Daily Archives: June 19, 2010

Jose River Bridge Catastrophe!

Say it “Jose River” or “Joe’s River”… Either way it’s a catastrophe!

By Lani Edghill

Where the road collapsed - after they removed the foliage

A few months ago I drove down to Bathsheba to hike along the Hackleton’s Cliff area. I do this every weekend because I love the outdoors and I enjoy being out in the natural environment especially on the east coast of Barbados. On my trip down there during the dry season I noticed that the area and gully around the Jose River Bridge had been completely bulldozed, flattened and annihilated.

On viewing this travesty I immediately said to my partner that as soon as the rain starts to fall again this bridge is going to collapse. Continue reading

24 Comments

Filed under Agriculture, Barbados, Environment, Nature, Wildlife

Barbados Customs Department ever-vigilant at Grantley Adams International Airport!

This Customs officer is probably a hard worker, effective in her job and a nice person too…

…but camera-phones everywhere and that is the new reality!

43 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Crime & Law, Police