Question for LIME Barbados

Can LIME explain why it’s advertisement for its AllTalk Plus offer does not explain to customers that there’s more in the mortar than the pestle?

Check last Sunday Sun’s page 2 and you will see the advertisement telling you that it’s the “same price but more stuff” and breaking down what you get for how much money if you are a prepaid or postpaid customer.

What it does not tell you, which is especially misleading for potential customers who are attracted by the offer, is that if you sign up for AllTalk Plus all the talking you can do is only with other LIME customers. So whoever thinks that you will enjoy the plus of being able to talk to friends on Digicel at the cheap rates quoted, that ain’t happening.

As a result, I want to suggest to LIME that they include this pertinent information in their advertisement so that other persons won’t be misled like I was until somebody alerted me to the hole i was about to fall into.

13 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Consumer Issues

13 responses to “Question for LIME Barbados

1. Frustated Customer

I am very tired of LIME and its sour service especially when calling the call center in St. Lucia. When u haven’t been transferred 4 times, you are asked to call the Barbados office because they cannot help you. *stupse* If as a company you decide to have this call center in St. Lucia, then give me some customer service- document my query, take contact info and liase with Barbados and call me back with a solution.

2. observer

i was on the old all-talk plan and had 6000 mins. now lime has reduced me to 1500 mins as a prepaid customer. i am actually getting less for the same price. this is totally outrageous to us the pre-paid customers. when i queried it i was told that the old all-talk plan was advertsed until further notice. i will be switching to the bigger better network.

3. Roy

BFP,

Thank you kindly for placing this matter on the table.

I was wondering when someone would notice.

Lime is a very misleading (corrupt) organisation.

It is actually given you LESS than what they were giving before.

Who can text 1500 times in a month? Why would one want to do so?

They have cut talk time by 75% (6000minutes -4500 minutes) and are trying to mislead people into thinking that they are giving “more”.

BFP, is this legal? Can they alter their contract with the public at the wink of an eye?

No wonder the public has no sympathy for them!

4. Roy

These people need to be subjected to more competition.

Thank God for the little competition we have now. Were it not for that, Lime would be squeezing every last cent out of our pockets.

A bunch of WHITE COLLAR CRIMINALS!

5. John Da Silva

The Alltalk plan cut my bill in half, so I am happy with it. Also, once you are a current Alltalk customer, you will keep the minutes at 6,000. So, I can’t complain. They are also including a data plan up to 1GB.

6. Jokers

I would really like bajans to simply boycott LIME. For years they have taken advantage of us with their monopolistic tyranny. Now is the time to ask the government to flex the telecommunications market for another carrier to take the sour out of lime and bring some sugar. A sweet deal is what customers want; not one in which you are still paying for piss-poor service.

7. The Watcher

LIME or whatever version of the name you care to use is another shining example of the exemplary Service Delivery model that we have to raise to the rest of the world as our shining banner affording us all of the International accolades worthy of Fortune 500 companies.
    The company is bursting at the seams with extremely competent technical and managerial professionals worthy of their extravagant but well deserved salaries. Like PHD, here is another company whose award winning management team have implemented one of the most novel ideas designed to forge strong customer relations, drive business and growth proportionally and accelerate profitability exponentially by giving the customer less for a greater price.
    WOW. Who would have thought of that? Looks like we are re-visiting the period of enlightenment when the great minds of the last 300 centuries were making discoveries that revolutionized the world.
    Customers have the power to change all this. It’s quite simple and just as novel as their own ideas which we are complaining about.
    You receive their bill every month, correct?
    Not happy with their service, correct?
    Now send you message loud and clear!
    And to that illustrious group of brain-dead ex-pats hiding in the other Wildey location, living high on the hog with their $25K per mt salaries, and $10K mt company supported rents and other exorbitant expenses, 2.2 children and stay-at-home Polo attending mommies. We need to start getting you out of here next. We have our own economic parasites. Don’t need more whose “navel string ent buried right hey!”

8. Roy

John DaSilva,

That information you gave above is totally incorrect:
    1. The new All-Talk “gimmick” could not have cut your bill in half as you would have to have been speaking for over 6000 minutes a month (a sure impossibility)
    2. You said : “Once you are a current all-talk customer, you will keep the minutes at 6000” THIS IS NOT MISLEADING – JUST TOTALLY UNTRUE! The minutes have been reduced by:
    1. 75% – percent for prepaid customers
    2. 58% – Post paid cutomers

We customers ae not interested in correspondence via the internet, so giving us a little more time via this mode is just a ploy Lime has used to offset the cut in talk time.

I am tempted to ask: Are you on the management team at Lime?

9. observer

John Dasilva your information is indeed very misleading. i am not sure what alltalk plan you were on but it could not be the same i was on.this action by lime is going to retard some small businesses that were using their mobiles only for business. now to indicate that they are coming with internet tv to rape us again…..digicel here i come!!

10. John Da Silva

Before I joined Alltalk earlier this year, my bill was over $400 because once I went over the 750 minutes on my plan, I had to pay the full per minute rate for excess minutes. I realised that most of my calls were to land lines and other bmobile phones, so the plan made sense to me.

Since I switched, my bill is typically $150, so it does save me money.

According to the Alltalk FAQ, as an existing Alltalk prepaid customer, I can remain on the existing Alltalk plan. See the FAQ here:

Click to access alltalk_qa.pdf

I generally am NOT happy with the service I receive from LIME for internet, although the mobile service is OK. I do not work for LIME.

11. bajan4life

lol, i really don’t mean to laugh at you guys but Digicel is definitely the way to go. Their customer service is 5 star. If lime and Digicel were offering the exact same thing at the exact same price i would still go with Digicel, they know how to treat their customers well.

12. John Da Silva

If there was number portability, I might consider switching.

13. Eddie

Gotta say that I’m in the same boat as John Da Silva. My bill as a prepaid customer used to be $300 to $400 monthly since I made many overseas calls. I hated LIME and didn’t want to switch to Alltalk but when I heard it was prepaid, I made the switch reluctantly hoping to save money and my bill has come down to $120 monthly which is nothing short of awesome!

I’m a little disappointed by the drop from 6000 minutes to 1500 minutes however I can appreciate the 1500 texts since so far they seem to be reaching my contacts. My only problem with the new plan is that Lime’s mobile internet speeds are rather slow and in some areas of Barbados I cannot connect.

Now I am not a Lime employee or stakeholder but I would implore all Barbadians to realise that if Lime fails then that would mean even more Barbadians would be laid off! No one wants that. However, we do want them to do better so keep the pressure on them for better customer service but boycotting will only hurt everyone working at Lime….not just the foreigners reaping the profits. Remember that we live in a capitalist society….money must move around and unfortunately many will get less than others.

That said, I really hope that Lime improves its mobile internet speeds to 3G so that smartphones would become more useful.

Also, does anyone know if Digicel has any plans similar to Alltalk? I’d be willing to try it and compare.