Barbados Labour Party self-destructing over leadership battle of the elites

“Crabs in a barrel

An animal so stupid and selfish that when piled in a barrel they will tear each other down to get an inch closer and would easily succeed if they worked together. God we’re so much better than them…”

… sacred oath of the Barbados Labour Party

After three years of turmoil Mia fights to stay alive while King Arthur awaits rebirth.

Mottley retained “for now” say the “party faithful” ? !!!

How many “successes” at retaining Mia Mottley can the BLP survive?

The recent “attempted coup” against BLP interim leader Mia Mottley is hardly worth mentioning by itself because it is nothing more than the continuation of three years of turmoil. It simply doesn’t matter who tried to de-throne Mia this time because nothing is settled.

If anything, the leadership of the BLP is less secure and less defined.

Just who is in charge at the BLP? Bajans still can’t say and neither can the BLP, except in a show of empty bravado.

Let’s review some history and then, much to the chagrin of the BLP, we at Barbados Free Press will tell the BLP how they can be elected as the next government. Not that the BLP elites will listen to their fellow citizens at BFP: but the membership just might…

Here is what we said a year ago in our October 22, 2009 article and poll “Poll: Mia Mottley Opposition “Leader” in name only? You decide…

“In the wreckage of the January 2008 election, defeated Prime Minister Owen Arthur resigned from the leadership of the BLP, and Deputy Leader Mia Mottley was publicly announced as the new party leader.

What most of the public didn’t see or read about in the papers – and only heard about in whispers and quiet standpipe talk – was that Mia Mottley’s “promotion” to party leader was anything but unanimous and smooth sailing. Her “confirmation” (if you can call it that) as Leader of the Opposition took place behind closed doors and must have been some battle judging by the reports.

Like many people I heard the stories of screaming, shouting and banging that could be heard out onto the street until some thinking person sent a text message to one of the participants that party supporters milling about outside were overhearing the disaster. Later, rumours came around that Mia almost lost the position until her father threatened to lay waste to half the old-boys network if his little girl didn’t assume the mantle of BLP leader. Yes, Mia’s daddy – Justice Elliot D. Mottley – was at the inner-circle meeting on election night and not just to provide moral support to his daughter.

In my opinion, what the Barbados Labour Party received on election night was an Interim Leader. Whether the BLP cares to call Mia Mottley by that name or not, the public understands the reality of her position and it weakens her image and credibility in Parliament.”

Crabs in a barrel

Barbados Free Press declared Mia as “interim leader” and said that for the good of the BLP and Barbados, there should be a BLP leadership contest and a membership vote as soon as possible.

Too bad the BLP didn’t take our advice, because almost three years later the party is disintegrating. Their leader has no general mandate. Mia is supposed to be intelligent, but she didn’t feel the wind shift: BLP Members are no longer satisfied to have their leader chosen by a select few elites – who might include Mia’s daddy or Owen’s old crones and posse members.

How the BLP can win the next election

Fact: Prime Minister David Thompson will not run for re-election.

Fact: Thompson’s succession is anything but determined within the DLP. It could be said that the DLP leadership is in as much turmoil as the BLP – no matter what is said in the media.

Fact: The DLP were elected largely upon two factors: voters’ disgust with BLP corruption, and DLP promises of Integrity legislation, Freedom of Information, and a Ministerial Code that included rules about conflicts of interest.

Fact: The DLP played voters for suckers. Three years later the voters remember.

Fact: Many BLP faithful will tolerate Mia Mottley as a Minister, but are unwilling to support her as party leader because they don’t believe she can win a national election in front of the voters.

Fact: The voters aren’t happy with the choice of having to elect long time BLP or DLP elites next time around. Government experience is probably a LIABILITY next election.

Instead of continuing to self-destruct and slit each others’ throats, the Barbados Labour Party could declare a general leadership conference for April of 2011. (We’d say April 1st, but we’re not that cruel. Oh! We said it… so maybe we are.)

Anyway, the BLP should…

1/ NOW declare a leadership conference for April 2011 to be the result of a general vote of every BLP member.

2/ FREEZE the BLP voting membership list as of September 1, 2010. (If you weren’t a member on that date, you don’t get to vote.)

Out of that process would come a BLP leader with a secure mandate and the support of the entire BLP membership, but it’s never going to happen because neither Mottley, nor Arthur nor the new crowd want an open vote.

