Garcia held illegally for over two years.
Prime Minister Freundel Stuart lied to Garcia, Bajans.
Submitted by Blink Blink
Prisoner Raul Garcia vows to end his life if not released from Dodds Prison in Barbados. The stateless man completed a 20 year sentence for drugs over two years ago and Barbados has illegally kept him in prison since that time because no nation will accept him. (See the Nation News article Garcia’s Threat)
The law is very clear on what should be done with Mr. Garcia: he should be released from punitive jail.
So says the United Nations, the human rights agreements that Barbados signed, and the Barbados Supreme Court – yet Prime Minister Stuart keeps him in jail.
“The applicant has been held in detention at H.M.P Dodds pending deportation for in excess of 17 months. Counsel for the Respondents conceded that as the applicant is a ‘stateless person’, his deportation and expulsion from Barbados could not now be achieved having regard to Barbados’ obligations under the 1954 Convention Relating to the Status of Stateless Persons.”
“In the circumstances, as the Minister Responsible for Immigration is unable to say when the applicant is likely to be deported from Barbados and as no evidence has been provided that his continued detention is necessary on ground of national security or public order, the Court holds that the applicant’s continued detention under the Immigration Act, is no longer reasonable or lawful and the applicant should be released from detention at HMP Dodds.”
Honourable Madam Justice Maureen Crane-Scott, Q.C., August 31, 2009 ruling on a similar case.
Is Freudel Stuart a man or a slimy worm?
Not only will Prime Minister Freundel Stuart not release Garcia according to law, Stuart doesn’t have the integrity and courage to tell Garcia or the public that he ordered Garcia held in jail. Stuart lied to Garcia, his lawyer and Bajans.
Back in February 2012, Prime Minister Stuart assured Raul Garcia, his lawyer and the public that the Government of Barbados was taking all steps to comply with the law and would shortly be transferring Garcia to a military base quarters.
Stuart lied. Stuart lied so that Garcia would end an embarrassing hunger strike on the eve of the Prime Minister’s trip to New York City. Then, just a few weeks ago in August, 2012, Stuart told the press that he’s still considering what to do with Garcia.
What a slime! What a lowlife, cowardly lying politician is Prime Minister Freundel Stuart! What a worm.
Come on Stuart: comply with the law or at least have the integrity – be man enough – to stand up and tell the public what you are doing.
Say what you will about Owen Arthur. If Arthur was Prime Minister I don’t know what he would do about Raul Garcia – but at least he would have the integrity and the strength to make a decision.

this s Y a lot of people don’t want to live r even come here anymore ! Ignoramus for Governor ! Tropical Island for Tourism but has become over crowded and full of BS! I’m leaving thank GOD!
Freundel Stuart: what a slimy worm.
BFP, as self-appointed president of the local chapter of OPRCUW (Organization To Promote the Reputation, Character and Usefulness of Worms), I must protest this casting of unfair and unwarranted aspersions on the character of the planet’s billions upon billions of hard working worms, the real but oftentimes unacknowledged “soil technicians” of this world, working ceaselessly to aerate our soils as they transform lifeless vegetable matter and waste products into useful, natural, mineral and nutrient filled fertilizers for our plants and crops. ( See http://mypeoplepc.com/members/arbra/bbb/id19.html if you doubt my word.) Our humble friend, the worm, plays a vital part in ensuring mankind’s survival on this solitary blue marble spinning in the vastness of space, and I might add not one of them has ever been known to “stretch the truth”, far less tell a lie.
Garcia should hurry up and join the worms..BFP taking the cause of a slimy drug dealer…he car’ dead too soon to suit me and the rest of his slimy ilk too.
It’s TRUE. BFP should not be casting aspersions on the good worms of this earth! Please, please reconsider BFP!
Think about the irreparable damage you are doing to the reputation of the worms. Oh, the humanity!
Blink Blink, the majority of Barbadians have no sympathy for Garcia, myself included, he is worse than a worm. He was doing harm to our people, especially the young, which a lot of them are totally destroyed because of his filthy activity, a lot of them are dead, while he is still alive, so let him starve himself to death. No sympathy at all for him.
