Nation News Wants Banned Barbadian Journalist Adrian Loveridge To Write Column

David at Barbados Underground and Friends at Barbados Free Press

Earlier this week I met with Hartley Henry at his request. He has asked me to write a column which will replace his Thursday half page in the Nation every other week.

I have tried to remain politically impartial and have never actually been a party member at any time of my life.

It’s a real dilemma for me.

There are so many concerning issues out there which both BU and BFP have done a superb job of ensuring at least a substantial percentage of the population are made aware of.

I have been promised there will be little or no editorial interference other than writing within the constraints of the restricted defamation laws of Barbados.

Of course, I would welcome the opportunity of highlighting certain issues in print, but do not want to loose any credibility as an independent thinker.

I would welcome your comments.

Thanks and Regards

Adrian Loveridge

Barbados Free Press says…

We’ll save our comments for a day and let our readers have their say first! 

102 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Barbados News & Media, Freedom Of The Press

102 responses to “Nation News Wants Banned Barbadian Journalist Adrian Loveridge To Write Column

1. passin thru

Take the job Adrian. You can quit or expand your role at your choosing. BFP, your headline should have been something like “Barbados Media Comes Crawling Asking For Help To Find Lost Credibility”

2. iRobot

Adrian…

If I may give some counsel…

Take the job! A writer can only have an impact if they have readers. While the many Blogs are having a tangible impact, having your words on paper is orders of magnitude more impactful. Bits vs. Atoms, as per Negroponte.

If you ever find yourself compromised, you can always state this on a Blog. This is an opportunity which should not be squandered.

Fight on!

3. james

I’m with passin thru. You write provocatively and well, and whilst I do not always agree with you, I would very much like to see some decent journalism in the Nation. It would also provide a larger audience than you can currently achieve online, however much that may be changing. Lastly, and here’s the real incentive, if they stop you writing on controversial issues you can always quit and tell everyone why on BFP and BU. Go for it.

4. Anonymous

S t i n k i n g

w h i t e

b i t ch.

Go

b a c k

t o

L o n d o n

a n d

w r i t e

f o r

t h e

D a i l y

M a i l.

5. Red Lake Lassie

Adrian, nothing you have said on the blogs has been libelous or they would have sued your ass.

If they want to hire you don’t forget that what you write is worth good money to the paper and charge them accordingly.

6. Anonymous

Red Lake Slut,

Ice Hockey Whore.

7. Anonymous

Red Lake Lassie

I c e

H o c k e y

W h o r e

8. Anonymous

Maybe if Loveridge writes for the Nation they can regain the number one ranking for online readers instead of being number two behind the “stupid” bfp blog!

(i don’t think bfp is stupid. i am making a joke)

9. BFP

We see that the BLP government agents are back with a new IP. We’ll leave up a few comments for flavour and then block them again.

Cliverton

10. Bashy

Take the job you like mischief making might as well get paid for it!

11. Frankology

Be careful Adrian, did Hartley state if this column will be written as a mouthpiece of the DLP or will it be a neutral column focusing on the wrongs that affect Barbados and Barbadians?

I will go for the latter, as soon as you start writing the same script as Mr. Henry, I am sorry your unbiased creditability will be at stake.

Ignore Anonymous with his rude comments, possibly he is unable to open his mouth at home; thus the reason for his behaviour.

12. Hotel Magnate

Assuming your copy does not cause legal problems for The Nation, you need a formal editorial agreement that your copy is not subject to the editorial discretion of the Publisher. You need an attorney familiar with these agreements, and that attorney might be in the UK. If they don’t sign that, then I recommend you forget it.

13. Adrian Hinds

Adrian Hinds // Oct 17th 2007 at 1:21 pm

If you value your impartiality, i don’t think you should. Both political partys understands the high value of perception in Barbados. William Duguid made public overtures to me, then link the labourparty blog to my now defunct fun forum without my permission or invite, and low and behold to many i was a Bee. Perception does not need any proof or facts, and when simple associations like one i mentioned are available, that perception become reality much quicker, and is available to be marketed to others by your detractors, with the words “you don’t have to believe me look the proof is right here”. I think it is in your interest if you are truly non-partisan to seek a column on your own and not in partnership with known party members.

14. Anonymous

Is it true that BFP posts those dirty comments themselves in order to make it seem that they are under attack when they really aren’t?

I’ve heard several people saying so.

15. Anonymous

Any why have you stopped your readers from posting anonymously using

w w w . a n o n y m o u s e . o r g?

Why are you keeping our I P numbers?

What happened to your privacy policy?

BFP Replies

Hello government agent. We see you switching your IP desperately to get this fear, uncertainty and doubt posted here at Barbados Free Press.

As we have explained to all, everyone – even you – has an IP number when they surf the web. Everyone can disguise their IPs using an anonymous surfing proxy, and we think they should in light of the fact that the Government of Barbados has suspended civil liberties and the right to privacy by using a secret order in council some four weeks ago.

It is highly likely that the government is coercing Bajan internet providers to provide data on citizens.

So it looks like it’s time for another print edition.. we’ve just been busy working hard to pay double for the children’s milk.

