October 9, 2008...6:35 pm

Barbados Bus Sign: “If I Am Overloaded, Forget About It”

Jump to Comments
If you don't like my driving, tough!

If you don't like my driving... too bad!

One of our readers sent in the above blurry photo of a mini-bus taken Wednesday (yesterday) on Gun Hill.

You know those signs on the back that say “Please call …… if I am overloaded.” ?

Well, the number to call is blacked out with paint.

Yup. Just another day on the rock!  :-)

14 Comments

• Don’t like how I’m driving?

Call Home and complain to your mother.

• What’s the license number? Pity Roy Morris wasn’t around for this…

• I have seen one with a window decal saying that!

• Where is this Gunn Hill located?
    Looking down from my spot at Gun Hill, I still see the minibuses still doing the dog and they stop complaining now that some of the school children start back riding on them. They are now happy taking the $1.oo from the school children and not complaining like they were doing earlier in the year.
    Now that fuel prices getting reduced and they will still be receiving the subsidy, things are not looking so brown, so it will be business as usual for them.
    Eva dolla conk boss man and I lookin fuh money yuh! My friend u gine up.

BFP says

TTTTThanks. TTTTToooooo much ccoffee!

• B152…dis being one of the ‘decent’ vans on the route

• There are some decent mini-bus and PSV drivers on the road but I think or it seems to me that the majority are ruthless. I am suggesting that the justice people i.e policemen and magistrates need to come down heavy on these bad apples NOW to clean up the whole system. Heavy fines, jail them and take away their licence.What ever happened to the demerit system?

• I have a number of suggestions, which I am going to submit to the Minister of Public Works. Here are my suggestions on how to stop this stupidity:

On each mini bus, they should post the name and number of the owner of the bus. As civil society, we can all report any dangerous or bad driving directly to the owner. With almost everyone having a cell phone these days, these reports will be immediate.

The police should establish a dedicated line to allow motorists and civillians to report any dangerous driving. As soon as they receive a report, they can immediately dispatch a unit to follow them. I reported minibus B58 on Tuesday, October 7, 2008 who hit the mirror of a car right outside Carlton Supermarket around 6:45 a.m. The police pulled him over in Holetown. Now I don’t know what action they took but I know the driver was pulled over. Hopefully his license was taken away.

If you are convicted of dangerous driving, you are no longer permitted a licence to drive a public service vehicle. I find it amazing that you will see in the paper drivers that have multiple convictions. Public Service Drivers should be the safest drivers on the roads.
    As citizens, we also have to play our role. If a driver is behaving like an idiot, don’t just sit on the bus. Demand he stops, get his full name, and the license of the bus, and GET OFF…. You may not be able to get back your money, but won’t risk losing your life. Trust me, if more of the riders protested, they would have to stop. They are not in control, we are.
    Also BFP, how about creating a page on your site where we can report incidents, complete with the time, the license plate, and any other details, and let everyone know it is there.

We have a great deal of power to stop this.

• Already the law states that every bus should have the name and number of the driver posted. However, either the name is incorrect or the number is disconnected. Who is checking up on that?

I don’t think that info is checked when the bus goes for inspection. Or if it is, within two days the number is blacked out.

• Not to make anyone look foolish, but the simple answer is that the owner is no longer insured with the company which was responsible for the sticker.

Yup. Just another day on the rock!

• I have a suggestion.
    Forget fines for these guys (ZR and Mini bus). Impound the bus for 30 days for the first offence, 60 days for the second offence and revoke the license and auction off the bus for the third offence.
    I bet if they did that they would straighten up and fly right in a hurry.
    Also I figure that we would get about 40% of the vehicles off the road the first month they try it.

• Jeppastud, I like your suggestion very much. Simple and it will hit the owners right where it counts.!

• wunna cant do wid out we. so take it or lump it.
    we rule the roads. if wunna vex, walk!

• van driver .. what an exceptionally rude and arrogant attitude, just think what you would have to contend with if every van driver thought as u do , ROAD RAGE WOULD BE RIFE .then where would you be mr van driver, EVERY ACTION HAS AN EQUAL OR OPPOSITE REACTION ,dont turn the roads into a war zone its where u work, as a professional driver its your absolute duty to be vigilant an keep Bim`s Roads safe sound and enjoyable.

Leave a Reply