Who will be the next elected Prime Minister of Barbados?

WHEN David Thompson resigns, who will assume the leadership of the DLP and Barbados?

A Nation commissioned poll states that 35% of Barbadians support Chris Sinckler (photo above) for our next leader if WHEN current PM David Thompson is unable to carry on in the position due to his ongoing battle with pancreatic cancer.

23% of respondents support current Acting Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, while the third choice is Ronald Jones – although with 10% it can be argued that Mr. Jones is out of serious contention. If our leadership conferences were about the party membership and not about the elites imposing their will upon the members, Jones has enough influence to be a “king maker” by throwing his support behind Stuart.

But that’s another system of politics and not ours.

While Mr. Jones is busy declaring that David Thompson is Prime Minister and we shouldn’t even be talking about Thompson’s replacement, the rest of the island has already moved on to the next step – and that includes the Barbados Labour Party.

At this moment, would Mottley, Arthur or someone else give the BLP the greatest chance of success in the next election?

What we need now is a poll of how each of the DLP top runners would fare in a vote against Opposition Leader Mia Mottley and our not-politically-dead-yet former Prime Minister, Owen Arthur. We’re not sure if Arthur’s name should appear twice on the poll though: once as sober and once soused, so that folks will have a chance to differentiate their support.

That little shot across the bow of Owen Arthur is a reminder to us all that when Mia Mottley was “selected” as the new leader of the Barbados Labour Party immediately after the loss of the January 2008 election, it was anything but a love fest. Let’s remember how Mia Mottley came to be chosen “leader” and the fact that while many BLP faithful will support Mia Mottley as a Minister, they are unwilling to support her as party leader because they don’t believe she can win a national election in front of the voters.

“Mottley’s selection as BLP leader was anything but a love-fest.”

As we said in our article Why The Barbados Labour Party Needs A Real Leadership Contest & Convention – And Why Mia Mottley Will Never Agree To A Leadership Vote

“I wasn’t there, but like many people I’ve heard the stories of screaming, shouting and banging that could be heard out onto the street until some thinking person sent a text message to one of the participants that party supporters milling about outside were hearing the disaster. Later, the rumours came around that Mia almost lost the position until her father threatened to lay waste to half the old-boys network if his little girl didn’t assume the mantle of BLP leader. Yes, Mia’s daddy – Justice Elliot D. Mottley – was at the inner-circle meeting on election night and not just to provide moral support to his daughter. Judge Mottley took a very active role in the political process – according to what was heard on the street.

Once again folks – I wasn’t there, but I’ve heard the stories and so have you. Whatever happened on election night that saw Mia Mottley emerge as BLP Leader, it sure wasn’t a unifying experience for the BLP. Nor was this a satisfactory “public” fight where a clear winner was declared by the party.”

Is Mia Mottley electable as Prime Minister in a national election?

While the DLP leadership is in question because of David Thompson’s health, the BLP is not sitting there as the scion of stability because of the manner in which Mia Mottley assumed power. She has never faced the membership or the electorate as party leader. Her election performance and acceptability as Prime Minister by the shifting voter block is a huge unknown.

In short, no one knows if Mia Mottley is electable as Prime Minister. Many stalwart BLP supporters believe that she is NOT electable as PM. As a Minister of government, yes – but not as THE Prime Minister. Meanwhile former Prime Minister Owen Arthur (photo above) looks in the mirror every day, has a slug of scotch and says, “Yes we can!”

Is Arthur correct? Can he repossess the BLP leadership? There is no question that he wants to – the only question is whether to act or to wait for the implosion and then step in as saviour.

The old parties are weak. Now is the time to elect independent candidates!

In our opinion, at this moment the bottom line for Bajan politics is this…

Nobody can predict the next year or two in Barbados politics, except to say there will be a period of instability and weakness of leadership in both the DLP and BLP camps.

For those voters who reject the ongoing corruption and elitist politics of the two old parties, this might present an ideal opportunity to elect a few good independents to shake things up. All it would take would be two or three independent MPs committed to integrity and they might hold the balance of power after the next election.

