the Nations Paper yesterday and also to his lawyers office , The lawyer did not call back as yet.
    alex.alex99@gmail.com

347. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

frank Garcia@ page 6 SATURDAY SUN FORMER MARINE OFFERS TO TAKE GARCIA.

348. Mark Fenty

One begins to wonder why hasn’t the ill- treatment of Mr. Garcia, at the hands of the Barbados government, pricked the collective- conscience of the Barbados populace and mobilized them into action. This inaction however, raises serious questions, as to the principles, values, and convictions which dictates the collective- conscience of the Barbados populace. Because it becomes a big concern when the collective conscience of a nation, has been desensitized to the improprieties of they government. Obviously, the actions of the Barbados government with respect to the treatment of Mr. Garcia, not only reflects its moral turpitudes, but more importantly, the inactions of the Barbadian populace certainly validate the government conduct with respect to Mr. Garcia predicament. Now, the predicament Mr. Garica finds himself in deserves a quick solution on the part of the Barbados governemt, so therefore, it is not fair to Mr. Garcia for the government of Barbados to relies on others nations to solves their problem. Yes, we all can agree that Mr. Garica case is an happenstance of a very rare nature, but it also calls for an inventive solution, of which the Barbados government seems rather incapable achieving at this point.

349. Mark Fenty

I am always fill with an emotion that words cannot express, whenever there is an grotesque miscarriage of justice of the magnitude, as we have seen in the Garcia case. You know, I may not have the eloquence of diction, the poetry of inventive imagination, nor the brilliance of metaphor as some here. But, what I do know is this, my conscience tells me that there is something seriously wrong with respect to the treatment Mr. Garcia, has suffered at the hands of an unbending government. One would have thought that in the court of public opinion, that Mr. Garcia would have been obviously vindicated by now, and also rational minds would have thought that Mr. Garica case would have gained a wider public acceptance in Barbados at his point. So that is why the very behavior on the part of the Barbadian populace, has led me to question the principles, values, and convictions which governed their collective psychological apparatus.

Finally, President Abraham Lincoln said long ago, that we the people forms the institution of government, and it is therefore up to us to effectuate the right kind of change, in the institution of government whenever there is wrong doings . An injustice of this nature should have evoked the moral, social, and political, outrage of a conscious populace, one would think. But, obviously, the majority of the people in Barbados can see no wrong with respect to the way Mr. Garcia has been and continues to be treated at the hands of the Barbados government. I think that we all can agree that there needs to be serious consequences for people who think that their can contravened the laws of Barbados and get away with it. Now,with that being said, I think that the message has been sent very clearly in this case, and therefore the time has come where the government of Barabdos needs to return to Mr. Garcia his personal autonomy. Obviously, those who commands the highest in our land are sent there to make the difficult decisions. But, there has been an abdication, I’m afraid to say in the decision making process in the political institution in Barbados. The wrong doings of a government also reflects the national attidude of the people, if their remain proactive in the face of such improprieties. This kind of conduct on the part of government eats away at that the national character of a people, if it is allowed to continue unchallenged.

350. Mark Fenty

We certainly have to be cognizant of the fact, that when a government curtails the liberty of any of its citizens, that it certainly poses a direct threat to the liberty of all of its citizens. The actions of the Barbados government with respect to the treatment of Mr. Garcia, obviously sets the wrong precedent for the government of Barbados, its people, and the wider Caribbean in general. Because if we the people, permit a government to trample on the liberty of anyone of its citizens, it certainly sends the message that it can do it to all of its citizens, but this is only possible if the masses remaines unmoved in their collective will to take action against the wrong doings of such government. And this has undoubtedly occured in the Mr. Garcia case, because I believe that there should have been a greater public outcry for Mr. Garcia, irrespective of the crimes his has committed in Barbados, and the fact that he isn’t a Barbadian national.

Moreover, whether rightfully conceived or wrongfully interpreted, unfortunately, Mr. Garcia liberty impinges upon the liberty of all Barbadians, because his treatment at the hands at the Barbados government sets the precedent for future Barbadians who are accuse of the such crimes. It clearly appears to me, like there is a complacency in the collective conscience of the Barbadian masses, that somehow believes that this kind of treatment cannot happen to them because their are Barbadians citizens. Their obviously, thinks that such treatment is reserved for non-national such as Mr. Garcia. The Moral Imperative that Emanual Kant articulated so eloquently in his philosophy, should have compel all of us take action wherever there an injustice. We certainly, must take some time to examine meticulously, our moral conscience with respect to the actions which has transpired in the Garica case. And as we contemplate the facts and factors of this very unique case, hopefully we will be able to arrive the correct judgment.

