San Francisco Chronicle features Kammie Holder’s “Swimming Up Stream”

On Friday September 24, 2010, The Nation newspaper refused to publish Kammie Holder’s weekly column because they disagreed with his straight talk. After that, Kammie quit or the newspaper fired him – we don’t know what happened.

That’s fine. The Nation can do what they want… and so can Kammie or any Bajan who cares enough about our country and our people to write and share their thoughts.

But the world has changed. No longer can the “oldstream” Bajan news media dis-empower and dis-enfranchise any citizen because the newspaper doesn’t agree with their politics – or because the citizen criticizes the elites who own the Barbados news media and everything else ‘pon this rock.

Kammie Holder said “To HELL with the Nation newspaper” and took his message to the internet. To Facebook, Twitter and the blogs. A few weeks later and the The San Francisco Chronicle decided that he had something worthwhile to say… so they linked to his article. The San Francisco Chronicle has a daily readership of 1.6 million people.

At this moment if you Google or Yahoo! search for “Barbados Independence”, you’ll find that Kammie’s article is #4 out of 82,400 returns. The Nation and The Barbados Advocate are not found on the list.

Even if Kammie is too classy to say the message out loud, we will do it for him: “Nation News… stick it where the sun doan shine! You media elites no longer control everything. The world is changing, but you don’t know it.”

22 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Blogging, Freedom Of The Press

22 responses to “San Francisco Chronicle features Kammie Holder’s “Swimming Up Stream”

1. RLL

Best quote this week!

“Nation News… stick it where the sun doan shine! You media elites no longer control everything. The world is changing, but you don’t know it.”

YES!

Tell it BFP. Keep telling it.

2. Jack Bowman

I don’t get it. Mr. Holder produced a column of poorly written, poorly reasoned, tepid and timid tedium.

Doubtless The Nation should shove every one of its articles where the sun doesn’t shine. And doubtless The Advocate should do the same. That doesn’t make Mr. Holder’s article any better.

It’s still unpublishable by even a student magazine outside of Barbados, because it’s so badly written and so boring.

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/nation-newspaper-censors-kammie-holders-latest-column-read-it-here/#comments

3. C Newton

Well the mainstream media such as the Nation and Advocate as Barbadians go online for unbiased and fair news reporting. I did not expect him to last so long as if he is the person I once worked with at Windsor Arms Hotel he is a damn strong personality.

4. @Bowman, please head for the Optometrist and get new glasses – Kammie’s article was very interesting and useful for Bajans, not pompous foreigners like you…

You came here because we have a certain Je ne sais quois you find fascinating, so abide by our customs – we do not tailor to yours.

You are so obnoxious you have to keep running from BU to here and vice versa.

5. Jack Bowman

Thank you, Mr Bourne. A foreigner, moi? Are you kidding?

Always fascinating to visit your astoundingly badly designed blog every six months or so, Mr. Bourne, to remind myself how not to write English sentences.

6. Jack Bowman

And Mr. Bourne: the goatee really, really sucks.

7. Ah love it

At least he speaks from the heart and as he said on Facebook he is not a Common Yardfowl. Kammie keep on doing what yah doing you are a feather in somebody envious cap! I prefer to read his poorly written column than well written self serving shite and intellectual trite. Ah love it!

8. Deryck Babb

Ridley Green, why yah on the lil boy case. Are you saying you could not have worked with him? I loved his style and the issues he touched on made sense to the man in the street. He had potential to ruffle feathers. OMG. I will miss his column.

9. Jack Bowman

Come on, Mr. Bourne. You’re a professional journalist, right? Surely that’s enough time on Internet searches. It’s not hard. Try it. Be my guest.

Quoting Mr. Holder, just one sentence: “Barbados belongs to all Barbadians and their [sic] is no room for partisan politics.”

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/nation-newspaper-censors-kammie-holders-latest-column-read-it-here/#comments

Man, there’s [their’s?] someone I’d just follow right into the fire. If you can’t write properly, you can’t think properly.

