NOTE ABOUT TIMING: There has been quite a debate going on in the comments section of this article. Richard Goddard wrote that David Simmons was a member of the Cabinet at the time or shortly after Adams was Prime Minister. Several readers contest this, and in the likelihood that Simmons was not a cabinet member, we call upon Richard Goddard to explain how Simmons could have been involved in the situation immediately following Adams’ death.

The sudden death of J.M.G.M. Tom Adams, 55 years, Prime Minister of Barbados in 1985, and Bob Woolmer, 58, the English born Pakistan cricket coach, in 2007 have a common thread. Both were V.I.P.s, and the deaths must under law, be carefully and thoroughly investigated by senior and experienced police officers, with post mortems and toxicological tests on body specimens. The crime scene, that is the room in which the body was found, and the whole building and grounds should be tested, while forensics carry out their examinations. The room in which the body was found should also be carefully photographed.
In Adams’ death, Dr Cato, Acting Governor-General, and senior BLP supporter, was the first doctor on the scene. He pronounced Adams dead, but refused to sign the death certificate. Dr Hassell was the second doctor to see Adams’ body, and he also refused to sign the death certificate. Dr William StJohn, cousin of H.B. StJohn, the next Prime Minister, signed the death certificate, and no post mortem was performed. Because Adams was a V.I.P., and in the interest of transparency, the post mortem should have been performed, and toxicological tests carried out.
Was anything found at the crime scene which had caused Adams’ sudden death, and which was subsequently destroyed, as it was not politically expedient to show the true cause of death? The cause given on the death certificate is similar to someone who has died of a cocaine overdose which causes the heart to fibrillate, but only a toxicological test on body fluids would confirm this. If over-strength cocaine was voluntarily snorted, it would cause fibrillations of the heart and result in death. In the drug world it is common to make examples by giving overstrength cocaine to addicts, who then unwittingly overdose.

Was Our Current Barbados Chief Justice Involved In Any Way With The Aftermath Of Adams’ Death? *
Adams’ death was NOT recorded in the District ‘A’ Police Station diary, where policy dictates that all sudden deaths taking place at home are to be recorded, with the name of the investigating officer. The only authority to stop a post mortem and the correct investigation could come from the top of the political ladder, and that is the Cabinet, one of the then members of which, David Simmons, is the Chief Justice of Barbados today. (SEE NOTE BELOW About Timing)
Bob Woolmer’s Body Was Conveniently Cremated Prior To The Toxicology Evidence Being Presented *
Bob Woolmer, 58, and who weighed about 250 lbs., was found unconscious in his Pegasus Hotel room in Jamaica, and there is no record of him speaking. The room was disarranged, with furniture over-turned and blood and faeces around. The chief investigating officer was Assistant Commissioner Shields, a senior and experienced police officer from the London Metropolitan Police, on contract with the Jamaica police. Forensics carried out examination of the crime scene, i.e. the hotel room. A post mortem was carried out by Dr Ere Sheshiah, an Indian, who was the senior government pathologist, who had worked in Jamaica for over 15 years with plenty of post mortem experience. (There are over 1,650 murders in Jamaica each year.)
Dr Sheshiah found abnormal activity in the right side hyold bone, suggesting manual strangulation. Dr Sheshiah was the only pathologist to perform an autopsy on the body. We now find three pathologists, from Canada, England and South Africa challenging his findings. Mrs Dunbar who worked 26 years in the Forensic Laboratory in Jamaica and is very experienced, carried out tests on blood and urine and found Cypermethrin in Woolmer’s blood and urine, and the tranquiliser Chloropazine in his stomach. Alchohol was also found in blood specimens. The cause of death as natural, was announced on 12th June, while the toxicological results showing evidence of the pesticide came out on the 21st June, which is a classic example of the cart before the horse. Woolmer’s body was cremated in South Africa before these results were made known.

How Could A Deadly Pesticide Have Accidentally Appeared In Woolmer’s Drink And Body? *
Cypermethrin is a pesticide easily obtained from any garden shop and is sold under the brand name AMBUSH. It is an ant and roach killer, and is a powder soluble in alcohol, and has a light colour. On tests on rats it shows signs of tremors, seizures, rigours and salivation. These were the signs found where Woolmer’s body was found in the room.
Is this another attempt at a cover up to save World Cup Cricket? The Barbados Advocate and the Nation would do cricket a service by carrying the evidence in the Coroner’s Court in Jamaica, as the Jamaica Gleaner reports. There is big money in World Cup Cricket, with many hands in the piggy bank. Gambling in cricket is big business, especially in India and Pakistan, and in recent years cricketers have been identified as working with bookmakers to throw matches in exchange for money.
