-
NOTE FROM MARCUS
Cliverton posted the following article and pushed the limits too far. I understand his message, but he crossed my personal tolerance. I have edited out the over-the-line concept and words and spoken to Cliverton who has apologized to Shona. I can assure everyone that this mistake will not happen again.
Marcus
BFP Editor in Chief
Like Her Slave Ancestors Before Her, Gwenetha Clarke 67 Still Hauls Water And Bathes Out Of A Pail
It is time for the every-three-months article on the water situation in First World Barbados. The Nation News usually shows old women hauling water or some government Minister conferring with the residents or even presenting a new government supplied water barrel (Blue! With Faucet!).
This time the Nation News has a dramatic photo of an elderly woman using soda bottles to hold water: No Water For St. Phillip Elderly
(And yes, folks, the following is from the imagination of Cliverton. If you weren’t quite sure about whether or not the Prime Minister would really say such things in a real interview, it probably says a whole lot about your impression of the Prime Minister!)
Prime Minister Owen Arthur Comments On The Water Situation…
Shona called the Prime Minister this afternoon and asked him to comment on the water article in the Nation News. This is an unedited transcript of that conversation…
Shona: Hello Mr. Prime Minister. This is Shona from Barbados Free Press.
PM: Hello Shona. Delighted to speak with you again.
Shona: Sir, we’d like to ask you about the story in The Nation News this morning. About the water shortage and old folks having to haul their water because there is none in the pipes.
PM: Water? Never drink the stuff, myself. You know, why drive a Toyota when you can drive a Lexus! I mean, Hell, I’d even drink Johnny Walker if I couldn’t get any single malt. Have to be Blue though. None a dat cheap red stuff. That’s what I always say! (laughs)
Shona: Sir, the old folks in St. Phillip have no water again. None to drink and none to bathe with. Don’t you think your government should do something about that?
PM: Shona, my dear, **** you’re not too smart. We only got so much money around this place and we have to prioritize. There isn’t enough money to do everyting. Do you know how much money it took to put on Cricket World Cup?
Shona: No sir.
PM: Well, neither do I, but that’s beside the point. It took a whole lot a money for Cricket World Cup. Tons and tons of money. It was a HELL OF A PARTY but it cost a lot so there’s nothing left for water infrastructural, infracstcualt…. Sorry those big words always give me trouble after lunch. Anyways, we doan have no money left for water pipes an such. BUT WE HAD A HELL OF A CRICKET PARTY AND DON’T YOU FORGET THAT!
Shona: But what about the water shortage and the old folks…
PM: Shona. I’ve always admired you ***. Let’s continue this interview at dinner tonight.
Shona: Mr. Prime Minister, I’m a married woman with children!
PM: What’s your point?
Shona: Mr. Prime Minister, I think that we’ll end this interview. On behalf of Barbados Free Press, thank you for your time, Sir.
PM: Anytime, Shona. (goodbyes said)

52 Comments
October 4, 2007 at 8:14 pm
I am getting a bit confuse with the various political signals emanating from the language of various commenters. I am not a member of the BLP, DLP, PEP or YPP (Yardfowl Political Party; I am not an employee of Government, 3S Barbados SRL, Rayside Construction or C.O Williams Construction….but, I am a critic of wrongs against humanity, get my drift. I deal with the many issues that threatened people or my country, I am against the critics who are trying to destroy people who are speak of the ills of society, people like Adrian Loveridge who has the guts to speak about the wrongs pertaining to GEMS or questionable companies working on major Government projects. Is he a DEM, I can freely say NO, do he has political aspirations, again I say NO.
We can all use these forums to deal with issues that confront this small developing country and discuss what the ‘fourth estate’ fails to discuss. BFP and BU start many important blobs of the many wrongs that affect this country, which we as intellectual advanced brains can respond by further enlightening our brothers and sisters in order for them to make that important decision to either fire or maintain this administration. We do not have to be political vagabonds in persuading people, we don’t have to be abusive, we don’t have to apply character assassination or use threatening statements to person you can not see eye to eye.
