October 16, 2008...9:41 pm

What A Mess In Barbados!

Jump to Comments

Hello Friends,

Just to let you know that, with the exception of Robert, everyone in the BFP family has been hit pretty hard in the last two weeks. Between water damage and the inability to get to work on time and helping out friends and family – our lives are in chaos.

Robert is away in some exotic place like New Jersey or Leipzig and might post an article or two.

As for the rest of us… you won’t see us for a few days.

What a mess!

12 Comments

• Sorry to hear you’ve had problems, hope it all sorts itself out.

• Sorry to hear about your problems BFP family.

Hope you get dried out soon and back to normal.

• Wish you well.

• Keep your chin up, preferrably above the water line.

• BFP this is another topic for discussion.

The number of houses and buildings and the amount of Concrete and asphalt on the surface has increased dramatically over the last 20 years.

Rain water can no longer soak into the soil and there is less cane and grass to slow down the rate at which the water flows.

Suckwell are filling up in a few hours even if they are cleared.

Barbados now needs modern storm water management.

MTW and BAPE Engineers have the training and expertise to design the drains,culverts and dams etc. to control the flooding.

Cleaning existing wells and diverting water to abandoned quarries as suggested by Keith Laurie will also help.

This needs to be done asap.

• @ Hants – “BFP this is another topic for discussion.

The number of houses and buildings and the amount of Concrete and asphalt on the surface has increased dramatically over the last 20 years.

Rain water can no longer soak into the soil and there is less cane and grass to slow down the rate at which the water flows.

Suckwell are filling up in a few hours even if they are cleared.

Barbados now needs modern storm water management.

MTW and BAPE Engineers have the training and expertise to design the drains,culverts and dams etc. to control the flooding.

Cleaning existing wells and diverting water to abandoned quarries as suggested by Keith Laurie will also help.

This needs to be done asap.”

Hants can you answer this, do we think Weeding on the country roads should be banned? I’m seeing a signs for the ban of it because that also contributed to some of the flooding problems and rendering the country roads unfriendly right?

Has anyone seen some really odd weather we in this country? On my way to work in the morning just last week, I’m seeing some suspicious cloud funnels forming eastwards of Dash Valley but It didn’t touch anything. I thought it was TORNADOES! I remembered my mother told me about a tornado appearing around at Wildey in the past. Now after that day what I saw, I could have wondered what am I missing?

She told me there was one most recently this week… We would have wondered if the weathers these days has gone bad to worse to worst?

• What y’all complainin bout?
    Dis is Sunny Barbados, nuh rain doan fall hey
    -until it fall-

and so Barbados does not
    nor never will have
    a need for decent drainage!

————————

Wunnuh en hear de PM last night talking bout dis?
    It seems to have finally occurred to a Government(any Government)
    that rain does indeed fall from time to time(shame, huh?) and we need not just drainage, but storm-drainage(you prob. don’t know what I’m talking about).

Will this be just more hot air?
    all this talk of drainage-to-be?
    Have we heard it before? decades ago? from someone else telling us what we want to hear?
    Or will it be the real thing this time?

• This flooding is no joking matter. There are now a lot more hard surfaces in Barbados than 50 years ago.

It requires the level of attention and commitment the Government is giving it.

The sea is still the best place to direct storm water run off.
    Directing some of the water into quarries,dams and suckwells will help alleviate flooding but clearing paths to the sea is critical at least while we are still in Hurricane season.

• MTW and BAPE Engineers have the training and expertise to design the drains,culverts and dams etc. to control the flooding.
    ——————————————————-
    haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
    ROTFL

• Police Stationrathole

I wander what the last goverment was doing, Holders Hill police station is in disrepair, it is a old church , you cant tell it is a government office , not a sign that says POLICE not a FLAG. We need a Police Station that look like a Police Station. We the people of St. James would like to have a modern building , containing , a reception area with two or more chairs. a proper counter , desk and chairs for our officers on duty. proper lunch room , toilet and bath, two cells one male one female, both cells containing a bunk, toilet and washbasin . No less than 2 officers at any given time. show the officers and our neighbourhood you care about them. not like Liz Thompson all she want is votes. And the service needs upgrading. Three weeks ago my neighbour return home to find his front door open, he wated for 3 hrs before the police respond , he stayed out side because he did not know if the thief was still there , he has left for a short time. In jackson St. Thomas Miss Ford is now making a lot af noise about a Police Station up there , where was she all these years, sleeping? she did not know they needed a station before , I was saying they need one in warrens, and upthere by the oldiron man up there is a mess, these people doing buisness and keep the place disgraceful,they can afford a proper place to do their buisness not out on the street sidewalk , and he dont live there , this is in someonelse neighbourhood, it time enough he move that buisness to an industrial area. Lady Ford those people are suffering in Jackson where all that dirty water settle in the middle of the street where water works dug up and left open for children to fallin and insets breed and bite people making them sick, you don’t care cause it is not in your back yard.

• I went into that police station the other Sunday- I thought it was a church!

Same surly PCs as anywhere else though.

• Barbados is a mess and what more mess and a dangerous mess than at the Warrens – not from the rain but from the crap strewn about by rubbish r us building contractors who leave oil drums , machines posts , blocks, piles of whatever where ever.
    Mr Rayside er Paris can’t you get your blokes to clean up once in a while?

Leave a Reply