And that is why independent candidates will have an opportunity next election such as hasn’t been seen before in Barbados!

That’s our opinion after a couple a Banks, and we’re sticking to it.

How the BLP Leaders view themselves…

Mottley confirms her royal birthright…

(Posted by BLP on October 25, 2009)

Check out the video where Motley confirms her elitist status and quotes Churchill that she “I am a child of the House of Assembly. I was brought up in my father’s house…”

That’s for sure, and so is this statement by Mia…

“The electorate will not accept a divided party…”

Arthur confirms he is the same old, same old…

“I am today what I was yesterday, and shall be tomorrow…”

Never a truer word spoken by Owen Arthur documented in a YouTube video posted December 26, 2007. Hey… Mr. Arthur? How about that $75,000 “campaign donation” cheque you deposited to your personal bank account? What’s the story?

Here are some articles about the recent “attempted coup” against Mottley.

We want you to click on the links and read them at The Nation, but we’ll print them in their entirety because the Nation often changes history by removing or modifying online articles.

‘Coup’ aborted (link here)

BY JOHN SEALY AND WADE GIBBONS | WED, OCTOBER 13, 2010 – 12:11 AM

THE “PALACE COUP” has been aborted and Mia Mottley remains Leader of the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP).

But after almost five hours of deliberations by five of the BLP’s nine-member parliamentary group at their Roebuck Street, St Michael headquarters yesterday, there was still some uncertainty whether Mottley’s leadership had the support of the majority of her colleagues.

However, secretary of the parliamentary group, Gline Clarke, who had convened the meeting, told a media briefing that Mottley was still Leader of the Opposition “at this present time”.  Also present were BLP chairman George Payne, Ronald Toppin, William Duguid and Dale Marshall.

“She is still the Leader of the Opposition and we will give her that support until further notice,” Clarke said, adding there were still a number of leadership issues to be discussed.

The St George North MP said he had called the meeting to hear certain grievances, but due to the absence of Mottley, former Prime Minister Owen Arthur, general secretary Cynthia Forde and Rawle Eastmond, it was thought best to postpone the meeting until a later date.

Clarke said they had a “full and frank discussion on the leadership of the party” and it was decided that the dialogue which had commenced would be allowed to continue to “bring about a speedy resolution to this matter on a soon date”.

Clarke also said Arthur’s absence was due to sickness.

He noted there was no surety that another meeting would be held before the restart of Parliament next week.

Responding to a suggestion that a meeting of BLP elders Monday night had influenced their decision not to oust Mottley, Payne said the BLP’s constitution only mentioned 30 constituency branches, a League of Young Socialists and the Women’s League.

“There is no mention of any elders in our constitution. There is no group in the BLP that is known as the elders,” Payne said.

Those who met on Monday night were Sir Henry Forde, Sir Louis Tull, Dame Billie Miller, Sir Fred Gollop, Sir Richard “Johnny” Cheltenham and Nigel Barrow.

Yesterday’s events followed a six-man meeting Monday night at Payne’s Prior Park, St James residence, reportedly to get majority support to return Arthur to the helm of the party.

But from as early as 12:30 p.m. dozens of the party faithful held court outside the BLP’s headquarters shouting vociferous support for Mottley and denouncing Arthur, under the watchful eyes of the police.

Speaking later outside Parliament, Mottley described the day as “long and interesting”. She said she needed to get further details about what occurred at Roebuck Street and she would then respond appropriately.

Mottley used the opportunity to urge Barbadians to redouble their prayers for ailing Prime Minister David Thompson.

Not the time (link here)

WED, OCTOBER 13, 2010 – 12:09 AM

THIS IS THE WORST possible time for the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) house to appear divided.

The reaction yesterday from one of six party stalwarts to news of the possible ouster of Mia Mottley in favour of the reinstallation of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur.

The six – Sir Henry Forde, Sir Louis Tull, Dame Billie Miller, Sir Fred Gollop, Sir Richard “Johnny” Cheltenham and Nigel Barrow – met on Monday night in a bid to settle the bitter internal leadership fight that looks to shake the very foundation of the 72-year-old political institution.

Yesterday, while most were tightlipped, Sir Louis would only confirm that he attended the meeting.

