CARICOM was supposed to be the great playing-field leveler: providing small island nations in our region with the economic and political clout of larger entities. Unfortunately, CARICOM is about as effective and successful as was the great 1958 West Indies Federation – which is to say, “not at all”.
And then there is the matter of the “Caribbean Brand” for tourism which was a disastrous policy created and followed by the previous BLP Government as part of the effort to prop up the pretense and phony benefits of CARICOM.
I wonder who the morons were who thought our Bajan image would be enhanced by linking to places like Jamaica, where armed guards have to look after the tourists swimming within sight of their hotel!
The folly of the “Caribbean Brand” has been once again shown by an article published in New Statesman concerning the recent horrific honeymoon murders of Ben and Catherine Mullaney in Antigua.
According to the article, we’re all the same in Caribbean… violent, bloodthirsty savages – and that includes Barbados – once again according to the author.
Our friend over at RealBajan.com alerted us to the New Statesman article and has the link and some thoughts about where author Darcus Howe can stick his misinformed propaganda.
Although Barbados Free Press and Real Bajan disagree on the usefulness and impact of CARICOM, his article is well worth reading: Savage Murder in Antigua, Darcus Howe Prematurely Writes Caribbean Obituary
55 Comments
August 17, 2008 at 1:12 am
This is the same Darcus Howe who OBVIOUSLY has an axe to grind with the Caribbean. BFP has published less than four months ago, an article written by this idiot where he attempted to paint the Caribbean with the same brush, by making reference to the T&T crime stats. I think that is incumbent on us to flood his blog with positive Caribbean vibes. I do not think that is wise for us, here in BDS, to adopt the position that IT CAN’T HAPPEN HERE. For by the law of averages it will happen in BDS, albeit infrequently, from time to time.
August 17, 2008 at 1:29 am
What this really shows is the folly of the budget announcement spending millions of Barbados dollars on a Caricom initiative to build a Caribbean brand. This is economic nihilism. Our GDP per capita is higher than Jamaica, St Vincent, Grenada, and others precisely because the Barbados brand is different than their brand. Given the security troubles our neighbours have, we need to invest in our own brand.
But what is really interesting is the recent development of four countries in Caricom to opt for “fast-track” intergration – rather like the Schengen Group of EU countries. Barbados has opted out of this fast track. Is this wise? Do we have an alternative? Surely the way to lower our cost of living (anyone seen how much cheaper it is to shop in Trinidad?) and expand our export opportunities in a gradual way is by joining this fast track group.
I am sure there will be those who are more suspicious of opening up our economy more quickly, but small states cannot fall into autarky. This is perhaps one of the biggest decisions of the government, with potentially as much impact as the removal of $100m of fuel subsidies in March. Yet is has been silent to the public about why we have decided to stay out, what the implications are and what the alternatives are.
August 17, 2008 at 1:49 am
LOL. Again BFP….!!
Wow!!…u guys ever heard of Dubai?
A one stop tourism destination. That is what we competing with. So to properly compete, we have to package the whole region to attempt to get people to cross shop when they looking at Dubai.
The Dubai products are created ours are real but unfortunately because our products are diversified across islands we have to keep in mind to be separate but also work together as a group.
Our product is expensive because it is real and takes money to maintain, so we get overlooked by British travellers (our main market) who travel instead to the Far East.
So maybe there may be some method in the CARICOM madness after all.!!
August 17, 2008 at 2:10 am
The Dubai you speak of, of course, is the Dubai duty free sector. We could invest in a duty free sector and try and make it a destination in itself and the increased volume of trade could help to lower prices for the non-duty free sector (as in the rest of us). I recall the previous PM taking about this, but little was done. This of course has nothing to do with Caricom.
One of the reasons why we have high prices in Barbados is because we have high duties. But this is because this is how a poor country collects revenues where the majority of people pay little income tax and the majority of companies pay little corporation tax. We should reduce these duties but it will require raising revenues elsewhere.
One thing we could do is to reduce our own non-tariff barriers (such as the hassle of getting something through the port or small nuisance fees, charges and taxes that raise little but cost alot to collect) and a good starting point is to make Caricom products duty and hassle free.
August 17, 2008 at 7:05 am
I had to laugh!! Slowly but surely, u all are beginning to see the light which I’ve been trying to show u for ages! I, was the one, who had to raise the subject of the Antigua murders on the Nation’s site as Barbadians did n’t seem to know that they’d occured, or thought their stigma would n’t impact, Bim!!