‘He was doing harm to our people’
Total bollocks. Read the case you cretin. His story has been told often enough. But then I guess you also live below ground.
@ BFP
You mention rightly the Crane Scott case. The question you must ask is why his lawyer hasn’t brought the matter to the Court in the same way. The facts are similar in all material particulars in terms of the detention though not the background story. Gollop says the cases are quite different. But then unless it’s tested,we shall never know..
Question: is there any possibility that ‘the worm’ has not acted precisely because the location of the special facility has been blown?.See my earlier post on this.
@ BFP
I am away at the moment. DV return in two weeks. I would be happy to join in a very vocal public protest about this. Would you and others join me? What does your Independent Candidate have to say?
Ross, YOU are the cretin to suggest the man was not jailed for drugs… he can’t die soon enough for me and that goes for every other drug merchant..you go ahead with your vocal piece of fecal protest. Protest for the slime of the earth, the drug dealers and their ilk. Are you one also?
if Garciea wants to end hid life that is his choice, he made a choice dealing in the drug trade, he knew the risks, his home land wont take him back, neither should we, he is not going to really starve himself, just tring to get some atension from the press, I hope our goverment does not give in,
Sheam on BFP for disrespecting our PM calling him a worm? what kind of example are you trying to set to our young people, your almost as bad as Garcia poisoning our youth with drugs,
GET real BFP!!!
Either we have law, or we do not. That goes for both sides of the Garcia issue.
The law is that Garcia is no longer being detained for drugs. He hasn’t been detained for drugs for over 2 years. He is being detained as a stateless person who cannot be deported. The law says he must not be in a prison.
That is the law. That is the international agreement that Barbados signed.
Ok MR Rogue state, what the hell do you sugest our goverment does with him, we can not allow convicted criminals to imigrate in to our island, if we can not get him back to CUBA he simpley has to stay in Jail.
I say it again – Since Cuba and USA not accepting him then Barbados needs to show we’re superior to them – since he has no country? Served his time?
Let Raul get a provisional Barbados passport, reviewed every 3 months and GET A JOB! Teaching and/or selling Art, he’s a good painter.
If we do not do this and we just shun all ex-cons then f**k gaol, once convicted? Let’s kill ‘em all, let God sort it out, right?
When my late mother was in QEH I allowed a former murder inmate to wash my car while I visited her, so I have employed an ex-Con without hesitation since even after the fact was made known I still used his services, twice! Mom was in QEH in 2007 and 2010, same man cleaned my car and I live to tell the tale… Letting Garcia out does not mean he’ll start peddling anew, SMH! 20 years? He did not learn from his mistake? Seriously, if I go by the idiots here, then there should be no gaol at ll just a Gas Chamber!
If YOU were the one to face gaol or Death Penalty, would you accept it?
@ Anon
yawn
The best thing to do to garcia is to put him on a mosses with a cheesecutter and a red ju-c and push him out to sea. In no time he would be in cuba.
Ross, I agree with your “yawn”..if I didn’t have any semblance of a point I would “yawn” too…you dope.
Cuba shoots convicted druggies by the way…
Let him die drug mule he is….
Some of the comments here disgust me. He has served his time, he should be released.
Yes, release him and deport him to anywhere but here immediately. A scum who has served his time is still scum. OUT!
I realise no one has answered the conundrum as to what they’d do if it was THEM who murdered or sold Drugs? Would you not ask for a 2nd Chance?
I can only hope the objectors here do not portray themselves as Christians, since even Jesus forgave whores & killers and expected his followers to do no less!
Barbados is bunch of secret pigs & barbarians, since most of the rabble here demanding a Crucifixion are too craven to use their true names…
(I know if it was me at the end of the gavel, I’d do everything I can or cannot to see my Human Rights were respected)
if he starves himself to death then matter solved.
Ian, don’t forget we are also cannibals and you are our favorite choice for Sunday roast hog, you porker you.
Must be striking nerves for people to try and get personal, you prove how dumb you are because my size does not bother me – in fact,knowing my size and my comments irritate you?
Makes me stronger, now try and pretend intelligence, answer the bit of a so-called Christian society (which underpins on forgiveness) demanding a human being to die for crimes already atoned for?
