I have questioned why after so much political campaigning, that not a single person has been held accountable 3 years after elections.
I have questioned why after the DLP platform that promised us accountability and transparency and better judicious use of public spending for our island, that today absolutely nothing has changed.
If that promise were kept, then I would be quiet, but it has not been kept. So as I go off on Monday to ensure that the promise of best treatment to our customers is kept, I wonder whether our public servants will do the same.
I question the whole election campaign, and wonder whether it too, was a ‘Big Lie’. No proof after getting the government. Not ONE single person made accountable.
I want to know how much of the corruption was real, is real, and what is unreal. Will corruption be tackled in such a way to make an honest government? When?
Realise that what I call for – TRUTH and HONESTY- is in the best interest of Barbados, whether one is ‘B’ or ‘D’.
David Spieler
Editor’s note
This article was originally submitted as a comment by BFP reader David Spieler. It has been edited by BFP for length and grammar. The original can be viewed here. Photo of David Spieler courtesy of The Nation under fair-use to illustrate Mr. Spieler’s own writing.

As I have said before: We now have entrenched here in Barbados a new class – THE POLITICAL RULING CLASS. In public the members of this class will scream and shout at the top of their lungs to make the mASSES (You and Me) believe that they are sworn enemies, however, behind closed doors it is a totally different ball game – ONE LOVE!!!
There is NO POLITICIAN in active politics here in Barbados with the moral fortitude to reign in (and punish those involved in) political corruption – under his/ her watch or in a bygone era.
I must admit that I try not to dwell on this subject for too long for if I do I often find my neck muscles tightening and my forehead getting hot – sure signs of stress.
I truly believe that here in Barbados we need a new political force who has as its core men and women of true character and integrity and who are prepared to come forward and run all of these ball heads out of town. Maybe with the help of blogs such as the BFP we can sew the seeds for a political movement that will reshape the political landscape of our beautiful country Barbados.
Any ideas/ suggestions as to how we proceed from here?
He obviously is not current with what is happening in Barbados.
Our young people continue to watch the way adults behave, and act accordingly. Who amongst us can blame them any longer for joining gang trying to get a piece of the cake.
These “leaders” will blame the parents, and the church for not doing enough, while they steal from all us by taxing us beyond measure.
Recently i heard one blaming the church for not doing enough to curb the wrongs in society.
After Independence Barbados had political leaders with character. That ended with Erskine Sandiford, since then…
A lot of persons around this place building apartments and driving Mercedes Benz, and BMW’s should be exposed for what they are… and not be emulated by our young impressionable children.
Instead of paying Sharpton to tell our children not to join gangs. Our PM need to pay an independent body to investigate the corruption they told the world occurred while the BLP lead this country.
How can anyone in their right mind trust anything from the mouth of these leaders. Clyde Mascoll can safely say he told us so about this “man”.
Mr Darcy Boyce sat on a technical committee that unanimously approved VECO as the contractor to build and maintain the Dodds prison. At that time he was the head of a statutory board. He is now a minister in the present administration. Yet the present administration continues to criticize the choice of VECO. Can someone help me to reconcile Minister Boyce’s appointment and the intense criticism of the prison contract by the DLP?
What a joke the DLP promises were. Thompy waved that “political donation” cheque at the rally that Owen Arthur corruptly deposited in he own bank account. All de people cheered.
Four months later Thompy appointed Owen $ Arthur as Barbados representative to the election monitoring committee in another country to ensure those elections were not corrupted!
shite shite and more shite from Thompson.
Do you remember the comment by David Thompson, as he waved the cheques, to the effect that “if he was the Minister of Finance, he would not have any dealings with an entity (e.g a bank, insurance company) over which he had public responsibility?” Reconcile that comment with his handling of the CLICO matter for me please. By the way, those cheques came from Caribbean Commercial Bank which was owned by ….(drum roll)…CLICO! Thompson admitted that there were financial contributors to the DLP campaign but he didn’t reveal their identity but we can guess who, can’t we?
I tell wunna to fire one wid me cause nuttin n changin bout hey.
Hey Nonsense,,, I you and me can meet down dey in Martins Bay yeh man right next to the same house dat Thompy and Leroy does go… and we can fire one, two,three annnd ,,,i ent went scool long so i does not know wuh cum after three but we can lick mout whoaaah yeeeh??????
Perhaps we should start asking questions about the big picture…
Do we need a Referendum For A New Democracy?
Are you concerned about the future of democracy? Do you feel democracy is under attack by extreme greed in countries around the world? Are you sick and tired of: living in fear, corporate greed, growing police state, government for the rich, working more but having less?
Can we use both elections and random selection (in the way we select government officials) to rid democracy of undue influence by extreme wealth and wealth-dominated mass media campaigns?
The world’s first democracy (Athenian democracy, 600 B.C.) used both elections and random selection. Even Aristotle (the cofounder of Western thought) promoted the use random selection as the best way to protect democracy. The idea of randomly selecting (after screening) juries remains from Athenian democracy, but not randomly selecting (after screening) government officials. Why is it used only for individual justice and not also for social justice? Who wins from that? …the extremely wealthy?
What is the best way to combine elections and random selection to protect democracy in today’s world? Can we use elections as the way to screen candidates, and random selection as the way to do the final selection? Who wins from that? …the people?