Moving Back To Jamaica…. The Blog, Not The Reality!

Our blogging friend Fwade at Moving Back To Jamaica Blog has taken issue with my Prayer for Jamaica this morning.

That’s just fine with us. If we don’t talk about issues of culture, we will never understand each other – even if it is to say “We’ll just have to agree to disagree, then.”

Good thing he missed our post Just Another Day In CARICOM: Jamaican Hotel Construction Workers Riot, Burn, Employee Shot By Police, Management Airlifted Out By Helicopter

… which was about a story on his other blog: Chronicles from a Caribbean Cubicle.

Anyway, here’s a hello to Fwade. Perhaps we will get together someday for flying fish & Banks beer… or jerk chicken & Red Stripe.

On the last day, there is more that brings us together than separates us.

9 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Blogging, CARICOM

9 responses to “Moving Back To Jamaica…. The Blog, Not The Reality!

  1. anonymous

    this is so sad and pathetic. both blogs sound arrogant and out of touch with reality. its a pity that people can devote so much time to bringing down each other.

  2. reality check

    there is nothing so arrogant as those who are willfully blind, defend the staus quo and refuse to discuss all issues that face us on a day to day basis.

  3. Yardbroom

    I have never liked the idea of the best slaves being kept in Barbados, because it suggest that the selection process was done by others and is not due to our nature as peaceful Barbadians.

    Although Jamaicans and Barbadians are Caribbean peoples our cultures are different, that is not to suggest better or worse. Barbadians are more familiar with their culture and therefore more at ease with it. I guess the same applies to Jamaicans.

    I would not go down the road of music etc, because there are some musicians whose music I might enjoy, but I would not have that musician within 200 yards of my house, and neither would I personally enjoy their company.

    We often confuse issues there have been people who enjoyed black blues and jazz, but would not even eat at the same lunch counter, or have the musician- celebrity as they were- in the same hotel.

    We should not think because a type of music is enjoyed by others it signals acceptance of a particular culture. It does not.

    As a Barbadian, good luck to Jamacians and whatever problems you have may they soon come to and end, we will try to sort out the little wrinkles we have on the rock.

  4. Yardbroom

    Just for clarity, the first paragraph should read:

    …..and our “behaviour” is not due to our nature as peaceful Barbadians.

  5. Sometimes a post works, and sometimes it doesn’t…

    My friend, I didn’t mean to bash Bajans! In fact, I had no issue with your original post.

    Elsewhere in my own blog I have written about how we Jamaicans are really in world of our own, and have nothing against Bajans per se.

    Unfortunately, we know way too little about the life and goings on not just in Barbados, but in each of the other Caribbean territories. We Jamaicans don’t care… but we really should start (especially with CSME coming.) When I encourage Jamaican friends to visit Barbados and Trinidad (the Caribbean islands I have visited the most) I get the blankest of looks (outside of Carnival-related motives.) Talk about Miami or New York… and its a different story.

    There are many reasons for this, not the last of which is that we have as many Jamaicans living outside the island, as in.

    And trust me, we have plenty problems here on the ‘rock… this place is not easy! To me, Barbados represents a civilized version of who we could be, if only… we could stop the fussing and fighting and killing each other. Barbados reminds me of a Jamaica I remember as a child in many ways… before things got so very dangerous.

    However, that is not to say that I wish I were born or grew up in Barbados… or Trinidad, or Grenada, or Guyana, etc. We Jamaicans (even with one of the highest murder rates in the world) are proud to the point of arrogance — and that includes me too!

    If I had my druthers, we would have more integration, not less.

    So…. I don’t know that I disagree with anything in your original post, which was to the point. The added reader’s comments about the dregs being dropped off in Jamaica on the other hand… whoa! I never heard this kind of thing until I started visiting Trinidad and Barbados a few years ago. It’s enough to make this Jamaican’s blood boil.

    So, regarding the beer and flying fish — if you send me an email, I will arrange! I can’t bring the Red Stripe with me, but I often grab a bite at the grill opposite the Accra Beach Hotel. Let me know

    Francis

    PS: Of course I caught the reference to my blog in the prior post! I smiled “fuh days” at the reference… and felt even more embarrassed at we Jamaicans. (Although there is more to the story that has now come out in the press.)

  6. Hmmmm…. just for clarification, my reference to the post not working was to MY post on my blog.

  7. Jamaican Rose

    My comment is to Rumple whatever you call yourself. I find your comments on Jamaica extremely ignorant and very prejudiced. There is a difference in having pride in your country and putting down other Islands to make your self feel better. I’m sure your a very miserable and bitter person as you come off. We are united as members of the black race if you are black-and should be helping each other up in this world not tearing down. I am proud to be from Jamaica and love my fellow Jamaicans, obviously you have not been to Jamaica because if you had you would find some of the warmest, personable and polite people around or maybe the fact that your vision was so clouded by hate you would be blind to the fact. What you give out is what you get and Jamaica is definately a star in the Caribbean.

    P.S. Respect goes out to all the Jamaicans and fellow West Indians out there trying to make the world a better place. Life is hard enough without ignorant people making ignorant comments and perpetuating hateful stereotypes.

  8. Bimbro

    ‘Rumple’? I don’t know who ‘Jamaican Rose’ is referring to but don’t take any notice of her. A typical Jamaican, she would say anything to excuse the disgraceful, behaviour of her people – disgracing West Indians wherever they go. Here’s one of the latest examples from London, http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2-2007220617,00.html. Jamaicans are the most obnoxious, most prejudiced people, especially against small islanders that you’ll ever meet and the world’s most endemic bullies and evil people. You may not realise this until you live among a lot of them as we do in the UK. Talk about evil. If you know what’s good for you you’ll keep well away from them.

    As for CSME including them, just because Arthur used to be married to one of them! All I can say is ‘god help Bim’! Can’t you see that they’ve virtually, turned the UK into another Kingston already vis a vis, crime.

  9. Marmac

    Bimbro…I don’t know where you are from..but your extreme ignorance of Jamaicans is so apparently obvious and really scary. It is nothing you should be proud of.Have you ever visited Jamaica?If you did you would drop your negative stereotypical statements faster than you would ‘hot bread’.
    No one society is homogenous,in every society there is good and bad.Jamaican people are diverse in every aspect from ethnicity to character. Most Jamaicans(typical Jamaicans) for your information are law abiding and well behaved people.It is only the few (with their bad behaviour) that give the majority of Jamaicans a bad reputation.Many foreigners recognise this when they come to Jamaica.

    I am not ignoring or trivialising that there are problems in Jamaica.Every country has its share of problems.

    I am Jamaican and I love my country as well as all
    other West Indians from all the Caribbean islands . I am open-minded to know in all Caribbean countries their are people with both positive and negative traits . Bimbro so should you.