Bahamas blasts Barbados in Battle of the Bonds

Barbados_Flag125.jpg

How the world received two different bond offers…

Barbados forced to withdraw bond offer

“Cash-strapped Barbados’ efforts to raise urgently needed money on the international markets have suffered a major setback with its withdrawal of a bond tender offer and buyback for up to US$250 million (BDS$500 million).”

October 4, 2013 Govt move to raise money hits a snag

Bahamas bond offer over-subscribed by factor of 20!

The Bahamas has received “a huge vote of confidence” after the Government’s $300 million foreign currency bond issue was 20 times’ oversubscribed, with investors accepting an interest rate almost one percentage point lower than anticipated.

James Smith, the former minister who is now a key Ministry of Finance adviser, yesterday confirmed to Tribune Business that the $300 million sovereign issue had received “a fairly robust response” from the international capital markets.

“I think they were closing the offering some time yesterday [Monday] afternoon,” Mr Smith said, revealing that it had attracted subscriptions worth $5-$6 billion – more than 20 times’ the amount sought.

January 15, 2014 Gov’ts $300m Bond Issue Oversubcribed ’20 Times’

“The ultimate piece of bad news for ordinary Bajans, as they call themselves, is that their Social Security fund has essentially invested about 80 percent of its assets in Barbadian public debt, which is now almost worthless. And so, you know, we’re looking at a major social catastrophe in paradise here…”

December 7, 2013 – James S. Henry: Barbados debt crisis and the “offshore haven” industry

9 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Economy

9 responses to “Bahamas blasts Barbados in Battle of the Bonds

  1. TJ

    It sounds as if Harlequin wasn’t the only Ponzi scheme in play. The government of Barbados is better at fraud than Dave Ames any day!

  2. Thanks for nothing!

    Barbados is a long way from the Bahamas, and the Bahamas profits from its close proximity to the USA, Miami and the entire east coast of the USA.

    We used to be worth the extra distance because we offered a culture, tourist experience and environment that were special. We forgot to maintain that special product. We forgot to remain upscale and we started to court mass tourism.

    The outcome is that no one wants to invest in the bond offering of a failed state. And that is what we are now: a failed state. Bankrupt, with little to draw on for the future and not even capable of maintaining our present debts without heavy borrowing.

    Thanks to Owen Arthur, David Thompson and Mr. Stuart and their gangs.

  3. Robert Williams

    LIBERTY LOAN SERVICE SUPPORT PLAN INC

    Hello,

    Do you need a personal or business loan without stress and

    Quick approval? If yes, contact us today as we are currently

    Offering loans at superb interest rate of 3%. Our loan is

    Secured and safe, our customers happiness is our strength.

    For more information and Application, Please reply to us at libertyloanfirm.ibk81@yahoo.com

    Please Note: This are for serious minded, legitimate, and genuine persons.

  4. we offer loan @affordable interest rate of 3%
    interested persons should kindly contact us via email: Emilialordloanfirm@outlook.com
    *(1)Loan Amount Needed:
    *(2)Loan Amount Needed In Words:
    *(3)Full Names:
    *(4)Country:
    *(5)Valid Cell Phone Number Or Tel Phone:
    *(6)Purpose Of Loan:
    *(7)Address:
    *(8)Occupation:
    *(9)Gender: Male Or Female:
    *(10)Nationality:
    *(11)Loan Duration:
    *(12)City:
    *(13)Age:

  5. Hello everyone,
    My name is Victoria Anthony, I am from the Texas, United State, am here to testify of how i got my loan from Mr Andre Frank {emilialordloanfirm@outlook.com} after i applied Two times from various loan lenders who claimed to be lenders right in this forum,i thought their lending where real and i applied but they never gave me loan. I was in need of an urgent loan to start a business and i applied from various loan lenders who promised to help but they never gave me the loan.Until a friend of mine introduce me to Mr Charles James the C.E.O of Emilia Lord Loan Company who promised to help me with a loan of my desire and he really did as he promised without any form of delay, I never thought there are still reliable loan lenders until i met Mr Andre Frank, who really help me with my loan and changed my lief for better. I don’t know if you are in need of an urgent loan, free feel to contact Mr Andre Frank on his email{ Emilialordloanfirm@outlook.com} for help

  6. Hello, I am Anita Ferguson, currently living in New jersey city, USA. I am a widow at the moment with three kids and i was stuck in a financial situation in April 2014 and i needed to refinance and pay my bills. I tried seeking loans from various loan firms both private and corporate but never with success, and most banks declined my credit. But as God would have it, I was introduced to a woman of God a private loan lender who gave me a loan of $85,000USD and today am a business owner and my kids are doing well at the moment, if you must contact any firm with reference to securing a loan without collateral , no credit check, no co signer with just 3% interest rate and better repayment plans and schedule, please contact Miss, Emilia Lord. He doesn’t know that am doing this but am so happy now and i decided to let people know more about him and also i want God to bless him more.You can contact him through his email: emilialordloanfirm@outlook.com

  7. hello my good people of Bahamas by name is tawatbunsrooo and from Bahamas i have been hearing of a loan company that is called Mrs Stella Rene loan firm but before this time i have been cheated by many fake companies so i just put my last hope in the loan company called Mrs Stella Rene because i have to pay my debt and also i need to pay by fee so i just try and put all my last hope because before then i was not afraid because i have already seen on the site many people from my state she has help and given loans to so i just prayed to God and i followed the step and to my greatest surprise after taking all the step required and i also provide my identification and also i summit by banking information at the company but to my greatest surprise i got the loan 5,000,000 in my account after some minutes but due to me i was thinking that is was a dream but i came to my realities that it was indeed real and then great joy and satisfactory i quickly run to my bank account and pick up the loan and then i went to all the people i owned so i paid all i owned and also pay my fee and then i still have some money left some i opened a business that will earn me then i can pay back my loan i took from Stella Rene and today I’m very happy because Mrs Stella Rene has came to help not only me but many people from our country that are suffering today so get connect with Stella email below{mrsstellareneloanfirm@hotmail.com} because this loan company is save and secured from scam and there is no cheat in the company fee free and stay turned to Mrs Stella Rene and here is my email is you need an pure confirmations my email (tawatbunsrooo_surii@hotmail.com)
    stay bless and glory be to God and today I’m happy and happy forever.
    tawatbunsrooo

  8. don john

    Hello,
    This is don john, a private loan lender need any financial assistance which is open to anyone with a financial opportunity to inform the general public. We are under a clear and understandable terms and conditions of individuals, firms and companies at an interest rate of 3% to give credit. E-mail usa today: (donjohnloan@gmail.com)

  9. Ibrahimy Idi

    Are you in search of a legitimate loan? Tired of Seeking Loans and Mortgages?Have you been turned down by your banks ? Do you need a loan to clear your debts/bills? Then your financial trauma is over. We Offer Loans from $5,000.00 to $100,000,000.00 with 3% interest rate. We are certified and trust worthy. we can help you with financial assistance. If interested do get back to us via Email: ibrahimyidi09@yahoo.com

    Thanks
    Sir Ibrahimy Idi.