Do you feel that the above article will do Barbados good in the outside world? If you are a business person and trying do get business from the International market, how would you be able to face these people? Come on people, let’s get real!
October 4, 2007 at 8:17 pm
Well Shona……thank God you were able to leave with your TITS intact after your interview with that PHILANDERER….. Owen Arthur !
A toothless…….DRUNKARD !
October 4, 2007 at 8:25 pm
This might be considered funny by some. But does anyone actually think it is productive or conductive?
A free press is important. This article is not press.
October 4, 2007 at 8:35 pm
This is disgraceful.
BFP Comments
Yes, Anonymous, it is DISGRACEFUL that the government spends a third of a billion dollars on a cricket party and old folks have no water in their taps.
Yes, you are correct. Disgraceful!
October 4, 2007 at 8:54 pm
Firstly, it is spelt as bathe.
Second, this is libel and you are showing how stupid you really are.
October 4, 2007 at 8:56 pm
Don’t stoop to their level. It will only reduce your credibility.
BFP Replies
Hello I Robot…
Oh yes, we see you jumping around and posting under different IPs. You know… simply unplugging your modem doesn’t do the entire job. We see you!
For two years BFP has been lamenting that thousands of people on this island cannot turn on a tap and get fresh, clean water. Your government spent a third of a billion dollars and probably more on a cricket party.
No water, but 11 million to charter a cruise ship for 1000 people.
No water, but BMWs by the score.
No water, but flyovers.
We, the people of Barbados, have earned the right to tell that story any way we choose.
Night will catch day, and that night is a comin’
October 4, 2007 at 9:04 pm
…It may not be in the best of tastes (well it’s downright quite slanderous), but it IS quite funny.
“PM: Shona. I’ve always admired your tits. Let’s continue this interview at dinner tonight.”
*snicker*
October 4, 2007 at 9:18 pm
what the **** is this? you guys were doing a good job, bringing alot of important info to light and you go and f*** it up posting this crap? Y’know ppl actually started to take this place a bit more seriously. No sensationalism.. JUST FACTS.. I hope you were hacked or something.. and I’ll want to see the logs to prove it..
This is quite disappointing.
October 4, 2007 at 9:27 pm
If BFP had only put this poor old lady’s story on this blog it would have been OK too but the Owing interview will generate more comments.
Its a bit like Leno or letterman making fun of George Bush and other politicians in the US.
The point we need to get is that no Barbadian should be forgotten and improving the living conditions of poor Barbadians needs to take precedence over $200 bottles of Scotch.
Government Ministers offered to represent and SERVE the people and it is their responsibility to ensure that all Barbadians have a regular supply of water.
Focus on lobbying the Waterworks department and the Ministry of Poverty Alleviation to help the old and poor.
October 4, 2007 at 9:44 pm
Some Readers say…
“Do you feel that the above article will do Barbados good in the outside world?”
“But does anyone actually think it is productive or conductive?”
BFP Replies…
The only tool we have left is international pressure. Owen Arthur and the gang have known about the water problems for over a decade. What should we do, beg more? Write letters to the editor?
No!
These thugs can only function in the dark. We will expose their actions to the world.
It cannot get any worse.
October 4, 2007 at 9:51 pm
BFP you missed a golden opportunity to promote Barbados rum.
The Scotch bottle should have been a Barbados rum bottle.
Now lets call BWA and get this old lady some help.
BFP Cliverton Comments…
Yes, rum would have been better but we wanted the article to be as accurate as possible!
October 4, 2007 at 9:54 pm
Come down off your high lofty crumbling hills of vainness and pride, high education, and instead climb the the real hills of humanity and care for your fellow man, and God given wisdom and common sense. There is almost absolutely nothing wrong with the article.
It is the use of satire to get across a point you anal persons. (Although the part about the tits i may not have mentioned that). Alot of persons use this. Gosh bajans are so drab, numb, pathetic, and straight, stiff, boring…wait a min..this is the description of a vegetable or a cadaver.
