The Clean Up Barbados event will take place September, 18, 2010. Many of our open spaces, beaches, gullies and roadways need attention. Clean Up Barbados is linked by the membership to the Clean Up The World weekend, held the third weekend of September every year. The event gives groups and individuals the chance to get out and get involved with cleaning an area that needs attention and that the community shares a passion in maintaining. www.cleanupbarbados.org
About Clean up the World
The Clean Up the World campaign originated in Australia and was the brainchild of Ian Kiernan who organized a clean up of Sydney harbour in 1989. In 1993, with support and funding from the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP) and the California based EGBAR foundation, Clean Up the World was launched with 30 million people from 80 countries participating in the first clean-up. Since then it has been held every year and has not stopped growing. In 2001, 37.5 million people from 128 countries demonstrated their commitment to a healthy environment through various clean ups throughout the world. www.cleanuptheworld.org
About Future Centre Trust
The Future Centre Trust is an environmental Non Governmental Organisation (NGO) and registered charity providing environmental education to the public of Barbados. Its mission is “To stimulate awareness and encourage responsible management of the vital relationship between people and nature leading to a sustainable future for all”. This is achieved through various programmes, activities and presentations to the community which are included and highlighted at www.futurecentretrust.org

Clean up Barbados?
When ppl are too lazy to walk from a boardwalk bench to a litter-bin not 20ft. away..
and would rather throw their garbage in the garden bed immediately behind them?
You think Bajans really care bout their island?
That is bare pride-TALK, not the action!
Check the national motto.
Tummuch pride and way too little industry.
Dah mean hard wuk, and dem days done!
—————-
Only St.Gabriel’s attempts to teach the kids about green stuff like this.
You think Parkinson School kids are interested in wussy stuff like that?
Talk about Jamaica dancehall and NOW you have their attention!
Priorities.
Bajans too NASTY and incidentally, they also too thiefin!
Even the Guyanese have to admit that the Bajans more thiefin than them
and that is saying something!
——————
THE biggest national problem we suffer
is one of ATTITUDE of the individual.
Fully 50% of those we share this island with
have a lousy,selfish disgusting attitude of me me me.
Ask not what I can do for Barbados.
I gyne see whuh de guvment gyne do for me!
“Whuh yuh gyne gimme for Christmas?”
coz I sure as hell en givin you nuthin.
THAT is the attitude. Take take TAKE –
and doan give back a DIME to the society.
ME me ME! an I poor en black so I justify in dat.
Yuh sight?