October 9, 2008...4:58 am

St. Gabriel’s Annual Fair – Don’t Miss It!

Jump to Comments

17 Comments

• AM I TO ASSUME WHERE THIS FAIR WILL BE HELD

I PASSED BROAD STREET LAST NITE WHEN THE BANNER WAS BEING HOISTED AND I ASKED THE GUYS WHERE THE FAIR WILL BE HELD. ONE GUY SAID HE GUESS IT WILL BE HELD AT THE SCHOOL GROUNDS.

I KNOW WHERE THIS FAIR HAS BEEN HELD OVER THE YEARS BUT I DONT TAKE THINGS FOR GRANTED. IN ADDITION IF YOU ARE LOOKING TO ATTRACT NEW PATRONS YOU SHOULD SAY WHERE THE FAIR IS BEING HELD.

THIS MAY SEEM A SIMPLE THING BUT THIS A REAL PROBLEM IN OUR SOCIETY-THE LACK OF EFFECTIVE COMMUNICATION. WE SEE IT MANIFESTED FROM TIME TO TIME WITH DISASTROUS EFFECT. PEOPLE DONT TELL YOU ANYTHING BUT THEY EXPECT YOU TO KNOW.IF YOU DEMONSTRATE IGNORANCE THEY CUSS YOU AND CALL YOU NAMES. IT HAPPENS QUITE A BIT WHEN ONE GOES TO DO BUSINESS WITH CERTAIN GOVERNMENT DEPARTMENTS

OKAY!!!!!!! MAYBE SOMEONE CAN CLARIFY THAT FOR US!!!!!!!!!!

WE’LL BE HAPPY TO PRINT THE CORRECT INFORMATION!!!!!!!!

BECAUSE THEN YOU WILL STOP SHOUTING!!!!!!!!!!

• sorry about the shouting as you call it but the caps lock was on and i continued
    if i was shouting then , what am i doing now ??

this thing about uppercase as shouting according to computer etiquette is a bunch of crap and i dont really subscribe to the idea but i am sensitive to your request nevertheless

• The Fair is held at the schools grounds,

Henry’s Lane, Collymore Rock, St. Michael,

It’s the road beside Purity Bakery on Collymore Rock Road.

• Sir Benwood Dick

Nobody,

St.Gabriel’s is a school which happens to include children of ALL colours and creeds, in good proportions, contrary to your ignorant slur.

Generally, the parents of children who go there are those who focus on upbringing and good behaviour and advancement, which such as yourself obviously have no idea of.

They are also fortunate to be able to pay fees, which is irrelevant, considering that the children come form all creeds and backgrounds.

Having said that, have you not thought that good education is worth so much, that paying fees for good education is more important than a new car etc?

This also shows the parents’ ability to identify what is right for advancement.

Charles F.Broome etc are great schools, but can only hold so much.

So carry ‘wunna jealous, nasty self and go skulk elsewhere’.

You know, aside form Guyana, Barbados must be the most racist island, so much more racist than Trinidad.

In Trinidad, what goes is if ‘you know a man’. And a Trini is a Trini, done wid dat.

In Barbados yuh also gotta deal wid colour, if you are white, black, that truly Bajan description ‘high-brown’, or red-leg. Then, there is the matter of where yuh come from, whether rich or poor etc.

Education is not only academic, but deals with life in general.

This is an area where Barbados lacks significantly.

Thankfully, young people here seem to be going against the mold and intermixing etc, without care of what nasty bigots like ‘nobody’ think.

By the way ‘Nobody’ above, thanks for using the British version of ‘colour’, good colonial boy.

Peace.

• Sir B?

Relax, this is the BLP-spammer from earlier this year from General Elections

I have received info from the Flame awards which is Parkinson school and that is another event of all hues, Jahbulani and myself are in regular contact

This writer is a racial jingoist who probably loves how the C&W directory does NOT reflect the full racial diversity of this island

(NB: there have been no whites on the phonebook since the 90’s; there have never been even ONE Hindu/ Islamic/ Chinese on the cover at any point – the closest the cover showed some kind of diversity was a child’s illustration during CWC 2007 – not even a photo)

• My family is looking forward to the St. Gabriel’s fair. The next thing will be the St. Winifred’s pantomime. Bring it on!

• who is SIR B D adressing his comments to ??