But it made me laugh then it made me angry that we had a hell of a cricket party, gems, bmws fly over, AND PEOPLE ARE BADIN’ OUTTA PAILS??? How you can spend that kind of money and don’t make sure your citizens have access to clean running water. What de hell.
Welcome to first world Barbados folks. Watch your pockets!!!!
Point made. Point taken BFP. Almost Well done.
Now someone even less anal than I am, blister me for getting a lil touchy with the mention of tits, cuz i live in a glass house but i still like to ring round rocks stones every now and again.
October 4, 2007 at 9:57 pm
This isn’t libel unless it is false. Let us consider each statement.
1/ Are old people hauling water because there is none in the pipes?
A/ True
2/ Does the Prime Minister get drunk and call people up in the middle of the night and yell and say nonsense?
A/ True. Anyone who knows the PM will tell you that is true. At least two tape recordings exist to my knowledge!
3/ Does the Prime Minister not know the true cost of the Cricket World Cup?
A/ If he does, he had better say it soon! I suppose he will reveal the true cost right after the GEMS Hotel numbers are published. (snicker)
4/ Has the Prime Minister commited adultery in the past?
A/ True. More than once… and he has various children to prove it.
5/ Could our water situation have been fixed with the money that was spent on Cricket World Cup.
A/ A third of a billion would have done wonders for our water, so TRUE.
6/ Does Shona have great tits?
A/ Marcus knows but he ain’t talking!
October 4, 2007 at 10:02 pm
the comment may be tasteless sarcasm but if you are trying to get the point across after years of government failure, it will get the kind of attention you need.
The only sad thing is the kind of conversation that was created is not all that remote from what could have happened given the propensities of our illustrious PM.
October 4, 2007 at 10:21 pm
For Barbados Residents:
In most cases, applicants will no longer return to the Embassy to pick up their visaed passports.
If your application is approved, unless you bring a pre-paid courier pak from a courier service of your choice to your interview, we will return your passport to you via DHL within five (5) business days.
Please make arrangements with the DHL representative in our lobby to pre-pay an airway bill for delivery of your passport.
If you need your passport returned without the visa,
you will have to send the passport back to us via courier.
(that’s nice and clear…?!)
When you send the passport, you must send a pre-paid airway bill and mailer for delivery back to you.
The cost for DHL delivery one-way within Barbados is US$9, or BBD$18.
———————
IS this a racket for DHL to make money or what??
What’s wrong with going back to the Embassy to collect yer goddam passport.?
18 bucks for WHAT?
So DHL can make some loot?
How do I get a DHL franchise,
coz I need a slice of that action above!
October 4, 2007 at 11:02 pm
I have been trying to post for days and it is obvious to me that this is not really a free press as it moderates all who give calm reasonable posts if it is not what BFP wants to print, Free it is not bias it is.
October 4, 2007 at 11:17 pm
To BFP…
The pen is only mightier than the sword if the pen is sharp. Here the pen was far, far from sharp!
A journal is only taken seriously if it is respected. You are risking squandering any respect thusly earned.
Let this be a one-off mistake.
October 4, 2007 at 11:40 pm
u guys are out of text here.
October 4, 2007 at 11:43 pm
When I read of situations such as the plight of Bajans in St. Philip being deprived of water it makes me sick. I mean to say that I am no civil engineer, but common sense tells me that a water pump for the cost and installation of less than $60,000bds, would solve this problem. so why does these people have to suffer this inconvenience? Where are their representatives, and what are they doing about it? AHHH! I get it, they are waiting for a time when elections are near to solve the problem for it to be fresh in the minds of the electorate. Politics as usual, those on the lower end of the totem pole get shafted as usual.
Yes BFP, let the whole world know of the deeds against those who seemingly have no one to be advocates for them.
October 4, 2007 at 11:44 pm
I agree with iRobot. This was beneath you. Regardless of any provocation you may be under, keep the high ground. Don’t squander the respect you have workedso hard to gain.
