Barbados Taxi Driver – “Worst Season In 22 Years Of Taxi Business”

One driver said he arrived at the port around 5:30 a.m. and did not transport a single tourist on an island tour, to Kensington Oval or to Bridgetown.

“Imagine that I am here since 5:30 a.m. They take taxpayers’ money and rent cruise ships and fooling people that they would be full of people when they are not and now taxi-men cannot get a single job.”

… from The Nation News – Park and Wait!

36 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Barbados Tourism, Business, Cricket

36 responses to “Barbados Taxi Driver – “Worst Season In 22 Years Of Taxi Business”

1. Jerome Hinds

Unfortunately, for the taxi men and other small business people….the WORST is yet to come…!

The BLP and Noel Lynch must be punished at the POLLS… for creating the HYPE about….

CWC 2007 :

1. 28 Cruise Ships coming to Barbados…!

2. 90, 000 Tourists coming…!

3. 75,000 Cruise Ship Passengers coming…!

4. More BED & BREAKFAST accomodation
    needed…!

5. US $ 100.00 – US $ 500.00 priced tickets to
    see the games…!

All this took place before INDIA & PAKISTAN were KNOCKED out for the CWC 2007….!

Such HYPE & PROMOTION is worst than the effects of a POLL TAX…!

2. 37%

watched a bit of the cricket on tonight’s CBC-TV News at 7, and was checking the stands for occupancy. it didn’t look good. I was seeing far too much green (empty seats).

3. NationSpin

Check the spin in the Nation’s opening sentence in their
    “Park and wait!” article,
    Published on: 4/12/07.

THE DROVES OF TOURISTS in the island for Cricket World Cup (CWC) did not translate to dollars in the pockets of taxi drivers operating from the Bridgetown Port yesterday. “

It indicates that there were/are DROVES OF TOURISTS… it’s just that the taximen somehow aren’t catching their attention and trade.

Technically, a couple is 2, a dozen is 12,
    and a score is 20, but how much is a drove? Presumably anywhere between 50 and the 50,000 we were promised earlier on.
    ———————–
    Not sure what the Port taxis thought they were going to get.
    Visitors think nothing of walking the short hop between Bridgetown Port, and Kensington Oval..what? a half-mile away?

And the taximan would want Bds.$20 for that same short drop?
    after tekkin the long way round (driving slow) to mek it seem worth the money?

4. Adrian Loveridge

During the cricket period, we run on match days a paid shuttle taxi (s) (12 seater) each morning to Kensington Oval.

Its impractical to operate a fixed time one back because people stay for different durations but we have been amazed to learn that most guests have had to walk into Bridgetown to get a taxi to return.

Was there no provision for a taxi rank at Kensington Oval, where just like the airport there could be an orderly line and maybe a dispatcher or two?

Is this yet another attempt at alienating the small person so they cannot at least get some of their taxes back?

5. Hinds Boy
    It look like u all Political Vulchers in George street just hoping for the death of the World Cup so that u all can have some political carcass to feed on. I wish u all luck. The vulcher from Syria might not eat because he hasn’t opened his mouth yet.

6. True Native

motherb:

Meanwhile, you out dey buzzing around stinging all the innocent birds and animals – including humans – that you can find and hatching out more bees from your hive. Wuh loss.

7. Bees dying

The bees are dying. Google ‘bees’ + ‘disease’ and you will see what is happening. Mortality rate is 50-90%. Mite is right.

http://www.springerlink.com/content/pk78gg456107h766/

8. Inkwell

You see, the taxi drivers know how to run a business, never mind all you idiots.

You hang around all day waiting for the sucker who will pay $20 to ride from the Port to Kensington and get no takers (but at least you don’t waste any expensive gas), rather than make 4, 5, 6, or ten trips at $5. (think of all the expensive gas that would waste and Heaven forbid, them white people would want you to turn on the air conditioning)

Stupse…all you all don’t know nothing bout bidness

9. NationSpin

I know enough not to try operating a business in Barbados!! – THAT’s an exercise in futility!

10. Fred

Wanted to correct someones earlier post regarding the passengers on the Silver Wind cruise ship they are now accommodating 16 passengers up from the 14 of two days ago.
    This is part of the 75,000 that are on the other 27 ships in the harbour according to MM Lynch.

11. Lady Anon

Why would they believe that the taxi men etc would believe that people want to go on tours? Please…the paltry few are here for cricket and cricket only. There is no way that people who are here for cricket will go on a Bim tour on a cricket day. The rest day perhaps, but then, it is shown on TV or they travel to the next location.

I guess it was a matter of misleading information (the usual) in thinking that taxi men etc will benefit. Look at it…walk from port to kensington, back to port for lunch on cruise ship, back to kensington, back to cruise ship…stop off at pelican for a drink..back to cruise ship to sleep.

12. BonVoyage?

I can rest easy…

“Silver Wind cruise ship (is) now accommodating 16 passengers -up from the 14 of two days ago.”

