Hamilton Lashley provides a lesson in Barbados political ethics: “BLP or DLP doesn’t matter, just show me the money!”

Hamilton Lashley reminds us again that “everyting is de same old, same old ’bout hey!”

News Item: Hamilton Lashley again switches loyalty to whatever party is in power.

About “The politics of inclusion”, our readers said…

Back in September of 2008 before Lashley left the BLP and declared himself as independent, some of our readers had a discussion. I wonder what they would say now?

Accountability for the UDC nonsense and thefts when Hammie was Government Minister? Ya gotta be joking!

Here’s a few selected reader comments from BFP’s Rumour Mill Going Crazy: Is Hamilton “Hammie La” Lashley Crossing The Floor?

Hants
September 10, 2008 at 10:35 pm

He should become an Independent rather than cross the floor.

Once a Dem always a Dem or an Independent.

No politricks of inclusion.

Juris
September 10, 2008 at 10:38 pm

Hammie might be a sure seat in the Pine etc. but crossing the floor again might prove that Hammie cares only about one thing…himself!

Fool me once
September 11, 2008 at 1:49 am

The man should start his own party based on open honest transparent governing for the little persons and then do it that way and he will be prime minister within 5 years.

reality check
September 11, 2008 at 2:11 am

“No politricks of inclusion”

Hants—exactly he needs to declare as an independent and vote his conscience on individual issues, not on what the DLP is offering him to buy his vote and conscience.

He will get more respect and be able to gain a power base, or at least, a real voice on what goes on in Barbados.

No more Politics of Inclusion

tstt
September 11, 2008 at 1:44 pm

This politics of inclusion has really made a mockery of what should be a job where honesty and integrity stood as some of the supposed cornerstones.

During the last election, Peter Wickham in one of his columns suggested that the politics of inclusion was one of the primary reasons for the BLP losing the election. Yet here we go again. Politicians ignoring the wishes of the people.

The politics of inclusion if this is what this is, is nothing more that a bunch of greedy, opportunistic people seeking to take care of themselves. Hamiliton Lashley, Clyde Mascoll, Kerrie Symmonds et al. cannot and should not be trusted in governement. Hopefully the people during the next election (when ever that is) will send another message (to this government) that floor crossing/opportunistic behaviour/greed/ politcis of inclusion should not be readily tolerated.

Curious
September 11, 2008 at 3:10 pm

well he said he will be an independent, however he plans to support government – not sure what the hell that means – in any event I am fairly sure that some consultancy or another will blow his way shortly – I wonder if Minister Lowe will press ahead with his plans to “clean up UDC”, notwithstanding his so-called grass roots appeal – i seem to recall quite a few issues about the operations of the UDC in the Auditor General’s report during Hammie’s tenure as Minister of Social Transformation, not sure that he can escape that stain so easily. It would seem to me that it is not that he has a problem with the BLP but more a problem with the diminished income.

15 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Ethics, Political Corruption, Politics, Politics & Corruption

15 responses to “Hamilton Lashley provides a lesson in Barbados political ethics: “BLP or DLP doesn’t matter, just show me the money!”

1. old rooster

DLP = BLP = DLP = BLP.

I can’t tell any difference between the two parties. When in power or opposition they act the same. Their policies are essentially the same. Their penchant for filling their own pockets and the pockets of friends and family is the same. The only problem for the DLP is that the BLP left the cookie jar empty, so great was their theft.

We need a real third party, but if we don’t have it I’ll vote for any independent candidate over a party candidate. Time to shake it up if we can.

2. bajandave

So if Commissiong’s PEP, or the PDC, were to win the Government, would Hammie link with them as well? Clearly a political opportunist only looking out for himself under the pretence of looking after his constituents. Whatever happened to loyalty and commitment to an organisation, and can this man really be trusted? It’d be a big mistake to make him a minister.

3. Love

Congrats Hon. Hamilton Fitzgerald Hamilton MP…at least your decision gives the DEMS 21 seats…..enough to secure the safe passage of ITAL & FOI legislation in the House of Assembly.

Welcome home…brave soldier of the POOR .

BFP….is proud of you !

4. Observer

Politicians are like pampers, they should the changed regularly and for the same reason

5. Micah

I am becoming concerned at the messages that are being sent to young people as a result of the behaviour of our politicians. Hamilton Lashley, with his criss-crossing of the floor of Parliament (which was of no suprise to anyone who knew it was going to happen when he became an “Independent”), suggests that loyalty and principles are meaningless values to have. I note his explanation that he has a desire to help the “poor” in his constituency. I have no brief with Mr.Lashley for wanting the best for his constituents, and arguably himself in the process. But let us call his behaviour what it is-political grasshoppering of the most transparent kind.

We have had members of the Opposition defying the Speaker of the House, and one may argue that the Speaker had shown less than full impartiality in his dealing with the Opposition during that now infamous incident in Parliament. Excellent examples of civility and conflict resolution for our youth!

A current Minister of Government(and a medical practitioner), is accused of brandishing a gun at a former Minister of Government and Attorney General (and a lawyer), in the precincts of Parliament. The former says it did not happen, and the latter says it did. Which means that one of them is lying, or being very loose with the truth. I say no more.

Perhaps we can ALL try and set better behavioural examples for our young people and others to follow, for the betterment of us all.

6. West Side Davie

Ian, I loved your cartoon. Here’s your report card.

Concept 10/10

Execution 2/10 (Being generous!)

Total: 12/20 pass.

Work harder at the PhotoShop young man, but that can be learned. Your creativity is 100%

Mr. R.
    Room 6

7. Hants

Given that you have quoted me I will respond.

I am a DLP supporter not a party member.

I do not support floor crossers other than bloggers who have gone over to Barbados Undertheground.

8. Donald Duck Esq

Has anyone asked the government what he is getting from them in return for crossing the rubicon!!!

9. Avatar Gurl

Look…

The man needs funding to help the POOR!

He is a HUSTLER, which is needed when you have to help the less priveleged.

If he goes from party to party looking for money to help his constituency, WHAT?

The man is a PROPER mercenary for hire, because he has loyalty to the POOR!

That means going where the money is! It’s not all for him, you know!

You see that man don an Armani suit, the way the other politicians do? NO! The man comes in a standard two-piece suit from Big Boy Distribution, boss!

He doing a lot better than most idiots out there!

10. Sargeant

DD Esq.

Has anyone asked the government what he is getting from them in return for crossing the rubicon!!!
    Well we know what he got for crossing over to the BLP…. A Ministry no less ….and what did the public get?

One less Ackee tree!!!

11. Mathematical equation

Hammie + x = ?
    x + Hammie = ?
    Therefore, ? = X + Hammie
    And, X = Hammie – X
    What is X and ?
    Hammie + Lynch = ?
    Therefore, Hammie + Lynch = Men of the people

Got it?

12. Mathematical equation

Mahtematicians, please correct the above

13. Observer

The problem with politicians is that they think that they are smarter than ALL of the rest of us…. They are dead wrong, they are smarter than SOME of us ONLY!

14. whistling frog

Knowing Short Bajan Memory,,,,,,,,,,
    Hammy can fool some of de people alot atime,, then he can foool alot of de time most of de people,,,, then he can alot of de time foool just about everybody and dey ent even know dey get fooled oooh maan dah iz wat yu call a true true bajan poltrickcian,,,ehhhhhhh!!!!!!