October 4, 2007 at 11:58 pm
You are the first thing I read in the morning and the last thing at night. I was beginning to take this site serious.
But the above article is ridiculous, distatseful, disappointing but
quite funny
dont let it get out of hand though
October 4, 2007 at 11:58 pm
Hey iRobot
You know… we’re feeling a bit cranky ’round here tonight seeing as the government has suspended civil rights by a secret order in council and then had their agents threaten to murder our children.
So we don’t give a good g d about the opinion of some newbie who 100% sides with the government on everything and mentions nothing about serious issues.
Now… let’s talk about why we’ve spent a billion or so in the past couple of years on showpiece projects but our people can’t turn on a tap and get water.
October 5, 2007 at 12:06 am
Which are the peoples more upset about?
No water in the taps or the word “tits” spoken by the prime minister?
A billion dollars (or whatever) cricket, party and all.
No water in the taps for the old lady.
First World Barbados. What a JOKE
October 5, 2007 at 12:33 am
Hey BFP.
“Newbie”? True, I only recently heard of and started reading your site. Not sure it’s fair to say I side with anyone, but then, I’m too “new” to tell.
I like to consider myself an independent thinker. I’m simply suggesting that if you wish to retain the audience of such minds, you would be advised to hold to a higher standard than this article demonstrates…
October 5, 2007 at 1:08 am
Oh, also, BFP…
I’m sorry to tell you that I am not “IAmMyBrothersKeeper”.
If you review your server logs, you will see that all posts by me today have come from the same IP (and the same browser, and the same OS, etc…) As I’m sure you’re aware, if one changes one’s IP by resetting their C&W modem, it is almost impossible to get that IP back.
Rest assured, anything which includes the e-mail address submitted in the “Mail (will not be published)” field which you, but no one else, has, is really from me.
Anyone posting under iRobot without this e-mail address is not me. I further assure you that I will not post under any alias other than iRobot. Lastly, if you wish to e-mail me at the address which only you have, feel free. I’ll even respond.
You are doing important (and possibly dangerous?) work. I commend you. I am trying to suggest how the returns for this effort (and risk?) may be maximized. (Been there; done that; have the T-shirt…)
October 5, 2007 at 1:20 am
The T words were over the line for BFP Marcus. I was not offended but shocked because words like that are not usually seen in BFP. I enjoy Cliverton’s humour and satire so please don’t be too hard on him for this one offense.
October 5, 2007 at 1:22 am
For what it is worth I agree with Red Lake that the dream of “first world” Barbados is fading. We do, however, have a smashing cricket stadium even if it doesn’t have any lighting.
October 5, 2007 at 1:32 am
Also alongside that smashing stadium, don’t forget the hell of a cricket party and the blackout fete/ceremony at the end.
Meanwhile the backbone of our nation can’t turn on their tap to get a drop of water.
You want scandalous? Now that is scandalous. I am sure $750,000 that was lodged on a certain politicos account could fix that right quick.
October 5, 2007 at 1:43 am
I have had to use a bucket myself on several occasions!
October 5, 2007 at 3:35 am
Is the above article slanderous? It is a colourful attempt to dramatise the situation. Most of the backdrop of the story seems consistent with what I have heard. Give the author some artistic licence!
World leaders are subjected to this every day. Why not ours? The answer is of course that things are different in Barbados. The law is different in Barbados.
October 5, 2007 at 10:14 am
Francology
“Do you feel that the above article will do Barbados good in the outside world? If you are a business person and trying do get business from the International market, how would you be able to face these people? Come on people, let’s get real!”
THANK YOU!
October 5, 2007 at 12:48 pm
how can we know this interview is for real sounds fake to me ???????
October 5, 2007 at 1:03 pm
Sensible Man says “how can we know this interview is for real sounds fake to me ???????”