Phew…you had me worried for awhile there.
    I thought this thing was a flop.

Keep increasing numbers on that order of magnitude, and we’ll soon have quorum enough to hold a real Life-boat drill!

13. Discovery

But after all the Minister is telling us not to worry he has 90,000 people coming soon, soon, soon what have we got to worry about after all we have only spent $ 300 mill when they steal as these are doing $ 300 mill is really small change on the scheme of things went Nicholls, Bannister and Owing are good for over $ 100 mill on one project the jail why do we need to worry???

14. Lady Anon

We should worry because it is a politician saying don’t worry.

15. Jerome Hinds

motherb

April 13th, 2007 at 12:05 pm

Hinds Boy

It look like u all Political Vulchers in George street just hoping for the death of the World Cup so that u all can have some political carcass to feed on. I wish u all luck. The vulcher from Syria might not eat because he hasn’t opened his mouth yet.

motherb,

You represent the SHAMELESS face of Owen Arthur and the BLP…!

The VULTURE Owen Arthur has not OPENED his mouth yet on the ORIGINS :

1. Of the FBI file…!

2. Of the $ 750,000.00 Mega Six cheque…!

3. Of what MISTAKE, he told Barbadians during the 2007 Budget debate in Parliament, that he made….!

None of the 3 above has anything to do with the success or failure of CWC 2007….!

QUEEN……BEE…!

16. Jerome Hinds

motherb,

You represent the SHAMELESS face of Owen Arthur and the BLP…!

The VULTURE Owen Arthur has not OPENED his mouth yet on the ORIGINS :

1. Of the FBI file…!

2. Of the $ 750,000.00 Mega Six cheque…!

3. Of what MISTAKE, he told Barbadians during the 2007 Budget debate in Parliament, that he made….!

None of the 3 above has anything to do with the success or failure of CWC 2007….!

QUEEN……BEE…!

17. Sick and fed up Sylvan

Poor MotherB. I am sorry for you. You have to sing for your supper because the minute there’s a change of government, your supper comes to an end. I pity the likes of you who have no pride in yourselves and regard licking the backsides of BLP politicians as your only path to economic salvation. Wunnah got to feel bad because wunnah was banking on World Cup to fool Bajans some more but God is not asleep. He is angry with the BLP because you have used the poor people of this country in order to make your wealthy friends richer. Burn in hell!

18. ??

Well Well Well Jerome Hinds by another name!

19. ??

We can see that violence is rampant among the DLP staunch supporters, what with the extreme insults of Hinds and themouthings of sick and fed up Sylvan ( Hinds??). Grow up! debate rationally and stop behaving like children. Having an oposing opinion is no reason for the foolish insults. At the end of the day like in the past regardless of who is in power we will all have our challenges.

20. Jerome Hinds

??

” Having an oposing opinion is no reason for the foolish insults. ”

?? Question Mark ,

I guess only you and motherb can use the following terms like :

Political Grasshopper and Vultures…!

motherb

April 13th, 2007 at 12:05 pm

Hinds Boy

21. Jerome Hinds

?? Question Mark

April 13th, 2007 at 7:13 pm

We can see that violence is rampant among the DLP staunch supporters, what with the extreme insults of Hinds and themouthings of sick and fed up Sylvan ( Hinds??). Grow up! debate rationally and stop behaving like children. Having an oposing opinion is no reason for the foolish insults. At the end of the day like in the past regardless of who is in power we will all have our challenges.

?? Question Mark

For good measure tek this one….your are a BLP NITWICK….!

22. Jerome Hinds

?? Question Mark,

Could you RATIONALLY explain to the taximen and vendors WHY the BLP set them up to be VICTIMS of 1 – 5 BELOW…..?

Unfortunately, for the taxi men and other small business people….the WORST is yet to come…!

The BLP and Noel Lynch must be punished at the POLLS… for creating the HYPE about….

CWC 2007 :

1. 28 Cruise Ships coming to Barbados…!

2. 90, 000 Tourists coming…!

3. 75,000 Cruise Ship Passengers coming…!

4. More BED & BREAKFAST accomodation
    needed…!

5. US $ 100.00 – US $ 500.00 priced tickets to
    see the games…!

All this took place before INDIA & PAKISTAN were KNOCKED out for the CWC 2007….!

Such HYPE & PROMOTION is worst than the effects of a POLL TAX…

23. ??

Jerome , I have not for a minute said you don’t have some good points but you lose credibility with the over use of insults and threats of violence which you have done over and over again in your posting. You have singled me out for many insults but my back is broad. I still maintain as I have told Patrick Porter and others that the DLP has not put forward a creditable slate of candidates with ability to rule the country. The crop in parliament now are only capable of shouting and screaming ( which they do well) there needs to be regrouping and redevelopment within the DLP if they are to progress. I have no problem with a DLP government I have lived under both administrations and found good and bad in both. You surely bring your English Experience with Poll tax so know that at the end of the day a politician is a politician and while the ground soldiers fret and fuss they mingle with one another and have a hearty laugh.

