Barbados refuses request to look after injured Haitians. “Even one is too many for our health care system” says Bajan Foreign Minister.

UPDATED: January 12, 2011

One year after the earthquake that killed 300,000 and made a million or more homeless we take our readers back to this article, first published on February 8, 2010. Also worth reading is a new Barbados Today editorial Haiti I’m sorry! that says this…

It seems like ages since the appeals for aid disappeared from our landscape. The pictures of aircraft and soldiers from the Regional Security System flying into Haiti with aid have also disappeared. Even more telling, we have heard little to nothing from our CARICOM leaders about Haiti of late. Haiti, never known for being high on the agenda of our leaders, has no doubt slipped further down the list, given that regional integration and Caribbean unity have taken a back seat to the “home-drums-beat-first” mentality of our current leaders.

As far as we are aware, there has not even been a regional attempt to commemorate what must arguably be the greatest human tragedy in this part of the world for centuries.

What’s sad about this is that we must all be aware that what visited Haiti one year ago had not been invited by Haitians; and that every island of this region is as vulnerable to such a catastrophe. In the blink of an eye, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, St. Lucia, any of our islands, can be thrown into absolute misery by an act of nature.

Have a read of the Barbados Today editorial and our original article below and you’ll see that we called it correctly back then. For all the words of our leaders and the hours of non-stop coverage on CBC, Barbados as a country did so little. We and our Caribbean neighbours basically said…

“No stinkin’ Haitians aboard the good ship Barbados. Not a one. Let ‘em die.”

And that, my friends, is exactly how it turned out.

Original BFP article published February 8, 2010…

It didn’t take long to cut through the Bajan veneer of sincerity about Haiti, did it?

Barbados will not take in a single injured patient from Haiti. Not twenty. Not ten. Not five. Not two. Not even one.

Our sovereign nation was formally asked by the USA to take some patients from the hospital ship, the USS Comfort, because the ship is full and people are being turned away to die. We were asked to take critical care patients, but if we couldn’t manage that we were also asked to take amputees in stable condition to free up space and medical resources in Haiti.

Barbados said “No”

You might not like to hear that simple truth. I don’t.

Barbados’ refusal to take Haitian amputees is a Political Decision to refuse Haitian refugees. It’s not about our medical capabilities.

Before you get all defensive about what Barbados is doing and the limited medical resources we have for our own population, I want you to read to the end of this article so you will understand that our government’s refusal to take any injured Haitians at all is a political decision about immigration and not about our lack of medical resources.

By the end of this article you will also know that our refusal to take stable amputees will directly result in more deaths in Haiti.

That is not speculation on our part – it is based upon direct reports from our friends at the Real Hope for Haiti Rescue Center where nurse Licia Betor and the other angels working with her are taking in dying patients from the USS Comfort hospital ship.

The medical staff at the USS Comfort and the other field surgeries are operating in disaster medical conditions. They are triaging patients who could be saved under ordinary conditions because there is no large scale airlift to remove patients from Haiti. The medical personnel are having to choose to save who they can save and that means that critically-injured patients are being sent back to Nurse Licia to die.

Some of the Haitian patients are taking weeks to die.

They could be saved if there was room and resources on the USS Comfort. If Barbados took ten patients from the USS Comfort, there would be ten more surgical beds available. That’s why we were asked.

Barbados said “No”

Our government will no doubt point to the Bajan money pledged for Haiti and our part in the medical clinic that Caricom has promised to deliver sometime in the future.

That doesn’t change the truth that Barbados was asked to receive and treat injured Haitians –  to free up resources in Haiti so more lives could be saved immediately, and that Barbados said “No”.

The Barbados Media Spin

Our Bajan news media is full of stories of hope for Haiti; how Bajans and their businesses are raising money. How Barbados has pledged long term support for Haiti. How a few container loads of used clothing and personal care items were packed and sent. All that is true.

But then comes the big lie in the Barbados media: Minister of Foreign Affairs Maxine McClean states that Barbados was asked to take only the most critically injured, and that we don’t have the capability. (Stabroek News: Barbados turns down request to take injured Haitians)

The truth is that Barbados was asked to take in two types of patients: those needing critical care, and amputees who are stable but need longer term treatment. “Do whatever you can” was the overall request.