By dear friends, please allow me to inform u that, Caricom or no Caricom, a murder of that kind, anywhere in the caribbean, will have adverse consequences for west indians, including Barbadians, both at home and abroad!!
Anyway, I don’t plan to say too, much because, u know, ‘I’m Bimbro and obviously, don’t know what I’m talking about’!!
As for Darcus Howe, ex-criminal and son of a local, Trinidadian headmaster, who had to flee Trinidad for England to escape the consequences of his crimes, is as perverse a commentator as you’re likely to find and not worth taking a shi*e bit of notice, of!!
August 17, 2008 at 7:20 am
BFP has published less than four months ago, an article written by this idiot where he attempted to paint the Caribbean with the same brush, by making reference to the T&T crime stats.
Just seen this: BFP, believe me, but, you’re scraping the barrel by listening to ANYTHING AT ALL, which that sh*te Darcus Howe, has to say. I’ve heard enough of the verbal diarrhea which this guy has had to say over the years and it’s worth less than sh*te!!
‘Sad to Say’, is so right when he says that eventually, it’ll all happen in Bim, as well, because you’ve all been too, complacent, which I’ve complained about for years – in fact, it’s already started happening!!
But don’t listen to Bimbro, Bajans, afterall, “wha he know bout anyting”!!
Laaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!!!
August 17, 2008 at 7:46 am
BFP, I’ve just read your article, again!! The fact, ALONE, that the referenced article has been written by Darcus Howe, is all you need to know, before flushing it down the toilet!!
August 17, 2008 at 11:03 am
On second thoughts, as a responsible citizen, don’t flush it down the loo, you might block it!! Simply, bin-it, instead!!!!
August 17, 2008 at 11:13 am
The New Statesman aritcle is merely, the latest evidence of the subliminal, anti-west indian campaign currently, occuring in Britain, for reasons which I leave to you to decipher!
Suffice to say, that they have very, cleverly, or so they think, this time, got a west indian, himself, to do their dirty work for them!!
I would n’t be surprised if, inspite of everything, the editor/owner does n’t nonetheless, own a very, nice home in the ‘terraces’ of Bim!!
Barbadians?!!!! LOL!!!!
August 17, 2008 at 11:40 am
I wonder who the morons were who thought our Bajan image would be enhanced by linking to places like Jamaica, where armed guards have to look after the tourists swimming within sight of their hotel!
Not to mention, The Economist:
http://wiv4.wordpress.com/2008/02/04/regional-news-economists-paint-violent-image-of-the-caribbean
and now, The New Statesman!!
R u confident of still, having a tourist trade in ten years time?!!
As the Jamaicans would say!! ‘Wunna stay dere, Barbadians’!! LOLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
August 17, 2008 at 12:35 pm
‘the news that 3 children aged 16 and under had been murdered in the UK took Trinidad by storm’
12 March 2007
‘The heroic struggle of black parenthood’
New Statesman
Authr: Darus Howe
August 17, 2008 at 12:35 pm
My mistake: Author: Darcus Howe
August 17, 2008 at 12:44 pm
After reading Mr. Howe’s article in the New Statesman and also reading these comments my first thoughts were that it reminds me of the alcoholic who becomes angry when confronted, and vehemently denies that he has a drinking problem.
Tourism is the proverbial double edged sword – especially in the islands where a majority black population is required to service all those rich white folks, frolicking in the sea and sand, and buying up all the prime real estate where humble homes once stood for centuries. Who could possibly deny this reality?
Resentment builds and fueled with the opportunity to make a lot of money (with little effort expended) out of the illicit drug trade, the stage is set for chaos and anarchy.
True things as yet may not be as bad as some urban centres in North America or Europe (someone else mentioned the recent spate of knife killings in the UK), but Barbados is not immune. Remember the incidents earlier this year where tour buses were ambushed? Or a couple of years back when an english youth was shot dead in a hold up gone bad?
Mr. Howe’s article should be taken as a wake up call rather than portray him as a lackey speaking for the white establishment.
August 17, 2008 at 3:21 pm
BFP – Greetings from RealBajan.com
It is difficult not to liken the current state of CARICOM to the former failed West Indian Federation. What is important for us, in my humlbe opinion, is to recognize the strength in numbers . I’m not saying we need to have our name, our brand, tied to closely to other destinations. But on a global scale when it comes to bargaining, we are stronger together.