Think about that… In a close election a coalition of independently-elected Members of Parliament could end up holding the balance of power in government. Three seats… and all the power.

32 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Corruption, Political Corruption, Politics, Politics & Corruption

32 responses to “Who will be the next elected Prime Minister of Barbados?

1. Tell me Why

Let me say it now and let it be registered. The best person to lead the DLP at this crucial time is the Honourable Christopher Sinckler. He’s a seasoned administrator, he’s a pro-active politician. He’s the man for the moment. I say no more. I have spoken….now people listen and do the right thing.

2. WildyCoyte

I don’t really care,they are all the same,i will still be suffering no matter who leads whichever party,it’s not about us after they are elected you know!!!

3. Anonymous

@ WildyCoyte

There is indeed a difference between the political parties in Barbados. The BLP does in large measure take care of or at least look out for and help their members/supporters.

The DLP on the other hand does not either take care of or look out for the members/ supporters. This is a fact however the consequence is that disgruntle DLP supporters show their displeasure in one or two ways. It is repeated time and again, namely;

a. A dissatisfied DLP supporter washes his linen in public and is only too happy to cry down their own administration to whomsoever will listen, friend, foe or otherwise.

b. A dissatisfied DLP supporter will blatantly refuse to go to the polls unless he thinks its going to be close contest and even then he makes sure to stick to em’ by voting for the BLP candidate.

c. A dissastified DLP supporter waits patiently for the MPs and particularly the Cabinet members to come seeking financial support during election season, so that he or she can wash em’ down with a good cursing followed by a pointblack refusal to assist them.

Too often I am finding Barbadians and in particular business people referring to this DLP administration as a bunch of wild boys. I don’t say that because I disagree with them but more with the fact that the present administration seems oblivious to these sentiments all the while continuing to govern with arrogance and ineptitude.

Last night a group of most DLP supporters but with some BLP supporters present, said and I quote, this administration is making a renewed effort at doing absolutely nothing. I laughted to I nearly cried.

4. Portal Art

Remember, its always better to have a man in the tent pissing out than to have him outside the tent pissing in.

5. Jerome Watson

The last person to lead the DLP is Christopher Sinckler. His hands are tied to too many drug dealers in his constituency. Talking purty aint all..And he too arogant on top of dat.

6. Bajan

Sinkler is the next “wuk fa wuk” just ask the lovely ladies in his constituency. He loves to send text messages. Maybe he don’t want to be recorded, can always argue he misplaced his phone.

7. Hands off Buddy

Well at least he ent do like owen arthur who, while he should have been looking after the people’s business and stopping the bees from raiding the treasury, was busy breaking up the secretary on he desk.

And all this, while impregnating her, hiding the child from he wife and the whole country. Well of course we know he know how to deceive the people because he led everybody in barbados to believe that he was childless and the spring two children on the people of barbados including a 18 yr old child.

But of course Chris Sinckler cant be fit PM but Owen Arthur could be. Spoken like a true bee “Bajan”

8. Hands off Buddy

Oh shit, dont let we talk bout Mottley at all. In the eyes of “Bajan” she fit to be PM. Never mine he vampire qualities. lol wuhloss

9. Out of Office

@ Hands off Buddy

You are very strong supporter of Chris “wuk fa wuk” Sinckler, is he your boyfriend or are you a girl?

But seriously tho, you really think the DLP administration is going to put the reigns of Government in the hands of Sinckler do you? Hartley and Wickham could continue jumping thru hoops to try land a “boy” from within their clan but the bajan people won’t have it.

I support any combination of the following:

Stuart,Sealy and Estsick but I think the right combination for Barbados, at this time, is:

Stuart – PM
    Sealy – Deputy PM
    Estwick – Minister of Finance

The rest are really only “also rans”.

10. lighthearted

Out of Office, seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness and all things will be added unto to you.

The voice of the people is the voice of God, and the
    the will of God will never be denied!

No matter what you want or hope to get.

11. Out of Office

@lighthearted

Skip the religious references/quotes and get tot he point. Do you support Wuk fa Wuk for PM?

