GOD REST HIS SOUL
One name was on many peoples’ lips on Thursday, October 2nd, 2008. It was that of Rene Clarke of Durants Village, St. James. Or I should say, the late Renee Clarke, who died, unexpectedly, in Bridgetown on that morning.
Renee was known by hundreds, if not thousands, of Barbadians of all walks of life, as well as many ex-patriots and visitors to Barbados. He worked in the laundry at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, and his was a familiar voice on all the radio call-in programmes. A very political voice! Renee was a faithful member of the Democratic Labour Party, who helped Keith Simmons and other St. James DLP candidates in each and every run-up to General Elections. He campaigned vigorously and tirelessly.
I have known Renee Clarke since he was a young boy, playing, with my children, on the beach and in the sea at Paynes Bay. As he grew up, it became increasingly noticeable that Renee was a “peoples’ person”, who went out of his way to be helpful to young and old alike, in whatever way he could. Indeed, I would say that hundreds of visitors to the west coast learned far more about Barbados from Renee than they would have learned from brochures.
I spoke with Renee on the phone just one week before he died, and he was his usual cheerful self. It came as a tremendous shock when I heard of his untimely passing.
Farewell, Renee, it was a pleasure knowing you. We shall miss you.
My deepest sympathy to the family of the late Renee Clarke.
… submitted by Margaret Knight

29 Comments
October 4, 2008 at 4:09 pm
Dear BFP,
Please remove these disgusting comments by “D L P”. They do not represent any view that we would be censoring, merely incitement and provocation.
October 4, 2008 at 6:09 pm
I played many a cricket game on the beaches at Paynes Bay with this left arm bowler. May God bless his soul.
October 4, 2008 at 6:52 pm
What was his trademark comment? When last did he call? And was he Rene or Renee?
October 5, 2008 at 12:21 am
Rene was also a good friend of mine, I came from Holder’s Hill where he frequented, he will definitely be missed, a truly sad occasion. My sympathy and condolences to his family. May he rest in peace
October 5, 2008 at 1:38 am
Since he was a regular on the call in programs, I am sure that thousands would have known him, but not by his real name.
What was his nickname on the call in programs?
October 5, 2008 at 9:32 pm
There are times when I hate these blogs and none more so than with this post. Here is a guy (who I have known for most of my life) passinng away, and Crossroads trying to politicize it. And on the other hand we have Juris trying to demean the guy’s existence. It is really sad that we come onto these blogs and lose the intent of the original blog posting.
October 5, 2008 at 9:43 pm
That is why I ignored both of them, Tstt. Renee would have laughed at them, that’s for sure.
October 6, 2008 at 4:47 pm
an ex-patriot is someone who used to be a patriot, but is now(presumably) no longer patriotic.
An ex-patriate is a person living away from the motherland.
SPELLING,Timothy?
October 6, 2008 at 9:46 pm
I worked closely with Renee in the recent election, especially in St. James South. He was passionate about the DLP but equally so about his island – Barbados.
One had to admire his commitment to the cause(s) and his ability to defend his positions with facts and figures. St. James South DLP will sorely miss him ……. Barbados has lost a committed citizen.
May he rest in peace.
October 7, 2008 at 12:45 pm
He will truly be missed,Rene was a people’s person who was genuine.
I knew the guy personally and he was full of life,
a rose in full bloom whose fragrance was there for all .
He gave of his best to every one,freely.
We have really lost a son of the soil.
Rest peacefully my friend
safe in God’s arms.
I will cherish the memories of you for ever in my heart.
To his family and children : my deepest sympathy ,you will be in my prayers.
October 8, 2008 at 1:04 pm
Renee always had a way of bringing a smile to your face . He was cheerful and full of life and a man who constantly went out of his way to help others. He certainly will be missed by many.
May he rest in Peace.
October 8, 2008 at 3:33 pm
I’ve have lost a brother and good friend and I can only draw comfort in knowing that others had the pleasure and experience in knowing how greatly he will be missed.
Thank-you for the kind replies, as I am sure that he will always be remembered for the kind person he was.
October 8, 2008 at 4:00 pm
I feel so very sad to know that I will never be able to hug and kiss him and never hear him laugh or even see him cry. Life is full of mysteries and his death is a complete mystery to me. How can someone so young and so full of life be gone ? He was a tower of strength to me and I will miss him so very much. Farewell my dear brother I will never forget you, God has another angel up in heaven.
October 10, 2008 at 12:30 am
rene clarke diffrent class and some one special will always enjoy the memories see you soon youre younger brother’ love jamie rest in pease always’
October 10, 2008 at 7:29 pm
Renee was a great person, though I left barbados when as a child I have great childhood memories of him. As I returned home as an adult, on many occasions we had the best conversations he was a smart ,funny and very insightful man.
I lost a great uncle and the world lost a great soul.
