Greg and Jane Got Married On The Beach: Then They Discovered Barbados Government “Workers” and “Island Time”…

barbados-wedding

“The magistrate who married us on January 9 told us to go to District Court A a week after our ceremony to pick up our marriage certificate.

Silly us.  We thought it would be a matter of actually doing just that…”

“…The spirit of the Bajan citizen is good. It’s warm. To me, in the end, that’s far more important than how efficient the system is…”

Congratulations, Friends! Now Take A Deep Breath…

Jane Shattuck of Planet Barbados Blog and her sweetie Greg tied the knot on January 9th and nothing made them do it except their love for each other. Good for them, and we hope that someday they will… perhaps, maybe, if … have a marriage certificate to prove to the world that they really are legally married!

Someday they will actually have an official government piece of paper stating that fact. Who knows? Dreams do come true sometimes!

🙂

Planet Barbados Blog: Barbados Red Tape Derails a Moment of Wedded Bliss

17 Comments

Filed under Barbados

17 responses to “Greg and Jane Got Married On The Beach: Then They Discovered Barbados Government “Workers” and “Island Time”…

1. Swiss Banker (not really)

Looks like!

2. Hants

Ian Bourne you kun keep yuh mout shut?

Suppose Greg din want we to know um is he….yet.

3. Rumboy

Congrats Greg.

4. Underdog

Congrats Greg & Jane – all the best!

5. Stressed Out

Don’t you guys know 2+2=4? St. Lawrence Beach Condos? Hello???

6. sarahpalin

Next time get your licence before the ceremony. Like 95.8% of all couples do.

7. Thanks for the congrats, Barbados Free Press! We both read your line, “and nothing made them do it except their love for each other,” and went “awwwww” in unison.

Guess what?? Greg got home from work tonight bearing a large envelope … He waved it over my head, teasing me, laughing … Immediately I guessed what was inside … I leapt up and grabbed it and excitedly opened it ….. YES!!! … really!! … Our marriage certificate!

Yoo hoo! We’re legal!

Thanks, Barbados Free Press. And btw, you have friends over here on the south coast.

Jane Shattuck Hoyos
    Greg Hoyos (not Patrick, not Tony, not Doc, not Dexter, although all fine and worthy men. My guy is GREG.)

8. Greg

Yes, thanks guys, and it was the CERTIFICATE not the license (we had that long since). I guess sometimes people are so anxious to comment, they don’t read… anyway, you guys are great.

9. Hants

BFP you have reached higher heights.

Imagine newly weds finding the time to read your blog.

No wonder your “hits” are so high.

10. Adrian Loveridge

Now that you are legal, I can congratulate you both and wish you many happy years together.

Nice photo!

11. PiedPiper

Sarahpalin: The voters already judged you lacking and sent you packing back to Alaska. If you had read this story correctly, you would see that Jane and Greg already had the LICENSE but were attempting to get a copy fo the MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE. Get it?

12. J

Since Greg is a Bajan he should know the procedure for applying for any certificate. Surely he has applied for a birth certificate etc. before.

Go to the registry pay the fee, complete the application form.

Go back a week to collect the document.

13. Barbados is in a Recession

I thought for sure he would marry someone much younger ? I was surpised. Or one with political connections….. or maybe someone who can sneak $ in the USA for them….Oh so since this one is older would be lest suspicous

14. Barbados is in a Recession

This is hilirious the Hoyos’s are such attention seekers. Greg knows very well the procedures for marriage certificates. All attention seeking when many in BIM do not like the ( Hoyos’s) include me to that growing list accept for Dr.Hoyos’s side of the family .

15. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long
    comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show
    up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
    again. Anyway, just wanted to say wonderful
    blog!