Another elder, who preferred not to be identified, went further to suggest that now was definitely not the time for any public squabbling between opposing BLP camps.

He said: “This is the worst possible time to pick a fight with Prime Minister [David] Thompson on his [sick bed] and talk of a snap election”.

The elder was also concerned that the party, which has had a long-standing image of being able to publicly hold it together, was now on a negative trajectory as far as that tradition goes.

“This is not the way the BLP has traditionally done business,” the elder said, as he mentally searched through the party’s history, back to the days of founder Sir Grantley Adams.

“Today is really out of line,” he stressed, explaining that senior party officials were not at all in favour of the planned ouster of Mottley.

Yesterday, as the leadership tussle appeared far from settled, the source made it clear that the final decision on political leadership resided with the nine parliamentary group members.

He also doubted reports that an angry Arthur would resign.

“In his quiet moments he will consider the fact that his legacy is tied up in the Barbados Labour Party,” the party insider said.

The source noted Arthur had served as Prime Minister for 14 years and doubted that his interest was strong in taking back control of the reins.

“Mia is 40 something years old. There is so much work to be done. I am not sure Arthur really wants that, even though everybody likes power,” the party spokesman said.

“In fact, I think if an election were called he [Arthur] would be on a BLP platform.”

For the time being at least Mia remains in place.

The consensus?

“We were unhappy over the problems we were hearing and came to the conclusion that there should be further discussion between the parties involved,” said Sir Louis. (SP/KJ)

Lammie sheds tears for BLP (link here)

BY MARIA BRADSHAW | WED, OCTOBER 13, 2010 – 12:06 AM

BARBADOS Labour Party (BLP) stalwart Lionel “Lammie” Craig is saddened and hurt at the division created in the party by the move to oust Opposition Leader Mia Mottley.

“This is very unfortunate. They have set out to destroy the very fabric of the Barbados Labour Party. I have served this party for 50 years and I have never experienced anything like this,” the 80- ear-old Craig said, when a MIDWEEK NATION team caught up with him yesterday afternoon, as he drove through Queen’s Park observing the gathering of an angry group of Mottley supporters.

And while he was shaken by that sight, nothing prepared him for what confronted him at the party’s headquarters at Roebuck Street.

“It saddened me when I got into Roebuck Street to see the BLP gate closed and the supporters – the people that Grantley Adams fought for and lived for and died for – could not enter because the gate was locked. That was painful. And to see the presence of the police out there – for what purpose I did not understand,” he said, his voice breaking with emotion.

“I am grieving. I feel hurt deep inside to see the BLP tearing itself apart over the greed by some people,” Craig cried.

But while the supporters had to remain on the sidelines yesterday, Craig said their voices would be heard at the BLP’s annual conference later this month.

“I believe that at the conference coming up the rank and file of the party, the people who keep the party alive in defeat and victory, should be given a chance to determine what they want and who they want to be their leader and that can only be determined at the conference.”

The elderly Craig, who was being driven by close friend Hal Bushell, expressed the belief that Mottley would garner all the support she needed at the conference.

“I have no doubt about that,” he said.

“Owen Arthur handed over to Miss Mottley and George Payne became chairman because of that vote, and that must be made abundantly clear. Why is he so suddenly  anxious to become political leader?” a bewildered Craig asked.

25 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Corruption, Political Corruption, Politics, Politics & Corruption

25 responses to “Barbados Labour Party self-destructing over leadership battle of the elites

1. WTF?

Is the process of Mottley’s selection as ‘leader’ similar to Roman Catholicism?

You know what I mean. “leadership by divine intervention of the father.”

🙂

2. Adrian Hinds

Will Mottley’s current and future actions ever be consistent with what she said in that video?

3. reality check

Its natural for a parent to fight for his child but Mia needs to do a makeover and come out fighting in a free vote by herself.

People care about real ideas and bread and butter issues, not rhetoric.

4. Anonymous

If Arthur becomes leader of the opposition before the general conference, the mendicants will all fall in line hoping for a few crumbs if he becomes prime minister again.

5. The Pious one

Some 27 years after the demise of Maurice Bishop on 19th October 1983…..we in Barbados will after the (18th october , 2010 BLP meeting) witness on the 19th October 2010…the decapitation of Mia Aman Mottley !

Interesteringly, to note by the real men in her BLP PARTY !

