Journalist looks for help on Barbados Death Boat story

Barbados Death Boat.jpg

“I would like to send to my family in Bassada (a town in western Senegal) a sum of money. Please excuse me and goodbye. This is the end of my life in this big Moroccan sea,”

… victim Diao Souncar Dieme wrote his goodbyes.

In May of 2006 Bajan fisherfolk discovered a rusted steel-hulled yacht drifting to the east of Barbados. A grisly sight awaited them when they boarded, for the boat was a floating coffin carrying the mummified remains of 11 poor souls – all that was left of the 52 passengers who started the journey from Senegal to the Cape Verde Islands.

Bajans took the boat to shore, buried the bodies and held an inquest in 2009. Somewhere along the way European authorities arrested two people, but we never heard the result of the charges or anything more about the sad events.

Now, Spanish journalist Juan Manuel Pardellas is coming to Barbados on the last step of his mission to tell the story of the 52 people who perished on the death boat. Mr. Pardellas has already been to Senegal and met the families and he’d like to meet and talk with anyone in Barbados who can bring the final pieces of his story to completion…

Dear Barbados Free Press and readers,

 I will visit your island from 27th July to 6th August. I am a Spanish journalist and would like to meet with anyone who can help me to gather all possible information about the story of the 11 Senegalese boys found dead in the yacht in 2006. I have travelled to Senegal and met all the families. and Barbados is the last step in my work. Perhaps you can help me and let me meet some people of your beautiful island who worked hard to know the truth.

God bless you,

Juan Manuel Pardellas

Email: pardellasweb@gmail.com
Website: http://www.canarias3puntocero.com

3 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Human Rights, Immigration

3 responses to “Journalist looks for help on Barbados Death Boat story

  1. Pingback: Journalist looks for help on Barbados Death Boat story | Barbados Blog !

  2. sailor

    do we still have the boat?

  3. Pingback: Journalist looks for help on Barbados Death Boat story | Barbados ... | ThisRightNow