Any further attempt to cover up Murder will make the case more confusing, and the public has a right to the facts, and hopefully the truth can be established.
Richard Goddard
* NOTE: The question about the Chief Justice and the titles of the article were added by Barbados Free Press. Certain grammatical and spelling changes were also made by BFP.
NOTE ABOUT TIMING: There has been quite a debate going on in the comments section of this article. Richard Goddard wrote that David Simmons was a member of the Cabinet at the time or shortly after Adams was Prime Minister. Several readers contest this, and in the likelihood that Simmons was not a cabinet member, we call upon Richard Goddard to explain how he could have been involved in the situation immediately following Adams’ death.
29 Comments
October 28, 2007 at 1:58 pm
Eavesdropper // Oct 24th 2007 at 4:58 pm
** Mr. Stephen Alleyne’s ” friends ” stated that he cleared his bills at the Empire Bar hours before he passed away….!
** Such action they claimed was unusual given that he usually clear his bills at month – end….!
** Were any toxicology tests done on Mr. Alleyne’s remains….?
** Why did Owen Arthur appear so nervous at his funeral…?
** Who is willing to purchase the taped conversation of Owen’s outburst with Mr. Stephen Alleyne…..?
Albert Brandford
October 28, 2007 at 2:43 pm
Here is another cover up in the making.
http://truthinbarbados.blogspot.com/
October 28, 2007 at 2:57 pm
How many young world cup executives and officials have died this year?
The Barbados mainstream media need educating on Blog 101 so they can get out there and do proper investigative reports like the blogs.
Shame on you Nation, Shame on you Advocate. You dont even confirm stories anymore.
Thats why your tails are about to get sued once again.
October 28, 2007 at 8:31 pm
Your wicked and malicious vendetta against the Chief Justice has now been revealed for what it really is. For the last few months you have been publishing lies and criminal libles against the Chief Justice.
Your most recent one surpasses all else. Imagine, David Simmons was not even a member of the House of Assembly when Tom Adams died,
farless, a member of Cabinet. You know so much about the affairs of Barbados that you do not even know that it was as a result of vacancy in St. Thomas created by Tom Adams’ death, that David Simmons won the by-election in St. Thomas and became a MP.
You people are vicious worthless and sick liars ,who cowardly hide behind the coat tails of the worldpress. However, night will run until day catches it.
Stop telling lies about the Chief Justice of Barbados. The more you defame him the greater will be the penalties against you at the appropriate time. It is really pathetic that you call yourself a press and are so irresponsible as to make allegations without any basis whatsoever in the truth. You have been found out as international liars and the new prison DODDS will be awaiting you.
You continue to attack black people who have risen to prominence locally, regionally and internationally and who have been highly acclaimed. Your agenda is to destabilize Barbados by attacking it’s institution and impair it’s international image.
You pretend to be a watchdog, but in fact you are a SKUNK.
BFP Comments,
Hey, like we said, we published it as received. If you have a problem with it, then say so and maybe Richard Goddard will respond. That’s how it works ’bout here.
By the way, do you think is proper for the image of the independence of the office of the Chief Justice of Barbados that the current CJ was a Cabinet Minister and Attorney General one day, and then a short time later was appointed by his old buddy Owen Arthur to be the “independent” Chief Justice?
Well… do you think it was proper?
October 28, 2007 at 8:54 pm
Oh, brother! (And you can interpret that any way you want). Talking about the above blog by “Concerned”. I’m afraid I had a bit of a giggle because I had just finished reading an article on a website, an excerpt of which is the following: “Blogs may not have yet toppled dictatorial regimes or solved the world’s environmental problems but they have a devastating effect on governments which try and stifle democracy as the recent events in Burma have shown.”
But get a load of this now – it goes on: Quote: “The same attempts to stifle freedom of speech carried out by the military junta in Burma appears to be replicated 5000 miles closer to home in the form of a new law proposed by Ricardo Franco Levi, undersecretary to the President of the Council in Italy, and approved by the Council of Ministers on 12 October.” Unquote.
ITALY? Who would have thought it? But if Concerned had his way, maybe it would happen here too. Except that he would no longer be able to call you a SKUNK!
October 28, 2007 at 10:16 pm
BFP said ”BFP Comments,
Hey, like we said, we published it as received. If you have a problem with it, then say so and maybe Richard Goddard will respond. That’s how it works ’bout here.”
