We’re so proud of Tamesha Warren!

Bajan’s run ends at Top Chef DC, new challenges beckon.

Time Magazine as disappointed as we are that Tamesha was cut…

After six episodes of Top Chef DC, our sweetheart Tamesha Warren was sent home in the “cold plate” contest – but her cold scallops with pickled rhubarb, cilantro and basil with rhubarb jus looked wonderful to us. The judges said it was too spicy for their taste, but what do they know except boring? Time Magazine’s James Poniewozik agrees with us that Tamesha should have stayed…

Hey, it’s reality show entertainment and you know how it is. IF one of Tamesha’s team hadn’t mis-cut a veggie. IF the contest ingredients had been this instead of that. IF the union between Tamesha and Angelo had been stronger. That’s entertainment!

We were cheering for Tamesha and so was Time Magazine’s James Poniewozik…

I was sad to see Tamesha go, though. I’ll take the judges’ and contestants’ word that the rhubarb and long-pepper sauce with which she plated her scallops burned like the unquenchable fires of Gehenna, but the fact is, on its face, that was one of the few dishes that interested me enough to actually order from a menu. (Oh, another plate of cured fish? ZZZzzzzzzzzz—wha?) I’ll accept that the execution was poor, but I give her points for inspiration. However, I wasn’t voting, so there you have it.

… from James Poniewozik’s review in Time Magazine: Top Chef Watch: Revenge Is a Dish Best Served Cold

So Tamesha was “sent home” to The Oval Room – a “power restaurant” across from the White House where she is a “sous chef” – only now with a far higher profile.

“Before the show I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do. I knew I wanted to own a restaurant, but being on the show made the vision clear — what I wanted to do and where I wanted to go — to open a restaurant in Barbados.”

Tamesha Warren talks to the Washington Post about Top Chef DC

Tamesha wants to open a restaurant in Barbados

In her exit interview with The Washington Post, Tamesha says that her ambition is to come home to Barbados and open a restaurant. Good for her! (and good for Barbados too!)

Let’s expand upon that idea…

We’re letting our imaginations run free here so bear with us. How about Tamesha comes home and finds that film director and food critic Michael Winner wants to back her restaurant and become a partner. It’s west coast based, but Tamesha does the cooking show thing as well.

Michael Winner talks some of his famous Sandy Lane friends into appearing on the show to cook for a bit or to eat at the restaurant. Fill in some of the show with trips around the island and you’ve got the makings of a restaurant and television venture that would be mutually supporting and also promote Barbados tourism.

There you go Tamesha! We’ll email the idea to Michael Winner and see if he likes the concept. No doubt he would appreciate working with some new project on the West Coast because he’s just about had it with some of the nonsense that’s been going on lately. No charge for the idea on our end, but we’ll take a plate of your cold scallops with pickled rhubarb anytime and call it square!

Good luck to Tamesha. She did a great job representing Barbados with class and talent and made us all proud.

BFP’s previous Tamesha Warren article: Will Tamesha Warren do Flyin’ Fish and Cou Cou on Top Chef DC?

5 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Celebrities

5 responses to “We’re so proud of Tamesha Warren!

1. pun de wicket

You people at BPF and Mr. James Poniewozik are experts and top notch chefs and able to judge cuisine without even tasting it. Could I assign you to visit the various local pudding & souse establishments, critique the fare and report to us readers? Thanks and looking forward….

2. Tamesha Warren

Oh my goodness.. Thank you soo much for the love and support and I love that idea.. I honestly too don’t think i should have gone home but its TV. None the less this is just the beginning of Tamesha and weather its home or here in the US great things are about to happen.. I love my fellow Barbadians and I what ever I can do to promote my country with my talent I will do soo. to get in contact with me look for me on facebook…
    Thanks soo much once again

3. Observer

Now, this is a woman who has done Barbados proud- and has proved it.

Not like that bluffer Denis Jones with the fake UK accent.

4. Rosie

Tamesha I was a fan of yours during the entire show was glad to see a fellow Barbadian cooking up a storm on a show I love so much. Well I wish you all the best in whatever endeavors you pursue

5. Tamesha Warren

thank u soo much!!