July 3, 2009...11:17 pm

How Much To Send Barbados Environment Minister & Team To Greenland? What Will Be Accomplished… REALLY Accomplished?

Jump to Comments

Barbados Environment Lowe

Hey… we’re all for meeting with the world. That’s why Barbados is a member of the United Nations.

You know… so we can vote FOR the hanging of 16 year old girls in Iran who have sex outside of marriage. (Yup… Barbados voted to support Iran in the execution of juveniles.)

So… we came across an article that says Barbados Environment Minister is in Greenland for an “informal” meeting with a few other environment ministers.

Lies Before The Election: Denis Lowe & David Thompson Promising Freedom of Information & Accountability Legislation

Lies Before Election: Environment Minister Denis Lowe & David Thompson Promising Freedom of Information & Accountability Legislation

Okay, Dr. Lowe… Let’s have a report…

1/ How much did it cost to send you and your assistants to Greenland?

2/ What was accomplished? What ACTIONS will Barbados take as a DIRECT RESULT of the meeting?

OH! …Wait a minute!

We forgot… without a Freedom of Information Act, Bajans have no right to ask you for any justification at all – not how much you spent or what was accomplished.

Please, forgive us, oh Holy One.

More on the web…

Danish Ministry of Climate and Energy – Greenland Dialogue provides political guidance to climate negotiations

Danish Ministry of Climate and Energy – Greenland dialogue: Chair’s Conclusions

28 Comments

• lmao at first i thought u meant the “Greenland Dump” lol was wondering what BFP was on about.

• Some ole same…the left – right paradigm continues. Do we really believe that politicians will do the right thing. If we do, we are really dreaming. When we realize that we actually live in a two party, sorry, one party dictatorship then we would have made some progress. Haven’t you noticed how things stay the same or get worse when the party changes power and that the same criminals in high places are protected from prosecution?

• If we had a Freedom of Information Law it would bloody well be our business how much was spent, who went on this junket and by what cities they traveled and how many days they stopped in New York or Toronto or wherever.

Dr. Lowe: Who went with you? How much did the trip cost? What was your itinerary? What did you accomplish?

• BFP did Lowe really travel to Switzerland? How do you know?

• Red Lake Lassie

“Oh holy one” ?????? !!!!!

• much ado about nothing

Traveling the world on the taxpayers money and meeting all those environmental ministers must be exhausting.

Meanwhile back at home Barbados suffers one of the worst environmental records in the caribbean.

No Parks, few green areas, dump in the middle of a proposed Park and on and on.

What a complete joke!!!

• Dear BFP

Are you a bunch of foreigners or what.

Bajans NEVER say biDness.

I’ve heard some African Americans say biDness, but Bajans never do so.

• He promised the Sunday Sun May 17, 2009 that he would visit the scene of the beach erosion in our area. I guess he cannot collect any Frequent Flyer Miles traveling to Road View/Mullins, St. Peter from Christ Church or Bridgetown – http://shar.es/G08W – .

• Red Lake Lassie

“Doctor” Lowe says “bidness” regularly, something to do with where he received his degree. He says a few other words too. I think BFP knows Minister Lowe. They pick on him frequently. There is more than meets the eye about Minister Lowe and BFP. How many other Ministers receive the same coverage?

• At a time when most Barbadians companies are being asked to maintain employment, almost at any cost to their business, it seems a little difficult to understand how it is prudent for Government (any Government) to send their Ministers off to what can only be called ‘questionable’ conferences, at this time.

The International Conference on Chemicals Management (ICCM2) in Geneva, hardly the cheapest place to hold a conference. Basic single room rates at the Four Seasons or Mandarin START around around US$760 plus room only.
    Something a little more modest like the d’Angleterre or Bristol from US$550 a night.

And an environmental conference in Greenland. Hardly the cheapest place to get to or stay.
    Maybe the Minister stayed at the Hotel Artic in Ilulissat where singles start at US$300 and junior suites at US$433 a night (no meals).

Surely, like the rest of us, our Government has to prioritise on what is currently most important in a global economic recession, while hundreds (possibily thousands) are loosing their jobs and businesses are closing down.

• cq8
    July 4, 2009 at 3:04 am

BFP did Lowe really travel to Switzerland? How do you know?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Like every where else, Switzerland has its own set of environmental problems as the link below shows. One link shows that by the year 2100 it is estimated that the Alpine ski slopes will have disappeared.

http://www.worldofproperty.co.uk/holiday_homes-190.htm

It would make sense to see some of the problems experienced in other parts of the world before sitting down to the gruelling task of discussing them.