24. Jerome Hinds

?? Question Mark,

” insults and threats of violence ”

?? Question Mark,

You fell ASLEEP there….!

I never called anyone a POLITICAL GRASSHOPPER or a DLP VULTURE…!

Do you remember using these TERMS….

?? Question Mark & motherb…..?

You better BEE honest for ONCE…..!

25. ??

Your memory is short you did call someone a political grasshopper. see insults below, which are uncalled for

• ?? Question Mark
    We always knew you were a BLP IDIOT !
    • ?? Question Mark
    The term IDIOT is not nasty a comment…..it is an ACCURATE description of your IDIOTIC views on the past 13 YEARS of BLP rule…!
    Grow up ?? Question Mark…!
    Little WIMP……!!
    Cry cry BABY……!
    • ?? Question Mark
    Here is a CLEAN comment for you !
    ?? Question Mark,
    LOVES….. a political Grasshopper !
    • ?? Question Mark,
    You 1st attacked using the term ” Political Grasshopper ” !
    Funny, thing though you used the term to describe MASCOLL who you now lie in the….BLP BED with….!
    Was that a NASTY comment…?
    Only another Political Grasshopper like you can tell US

26. Javon Griffith

WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP!!

27. Jerome Hinds

?? Question Mark,

That is the response I wanted from you……!

With such a sign – in name ….as ??

I like many on this site was not sure if it was an….**** , ***** or a POLITICAL GRASSHOPPER…!

You should remember that you FIRST used the TERM….when you DESCRIBED your newest BLP candidate CLYDE MASCOLL……..I REMINDED you by repeating IT…!

?? is a ……POLITICAL GRASSHOPPER…!

I know RECOGNISE who you are…!

28. ??

Just pointing out that you did call me a grasshopper.. never been one as I said before don’t respect them. you denied insulting I posted your many insulting comments to me there are many others you have insulted.

I have no problem with disagreement on issues and understand that at times we get hot under the collar and say things we regret but to be wilfully insulting as you are is disgusting. If this is the type of thing the DLP has to offer sorry they will never win. I have done nothing to provoke your wrath other than express an opposing opinion and I get pi**ed off when you come with your foolish comments. Patrick Porter and Adrian Loveridge and several others on this blog debate without stooping to the type of insults you do, There is no point in the behaviour and as I have said several times it reduced what credibility you may have in your argument.

And believe me you haven’t a clue who I am and I am fine with that.

29. Jerome Hinds

?? is a ……POLITICAL GRASSHOPPER…!

” I get pi**ed off ”

Do not get pi**ed off…..yet..!

Leave that till the night of the next General Elections in Barbados….!

30. ??

Last word on this… Grow up!

31. Jerome Hinds

??
    April 13th, 2007 at 8:41 pm

Last word on this… Grow up!

?? Question Mark,

BFP readers still WAITING on your last WORD on the following BELOW….!

It is time you GROW up….!

?? Question Mark,

Let us consider this CWC 2007 preparation from the Barbados end !

Do you think :

1. Noel Lynch should still stick to his 90,000
    tourists coming to Barbados…?

2. Do you think the BLP gov’t should have paid US $ 15 million for a cruise ship to ONLY have 365
    passengers on BOARD
    ( as of April 13th 2007 — Black Friday )….?

3. Do you think LYNCH will still get the plane
    loads of IRISH fans to come to BARBADOS….?.

Can BFP readers rely on , ?? Question Mark , HONEST reply to these 3 questions……????????

32. Warrior

I want to ask, what happens to those people who have taken loans and other financing to improve their properties so as to house the influx of tourist coming to for the cricket world cup?

33. reality check

Javon Griffith

WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP!!

Once again you have added immeasurably to this
    blog!

Lets all stick to substance and provable facts since I am sure there is a bottomless treasure trove of information we as Barbadians all need to know so that we can plug all these holes with all encompassing accountability and integrity legislation, not to mention punishing the wrongdoers..

Neither party is really addressing these issues other than vague promises and finger pointing. We really need well thought out ideas on the kind of legislation we should be demanding of our politicians and what the penalties going forward should be for their failure to comply beside the 7 year maximum misdemeanor now on the books..

34. Grace

Tell me how many of us would go to another country and take a taxi to travel the distance between the port and kensington oval…just wondering…

35. Ras

But surely Warrior you did not expect that they would be able to repay loans based on 2 weeks of accomodation. Now they have to go out and market their property.

36. Canuckle Head

Could be worse.

At least you didn’t spend $300 million on a **speed skating oval** for the 2010 Winter Olympics like they did in Vancouver.

I don’t know a single person who speed skates and I’m from Canada

Politicians around the world turn witless when international sport knocks on the door.