In Barbados we have a total package that is unrivaled in the Caribbean in terms of our balance of beauty, people, safety and business development. But at the end of the day we are 260,000 people. But when necessary, if we bargain together, we bargain as 39 million.
The failure of the West Indian federation and limited impact of CARICOM is not motive to stop – it’s an initiative to learn from the mistakes we have already made and improve on them. If we let CARICOM fail, the money spent is spent in vein. But even it fails and we make a third attempt, CARICOM would not be useless, we will have our mistakes to make us better.
One day we will realize that we need each other to compete and experience true economies of scale. If CARICOM is the answer I am very doubtful, but the right answer is out there. I just hope when we all reach that point and realise we need to find it, that it’s not too late.
August 17, 2008 at 3:37 pm
How about an article about the Jamaican domination of the sprints at the Olympics?
August 17, 2008 at 3:41 pm
I was watching the olympics on CMC. I have noticed that each time, we claim the Jamaican athletes who have done well as being from the caribbean and we glorify the caribbean as having done well, which i do agree is true. But, If we so much want to claim the good when another island does well I guess we will also have to claim the bad and the ugly.
August 17, 2008 at 3:54 pm
Lightning
How about an article about the Jamaican domination of the sprints at the Olympics?
Now, that would be an interesting subject!! How do u think they do it, Lightning?
August 17, 2008 at 5:23 pm
Duppy Lizard
August 17, 2008 at 12:44 pm
Tourism is the proverbial double edged sword – especially in the islands where a majority black population is required to service all those rich white folks, frolicking in the sea and sand, and buying up all the prime real estate where humble homes once stood for centuries. Who could possibly deny this reality?
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++
The problem arises from the constant barrage of white/black propaganda spouted from the lips of our post independence leaders, historians and intelligent-sia which was never recognised and dealt with for what it was, racism.
Our leaders have programmed the weaker minded among us to behave a certain way …. so we respond and think a certain way when we see white people.
I don’t think they actually meant this to happen, all they wanted was for assets to come into play where they could get a piece of the action, … but like anything negative practised in this life, there is always more that happens than was intended.
Each one of the territories has this problem, some more pronounced than others.
We really need to forget the rubbish that has been constantly preached and think more independently and for the good of our respective countries.
August 17, 2008 at 6:08 pm
dogbitemuh,
i agree with you 100 percent,
i followed the track and field events from the early heats and the commentary from the reporters were country specific . It was St. Kitts, Trinindad, Bahamas and Jamaica. Once all the other islands were eliminated the Jamaicans became ‘caribbean’ athletes.
However it is really not fair for some islands to suffer for the lack of vigilance of others.
In Antigua’s case, complacency had set in as most of the victims of crime were poor and black. Only when the crime became international media fodder that the authorities sprung into action.
August 17, 2008 at 6:24 pm
banana dumplings. ground provisions. not drugs like the americans
August 17, 2008 at 7:40 pm
Thomas Gresham said:
But what is really interesting is the recent development of four countries in Caricom to opt for “fast-track” intergration – rather like the Schengen Group of EU countries. Barbados has opted out of this fast track. Is this wise? Do we have an alternative? Surely the way to lower our cost of living (anyone seen how much cheaper it is to shop in Trinidad?) and expand our export opportunities in a gradual way is by joining this fast track group.
I am sure there will be those who are more suspicious of opening up our economy more quickly, but small states cannot fall into autarky. This is perhaps one of the biggest decisions of the government, with potentially as much impact as the removal of $100m of fuel subsidies in March. Yet is has been silent to the public about why we have decided to stay out, what the implications are and what the alternatives are.
————————————-
I’m sorry,but you have got to be kidding.Barbados is already integrating itself into the Caricom ECONOMIC Union through CSME.What this article proposes is a Caricom POLITICAL Union,meaning there would be no more BARBADOS as a sovereign country aka West Indian Federation.Make absolutely NO mistake about it,Bajans would VOTE out ANYONE who made such a decision on our behalf without the public’s consultation.I agree with CSME if it entails only those who are highly skilled within Caricom coming to Barbados’ shores,but having free movement of ALL nationals to a nation with such limited resources as our island is completely ridiculous.I must admit that the Schengen agreement definitely works for Europe but I would NOT be willing to trust any other Caribbean country with handing out a Caricom visa with the exception of a few if something similar were to be implemented.The main point is there is a huge difference between an Economic union & a Political union.We also don’t even know if the currently proposed Economic union[AKA CSME] will work out.
