Daily Archives: March 29, 2009

Chinese Cyber Spy Network Invades Barbados Ministry of Foreign Affairs

New Barbados Flag

New Barbados Flag

An electronic spy network, based mainly in China, has infiltrated computers from government offices around the world, Canadian researchers say.

They said the network had infiltrated 1,295 computers in 103 countries. They included computers belonging to foreign ministries and embassies and those linked with the Dalai Lama – Tibet’s spiritual leader.

There is no conclusive evidence China’s government was behind it, researchers say. Beijing also denied involvement…

(snip)

…Researchers found that ministries of foreign affairs of Iran, Bangladesh, Latvia, Indonesia, Philippines, Brunei, Barbados and Bhutan appear to had been targeted.

Hacked systems were also discovered in the embassies of India, South Korea, Indonesia, Romania, Cyprus, Malta, Thailand, Taiwan, Portugal, Germany and Pakistan.

Analysts say the attacks are in effect industrial espionage, with hackers showing an interest in the activities of lawmakers and major companies.

… read the entire article at BBC News: Major Cyber Spy Network Uncovered

14 Comments

Filed under Barbados, China

Barbados Lodge School Old Boys Battle It Out: “Dear Rodney” vs “Dear Peter”

Class, Race and Old Memories In Barbados – White vs Black vs Red

Dear Barbados Free Press,

Hey guys,

The Nation newspaper has not published the self explanatory letter attached. Please feel free to post on line if you wish.

Rodney Jones

Carol Martindale
Editor
Sunday Sun
24th March 2009

Dear Ms. Martindale
Re: Mr. Peter  Simmons’ column on Sunday  22nd March

I am submitting another letter in response to the captioned subject which, irrespective of  any further comments by Mr. Simmons are my final words on the subject:

My dear Peter,

I have digested your ‘Dear Rodney’ open  letter which appeared in the Sunday Sun of 22nd March and I have to advise that this is my final reply. I suspect that we may run the risk of not only testing the Editor’s patience, but readers may soon regard us as being two silly old Lodge boys beating up on each other, still living in a bygone age. Whats more, my Captain has warned me that whether or not I get past your defence, this is my last over, so here goes: six deliveries with no wides, byes or no balls (I hope).

If the outcome of this very public dialogue between us was judged on the eloquence and flair of the discourse, it would be a veritable no contest. You would be the winner by daylight as they sometimes say in racing circles. But, my friend, the issue is not about persuasion by grammatical expertise, it is about the facts and facts alone.

I note that you have checked with old (Lodge) boys across the generations up to 1961 when we left the school and that their recall is the same as yours. Hmmmm, I admit that I sometimes think that my short term memory is not what it used to be, but I insist that my long term memory is still crystal clear regarding the important issues we are now contesting. Therefore I have absolutely no need to check the facts with the many men of our generation who know only too well what took place. I will say that without exception, all those who have commented to me about the culture of Lodge School during that period are in complete agreement with my version of events. So, have we arrived at an unbridgeable factual chasm? It sure looks that way. Continue reading

21 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Culture & Race Issues