“Sensible man” is such an idiot! So much of an idiot that he is probably trying to distract the conversation from the real topic which is: Why after all these years of BLP government doesn’t that little old lady have water in her taps”
The answer is: Because it wasn’t a priority with the BLP !
October 5, 2007 at 1:43 pm
I like it BFP, we waste money (or better yet we fill the PM’s and friends pockets with money) like peas but yet cannot provide simple things like schools opening on time, a good health care system, a fair law court system, honest gov’t, projects that finish on time and within budget, or explanations for the PM having a cheque for $ 750,000.00 his his personal bank account!!!!
October 5, 2007 at 2:13 pm
At least some Bajans can think for themselves.
http://www.nationnews.com/editorial/292436783841059.php
October 5, 2007 at 6:43 pm
For real though ,we wasting time talking about things that done happen,we march to get out Sandi but we frighten to even look at Owen Arthur too hard, that is why when the Trinis,Guyanese and the British fully take over Barbados and send us to Guyana to work swamp land at $5 an acre and the guyanese robbers waiting to kill we i hope we take everything with a coke and a smile,little do bajans know that Barbados has already been sold,it’s just your daughters that are left to prostitute themselves now,so sad.
October 5, 2007 at 10:33 pm
Liz, you money hungry, heartless cow…..if that was your granny would you still be worrying about the effect of the TRUTH has on how the outside world views Barbados’s problems?
It would seem to me from your post that all you care about is style over substance…..all that “perfect place” fantasy that The Barbados Board of Tourism sells to the unsuspecting tourist.
Tell me, Liz, would you be happy having to bathe from a bucket, brush yuh teeth from a bowl and flush your body wastes down the toilet with a bucket of water?
These conditions are those of a third world country and all your cncerned about is how this will impact on business??
October 6, 2007 at 1:44 am
LOL…
Oh this IS precious!
I have to admit, such satire is truly called for here in theser troubled times!
Ah well, in a Third World country, could you expect any less? If we wanna go First World, we have to THINK First World…but to be quite honest, i don’t think that First World mentality would be the best way, ’cause of this little fact…FIRST WORLD HAS CORRUPTION!
Ah well, at least our politicians got there before WE did!
October 6, 2007 at 2:20 am
What is all the confusion about? I thought the telephone call was funny to say the least! It was painfully obvious, to me anyways, that it was a joke. But it did go to show the callous nature of the ruling party. Cliverton, I hope you don’t get too bad a cuss up from Shona
But I really agree that it is sad that we have old ladies forced to haul water cause there is no running water, but how you expect them to provide running water for everybody when they could not even afford lights for the cricket party
DFX
October 6, 2007 at 2:33 am
I have a problem with the report as per Nation story of October 4, 2007. I am wondering why the report relates to a single family. Why the amount of houses located in the community not mentioned? Two days without water was only mentioned in the story, yet the story was amplified to create a community that always without water. I am not condoning shoddy service that will affect the poor, old, young, rich, black or white. They should not be deprived from the supply of such a necessity since we still have to pay for the said service. We await the findings of the Barbados Water Authority.
October 6, 2007 at 11:43 am
I find it amazing that BFP would apologise for this article.
I backing cliverton.
You mean to tell me that it is not clear to wanna at BFP that if wanna allow yourselves to be guided by the likes of LIZ and those goodie-two-shoes like her (typical bajans) you will be defeating the whole purpose of being a BLOG.
If they want sweet talk and to hear good news dispite the glaring reality – let them read the Nation and Advocate.
I want to suggest another article clivie… can we have a transcrip of a taped conversation between Mascoll,Glyne Clark and O$A after the call in show with Marshall?
…wah if it now legal to intercept phone calls bout here wanna think that only government people could do that? …and you back off marcus
October 6, 2007 at 2:09 pm
Is it only my imagination or are all Bajans brain dead? Then again, Bajans may now only see themselves as “Barbadians”…. a cut above!.. we have arrived!
A cut above what? Arrived where or from what?