On your question concerning Trinidad having cheaper shopping.The answer would be,of course.The fact is the Bajan dollar is worth 3 times as much as the Trini dollar & is actually increasing everyday because the U.S. dollar is actually gaining in value over the last few weeks.Barbados has a LOT of purchasing power.The second main reason is that Trinidad is highly industrialized & has oil which makes would make overhead costs a lot cheaper.If Barbados can get its oil exploration going expect similar results.My guess is that the recent Venezuela military build up has been the reason Ministers have been holding off on any oil exploration bids.Anyway,Barbados is expanding its trade with the OECS countries & within Caricom as the integration movement of the other countries continue.
August 17, 2008 at 7:42 pm
I was wondering if BFP was willing to investigate where the much touted Barbados offshore oil market currently is & why hasn’t anything been said publicly ?
August 17, 2008 at 10:14 pm
I am extremely surprised that BFP is not focusing on what is happening in the Olympics,specifically, with respect to Jamaica’s performance in the sprint races.One wonders why?
August 18, 2008 at 1:25 am
I am a Caribbean man holding three passports – BDS/ T&T/ SVG and having lived in Jamaica and Antigua. I was on top of the world when MY PEOPLE won the 100M in Beijing in the men’s and women’s sprint competition. I hope that this momentous achievement nudges us in the direction where we realise that our sum components all arrived in the West Indies some 300 to 400 years ago. This is significant because there are those whose parents arrived from Syria, Lebanon and India less that 80 years ago and they are claiming greater rights to OUR West Indian nationality that mine and your children.
August 18, 2008 at 2:22 am
Trinidad and Guyana both celebrated some ten years ago or more the 150th anniversary of Indian arrival. Those Indians, Hindus and Muslims, are an important part of our West Indian culture, especially in Trinidad and Guyana.
We are a region where the world’s peoples meet, African, European, South and North Asian. This fusion works wonders in the kitchen and sometimes in sport, music, dress and art. We would have something to teach the world if we can make it work more generally.
August 18, 2008 at 2:47 am
So much for a “Free press”,lol
BFP says,
Take a pill, Jay… but first read about automatic comment moderation.
We get to it when we get to it. That’s not censorship, merely a reflection that we have real lives and don’t sit at our PCs 24/7.
August 18, 2008 at 3:59 am
Actually,I didn’t know it was automatic.I thought BFP was actually using heavy handed tactics in their moderation,which you have every right to but it would totally goes against the “Free” moniker.
There hasn’t been that much “Free” talk with the BLP soooo I thought you guys were against a comment I made that was against the proposed Caricom Political Union
August 18, 2008 at 6:49 am
But, If we so much want to claim the good when another island does well I guess we will also have to claim the bad and the ugly.
Interesting point, ‘dogbitemuh’, but I’m sorry, from my experience of Barbadians, ur not allowed to criticise Jamaicans, only praise them. So, sorry, no can do!!
August 18, 2008 at 11:01 am
Bimbro
Lightning
Now, that would be an interesting subject!! How do u think they do it, Lightning?
August 18, 2008 at 1:26 pm
Can anyone tell me why we send athletes to the Olympics?
I mean, we can’t even qualify. What’s the sense of sending teams to the Games when they can’t even make qualifying times at home/
I think we are wasting precious, scarce money.
August 18, 2008 at 1:30 pm
Hi Peltdown, well, I’ve been scoffing salt fish and ackee for years and I still can’t run like lightning!!
August 18, 2008 at 5:38 pm
that wasn’t my post
while I should be flattered that someone wants to use my handle, maybe they could be more creative and develop their own thought process and contributions.
BFP say,
We checked it out and this Reality Check is the real thing. We changed the other post to read “FAKED HANDLE”
August 18, 2008 at 6:48 pm
It could also have to do with the careless reporting done in the “developed” countries.
A sound bite or headline that captures attention is more important than one that relays reality.
August 18, 2008 at 10:52 pm
BFP/Reality Check,
Sorry, it wasn’t intentional. I used the name accidentally.
Thanks for the correction.
Anyhow, can someone answer my question. Would be interesting if someone from the Sporting arena could assist.
Faked Handle
August 20, 2008 at 1:34 pm
[...] Barbados Free Press is not convinced that the CARICOM arrangement is beneficial, referring to an article about the recent double-murder in Antigua to make their point: “The ‘Caribbean Brand' for tourism…was a disastrous policy created…as part of the effort to prop up the pretense and phony benefits of CARICOM. According to the article, we’re all the same in Caribbean – violent, bloodthirsty savages – and that includes Barbados.” Posted by Janine Mendes-Franco Print Version Share This [...]