12. lighthearted

Yes! I support Owen Arthur for PM

13. You stacked them JUST RIGHT..

Stuart – PM
    Sealy – Deputy PM

The rest are really only “also rans”.

14. KISSMYA

Owen did a good job- adamn good job as Prime Minister.

What do you all want ? a saint, a pure perfect human being ?
    he who is without sin……………………………..

15. I grunted with something (I don’t want to say anger just yet) when the Nation brought out this poll – I was asking this same darn question in my blog since July … wow, I’m so amazed (sarcasm)

16. Yeah riiight!

Owen did a great job -feathering his own nest!
    I swear he’s up near Kyffin in terms of personal wealth, these days.

Owen done pass COW and de Chicken man up nr. Balls.

The only thing Owen doan have is a corporate jet
    but that could happen yet, give it a chance!
    – he en suffering AT ALL!

17. Hands off Buddy

Stuart – PM
    Sealy – Deputy PM

You stacked them JUST RIGHT, i agree with your ranking 100%.

Stuart = a man that cant hold a seat, will definitely lose the one he has now to Barney lynch. Can’s make a decision to save his life and has allowed the policy force to reach the point of implosion, while bringing out put in the AG’s office to a complete halt. He is perfect for the Job of PM.

Sealy = another minister who will have to fight to win back his seat even against a very back candidate. Fully in flight with the upper classes in Barbados while frowning on joe public. Overseeing the worst performance in tourism in 30 years, while jet setting all over the place and bringing in little results. Oh and has yet to deliver ever a mock draft of the tourism development plan he promised since 2008. He would be an excellent Deputy PM. Both of them, who having never even assisted in planning national campaign, help write a manifesto or raise money to finance a national campaign will bring home the marginal seats in St. Michael/Christ Church and help the DLP romp home to victory. Carrington, Blackett, Paul, Todd, Sinckler, Jones, Boyce and Lashley should be energized with these two and loving their chances in the next election.

Estwick = a fantastic choice for Minister of Finance. Could not have chosen better my friend. He id bound to get the business sector “fired” even if its only by waving his gun at them.

Brother, your political acumen is absolutely amazing.

Anymore great suggestions for the DLP

18. Ylper

@ Hands of Buddy

You could be a comedian, you quite the funny sort, if you know what I mean. I think your clueless on matters of the DLP.

19. Hands off Buddy

Ylper, yup I am entirely clueless about DLP matters but in short order you will see exactly how clueless I am.

stay tuned to a channel near you!

20. Ylper

Hands off Buddy

Is you first name George?

21. Hands off Buddy

no David

22. Hands off Buddy

But what my name is does not really matter who I am. Reality is reality. We all love Stuart and Sealy and Estwick are good guys, but none of these can lead the DLP into any election against Owen and Mia.

Probably with the exception of Estwick, and we know he has baggage, the other two don’t inspire anybody. What has Sealy of Stuart done politically that would give you the impression that these two can stand up to the attacks of the labour party.

Check the recent issues wid the Housing Minister, where was the voice of of any of these two. The only person who came to Lashley’s defense was Sinckler. Not another fella. In the House Assembly its Thompson or Sinckler, nobody else takes on the Labour Party. Tell me the last time you heard Stuart taking on the labour Party on anything?

People talk about experience and stability. What experience besides age does Stuart of Sealy have on Sinckler. I would love to hear.

Has Stuart ever worked in the central government at a high level before? Has he ever had experience running and organisation? Does he have any regional or international experience dealing with CARICOM, WTO, World Bank, IMF, UN anything at all. What about Sealy? has he done any of this either? Stuart and Sealy just happen to have gone into the House of Assembly four more years than Sinckler, but all served in opposition. Other than that Stuart practise as a lawyer and Sealy as an
    Engineer. Neither has managed any serious organisation, nor have had to coordinate and manage people. But both of these are apparently more competent to lead the DLP and Barbados.