Anonymouse still works fine for us – but there are many other anonymous proxy websurfing sites out there.

Now crawl back under your rock, government agent.

16. reality check

be very careful Adrian

the lawyers in Barbados use the defamation laws with impunity and the judges are in the pocket of the politcians?

You are stifled from the get go.

You will need a legal support contract with the Nation or they will hang you out to dry so fast you won’t know what hit you.

Maybe you are being set up to take what little you have earned over the past twenty years. No legal backup guarantee means no column. Don’t get suckered.

17. Underdog

Go for it Adrian. You might as well get paid for what you are already doing free.

18. Anonymous

Man write it.

19. Bimbro

Go for it, Loveridge. The more views the better!

20. ??

Adrian

I think it would actually be a good thing for you to write for the Nation. We do not always agree but your Advocate pieces used to be quite a good read.. Leave out the part about not supporting either party as your actions have shown your preference. …
    Above all keep the facts real and you will be OK.. PS forget the comments of the idiot who seems to have climbed from under his rock again.

21. Yardbroom

It is not for me to give you advice on such an important issue, as the ramifications could be very serious indeed. However since it is in the public domain here goes.

Once you have made that decision to contribute – it has been made.

You cannot later say, I never expected they would have prevented me from writing this or that, or expressing such an opinion. You would have lost all “credibility” it is a question of “judgment.”

“I have been promised there will be little or no editorial interference other than writing within the constraints of the restricted defamation laws of Barbados.”

How can it be, and why will you be offered a “freedom” that is normaly denied most other Barbadian Journalists?

There have been contrary opinions expressed here, to the ones I have made, I make no argument with those, neither do I say they are wrong, only time will tell.

22. Straight talk

Yardbroom:

Did I miss your recommendation?

Yes or No?

23. iisnoone

I eagerly look forward to this column, but what happens if you ask a politician where he got his money from?
    Be careful of the “law”.

24. Yardbroom

Straight Talk
    If I was in such a position as Adrian, with the “background” that has brought this offer about.
    “I” would say no.

25. Thistle

We definitely need someone like Adrian Loveridge to write a column in The Nation, but all I can say is, be very very careful, Adrian. Sounds like a bit of a setup to me.

26. Wishing in Vain

Maybe then we can get some serious views on the state of our Tourism effort as opposed to those of his good friend and pal Noeless Lynch.
    Both of these papers lack creditabilty and maybe by having Mr Loveridge onboard they will hope to gain some, my personal belief is that they are too far gone to gain any respect irregardless as to who they employ.
    Just wait for VOB to call him in for a job covering the subject of tourism and his first assignment is to conduct an interview with the idiot Lynch that would be justice indeed.
    I think that VOB could charge to listen to that program it would be a laugh.

27. Straight talk

Interesting , Yardbroom.

What brings you to that conclusion?

Is it that your submissions would be corrupted by editorial directive or that our freedom of speech would be too restrictive?

28. Roy Boy

Go for it and con-currently post your un-edited version on BFP & BU.
    You can give them a discounted rate for the rights to publish the same material elsewhere.

29. Straight talk

We need another Gladstone Holder. That could be you Adrian.

30. Straight talk

BFP:
    Doppelganger Alert!!!

BFP comments:

Yup… the same government agent that is threatening to burn down Adrian’s hotel etc etc etc.

Thanks for the heads-up

31. reality check

Is this the Politics of Inclusion at its best? or

The Politics of Neutering?

32. Straight forward reporting the facts, no personal attacks or personal views……
    would be a breath of fresh air in an otherwise ho hum newspaper.

33. Straight talk

Anonymous:

Keep it clean, and incisive, and you can use my monicker anytime you want.

34. Anonymous

We all know that your print edition is DEAD.

If you ever become so stupid to put out another one…. well, you’ve already been told what will happen.

35. Yardbroom

Straight Talk
    When you have attained, or advocated a certain position or attitude on issues, it has always been the “machiavellian principle” to make him/her an offer.

The offer must always be in such a form, and so presented, that it cannot be “easily” seen for what it is.

The judgment which you exercised previously, has now got to come into play, to do otherwise undermines your previous position, you can as in this case say, I had no affilliated position, but “perception” is everything.

36. Pogo

Adrian Loveridge

There is one condition you must have in writing from the Nation before you take the job.
    That would be if you publish the truth and someone sues you then the Nation will demand and pay for a full jury trial where the whole story will come out with a trial tape recorded for all the world to see.

We hear that in England things said at trials are like those in Parliament and privileged from lawsuits with no repercussions by way of defamation action sort of like a safety valve for a society. Make sure that is true in Barbados for what is said in court because it ensures that no one is intimidated from telling the whole story at a trial or reporting what was said to the whole country.

For too long the lawyers and courts here have warped defemation laws to intimidate. They inhibit the true telling of the story. If the Nation would back you up on this it then you will make journalism what it is supposed to be a check and balance on power.

If they won’t then don’t take the job because they are setting you up to scuttle you. Ask David Ellis what he went through (if he is allowed to tell you).