Sorry guys, but according to your above article notations, you admit having added the question on the CJ, thus not being of Richard Goddard’s original text.
Now THIS is why I have also voiced my concern in the past on the focus of posts generally and specifically.
When posts appear ’stretched’ beyond reality or to push an unknown agenda it tarnishes the validity of most good articles and tarnishes the valid concerns that need to be raised in today’s economic and social environment.
So, please near in mind that posts which do not appear balanced could jeopardise the longevity of the blog in terms of readership, specifically being taken seriously.
If you want to look at validity on the legal system and Courts, go and check to see how many cases have been returned by the Privy Council and how many of these have been overturned, or not.
That should give you an idea of the legal quality available on the local bench.
As an aside, while I understand your concern on the ‘Juman’ issue, note that a Justice of the Peace is certainly not to be considered a person of the Judiciary per se, thus your representation there is also not correct.
Facts should be presented reasonably and fairly to give credence to the points raised, if you indeed want your voice to be ‘heard’.
I understand that this is your blog and what is ‘voiced’ here is your privilege, but my concern is seeing certain presentations which bring the validity of everything else into disrepute.
I had previously noted that I would not be saying more on this issue, but think this is now time opportune to repeat it.
Peace.
BFP Comments
Hello Rump,
Last first, YES a Justice of the Peace is a member of the Judiciary. Period. Empowered to issue search warrants, grant bail and in many circumstances decide the outcome of minor legal issues. A Justice of the Peace IS a member of the Judiciary on this island. Doan know where you are coming from to say otherwise.
As to “adding the question”… have a read of Richard’s piece… where Richard states that the CJ was a member of the Cabinet at the time…. so you are incorrect again. Our question merely built upon the already stated circumstances.
That is the situation ’bout here.
October 28, 2007 at 10:43 pm
Was Our Current Barbados Chief Justice Involved In A Cover-up While A Tom Adams’ Cabinet Member?
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Guess the answer to this question is based on the fact that he never was a Tom Adams’ Cabinet member so the answer is straightforward …
No, … thank heavens, … definitely not, ….. he was not involved in a cover-up while a Tom Adams’ Cabinet Member.
In any case, Tom Adams’ cabinet ceased to exist when Tom Adams died, so even if he was a member of the Tom Adams’ cabinet, which he was not, he could not have been involved in any coverup, particularly of Tom Adams’ death.
Tom Adams’ cabinet became Bree St. John’s cabinet once Tom Adams’ had died.
For the short time it existed before Bree became PM, it would have belonged to the deputy PM, probably Billie Miller, at the time ….. or was it Lammie Craig, maybe even Bree, but I forget.
…. see, absolutely straightforward!!
I repeat, the answer is no, definitely not.
He was not involved in a coverup of Tom Adams’ death while Tom Adams was alive.
……… poorly asked by BFP!!
October 28, 2007 at 10:54 pm
… definitely did not like the question when I read it as it just did not sound logical and as though it went with the flow of the article.
Perhaps BFP was out of place to insert it.
Just riles up the CJ more against Richard Goddard.
As Rumplestilskin says, “Facts should be presented reasonably and fairly to give credence to the points raised, if you indeed want your voice to be ‘heard’”.
Perhaps the question should be removed.
October 28, 2007 at 11:06 pm
Whilst agreeing with your opinion, Rumple, am I right in discerning a little professional tetchiness.
Should we really be addressing Rumpole?
October 28, 2007 at 11:12 pm
The article also ignores the fact that Adams had a heart murmur which he had scheduled a trip to England to have taken care of. He died before he could travel.
The vicious rumour campaign that followed Adams death, similar to the tripe presented here, showed the error in not having an autopsy done. When Errol Barrow died the was a quick move to have an autopsy performed to quash any rumours.
October 28, 2007 at 11:38 pm
Reply to Concerned from an outsider. My research shows that Sir David Simmons was elected to Parliament in 1976. In 1984 he was appointed QC. Tom Adams died in 1985.