Barbados said “No” and people will die because of our refusal.

On January 29th our friends at the Real Hope for Haiti Rescue Center reported that the US Navy hospital ship was filling up and that critical care patients were being sent back to their poor little clinic to die because there was nothing to be done and no other resources available.

If Barbados had taken ten patients from the ship, there would have been ten more beds available and some of those people might have lived.

Here is a photo of a dying girl who couldn't get a spot on the hospital ship. Click on the photo to read about her at the Rescue Center blog.

People who could be saved are taking weeks to die in Haiti

When Hell on Earth came to Haiti back on January 12th there were tens of thousands of people unlucky enough to be not killed outright. They are still dying by the hundreds every day with torn limbs and smashed bodies. Many are in excruciating pain and what’s left of their friends and families are praying for them to die soon because the morphine is gone and they’ve been in agony for almost four weeks.

That’s not hyperbole – that’s the story from our friends on the ground at the Real Hope for Haiti Rescue Center.

The world’s news agencies feasted on the Haitian earthquake for a week or two and have now largely moved on to fresher stories.

I have the impression – perhaps wrongly I hope – that many organisations around the world loaded up an airplane or a container as an immediate response, but that’s where their active response will end. There will be no second wave of airplanes or containers from these organisations and indeed we see the reports of food shortages starting to surface again in the news.

The USA launched a massive response and was soundly criticized for being a “bully” by other countries and organisations that sent an airplane or two each, but if almost a month after the earthquake the US Naval doctors are still lacking space and resources and evacuations of critically ill patients then I guess the “ramp up” from the USA has slowed too.

CARICOM? Well, some of our leaders had a meeting during the first week of the disaster and were very pissed when their observation team was turned away from Haiti’s only airport. Barbados pledged some money and loaded some containers – or so the news media says. We’re “planning” helping out with a long term medical clinic on Haiti. I guess. Or so the news media and government say.

I don’t know how many Bajan medical personnel and equipment are on Haiti right now. I don’t know how many containers we’ve delivered or promised for the future, but I do know that we were asked to take in some injured Haitians and their close families. We were asked to save lives. To relieve some of the burden of those doing what they can with what they have.

Barbados said “No”

The above article was submitted by BFP reader West Side Davie, with additions and editing by Cliverton

Here is a report from the Real Hope for Haiti Rescue Center blog. You can read the full report by clicking on any of the photos in our post…

N’ap Degaje Nou…

This roughly translates to, “We are making due with what we have.”

God, in His Sovereignty, is piecing things together in such a way that we cannot help but worship Him. Despite the difficulty and despair, we are confident that His promises and His purposes will prevail in the hearts and lives of the Haitian people and ours as well.

As I wrote earlier this week, Lori was able to work on the US Navy ship Comfort as an advisor and coordinator, finding places to send people after they had received treatment/ surgeries on the ship. The media reports are true that the ship is filling up fast. If there are no available beds, then no more critical patients can be seen. This is an urgent need, and my dad’s philosophy has always been, “where you see a need, fill it.” So that is what we are in the process of doing.

The theme verse for RHFH has always been Isaiah 58:7, “Is it not to share your food with the hungry and to provide the poor wander shelter, when you see the naked to clothe him, and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?” God has always given us opportunities to live out this verse in our lives since coming to Haiti in 1994, and now He is providing another means by which we can demonstrate His mercy, compassion, and love.

We are now receiving patients from the US Navy Ship Comfort. My dad felt a strong impression from the Lord a few days ago to offer the newly acquired land (a little over 30 acres) to be used to serve quake victims.

(snip)

One patient  is a young girl in her 20’s with a open book fractured pelvis,  dislocated ankle, and is a Type 1 diabetic. Any movement is excrutiatingly painful and she already has a bad decubitus ulcer from laying in the bed. She is on a morphine drip and will not survive. Her mother and a couple other family members are here keeping vigil, holding fast to their bibles and praying for God’s mercy. We only have 30 mg of morphine left so you can pray about that.

36 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Building Collapse, Disaster, Haiti

36 responses to “Barbados refuses request to look after injured Haitians. “Even one is too many for our health care system” says Bajan Foreign Minister.