Chris Sinckler on the hand, worked as Sandiford”s personal Aide at the highest level of Government. When through the recession and participated in all the meetings that led to the package that saved the Barbados dollar, that gave birth to the incomes and prices protocol and the social partnership etc.

He was Director of a regional organisation for 14 yrs and over saw 8 offices in seven different countries. He work with and covered regional issues in CARICOM, the CDB and UWI. He was Director and Head of the NGO Wworking Group on the World Bank for 6 years, was a member of its inspection panel for projects in Africa and South Asia. Was principal liaison on behalf of global NGOs to the WB Executive Board, and work covering the IMF for global development groups as a member of the Structural Adjustment Review Programme Initiative (SAPRI), which gave rise to the new IMF approach to structural adjustment programmes including the creation of the new Poverty Reduction Growth Facility (PRGF) for developing countries.

I dont even have to mention his work on international trade issues with the WTO, EU etc, as a trained International Trade Specialist and negotiator. He even lectured at Masters Level at UWI in Small Economies and Contemporary International Trade Policy Issues.

But Sinckler ent got a day of experience for some people in Barbados to be leading nothing. While people with less talent and accomplishments are being promoted as the key people for leadership in the DLP if Thompson has to go.

Sinckler is an also ran.

fair enough.

23. Liame

HANDS OFF BUDDY

I have read your comments above. The fact that you seem to be overlooking, time and time again, is that Sinckler can’t mek, George know this in your heart of hearts. Alot of people in Barbados and or within the DLP think that Sinckler has no stature, no defining qualities and an absence of qualifications & experience to be PM. It is alleged that this evident by rantings and ravings in Cabinet. Cabinet is a not a game of dominoes played in a rum shop, it is a place where an administration sets out its policy, agenda and programmes and a forum to measure its sucess in achieving the same. it is not to be used as a forum to fight and carry-on in a slash-and-burn way.

24. lighthearted

@ Liame

Alot of people in Barbados and or within the DLP think that Sinckler has no stature, no defining qualities and an absence of qualifications & experience to be PM.

Oh really? That’s not what the poll said buddy. And I would be interested in hearing who in the Cabinet have a greater level of qualifications or experience that Sinckler.

I am all ears. Oh and while you at it list the names and their qualifications and experience. Please!

25. Too Bad

I find this discussion so premature and out of place. It is ridiculous really that you guys could be having this discussion and the PM has not gone anywhere and has yet to speak to the nation on these matters which no doubt he will do soon enough.

I am a David Thompson Dem and I am waiting on my PM to speak and I am sure it will all become very clear to all of us, or I should say most of us, how he feels about his health, his ability to continue, and at what level and finally whom he genuinely believes to be the person best suited to carrying Barbados forward if it comes to that.

I think he more than any of us will know what talent he has in the cabinet, their strengths and weaknesses, experience or lack of it, charisma, political acumen, etc.

So I await word from Prime Minister David Thompson. When he speaks all this will become academic.

26. Hands off Buddy

Too Bad,

You are absolutely correct. I defer to you wise intervention. As I said earlier on this thread……….stay tune to a channel near you.

27. Timbus

@ Hands Off Buddy

Mr. Sinckler holds a Masters Degree in International Trade Policy and an honours degree in Political Science. Exactly how are these relevant to office of Prime Minister and someone aspiring thereto? In my humble opinion, Mr. Sinckler wants the position of PM too badly and this fact is obvious to anyone who pays attention to politicis in Barbados. It seems there is or at least was (if you believe current rumours) a concerted attempt to deliver him as Prime Minister. I think he has potential to a senior member of the current administration but at this juncture, I don’t think he has the maturity and experience necessary to navigate Barbados thru this political and economic storm.

28. Hands off Buddy

Timbus, that’s the problem with you people you love rumour and gossip and mis-characterization. What actions has Sinckler done to bring you or anybody to the conclusion that he wants to be PM. Have you heard him say that. What actions are those you really talking about.

Getting up everyday and going to work and performing his duties. That makes someone too anxious to be PM. And why are the others who are being promoted for the job on this blog not anxious to get the job.

