December 11, 2007...2:23 pm

Barbados Government Agents Continue Death Threats Against Citizen Journalists

Jump to Comments

Barbados Free Press Now Moderating All Comments Again

Good morning friends,

The government has once again activated a team of hackers in an attempt to close down this blog, so we are forced to go to an “always moderate” setting in the comments. You may still post anonymous comments, but before any comment appears one of our editors will have to approve it. We’ll try to get it done within a few minutes or sooner – but we all have real jobs and real families so sometimes it will take a few hours or even overnight.

Barbados Government, Cable & Wireless, Have The Technical & Legal Means To Stop The Death Threats

This is the fourth or fifth time that the government has activated a team to destroy the blogs – and we are aware it is a team through various means. We also see that the threats to murder, rape and commit arson against writers of this blog and our families – and outside contributors like Adrian Loveridge – have ramped up to new levels. All of this is obviously being done with the knowledge of the Barbados Government and Cable and Wireless, who have always had the technical ability to stop it if they desired – under the secret Order In Council that allows them to monitor all communications on the island.

There is even an FBI team of technicians on the island who are training BDF personnel in the finer points of monitoring electronic communications of all kinds.

Other Barbados Blogs Remain Unmoderated For Open Discussions

Several of the other blogs have not been impacted to the same extent, so you may want to shift discussions of a more immediate nature to those places, which include…

Barbados Underground (unmoderated at this time)

Keltruth Blog (it says they need a name and an email address, but fake ones work pretty well!) :-)

Barbados Forum (Chat board)

Over 1.9 Million BFP Blog Visitors Since January 2006 – The World Is Watching Barbados

As of early this morning, Barbados Free Press logged visitor number 1.9 million since we began. Many of our visitors come from outside Barbados. Some are Bajan diaspora looking for news of home, while others arrive through Google and other online searches looking for investment or business news about our country.

Of this we are certain: the Government of Barbados can no longer hide the corruption and political instability it has created from the rest of the world.

Mr. Prime Minister: The rest of the world is watching you, and the actions of your government.

21 Comments

• DEATH threats??

• “There is even an FBI team of technicians on the island who are training BDF personnel in the finer points of monitoring electronic communications of all kinds.”

BigBrother is here! – Wheee!

• who ever owns this blog please contact me, i am working on a project and need some editorial assistance on such.

BFP comments

Anyone can write to us at barbadosfreepress (at) yahoo.com

• Many countries issue travel warnings.
    Could Barbados end up on that list because of an unstable Government?

• BFP…..I support your always moderate policy.
    The Vile and disgusting attacks and threats should be stopped.

We will get used to waiting and it is a small price to pay to stop the nastiness.

This blog is vital to us who want to contribute in a meaningful way to the debate on matters relating to our country Barbados.

• Adrian Loveridge

I think one of the objectives of the persons who post these vile comments and threats, is to attempt to silence those of us who believe in free speech and transparency.

Intelligent and honest media people realise this and that is why they attempt to get a mixture of balanced opinion.

What these cowards set out to achieve, simply backfires on them, because their actions attract
    international attention.

How many million people listen to the Caribbean service of the BBC?

• Kadri Walcott
    December 11, 2007 at 2:48 pm
    who ever owns this blog please contact me, i am working on a project and need some editorial assistance on such.

BFP comments

Anyone can write to us at barbadosfreepress (at) yahoo.com
    —————————————————————-

ha ha ha ha the silliness of some bajans. Who ever owns this blog contact me. wow i can’t figure out if it is a request or a demand. :D

Kadri if it is editorial assitants that you really need may i suggest that you contact the party of your choice since they also have a blog and other web sites that demonstrate there is some there that can assist you. :D

• i bearly get to pick hay now all hell brekking loose at all corners, anyone can contact me via email at kadri at kadriwalcottonline.com

deze political blogs got me days behind wuk and ppl complaining lol

• “We’ve got your number and will deal with you soon.”

“No verbal response necessary”.

As a blogging representative from St. Thomas, one person supporting residents’ rights to peace in the face of an illegally developed race track, I am not afraid either.

“Royal Barbados Police Force warn road-users to desist from dragster racing, and drinking, or face the consequences”.

“St Thomas Independence Race Meet postponed. Race Meet at Bushy Park next week”.

That Vaucluse track is a living testimony of how its owners plan to evade the laws of Barbados, and a roadmap to a lawless Barbados for all supporters and emulators.

It is not the residents, whose rights are being stolen, that are making the death threats: it is the demonstrated lawless ones themselves- who already are outside the law by developing illegally.

Death threats and threats of violence are part of this same lawless pattern; they are called ‘conspiracy to commit a crime’.

• AM I BEING WATCHED?

