Layne Redman: A Bajan Finds Himself Living In Dubai

barbados-dubai-redman

Bajans Here, Bajans There… Bajans Everywhere!

It is said that wherever you go in the world you will find a fellow Bajan, and Layne Redmond is one more proof of that old truism. Redman has lived in London, New York, Boston and for the last six years, Dubai. He makes it home to Barbados about once every six months and maintains a house here for family and friends.

One thing that strikes me as different about Mr. Redman is his worldview – no doubt a result of his traveling and living in many places. I have found that those who do not get off this island once in a while to visit the larger world suffer from a kind of myopic vision. I’m sure that many of you know exactly what I mean. Here is what Mr. Redmond has to say about his adventures in the world. You can read his full interview in Abu Dhabi’s The National newspaper, linked at the end of the quote…

“Here, I’ve found out so much about other nationalities and I’ve been invited to so many different places. I like to mix and blend with everyone; it’s a skill of mine to be comfortable in any environment. I don’t feel that I have to stick to my own kind. It jars with me when people only see things in black and white and aren’t willing to experience different ways of living. I’ve seen it in England and many other places.”

… Read the full article in The National article “I can set up anywhere.”

23 Comments

Filed under Barbados, Culture & Race Issues, Tourism, Travel, Traveling and Tourism

23 responses to “Layne Redman: A Bajan Finds Himself Living In Dubai

  1. Anonymous

    I think you overestimate the impact of Cuba. The only market this may make a difference with is the US. Everyone else has been going there for some time.

  2. Sister Baby

    What does he mean when he says my partner and I? (decides to move there)

  3. Zip dee da doo day

    He mean they shack up. Is it a man? Is it a woman this “partner”?

    In Dubai I think it is a woman “partner”!

  4. PiedPiper

    Hey, Dubai was Michael Jackson’s residence of choice and walked about in a dress and veil. ;)

  5. Sister Baby

    Thanks Zip. Just was wondering, but I will say if I was the partner I would want him to say girl friend, lady friend, because partner is harsh, I think of partner as business partner.

  6. Pat

    ha ha ha

    When a male talks about a ‘partner’ it is either a male lover, or a business partner. Otherwise, they speak of their girlfriend, the significant other, the lady, child mother, muh woman, etc.

  7. Sister Baby

    Hi Pat, I agree with you, and I just recently saw an Oprah Show where the guests who were in same sex relations referring to their other as partner.

  8. Observer

    In the UK where this guy spent most of his life, partner can easily mean opposite sex. Beyond a certain age, some people feel a bit silly saying girlfriend or boyfriend and move on to partner which usually conveys something rather more permanent eg someone you are living with

  9. Anonymous

    Out of the entire article written on this young man, this is the only conversation you can find to talk about, if partner means a man or a woman? This is exactly the small mindedness or “myopic vision,” that he was talking about in his article. Who cares if it is a man or a woman, this is 2009.

  10. Iriebrown

    Well said Anonymous !

    Does the tone of the responses mean that Bajans generally don’t like to mix culturally…….so they omit the discussion. I think that is closer to the truth.

    It’s true though that you can find Bajans everywhere and who are happy with where ever they are living. But that navel string is still tied to the island. I think that says something important.

  11. Hants

    This is what we could be discussing. Layne Redman said “Although my family is from Barbados, I lived there for only six months when I was a child.”

    There are even “Bajan” children born in the USA and Canada who proudly call themselves Bajans.

    Barbados is still heavenly. I was there last week.

  12. Z

    Jackson in Bahrain not Dubai.

  13. Green Monkey

    Before wunna decide that life on the rock ain’t sweet enough any more and you going do like Mr. Redman and give Dubai a try, read this:

    The dark side of Dubai

    Dubai was meant to be a Middle-Eastern Shangri-La, a glittering monument to Arab enterprise and western capitalism. But as hard times arrive in the city state that rose from the desert sands, an uglier story is emerging. Johann Hari reports.

    http://www.independent.co.uk/opinion/commentators/johann-hari/the-dark-side-of-dubai-1664368.html

  14. Iriebrown

    What an article on Dubai ! I saw Panorama on BBC last night about the workers who build those montrosities, and it was really sad to see how they were treated. Exploiting the poor really, who have no redress.

    It’s not a place that I would want to live and moreso after that documentary.

  15. Sister Baby

    What a place ,this Dubai. I never thought it looked like New York City, for nothing is as fabulous as New York City, but what an eye opener of this so-called Adult Disneyland. I can’t believe the cruel treatment of the Canadian man with brian cancer, and the man that swallowed razor blades, just heart rendering, well thanks for the info, and rest assured I would not be going to DoBuy in this life, beisdes, I only go to Caribbean Airlines destinations, Toronto, London, Miami, Georgetown and so on.

  16. Sister Baby

    I just viewed a few pcitures of Dubai on the internet, and I have to take back what I said in the above about its appearance, yes it does look like New York City, but I still would not go there.

  17. Rumplestilskin

    GM, yes, although Barbados competes in a manner for the dollars of the rich, our cost of living an prices include somewhat better treatment and certainly better lifestyle for the average worker, than many of these countries who are displayed as ‘playgrounds’.

    These are playgrounds for the wealthy, not necessarily at the expense of the poor, but profits gained are above par, this at the expense of the workers, by unscrupulous investors.

    The almighty dollar speaks again.

    Unfortunately, many are still not leaning the lesson of this crisis, that money actually must take a back seat, if we are to survive this.

    As witnessed even here, by some profitable companies firing people at this critical time, there are those who have no convern for the average person, or understanding of how this ciris must be weathered.

    Bear in mind, total financial collapse is not an impossibility and irresponsible firing of workers for the purpose of ‘maintaining’ or increasing profits, is only an additional catalyst in an already striggling environment.

    What is the purpose of making more ‘paper-money’, that can be wiped out in an instant if things do get worse?

    Many just do not ‘get’ this.

    Ah well. We will see.

    Peace & Live Strong.

  18. Rumplestilskin

    Oops, change as follows:

    understanding of how this crisis must be weathered.

    Bear in mind, total financial collapse is not an impossibility and irresponsible firing of workers for the purpose of ‘maintaining’ or increasing profits, is only an additional catalyst in an already struggling environment.

  19. Mathilde

    Ive read in MANY respectable news agents that Dubai was built on slavery. They lure people from India with false promises, steal their passports then force them to work in near fatal conditions. Both the Arabs and the decadent Westerners who live there are guilty of profitting from this vileness.

  20. Xena

    Hi,
    I am Layne Redman’s fiance and just wanted to add a few things:
    1. yes, I am a woman and thanks to ‘Observer’ – the only person who got the term ‘partner’ correct!
    2. Dubai has very positive and very negative points. Unfortunately it has been the centre of some controversy in the past but things are much improved nowadays. I urge everyone to visit at least once though and see it for themselves, it’s amazing!
    3. Layne grew up in London but is immensely proud of his Bajan roots and we were only in Barbados in June last year and we loved every minute of it (my first visit!)
    4. Wish I was there now!

  21. Pingback: Shirlee Smith shares a Barbados family history: Searching through garbage for food in 1940’s Toronto Canada « Barbados Free Press

  22. The term garbage can be applied broadly to everything from tree branches to old paint, creating a problem for one-size-fits-all disposal methods.

  23. steve wilson

    I’m was born in B’dos, my family on my grandmother’s side was Redman, from St. Joseph, A few Redman’s resides in PattersonNJ, and there are still a few in Barbados..I’m trying to locate mu Redman roots… Help////steve

Tell the world what you think about this!