The problem with you guys is that you have double standards you want to judge Sinckler by one standard and use another for the others just because you dont like the guy. I believe the young people call that play haters.

Sinckler did not poll himself, it is the public that said they would prefer him as an alternative to Thompson. Of course the public don’t really matter in your eyes so what they want is not important. Rather what you think is more relevant.

Take your very silly comment that a person with a masters in international trade policy and a bachelors in political science are not any qualification to be PM. So enlighten me, exactly what is the “right” qualification for the job of PM? I would like to know cause all over the world people with all types of qualifications and some with none at all have assume that role. But apparently in Barbados we have some special qualification to be PM. What a load of RUBBISH!

All that has happen is that all of the snobs in Barbados don’t want a black working class boy who grew up in deacons and went to school at Garrison School to assume that role and it is that kind of classism that I will always fight against,

At this moment it disguises its self as calling for “experience and qualifications” even though not one other in the Cabinet has any greater qualifications than the same Sinckler. But his degrees and years of experience in actually running something don’s matter, it ent worth shit for the snobs. Then the class crew shift they argument to the point that Sinckler want to be PM too bad as though that is a crime, and even though no one can bring any evidence to substantiate that crap. And even so, show me the MP in there that won’t like to the PM. But if Sinckler wants it and no where can any of the classist people bring any proof or statement that any of that is true, he has committed a crime.

Then it shifts again and say, oh he too young to be PM let he wait. Wait to when? Tom Admas, Barrow, Thompson, and Arthur all became PMs in their 40s. Obama became president of the USA in his 40s after serving only one term in the US senate and we all jump up and down saying all hail the chief of the most powerful country in the world. Rosevelt Skerritt became PM of Dominica at age 31 after only 2 years in the House and was nothing more than a secondary school teacher in history, but Sinckler, with a Master Degree in International Trade Policy, a discipline that cuts across all social science and law disciplines ent good enough to be PM in Barbados. It is snobbery pure and simple. The Richard Sealys and Freundel Stuarts of this world would be more acceptable to people like you but now Sinckler. They got the right class back ground or went to the right schools or study the right disciplines like law and engineering. SNOBS.

You can talk all night buddy but until you bring a serious alternative you ent convincing me of crap. Own up to the fact that you class bias is conditioning your view of this matter.

But yuh know hat is funny, the same David Thompson that all of wunnuh now moaning over and saying is so good a PM and so bright, like Sinckler now, was also subjected to a similar exercise by the intellectual snobs. Don’t remember when they used to say Thompson was fit to be PM, was not bright and was shallow and only interested in politics as a blood sport. Would never become PM they said, too empty to tackle an intellectual giant like Owen Arthur. Good thing the public of Barbados did not listen to wunnah then and they surely ent listening to wunnah now. Thank God.

29. Timbus

@Hands off Buddy

That chip on your shoulder is quite burdensome huh? I just hope Sinckler does not listen to people like you, he would be ill advised to do so if he really wants to be PM one day. I can’t help but notice obvious venom you possess for Mr. Sealy MP and others like him whom you perceive come from a higher social standing in Barbados, why?

Your blog is nothing more than a repeditive complaint about class prejudice; basically a nonsense belonging to a time in Barbados when Barbadians were concerned with the issues you raise therein.

Politics is an art and deception is the skill by which one advances in the art. I can’t help but feel Mr. Sinckler has been set up by the more skillful politicians within the DLP.

30. Hands off Buddy

perhaps he has, i really don’t care. but i know snobbery when i hear it and brother it is all written on your face.

31. Tweety Bird

Buddy stay tuned to a radio station near you, it will all become crysal clear shortly, no later than Thursday. I can detect a noticable frustration in your blogs. The poll hurt Sinckler badly, it is better to be lifted upon the backs of the people by the people than to make a hop, a skip and a jump and land on their back. Think about this for a while, politics is not about who the people like or who the people, unfortuantely it is often about who the people can be make to like and to want.

32. Hands off Buddy

That’s democracy for yuh. I will take your advice and wait till thursday. lol