And some BLP stooges tell us that the DEMS is a one term government !

The BEES mek….Lammie Craig BAWL !!

6. Anonymous

During the 14 year “reign” of Owen, I often felt that he was tired and unfocused. Billie, David Simmons and Mia “led” did very well during those times.

Owen is coming back much older and the support he will have is not of the caliber intellectually and administratively as he had during the 14 years.

For those that are dreaming of a return to the good days, I say dream on. Owen does not have the energy to solve the current problems and put us on to a new path of development.

As for the DLP the talent pool looks very poor.

7. Sunny Gal

BFP
    Permit me to ask whether this new leadership divide in the BLP is not just about the anti-women stance of the old guard? Both political parties seem to believe it is ok for women to work for them, campaign for them, vote for them but never to lead them.

If a CEO is given three successive five year terms to implement and execute his 5 year vision and strategy and did not in that time complete the task, would shareholders reward him with another five year term?

I hold no brief for Mia Mottley, but Owen Arthur in his 14 year tenure worked her and worked her hard, and she showed herself equal to the task, she did not falter. Up and down Barbados the average man believes she has the ability to lead the country. Across the region and in the diaspora , West Indians sees her a a natural leader of Barbados, yet within her own party there are those who continue to undermine and deride her- the question is to what end?

Look at those offering themselves for leadership now, have they ever expressed a vision for Barbados? What has been their contribution to public life so far? Have they ever expressed an interest in anything patriotic or altruistic? No, their mission has always been about making money, living large, showing off, advancement of self.

So let the slurs and personal villification of Mottley commence, but please let the stones not be thrown by those whose personal lives no better stand up to public scrutiny. Many women have been hurt, used and abused, some worked hard to pay the bills and have been chased away and still not received a cent! Let us instead ask questions about the integrity of men who would be at enemity with Arthur one moment but in the next moment, on the altar of expedience, would gladly sing in his choir, at the expense of Mottley.

Make no mistake, this BLP leadership struggle has nothing to do with what is in the best interest of Barbados. This is about controlling, manipulating and distributing the resources of the state in the interest of a few. These days are some funny nights!

8. J

Dear BFP:

Yu might have made a better analysis if your had left out the beer.

9. David G. Brooks

I have not bothered to read the above same-old-same-old retoric.

BFP: Your dislike of Mia Mottley, as per your own comments in the past that she did something that adversly affected one and/or several of your inner circle, makes you somewhat partial or subjective to this topic. Therefore one would not expect much impartiality here from you BFP but I am hoping that I am wrong, especially in the interest of ‘free’ press. Of course, you don’t like Owen either but then that must now expand out to all sides now given the non-performance you expect of the DEMS.

So, here I go …

Mia Mottley was and is the logical choice to lead the BLP at this time given that Owen Arthur stepped back from leadership. He has categorically said that he does not seek the leadership after his tenure of being Prime Minister and would only consider doing so if the BLP was in great need and/or to be of service to the country.

That said, I think it also a generally accepted fact that the general population (and I think some DEMs in there too) and in particular the Business Sector thinks that he would be the one to bring Barbados out of the recession (maybe) quicker but more importantly stronger. He certainly has the confidence support in that area, which is the main issue at this time.

Therefore, I can only see an alliance between Mia & Owen to work together to bring this about. Mia the political animal that Tom Adams confessed to being, especially in here youth and being leader of the BLP, and Owen the statesman that he has become and continue to be in providing his services to bring the country out of this recession which shadows all others in recent history.

That is advice to them, and I feel that it is underway already otherwise I will make my sentiment known further than here at this time.

Furthermore, I also feel that there is a serious leak inside the BLP as too much information seems to be getting out and especially to the DLP. Sorry, but Hartley Henry is not that good.

10. David G. Brooks

Oh, I forgot to say that I was quite impressed with Mia’s address to the Chamber of Commerce that I hear on the radio a week or so back, and I am sure most of them were too.

11. WSD

Good article BFP.

Re: Justice Elliot Mottley fixing his daughter’s political desires:

Whether Mia is his daughter or not, it is not appropriate for a sitting Justice on the Cayman Islands Court of Appeal to become involved in politics.

http://www.caymanjudicial-legalinfo.ky/Judicial-Officers/Justices-of-appeal.aspx

Hon. Justice Elliot, D. Mottley Q.C.

