Cubana Flight 455 Bombing – 30 Years Later USA Still Harbours A Terrorist

cubana-dc8-43-cu-t1201.jpg

Cubana DC-8 Airliner Bombed – All Died After Barbados Take-off

Some excerpts from Wikipedia (link here)

On October 6, 1976, Flight CU-455 (Douglas DC8-43 Cuba Registered as CU-T1201) was scheduled to fly the following route: Guyana to Trinidad, Trinidad to Barbados, Barbados to Kingston, Jamaica, and finally Kingston to Havana, Cuba.

At 17:24, nine minutes after takeoff from Barbados’s Seawell airport and at an altitude of 18,000 feet, a bomb located in the aircraft’s rear lavatories exploded. The captain, Wilfredo Pérez Pérez, radioed to the control tower: “We have an explosion aboard, we are descending immediately! … We have fire on board! We are requesting immediate landing! We have a total emergency!”

The plane went into a rapid descent, while the pilots unsuccessfully tried to return the plane to Seawell Airport. A second bomb exploded during the following minutes, causing the plane to crash. Realizing a successful landing was no longer possible, it appears that the pilot turned the craft away from the beach and towards the Atlantic Ocean, saving the lives of many tourists. This occurred about eight kilometres short of the airport.

All 48 passengers and 25 crew aboard the plane died: 57 Cubans, 11 Guyanese, and five North Koreans. Among the dead were all 24 members of the 1975 national Cuban Fencing team that had just won all the gold medals in the Central American and Caribbean Championship; many were teenagers…

Who Did It & Where Are They Now?

…Four were charged with aggravated homicide and treason before a civilian court.

On August 8, 1985, Venezuelan judge Alberto Perez Marcano of the 11th Penal Court convicted Lugo and Ricardo, sentencing them each to 20 years in prison. The judge reduced the penalty to its lowest limit “due to the extenuating circumstance of no prior criminal records.” Orlando Bosch was acquitted, because the evidence gathered by the Barbados authorities during the investigation could not be used in the Venezuela trial, as it was presented too late and had not been translated into Spanish.

Posada fled from the San Juan de los Morros penitentiary on the eve of the pronouncement of his sentence. He had been confined in this prison following two previous failed escape attempts. Allegations were made that Venezuelan authorities were bribed to help him escape. No verdict was entered against Posada because, according to the Venezuelan Penal Code, judicial proceedings cannot continue without the presence of the accused. The court issued an arrest warrant against him which is still pending as of November, 2005.

A different judge then ordered the case reviewed by a higher court. The Venezuelan government declined to appeal the case any further, and in November 1987 Bosch was freed. He had spent 11 years in jail despite having been acquitted twice.

Lugo and Lozano were released in 1993 and continue to reside in Venezuela.

Posada fled to Panama, then to the United States. In April of 2005, a new warrant for Posada’s arrest in connection with the bombing was issued by Venezuela by the government of Hugo Chávez. In September of 2005, a US immigration judge ruled that Posada should not be deported to either Cuba or Venezuela because he could be subject to torture.

21 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Crime & Law, Politics & Corruption

21 responses to “Cubana Flight 455 Bombing – 30 Years Later USA Still Harbours A Terrorist

1. Green!

I wonder how Mr.Chavez feels about this matter?
    Might this make up part of his stance and attitude,today?

2. rightvwrong

no matter how detestable dictatorships and quasi-dictatorships such as the Castro and Chavez regimes might be, the murdering of innocent lives over Barbados air space, is nothing more or less than another act of senseless terrorism. Barbados ( see Men in Khaki ), Venezuela and now the US have let this man off the hook.

If the principles are the same across the board, then the continued harbouring of this alleged murderer in the State of Florida ( whether CIA sponsored or not ) is unacceptable. If the US wishes to retain any credibility it might have left in the world to moral leadership it can prosecute him in an international forum. Look what happened when the US finally went after corporate fraud in the US.. The villains are now slowly going to jail. This action may cause the present administration in the US some embarrassment but where there is a will there is a way.

3. rightvwrong

no matter how detestable dictatorships and quasi-dictatorships such as the Castro and Chavez regimes might be, the murdering of innocent lives over Barbados air space, is nothing more or less than another act of senseless terrorism. Barbados ( see Men or Boys in Khaki ), Venezuela and now the US have let this man off the hook.

If the principles are the same across the board, then the continued harbouring of this alleged murderer in the State of Florida ( whether CIA sponsored or not ) is unacceptable. If the US wishes to retain any credibility it might have left in the world to moral leadership it can prosecute him in an international forum. Look what happened when the US finally went after corporate fraud in the US.. The villains are now slowly going to jail. This action may cause the present administration in the US some embarrassment but where there is a will there is a way.