Green Monkey is right, Fumble is not the slimy worm here, there are a whole horde of them slithering in this comments thread – pity I don’t have a fishing rod, I would not lack for bait!
IDB, just asking….why don’t YOU have the drug dealer live by you and lead by example…or is yours more Christian warbling devoid of action? As usual…
We should show mercy to Garcia until he can find a way to leave Barbados and be with his family again.. If people here are willing to house him a no further expense to the Government (aka us Bajans) AND he can be monitored by some provision similar to probation that that would be fine.
I was just like alot of you guys here who say they don’t care if he lives or dies… but funny enough, that was what HE was like when he was a drug dealer.. bottom line, he didn’t care whether his drugs consumers lived or died, but over time he appears to have changed. Take the time to find out more about the situation and the man before you cast your stones… I’ll never agree that he should become a bajan, but he could use some mercy
@ wstraughan…he could use a one-way ticket OUT of Bim compliments of IDB.
I am not a Christian, as stated here more than once – I am a Baha’i (not a devout one but still believe) and I never said for someone to harbor him, I said… LET HIM LIVE & WORK HERE!
Baha’is believe in Justice to the point if a man serves his time then that is that, a Death Penalty is only in extreme cases and is considered the last resort, but rehabilitation and integration is considered more important. I may be speaking inaccurately but then I fully admit I am not a One-Day Baha’i; I am a sinner who has chosen a different path for Salvation (whatever that is)…
I have repeatedly stated and no one is yet to answer… If YOU were in, say. France and neither Barbados, UK nor Paris wanted you – would you not seek a second chance? I will state once more as well, I am not talking about sending the man away nor am I stating he should have the Death Penalty… LET HIM LIVE & WORK HERE!
Raul Garcia has Art skills, let him sell his paintings and teach Art for schools or those who’ll pay, I would subscribe to a class just to frustrate you all!
so when there becomes similar cases what are we supposed to do? continue to harbor such people into our society, we have our own drug dealers to dal with let cuba and the usa deal with theirs
Let’s have a very vocal protest…a la Rossrhetoric…and demand the immediate release and expulsion of foreign convicted drug merchants…DEPORT ALL!
@212
Deport to where? He’s really up the creek, and it’s entirely his own fault.. but he’s been punished for it, so we have to move on. He shouldn’t be viewed like if he’s in the same class as Anders Behring Breivik or Renaldo Anderson Alleyne . If he’d been sentenced to life, then it would be a different matter, but he wasn’t… Let us see if he truly is reformed by releasing him into the care of someone willing to take him… if he transgresses again he hasn’t reformed and we can THEN be justified in locking him up again untill he can be deported.
@wstraughn – We have to accept in reality there may be a chance, but the loudmouthed minority here would have given the rabble that called for the death of Jesus a superb run for their money. In fact, if this is a representation of the majority? It explains why this once great island is in such deep shyt! Where are Bussa, Clement Payne or Sydney Burnett-Alleyne when you really need them?
IDB….YOU PROVIDE THE BEST EXAMPLE OF BEING FULLEST OF MOSTEST SHYT…WHY DON’T you TAKE IN THE CONVICTED DRUG MERCHANT AND PUT YOUR ACTION WHERE YOUR BIG FAT MOUTH IS?
I never said about taking Senor Garcia in, I said he can be released and allowed to work & live here, do you understand? Also, if you were at gummy end of stick, would you not want a second chance? Instead of non-sequitur insults, be brave and handle the issues as presented? Or is your sliminess intruding?
IDB, you could help get Garcia released if you took him in…..problem is, you are a wannabee, alltalknoaction activiss with a big fat mouth….meaning, you posture and pompasett and run away from your responsibilities of getting the man released. You fraud. Put up or shut up.
Great news in Nation News today that he will be released by weekend. Just like Raul, I will believe it when I see it. If it does happen, will he just be jailed at another location, or will he be “free” as he is supposed to be after doing the time for his crime?
212 go f**k yourself, Bourne said it correct all the way through, release the man and let him sell paintings and/or teach art! Jesus forgave Barabbas, but are you truly Christian? If you so wonderful, why not put your name like Bourne did? If Ian ran for PM tomorrow I’d vote in a heartbeat, thing is, he has such a low tolerance for bullsh*t and his fellow MP’s would want to plot a coup, since Bourne would not allow any oinkers at the trough!