1. Sandy C

After reading this I don’t know what to say or think. As a country can’t we save a handful of people? Ten patients and their families? I would share my home. There must be others who would do the same. I am ashamed after reading this article.

2. FLY TRAP

BFP ~ you don’t seem to really understand.

3. Chicago

I don’t understand Flytrap. Why can’t we take in a dozen families and save some lives?

We’re near the Titanic sinking. People are in the water. We’ll pay for their lifejackets but we won’t take them into our boat. By the time the lifejackets arrive the people will be drown and we say we did everything we could to save them.

4. And the truth shall set you free

This appears to be a letter from West Side Davie posted by BFP

Fly Trap, why don’t you enlighten us ?

5. oh come on

it seems that everyone that are unable to say yes to everything concerning haiti is being cried down.

reminds me of a boss i once had, everything he asked of me i bent over backwards to have done, but the one time i simply could not do what he asked i was met with high criticism.

6. Hants

BFP how come you haven’t started an article about the street fight at george street.

From Nationnews.

“[George] Griffith is totally out of place making a comment like that just to keep the flames burning for Mr Arthur,” Clyde Griffith said.

He added: “Let’s be honest. Arthur is a spent force . . . . If you look at Arthur’s last five years in office, he made a lot of mistakes . . . . ”

Griffith advised Arthur to instruct the likes of George Griffith to allow the “youthful, intelligent and energetic” Mottley to fulfil her leadership mandate.

7. dismanhey

haitians ? …not the sort that we are interested in. rich Europeans to purchase condos on the west coast ? for sure, they are our kind of people

8. Nonsense

I feel fuh dem haitians,I seh dem believe in too many gods.But it will always be we sorry Haiti and Cuba.Communications,roads & lives gone, we sen down supplies,when some could come hay and de same supplies use, I hope when we time come. About da fighting GGrif. spoke facts and dem shud’t wait till dem go to de polls to find Bajans still put families first.Ah gone . Happy new Year BF Family.

9. More countries not so charitable when it comes to action.

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico (AP) — The Bahamian prime minister says more than five dozen Haitians who were detained as they sailed through the Bahamas over the weekend will be sent back to their earthquake-damaged country.

The Bahamas has made it easier for Haitian immigrants already in the country to stay since last month’s earthquake. But Prime Minister Hubert Ingraham says the government will not change its policy toward undocumented migrants found at sea. He says the Bahamas already has a higher percentage of Haitian migrants than any other country and “cannot absorb Haiti’s population.”

Haiti lies south of the Bahamas, and the magnitude 7.0 quake raised fears of a mass migration out of the desperately poor country.

The prime minister says government ships encountering seaworthy migrant vessels in the future will simply escort them back to Haiti.

The U.S. Coast Guard says its ships will also be available to repatriate migrants if needed, but none have been encountered yet.

10. Gem

Hants asks BFP how come they haven’t done an article on the street fight at George Street. GEORGE STREET?? You mean the Bees were street fighting out by DLP Headquarters??!

11. oh come on

on one hand u have ppl saying that every little bit counts and on the other hand we have ppl skinning up dem noses when a small island offers what they can.

a cruise ship donated 1 million us dollars and ppl whine and complain so why not whine when bim do what dem feel is adequate within reason.

12. oh come on

also not only does the state pick up the cost of medical care, the already overworked/underpaid/understaffed qeh staff has the additional responsibility to an influx of hatians.

who pays the costs for security? do you think a hatian wants to return to haiti? then we will have vincentians, st lucians, guyanese and now haitis fighting for somewhere to live and for jobs?

can our bursting at the seams economic structure handle the increase costs required?

think of barbados as your house, you and your spouse are the government and your children are the citizens, would you honestly be willing to allow 15 hatians into your home at this time?
    you have to feed them, clothe them, look after their security and nurse them back to health. all the while taking the normal responsibilities of your children (citizens) now for those that say yes. let me add that your spouse currently is unemployed ( less cash income, equivalent to the economic woes).