Our family will never be the same
October 10, 2008 at 9:08 pm
The oldest of his children, it came as a shock to me when I was called on that morning to the hospital to be given the news.
Still I cannot believe the surreality of such an untimely death.
I just have to add that the persons that could take the time to see a time of grief as an “opportunity to respond in such pompous manner…well I hope that you live a long life.
Thanks everyone for the heartfelt responses and Mrs Knight yourself for the warm words.
October 11, 2008 at 9:32 pm
Rene was very passionate about politics. May he rest in peace.
October 12, 2008 at 1:05 am
I knew him when he was young. He was friendly and very active.
I only found out yesterday that it was he who died.
Did he have a radio peronality name on the call-in programs?
October 15, 2008 at 10:38 pm
I am his daughter who live with him and that morning i said bye but i did not expect it to be official XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO LOVE YOU FOREVER DADDY
October 19, 2008 at 6:33 pm
Renee, I am so sorry to have received such sad news of your passing. I was in Barbados for cropover , but I did not get a chance to see you and Robert was very busy with the tourists. I send my deepest sympathy to your mom and family. I truly hope you will have eternal peace with your saviour.
Love,
Joyce Jones Wilson
October 19, 2008 at 11:00 pm
To Renee’s family . I am sorry to hear of the passing of your love one , but we all know that he is making a way for all of us.My deepest sympathy to his mom and all the others .
love,
Donna Finley
West Palm Beach ,florida
October 23, 2008 at 3:31 pm
a great uncle very sad for him to go like that may renee rest in peace
October 23, 2008 at 3:32 pm
dumbledor
October 23, 2008 at 3:33 pm
dumbledor hi dead nana is sad sase love b dumbledor tototototototttttttttttttt
November 11, 2008 at 3:03 pm
Rene had a massive funeral, it was so lovely and spiritual. I was touched by the many ways he was remebered and respected by close friends and family within Durants Village, Barbados and further afield. Just want to say thanks to everyone who made it possible. My auntie Betty says his death is like a wake up call for us all. Let us wake up and slow down and recognise the important things in this very short life. Before like Rene it is too late. My brother was one in a million and no one will ever fill his shoes. I love you rene’ forever and ever.x
January 13, 2009 at 5:09 pm
Daddy I love you and I hope you rest in peace im missing you so much i will always love you. I really wish that I could hear your voice . I love you now and always.
January 28, 2009 at 5:55 pm
to my dear brother Inlaw you brithen up my world with your laughter and your grace. I will Miss you alot. you were their when we really needed you thanks. will miss more than you will ever know rest in peace.
May 13, 2009 at 3:30 am
Hi everyone its been a timely 7 months since the death of my father, he has been in mind since the first time i got that call Thursday morning at 11:00 am exact, that my father had past. Not even now I have come to grips with passing of my father, or has it hit me that he has gone. Me and my father was sooo close that I mean it is such a shock to lose someone so quickly. Life is so funny, that’s why people always tell me to enjoy life, cause you will never know when is your time to go. I mean my great grandmother is 93 years old and she is still alive, my father at 53 died, so you never know when it will be your time.
Let me start from the week infront……
I had not called my father in two weeks. That was not like me at all, almost every Sunday I would call him ask him how he was doing, ask about my sister, listen to him bicker about Sade’ getting ready for school. Then tease him by saying ‘Call Sade’ to de phone’ then he would reply in a a stern voice ‘ SADE AIN’T COMING TO NO PHONE SHE GOT SHE SCHOOL CLOTHES TO PRESS’, that was an ongoing weekly routine just to make him miserable, and who knew him knows that he is VERY miserably.lol. Well that was my routine, every Sunday call up and find out how he’s doing. I didn’t call him in two weeks, so Monday morning as I was laying in bed, that’s when it hit me, oh my I didn’t call , so I knew he was going to furious. I called him the Monday morning and he answered the phone, ‘ Yes darling, wha u want now? (Oh yeah I use to call when I wanted money too…., anyhow) lol
I said ‘nothing’ and continued talking , he had not arrived at work yet so he then told me he would call me when he in, but probably forgot. Tuesday night he called, my mother told me he called, I returned the call and we talked for a while, when he was finished he told me’ Good Night, bird, I will call u tomorrow. But he didn’t call me the Wednesday either.
Thursday morning I got up, was about to go in town to pay for my glasses, but as I was going in the bath. my phone rang and that’s when I got the call. It wasn’t real, it’s wasn’t true, all these things were going through my head. That’s all I can say.
Love you daddy. 4 ever, your lil bird, Stacy.
June 26, 2009 at 3:34 pm
my dear child you do not know me I am sade aunt from canada. I know just what you are talking about,He used to call me to let me know how sade was doing. He was a very kind and good man, help eveyone with their trouble still miss him alot talk to you soon. Say hello to sade and keep you eyes on her for me thanks.