Justice of the Court of Appeal
    Born 1939, Barbados;
    Called to the Bar in England and Wales November 1961;
    Admitted to the Bar in Barbados as Barrister, 1961;
    Admitted to practice in the Supreme Court of the West Indies Associated States (practicing in St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Dominica, British Virgin Islands, Grenada, Montserrat and Anguilla), 1967;
    Member of Barbados Parliament (for the constituency of the City of Bridgetown for the Barbados Labour Party), 1969 – 1976;
    Principal Representative of the Government of Barbados in New York, U.S.A. (Designation of Counsel General),1976;
    Appointed Queen’s Counsel, 1980;
    Admitted to practice at the Bar in Trinidad & Tobago, 1992;
    Her Majesty’s Attorney General for the Island of Bermuda; acting as Deputy Governor on several occasions; 1995 – 1998;
    Appointed non-resident Justice of Appeal of the Court of Appeal, Belize, 1999;
    Chairman, Disciplinary Committee of the Barbados Bar Association, 1999 – 2000;
    Appointed non-resident Justice of Appeal of the Court of Appeal Turks & Caicos Islands 2002;
    Acted as Justice of Appeal of the Court of Appeal of Barbados, 2002;
    Admitted to practice at the Bar in Antigua and Barbuda, 2003;
    Appointed President of the Court of Appeal, Belize, 2004;
    Appointed Justice of the Court Appeal, the Cayman Islands 2005 to present.

12. Laeppa

God don’t like ugly is a popular Bajan saying. Is there any truth to the rumour that Bajans don’t like women with space between their teeth?

13. Expatriate

Mia Mottley can’t lead anyone, anywhere. She is a catastrophe waiting to happen, and anyone who thinks she possess’s the calibre of leadership to lead Barbados at any pont in time, is sadly mistaken. Ms Mottley will never even come close to Billie Miller, as a politician and/or leader, and Ms Miller never reached that Prime Ministerial pinnacle. Mia’s sense of political entitlement is what is destroying her politically. Leadership cannot be handed to her or anyone else on a silver platter.

14. fran

Barbados is a hypocritical society. We readily condemn one individual for a particular behavior and hence we don’t want to see them in office, but on the other hand we have a wife beater, an adulterer, one who treats people as if there don’t matter and we are ready to elect them again. The only claim we have to a christian society is the number of churches we have at every corner, nothing else.

15. Factuality

Come on Fran … you said “The only claim we have to a christian society is the number of churches we have at every corner, nothing else.”

The number of churches as a sign of christianity is a non sequitur. A ‘church’ is probably the most viable business enterprise you can get.

16. Robert

Sunny Gal,
    “…up and down Barbados, the average man believes she has the capacity to lead Barbados. Across the region, the “dispora”, West Indians see her as a natural leader of Barbados”

Wow!
    You must have been conducting your own research.

Are you a fiction-writer?

17. David G. Brooks

@Expatriate: (to quote you) …
    “Mia’s sense of political entitlement is what is destroying her politically. Leadership cannot be handed to her or anyone else on a silver platter.”

While I whole hearted agree with you on this score, however it does not mean that she cannot lead.

I personally think she can lead this country as PM but maybe a bit later on in time when she has matured politically and the present recessional crisis has abated.

18. David G. Brooks

@fran … I have to agree with Factuality. We seem to have this notion that because we got so much churches then we are serious Christians – nothing could be farther from the truth.

In fact, as Christians we should recognise that we all sinners – in whatever our ‘areas’ are – but we have faith that we will be judged when the time comes by a just God who will know ALL of doings, and not a bunch of church goers that have no idea what being a Christian or even a devout God fearing person really means.

Leave out the personal lives of our politicians and let them get on with work. If you started judging everyone by the sins then we would be a nation of unemployable people for all jobs from top to bottom. Think about it.

19. Gigaset

Lets agree the political quote for the year must be:-

“I am trying to be civil about all of this”

Classic Owen Arthur. As leader of the opposition, I think Darcy could look forward to good warm tongue lashing come the 19th October, 2010.

20. 72

If we start from the premise that a political party’s purpose is to win elections and finish there, we will always end up with persons who are good for the party (win seats and get votes). We will leave out a whole lot of people who can contribute to the country.