13. TheNickster

It is an interesting position to be in, so perhaps the best course of action would have been to forget the pledges and just take the Haitians instead, use the money to pay for the best healthcare for 10 Haitians, the politicians get their photo op, the mercurial bajan public gets to ease their conscience and when the cameras are gone and the news dies down the “patients” can be “escorted” back to Haiti.
    Security? how far can a Haitian with crushed legs run exactly, how many houses can be illegally built with one armed Haitians, Rihanna can’t get her “clit” pierced with out every joker and his mother knowing about it, so a few dozen crippled Haitians will disappear in the our mountains and jungles?
    What is this non-sense I’m hearing.

14. Hants

Hot news topics.

In the UK.
    “Metropolitan Police Commander Ali Dizaei has been sentenced to four years for assaulting and falsely arresting a man in a dispute over £600.”

In Canada.
    “Col. Russ Williams, the wing commander at CFB Trenton, is charged with two counts of first-degree murder in the deaths of Cpl. Marie-France Comeau and Jessica Lloyd.

Police said Williams has also been charged with two counts of forcible confinement and two counts of break and enter and sexual assault in connection with two sexual assaults of two Tweed women back in September.”

15. Caricom is fiction

oh come on makes my point perfectly. Caricom is a fiction and always will be. We can’t find enough sympathy and empathy to help when people are dying so don’t expect Barbados to give up anything on lesser issues like the economy. Don’t expect me to take one dollar less at work because it helps some other Caribbean country or my neighbour down the road.

NO WAGE FREEZE!

16. dismanhey

Of course we don’t space at the hospital… we are stuffing our faces with macaroni pie and eating KFC/Cheffete hence the rampant diabetes and stroke issues… but we have Vincentian nurses and guess what, Guyanese doctors ( yes , that failed state) at the QEH… but we will head down to church on Sunday read the scriptures and declare ourselves as a god fearing nation and wash our sins away.

17. Pingback: Unfair cartoon? The Truth? A little of both? « Barbados Free Press

18. Bad Man Saying Nuttin

All of y’all foolish. people lying down in A& E for days waiting on a ward bed and you want to increase the load?

people get sent back home from the orthopedic ward until beds available yet you want to take Haitians? Would you put the 10 Haitians you take on the floor of the casualty? We simply don’t have the room or the capacity and to take a token number just to make a gesture when we CANNOT handle them is just asinine. Sometimes you just have to gracefully say Sorry i can’t handle that.

19. oh come on

the thing that is hurtful is barbados is willing to help in other ways but the one way we cant help in we are being chastised and ridiculed.

where are the ppl willing to support 10 hatians medically and financially in there household?

anyone the ridicules the government in that aspect should be openly willing to do it in their own house.

20. oh come on

the nickster, the donations wont even put a dent in the cost it would take to feed, clothe and medically care for them. you do realise that our economy cannot even support us efficiently?why do you think the cost of living is rapidly rising? when was the last time you yourself visited qeh or a polyclinic for that matter? my friend’s grand mother had a stroke last year and they had no room to keep her on the ward so she had to stay down in the A+E until a space was available. she then had to stay in a gurney at the side of a cold corrider until someone died and open up a space, needless to say she died 2 weeks later.

try making an appointment at the polyclinic and tell me what date they give you to come in or better yet walk in, tell us your experience.

21. ac

not even i sick haitian soul we can’t take in but can bail out the four seasons project.

22. dismanhey

@oh come on .. Barbados is not unique in offering help outside its lack of ability to take in people… so let us not get high on this. the problem is that when this government ( and the ones before in other instances) can bail out the horse racing fraternity to the tune of $19 million, offer a guarantee to corrupt entity like Clico, expenditure for ministers to drive Benzs ( and that is one that is asking for a wage freeze) then this stinks to the high heavens .

23. oh come on

@dismanhey never said we were unique in doing so, but my point is that we are helping in other ways

@AC do you not want the government of barbados to make investments in a tourism oriented project that will hire hundreds of bajans?

damned if you do and damned if you dont.

we cry at our high unemployment and the state of the economy yet we cry out when steps are made to try to alleviate it.

24. oh come on

please ppl, i urge you that if you have a problem with the government’s decision, write them and let them know you are willing to support both financially and medically and take in at least 2 haitians into your own home to help the effort. i think we as individuals can show some compassion and open our homes.

if 30 bajans are willing to do this they could save at least 60 haitians.

