Off-duty cop Feris Jones shoots robber, protects innocent victims.
Barbados-born New York City police officer Feris Jones was getting her hair done last Saturday at Sabine’s Hallway beauty salon in Brooklyn when a wild thug burst in with a .44 Magnum pistol and screamed at the four women in the shop to turn over money and jewellery.
“If the officer wasn’t there, things could have gone very differently”
“Thank God she was there, he was fully loaded. It all happened in a blur. We were on the ground, and the shop is not large at all. My ears are still ringing.”
…Beauty salon owner Sabine Bellevue
Officer Jones quickly reacted. She stood up from her chair, told the other women to get down, announced she was a police officer and ordered the thug to drop his weapon. Somewhere in there Jones took out her own pistol and when the thug opened fire she shot twice. “Jonesy”, as she likes to be called, actually shot the gun out of his hand like you’d see in the movies!!!
The injured robber, one Winston Cox, ran off and was later arrested hiding out at his mama’s place like the true coward he is.
Blood all over the place, screaming and deafening noise in the little shop and Feris Jones kept her cool and did her duty. Mayor Bloomberg and Police Commissioner Ray Kelly announced yesterday, Tuesday, that Officer Jones is now promoted to Detective.
Good for our Bajan sister!
And a word to the Bridgetown taxi drivers who block everywhere downtown and think they own the place…
When Detective Feris Jones returns to BIM for her annual visit, you’d be wise not to block her parking space, okay?
Another reporter wondered whether it was typical for her to bring a weapon to the hair salon.
“I’m always armed,” Detective Jones said with a smile.
Further Reading
NY Daily News: Off-duty cop Feris Jones hailed as hero for foiling beauty salon shooting; NYPD IDs suspect

Last time we had one of these hero cops in the news she got married by the mayor, got promoted had a big wedding end result she was divorced so fast (in less than a year) went totally off her rockers and when back living in a small apartment in her father apartment building and was scare to come out and socialize we give to much to soon that is all that I saying give these people some counseling as well lots of it too.
Good for her
You go girl!! Good for her.
you does feel lucky punk?? Does yuh? Does yuh?
She should been in Campus Trendz shopping for hair products when those young punks came. Six women would be alive today and two young punks gone to meet their maker.
Interesting, isn’t this almost exact like the case years ago? Was not the one years ago also in hair place?
Shortly after it was reported she had severe problems etc etc…but in that case the culprit died.
I agree with Crabbie in principle. I believe that when officers are engaged in incidents involving use of firearms, the Mayor & Commissioner should have been more concerned with the psychological fallout if any of the officer and the people involved. I think we tend to want to rush to give sooo quickly.
Truly amazing. I hope she has broad shoulders. After heroic incidents like this one is given praise, recognition and media attention. The first two are okay. Some people in the news media can be downright brutal.
So she did her job ? I hate to be THAT person, but she only did her job, goodness, what next, a fireman gets awarded for outing a house fire ? Good job to her though, least she did something.
You make us proud girl. Show them who is in charge.