Concerned, where do you get your facts? I notice that you did not cite any references.
source: http://209.85.165.104/search?q=cache:n2nGXF7U-qgJ:www.cmja.org/downloads/CJJ/CJJ%252015-1.pdf+biography+sir+David+Simmons+barbados&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=9&gl=us&client=firefox-a
Sir David Cathcart Simmons
1963 LLB, London School of Economics
1965 Master of Laws, London
1970 returned to Barbados
1976 elected to Parliament
1984 appointed QC
1985 Tom Adams dies
source: http://www.photius.com/countries/barbados/government/political.html
1985-1986 Attorney General
1994-2001 Attorney General
October 29, 2007 at 12:14 am
Rumplestilskin
“If you want to look at validity on the legal system and Courts, go and check to see how many cases have been returned by the Privy Council and how many of these have been overturned, or not.”
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
You may get a surprise!!
Criminal cases where the death penalty has been determied have a 100% record of being overturned.
Does this mean that our courts never get it right?
The first one that went to the CCJ was overturned, maintaining the 100% record.
There are not many civil cases that make it to the final stage of appeal although it would seem not to be because the litigants are satisfied with the decisions locally, but because it is too expensive.
I can think of two civil cases which went right to the end.
There is the Kingsland case and then there is the case involving Sir Cow and MP Don Blackman …. , the redressing past imbalances case.
One was overturned, the other was not.
Does this mean that in civil cases there is a 50% likelihood of our courts getting it wrong …… or does it mean that the final apellate court only has a 50% chance of being right?
Two cases can’t be all that went right through.
There are probably more.
But I am willing to bet that there are plenty disgruntled litigants who never got past first instance because of the cost.
Statistics used in the legal system will give surprising results because it is a non linear system.
It tries to interpret life, which itself is non linear.
October 29, 2007 at 12:27 am
Sometimes I don’t know why I bother
October 28th, 2007 at 11:12 pm
The article also ignores the fact that Adams had a heart murmur which he had scheduled a trip to England to have taken care of. He died before he could travel.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
I never heard that one before.
Why would he go to England when the US was far closer.
I seem to remember Tom Adams’ alleged prowess as a ladies man was legendary. That is not an easy life and a weak heart would have preempted some of his alleged exploits.
He was additionally, relatively young.
I think the circumstances of his death were not straightforward and warranted investigation. I do not have the facts but it seems that the absence of a single MP calling for an investigation speaks volumes.
To pin it all on the current CJ however is wrong. All have some answering to do.
I do know one fact.
Recently the coroner, Faith Marshall Harris, disposed of a large number of inquests dating back to that time.
I believe the number was of the order of 500!!
Things have not been going right in Barbados for a long time and Tom Adams death is just one more that make me go … huh!!.
October 29, 2007 at 12:33 am
BFP…… How about turning our attention to the speeches from Mia and the PM at the BLP conference.
October 29, 2007 at 4:06 am
Tom Adams had a “heart murmur” this is the latest. The lengths these crooked BLP cover-up artists will go to is unbelieveable.
Tom Adams was a wicked son of a bitch and all Barbadians knew it. I rejoiced when he died.
I recalled the day he left his office and came down to Paradise Beach Hotel in order to get the Bar Manager Maurice Chase fired simply because he spoke on a political platform against him. That man was no use at all. He stole Vic Fernandes first wife, remember that ? ********************
*********** Sentence removed by george bfp
October 29, 2007 at 4:26 am
iisnoone
October 28th, 2007 at 11:38 pm
Reply to Concerned from an outsider. My research shows that Sir David Simmons was elected to Parliament in 1976. In 1984 he was appointed QC. Tom Adams died in 1985.
Concerned, where do you get your facts? I notice that you did not cite any references.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
iisnoone
I really don’t remember when David Simmons became a member of parliament.
I do remember he was member for St. Thomas after Tom Adams died.
Your research means he was also a member for another constituency ten years before becoming a member for St. Thomas.
I will check up on my facts as Concerned certainly seemed to have a point and I felt the CJ was being done a wrong.
It just shows how easy it is to be misled, …. and then mislead others.
Apologies.
BFP Comments
Folks… that’s what we love about Blogs. We can work it out and find the truth in public. Oh! If only we could do that about every issue with government.
October 29, 2007 at 5:57 am
John,
Re the overturned criminal cases, I expect that was not because of the weakness in the case or case decision per se, but the subsequent (to the original rulings or due to time delay) Privy Council case of Pratt & Morgan.
Such is basically a case of philosophy, re cruel and inhuman punishment, due to the length of time that defendant lawyers and prosecution lawyers took to bring the appeals, being over five years.
Thus, to note 100% overturned is surely inaccurate and misleading.
One must actually get the actual statsistics for an accurate picture. But I understand your point on linear/ non-linear.
And re litigants, where there is a ‘winner’ there must be a loser.