37. b/f/p/e/

All we want is to get his PHOTO in the newspaper.

Once we have that, we can deal with him properly.

Filthy whiite idiot.

38. marvo manning

Anonymous,

You said it.

Why should Bajans be bowing to another foreign whiite face?

Tell Adrian Loveridge to go to hell back to England.

Massa Day Done!

39. marvo manning

By the way, our advance condolences to Adrian Loveridge on the loss of his hotel by fire.

They say it was ARSON.

40. theNickster

Its a slippery slope, so many factors to consider. Could be so good they don’t print it or could be so bad that Owen gets another term. Think of it this way, if its too good it will not be printed and the blank warrants won’t be waved at you so its win-win. Just be wary of BLP goon squads writing in their letters of “nit-pick” to twist what you say.

Oh and for heavens sake don’t Brain Fart like a certain “herbal beverage” writer did. Be true to the message.

41. Bajan Patsie

Whiite foreigner, what yuh frighten for?

Tek de bait.

Tek um!

42. Roger Rabbitt

A.L.
    If I were you, I would say NO to this offer at this stage. Not sure about the direction of the Nation nowadays. Hartley Henry may mean well, but I won’t trust the folk at that newspaper. Too much in the bosom of the BLP.
    In the final analysis, the decision is still yours to make. I respect the views of ppl like Yardbroom, Bush Tea and some other selected ones and I would listen to those folk. Not the ones that are too partisan, but the real thinkers.

43. Roger Rabbitt

marvo manning
    October 17th, 2007 at 8:41 pm
    We don’t want nuh more “whiite shadows” in Barbados.
    marvo manning
    October 17th, 2007 at 8:43 pm
    By the way, our advance condolences to Adrian Loveridge on the loss of his hotel by fire.

They say it was ARSON.
    Carmeta Fraser
    October 17th, 2007 at 8:45 pm
    Adrian yuh stiinking whiite biitch.

Food comes first!
    Dame Nita Barrow
    October 17th, 2007 at 8:48 pm
    Carmeta girl, I ‘gree wid you.

Adrian Loveridge is not even a whiite Bajan.
    ………………………………………………………………..
    Somehow I get the feeling that these three are one and the same.

44. Straight talk

Yardbroom:

I think I see where you are coming from but your reasoning is so clouded in abstruse language that I cannot be sure.

Andrew has been made an offer, admittedly through a perhaps discredited DLP intermediary,
    to in his fashion “tell it like it is”.

You have a fear that he may be being set up.

Quite frankly I cannot concieve any situation where AL can be entrapped.

He has never had an original thought published.

That is not a condemnation, but it is his strength.

His rapierlike posts reminds the talking heads of their previous utterances.

No more… no less.

Now you politicians, justify your past assurances.

This although it may be percieved as anti- one party or another it is in fact proper accountability in action.

If we can’t believe what a minister says, and he is proved palpably wrong, he must resign taking his credibility with him.
    If he refuses the PM must relieve him to retain any authority.

Yardbroom may through his fears shrink from this responsibility to the people of Barbados, but I hope with this opportunity Adrian is made of sterner stuff.

45. Yardbroom

Straight Talk
    My reasoning is simply this, Adrian has said he is non-political, there is nothing wrong with that, even if he was DLP that is not a problem either.

My fear is that because of recent events, he might open himself to a situation that at this juncture, would not be wise. No one can judge the situation better than Adrian himself, that he has asked the question indicates uncertainty, and perhaps he also wonders what others might think.

I feel other times will come for Adrian, you can never keep a good man down for ever.

The DLP will understand Adrian’s situation, reasonable people will. However if he does accept the position I will think no worse of him, and will make an effort to read what he writes.

However I cannot help, just feeling a little uneasy about it.

46. iisnoone

Mr. Loveridge has been called a “white dog”. The “white dog” that I am most familiar with is the English Bull Terrier. This breed’s powerful jaws, extreme courage and incredible pain tolerance make it a formidable guard dog.

I would exercise caution if I were dealing with an English Bull Terrier.

47. Hants

Adrian…. You already make a significant contribution to Barbados. You own a hotel, employ Barbadians and advertise Barbados as a tourist destination.

Writing about the problems facing Barbados is going to incur the wrath of SuperOwing,Royalrumble,Blarney Lynch and the merry band of BLPites.

If you can put up with the nastiness that is sure to come if you take the job,go for it.

A lot of good Bajans will appreciate your efforts.

48. Straight talk

Yardbroom:

I know your heart is in the right place and I respect your well thought out opinions.

However I also believe that ” for evil to flourish requires good men to do nothing”.

God bless Bim.

49. yatinkinkiteasy

Oldest business tactic: Buy the Competition…Whatever they offer, its not worth it…the Truth will Not come out of the Nation News!Dont take the bait Adrian!

50. Hants

In an effort to be “careful”, David Ellis,Tony Marshall and Dennis Johnson have become very effective Moderators.

The put pressure on callers to be “careful” with what they say and we have been getting a lot more truth than fiction.

The problem for the BLP is the Truth.