25. dismanhey

write the government ?? should it be regular or registered mail ? why do i pay taxes ? who asked for the job ? . and then you have the apologist tell you , that you must do what the government can’t or won’t do, to show your civic duty. how so cunning.
    what i want is good governance, don’t care if B or D. and this issue exposes a failing grade for the government (current and past ) . and it exposes how hypocritical we as a society have become when we , as a state, with Lexus, BMW et al and oversized houses, can’t make 1 bed available. this reminds me of the Scotiabank ad but with a twist…”we are poorer than we think. “

26. Mobutu

I have great sympathy for the plight of Haitians, but the issue is being oversimplified. If we decide to take in ten Haitian amputees, the logical question that will follow is: Why not ten more? After all, why are the first ten any more deserving than the second ten? Perhaps the second ten are actually in more pain. And then, why not twenty more? This could lead to just enough Haitians in Barbados to start a permanent stream of migration, and then we have a new problem, because the supply of Haitians is, for all practical purposes, infinite.
    On the other hand, we could comfort ourselves with the knowledge that we are actually helping Haitians by doing little or nothing. Why? Because some hard questions are being asked in the United States about how much help Haitians deserve for long term reconstruction. Conservatives are saying Haiti is a hopeless case of black people with African values (the Voodoo Culture) incapable of helping themselves out of poverty. Liberals are saying Haiti can be turned into a reasonably stable society if it accepts a fresh dose of Western values, because most Haitians come from the same part of West Africa (the ancient state of Dahomey, now known as Benin) as most of the Barbadians, and look at how successful the Barbadians are.
    Believe me, in race-conscious North America, this is a big deal. So, my fellow Bajans, don’t screw up and start running to the World Bank anytime soon.

27. Sad but true

You been to the QEH lately? I feel we doing the Haitians a favour by telling them no. Imagine you poor, starving, gone thru that earthquake and get rescue. You injured, so them send you to the hospital. Doctor tell you, foot infected and you need an operation, but don’t worry and knock you out. You barely wake up, cause dem give you too much of the wrong medication, and find out that them tek off de wrong foot, left nuff cotton wool and a scissors in you, and that you end up in the morgue tho you ain dead. And to mek matters worse: you family come cross with you but your mummy drop in an elevator shaft, your brother catch infection off one of the nasty toilets, and them admit you grandmother lost she, cause them can’t tell you where she is.

That ‘no’ is the first honest word I hear come out politican mouth in a long time. We could barely handly Bajans. How we gine tek Haitians?

28. Analyzer

Driving 2 tourist around the island last year, we were proud to show off our island except when we drove by the QE Hospital. It looks sadly run down and old on the outside. I know good things happen on the inside but there is room for improvement. I think the region needs a good hospital. I wonder if we were to make an effort to help but a few Haitians that the U.S. might help us out in this regard. Maybe they can send volunteers here to help our hospital if we agree to take in a few Haitians. The matter could at least be discussed with the man from the U.S. embassy as to how they could help us in return if we agree to go along with his request. It could benefit the QEH in the long run and everybody on the island.

29. ac

@ohcome on

sending a positive message to the world that Barbados cares would do more for tourisim in the long ran than 1project. You could not pay enough for this kind of publicity. Inthe long ran Barbados
    would come out ahead.

30. Pingback: Anti-Obama Tea Party cruise conceals Haiti destination as “Hispaniola” « Barbados Free Press

31. oh come on

did yall hear how stretched the qeh was when it had to care for over 30 accident mass casualty when that bus and mini van collide? what are the ppl that against government decision to not take hatian casualties saying lately?

32. Pingback: Hating Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar for ending the hypocrisy « Barbados Free Press

33. watcher

Maybe we could of got Clico to use some of dem fine houses in Miami to help out that we all eventually paying for.

34. Just say NO to any more influx!!!

Get it thru your thick skulls
    that Barbados already has three hundred thousand people crawling all over this little rock of 166 sq. mi.

I know you don’t believe it/don’t WANT TO believe it,
    but that is our very grim and severely overcrowded reality!
    It was particularly obvious yesterday 5:30 p.m. rush hour in the rain with nothing going anywhere.