August 20, 2008 at 9:29 pm
Why is it that BFP tend to jump at such negative comments and try to blow them out of context. It is for us here in Barbados to show the tourist that even though we are not Uthopia, that country is a safe place to come to . We line up and cry bad when we don’t get a visa to go to USA where ther is killings every minute of every day. Big up our country make the tourist want to come here just as much as you want to go to their country. Tourists don’t come here because we beg them, they come because they like the place, let’s keep them coming
August 21, 2008 at 7:24 pm
read somewhere today
that a 17 yr.old and a 20 yr. old
both of whom live near to the Antiguan resort
- are now charged with murder of the two UK medical ppl
and that the A.Police and DPP
expect to prove their case conclusively.
—————–
Two lives voluntarily thrown away for a night’s movie-stylee “glory”
Young twits.
Now dey mudder cryin..
‘Oh but he was a good boy.
Din nuse to trubble nuhbody.’
Whateverrr.
and SO history repeats itself,
time and again
as foolish YBMs continue to do bare shirte!
August 22, 2008 at 6:28 am
Daily Nation, Thursday August 21, 2008, p.40 left column, towards the bottom,
Death notice for Henderson Arley Somerset Sobers, Interim Secretary of the Caribbean Tourism Association. Among the list of dear friends mentioned is Darcus Howe (U.K.)
All I can say is “some friend”
August 22, 2008 at 11:41 am
The caribbean has many ‘friends’ which I can do without, such as Usain Bolt and the rebuke which he elicited from the President of the IOC!!
However, I would n’t expect any of you to have noticed that!!
August 22, 2008 at 2:47 pm
Anti-Jamaican ranting again Bimbro?
August 22, 2008 at 4:47 pm
J, me?!! No, man, me lov de Jamaicans dem!
Lor!!!
Of course, J, if u think his celebration was flattering to the caribbean then u should say so, clearly, my friend!!
August 22, 2008 at 4:50 pm
P.S. I thought it was the IOC chief, doing the ranting!! I’ve given-up with them!! But clearly, I’m not the only one of this point of view!!
August 22, 2008 at 5:31 pm
Hello Mr Bimbo. Pun intended!
You are a real nigger aren’t you?? What a crying shame. You tend to talk a load of gibberish and you are a good-for-nothing waste of time and space. Even though I am not Jamaican, (I’m British) you are a real washed up loser aren’t you. Get a life and let Usain Bolt dance if he wants to dance. Mr Rogge’s comments have drawn harsh critique from the media in the UK and the US, as his comments are riddled with racial overtones. As a supposed black person you are very illiterate, unwashed, and filled with hatred of yourself and anyone else who is from your own race. What a pity. Your attitude is laughable.
Usain is a true champion and maybe if you did something positive and useful with your life, your jealous ranting on a blog would not be your ONLY claim to fame.
From your friend Rogge in the UK. Grow up!!!!
August 22, 2008 at 6:16 pm
http://sports.yahoo.com/olympics/beijing/track_field/news;_ylt=Am4vfkOsKMBmO.5BDHh3MY0azJV4?slug=dw-rogge082108&prov=yhoo&type=lgns
August 22, 2008 at 7:04 pm
I think people are allowed different points of view on any subject, even in little Barbados. The fact that ur unable to accept a person having a different point of view from yours shows just how infantile, YOU are. Please grow-up before making any further comment to me!!
August 22, 2008 at 7:45 pm
P.S. I thought it was the IOC chief, doing the ranting!! I’ve given-up with them!! But clearly, I’m not the only one of this point of view!!
Clearly you and a white supremacist share the same point of view. Congratulations mate, you must feel chuffed, you unlettered git. How infantile am I? Give me a break!! You don’t need to grow up, because you really can’t grow any further as you are intellectually bankrupt. You are worst than the Century Bank that went under.
You and your asshole friend Rogge tried to traduce the young man’s character. Obviously the 91,000 fans in the stadium and millions around the world do not share your vapid views. Anyway, it is clear from your uni-dimensional views that you are not only flippant and asinine, but also a total neanderthal. You will amount to nothing more than a cretinous small island blogger devoid of any inkling of intelligence. You poor git. Ignorance is bliss and wisdom is alas, unattainable for you!