200% cost overrun at the Prison.

Estimated 300% cost overrun on the 3S flyover project.

3S Operative taken to court in England because of alleged fraud in Jamaica.

Huge debt incurred for CWC2007.

Best of all is the Hardwood Housing affair. Lot more truth than fiction now that The Mascoll’s have had their press conference.

The real action begins when the Election date is set.

51. ninemikemike

Don’t do it Adrian, you can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear, and if ever there was a sow’s ear it is the rag known as The Nation.

52. cynty

Go with your conscience and good luck, we need more people like you out there.

53. Is this gonna Kill You? No i Dont Think so !

54. Anonymous

It is quite obvious that Hants distance in Canada seems to be distorting the picture he receives.

Anybody living on this island and hearing the callers plead with these moderators day in day out,year in year out – to please at least allow them to get the first 2 sentences out will surely have a different view.

However what do these callers get instead?

Shouted at,interrogated like they are in court,cut off after the first 3 words while the moderator takes over the conversation and imposes his point of view- or distorts the complete point the caller is trying to make by playing devil’s advocate and gleefully getting the frustated,confused caller to finally admit to the moderator’s point of view.

As one caller pointed out why do moderators demand that callers produce evidence and statistics – yet they don’t ask the same of any of the minister of government who call the programme.

Note government ministers,not opposition members – because the opposition members are usually grilled to the max.
    Effective moderators what!

At least Tony Marshall allows the callers to speak first before he starts to question them,however that programme is getting less and less about the people’s point of view and more about getting ads for a popular time slot – while blanking out and sanitizing the meat of the discussion – yet still hoping that listeners keep listening.

David Ellis and Dennis Johnson are not as helpless as bloggers believe – they can allow discussion and encourage callers in a way that doesnot jeopardise their job,yet help educate the public.

In a few words:they can stop being part of the spin.

Don’t allow defamation to get through,but at the same time don’t confuse the issue nor the callers.

55. theNickster

Remember Sir Thomas More, do it only if your are prepared to stand for what you believe in, no matter the cost. If not we still love ya.

56. Anonymous

Is moderation open?
    Comment just snatched.

BFP comments

Please read “What is comment moderation?”

Even with a setting of allow all comments through, some are picked up by the automatic software.

Read the tab please.

57. Even if I didn’t like Mr. Loveridge I would have to side with him after reading some of the filthy comments above. You should be ashamed of yourselves. Is cursing, insulting and using racists remarks the only way you can communicate.
    I hope the “Marvo Manning” posted above isn’t the one who was a broadcaster at CBC and former beauty queen. If she is, ” character really could never be defined by looks”

Can we keep it clean and dignified

A BLACK, BLACK BAJAN

58. Wishing in Vain

A question to Mr Loveridge with regard to his attacks via the internet and that contact that I sent to you to investigate these attacks has that contact yielded any further information to you as yet?
    As I was informed that C & W had already done the search and had all the information to hand, please let me know.
    Also with regard to OPERA INTERACTIVE please rest assured that those on the other side fairly high up the pecking order are looking into this issue and will revert within the next few days with a response.

59. Bajan Observer

Ohi ohi ohi, now I understand the why for moderation….too many idiots around….who writes “white bitch”??? What a hell is this? This is NOT civil language..Go to China and enjoy!!

I think Adrian L. should take the job. Just be careful ….

60. Paradox

Mr. Loveridge,
    My apologises to you and all of different races for those disgusting comments above. Any normal person would find them repulsive and dirty.
    Comments like those are designed to intimidate/scare so as to silence you and others who speak the truth. Is this a democracy? Where is free speech? There has been a ‘fear’ creeping into society for some time and now appears to be getting worse by the day.
    On your offer to write for the Nation Newspaper, you probably have some doubt in your mind that you ask readers to post their comments.
    Think carefully before you take it on.There are different ways to negate a person;. (1) go on the attack; (2) invite him to join you.
    If you decide that you can do some good, please read the fine print on the contract or have it read by a Lawyer. Laws in Barbados are not like those in EU or USA, which you know. Mr Loveridge, take ‘care’ in what decision you make.
    The writer/s of such comments should see a psychiatrist.

61. Crusty

BFP: Looks like time to consider blogger registration so that each contributor must login and use a password. That would eliminate the doppelgangers.

Anonymity is still possible and I think much of the junk would be avoided.

BFP Replies

We might go back to a “always moderate” situation – which solves the problem. We’ll see… but never a registration situation.

62. Anonymous X

Adrian,
    You must take into consideration the restrictions that will go with your new role. The requirement to have your articles approved before going to press..etc. You have freedom with BFP and your decision should therefore reflect your preferred method for disseminating vital information to the public.

63. notesfromthemargin

Adrian,

I really see nothing to lose by your taking up the offer.

As to why the Nation would extend it? – Controversy sells.

Marginal

64. paranoid??

careful as you go. remember that nation publ. is blp territory and it may be a clever ploy to……
    just watch it

65. Thistle

That is exactly what I am concerned about too, and I don’t think we’re being paranoid!

