Jdid all upset: Toronto Anglican Church gave Communion to Dog and non-Christian

Join the buffet line for Holy Communion!

Our friend Jdid left Barbados many years ago for the cold and snow of Toronto, but apart from the occasional complaint on his Doan Mind Me blog about harsh weather he seems happy with his home away from home. Last time we looked he had a good woman and a little one just arrived and we hope the Lord continues to bless Jdid and his family.

And speaking of the Lord, Jdid’s latest article weighs in on a story out of Toronto where an Anglican priest gave a communion wafer to a dog and a non-believer.

In his folksy and humorous style Jdid likens it to a buffet line at church and says that priests should stop and remind themselves and others what Communion is all about.

We agree.

Here’s some snippets from Jdid’s article…

“And priests and Christians gotta realize a lot lotta a people nowadays doan know nuttin bout church and communion an duz juss be following fashion. Dem see everybody else get up and get a sip a wine an a pieca wafer an figure dem gine join de buffet line too cause duh mout dry.”

“Let he know membership has its privileges, free wine, free wafer, free afterlife etc etc but doan let he get up an guh having the communion an aint paying he dues so to speak.”

… from the Doan Mind Me article Communing with animals

7 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Religion

7 responses to “Jdid all upset: Toronto Anglican Church gave Communion to Dog and non-Christian

1. So St Patrick’s Cathedral here in Bds should not have a bring your pet policy for St Francis of Assisi day?

2. more coming

This is the thin edge of the wedge folks.

Next thing you know two dog priests of the same sex will wanna be married!

All Gods creatures!

3. Come out of her my people!

No wonder the Bible says “Come out of her…”

4. rasta man

Whever you are finished,God is not mocked!!!

5. Ian I got to disagree with you. Church is no place for pets unless is a seeing eye dog and carrying animals for communion is pure wuflessness. Is a wanton devaluation of the sacrament man.
    I know today’s society every crap duz go an we duz say so wha wrong wid dat but something is wrong wid dat an eventually like the man say dem gine wanta say how come a dog cann be a priest but man the line should be drawn somewhere.

Church is not a fete, is not a animal pound. Is alright to tek these tings light but we moving in a direction we really shun be moving in in terms of religion and morals as a society.

6. Facts

Well said RM/Jdid,
    In old testament times, dogs could not even be seen around the temple as these would be considered unclean

7. victor

There are mad people all over the place, some of them are pastors. Communities don’t need to accept the madness, yet some are sucked in. We have to ask ourselves, “why?”