BFP says,

Hi Asiba,

There was a racist comment by one of those bad people and SBD was addressing that. We removed the racist comment so now SBD’s comment looks a bit out of context. Just life.

• This event is one that I have attended for quite some time now. I enjoy it for the fact that there is usually good local culture on show and I get to sell some CDs

• where do you sell your CD’s Asiba?? and what type?? music etc..

• I sell my CDs wherever there is crowd -wherever an event is going on: Bushy Park, The Garrison, Cricket(international) , Football , various shows , Fairs etc. You can even find me at Balls plantation for the flower show or even at-Agrofest and so on.

My motto is that Music is Food and people need food. So wherever there are people, there will be music and I aim to capitalize on that

I decided years ago when I first recorded on vinyl that I would not wait only on record shops to sell my product. I have always hit the streets and events to showcase and sell the products.

The music in question is local music on authentic-not pirated-CDs, The genre is mostly soca/calypso and spouge music. Spouge is our national beat.

I have had some interesting experiences in relation to offering the music for sale. At one Black Rock estanlishment after enjoying weeks of good sales, I was suddenly told by an off duty policeman moonlighting as a security man that management did not want to see me around their place selling any local music. The same management who usually had encouraging words to give me on making local music available.

At another establishment the person in charge called the police for me. My instincts told me that he had done so and I bolted before the police arrived. I found these experiences very interesting because these were mature people who seem to think that the idea of selling local music was nonsense.

Of course the radio stations are not very helpful. We have on a yearly basis over 600 songs recorded for the Festival but only about 25 of these songs receive regular rotation during the Festival. You would think that after the Festival that the songs not played would be given some airplay—BUT NO !

These songs are thrown away. I consider this action to be a criminal act tantamount to treason and I believe the people at the radio stations should be charged. I am aware that advertisers influenced the music that is played. These persons should be charged too. These are just like the two persons mentioned above.

I have written more than enough !!
    Stop Now !

• while I appreciate your hard work in trying to “get the music out”, you really are not allowed on the school grounds to sell your own items. This school is privated funded by the parents of the children who go to the school. the fair is put on by the PTA of the school and is the proceeds go towards things that the school could not ordinarily provide, such as new playground equipment and new learning support items and even the new school hall. By you coming on to the school grounds and selling to people while you are there, you are taking money away from the games and food and stalls, where this money is made. All the stalls at this fair are run by parents who put their time and effort into making this fair a success and they, nor the coordinators, get a dime of money from it.. This is all volunteer.

So I would like to ask, while you are certainly welcome to come enjoy the day at the fair, please leave your music for sale at home. This is not the place for you to be selling your things.

• you really are not allowed on the school grounds to sell your own items
    —–where in my post is this stated ?

By you coming on to the school grounds and selling to people while you are there, you are taking money away from the games and food and stalls, where this money is made.
    ———-where in my post do I state the above

please leave your music for sale at home.
    ——
    –So you have the temerity to tell me what to do with my music.
    —————-oh GOSH ! LOOKA MUH CROSSES

• I’m just stating that you are not allowed on the school grounds to sell your items.. if you are a vendor on the street outside the grounds that’s your business, but you need a permit to do that as well.

No.. I’m not telling you what to do with your music, just don’t bring it into the fair and try to sell it. so if you plan to come and enjoy our fair, which one assumes you are doing by your comment about gaving attended for some time now, then that’s great, but don’t bring your music inside to try to sell to people at the fair.

The problem with the Vendors on the side walk is that they cause no end of problems for people trying to get into the grounds to enjoy the fair. but that is another issue.

• “This event is one that I have attended for quite some time now. I enjoy it for the fact that there is usually good local culture on show and I get to sell some CDs”

Since this original posting was a posting for an entertainment event in Barbados, I assume from the statement above that you posted, that you have been to this particular event AND that you have sold your CD’s there. Am I completely wrong?? I’m never going to say “I’ve been to a Bushy Park and it’s great”.. because I have never been.. So again I ask.. Am I wrong.. You sound as though you have been and been able to sell your music there, unless you are talking about another event for which you haven’t said what it is.

I’m planning to be at this fair as I have been every year for at least the last 12 years. Hope you enjoy your day.

• laugh out loud(lol) i went to the school last year 2001-2008 im 11 and i currently attend harrison college :P

Leave a Reply