We do NOT need any extra people, far less dumbass Haitians!
    NO apologies for the rancour!
    If said Haitians are neurosurgeons, or electrical engineers,
    then maybe Yes,
    — otherwise…NO, send them to Guyana, St.Vincent, other places where population densities are waaaay under 1,000 per sq. mi.

I suggest you guys start doing some MATHS re. each island’s demographics/population levels/density per sq. mi.
    It might help you to understand the predicament Barbados is in.

Let me put it to you this way:
    I have 100,000 Bajans to give away free, right now.
    Anybody want them?
    This superb gift to S.L.L.E. (Some Lucky Landmass Elsewhere)
    will reduce the population on my island to 200,000
    a HUGE relief on space generally, water resources, traffic, bus frequency, etc.

35. Pingback: In memory of Darlens | Barbados Free Press

36. WE JUST SAY THANK YOU TO ALL PEOPLE AND COUNTRIES WHICH HELP HAITI IN A PARTICULAR MANNER.REMEMBER ,GIVE SOME HELP FOR FREE TO SATISFY A NEED IN A SPECIFIC AND IMPERATIVE TIME TO PEOPLE IS NOT AN OBLIGATION OR TASK FOR PEOPLE OR COUNTRIES . WE JUST CALL THAT “GENEROSITY” .

RECOGNIZE THAT PEOPLE OR COUNTRIES BEFORE THE ACTUAL OR UNPREDICTABLE NECESSITY THAT HAITI GOT AND GET, HAD THEIR OWN OBLIGATION AND PROGRAM THAT THEY HAVE BEEN TRYING TO IMPLEMENTED.THAT, ALLOW US TO UNDERSTAND “PEOPLE OR COUNTRIES HELP IF THEY CAN”.” AND ALSO CAN HELP IF THEY WANT”.IT IS JUST “HUMANISM” THAT PEOPLE OR COUNTRIES COULD FEEL FOR OTHERS WHO ARE IN A PARTICULAR BAD CIRCUMSTANCES THAT WHATEVER COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD COULD BE IN(AFTER THE EARTHQUAKE ). IN THE PAST HAITI ENJOYED FULL PLEASURE TO HELP FOR FREE ,WE GAVE FREEDOM FOR FREE ,WE HELPED TO FIND FREEDOM FOR FREE.WHAT BEAUTIFUL PHILOSOPHY ! FREEDOM FOR FREE, OR HOPE FOR FREE! WHICH IS MORE THAN FOOD FOR FREE BUT SEEMS LIFE FOR FREE .THIS IS THE REASON TODAY WE RECEIVE FULLY FOR FREE FROM THE WORLD .

WHEN WE GIVE FOR FREE ANYWAY WE WILL RECEIVE IT BACK FROM THE NATURAL BANK IN THE WORLD .THE NATURE AND THE UNIVERSE REGISTER ALL ACT IN THEIR ARCHIVE AND NOTHING WILL BE LOST.AND BECAUSE WE COULD NOT PREDICT TOTALLY THE FUTURE, GIVEN FOR FREE TO SATISFY NEED OF OTHERS IN THE BAD LIVING CONDITION EVEN A LITTLE BIT WHEN WE DON’T HAVE MUCH, SHALL BE A PHILOSOPHY TO APPLY. FORTUNATELY NOWADAYS THIS THINKING IN THE CARIBBEAN REGION START A LITTLE BIT TO TAKE FORM FOR A BETTER PLACE AND RECOGNITION OF ALL NATIONAL’S RIGHT DESPITE THE DEGREE OF DISPARITY OF PER-CAPITA REVENUE. “WE ARE STILL PROUD TO BE HAITIAN” AND DO NOT NEED TO PANIC EVEN OUR 27,750 KM2 QUAKED EVEN IF ALSO OUR LACK OF INFRASTRUCTURE RESULTING.WE UNDERSTAND THEY NEED TO BE IMPRUVE AND STANDARD, HOWEVER GOD BLESSING WE STILL BE. “BE HAITIAN IS NOT A FATALITY ” “BE HAITIAN IS A BLESSING”.LIVE IN HAITI AND COME TO HAITI IT IS A PRIVILEGE. AND FARE TO BE CONSIDERING LIKE A PENALTY OR SANCTION THE CONTRARY IS HAITI REPRESENTS AN “ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY” A POTENTIAL MARKET FOR PEOPLE WHO WANT TO DO BUSINESS.