I am calling on the people of Barbados to examine they moral conscience with respect to Mr. Garica case. Have we allowing our national bias, xenophobia, and ignorance to veil our understanding of this case? I was born and bred in Barbados, and I fully understands the manner in which the average Barbadian view those that who aren’t Barbadian by birth. There is what I term a deeply rooted bias in the culture tapestery of the Barbadian ethos, and unfortaunately this has been the psychological paralysis that continues to confines us in a state blatant ignorance. So that is why it is important the we examine with the strictest of scrutiny, the principles, cultural values, convictions that drives of behaviour, as a barometer of impartiality. Sometime when one is consumed with the cares of life’s vicissitudes, it becomes impossible to find the kind tranquility that gives rise to conspicuous thinking. But, when one has been removed from the daily affairs of one’s native culture, he then is able to clearly understand the principles, values, and convictions that gives rise to his or thinking .

351. Mark Fenty

We as Barbadians must ask ourselves in absolute honesty, if the criminal infractions Mr. Garcia has been convicted of warrent the continuing suffering that he is enduring at the present? Well, I’m quite certain that the majority of Barbadians would returned with a verdict of not guilt, if they truly understand the intricacies of this very unique case. Some here have argued that Mr. Garcia deserved exactly what he has gotten, because he has brought whatever treatment he is experiencing on himself. Well, I vehemently disgree with that view, because we are dealing with a man who has served his sentence. And just because the Barbados government lacks the intellectual luminosity in its efforts to find a workable solution to the Garcia predicament, it has all of a sudden becomes Mr. Garcia problem. This case obviously shows that the present administration lacks the skill of diplomacy that is needed to bring this fiasco to an absolute end.

Listen! I really understand the concerns of the people in Barbados, let’s face it ,who really wants a convicted federal that has threaten the public safety in their community. But, that not the issue at hand here, Mr. Garcia has done his time, and therefore should be allowed to resume his life like any other convicted felon in Barbados. We are obviously dealing with a double standard here, because if the shoe were on the other foot, I’m quite sure that the response would have been quite different. The governemt of Barbados has to do what is right in the eyes of the international community, and not what their think is right in their own eyes. It has been well established that Cuba doesn’t conform to the standards of the international community, and that the United States of America is determine to keep Mr. Garcia in Barbados permanently .So what does this tells us, that the solution to this case obviouisly rest in the Barbados court, but the government seems unwilling to bring this predicament to an end.

At this point a political solution seems rather dismal, because it seems rather obviously that we have a group of men, and women in Barbados who lacks the testicular fortitude to act on their own initiative and do the right thing. I’m extremely disappointed with respect of the amount of cowardic, that I have seems displayed by the Barbadian public with respect to Mr. Garcia family appeal. I often wonder how some people in Barbados can lives their lives, while a man that has paid his debt to society rot away in jail. This really makes question the values, principles, and convictions that governs the thinking of some people in Barbados who ought to know better. Come on now, a human life hangs in the balance, and those in our highest offices have the audacity,the temerity, and the unmitigated gall to play politics with a human life. We have to honestly put ourselves in Mr. Garcia’s place, and picture ourselves in for far away land locked away for life, because intelligent minds can’t find a workable solution to a happenstance of Mr. Gacia’s nature.

352. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Mark Fenty @ they can hand him over to his family in international water and be done as stated in the newspapers.
    We are will willing to take him , We went to his lawyers office and they have not reply to us as yet.
    If his Son is still on line he need to email me with a yes or a no ,
    All we can do is try to help , for this is unjust and have no standing in any law we know. Give him his Free and be done.

353. 185

Finally they did the right thing

354. Now I had so much I couldn handle it.

355. bzcjfklee@gmail.com

So please don’t get it twisted.

356. Anonymous

well he is a free man now and as a barbadian I am proud, but at HMP dodds is no sweet bread they treat you like if you are nobody.They talk at you not with you.You are denied your human rights like one roll of toilet tissue and a bar of soap to last you for two weeks. Things that are being donated they denied them to you.There is no milk in the tea there is no veg and it is grown up there no doctor and if he does come and you go for chest pain or a cut on your feet it is panadol and they tell you that the government has no money.Right now they did not have water up there for three weeks, so you can inmagine the stench in the toilets. These are some of the things that they do not want you to know.They give you nothing with fibre so you cannot stool,and if you stool it comes in little balls that hurt.There is a lot more that I would say because I have been there for a year so I know but I thank God that Mr Garcia is out of there and good luck to him

357. Anonymous

I think that HMP Dodds prison wants a through investigation by the human rights committee. The penial system and the judicial system. They send people up at dodds for some of the most simple things that can be sorted out at the lower courts without incarsaration . They sent you up there and they cannot feed you properly,you are deprived of a lot of things that you need.They say they have a canteen but how regular,. it comes twice a year and then you are told what to buy and how much you can buy.Your money that your family or frinds send you is sent down by the treasury,you do not get it they have to wait until the government gives them they allotted money for the ficial year then they do the shopping. Why can”t the money stay at the prison? because they cannot be trusted with the prisoners money.The thing with me is this Mr John Nurse and,Mrs Andrea Walker-Clarke all say to the prisoners that the prison is theirs.I would like to know if they help the Barbados Government pay the Canadian Government the thirty million dollars every january for that prison. The Barbados government do not own the prison as yet. I know that this is about Mr Garcia but I just had to let the people out there know about some of the going on at that prison.