October 29, 2007 at 10:25 am
…. sometimes in life, and in court, a loser is a winner!!
October 29, 2007 at 10:33 am
…. and vice versa.
A winner can be a loser!!
Depends on what you lose and what you win!!
October 29, 2007 at 10:51 am
John,
I hear you.
October 29, 2007 at 10:51 am
Statistics can’t be used reliably.
In the criminal situation, there are of course thousands of robbery and other cases that are never contested beyond first instance and the guy, or gal lands up in jail.
The few murder cases that go the distance are more the exception than the rule.
To use them as an indicator as I did to draw inferences on the whole range of criminal cases is flawed.
However, it shows the danger of using statistics.
I would still maintain though, that the state loses closer to 100% than to 50% of the time that there is a criminal appeal that goes the whole hog.
Note that the state (that’s you and me) pays for the offence and defence.
Civil cases are completely different.
There is a cost element involved for both parties.
A “winner” at first instance may not want the hassle of proceeding or feel his position is weak and will settle because it makes business sense to settle.
He may not want the risk of another court case.
A “loser” at first instance may feel he has a strong case but lacks the resources or will to proceed.
A court decision in a civil matter addresses a particular point.
But life is not about a point, or two, … or three points.
… and therein lies part of the non-linearity.
It also explains why a winner can lose and a loser can win.
The question is always, what was won …… or lost as a result of the decision?
October 29, 2007 at 1:07 pm
David Simmons was not a member of Parliament when Adams died. Mr Simmons was elected to Parliament in a by Election in 1974 in one of the St Philip constituencies and subsequently lost that seat in the general elections of 76, When Adams died Sir DAVID was the candidate chosen to contest the seat in the by election hence his return to Parliament
October 29, 2007 at 5:54 pm
The thing that always interested me about Tom’s death is the question of what happened to his papers. Tom was famous for keeping files on people, in which he would slot all sorts of information which he could use at some later date to bargain with or intimidate someone. Well after his death, a group came from BLP headquarters and filled a lot of black plastic garbage bags and took a lot of papers away from Ilaro Court. Since there are no Tom Adams papers lodged in the Barbados National Archives (as they would be with the papers of a key Prime Minister in a normal country) I have to wonder where those papers went, who is holding on to them, and mostly, what do they contain?
The key Labourite at the death scene of Adams was Lammy Craig, that old rogue. Some say that he and Truss kept Tom supplied with supplements that would allow him to keep playing poker through the night as was his wont.
October 29, 2007 at 8:05 pm
Concerned, I agree that David Simmons was neither a member of Parliament nor Attorney General when Tom Adams died. I misinterpreted your comment.
The point I was trying to make was that he was a veteran politician and his election after Tom’s death was not the FIRST time he was elected.
October 29, 2007 at 11:00 pm
… but if a cover up of Tom’s death occurred, it had to happen after he was dead!!
We got to look at the politicians that were already in or went into parliament after Tom died ….!!! Sir David is one who fits the bill.
So I am thinking the only thing wrong with BFP’s question is that it had the wrong PM named.
It should have named Bree, not Tom …… and then Erroll Barrow and Erskine Sandiford and Owen Arthur, in which case Sir David can’t hold all the licks.
One administration is quite at liberty to expose the other’s coverups, if they occurred.
The question as it is now stated seems far better put and seems to fit the concerns raised …. BFP has also made it far more politically correct.
“Was Our Current Barbados Chief Justice Involved In Any Way With The Aftermath Of Adams’ Death? *”
The answer is of course yes, he was involved in the aftermath of Adams’ death ….. but so to have all of the politicians in power then and since.
They all have this in common.
October 31, 2007 at 11:41 pm
The Caribbean Court of Justice Website says that CJ Simmons served in parliament for 25 years, so he could have been part of a coverup if one happened -
Sir David Anthony Carthcart Simmons assumed office as the 12th Chief Justice of Barbados on 1 January 2002.
Sir David entered the Faculty of Law at the London School of Economics and Political Science in 1960 and graduated with the LL.B. degree in 1963. After additional reading he was awarded the LL.M. degree in 1965. He is a Barrister-at-Law of Lincoln’s Inn.
Sir David lectured in law in London until his return to Barbados in 1970. Between 1970 and 1974, he was a part-time lecturer in law at the Faculty of Law of the University of the West Indies.
Sir David has had an outstanding career as a lawyer in Barbados and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1984. He served continuously for 25 years in the Parliament of Barbados from February 1970 to 27 August 2001, on which date he retired from active politics.