THEREFORE, DEPEND ON THE LEVEL OF THE VISION, FACULTY AND FINANCIAL CAPACITY OF PEOPLE WHICH ANALYZE THE CASE OF HAITI, THEY WILL TREND TO CONCLUDE EASILY AND QUICKLY, BUT REMEMBER THE PRESENT IS NOT A SUFFICIENT INDICATOR OR VARIABLE TO PREDICT THE FUTURE OF ONE COUNTRY. THERE ARE SOME OTHERS PARAMETERS THAT WE MUST CONSIDER TO INCREASE THE DEGREE OF CONFIDENCE OF CERTAIN ANALYZE.
    THE WORLD CHANGE (GLOBALIZATION) AND THE PRACTICE OF PEOPLE WITH IT AT THE SAME LEVEL “TODAY WE DON’T HATE TOTALLY AND WE DON’T LOVE TOTALLY EITHER. WE JUST LOOK FOR WHERE IS THE MOST ADVANTAGE WITH LESS PRODUCTION CUST .WE LIKE AND APPRECIATE BUT…AND BECAUSE OF THE LEVEL OF COMPETITION OF THE GLOBAL MARKET ANY ATTACHMENT IS PERMITTED WHEN WE WANT TO KEEP A STANDARD.TODAY WE OBSERVE THE BRICK SINGAPORE AND MALAYSIA, WITH A LOT OF ATTENTION AND PERTINENCE, ANOTHER EYE , ANOTHER ANGLE WHICH IS DIFFERENT THAN THE PASS .AND ALL DEVELOPING COUNTRIES NO EMERGENT ANALYZE THEIR STRATEGY BECAUSE THEY WANT TO BE A WINNER ALSO IN THE GAME OF INTERNATIONAL EXCHANGE .

THE CARIBBEAN REGION IS NOT DIFFERENT THAN THESE DEVELOPING COUNTRIES.THUS THEY ARE IMPORTANT THESE JUDGMENTS AND CRITICS FORMULATE TOWARD HAITI ,THEY WILL SERVE TO INCREASE AND STIMULATE THE PRODUCTIVITY OF THIS COUNTRY IN TERM OF EFFORT WHICH MUST BE ACHIEVE TO REACH A STRONG SUSTAINABLE ECONOMIC GROWTH CAPABLE TO TREND A SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT QUICKLY.

INDEED “HAITI IS A GOLD MINE” AND ITS LATER OF TECHNOLOGICAL DEVELOPMENT, FULL RURAL AREAS AND ITS MORE THAN 40 % YOUNG PEOPLE WITH DIFFERENT SKILLS UPON A MORE THAN 10 MILLION PEOPLE CONSTITUTE TODAY A COMPARATIVE ADVANTAGE. HAITI IS A GOOD PLACE TO INVEST AND CREATE JOB, BECAUSE IT’S VIRGIN’S MARKET. HAITI IS A GOOD AND NICE COUNTRY FOR ALL PEOPLE WHICH KNOW TO APPRECIATE SOME VALUES WHEN THEY MEET AND SHOW THEM..SOME PEOPLE SAY WE ARE BLACK ,BUT COME TO HAITI TO MEET BY YOUR SELF THE MULTIPLE COLORS OF HAITIAN(CREOLE MULATTOES,BRUNETTE … AND BLACK ) UNDER THIS BLACK QUALIFICATION .IN HAITI LIKE ALL COUNTRIES THERE IS NOT ONLY POOR AREA ,THESE PEOPLE LIVE IN A BEAUTIFUL LANDSCAPE,(CAPITAL AND ALMOST PROVINCE), HISTORICAL SITE, WITH WARM- HEARTED AND LIVELY CULTURE, FOLKLORE AND VERY REICH STORY. HAITI IS A GOOD DESTINATION FOR TOURIST.THE LEVEL OF CRIME IS THE LOWER IN THE CARIBBEAN REGION AND THE AMICAN REGION (ACCORDING TO MIAMI ERALD JOURNAL). AS WE KNOWN HAITIAN PEOPLE SPEAK TWO BEAUTIFUL LANGUAGES IN THE WORLD “CREOLE AND FRENCH” AND THESE, CONSTITUTE THE REASON OF THEIR VIVACITY, PROMPTNESS, ENTHUSIASM AND THEIR INCLINATIONS SOMETIME OR OFTEN FOR LITERATURE.

