What is happening to our home? Two police officers shot in Christ Church

Officers shot as Commissioner Dottin announces new Twitter and Facebook initiatives

Two officers of the Royal Barbados Police Force were shot late Saturday night when they investigated two men in Navy Gardens. Constable Terry Pierre was seriously injured by a shot to the torso and remained in surgery for hours. Sergeant Christine Husbands was treated and released. A third officer on patrol was uninjured.

This comes a few days after the double murder of 79-year-old resident Arthur “Fred” Chaderton and his son-in-law Gerhart Metamara Stock who was visiting Barbados on a family vacation. Both men were shot at Chaderton’s home last Tuesday by two masked men, who may have been targeting Chaderton’s brother – the owner of the Bridge Supermarket.

At this time there is no indication from the police that the two incidents are in any way related, although one never knows. If the two men who the police were about to question are the ones who committed murder earlier in the week they probably would have been desperate enough to shoot at the three police officers. Or not. We just don’t know the truth at this time and don’t have enough information to guess.

No nighttime travel anymore in the North.

These two high profile shootings are on top of a spate of robberies and violent incidents in the last while (not to mention the Campus Trendz mass murder) that make me wonder where it is I am living because I don’t recognize my home anymore. It is as if I woke up in the last few weeks and forced myself to read the stories of violence in the news. I’ve been filtering it all out but last week Shona announced that she didn’t want to go out to visit some friends up near Archers Bay because we would have to “get home too late”. After a talk it turned out that “get home too late” was her code phrase for “don’t want to be driving up there after dark”.

This “no travel after dark in the north” is new in our home and it really underlined the changes that I’ve been filtering out for so long.

What’s to be done? Everyone is looking to the police, but the organisation is more than 100 officers understrength and can’t find enough qualified new officers willing to work for next to nothing. Commissioner Dottin and his crew do what they can with what they have but the truth is that the police are understaffed, under trained and under equipped. Our glorious BLP and DLP governments have been financially starving the police to death for two decades.

It is all about priorities, and for the last two decades the politicians have talked about the police and public safety, but their talk was all for show because it wasn’t accompanied by a realistic budget. So now we are in the situation we are in: without an adequately staffed, trained and equipped police force.

A response of fine words – every time

The crazy evil people that are part of any society know that the police are stretched too thin. They know that every time there is a horrible crime, the Attorney General and the Police Commissioner will “reassure” the public with fine words and announce “increased patrols”.

Sure enough, both the AG and the Police Commissioner did their usual.

No massive increase in budget, personnel hiring and resources though. That takes money and real commitment. Instead, our Commissioner of Police is reduced to telling folks to “Stay Calm” and announcing that the police “will soon” be on Twitter and Facebook. Hasn’t happened yet, but “soon.”

Two cops shot. Double murder. Many violent robberies. = Reassure, Twitter. Facebook.

What’s wrong with this equation?

Further Reading

Nation: Top Cop: Stay Calm!

Nation: Police turning to social sites.

29 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Crime & Law, Police

29 responses to “What is happening to our home? Two police officers shot in Christ Church

1. rasta man

Cannot pay the Police a decent wage but can spend millions on a Defence Force that is waiting for an invasion of Barbados .And then we wonder why these things are happening.

2. X

Mr Dottin can we panic now?

3. The Watcher

When the leader of an organization or institution is unable to lead effectively, and that institution is unable to fulfill its mandate efficiently, then its a clear indication that this leader must go or be removed to save the institution. Police aren’t respected from two angles and there is a SINGULAR reason why this is so!
    Keep pussy-footing and hope that it all magically gets better, you David Copperfield believing fools you!

4. Beefcake

Maybe it is time to mobilize the BDF as a police force, place curfews on street liming to end the boys on the block, and for politicians to stop talking and give some positive action. Maybe they shouldn’t be too egotistical and ask for help from police authorities in London, New York, Bogota, Buenos Aires, and Toronto.

5. Responder

Ariel Brathwhaite said that crime was down. Down for whom. Don’t panic, it is only your everyday people that getting their ass kicked.

6. sam cooke and duppy

ban the damn blocks and hang some of those bastards

7. J. Payne

Vybz Kartel and Movado doing for we now… Half the time the government wants to bring in those types as student role models at schools, and then the other half of the time they want to complain about foreign cultures outside Barbados creeping in. They don’t understand when you import audio and video from other countries you also import the societal ills those other countries have too.. They’re inter-related and can’t be separated. You can’t import 24/7 culture from another society and expect Barbados is going to be a “caring society” as they drum on about. Bare foolishness coming out of this current government. Elections can’t come soon enough. Get out of Barbados if you can… It is getting like Jamaica.

