The Man On My Left

The Man On My Left

When they broke my legs I didn’t cry
Had no more fears of the pain they could apply
Yesterday I was a hopeless thief but not today

He changed my outlook from 7 things he had to say
At that moment when He was hoisted in the crowd’s clear view
Very loudly He said “Forgive them, for they know not what they do”
Eyes focused on a lady He said “Woman behold thy Son”

Young man “Behold thy mother!” and to them he was done
Over to His left another thief pleaded that if He
Used to be the real Savior then He should save himself then we

Fear thou not God? I asked him, even here where we stand
Our punishment is justly deserved but not this guiltless man
Remember me, I told Him, and He told me for being this nice
Surely, “Today shalt thou be with me in paradise”
And at that moment I felt relieve’
King of the Jews, Savior of the world had given me a reprieve
Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani” and soon afterwards He said “I thirst”
No more to be done “It is finished” and He seemed worst

My Lord in His last breath, last words and shouting it
Exclaimed, “Father, into thy hands I commend my spirit”

By Khaidji

2 Comments

Filed under Barbados

2 responses to “The Man On My Left

  1. J chalmers

    Beautiful Amen

  2. just want to know

    just love this, so beautiful!! Barbadians went to church,( a building ) on Easter Sunday, are they different today? Send your children toSunday School so they can learn something about The Lord Jesus, and maybe grow up to be better people.