FOR SOME THAT COULD BE THE ACTUAL CAUSE OF THEIR LATE (LITERATURE) OR THEIR SINGULARITY IN THE REGION ,BUT RECOGNIZE THAT EACH PEOPLE HAVE ITS OWN ORIGINAL MANNER AND TRADITION AND THIS DIVERSITY IN THE CARIBBEAN REGION MAKES IT PARTICULARLY BEAUTIFUL THAN OTHER AREAS IN THE WORLD.THUS “A DISASTER IS A DISASTER ” IT IS UNPREDICTABLE SOMETIME OR OFTEN , DEPEND ON THE TYPE ONE.SO DON’T NEED TO BECOME MAD, SEPTIC OR FOOLISH AND SAYING WHATEVER WHEN WE ANALYZE THE CASE OF HAITI .

HAITI HAVE TAKEN A LOT OF TIME IN THE BOTTOM, BUT HAITI BELIEVE IT OR NOT WILL ACHIEVE ITS SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT, AND WILL DO ONCE AGAIN THE HONOR OF THIS CARIBBEAN REGION.THAT IS ONE OF THE REASONS OF ITS EXISTENCE AFTER MAKING HAPPY ALL OF ITS CITIZEN. WE KNOW ALREADY THE DEVELOPMENT IS A PROCESS AND A PERPETUAL TARGET .PLEASE REMIND THAT DEVELOPMENT IS NOT A PERMANENT CONDITION .ALL COUNTRIES AND PEOPLE IN THIS REGION SHALL UNDERSTAND THAT LEAST DEVELOPMENT IS NOT A FATALITY AND AN ETERNAL STATEMENT EITHER,BUT A STAGE WHICH SHOULD CAPTURE ATTENTION ,REQUIRE PARTICULAR TRADE POLICY AND GOVERNMENTAL STRATEGY TO RESTRUCTURE THE ECONOMY FOR LONG RUN GROWTH, WHILE WE ARE REMINDING THAT MOST INSTITUTIONAL EFFORTS HAVE TO BE DONE DAILY TO INSURE THE WEALTH AND WELLNESS OF PEOPLE IN THE REGION AND IN HAITI PARTICULARLY.

PLEASE BE SURE, SOME POSITIVE CHANGES WILL BE DONE AND HAVE DONE ALREADY .IT IS A FACT, AN EVIDENCE. AND IT COULD NOT BE OTHER WAY.AGREE ALSO THAT THIS REBUILDING OF HAITI IN A SUSTAINABLE MANNER COULD NOT BE DONE DURING ONE DAY ,BECAUSE IT IS A PROCESS.ALL DEVELOPMENT IS SUBJECT TO PROCESSUS. JUST BE POSITIVE AND CONFIDENT. WE KNOW ALREADY AFTER GETTING THE BOTTOM, BECAUSE HAITI STILL EXISTS, MEAN HAITI WILLS GROWTH UP ANYWAY. AND STEP BY STEP WITH THESE PILLAR OF STRONG SUSTAINABLE ECONOMIC GROWTH: INVESTMENT- JOB CREATION – PRODUCTION AND EXPORTATION; THROW UPON THE TREE ACTIVITIES SECTORS IN SYNERGY: TERTIARY (TOURISM AND HOSPITALITY INDUSTRY) –PRIMARY (AGRICULTURE AND AGRO- INDUSTRY)-SECONDARY (TEXTILE OTHERS MANUFACTURING GOOD);AS WELL AS VALLUE ADD, HAITI WILL BE AN EMERGENT COUNTRY AND WILL ACHIEVE ITS SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT, TO PLAY A BIGGER ROLE IN THE CARIBBEAN REGION WHICH ASPIRES TO BECOME AN EMERGENT REGION IN THIS NEW ERA OF GLOBALIZATION .