It is most disappointing to read this information and not see a FLOOD of questions or comments on the key issue {NO WATER FOR THE POOR OLD LADY!!!!!!}. We seem to have a penchant for missing the point.
Is it that we have reached a plateau of self-indulgence that we no longer have concerns for our fellow Bajans? If this is the case, then the CAVE-IN at Brittons Hill is only the beginning of our muddy slide to oblivion.
We must open our eyes and be leaders; not followers of those who serve their own self interest.
We must consider the plight of our “brothers and sisters” if we expect to regain any aspect of our “Pride & Industry”.
Wake Up… All True Bajans!!!!
Be not afraid to be counted among the real Bajans and chart a course that would make our forefathers proud.. once again.
October 7, 2007 at 3:27 am
Owen’s translation chapter: “Spin”:
Instead of “Mis-management” say “Non-Traditional Planning”
Instead of “Stealing” say “Financial adjustments”
Instead of “Lying” say “Creative jargon”
Instead of “Missing money” say ” System Glitch”
Instead of “water in a bucket” say “Ancestral Traditions”
Excerpt from “BLP: Bajans Lies and Politics”
October 7, 2007 at 11:25 am
Bush Tea
“Goodie Two Shoes” or not there are a lot of people that are willing to actually try to do something to help if issues are discussed rationally and with truth and transparency – we are not interested in taking serious matters and making them into “pappy shows” for gain – political or otherwise.
October 7, 2007 at 12:07 pm
Pied Piper
“These conditions are those of a third world country and all your cncerned about is how this will impact on business??”
Overseas business/money is how this country earns the money that could/should go to improve the circumstances of the poor.
It is sad but realisitc – we do need foreign money – so maybe we need to show a level of maturity as to what is necessary in order to maintain a fairly reasonable reputation in the outside world.
You may not agree with my opinion but I am sure you approve of my right to have one that may differ from yours on occasion.
October 7, 2007 at 7:07 pm
Liz, I beg to differ. Which came first……the chicken or the egg?
If the government had spent one tenth of what was spent on the new Kensington Oval and the Cricket World Cup, one tenth of what has been sunk and wasted into GEMS of Barbados, one tenth of what will be spent on the Flyovers and perhaps all of that lovely cheque that was pocketed by Mr. Arthur, there would have been more than enough funding to correct the water problems in St. Phillip.
The sad fact of the matter is that the current government does not have it’s priorities straight. You have to learn to walk before you can run. You make it sound like overseas business and money is a new thing. Barbados has been making “overseas money” for a long time and where has all that money gone? Gone on foolish projects that will never improve the live’s of the average Barbadian. Gone into the pockets of the petty beaurocrats and government ministers and THAT is why there is no money for the most basic repairs to the infrastructure of the island.
October 7, 2007 at 7:16 pm
HELLO, PELICAN, OR IS IT PIEDPIPER?
October 8, 2007 at 12:56 am
see no evil ,hear no evil, speak no evil that barbados goverment motto and the people suffer people of barbados its time to protects our living state because if we do not who will
October 8, 2007 at 1:03 am
the old saying used to sea and sand, now when you flying over barbados it sea andhouses barbados has lost it beauty to overgreed when it over what would be the price for our bajan people to buy it back
October 9, 2007 at 10:13 am
Pied Piper
I have responded but I am apparently not moderate enough!
Amazing . . . .me not moderate?
October 11, 2007 at 1:58 am
Would it matter if you knew?
I am referring to the lack of information in your June article.
Trinidadians know.
Microbial Quality of Water Supply to an Urban Community in Trinidad
Journal of Food Protection®, Volume 65, Number 8, 1 August 2002 , pp. 1297-1303(7)
http://www.ingentaconnect.com/content/iafp/jfp/2002/00000065/00000008/art00014
This concluded that the water in Manning’s own constituency “that the high degree of contamination of drinking water in households poses a health hazard to consumers.”
And nobody seems to care.
October 1, 2008 at 12:25 am
Millions on cricket cup. Millions on dis and dat. No water. 3rd world child.