8. J. Payne

Life is too tough on Barbadians and the government has no jobs plan so the masses learning from movies and thing and are turning to crime… Campus Trendz wasn’t a wake up… I doubt the government even gets it now. They’re still shopping for brains to eventually figure out what is happening.

9. none of u all have ah clue to what is going on….

10. de hood

@ charlie

So why don’t you enlighten us then?

11. de hood

Best blog I’ve seen here in along time BFP. Congrats. However, if you think this is going to get these self-centered morons that we have as politicians to do any different then you had better not hold your breath. Nearly FOUR years gone in this term of “leadership” and we still waiting for Integrity Legislation and Freedom of Information law that was “promised” within 100 days of these Dammed LYING People being elected! And, don’t forget, the “promises” of better terms and conditions and better salaries for our law enforcement officers! FOUR YEARS and we are still hearing is that ” de BLP is to blame fuh dis and the BLP is to be blamed for dat and de nex!! So tell me BFP, just when are they intending to start RUNNING the affairs of the country, 6 or 8 months before the next election is due? But lest I forget, it seems that this is how Bajans like it once they can get a new fridge or flat screen TV from these politicians when election time is here. Once it used to be rum, corned beef and sodabix, nowadays it is a new appliance and evabody happy as a lark.. How could I possibly have forgotten.

12. Buddy Braithwaite

I wondered if anyone here can tell me if the BTA is the recipent of all of that money in ticket sales for the Rihanna LOUD concert or was all of the income paid into a private company and all of the expenses paid by the BTA.

13. anona

@ Buddy… as i posted on BU yesterday, something is odd about this arrangement and we have a non disclosure contract apparently.. but i’ll give the benfit of doubt for now, say it isn’t so, someone

14. JOHNTHED0G

People say Barbados is a totally safe island, I wish they wouldn’t because although it is CONSIDERABLY SAFER than some other islands it is misleading to state that it is SAFE, visitors think that they need take no precautions or observe normal sensible personal safety practices. The latest incidents show that BDS is becoming less safe than it was. My sympathies go to those affected.

15. Goldenbead

I agree with Beefcake. If the police are understaffed and the BDF is well staffed why can we not supplement one with the other?

Law enforcement needs to be seen more here on the streets. We cannot allow this country to descend into anarchy. Look at London. Things are snowballing there.

It seems the mentality is that if “he” can get away with it, why can’t I give it a try too?

16. North star

@sam cooke and duppy – ban the blocks??? do u think only criminals lime on the blocks? u have the biggest criminals in politicians and u don’t see them on the block

17. just want to know

Buddy Brathwaite:- The Minister of Tourism said that the event will make a loss, but to whom, certainly not to the overseas organisers, taxpayers again will be picking up the bill, how’s that? for tourism developement

18. yatinkiteasy

I believe a lot more can be done to educate the public about Crimestoppers International. The phone call is toll free to report suspected criminal activity, and is anonymous(a reason many people are afraid to call local police) Problem is…most people dont know the number!
    Its 1 800 8477(TIPS)
    We need signs all over Barbados with this number prominently displayed. Perhaps one of the big printeries, Ad agencies or sign making companies could get involved in producing and distributing these signs.
    Its not in the Lime phone directory, not even on the Emergency Numbers…so Lime should give a free listing on the page with all other emergency services.
    Lime and Digicel can reach thousands of customers with text messages and by printing the number on monthly bills. It would cost them nothing!
    The Nation and Advocate could run a simple block at every day as a community service.
    CBC TV should run ads for free , with the toll free number highlighted.
    School children should have it in their heads, as teachers make it a point to remind them with the number on the blackboard every morning.
    A real good video is available on line at the website below. Its amazing how many crimes are being solved every year because of tips sent to crimestoppers. This Island is too small for someone in the community NOT to know something about the recent murders, disappeared persons, bodies found in gullies and wells, etc.
    We have got to stop this crime wave before we end up like Jamaica and Trinidad. Crimestoppers can help.

http://www.c-s-i.org/

19. Dessalines

@ J.T Payne You are absolutely correct about the influence of Jamaican culture. In Antigua we have the same problem where the core values of the youth have shifted drastically to reflect this degenerate behavior. However in Antigua we have the a high number of Jamaican immigrants which compounds the problem.
    However I disagree with the approach to a solution. Crime prevention should be the focus of Caribbean leaders and not the beefing up of the Police or Defense forces, this is reactive in nature. Youth development programs should be heavily funded. Extending the normal school hours to 4:30 with the afternoons being slated for music, sports, field trips, civic duty etc would go a long way in reducing criminal opportunity among the youth.. Making either tertiary education mandatory of 2 years of compulsory service in the defense forces should also be explored. Switzerland has a very successful program like this. London is experiencing first hand the results of a 8:00AM to 1:30PM school day where the youth are left to their own devices unsupervised until their parents get home from work at 5:00PM. Those 3 plus unsupervised and idly spent hours are where most youths are drafted into the criminal world and hone their skills, It is also when most youths have the freedom to experiment with drugs and sex.