66. Jerome Hinds

Adrian,

Take the “pick” and continue to speak the TRUTH and nothing but the whole TRUTH .

My only FEAR though………is that once you stick to the TRUTH your stint at the Nation News would be short – lived !

That RAG ( according to Owen Arthur’s description of the Nation News ) hates to publish the TRUTH !

67. Wait a minute

Hartley Henry = DLP

AL about your nonpartisanship is this then not a political column?????

Don’t do it if you are uncomfortable.

68. John

Adrian L.

Wish I could say “do it” or “don’t do it”. Each seems to have pros and cons.

Think you need to decide for yourself.

Either way I think you will demonstrate the straightforward approach we have become accustomed to seeing from you.

If you do decide to write for the Nation, it might be nice to get an indemnification from them for anything of yours they decide to publish.

Wonder if the Nation is looking to put Ezra out to pasture (… or should that be stud) and have fewer articles which qualify as mere party political broadcasts?

The B, D and now P column are overkill and shutting him down might bring an unaccustomed freshness to reading the Nation.

69. To :BFP
    Dear Sirs, I notice some comments which were made earlier in the day have been deleted. Especially the comments seemingly coming from Mr. Loveridge when among other things, he charged his adversaries to “kiss his ivory ###” and “black nihggers”
    Even a terse comment I made was deleted.
    Just asking, is there a reason for retracting certain comments made by individuals?

70. BFP: Cliverton Not Signed In

Hello Eddy,

Many of the comments you see for a short while are placed there by government supporters and agents trying to discredit this blog, and today, Mr. Loveridge.

We vet the comments once in a while and those that are either over the line or are, for instance, falsely attributed, are removed. In short, the comments were not made by Adrian Loveridge, they were made by BLP supporters and government agents.

For the background, check these stories…

Barbados Free Press Now Moderates All Comments – A Necessary Change After Weeks Of Cyber Attacks By Barbados Government

BLP Government Spammers Continue Threats Of Violence – Threaten To Harm Ian Bourne And His Pets

We Went Out For The Evening And Look What Happened!

71. Discovery

Where is WUK for WUK Gline Clarke?
    This is the same person that can sing the praises of the QEH on a political platform but then he finds that it is not good enought for him to attend when he gets sick, what does that tell the rest of us ?
    Still away from the place that is somewhere you got to be dying to go to.
    We have good docotrs here like Jerry Emtage and Dr Padmore why would he be scared to go to the QEH ?
    I am amazed that no one on this blog has mentioned as yet that Kerrie Simmons brother went parking out and the fellows that attacked them raped (and buggered) both the woman and the brother in the car, amazing how quiet these things pass.
    I head this about a month ago and was waiting to see if it made it to the blog.
    Seems to me that Kerrie Simmons has a few issues what his brother and girlfriend being raped and he Kerrie arriving at peoples houses at ungodly hours of the night looking for his wife is an amazing story indeed, lucky he did not find her in Owings house like Sherwin Campbell did, that is how Owing destroyed Sherwin’s cricketing hopes because he could not play cricket and keep his mind on cricket he always had to be wondering if Owing was in his house with his wife.

72. Anonymous X

Discovery,
    I am really sorry to hear about Kerrie’s brother and girlfriend. We are living in a very sick country when something like this could happen ( if indeed it did happen).
    By the way ..I hope Kerry found his wife? This could be a major distraction especially with elections around the corner!

73. Anonymous

Isn’t Kerrie Symmonds brother a pastor and is married.Is there another brother?

I hope people are not spreading nasty lies to destroy someone’s name.

If it did happen,then I’m extremely saddened for the couple,especially in these days of Aids.

God help them.

74. Discovery

Yes this is the said very one the pastor is the one is he Kylie?

75. Backra Johnny

Adrian,

You were offered a position not by the Nation newspaper but by a pro DLP reporter.
    You are to replace him.
    That tells me straight off that you will have to compromise your writings to reflect a pro DLP agenda.

You are now at a crossroad.

You either remain non political and decline the offer or you formally join the DLP and write their column.

My advise …..

decline.

76. peltdownman

John
    Wonder if the Nation is looking to put Ezra out to pasture (… or should that be stud)

Definitely “pasture”, John!

77. Straight talk

Adrian L:

Even though the offer is to share the column with a known DLP yardfowl, your message has to be more important than someone’s perception of your political allegiance.

If I read your concerns correctly you think government policy and its implementation needs modifying if not changing completely.

You advocate a more common sense, cost effective approach, particularly to our tourism promotion.
    Laying out the relevant facts, and then your reasoned argument for the direction you would take.

All open, above board and inviting other inputs.

If I am right, and this is how you would tackle the column, it would make a welcome breath of fresh air in the fetid atmosphere of what currently passes for political debate in The Nation.

Does anyone seriously give any attention to the repetitive playground taunts of Alleyne, Brandford, Eversley and yes Henry, not to mention the party’s own columns?

Commenting on your own strong beliefs can in no way be construed as following any party line.
    In fact apart from insulting the opposition it is hard to determine any party’s actual policy or line.