…. in addition, the Swiss have very good garbage disposal habits and are heavily into this recycling thing.

Barbados can learn alot from them.

• High and long Mr.Lowe we bajans landslide wunnah dey. Wha wrong if he learn to Ski, I feel he shouldda bring back some snow fuh all who keep noise and shut dem up.

• Well I must talk to some “foreign” Bajans then, as it is a word that is catching on here now – stop distracting what did Lowe spend instead of dealing with his ministry in Barbados itself?

• Excellent research – and yet everyone laughed when the late Rosie Douglas of Dominica was the only person in his party to travel solo and Economy to attend a conference! I still salute that amazing and oh-so rare example of Governmental thriftiness…

• Of course they are a bunch of foreigners. I have noted their different language patterns for quite a while, e.g. “they be, he be, we be, etc.” Bajans use ‘did, din, etc.”

• Perhaps you would like to reread Ian’s post Pat. His meaning seems to have escaped you. Xenophobia raises it’s all too common head.
    Bajans who have spent time away, furthering their education or working, often come home with different speech patterns. Doesn’t make them foreigners.

• Dr. Lowe did not go Greenland, nor did he go to Geneva. However if in fact he did accept the invitation to go it would not have cost the taxpayers of Barbados anything as the invitation was from the Greenland Minister of Environment and was fully paid for by the Greenland Government.

So BFP if you want to criticize Dr. Lowe please do it on something that is factual. You don’t have to make up things to find an excuse to criticize.

Live by your own standards

• Red Lake Lassie

Participation In International Chemicals Management Meetings
    By Carol Gaskin
    Published: May 8, 2009
    Print Email

Barbados will next week participate in high-level talks in Geneva, Switzerland, as environment officials seek to ensure that this country fulfils its international obligations relating to the effective management of chemicals.

Minister of the Environment, Water Resources and Drainage, Dr. Denis Lowe, will participate in the Second Session of the International Conference on Chemicals Management (ICCM2), which takes place from next Monday, May 11 to Friday, May 15.

He will be joined at that meeting by Director of the Environmental Protection Department (EPD), Jeffrey Headley, who is in Switzerland attending the Fourth Meeting of the Conference of the Parties of the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs), which ends tomorrow.

• a large number of children from the 30 4H clubs in Barbados planted 1 200 young trees yesterday on the East Coast,

• Excellent, now can we stop the Safari type excursions and ATV’s and 4 wheels drives from destroying this area because they want to show people the view? get out and walk .

• You are dead right, Pat. Glad someone else has been taking note of these things.

• Calling Lowe “Oh holy one” is a direct personal shot at his degree. The same for the “bidness” it is a direct personal shot at his manner of speech and vocabulary that you have to hear to believe. For Pat, everything she disagrees with must be foreign or “white”. Get a life Pat.

• Lowe did too go to Swizterland. It was in the paper and announced on government information service and is reported all over the net in the coverage of the conference.

Stupes

• Off topic, just a question.

Does anyone know if the email (apparently) from caribsurf re shutting down email accounts is legit?

It is claimed that

“This Email is from Caribsurf Email Management and we are sending it to every Caribsurf Email User Accounts Owner for safety.”

“we are having congestions due to the anonymous registration of Caribsurf accounts so we are shutting down some Caribsurf accounts and your account was among those to be deleted.”

It contains the warning:

“Warning!!! Account owner that refuses to update his/her account after two weeks of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.”

I am comfortable with imperfections in the use of the written word, in fact I am pretty imperfect myself, but when I get an email with these kind of imperfections asking for personal information it is usually because, according to the email, I have won (!!!) some lottery or someone wants to transfer zillions of dollars to my account, ….. usually from Africa.

• delete the email.Probably is spam or carrying a virus.

• John, have you right clicked on the e-mail sent to you and clicked “properties”, then click “details” and verified the IP and if it in fact was sent by CaribSurf?

• Thanks for advice. Will do.

Email seemed extremely strange.

• CQ8 and wunnuh should know by now that dere is a Mr Denis Lowe but “Dr Denis Lowe ” is a mek up name like de mek up degrees that de man say he got. to say that ‘Dr ‘ Denis Lowe is out of depth is a soft way of saying that he incompetent. Madoff fool people that he had a billion dollar empire-BIG BIG Lie and Stanford too BIG LIE. So is Lowe, BIG Lie, Dr Lie. So doan xpeck too much from de man. If he had to left politicks tmorr, he cant get a job here and neither over in away whey he get all dem degrees. Fuh he politics is polytricks.

Leave a Reply