4. Ralph

The Americans are such a blasted bunch of hypocrites. Back in the 1960s, they were training and running people who were planting bombs in British Guiana to destabilize the Jagan government (an I ent just know dat from a book, my own third cousin was one of them). All then and in the 1970s they were training torturers from all over Latin America and supplying them with the electric shock machines and so on. They were supporting Operation Condor which was responsible for the disappearance and death of thousands of people in Argentina, Chile, Uruguay. And they allowed the Chilean intelligence service to blow up a bomb to kill Letelier and Moffit in Washington — to this day they refuse to prosecute the terrorists.

5. ross

We’d better keep some good land for our people for agriculture and not sell it all out or cement it all or we may very well starve.

6. “Four anti-Castro Cuban exiles were arrested in Venezuela and charged with the crime. All were persons who had received CIA training and had long-term associations with the Agency. All were veterans of the CIA-sponsored invasion of Cuba at the Bay of Pigs.”

Enough said.

7. Green!

Ah boy… “The Company” !

8. ILLUMINATOR

I know i will probably get curse for this , but after all that the CIA and agencies in the US have done over the years and still continue to do . Why do people still think it so impossible and unbelievable that there might be something up with the 911 story as it stands .
    All of us are basically ‘colateral ‘ damage when certain objectives need to be acheived and that includes American lives too . I mean those in power know whats ‘best ‘ for us after all , right .

9. West Side Davie

No curse Illuminator – but the idea that hundreds of Americans (for that’s what it would take) would be involved in a conspiracy to murder or allow the murder of thousands of fellow American men women and children is right off the planet.

Get real.

10. Davie, don’t be so naïve. That’s all I have to say…feeling a bit depressed and don’t feel like arguing
    -_-

11. ILLUMINATOR

how come you guys are blocking some of my comments ( well 2 to be exact ) on this topic (911) that is. I tried contacting you otherwise but couldn’t.

12. BFP

Hi Illuminator

As we have said regarding any number of similar comments…

We do not accept that 9-11 was done with the fore-knowledge, participation and conspiracy of the Government of America – and that hundreds of American citizens participated in this mass murder and have kept it secret for five years. Get real. Your post was absolute fantasy. Might as well say that Martians have been stealing from your rubbish bin every night to power their spaceship.

Find someplace else to post such nonsense or we’ll mark you as a spammer. End of story.

Cliverton

13. ILLUMINATOR

Ok guy , i hear you . Its just strange that you see what politicians and people in power can get up too and you find it so impossible that something like that can happen .

14. BFP

Hi Illuminator

We appreciate your visits and comments. Clive was a little testy, but please understand that we receive an average of 2000 spam comments per month (!) and although our robots sort most of them out, it is a lot of work.

I agree that people in power can get up to no good, but the whole 9/11 conspiracy thing has gone right bananas with intelligent people not even thinking about the hundreds or even thousands of Americans that would have to be in on it. And considering that Bin Laden has admitted it on tape and published photos of himself in the Jihad media with the hijackers… well, that might be a better answer as to what happened rather than “the President of the United States murdered thousands of his own citizens so he could have oil”

So…. thanks for coming around. We appreciate that you understand our position.

Marcus

15. The intellectual author of this terrorist crime, sits today [11/4/2006] in an American jail in El Paso, Texas.

The U.S. has not charged him with this terrorist crime.

Cuba and Venezuela have requested his extradition, but the U.S. has refused to extradite hi.

Could it be because Posada Carriles was once a CIA agent?

Why does the U.S. government continue to protec him?

16. Pingback: Chavez: Take FARC off terror list - Page 2 - Political Fever - The Political Debate Forums

17. Pingback: What Henry Kissenger and the FBI knew about Cubana Flight 455 Bombing « Barbados Free Press

18. grafdog

“And considering that Bin Laden has admitted it on tape and published photos of himself in the Jihad media with the hijackers”

Lol… you need to do some “investigating”
    Bin Laden stated he had nothing to do with 911 weeks before the US found the Bin Laden admission tape, which has not been authenticated..
    The fbi DOES NOT want Bin Laden for 911… and at least 6 of those “so called” hijackers are still alive and well.

Those are facts, have you heard about the 911 commission admitting its “investigation” was a fraud?
    No matter what you think about 911, you know that the story was a lie and that people lied about every single aspect of it.
    911 needs an independent investigation

19. Pingback: Barbados Prime Minister silent on mass murder shop fire. Why? « Barbados Free Press

20. They should never have used Barados airspace for this act, which is essentially terroism if you look at it from a certian point of view. Interesting article.

21. Pingback: American Tribune » Blog Archive » CIA Terrorist Acquitted…