Barbados Keltruth Blog Sends Mystery Letter To UBS Bank Switzerland

barbados-ubs-fedex“To whom was it addressed? What did it say?

It said plenty. We will drop the bomb on Monday, when the letter arrives…”

… Keltruth Blog sends letter to Swiss Bank

Fiesty Keltruth Blog Sends Letter To Money-Laundering Swiss Bank!

Swiss banking giant UBS got nailed by U.S. tax authorities last year when bank employees were arrested in the USA while smuggling assets and records across the border. As we related in our article a few weeks ago, U.S. prosecutors have alleged UBS helped clients hide $18 billion of untaxed American money in undeclared accounts. This amounts to around $300 million of annual unpaid taxes.

barbados-ubs-letterKeltruth Blog has written a letter to UBS that they say is a “bomb” and that “If you are involved in Barbadian politics, this letter is a must-read!”

We at BFP can’t hardly wait for Monday.

This is not the first time that Keltruth Blog has tried to raise international attention. Last September they sent a letter criticising Prime Minister Thompson to every delegate at the United Nations just a few days before the Barbadian leader addressed the General Assembly!

Further Reading

Keltruth Blog, Jan 29, 2009: Keltruth Corp. Sends a Letter Sent to UBS!

BFP, Jan 9, 2009: Swiss Bank UBS Closing 19,000 Hidden Offshore Accounts Of American Clients – What About Barbados’ Offshore Banking Industry?

BFP, Sept 23, 2008: Barbados Prime Minister Ambushed By Letter To All United Nations Delegates

9 Comments

Filed under Barbados

9 responses to “Barbados Keltruth Blog Sends Mystery Letter To UBS Bank Switzerland

1. cq8

Whatever it is, this should be fun.

2. Hants

The former Prime Minister put $300,000US in cash in safety deposit boxes in a New York bank. He did not put any money in a Swiss Bank.

3. Hants

Don’t get too excited my fellow Bajans. the previous comment relates to this.

“Former prime minister Brian Mulroney recognizes that he made a “colossal mistake” in taking 300,000 dollars in cash from an arms dealer now facing charges in Germany, his spokesman told a local newspaper Wednesday.”

the facts.only the facts.

4. reality check

yes Hants even in Canada they use consultants to induce contracts with a lot of juice.

The $300,000 was only the tip of the iceberg

http://www.cbc.ca/fifth/unauthorizedchapter/airbusdeal.html

The Canadians, however are pikers compared to Barbados where offshore non-tendered contracts balloon to hundreds of millions of dollars from where they started.

Where are the promised forensic audits on Veco, Dodds, 3S etc and where is our promised ITAL and FOI?

Will we get up to the date transparent, blow by blow information on how Barbadians will be assisting Clico?

Not in this lifetime.

Canada, at least still has the semblence of a real
    and free press.

Sunshine is the best disinfectant. – Justice Louis D. Brandeis

5. Whats important?

Someone on this blog recently published what is needed to overcome the serious readjustment facing the whole world.

In addition to a strong work ethic, love thy neighbour, and hold your family and friends close, we have to look at the long term and not for short term gains that sacrifice the quality of life and opportunity for future generations.

The government needs to step forward and keep its promises to safeguard that which is precious.

http://www.superu.ca/content/572

6. Green Monkey

Davos Delegates in ‘Denial’ as $25 Trillion of Wealth Vanishes

By A. Craig Copetas and Christine Harper

SNIP

“There’s a ‘Great Gatsby’ quality to Davos,” said Niall Ferguson, a professor of history at Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts, referring to the novel by F. Scott Fitzgerald. “When people look back at this gilded age, I’m sure there will be images of the investment bank parties at Davos, just as people looked back at flappers after the 1920s. People are still in denial.”

Ferguson, author of “The Ascent of Money: A Financial History of the World,” and a first-time Davos delegate, said “There’s a sense of ‘let’s have the party anyway,’ and ‘let’s talk about the post-crisis world,’ as though that could be soon.”

‘Stupid Things’

At a panel on leadership yesterday morning before hosting a reception with champagne and canap s at the Hotel Europe Piano Bar, JPMorgan Chase & Co. Chief Executive Officer Jamie Dimon expressed frustration at those who seek to pin all the blame on bankers.

“I take full blame for all the American banks and all the things they did,” said Dimon, 52, the only CEO of a major U.S. financial institution to attend the conference this year, adding that he knows that’s what people want to hear.

Regulators, he said, should share some of the blame.

“God knows, some really stupid things were done by American banks,” Dimon said. “To policy makers, I say where were they? They approved all these banks.”

I thought that was what the right-wing, pro-business, Reaganites and Republicans (and some Democrats too) wanted – less regulation and oversight by initiative-stifling, interfering government regulators and busybodies as the capitalist money makers and the “free marketeers” would do all the regulating necessary on their own.

7. PiedPiper

Um, BFP: Keltruth has opened up a new site called Money Laundering Advisory which names a lot of names. Will there be an update to this thread? http://barbadosmoneylaunderingadvisory.wordpress.com/

8. Sargeant

PP

Re your earlier post about you being me and vice versa

My advice to you is to ignore them as I have done. Life is too short to spend time on trifling buffoons

9. YAHOOOO

Ah boy, yuh flippin’ knickers in a big twist! Why yuh gettin’ so rattle up? Sly mongoose, de dog know yuh game, but yuh going get ketch!