I have always been a big fan of Barbados and
I sincerely hope the rest of the Barbadian population are not as half-witted and oafish as you are, or else, that island is in BIG TROUBLE!
If you want to know how sensible people in the world think, if you can READ Mr. BIMBO, you may follow the link below. Until then, get a brain, even if you have to borrow one.
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/olympics/article4578959.ece
August 22, 2008 at 8:11 pm
says it all doesn’t it
http://sports.yahoo.com/olympics/beijing/track_field/news;_ylt=AjqKiPm8Hz8SQQJZYdU6TZude5p4?slug=ro-bolt082208&prov=yhoo&type=lgns
August 22, 2008 at 8:12 pm
Clearly you and a white supremacist share the same point of view. Congratulations mate, you must feel chuffed, you unlettered git. How infantile am I? Give me a break!! You don’t need to grow up, because you really can’t grow any further as you are intellectually bankrupt. You are worst than the Century Bank that went under.
You and your asshole friend Rogge tried to traduce the young man’s character. Obviously the 91,000 fans in the stadium and millions around the world do not share your vapid views. Anyway, it is clear from your uni-dimensional views that you are not only flippant and asinine, but also a total neanderthal. You will amount to nothing more than a cretinous small island blogger devoid of any inkling of intelligence. You poor git. Ignorance is bliss and wisdom is alas, unattainable for you!
I have always been a big fan of Barbados and
I sincerely hope the rest of the Barbadian population are not as half-witted and oafish as you are, or else, that island is in BIG TROUBLE!
If you want to know how sensible people in the world think, if you can READ Mr. BIMBO, you may follow the link below. Until then, get a brain, even if you have to borrow one.
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/olympics/article4578959.ece
August 22, 2008 at 8:16 pm
August 23, 2008 at 4:24 pm
Just a note to request u publish my post!!
August 23, 2008 at 4:27 pm
Rogge, ur obviously, very good with the insults and no doubt would win the gold medal in such an Olympics. Unfortunately, I’m not interested in them so just FO!!
August 23, 2008 at 5:06 pm
Hmmm.
I rejoice at Usain Bolt because, in order, of his supreme effort and achievement as a human being, because he is black and his achievement gives pride to black men, because he is West Indian and his achievement gives pride to all West Indians, because he is Jamaican and his achievement gives pride to all my Jamaican friends and because he hails from a poor community that gives inspiration to many.
However, I also recognise that he is young and perhaps not as gracious in victory as he could be and I hope he learns that with time so that he can become a great sportsman rather than just the fastest runner. I hope that this observation does not qualify me for being a white supremicist, apart from the potential disqualification of my colour.
I understand Usain Bolt is gay. I am not, but I hope in rejoicing in his achievement it will bring greater tolerance to Jamaicans.
August 23, 2008 at 7:32 pm
With animals of the standards of Rogge present in Bim, it’s no wonder that the country’s in such a state and you’ve such a desperate, need for blogs like this one, BU and the others!!
As for first world status, forget it!! Maybe in a hundred years!!
August 23, 2008 at 8:23 pm
Obviously you can’t read (which I suspected anyway), as I am actually a Brit living in the UK.
BIMBO, its because of people like you (stereotypical blacks) who flee to my country to experience first world living standards you so languish for, which has me thinking: why did the slave trade ever end?
August 24, 2008 at 8:13 am
You flatter yourself that I might be interested in reading much of the crap which you’ve written here. Please return to whatever flee-ridden, cesspit you’ve emerged from and get a civilised, brain!! The principle is the same whoever or wherever you are!!
However, I also recognise that he is young and perhaps not as gracious in victory as he could be and I hope he learns that with time so that he can become a great sportsman rather than just the fastest runner. I hope that this observation does not qualify me for being a white supremicist, apart from the potential disqualification of my colour.
Thomas, congratulations on having the guts to admit that you, too, have reservations about Bolt’s celebrations. Clearly, I’m not the ONLY black person in the world to do so, not to mention, person of any other race/colour!! That guy Rogge’s such a *hit!!
I can see that it was hard for you to actually, come out and say so, but clearly, you, too, see the need for greater ‘tolerance’ of the Jamaicans. So, again, I’m not the only one who sees fault in the Jamaicans’ behaviour!! I understand, T, the other cowardly, gutless ones would rather sit there and say nothing and watch Barbados not to mention the rest of the western, black world, slide down the sewer because of their behaviour!!
What a load of *hites!!