10. Anonymouse Not By Choice

Jack: As a former fan of yours, (and yah, I do know that you don’t give a toss), this will be where I have to draw the line. Kammie isn’t perfect, oh and by the way, neither are you.
    Kammie Holder speaks from the heart and he doesn’t give a toss either about towing anybody’s party line. Barbados is full of hypocrites, the media, the politicians and sadly, a lot of the everyday folk too. Kammie dares to speak the truth and that is enough for me and a whole lot of other people too.
    Jack, find a hobby……….arranging flowers or perhaps throwing some clay on a pottery wheel, might do you a world of good.

11. Jack Bowman

@ Mr. A. N. B. Choice

Thanks for that, Mr. Choice. Devastating, obviously. There I was, innocently thinking that I really was perfect. Sorry you’ve had to draw a line.

But remind me: exactly why does Mr. Holder get an opportunity to write jaw-droppingly boring and poorly written articles in astonishingly amateurish newspapers on a regular basis?

Who cares if he’s non-partisan? “Kammie dares to speak the truth”. What truth was he speaking in that adolescent tiresomeness about his self-professed integrity? What truth? Where was the bit of truth in that? That Mr. Hutson should resign?

Fine. Mr. Hutson: resign! I’ve got some numbers but I’m not telling you where they came from because everyone knows you should resign and I’m fearless (albeit without a strong grip of the distinction between “there” and “their”) and I’m some kind of national treasure so I can write really awkward bollocks that wouldn’t be published by a free-sheet in New York or London and I’ll get pissed off if some national newspaper doesn’t print it and then people will defend me.

I know 16 year-olds, many of them, who write much, much better than Mr. Holder. Why is it Mr. Holder who gets to publish his tedium in national newspapers?

Serious question. Why?

Why?

12. Since you’re so wonderful M’sieu Bowlegs, why don’t you start a blog and show us how it’s done? Just remember to hang up all your pedantic didactisms at the door okay?

13. FOOLIE THE FIFTH

Oh shite, that Bpwman is a good arse. Where he come from ?

14. He pisses off folk at BU & when they run him, he comes here so he goes back & forth – no gumption to start his own thang, SMDH!

15. Jack Bowman

Bowlegs?

Is that your level of wit, Mr.Bourne?

Bowlegs.

LOVE that goatee, Mr. Bourne. It’s so … you.

16. Is that your level of wit, Bowlegs? You started the personal bit… What Kammie do you, offend your political sensibilities?

17. Bajan Booby

Mr. Bourne before u there was your father with some of the worst articles you could find in the last century. I had a little respect for your as you wrote with a little intelligence but to read that you endorse the silly elementary writings of Kammie Holder who is trying hard to impress and seek his few minutes of fame is truely embarrising and sinks your standards of journalism to the gutter.His articles are meaninless,senseless and useless.

18. People, I wrote shite poorly so what, somebody has to do it. To some the shite made sense. I had a very good relationship with the Nation staff. It was me who decided to dedicate my time to Facebook, Twitter and the blogs. Thus my shite can be read on theses sites. So you can still read my shite or find the intellectually rich emptiness elsewhere!

19. It is very clear your unbiased missives have offended many factions and I have even been ‘warned’ for daring to like your writing…

I was even compared with my father, who offended many since he chose to list both problems & solutions, yet his “Antenna” column is what sold the Sunday Sun until the Nation decided it was better to osculate the Advertiser’s gluteals instead. Why? Just because I dared to uphold your work, Mr Holder!

Kammie, if you wrote so poorly, then why did the SF Chronicle choose to feature your work out of countless bits of writing from Barbados to choose from?

20. 198

What a dreadful thread!
    People sniping at ea. other..

21. Jack Bowman

Apologies to all for my part in what Mr. Anonymous rightly calls “sniping”.

Was provoked, though that’s no excuse. Hence the apology, which is sincerely meant.

22. Jack Bowman

Thank you, Mr. Holder, for that clarification. Best of luck with what you call “my shite” on Facebook, Twitter and what you call “theses sites”.