Joint Heritage of South Carolina and Barbados

south-carolina-barbados-heritage-art-exhibt.jpg

We never know where life will take us, and it must have been doubly true for Africans who were sold into slavery and found themselves traveling to Barbados and then onwards to America.

And more than one slave traveled from Africa to Barbados to America and then to Britain and Europe. How lonely they must have been.

Linda over at My Barbados Blog has the story of a traveling art exhibition put together by the South Carolina National Heritage Corridor and the Barbadian Tourism Ministry, that shows through art the joint heritage that we share with our northern neighbours.

Worth reading and following Linda’s links. Also worth thinking about.

My Barbados Blog: Art Exhibit Connects South Carolina and Barbados

17 Comments

Filed under Africa, Barbados, Barbados Tourism, Slavery, Traveling and Tourism

17 responses to “Joint Heritage of South Carolina and Barbados

  1. Negrocrat

    Good work. I’m interested in locating a book that was written some years ago by Warren Alleyne ? and Henry Fraser? on the Barbados/Carolinas connection.
    Is it still in print? I have been arguing with some of my US friends about this connection but I do not have the documentary evidence to clinch my argument.
    Can you assist?

  2. Keltruth Corp.

    There was also this book by an American
    Barbados American Connection (Paperback)
    by M. Lumsden (Author)

  3. Here is the Warren Alleyne book:
    Barbados Carolina Connection (Paperback)
    by W. Alleyne (Author), Henry Fraser (Author)

  4. Tony Hall

    I was always fascinated by the Barbados-Carolina connection and I am pleased that these books are available. I will buy and read.

  5. Adrian Loveridge

    Please also visit the George Washington House and Museum. There are some excellent exhibits showing the links between the Carolinas and Barbados.

  6. Lady Anon

    There was information some time ago which established similarities between the dialect spoken on Gullah Gullah Island and the Bajan dialect which further cemented the relationship between South Carolina and Barbados.

    Can anyone shed more light on this?

  7. Fishpot

    In response to Lady Anon, a friend of mine from Barbados went to South Carolina and went on a tour to that island. The tour went to a market place and the guide informed them that they would not be able to understand the dialect spoken by the vendors. Big surprise. He could have closed his and eyes and thought he was in Oistins. I dont know how exact but apparently very close. My friend then became the tour interpeter.

  8. Rumboy

    There is also the connection between Nicholas Abbey and another indentical house and built by the same man who once owned Nicholas Abbey in S Carolina. Info can be found on the NA website.

  9. Andrew Wells

    I too am seeking W Alleyne’s book. My gt x 6 grandfather Samuel Buttall (1641-1723) was a sugar refiner in Plymouth and Exeter, UK. He owned a 1,000 acre estate on the Edistow river, near New London, in North Carolina, where presumably he grew sugar cane. His younger brother Charles owned a smaller plantation in St George parish, Barbados and was a member of the Legislative Council there. Charles’s daughter married an Alleyne, and I assume that the place named Buttalls in the parish recalls him. Here is clearly a close link between Carolina and Barbados.

  10. Robyn

    I have what I think is the indenture agreement between the Prop Lords of Carolina and Samuel Buttall, purchased at auction. Would anyone be able to explain the significance of this? The agreement has signatures wax/seals of various earls of Craven, Bathe, and others. The back side states:The Lord Prop of Carolina the Lease for Samuel Buttall June 1662 or 1682.

  11. Andrew Wells

    Robyn – Sorry to have taken so long to catch up with your message – this is a rather convoluted way of corresponding!
    This appears to be the deed recording Samuel Buttall’s purchase of his Carolina estate – I might be interested in buying it if you ever wanted to sell! In 1663 Charles II granted to various noblemen the exclusive control and governmant of Carolina as a county palatine, William Earl of Craven being among the original lords palatine (ref in Complete Peerage, vol 111 (1913), p 501, sub Craven).

    I hope this helps.

  12. Robyn

    Andrew Wells,

    I am the one who did not check this blog, and am delayed in responding. I appreciate the information on the agreement’s significance. It really is a very cool thing.

    I could be interested in selling it.
    Please send an email to robynb818@gmail.com
    I’m located near Boston, MA

  13. David Hodges.

    I am very interested in making contact with Andrew Wells whose postings above (14/12/2009 and 30/4/2010) suggest that we are distantly related. Samuel Buttall was the father-in-law of my 5x great grandfather Sir Nathaniel Hodges and I am interested in finding out more about the family
    during the 17th, century. I am sure that Andrew and I have a lot to share.

  14. FAO Andrew Wells and David Hodges.

    Samuel Buttall was my 7x great grandfather and I am currently trying to extend my family tree as far as I can. Any information you may have concerning the Buttalls pre-1800 would be incredibly useful.
    I am a descendant of Benjamin Buttall who was a brother of Dame Mary Hodges.
    Looking forward to hearing from you.
    I live in Surrey, England.

  15. David Hodges.

    FAO Frank (from Surrey).

    If you would like to contact me directly try my e-mail:
    dd.hodges@ntlworld.com

    I live in east Kent.

  16. Madalene

    I am also a direct descendant of Samuel Buttall, and his wife Mary nee Woods, through their son Benjamin and his wife Mary nee Hedder. I have a bit of information if anyone is still interested. Email me on mafrost@farmside,c.nzo

  17. Madalene

    PS my email is mafrost@farmside.co.nz not the gobbledegook above!

Tell the world what you think about this!