Twice he served as Attorney-General of Barbados; first, from 1985 to 1986, and, more recently, from September 1994 to August 2001. On many occasions during the latter period, Sir David acted as Prime Minister of Barbados.
As Attorney-General, Sir David chaired many initiatives and conferences, including the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (1997/98); the Joint US/Caribbean Sub-Committee which developed a Plan of Action on Justice and Security issues; the Regional Committee for the establishment of a project for Maritime Cooperation Against the Traffic In Illicit Narcotic Drugs in the Caribbean (1999-2002); and the Preparatory Committee to establish the Caribbean Court of Justice (1999-2001).
For his contribution to public service and politics, he was awarded both the Barbados Centennial Honour (B.C.H.) and the Knight of St. Andrew (K.A.) in 2001.
Sir David Simmons is married to former High Court Judge, Madame Justice Marie MacCormack. They have two children, Gavin and Lynne-Marie.
November 1, 2007 at 3:56 pm
Wait! Am I the only Bajan ’bout here that remembers what went on ’bout here. Maybe it helps to BE Bajan.
First thing. Don’t believe everything you see in print (including some of the writings on this blog.)
Anonymous gives us a long CV on Sir David Simmons which has a major error. Sir David was first elected to the House of Assembly in February of 1976 in a bye-election in St. Philip, not 1970. He was returned to Parliament again that year in the September General Election. He lost his seat in the 1981 General Election and was appointed a Senator before winning the 1985 bye-election occasioned by Tom Adams’ death.
And I don’t need no CV to tell me this, I still remember what happened ’bout here, please God.
Furthermore, as a Bajan I am sick and tired of this blog pulling down my country with a lot of nasty and unfounded insinuations.
Nothing is right for you people from BFP and the sad part is you ain’t got no solutions either. Self-righteousness is a poor mask for personal failure and disappointment.
I am interested in solutions. What you say Marcus?
BFP Replies
Hi Country Girl,
Marcus isn’t here, but perhaps Clive will do.
Pulling down YOUR country? Barbados is MY country too.
As a people, for decades we have been told to remain silent about corruption or anything that could “pull down” the country – but in the wake of billions of dollars misspent and mismanaged through institutionalized corruption it is high time we broadcast the wrongdoings because that is the ONLY way we are going to turn this country around.
Those, like you, who suggest that we should “let be” and remain silent are very much akin to a mother who says to her daughter, “Doan mention what uncle did to you ’cause it will destroy the family”
For me, those days of silence are long past. And so is blaming the complaining victim.
I doan buy what you are selling Country Girl.
And if David Simmons bio is incorrect, you might try talking to the Caribbean Court of Justice where it is posted.
November 1, 2007 at 10:39 pm
Cool down Clive – don’t get yuh knickers in a twist.
You see me say anywhere that we should “let be.” Furthermore, as a woman I am insulted by your analogy, but alas it is what I have come to expect from BFP. Anytime there is a legitimate criticism, you attack the person. Well play the ball and not the man, Clive. And let’s get some honest, wholesome solutions for a change. I am sure your site will then become instantly appealing to the thousands of fair minded Bajans like myself who do not log on for a constant diet of slander, smut and the thin veneer of electioneering trying to pass itself off as political discussion.
What are your solutions for private and public sector corruption and believe me there is far more corruption in the private sector than in the public sector? And puhleese don’t repeat the naive mantra about integrity legislation. It is not a cure all that will suddenly turn OUR country around. There are far greater societal ills that we need to tackle.
Do you even know Clive why the Barbados Labour Party’s first attempt to pass this legislation failed in the Senate? Well I remember that too and it was because the Independent Senators were not prepared to make a public disclosure of their assets. Would the BFP ‘propagandeurs’ be willing to disclose their assets publicly if they were asked to say … chair the Film Censorship Board or the Child Care Board perhaps. Things are never simple my dear Clive, but I admire your optimism, blind though it may be. And don’t run off and say that I am not interested in cleaning up corruption where it exists. I abhor it. I will never pay or take a bribe. Perhaps that is one of the reasons I will always be poor.
You have a good evening now. Oh and lets have some meaningful discussion and solutions to these problems. I am always willing to discuss things in a mature and intelligent way.
August 2, 2008 at 2:04 pm
Bob Woolmer was murdered after the defeat of the Ireland cricket match probably by officials of the Pakistani goverment. The police investigation concluded this but the case was shelved on the demands of the Americans after President Musharaff struck a deal.