If such a column did become popular, and either party adopted an idea or preferably that clarity of purpose, so much the better, after all that surely is your aim ….. better governance.

I honestly cannot see a downside, and still say Go For It.

78. John

Backra Johnny
    October 19th, 2007 at 12:04 pm
    Adrian,

You were offered a position not by the Nation newspaper but by a pro DLP reporter.
    You are to replace him.
    That tells me straight off that you will have to compromise your writings to reflect a pro DLP agenda.

You are now at a crossroad.

You either remain non political and decline the offer or you formally join the DLP and write their column.

My advise …..

decline.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    It seems unusual for a mere columnist to be in a position to offer a job on behalf of his employer.

I think Adrian L. was wise to let this be known upfront.

I suspect he won’t have to accept or decline as I doubt whether the Nation Publishing Co. will ever make such and offer … and that will be the offer that counts!!

79. Thewhiterabbit

First, thanks to BFP for allowing a few of the vitriolic entries to appear so that it becomes possible to accurately evaluate the level of fear, loathing, and hatred that bubbles just below the surface of life in paradise.

Second, Mr. Loveridge, don’t do it! We love you entirely too much to see you prostituted by what is clearly an attempt to discredit your views and words. Once you join “the staff” you will become part of “the staff” and no matter what you say there will be question as to its authenticity and veracity. You will have been co-opted.

Third, not offered lightly as a suggestion, but with some real serious thought. All you folks at BFP, BU, and of a similar mind need to get together and get serious in your work. As it is now you appear to be a bunch of amateurs out having a picnic on Sunday afternoon, meaning how can I ever REALLY believe you since you choose to hide behind anonymity. We all know why you do it, you are a bunch of amateurs out having a Sunday picnic, so you don’t have access to the legal, financial, and infrastructural resources needed to come out of the closet. So, get real. Get the resources lined up, get the requisite professional help, and make yourselves credible. Mr. Loveridge is an obvious choice as senior editor, which is where he should be putting his journalistic effort, i.e. into something truly credible and not into what is clearly a lost cause at The Nation. Look, I don’t mean to be lashing you guys at all because I think what you are doing has proven out some really serious issues. But at the end of the day it remains difficult to put much faith in your conclusions because from an academic perspective there isn’t much bibliography to check. Nonetheless, if even 10% of what you suggest is correct then there are really serious issues that need to be addressed. But, in order to adequately address the very serious issues the media has to be credible, meaning verifiable. Summed up, start your own newspaper, even if it has to come off initially as printed versions of the blog. I’d like to take you seriously, but first you need to take yourselves and your mission more seriously. I’d also like to see you branch out to address topics other than graft, corruption, and abuse of power in government. These are clearly important issues, but there is so much more going on in this island that needs your approach and coverage that you could address with some additional resources. You all thought up a great idea, now grow it into something worthwhile! (PS, yes, I will contribute $$$$ and further contributions when it happens)

80. Royalrumble

To the idiot using my name let me say to you that it takes a special kind to rumble the way I do. Let me show you how…

Who remembers the headline in the Nation Newspaper when the political waste thompson came out of the political wilderness. It read words to the effect that the next general election in Barbados will be the “mother of all battles” a “battle royale”.

From the results of the last poll it is looking more to be a “battle for the little brown girl in the ring” to borrow Harold Hoyte’s words. The BLP certainly want her head and from the look of things in the DLP Estwick wants his head as well.

Estwick has not forgiven him for contriving with the committee of management to get him out of St. Philip West.

Freundel Stuart has not forgiven him for undermining him in St. Philip South during the 1999 elections. Stuart often refers to the time when he confronted thompson about the nasty things that he was walking around saying about him. When he raised the matter face to face with thompson he denied it. However, when Stuart produced the cassette recording of his voiced bad-mouthing him all thompson could do is bend over and cried in a loud voice, “oh Stuart you know I try to be honest but I have failed, please forgive me”.

Undene Whittaker has not forgiven him for saying of her that she was neither “presentable nor marketable”.

Michael Lashley has not forgiven him for nearly costing him the opportunity to be in the House today because thompson did not think he was good enough to represent the people of St. Philip North.

Rice-Bowen does not want to him since the two of them hold up their clothes at each other and she had to inform him that her undies were cleaner than his undies.

Lowe has refused to be seen with the man known as “sweet cakes” a name given to him by none other than Cameron Tudor, who would most definitely know went a cake is sweet.

81. Jerome Hinds

Well , well , well………it took HARDWOOD for the mighty Royalrumble to…….MUMBLE the following REVEALATIONS on the BLP Blog !

Check the Headline article below and Royalrumble’s ELOQUENT response !