I’m very happy to see that Mr Bourne has joined the ‘Garcia group’. I wonder what caused the conversion.
@ S o S…if you see an oinker guarding the trough, wah you tink going on? Ian fuh PM mean we national food bill gine UP after he start chowing dong in Ilaro Court. Uh wud write more bowt dis S O S, buh oi heh at you mudder busy busy.
@Ross – Ian never converted you had issues ever since as he did not tow your line; as for 212/Anonymous? Like MacDuff I was untimely ripp’d so no Mother to encumber what I say now… Hi Donville! Must say, your wife’s G-spot too sweet, she says when you finish updating your porno sites she has a new one for you to create – hornywifehornsmp.biz
Bourne’s weight or size is not the issue but the fact he asks questions those in Opposition & in Gov’t don’t want exposed, BTW!
@ S o S: not Macduff sport, Macpoop more like…and just like a dump I treat your scribblings about the manner of your birth the same…flushed after, ne’er to be thought of again.
WWJD–What would Jesus do ?
All of you Garcia fanatics , especially one robert ross , should now attack Mr Cephus Sealy a man who had direct dealing with Garcia . He has put it beyond doubt that Garcia remains a threat to Barbados and Barbadians .
105….wwjd…..what would Jesus do??????? well he would not go on hunger strike!!!..he would get his dad to organise a cross and a few nails….just to show how much his dad loved him??
surmising…..garCIA;..?? CIA OPERATIVE??……OPERATION GONE WRONG??
who was to meet him here?…..who assisted him??…….who has COVERED UP FOR HIM THROUGHOUT???…..big ups of course!!!…….THE establishment…….POLITICIANS; ATTORNEYS;
JUST AS WITH CLICO; BAICO; KINGSLAND; CONTRACTS AWARDED WITHOUT PUBLIC SCRUTINY….WELL KNOWN CORRUPTION……
INTEGRITY LEGISLATION……..WITH THAT, THERE WOULD BE NO POLITICIANS LEFT IN BIM!!!!!!.
GARCIA HOUSING AND “GUARD”…..THAT IS TO STOP HIM ESCAPING?…..OR TO STOP HIM TALKING?…OR TO TRY AND KEEP HIM ALIVE…PROTECTION?
“Garcia would never see the light of day again if returned to U.S.”….oh!!..really??…..SO WHY HAS UNITED STATES NOT EXTRADITED HIM???………TOO MUCH TO TELL???………..BIG COVER UP..
POSSIBLY GARCIA WOULD BE AS GOOD AS DEAD IF RETURNED TO USA IN WHICH COUNTRY HE WAS SOCIALISED……….AND WHERE HIS ACCOMPLICES ARE NO DOUBT BASED??
WHAT WAS GOING ON POLITICALLY USA / COLUMBIA / DRUGS / CIA / MILITARILY 20 YEARS AGO??!! . THE PLANE THAT DROPPED THE DRUGS……..WHERE DID IT FLY FROM…….AND RETURN TO?…..DONT TEL ME WE DO NOT KNOW??
WHAT HAPPENED TO GARCIA’S PARTNER IN CRIME AT THE TIME??…..AND WHERE IS HE NOW??….DOING WHAT??
HE MUST WELL KNOW GARCIA’S TRUE IDENTITY……….
IN THIS DAY AND AGE WE REALLY DONT KNOW HIS TRUE I.D. ??….GIVE OVER!!!!!!…..HIS FAMILY VISIT HIM?….D.N.A. TESTING?….BACK GROUND CHECKS DONE?….OF COURSE…..THAT IS WHY THERE IS LOUD SILENCE??!!!
NO PESTEL IN THIS MORTAR………….ONLY BIG UPS…….GARCIA TALK..????…THEN HE DEADED. !!!
who represented GARCIA AND PARTNER AT THE TIME??…….AN ATTORNEY….SEVERAL??!!!……HOW DID THEY GET PAID???……BY WHO??………WHERE??!!
