Reader’s rant about “The absolute worst of the BLP…”

This delightful piece of anonymous political rant reached BFP from a remailer in Austria. Its arrival portends the opening of the 2012 Barbados election campaign where the two major parties will attempt again to convince Bajans that the other party is a worse choice. The DLP and the BLP are both so badly discredited that they can only throw rotten fish at each other because neither have any fresh fish to hurl.

Take it away, “Mixmaster from Austria”…

How can you rig an election and still lose? Ask some BLP members…

submitted anonymously by “Mixmaster remailing service from Austria”

Barbadians recently witnessed the absolute worst of the Barbados Labour Party and as would be expected – St. Andrew Parliamentary Representative and former BLP Chairman, George Payne, was at the centre of the controversy.

Clearly this “political runt” and “humbug” – cannot have a moral minimum!  As a matter of fact, so horrible was his conduct on this occasion (even by his trademark standards) that BLP Leader Owen Arthur, who – since the infamous “Prior Park Accord,” is said to have been turning a blind-eye to such matter, was compelled to call for unity, thereby kicking George in the nuts.

Just when you thought it could not get any worse, the BLP started a boycott campaign against black businessman, Andrew Bynoe, thereby launching an unprovoked attack on women, the youth and children. Why? Is it because Bynoe invested over $20 million in the DLP’s economy by building the new A1 store at Black Rock?

In the interest of the women who work at Bynoe’s supermarkets and the children and young people who rely on them and the pay they receive – we in the DLP can only encourage George to continue doing what he does best: ‘seek to become Prime Minister through political poker and create more mayhem within the BLP, as the factions play ‘the high stakes numbers game!’

But, in the worst smear campaign witnessed in local politics – the only thing that George Payne and his cousin Douglas Skeete did not say about Edmund Hinckson, was that he is a woman.

Seventy-five thousand dollars later and even with ‘a rigged BLP electoral list’ (according to newspaper reports from both Hinckson and Jerome Walcott) neither George Payne or his cousin Doug, who was seeking the St. James North nomination to replace Rawle Eastmond, can come to grips with the humiliating rejection they receive. It should now appear to George Payne that not everyone subscribes to his brand of politics, and that while food (served through a Thursday Club) and similar gimmicks might work in St. Andrew, the people of St. James have much more pride and class.

But how do you rig an election; spend seventy-five thousand on your horse and still lose? Ask George Payne and Douglas Skeete. It is obvious that Skeete feels so rejected that he is threatening never to run for anything again – not even the bus!

Somewhere in all this, there has to be a lesson! Intelligent people would grasp it easily but George Payne has always been a political joker and will need a lot more time to come to grips with reality.  If he were even capable of shame, it still would occur to him that he has distinguished himself and has created history by being the only “jackass” and “practical joker,” who has served in the office of ‘Chairman of the BLP.’

And yet, notwithstanding its on-going civil war and blood sport politics, a vote for the BLP in the upcoming general election, will be a vote for George Payne to become Prime Minister of Barbados.   We in the DLP are told he holds the cards and the numbers, even if he functions without a brain! In the mean time, it is blunder after blunder.  And the BLP continues to make deals and action off Barbados.

9 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Politics, Politics & Corruption

9 responses to “Reader’s rant about “The absolute worst of the BLP…”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 UP TODAY A ND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,

VOTE : Bajan Free Party (BFP) and we will see what the other 2 was doing in office all the years ,,, there will be a big fire to burn the Truth

soon to come

2. robert ross

Holed in one BFP! You got that right.

3. Gotta love Local Politrix!

Really! It’s just free comical low-class entertainment.
    No wonder Laugh It Off did so well. They have so much grist for their mill.

4. blogger

“political runt” and “humbug”

hahahaha lol lol

5. Brudah-Bim

This article can argue against the BLP and advocate for the DLP as it may,
    but as far as I see; BOTH parties are essentially at fault for lagging in providing any solid foundation for Bim’s economy to develop and mature at a rate in which Barbadians would enjoy a standard of living similar to that of Iceland or Luxembourg even. Their failure to properly appropriate the nation’s expenditures on ventures which could have led to a more productive economy was a bi-partisan act perpetuated by both parties.

Pointing fingers at the other party is showing to be the last resort of the nation’s two-party political scheme that is starting to fall apart. The Bajan people are fed up of the constant selling of our little land to business tycoons and our society’s crippling reliance on the service industry and imports.

First let me hear parliament lay out feasible long term solutions that will ensure the stable shift of Bim from a Service economy to a prosperous and highly competitive economy. Immediate prioritization is needed now, not senseless bickering. Usually in times of economic uncertainty, the legislature would splinter off into coalitions that are to their suiting, encompassing all political standings. But no, we’re seeing here in our beloved Bim a race to the bottom, and who can sell of the country the most quickest!

When will Bajans realize that there lays a conspiracy right in front of them and aren’t taking to the streets to protest our folly of a democracy?

6. LOL!

Take to the streets? LOL!
    With Bajans’ amazing ability to absorb endless crapola, tings wud gotta get real real bad bout here.

Bad like 1937, which is the last time dey riot.
    and it took a Trini to get dem strirred up enough to DO something!

i.e. NOT GONNA HAPPEN. Come again.

7. Newbie

We can rebel at the polls, do not vote for them!!!

8. My Name Is Not Sylvan

So a DLP supporter writes a blog post against the BLP….. yawn…..

trying to create a controversy over a matter which was settled at the BLP branch level will not distract Bajans from the fact that they are worse off today than they were 5 years ago.

9. SPOIL YOUR VOTE? LOL

Newbie, we can only make a concerted action to show our political displeasure by deliberately spoiling our votes at the polls.
    How many Bajans do you think are really REALLY going to do that??

Do you think you would ever see the night where the man after in charge of the various voting stations
    makes the announcement on CBC-TV saying
    the BLP man get 1,537 votes,
    the DLP man, get 1,722 votes
    and there were 2,012 spoiled votes….???

Don’t wait on it, OK? Bajans too wishy-washy fuh dat!