Those who contribute to the party are always given preference to those who can contribute to the country.

21. Does not matter

Where are all the women on this? How can you stand by and tolerate this?

This is not a question of Mia vs. Owen, it is a question of leadership. Was she elected to lead? If so, why all of a sudden she is not fit to lead? What has changed overnight that begs for the ushering in of a new leader? And if so, is Owen, the only alternative or is he a De Facto leader? I pray that Bajans open their eyes and see what is going on.

A real leader is present with the people through thick and thin, and doesn’t just ‘come back’ because the future looks promising; then it is about ‘self’ and not the people or the party. It is time for a change of the old guard, been there and done that before.

Give this woman a chance. SHE HAS EARNED IT, she has stood behind, next to and by Owen all these years, now it is his time to support his party, use his economic wisdom to guide, and direct them, but to do so only if he can be the leader is a sad depiction of a man consumed with power.

If he can only use his wisdom for the benefit of Barbados when he is at the helm of the ship, one has to question what brand of love for party and people of the country this is.

No party either the DLP or the BLP has a ‘god,’ all men are mortals and the party has to be bigger than anyone’s personality or promise. Invest in the future of a new beginning in the BLP under Mia.

22. surely you jest

“use his economic wisdom to guide”

Everything works until you put this phrase in.

Using the VAT a new source of revenue.
    Arthur was responsible for the most outrageous reckless, untendered, unaccountable financial rape of the Barbados Treasury and taxpayers dollars in its history.

Mia needs to disassociate herself from Owen Arthur completely and find some good cost accountants who have a reputation for honesty and integrity.

23. 89

Even before Darcy Boyce,the Ministry of Finance contained more accountants than economists. Maybe that is the source of the problem. Accountants are ill-equipped to think is terms of what is best for a country. They are trained to think about what is best for companies.

The Ministry of Finance must develop policy for the whole country.

24. it doesn't matter

Arthur in accepting his selection by the group says no one had done more than him to facilitate Mottley, pointing out it was he who had first appointed her to his Cabinet serving as Minister of Education and Culture, Attorney General and Minister of Economic Affairs and later elevating to Leader of Government Business and Deputy Prime Minister.

“I really wished Mia Mottley would have led the people of Barbados to so cause them to forget about me.”

“I will give this my undivided attention. I will not be going to Antigua.

I will not be doing any more consultancies. I will give this my undivided attention”.

And to make a synthesis of all the above quotes: “I am a god, I build and destroy, I made Mia, I am a god, and having made her I now will destroy her.”

I listened carefully for this gentleman to make mention of gratitude for the time Mia led; I listened for him to wish the pm and his family well at this trying time, I listened for him to say the one thing that would have been acceptable for his seeking to return himself to power and that is for him to put forward a concrete argument why in these difficult times he is the best man to govern Barbados and the people of Barbados.

Instead, I heard a man who blamed a woman for “not letting the people forget him.” This is the stuff that leadership is made of? You have got to be kidding me.

Instead, I heard a man who now will not go off to Antigua and consult because power not is within grasp. How can a people be so blind as to see that leaders make sacrifices for their people; they SERVE in good and bad times; but rather what was uttered was a man who is saying, “if I have a chance to rule, then forget leaving Barbados.” What if he loses, will he all of a sudden change his mind again and leave? Is he only interested in serving when he is the Master of the house.

Mia this is a message for you. Character, principles, sacrifice, love for God, people, country and our BLP will trump this play. Let things play out; don’t kick against the goad; step out the way and let things play out. As hard as it is to be stabbed in the back, consider this cleaning house; you know your enemies and who is loyal to you AND DON’T FORGET.

25. it doesn't matter

Mia,

I am so proud of you. I had just posted when you came on the air.

You have shown what leadership is about. Tears came to my eyes. You spoke from your heart and with conviction and have put the party, the country and the people of Barbados FIRST.

Politics was never to be a “blood-sport.” And it is this philosophy that sad to say that has turn around now and bit you. But as I said before, let things play out. In this post-modern world, any politician that comes with that kind of narrative will soon learn his/her fate; a shift has taken place in the psyche of most persons world-wide; you are on the right path; PATIENCE AND PERSEVERANCE DEAR.

You are bright woman, and I see your game plan already; let things be for now, let no part of the outcome stick to you, stay clear.