PAID IN BARBADOS??……SILLY QUESTION.!!!!!!………. THE Q.C WHO REPRESENTED A HIGH PROFILE INTERNATIONAL ROBBER CAUGHT OFFSHORE BARBADOS……..HE GOT PAID OVERSEAS…….BOUGHT HIS HOUSE IN FRANCE FROM THE PROCEEDS!!!!!!!!……..NO TAX!!
WHY DO WE ACCEPT DEPORTEES FROM USA……IF THEY WONT ACCEPT GARCIA………DELIVER HIM TO THE US EMBASSY @ WILDEY….HANDCUFF HIM TO THEIR GATE……AND LEAVE HIM THERE!!!…..CRAP RETURNED TO SOURCE!!
RESPECTFULLY……QC
http://www.bajanreporter.com/2012/09/welcome-to-barbados-where-human-rights-seems-optional-european-union-talks-it-yet-doesnt-walk-it/
There is a Petition now – http://www.change.org/petitions/free-raul-garcia# Those with consciences, please sign?
How can any petition include a statement that Garcia is being held illegally by the Government of Barbados ? Can serious thinking persons sign their name to such foolishness ?
The man served his sentence and is being kept in detention beyond one’s term – this is considered what then? Do you advocate just simply killing all convicts and abolish jails? If so, what happens if a perpetrator is YOU? Will you not holler for mercy like a screaming li’l mimi?
Bourne your silly shouting does not address the issue ! The man Garcia is being held because the countries to which he can legally be deported by the Barbados Government have REFUSED to accept him ; he is therefore being LEGALLY detained by the Chief Immigration Officer until a deportation order can be effected in accordance with the laws of Barbados . He is NOT IN DETENTION BEYOND HIS TERM . Your ability to read and understand the English language should make this very plain to you . Stop the emotional clap-trap . Human rights arguments present a different consideration , but dont talk about ILLEGAL DETENTION . That is rubbish.
@where are the clown?
it is not only illegal but unwise and wrong. They spend more money keeping him in jail yet alone in a special jail. Tax payer money goes into all his expenses as oppose if he were free he could work and cover his own expenses. But a primitive mind like the Barbados government cannot think beyond its natural idiocrazy. They believe a 60 year old, educated man is a threat to their society. Those apes, I think they need to be educated in running a government rather than making unjust decisions to feed their primitive hunger. You should put yourself in his position sometime. Though it is hard to do so, one must experience anothers grief in order to truely understand it.
I just became wise to this discussion today and, i dare say: WHAT an INTERESTING EXCHANGE it is…
)
I have taken good note of the reactions FOR and AGAiNST Mr. Garcia, and I can’t help to acknowledge or think about the fact that this is NOT FOREIGN to those of us who reside abroad— particularly in the United States of America, where it has become quite the norm for us to issue impossible life sentences, i.e. 100+ years, and/or hold inmates who have served their time for much longer than could possibly be acceptable, far beyond their release dates, aka “political prisoners,” but yet, despite the numerous challenges and petitions of good will or the protests from men and women of conscience— sadly, this inhumane treatment continues…
In addition, beyond the seemingly irrational rantings and ravings of “Anonymous”- this is the sentiment shared by many who don’t believe in the reformation process of convicted felons. However, can you blame them (Anon) for feeling this way when we see that the very people who are hostile against inmates, are the same people passing the laws; fighting against Humanitarian efforts or even in refusing to be merciful or giving them another opportunity for change- allowing many of them to rot behind bars without affording them with the necessary programs, education or counseling needed to transform the very origin/cause of an inmate’s decision to turn to a life of crime?
It would be nice to use Jesus as an example— or Muhammad or Buddha or any other illustrious messenger of God— to deal with this issue, while wondering what the outcome would be if we were to judge a man’s heart as they would have “judged” Mr. Garcia’s heart…. (SIDEBAR: I am also wondering if WE WOULD USE the SAME YARD STICK to JUDGE OURSELVES as WE USE on THIS POST…nudge, nudge, hint, hint, wink, wink…)
However, I will use an example from Jesus the Christ to address this and say— like he said to the Pharisees regarding the woman “caught” in Adultery— “let him who is without sin cast the first stone!”
To be continued…