Recently, I was trying to post a message under my regular name. I am not revealing it at this moment; the reasons will be seen. During the writing of a recent article to your site, my eyes were focused on the keyboard. I recalled seeing three flashes on my computer screen, but ignored them.Only when I was proofreading the article did I see something strange; pornographic words were inserted in my article! I DID NOT TYPE SUCH, NOR USE THE KIND OF “VOCABULARY” INSERTED!As I am not as “computer literate” as many others in my occupation, could this be a simple case of someone spying on me? Why did it happen only when I try to submit an article to BFP?
    I am a civil servant, holding some measure of respect in this country. Could my experience be related to one of your articles suggesting that phone calls or emails are being monitored by unknown persons/organizations here in Barbados? I AM NOT A MEMBER OF ANY PARTY, BUT HAVE BEEN VERBALLY ATTACKED AND THREATENED BY A GOVERNMENT M.P…….. because I refused to throw my support behind him during the last elections.

N.B: No threats can cause me to lose my job, but am presently acting in a senior position in my department.

• The author states that ”There is even an FBI team of technicians on the island who are training BDF personnel in the finer points of monitoring electronic communications of all kinds”

I hope that this is NOT the case.

The only legitimate reason for such invasion of privacy is to combate crime, where it is suspected that a crime may be taking or has taken place.

Thus, who is charged with the responsibility of maintaining law and protecting against crime?

I believe that under our laws it is the Police.

Thus, any BDF personnel attempting to monitor communication would be, I expect, working outside their authority and committing an illegal act in itself, surely?

Has no one spotted this?

Secondly, any monitoring by the Police is surely only appropriate in cases where it is suspected that a criminal act has been, is or will take place.

Any other monitoring is surely an invasion of privacy and thus human rights.

• Adrian Loveridge

‘Which is why the FBI in recent years has set up international offices, called Legal attaches in Bridgetown, Barbados’.

The FBI’s own website.

• Dream on folk!!!
    Phones have been tapped for a long time now from a warehouse located in WILDEY.
    The owner has a close association with the BLP. His business partner is the chairman of a government entity.
    Whether we want to or not, we are duty-bound to take up the fight for democracy. Too many things are going unanswered…the arrogance of the BLP is stifling, and will smother and choke us if we allow them to behave as they are presently doing!!!

• Phones have been tapped for a long time now from a warehouse located in WILDEY.
    The owner has a close association with the BLP. His business partner is the chairman of a government entity.
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    Littleboy, you seems to be in receipt of information that will benefit the democratically minded writers. You admit that phones are tapped, you admit that the location is in Wildey, you admit a close association with the BLP and finally you admit the partner being a chairman of a Government entity. Now Littleboy, let the damn public know the full facts or stop with your innuendos. The blogs have been trying to get true facts regarding tapping of phones or Internet and you are telling us you have the facts. We are all concern about the infringement of our democratic rights.

• ology,

Fear not why do you yourself reveal the truth as with your intimate inside knowledege of the workings of you and your party of scamps you would well informed as to why we the citizens have lost our privacy.

• Adrian Loveridge

Trying to MISLEAD and DECEIVE again, eh?

Below is the full quote.

http://www.fbi.gov/page2/dec03/car120403.htm

The Caribbean? Absolutely. For years, law enforcement officials in the region have been instrumental in helping us with cross-border fugitives and drug trafficking organizations, money laundering operations, human smuggling rings, and other criminal enterprises.

More recently, the focus has shifted to terrorism — an important issue given the Caribbean’s proximity to our nation’s southern border and its offshore banking resources.

Which is why the FBI in recent years has set up international offices, called Legal Attaches, in Bridgetown, Barbados, and Santo Domingo in the Dominican Republic. The Legal Attaché in Caracas, Venezuela, which borders the Caribbean Sea, is also responsible for relationships with some islands in the area.

• Frankology
    There is ni innuendo here.
    If you have followed my posts you will notice that I seldom name individuals, because I know that public reaction can place them in danger.
    The facts are there and the RBPF has been notified; so too have others who have the power to stop it.
    Yours truly and another have agreed that if nothing is done about it soon, we will go the next step and name those involved.
    We still have to show some level of responsibility. Barbados is still ours!!!

• Fear not why do you yourself reveal the truth as with your intimate inside knowledege of the workings of you and your party of scamps you would well informed as to why we the citizens have lost our privacy.
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    Please allow the public to know where I ever stated or through implication that I am involved with any political party, namely the BLP. In my submission, I spoke of the increase in computer technology, where one of these days, an international agency might be able to monitor individuals on the Internet for the sole purpose of litigation. Instead of shooting your venom towards me as usual, re-direct it to the messenger or your buddy – Littleboy.

• If what u say is true Littleboy then we have joined the likes of the United States in the trampling of civil rights and the use and abuse of power in order to maintain it. Brings new meaning to the term developing country.

• [...] do investigate, i wont lie, some say stuff like, “man leff dum let dum …” Kadri Walcott December 11, 2007 at 8:21 pm – Comment on BFP i bearly get to pick hay now all hell brekking loose at all corners, anyone can contact me via [...]

Leave a Reply