I guess the results of the POLL below made him see the LIGHT !

http://www.luckypolls.com/5519/can-david-thompson-lead-the-dlp-to-victory-in-the-upcoming-general-elections

http://labourparty.wordpress.com/2007/10/12/protect-the-profession-resign-thompson/#comment-15342

Royalrumble // Oct 19th 2007 at 3:15 am

I can now confirm that there were 15 NON NATIONAL dismissals at HARDWOOD HOLDINGS today this is after ASSCOLl said they did not employ illegal workers.
    Now this should be a crime that someone is charged for employing illegal workers the same as they would do had these been illegal sex workers!!!
    The Hardwood issue is a strange one, that I am watching closely, if the DLP has more clear evidence they can break Mascoll, and indeed gain more votes/seats. If it is all a bluff and Owen and Mascoll, can show that it is all a bluff then you call elections quickly after when Thompson is still licking his wounds. So this is really the deciding factor. Owen will not take it lying down someone has to take the fall even may be Mascoll. So far it seems like the Hardwood CEO might be the one to suffer, cause some how he seems to be not not bright when it comes to money and business.
    Murrell is a pawn and ASSCOLL is the player, I personally do not need anything further than what was presented to the public last night he is guilty as charged in my books all of them need investigating for fraud, if TONY HOYOS can be sitting on both boards the lender and the borrower at the same time and knownly lend our taxpaers money to a comany that is obviously being run very poorly where our money is at serious risk of being stolen by people like ASSCOLL and Murrell and others we have questions to ask of the creditabilty of Hoyos as Chairman and his functioning in that post.

82. Jerome Hinds

Strange…..!

Well , well , well………it took HARDWOOD for the mighty Royalrumble to…….MUMBLE the following REVEALATIONS on the BLP Blog !

Check the Headline article below and Royalrumble’s ELOQUENT response !

I guess the results of the POLL below made him see the LIGHT !

http://www.luckypolls.com/5519/can-david-thompson-lead-the-dlp-to-victory-in-the-upcoming-general-elections

http://labourparty.wordpress.com/2007/10/12/protect-the-profession-resign-thompson/#comment-15342

Royalrumble // Oct 19th 2007 at 3:15 am

I can now confirm that there were 15 NON NATIONAL dismissals at HARDWOOD HOLDINGS today this is after ASSCOLl said they did not employ illegal workers.
    Now this should be a crime that someone is charged for employing illegal workers the same as they would do had these been illegal sex workers!!!
    The Hardwood issue is a strange one, that I am watching closely, if the DLP has more clear evidence they can break Mascoll, and indeed gain more votes/seats. If it is all a bluff and Owen and Mascoll, can show that it is all a bluff then you call elections quickly after when Thompson is still licking his wounds. So this is really the deciding factor. Owen will not take it lying down someone has to take the fall even may be Mascoll. So far it seems like the Hardwood CEO might be the one to suffer, cause some how he seems to be not not bright when it comes to money and business.
    Murrell is a pawn and ASSCOLL is the player, I personally do not need anything further than what was presented to the public last night he is guilty as charged in my books all of them need investigating for fraud, if TONY HOYOS can be sitting on both boards the lender and the borrower at the same time and knownly lend our taxpaers money to a comany that is obviously being run very poorly where our money is at serious risk of being stolen by people like ASSCOLL and Murrell and others we have questions to ask of the creditabilty of Hoyos as Chairman and his functioning in that post.

83. reality check

Royal rumble

Thanks for the little DLP dirty laundry list

however, all this means is that once Thompson and his party has been elected, sweet cakes will need to be replaced as leader in his party.

there is ABSOLUTELY no way Barbadians can vote for the BLP as their laundry is beyond being cleaned and must be thrown out.

84. Anonymous

Tell us about that cheque that was written to OWING for $ 750,000.00, or we want to hear about the tripling of cost of the road works project, tell us about the obviously corrupt DANOS and his KICKBACK AGREEMENTS and FRAUD CASE in the courts in the UK or tell us about court case of VECO in Alaska where people have been found guilty of committing bribery and fraud and politiciand

85. Wishing in Vain

Tell us about that cheque that was written to OWING for $ 750,000.00, or we want to hear about the tripling of cost of the road works project, tell us about the obviously corrupt DANOS and his KICKBACK AGREEMENTS and FRAUD CASE in the courts in the UK or tell us about court case of VECO in Alaska where people have been found guilty of committing bribery and fraud and politicians collecting money from VECO for favours, these are the same ones that our gov’t awarded the contracts to for these major projects, do you not to suspect that these fraudsters would perform any different from they have been used to behaving?
    Or what about the mass of issues involved in HARDWOOD HOLDINGS and the obvious corruption that is taking place there, and how in heavens name can we have TONY HOYOS sitting on the board of both the lending agency and as chairman of the borrower company why would this be the case???
    Your support for the unsupportable is dumbfounding to say the least, you need to awake and open your eyes and see the corruption that your party is partaking of on a daily basis.

86. BFP

Jerome…

Please don’t post a gazillion times because your comment is held for moderation. We’ll get to it, but then we have to wade through dozens of duplicates.

Please don’t do it!

george

87. Jerome Hinds

BFP,

My apologies it was not intentional.

After submitting the message there was no indication that it had gone through.

BFP replies

Hi Jerome

That was a powerful comment!

For some reason our filter grabbed it and didn’t hold it for moderation… only threw it into the trash where we found it. We always look at not only the moderation line but the trash as well.