20. @ de hood ,sorry i took so long to respond ,first and foremost the BDF knows it’s role and it has less than 400 full time soldiers ,it is support for all civil agency’s, remember when over 800 police constables sick out ? and remember de fire in 2005 ?,plus most of u would not like ah natural disaster and have to depend on ah foreign force solely for help, remember how de Trinidad soldiers treated the people of Grenada ? good thing the bdf was there ,but the reason for most of this crime is that there is serious shortage of marijuana in this country and the demand is very high, plus the price is almost 5,000 per pound it happens ! and ppl know; de Govt know and de police know, once de ppl cant get na weed they turn to choking and robbing to get money to by de dam thing ,wha lil da got left .

21. uzi

One question why didnt the police officers shoot back and blow away the 2 human wastes. It wouldve saved them much pain, time and trouble not to mention saving taxpayers money and judicial paperwork. You have guns cops use them on these block nuisances when you have to. They shoot at you well you shoot to kill ,simples.

22. denzil

Anyone remember the G4S armoured car guard who sent the block boy who tried to rob him to hell we need sharpshooters and responders like that guard in RBPF.

23. @uzi and denzil u feel de problem only lies at de boys on de block ?do u 2 fools know how much unarm persons de police shot how long u 2 fools thought it would go on ? remember that poor guy who got put in de trunk of ah police car ? in my opinion if they had approach both men how they were taught to approach ah subject at that hour which is at the ready position it could have turned out much different and when u 2 haters dun killing de boys on de block go and do something with de corrupt politicians and corrupt civil servants who does steal and rob people everyday and de judicial system who bends the law for themselves and big up friends ,and nex time try to be fair and balence .

24. gunner

De big boys givin out too many big guns… time to get them clean up. Dem letting de boys shoot police??? wuhloss! TIME will tell! He mudda lock up… mek he talk do! De police want blood now.. no more cover ups.

25. Anonymous

2 things to consider:

What does our defence force do again, not much, why cant they lend a hand? Work along side the police force, help train the not so trained police man.

Citizens of Barbados could be allowed to create a sort of privatized not for profit police force, that could work along side the current force. That would allow us to set salaries, proper training programs, and correct staffing numbers to handle this serious situation. Citizens & Private or public companies contribute/fund this privatized police force based on personal and or corporate income brackets.

“Why stand on a silent platform?
    Fight the war, F**k the norm
    When ignorance reigns, life is lost!”
    RATM

26. 53

I am a Barbadian and it hurts me to see the sudden increase in violent crime.

Now is is time for action from those that have power to take it and from all of us as citizens.

We need to fight crime from both ends though – the offenders and those heading in that direction.

Implement curfews, implement tough and exemplery sentences. The system needs to step up and respond quickly. We can’t take a year or more to process a case. These offenders need quick and serious action that also includes the opportunity for them to be rehabilitated where possible.

Is flogging illegal in this country; doesnt have to be with the cat o 9?

Also our police force needs to call in help from others ASAP. WE ALL need to work with our police. Do you know your community officer. You should! Things like the Boston crime reduction strategy which involved the police talking to the ‘guys on the block’ or those most likely to turn to crime and building relationships which educted them, warned them against crime and assisted them to get education and jobs. This approach resulted in a 50% decline in violent crime in Boston. Simple approach that had staggering results.

GET ACTIVE BARBADOS. DO SOMETHING NOW BEFORE IT’S TOO LATE AND WE ALL HAVE TO STAY HOME AND HIDE!

27. J. Payne

I agree totally. The Bahamas started a debate on crime there and there turning all stones to find out what can be done given various Privy Council rulings… But at least they are investigating.

Article: Enforcing capital punishment becoming more difficult, says Bahamas minister – By Krystel Rolle
    Date: Posted on 11 August 2011 by Bajan Sun Online
    Source: http://www.bajansunonline.com / Nassau Guardian Staff Reporter

http://bajansunonline.com/enforcing-capital-punishment-becoming-more-difficult-says-bahamas-minister/

It seems Barbados officials are going to wait until something grusome happen and cause bad press far and wide. But by then, all the horses will have bolted from the stable…

28. J. Payne

@Dessalines. I’ve heard from a friend directly Sweden has a compulsory military duty as well. And don’t even talk about Israel with that….. Even their ole’ people know military tactics.

29. Barbados needs to do like ST Thomas US Virgin Islands and bring in 400 US marshals to Clean up the gang and Crime mess in BIM! They are more than willing and capable of doing it ! I was in St Thomas just as they brought in 400 marshals and that place was scared to move ! GOOD on the US Marshall !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!