Daily Archives: July 6, 2009

President Obama Slams African Leadership – West, Colonialism, Neo-Colonialism “Cannot Be Blamed For African Catastrophe Of Last 20 Years”

“I think part of what’s hampered advancement in Africa is that for many years we’ve made excuses about corruption or poor governance – that this was somehow the consequence of neo-colonialism, or the West has been oppressive, or racism,” Mr. Obama told an African website, AllAfrica , in his only interview dedicated to Africa before his visit.

“I’m not a believer in excuses,” he said. “I’d say I’m probably as knowledgeable about African history as anybody who’s occupied my office, and I can give you chapter and verse on why the colonial maps that were drawn helped to spur on conflict. … And yet the fact is we’re in 2009.”

The West cannot be blamed for the disastrous policies that have brought catastrophe to Zimbabwe and other African countries over the past 15 or 20 years, he said. “I think it’s very important for African leadership to take responsibility and be held accountable.”

… from Globe and Mail World article Obama’s Mission of Tough Love In Africa

Obama Africa Policy

The Obama Cat Is Amongst The Pigeons!

You really must read the go to YouTube or All Africa.com and let President Obama speak for himself. Read the transcript of the interview or hear him speak on YouTube.

Just do it.

The man has ideas, presence and moral authority unlike any USA President I’ve ever seen. I think that Barack Obama would have a most interesting conversation with George Ayittey and Dambisa Moyo.

As I have said before… Darn, I like Obama… if he would only soften the US position on Barbados offshore banking and our “tax haven” status.

36 Comments

Filed under Africa, Barack Obama, Barbados

Internet Searches For Sir Charles Williams of Barbados Explode: What Is Happening With COW Williams?

That's Sir Charles on the left!  :-)

That's Sir Charles on the left! 🙂

Updated: February 2, 2011 Bridgetown

Once again the Google search hits for “Sir Charles Williams” and “COW Williams” are exploding with over a thousand visitors in the last few hours from all over the globe. Nothing on the radio or news that I’ve heard so far.

Can anyone provide a reason for this? It’s happened before with no known reason>>>

Original Story first published July 6, 2009…

It’s me, Robert. I am not in Barbados at the moment and I’m handling spam duty this morning for the next few hours. I’m tired, hungry and stuck somewhere I don’t want to be, but at least the sun is rising so the breakfast lady will be around soon. Drank way too much Pernod last night.

There is a spike – hell, an explosion – in Google and Bing searches for “Sir Charles Williams, Barbados” and similar enquiries. Hundreds of hits coming in for the last few hours. Nothing on the web or internet radio.

What’s happening? Why the sudden intense interest in Sir Charles? Continue reading

61 Comments

Filed under Barbados