IF readers are posting a comment and it “disappears” there are two scenarios… IF the comment is held for moderation, you will see “your comment is being held for moderation”, but if you don’t see that and everything disappears then the filters think you are a spammer for some reason. (The machine is only so smart, ya know)

SO…. always keep a copy of your major comments until you see it posted.

Thanks for your patience folks. Marcus worked nights last night and then no one was on until 11am so we were a little late in moderating any held comments.

88. To: BFP
    Thanks for the clarification on the “ghost letters” previously posted purporting to be signed by Mr. Loveridge.
    Just one query though, I don’t understand why my letter was deleted as well.

89. John

Adrian L.

You sure have somebody peeved!!

Good Work!!

BFP Comments

Hi John

You’d think that they would know by now how bad it makes the BLP look when supporters do that sort of mischief. But they are panicking. The despots cannot flourish under the light of a free press.

90. liz

Throughout history, it has been the inaction of those who could have acted, the indifference of those who should have known better, the silence of the voice of justice when it mattered most, that has made it possible for evil to triumph.

Selassie, Haile

But will the rest of us stand with Adrian?
    Or will we hide?

91. irene sandiford-garner

Liz,
    All those “standing” with Adrian are anonymous. Hiding.

BFP comments

True, Irene. Which is as much a condemnation of the current government as anything.

92. liz

and another quote. . .
    In Germany they came first for the Communist, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist. Then they came for the Jews, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew. Then they came for the trade unionists, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist. Then they came for the Catholics, and I didn’t speak up because I was a Protestant. Then they came for me, and by that time no one was left to speak up.
    Niemoeller, Martin

are we really that scared or are we all just too lazy? writing is easy, actually doing something is much harder –

93. Adrian Loveridge

First of all my very sincere thanks for all the objective comments. While I had thought through some of the implications, BFP readers have also raised a number that frankly I had not fully appreciated.

Again, Thank You.

Anyone, the decision process has been taken out of my hands.

Roxanne Gibbs, according to Hartley Henry has refused to publish my column.

I cannot say that I am altogether suprised, especially in the light of the pressure placed on Anthony Bryan at the Advocate.

Thankfully we still have BFP and Barbados Underground.

94. Hants

Adrian you just don’t get it.

There is no way that the BLP operatives are going to let you become a mainstream critic.

If you want to fit in, you have to have some “outside children”, drink nuff liquor, get a young wife and have an outside woman as backup.

I don’t fit in either but my excuse is I am a DLP and BFP supporter.

95. Wishing in Vain

I tell you Adrian this is really free and fair in Barbados is it not?
    Well that speaks volumes about the NATION and the media in Barbados and the extent of the control the ruling party has on it, it is muted to say the least.
    Never mind the real media the BFP and BU are kicking dust in the conventional media so you have a better option available to you.
    Long may you live.

96. Straight talk

So, Roxanne turn on de red light.

What plainer example of political bias is needed?

Dare she slap down the new politically incorrect, but true voice of the nation, Lowdown.

What does Thompy think of The Nation, will he support their advertising revenue after the bell has rung?

I’d say yes, he likes it so.

97. Rumplestilskin

Straight Talk ”So, Roxanne turn on de red light”

Another ‘Police’ fan?

You don’t have to put on the red light
    Roxanne
    You don’t have to put on the red light
    Roxanne (Put on the red light)
    Roxanne (Put on the red light

98. Rumplestilskin

Fellow Barbadians,

There is no time more important than now (sniff), that we seek to embody truly democratic philosophies in all of our actions (sniff).

The national newspapers must therefore seek to separate fiction from fact, innuendo from reality and despite any political backlash (sniff), publish that which will bring our Nation to greater levels of truth, integrity, good faith and indeed (sniff) democracy.

There will no doubt be those (sniff), that will seek to perpetuate ‘vicious and malignant’ rumours but this should not stop good journalism from reaching for the embedded truth and thereby achieve a level of excellence (sniff).

By being liberal yet discerning, good journalism can contribute a great deal towards clear and decisive thinking by the electorate (sniff).

Peace

99. Hants

All those “standing” with Adrian are anonymous. Hiding.

As long as the likes of “Royalrumble” continue to attack the DLP without identifying himself, some of us DLP supporters will do the same.

Some of us are “no name” ordinary citizens so it is better that we keep a hidden Identity. There are enough “untouchables” who can identify themselves.

Just remember that the BLP are better at Politricks than the DLP.

100. Jukecheckedeyskirt

Adrian, the truth needs to be told, but be careful that it be not at the expense of your reputation or your few pennies.

Beware of Trojans and acknowledge the biblical admonition of spiritual wickedness in high places.

101. Brother Adrian

Nice to see you speaking your mind and expressing a view of what surrounds you.

Remember our old principle

Truth is the oxygen of Justice

Sleep in peace, wake in joy

102. 234

can you sue for defamation if someone uses your name to make nasty remarks?

I think I’ll just forward this to the relevant people, the ip addresses I’m sure can be traced.

Just because it is the internet doesn’t mean that impersonating someone and damaging their reputation is ok, I am certain Miss Manning would be less than pleased to see this.