Get your photos while you can, folks!
by Mullins Bay Blog with BFP’s Cliverton
Visitors to our West Coast are often surprised to find that many coastal vistas have no relation at all to what they have seen in the travel brochures. The vast expanses of fine beach sand shown in the 20 year old travel brochure photos are largely gone. All that remains is a narrow band – in some cases not even that. Except, of course, where privileged and politically connected land-holders have installed groynes to capture the beach sand for their own use. All at the expense of their neighbours, but why worry about such small details when you have the support and approval of a government that you made political contributions to?
In late February the director of the CZMU made cryptic remarks on CBC TV about using a portion of the $60M they just borrowed from the IDB (to tackle beach erosion on the island) to support projects in the Scotland District. Now we are learning where those projects really are.
It is obvious that in order to create swimming areas for these East Coast condo projects they are going to have to re-engineer the beaches at Cove Bay, Boscobelle, and the other areas in the Scotland District from where the “many requests“ are coming.
That means they will be exporting the rock revetments, groynes and offshore breakwaters that have destroyed the beaches on the west coast to the east coast.
The fix is already in, folks, get your pictures of the picturesque east coast now.

I am really alarmed by the level of World Bank/IMF/IADB (“the herd’s”) investments being undertaken in Barbados lately. Once you hear names like: the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), the International Development Association (IDA), the International Finance Corporation (IFC) etc. those are all arms of the richest people in the world trying to get their hooks in your economy to extract all your profits out IMHO. In the event you can’t pay back they will instruct the government on what measures to implement to open the economy more, and make it ripe for further pillaging of resource. Barbados is in serious trouble….. You’ll never be able to take back control from them. The government may not see it now, but they will see it eventually.
—
Sagicor, IFC discussing US$100-m capital injection
Wednesday, February 09, 2011
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/business/Sagicor–IFC-discussing-US-100-m-capital-injection_8341683
If Barbados can’t pay them back you will see the end result… Just remember what the world powers did to Haiti with interest payments.
Just remember what they did to Argentina… “Sell off this thing, that thing, the third thing……” Eventually they ran out of things to sell, they didn’t own anymore companies to count as monthly revenue, and they defaulted hard… Which meant further measures could be called for because Argentina had to borrow more money.
I’m confused….What is going on in the East? Can someone please explain and elaborate further please
This may help – http://www.facebook.com/groups/125011990859369?view=permalink&id=255329037827663 -. It contains a response from a government minister to this BFP post.
Y’all gettin on like if Barbados is independent fuh true.
It’s not.
Independence boils down to FINANCIAL INDEPENDENCE
and we are sorely lacking in that Dept.
When the BLP’s long-promised big offshore gas-field find comes thru…lol
…we might recover some of our alleged independence
but until then….?
So from what I understand Cove Bay and Boscobelle are going to DEFINETLY have two new condo developments???…Is this true or do I have it wrong. I’m am seething with anger right now!
Not so long ago Leo Brewester was identified by the auditor general as having defrauded the government of approximately $500,000 Bds It was in the news paper. He and another person formed a company called Innovations Are Us. Jobs for the boardwalk(s) were subcontracted to this company. It was reported that although money was paid, the jobs were not carried out.
Does anyone know what the outcome was? Was Brewester arrested, was he interrogated, was he made to stand trial.?
Last week a man was put in prison for 9 months for stealing a bundle of Nation news papers (probably worth just about 200 dollars at most)
What the F#@K is going on here?
Keep this up and we are all doomed.
Time to form a new government with proper morality and high standards, one that will inspire the youth positively, one that is seen to be doing what it promises, one that leads by good example.
“Time to form a new government with proper morality and high standards, one that will inspire the youth positively, one that is seen to be doing what it promises, one that leads by good example.”
That’s a tall order.
On one occasion, the late Johnny Carson showed his late night, talk show audience what happens when you hook a US politician up to a lie detector machine (see below). Maybe we can insist that all Bajan politicians be hooked up to one of these machines when speechifying in parliament or in our election campaigns.
hmm, suddenly it all makes sense, not only does the Government get to stuff their private pockets, but they get to destroy a historical site. Its like Christmas for them! If you walk along the cliff side of Pico Terneriffe, you will find the remains of stonewalls and the foundations of little stone huts, similar to what you find in parts of Scotland.
So not only do they get to destroy a historical site, even better, this one belonged to Red Legs! You know, those mythical beings we all know didn’t really exist and are a fabrication of some silly white Bajans who claim they weren’t ALL from British Plantocracy.
Oh what a pleasure to be old,decrepit,time to go etc.,,
I remember well 18 years old up to about 23 years old,,,Hiking and camping with friends and sometimes alone in the then behind Gods back areas mentioned.Now it will be just another Concrete Eco Environment……Tooo bad all of you young Bajan Nuffereranarians……..Youlll never know……. Youlll never see…..Youll never feel….Tough Luck!!!!
To Green Monkey…
Time to form a New Govt….HAAA HHHAA Haaaa…You must come from neverneverland……….Six of one,half a dozen,,,all made from the same bolt of cloth.Thats what any person running for any election comes down to……
More of the same……….And Oh Boy,,,, What about….Our ever aspiring David Commissiong,,,,,,,,,Just what we need,,,A long wannabee,,,of socio communist etc,,,. etc,,,.
@tweedley dum. Soon Barbadians will have to goto the Commonwealth of Dominica and Guyana to learn about forests.
And notice this comes after the Prime Minister gave a speech a few weeks ago about Barbados adhering to its UN obligations with respect to the environment?
Luckily the good folks at BFP saved it….
—
“As exciting as watching paint dry, but just what we need…” – June 9, 2011
Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0BsKEQ4byU
Note the point made @10:42….