Daily Archives: July 8, 2013

Canadian travel agent Yvonne Bramson explains why some tourists are avoiding Barbados

kadooment blocked

Photo from the BFP story Grand Kadooment child-sex scandal

Dear friends in Barbados,

As Crop Over season gets into high gear I would just like to make a few comments. I am a travel agent for a large company in Toronto, Canada and have been to Barbados several times over the years. I have many friends there and also family and am hearing from both them and my colleagues at work (who hear from their travelling clients) that Barbados has changed a lot. What people are observing and saying is that what Crop Over symbolises has become a thing of the past.

I remember when most of the people participating in the grand finale parade were wearing period costumes to symbolise the farm workers, etc. What we are seeing and hearing for the past few years is that is has become something quite different. It seems to be a huge party where many of the women of all ages come out to show off their bodies – many in next to nothing. I happened to have been in Barbados last year at Crop Over time and was literally shocked at some of the behaviour I witnessed from the participants. I saw many women running over to men on the sidelines and gyrating on their laps, I saw many women dancing with their behinds way out against a man’s genitals. I saw women bent over with another woman gyrating on her behind.  Continue reading

105 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Barbados Tourism, Culture & Race Issues

Why Bajan men (and all men) are avoiding marriage and fatherhood

“In reality, men are opting out of education, work and marriage because in all of these areas, the penalties are high and the rewards are low. Their choice is a rational one.”

Dr. Helen Smith – author of the book “Men on Strike”

6 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Culture & Race Issues